Release of Hindraf 5 – pressing agenda of 82 MPs and 196 State Assembly members from DPP

One of the major breakthroughs of the March 8 political tsunami was the transformation of “Makkal Sakti” from a call for the end of the long-standing marginalization of the Malaysian Indians into a rallying and symbolic cry by all Malaysians to end all forms of marginalization against any Malaysian or group, regardless of race or religion.

It is distressing therefore that despite assurances by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that he has heard the voice of Malaysians on March 8 for change, actions taken by the second Abdullah administration have proved otherwise – in particular the statement by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar refusing to release newly-elected Selangor DAP State Assemblyman for Kota Alam Shah and four other Hindraf leaders, P. Uthayakumar, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and T. Vasantha Kumar from Internal Security Act (ISA) detention.

A pressing agenda for 82 MPs and 196 State Assembly members from DAP, PKR and PAS in Malaysia is to work out a common strategy for the immediate and unconditional release of the five Hindraf leaders from ISA detention and to ensure that the second Abdullah government understand the meaning of “Makkal Sakti”.

(Speech at the DAP Bukit Glugor general election thanksgiving dinner to celebrate re-election victory of Karpal Singh as MP for Bukit Glugor at Long Say Building, Burmah Road, Penang on Saturday, 29th March 2008)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by One4All4One on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 9:04 pm

Response by Home Minister on Hindraf 5 continued detention:

KDN tidak berganjak keputusan tahanan Hindraf

Oleh Bernama
    Isnin, 31 Mac 2008

KL: Kementerian Dalam Negeri tidak akan berganjak daripada keputusan mengekalkan penahanan lima pemimpin pertubuhan haram Hindraf mengikut Akta Keselamatan Dalam Negeri (ISA) walaupun Presiden MIC Datuk Seri S.Samy Vellu mendesak supaya mereka dibebaskan.

“Tugas saya ialah menentukan apa juga isu yang dibuat, bukan satu keputusan berasaskan keputusan saya, tetapi berasaskan proses-proses yang diiktiraf undang-undang dalam menentukan keselamatan dan ketenteraman awam sentiasa terjamin,” katanya kepada pemberita selepas melawat Ibu Pejabat Polis Diraja Malaysia di Bukit Aman di sini hari ini, lawatan pertamanya ke situ sejak dilantik menerajui kementerian itu pada 18 Mac lepas.

They are still adamant on holding the Hindraf 5 under ISA.

If the governmant is SINCERE, it should charge the five in a court of law NOW without any delay. JUSTICE DELAYED IS JUSTICE DENIED.

JUSTICE DELAYED IS JUSTICE DENIED

Let us make this a rally call for the Hindraf 5 to be released…until whoever is concerned hear it loud and clear.

We Malaysians should not be treated in this manner again. We are way and above the lowly and narrow politics being practised in the country. We want equality. We deserve better.

None is above the other. Even though the constitution gave our malay friends some form of preferential treatment , and which we are trying hard to understand and accept, it DIDN’T say preferential treatment to UMNO.

Will the attorney general, as the country’s top legal adviser, please come forward and give an explaination to fellow malaysians. List down the charges and proceed to try our fellow hindraf brothers.

Do you think they pose a REAL threat to the nation? Funny, the rakyat don’t feel that way. Perhaps there are two or more sets of laws? Or the same law applies differently to different people? Is there a selective mechanism here? Please provide us malaysians some answers.

2. #2 by One4All4One on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 9:07 pm

HINDRAF 5

JUSTICE DELAYED IS JUTICE DENIED

3. #3 by pohwatchdog on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 9:34 pm

DAP-PKR-PAS given a chance to prove their capabilities to administer Perak. We can see Buntong assemblyman also want to be EXCO. What makkal sakti? Emotional vote…. who to blame. Human is human. DAP equal with BN. Next time Malaysian voters should think
    carefully because DAP candidate is sulking .

4. #4 by kickbutt on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 12:06 am

Let’s face it!

The Hindraf 5 will only be released at a time when the BN government can take credit for it. They will not release them because there was political opposition to their detention. The interest of their families in securing their husbands’ release is now pitted against the political interest of opposition politicians who seek to make a public statement!

5. #5 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 12:39 am

“…..the five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders held in Kamunting under the Internal Security Act (ISA) will not be swayed by emotions and sentiments but solely be decided in the best interest of the country’s internal security.”
    http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=21241
    —————–
    SHA’s statement on the Hindraf 5 shows how limited his ability to undersatand logic. For crying out loud in what way these people are causing harm to national security? How many cars were torched? How many buildings were alighted? How many shops were looted? How many people were hurt?

BN component member Gerakan has called for their release. Even MIC president is formally calling for their release. Are they swayed by emotions & sentiments or BN just want to sweep Gerakan & MIC aside like unwanted rubbish?

Just about every citizen in the country knows & detests that the Indians have been bullied & bulldozed left & right & centre by the BN gomen.
    SHA’s sheer arrogant “we do it our way” style as exposed from the HARD TALK interview last September clearly still speaks loud and clear today. Its a shame PM got him back in the cabinet.
    And clearly our Prime Minister still has not heard the voice of his people.
    http://bright-i.blogspot.com/2008/03/please-set-hindraf-5-free.html

6. #6 by BNseedell on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 1:08 am

Dear YB,

Please do something quick to resolve the below issue. It looks like this DAP assemblyman is trying to fight only for position and for his Indian community. Why is he so unhappy for not being included as an Exco? Tell him to shut up and look forward not only for Indians but for other races, too. We don’t want this kind of people in DAP and you may allow him to leave but return the seat to DAP. Thank you for your attention.
    ====================================

Update: Buntong assemblyman retracts resignation

PETALING JAYA: Buntong assemblyman A. Sivasubramaniam, who earlier quit all posts in the DAP, has retracted his resignation.

Buntong assemblyman A. Sivasubramaniam
    He was scheduled to hold a press conference Monday evening to explain his about-turn.

In a letter to DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng earlier Monday, Sivasubramaniam said he had had lost confidence in the Perak DAP as it failed to fulfill its promise to appoint two Indian state executive council members.

He added the decision was a “big slap” in the face of Perak Indians and tantamount to deceiving the community.

“My victory in Buntong was a mandate given by the Indian community in the area, and therefore I cannot accept the decision made by the Perak DAP,” he added.

When contacted, Sivasubramaniam said he would not vacate his seat and would instead serve as an independent.

“I have no intention of joining any Barisan component party but will fight for the people of Buntong as an independent,” he said.

He also questioned why DAP central executive committee member A. Sivanesan, who is from Selangor, was chosen as an exco over other Perak DAP leaders.

Sivasubramaniam claimed that he and state party committee member and Tronoh assemblyman V. Sivakumar were supposed to get the exco posts as they had worked hard and sacrificed a lot for the party.

He added that even if an Indian Perak DAP member were to get an assembly Speaker or Deputy Speaker post, it could not “do much for the Indian community.”

“This is not right. The leadership should be discussing the allocation of exco posts and other appointments with all 18 DAP assemblymen,” said Sivasubramaniam.

Of the 10 exco members sworn in on March 29, six were from DAP, including one Indian representative, Sungkai assemblyman A. Sivanesan.

In the March 8 general election, the Opposition coalition won 31 state seats in Perak – 18 seats went to DAP, seven to PKR, and six to PAS – while Barisan bagged 28 seats.

7. #7 by lakshy on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 5:09 am

What about all of us taking leave from work on the same day? Whether it be annual leave or sick leave the effect of so many of us staying at home should be felt by the nation, especially if we are government servants.

8. #8 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 8:56 am

lakshy, tat wun work, becos supervisor or mgr will monitor if too many ppl on leave, he must put some on standby.

The only way to help out is by having a Peace March having said that, it may not work as well. Nothing will work unless we vote the Barisan coalition out next 5 yrs.

Can we apply permit to collect petition and donation from public for the release of Hindraf 5. We can have these campaign at major shopping mall. The donation will go to charity and the petition will be handed to Prime Minister.

9. #9 by Damocles on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:07 am

Once Anwar joins the political arena after 15th April, he can convince BN MPs to jump ship and form the new government.
    When that happened, not only can he release the HINDRAF 5, he can turn the tables on their jailers by using the ISA on them!
    That’ll be poetic justice!
    Then we can see how they squirm!

10. #10 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:37 am

FREE HINDRAF 5

11. #11 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 9:44 am

Maybe an appeal to the YDP Agong for an amnesty would work?

Cite humanitarian ground. Justice. Constitutional right. Freedom of expression. Malaysian culture of magnanimity. Right of defence.
    Legality of ISA.

Most of all, the power invested in the YDP Agong to grant an amnesty as he pleases. His majesty’s pleasure.

12. #12 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 10:11 am

The YDP Agong can’t step up to free the Hindraf 5, as the current constitution did not allowed them to get involved in politics.

Many rakyat also have a feeling that “Agong should not interfere with politics.” the point is if it is necessary then it will be great to do so. I will support the YDP Agong.

13. #13 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:44 pm

kickbutt says: “The Hindraf 5 will only be released at a time when the BN government can take credit for it. They will not release them because there was political opposition to their detention. The interest of their families in securing their husbands’ release is now pitted against the political interest of opposition politicians who seek to make a public statement!”

This person’s assumptions are flaw. First he assumed that opposition politicians can’t act sincerely. Secondly, he assumed that BN politicians can not be compelled to do the right things. Sigh…..

14. #14 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 4:22 am

…and thirdly, you not only are incapable of understanding English but cannot write grammatical English nor spell.

15. #15 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 8:35 am

It is “grammatically correct English” not grammatical English or spell. What else do I have to say?

16. #16 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 10:11 am

“….assumptions are “flaw”?? Muahahaha….!

17. #17 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 12:05 pm

Well at least allowed Manoharon for the sworn in ceremony.

18. #18 by Come2Papa on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 6:29 pm

Not to worry, guys! limkamput has his ass kicked so hard that he will not able to sit for a while.

19. #19 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 8:08 pm

Moderator,
    Can you read come2papa’s posting above, may I know what are you going to do about it?

20. #20 by KS R on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:29 am

HI Lim

Keep moving and release the five leaders. I strongly believe that we will take over the Goverment. The years we was suffering God had answer. I pray that Perkatan Rakyat will work together.

21. #21 by lakilompat on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:59 am

God don’t answer is the Rakyat who answer thru vote ballots. Is human who define the future.

During a flood a man stay and pray for god to help him. A boat come ask the man to jump in, he said no and continue praying seeking for miracles.
    The water level rises, the poor man went up the roof and continue praying for miracles, a helicopter come by drop the rope, the man said no, and continue praying.
    Then finally the man drowned. He went to Heaven, angrily he tell god, God why you did not answer to my prayers, the god replied him, son, didn’t i send u a boat, and then a helicopter?

Now god has given us a chance to vote, it is now in your hand.

Comments are closed.