Brave new M’sian identity emerging?

by Dr. Azly Rahman
http://www.azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com/

“Our government teaches the whole people by its example. If the government becomes the lawbreaker, it breeds contempt for law; it invites every man to become a law unto himself; it invites anarchy.” -Louis D Brandeis (American Supreme Court Justice, 1856-1941).

I do not wish to remove from my present prison to a prison a little larger. I wish to break all prisons. -Ralph Waldo Emerson, American transcendentalist.

The second wave of Independence, achieved with the storming of the “Bastille that is Putrajaya” in March 2008, in a phenomena called “implo-volution” in which the old regime was crushed by its own weight of contradiction and one whose ruins were charted some fifty years ago, present an interesting possibility. It is that of the ethnogenesis (emerging new culture) of a new Malaysian identity. Political will is complementing this philosophical vision. The Internet is aiding in speeding up the process.

The wave is forcing the various ethnic groups to think of defining itself as a ” new nation” when power-sharing of a truly multicultural nature at the state level is becoming a reality. Not only the different ethnic groups are fairly represented in what I call the “yellow” states of “Perak and Selangor” but religious background of the state leaders are also playing a key role in the evolving nature of the leadership.

The yellow states are forging ahead with care – aware of the sensitivities of the different ethnic and religious groups, focusing on the pragmatics and ethics drawn from each cultural tradition. Thus, we saw Penang CM Lim Guan Eng refusing to use thousands of ringgit of state funds to move to a new office, we saw the Kedah chief minister and we saw the continuation of Kelantan chief minister’s commitment to the principles of Islam in governing the state with prudence and tolerance.

What is displayed is Confucianist-Taoist ideas and Islamic brand of ethical leadership – two seemingly radical philosophies that actually complement each other. When it comes to statecraft, both are useful in forming as basis for a philosophy of governance that appeals to the Malays and the Chinese. These ideals are no different that the ones taught in Christianity, Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, and the cultural philosophy of the natives of Sabah and Sarawak and of the Orang Asli.

The “ethics of authenticity” as philosopher Charles Taylor would put it, is universal enough to be a guiding light of this new nation. Ethics by any name is a system of check and balances of the Evil and the Good within. It is the Middle Path of Inner Statecraft.

Istana Zakaria and pondok Nik Aziz

In speaking of the manifestations of the excesses of greed and the imbalance of evil within, two installations of polar opposites are worth quoting as semiotics of conspicuous consumption, in a country such as Malaysia.

The old and dying regime, Barisan Nasional too consists of Chinese and Malays. But the evolution of racial-politics necessitated the development of a style of leadership that requires extra-ethical means to be employed in order for power to be sustained via the control of wealth and resources. Not only these are controlled but they are displayed conspicuously and of late, with arrogance. This brought about the shocking defeat of the 50-year-old seemingly indestructible machine. The excess of this image of conspicuous consumption is in the Istana Zakaria.

The alter image to Istana Zakaria would probably be the house that Tuan Guru Nik Aziz inhabits. But why do we have these contradictions? How have we come to this historical juncture in which the moral compass of the national leaders are misplaced or even lost and what we are seeing are the consequence of the capitalist system that is rearing its ugly immoral head. We have created monsters out of the freedom we give human beings to profit from the consumerist capitalist system we created out of the fear of socialism and Communism.

Billionaires and multi-millionaires in this nation are creations of a system. They are the products of the evolution of individuals that are installed by the institutions derived from the ideology of uncontrollable free enterprise constantly wanting to be freer and freer. Over a long period of time, the system creates a huge gap between the haves and the have-nots. It creates antagonism – of class and the hypermodern caste system. This is the Reaganomics of poverty – a mass deception of the “magic of the marketplace”.

As a nation, what do we want to be known as? How do we re-engineer another evolution? How do we maintain a sense of personal freedom in the process of crafting a synthesis of “national identity and freedom?” Will the Internet be the great deconstructor of such an identity, once we forget it?

There are multiple contradictions in these questions. They are worth exploring.

Themes of freedom

I suggest we explore these themes below, either out of your own interest or for your graduate work. I think these are fertile areas of research to help us contribute to the ongoing conversation on the politics of identity.

- Human nature and freedom

- National Front, freedom and its problems – based on political economy of identity formation

- People’s Front and freedom – even more problematic since we have multiple layers of identity, construction, deconstruction, and reconstruction of identity.

- New bumiputeraism.

- Archaeology of identity

- Philosophy of beingness

- Theology of existence

- Sociology of nationhood

- Technologies of the mind and body

- Education and cultural engineering.

- Culture critique and ethnogenesis

- Social reproduction and social relations of production

- Institutions and installations

- Self in society

These I believe are themes we will explore as Malaysia progresses into the age of postmodernity bringing forth the excesses of freedom in a world characterised by the rapidisation of technology and the heightening of chaos and complexity. The question of “freedom” will be more daunting as the politics of identity and the identity of politics become inter-twined.

What does “nation” mean? How must a nation be “free”? What kind of freedom must a nation enjoy and protect? In a consumerist society, how is freedom defined? How do bring the notion of freedom down to the grassroots level of the rakyat—how will we synthesise these notions?

Brazilian educator Paulo Freire would call this synthesis “praxis” in which the subjective and objective aspect of the phenomena under study become synthesised and transformed into action. The stage “cultural action for freedom” is an important aspect of this Malaysian revolution of 2008. How do we turn those at the grassroots level into active participants of the national development agenda? How do we teach them to reject all forms of state propaganda?

Freedom is an elusive concept and has its ambiguities. Mat Rempits think they are free and lead a life of total freedom, but who controls the production and reproduction of Mat Rempits. At another level, the power elites in the government think that they are guardians of Freedom/Merdeka but what is the meaning of freedom when those “corridors” built are institutions that will benefit the few and sell the country to foreign investors – in the name of progress.

Freedom is a prison-house of language

The new state governments in the yellow states (Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan) will need to showcase what freedom means and how the rakyat will benefit, in the most meaningful and tangible ways. What are the benchmarks of social justice and freedom that the rakyat will see in the agenda? How will “standards” of tolerance, justice, and peace be set and achieved – how will these be measured? How will the rakyat be the judge and the ones to decide if these standards are achieved?

We’re getting into a serious business of systemic and systematic change here, after the revolution.

Even fundamental is the question: who defines freedom? These themes below need to be explored in order to answer the question of the authorship of the definition of freedom:

- Needs versus wants

- Eco-philosophy

- Radical philosophy

- Poverty of culture and culture of poverty

Culture not merely and house we inhabit and the tools we use but both, evolvingly – technology shapes our consciousness.

Where do we go from here – in our exploration of two contradictory terms nationhood and freedom?

Let us discuss this question – as a new nation.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:36 pm

teejay,

it is the same as why ppl keep asking and critics abddullah about “4th floor advisor” …

this is considered tactic or lie as u mentioned? This is wat ppl see and feel that’s why ppl is asking.

2. #2 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:38 pm

ric23_my,

k……I think perhaps you need a break. I think everyone knows and wants to see the country to be better and though I can’t say for everyone but I think at the back of their minds they too are conscious of things.

It is just timing and time is needed now….

3. #3 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:41 pm

jetaime,

i understand ur point … so should we ask all the opposition and ppl here take a break, and stop attacking abbdullah cabinet … it is just timing and time needed .. may be they can perform well this time?

for sure not convincing, coz when it become serious on this issue, more and more talented ppl leaving DAP, then how DAP can be strong? I dun thin u want to see DAP as goverment for 5 years only right?

4. #4 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:45 pm

it is a known and proven fact that Datuk Badawi’s party failed the country along with their integrity, trust and confidence which can’t be or difficult to be restored, but the coaliation just started….

5. #5 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:50 pm

agree with you jetaime … but when the time coalition started, we already smell something fishy … why cant we critics? we cant let coalition going towards the way like BeeAnn … that’s why even at the very beginning, when see something wrong, we make noise

6. #6 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:17 pm

To ric23 that’s why even at the very beginning, when see something wrong (u see is wrong but are u in Teng’s shoes)? Yes he is no doubt the longest serving SA man, that doesnt mean a 29 yrs old will not be able to deliver better or on par? Don’t look down on age, Qin shihuangdi become the 1st emperor to unite CHINA at very young age. Whereas Genghis Khan completed his Western Conquest at age 60.

7. #7 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:34 pm

lakilompat,

Cant you see the point? No body says the 29 yrs old cant perform. He might be better than Teng, no body knows.

The question arise on how the selection criteria is made, as execution of a state goverment is not a trial and error game. It involves the interest of ppl, hence we want experienced ppl for this reason especially it is FIRST TIME DAP GOVERNING

If you are going to run a newly operate business (assume as the state government), and you want to hire an OPERATION LEADER. 2 person come for interview, one bring resume with experience stated and achivements stated (Teng), one bring a certificate from university since fresh graduate (Ean) … How you want to convince and give convidence to the company staff is the one with experience is dropped but a fresh one is selected?

This is crucial as we need experience ppl to START A NEW coalition … and the fresh one we should allocate in another position to gain experience from the experience one, and if perform well we will promote it …

cant see the logic and point?

8. #8 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:38 pm

to lakilompat,

How would you feel if DAP won the most seats for opposition and Uncle Kit not appointed as Opposition Leader and instead say Tony Pua (1st Term MP) became Opposition Leader. And further no explaination given from DAP CEC. Will you accept the decision? If you can accept and not query further, then I got nothing to say. I believe ric23 and my concerns are very clear. Why a 4 term SA is not even in the list for Exco? Make sense? No? Then we shall also not question our PM for appointing Muhd. Taib since this is PM’s choice and it’s his prerogative. We understand that young and inexperienced MP or SA also can be hardworking. The appointment of Exco Selangor must come with justification. Teresa exposed the “Squatgate”. Teng exposed the “Zakaria mansion” and many others. what has the 29 year old boy done to deserve an Exco place? No favouritism?

9. #9 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:49 pm

DAP must put things right for matters under their control. We can understand that for some of the matters which are beyond their control such as the composition of the Exco, quota for malays or even the MB Perak issue. What I want is TRANSPARENCY! Well done to the new Penang GOVT whose policies have been very promising after GE12. That is what we want! In Perak, although the majority of rakyat is Malay, they can still accept ratio of 6:3:1 for DAP/PKR/PAS. that is what rakyat want! Transparency! When it comes to DAP Selangor, the most senior SA and opposition leader has been excluded. I remember reading somewhere along the comments when a reader stated that DAP do not need someone who is suspended for 2.5 years (Last Selangor Assembly) and lacks teamwork. My Q is this, in order to please the party, shall an MP or SA follow blindly Party’s order or even bow to pressure although it is wrong? Then how is he going to act without fear or favour?

10. #10 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:50 pm

I was hoping the increase the speed limit of penang bridge 120 km/h this will help ease the congestion, the bridge is getting old and cramped. I’m not sure whether PAS in Kelantan did that, but according to Penang state & federal constitution, it is necessary for state govt to negotiate with federal govt. Well, don’t worry, i heard there will be meeting soon, as internal fights are becoming rampants these days, those puteri UMNO is going wild against PL decision to postponed the meeting because their leader was not in the cabinet, and this will also have causes their husband or boyfriend (Putera UMNO) to change their view toward PL administration.

Anyone of you watch yesterday night news, there was this Malay wearing GioGio Armani branded spec, during a press conference with YB Lim Guan Eng, he claimed “open tender policy” will never work because it is like “Gergasi lawan Kerdil” or “Giant vs Dwarf” as a Malay, he’s insulting the race, he stressed that Kerdil need protection. For me the Kerdil here mean those UMNO cronies. In Malaysia, we don’t have any law drafted to protect the Kerdil, but the problem is, this is their mentality. That’s why our Proton car (milo tin) cost so expensive, for the price of Proton Waja, you can easily get a better quality car in US, Canada, or Australia and even Thailand. The actual price of new 2008 Toyoto Altis full spec in Indonesia cost RM 108,000 but do you guys know how much it cost in Malaysia? even those imported car, Indonesia is selling at cheaper cost than us, who get most of the commission. Is the the law of protecting the kerdil?

We’ve had a bad news yesterday, Maybank acquisition of Indonesia bank at RM 8.6 billion, this cost major shareholders of Maybank to drop 10.6% in shares market. Well, did the govt. analyze the impact and whether it is necessary for Maybank to acquire this Indonesia bank? who is the broker this time, what is his name and how much commission he get after brokering such deal? Why not turn RM 8.6 billion into state bonds, so that the 5 opposition controlled states can benefit and further developed itself? the 5 opposition states represent 60% of Malaysia Economy. More and more funny things coming up, I’m wondering whether is this man qualified enough to be the Finance Minister?

11. #11 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:51 pm

to suporters of BR,

DAP must put things right for matters under their control. We can understand that for some of the matters which are beyond their control such as the composition of the Exco, quota for malays or even the MB Perak issue. What I want is TRANSPARENCY! Well done to the new Penang GOVT whose policies have been very promising after GE12. That is what we want! In Perak, although the majority of rakyat is Malay, they can still accept ratio of 6:3:1 for DAP/PKR/PAS. that is what rakyat want! Transparency! When it comes to DAP Selangor, the most senior SA and opposition leader has been excluded. I remember reading somewhere along the comments when a reader stated that DAP do not need someone who is suspended for 2.5 years (Last Selangor Assembly) and lacks teamwork. My Q is this, in order to please the party, shall an MP or SA follow blindly Party’s order or even bow to pressure although it is wrong? Then how is he going to act without fear or favour?

12. #12 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:54 pm

sorry for the duplicate post!

13. #13 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:55 pm

lakilompat,

ur statement at the last one … “I’m wondering whether is this man qualified enough to be the Finance Minister?”

A bit not fair hor? You can wonder why someone can be finance minister ….

But i kenot wonder why a fresh one selected but not an experience in Selangor exco?

14. #14 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:01 pm

To ric23_my, same question for me, u r pondering abt why a fresh one selected but not an experience, whereas im pondering on whether Pak Lah is qualified to be Finance Minister to allowed Maybank to quietly invested RM 8.6 billion, causing Malaysian shares holder to lost 10.6% as a Finance Minister he has failed to control the outflow of funds. The Rakyat lost in this case for each and every Maybank shares you guys hold on hand.

15. #15 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:02 pm

lakilompat,

besides that, it will be hard for us to ask others for “open tender policy” … coz ourself also cannot show transparency in selangor exco list which everyone is asking …

How we can stand firm to against others in this situation as we also have same problem?

16. #16 by teejay on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:03 pm

Ha ha ,ric23 now says whether Teng selected or not is not his problem ! He has been harping on Teng non selection for so long and now turn around and say not his problem.

He brings up the point that a 4 term ADUN not selected and a 29 yr old ( referring to Ean Yang ) was selected instead.

The answer is obvious, length of service is not the only criteria which the DAP leadership is using.

For the benefit of everyone,

Kit was the National Organising Secretary of the DAP when he was only 25 yrs old ( 1966-1969).
    He was elected to be MP for Kota Melaka in 1969 and promoted to Secretary General of the DAP in the same year when he was 28 yrs old.

Guan Eng won Kota Melaka seat when he was 26 yrs old in 1986 and was DAP Socialis Youth Chairman when he was 29 yrs old in 1989.

17. #17 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:04 pm

lakilompat,

then i answer ur pondering with the answer u gave me lah …

answer: dun ask too much, give time for pak lah. It is a decision and u must accept it …. then with the red card in football match example also …

Would u accept my answer?

18. #18 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:09 pm

teejay,

Hopefully Anwar compete and won a parliament seat, and take over the federal goverment … and the coalition appoint DAP’s Ean Yong as the deputy prime minister, LGE as Minister of Sport and LKS as Minister of Tourism …

then u don pendering me WHY, i will answer u age is not a problem …

19. #19 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:10 pm

My point is why dont choose person to serve the ppl based on experience and achivement … but by favourism?

20. #20 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:17 pm

teejay,

If length of service not a criteria, it means that you are willing to accept many fresh faces as our Exco? This is not a trial and error game. The rakyat only give BR one term to try their abilities. BR cannot to fail! If Teng served for 4 terms and do nothing then DAP may be justified in not naming him as Exco. But he almost single handedly pulled down Abu Hassan, Khir Toyo and the late Zakaria. How about the 10 “Bungalows” built for ex-Excos. All these are not achievements? Please tell me one achievement that Ean Yong has done. Anyone?

21. #21 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:21 pm

ric23,

BR may appoint Nurul as Finance Minister if they form Federal Governement cause she is young and energetic as illustrated by teejay. Cannot ask WHY? They will explain later! If the selection of Ean Yong is not favouritism, then prove to us DAP selected him on merits!

22. #22 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:25 pm

saubing,

this teejay u explain until saliva fly here and fly there also no use one lah … better save the energy and go cut grass at the roadside, more meaningful …

he is a hardcore supporter, means support everything blindly, without thinking in a rational way … if all the DAP members like this, also dunno DAP can survive for how long …

23. #23 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:30 pm

ric_23,

you have my support. It is such a pity that after waiting for 50 years, DAP can take part in forming of coalition State government in 3 states and the UMNO style of selection emerge immediately. If PM insisted in appointing KJ as Minister, I believe many, including teejay and lakilompat will shout cronisym, favouritism etc etc… But when DAP Selangor selected Ean Yong over Teng, no reason or explaination has been given. Before GE 12, who knows Ean Yong? Maybe i am ignorant. First step already wrong. So if DAP really form a coalition government after GE 13, we will see more in the likes of Ean Yong, Nurul, Teo Chieng Nie and sideline Tan Kok Wai, Tan Seng Giaw and Chow Kon Yeow? TRANSPARENCY! Please don’t act like UMNO Putras! Uncle Kit, I put it to you that the selection of Ean Yong is the same as PM selecting Muhd x2 Taib as Minister.

24. #24 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:31 pm

My case is different, i can judge the result based on fact, but in your case you’ve to really give time for Ean Yong to proof you wrong.

4 yrs oledi gave him, enough is enough. But you’ve never give EY a chance to proof you wrong.

25. #25 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:35 pm

ya …

I think tonite i go temple and pray … pray that abdulah tomolo appointed khaiiry as finance minister …

then i want to see this “lakilompat” wil lompat tinggi tinggi and the teejay will shout and pondering asking why or not …

then abdulah will tell them: “give him sometime, may be he is good. age is not a problem”

26. #26 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

lakilompat,

dun u think it is risky? later 4 years if Ean cannot perform well (no body knows) … and another election comming, u ask them to vote DAP again … they will tell u … 4 years .. enough is enough … then they vote BN …

that time i want to see u will lompat lompat or not …

27. #27 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:39 pm

that sounds like age discrimination…..no?

28. #28 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:40 pm

all of us are supporters of DAP or rather anti-BN. this is the first time I fell upset with DAP after this GE. As a future government (government in waiting like for DSAI said) we must prove that the running of the country is different from BN. Penang has taken every positive steps from GE 12 till now to show their commitment, transparency and caring to the people regardless of race and religion. I have nothing against Ean Yong but he got nothing to show us his abilities! He may be better than Teng but we must remember that 4-5 years is not long. BR cannot afford to make any mistake! Even then, it is principally wrong cause in my mind, the best is not selected. Teng commands our respect because he acted without fear or favour in exposing the wrongdoings of the ex Selangor government. He was also there at the Rimba Jaya incident. Even to the extent that he was suspended and his allowance of SA has also been suspended. If this is not his merits then I don’t know what is. I am really curious and can anyone tell me what have Ean Yong done in “bela” our rakyat to be able to be an exco at age 29 in his first term as SA. Maybe I am ignorant.

29. #29 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:52 pm

lakilompat,

the rakyat has waited 50 years for a change. as i stressed earlier, BR cannot afford to fail! Our beloved party, DAP’s motto- Transparency! No Cronisym, No Favouritism, No multiple posts (Fong PK criticised PM for having too many posts in an SS2 rally during GE12 for being a PM,Min of Finance and Min of Home Affairs but see what happens to Teresa now -exco,SA,MP). We are no different from BN. Still want to try fresh face?try 5 years, if cannot perform then only change Teng? if after trying 5 years, the rakyat got fed up and vote back BN cause no progress shown by BR, then we may have to wait for another 50 years or longer for another change. Malays also can abandon UMNO to try for a change. The stakes are high for BR to perform well in 5 states. In UK, it’s a norm for the two party system system to change governent every decade or so but in Malaysia we have waited for 50 years to change for the better. BR, please don’t fail us

30. #30 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:04 pm

saubing,

u make them confuse that u have age discrimination lah … make it simple …

if u want to choose someone to lead a business … one experiece and one fresh graduate … u must show result in 4-5 years times … 1st time u have this business …

which one u choose? in a rational sense and benefit for the staffs in that business?

31. #31 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:12 pm

sorry ric_23,

I am too long winded.good illustration!

32. #32 by teejay on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:34 pm

I rest my case about nic23 and saubing – they talk the same . are you related or the same person i wonder ….

When they cannot answer they will resort to personal attacks. When Teng,Teresa,Ronnie & Ean Yang positions are aready settled they still complain about it. why ? ….ulterior motive lah

They will bring up this ” favoursim ” and “cronyism” topic all the time even when the topic of this article is ” Brave new M’sian identity Emerging” by Dr Azly Rahman.

If you don’t believe me check out the next article Kit puts up.

I think the the saying ” If you tell a lie long enough people will believe it” was said by Joseph Goebbels – Hitler Nazi master Propangadist.

Please study their replies carefully ” Single handedly pull down Abu Hassan, Khir toyo, Zakaria” . this means that others didn’t play a part ?

I repeat , they are NOT supporters of DAP – their responses betray their true character.

33. #33 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:50 pm

teejay,

you can check with the administrator. I have given all my genuine details to the administrator. For your info, I am a Johorean. I got no more “saliva” to persuade you what is transparency. You can think of ulterior motive is a very genius attempt. even my name is real on the blog. You have too much suspicion. Am I telling a lie? what ric23 and i said are lies? I wonder how old are you. When we are concerned about DAP you said we are not supporters of DAP. Please check with the administrator. All of us log in here because we support our party. I don’t even bother to log in to UMNO or other BN blogs. Teejay, I rest my case. you don seem to understand why Ean Yong was selected without any merits. My only consolation is that all of us support DAP and have changed the history of malaysia’s politics. mind you, if DAP cannot perform well, we the rakyat can still vote them out. teejay, i feel like i am talking to wind. my Q went unanswered. you can even quote the lie things whereas I am merely stating facts. the exco has already been selected, let’s just hope they can perform well and be good “cats” regardless of race and religion. one final thing teejay, I believe everything you said, please don’t be too suspicious. not many people wants to lie here.

34. #34 by teejay on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:59 pm

Just as I suspected, when Kit posted an article about the Cabinet at 12noon today, the first response was by ric23 . What did he talk about ? You are right …. exco again …

Why ? To sow doubt about DAP

35. #35 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:00 pm

teejay,

then u write an email to webmaster and ask to sue me lah, they got even my house address from my application of member, to send the application form via mail ….

ppl just asking wat is the criteria for selection of selangor exco list only, then u twist here and there say ppl personal attack.

very difficult to establish a guideline on how the selection is made? if no guideline, then how they select? using throw coin method? why cannot show us the selection guide?

36. #36 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:02 pm

To Saubing

[QUOTE]“No multiple posts
    (Fong PK criticised PM for having too many posts in an SS2 rally during GE12 for being a PM, Min of Finance and Min of Home Affairs
    but see what happens to Teresa now -exco,SA,MP). We are no different from BN.”

I will applaud Fong, the problem is this old man is holding too many post but never seems to deliver any result. As Barisan rakyat supporter,
    we shouldn’t mind to give Teresa Kok (Sassy MP) a chance if she can handle the 3 post -exco, SA, MP and deliver good result to Rakyat.

[QUOTE]“Still want to try fresh face ? try 5 years, if cannot perform then only change Teng? if after trying 5 years, the rakyat got fed up and vote back
    BN cause no progress shown by BR, then we may have to wait for another 50 years or longer for another change.”

I can see you are pessimistic and impatience, if the freshie can’t handle it, before 5 yrs I’m sure someone within the party will topple him, don’t have
    to wait during the general election to do so. I’m sure, YB LKS and his team will ensure that all members are in line with the DAP principle.
    Some positive points noted, is that YB LGE banned all DAP members to apply for state land, this is indeed a very good move to silence all the DAP critics
    out there.

[QUOTE]“Malays also can abandon UMNO to try for a change. The stakes are high for BR to perform well in 5 states.”

Malay did not abandon UMNO, it is the leader of the UMNO that has become arrogant and subsequently abandoned them.

[QUOTE]“In UK, it’s a norm for the two party system to change government every decade or so but in Malaysia we have waited for 50 years
    to change for the better.”

We are not any better now, Federal Govt. is still control by UMNO cronies, they are now trying in vain to win back supporters by sabotaging every single
    effort proposed by the Opposition State Govt. Fortunately, state do not control the armies, else we will declare independent. Then war will break off
    Najib will send his fleet of Shukoi over our sky. The person who’s suffering will be the BR supporters. You see, corruption, leader who lied causes war,
    and war causes death, it’s happening in everywhere not even the US were spared. 4 thousand US soldiers died (since US declared war on Iraq) not defending
    their country but fighting for someone belief (truly patriotic but against principle) often has been proven wrong e.g. the Weapon of mass destruction and
    Iraq link with Al Qaeda. How about the family of these 4 thousand soldiers there will be more than 4 thousand orphans, and widows in US whereas did media
    report also include how many innocent Iraqi childrens, and adults died due to constant bombing in their homelands since war break off?

[QUOTE] “BR, please don’t fail us”

BR won’t fail if they start deliver results. I’m pretty satisfy jus 2 wks and 4 days after the 12th election, YB Lim Guan Eng are able to save RM 700. RM 100K
    for refusing to fix the rooftop of the govt. house, and 600K+ cancelling the 5 Perdana V6 for exco ordered by previous administration. Jobs welldone!
    Why CM salary is not RM 100K per month, why not if he can safe more than that? because all these old constitution, prefer to declared it low, then
    undeclared it more (avoid returning back) that’s how our old system failed the govt, push the minister into corruptions. With money, you ultimately
    become powerful.

37. #37 by teejay on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:05 pm

saubing

I severely damaged both you and nic23 case about Teng becos Teng already said bygones be bygones. Now they want to use Ean age to continue this conspiracy.

You say Ean was “chosen without merits”, Wow ! You know better than than the DAP CEC, man…………..

I repeat You are NOT supporter of DAP !

38. #38 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:08 pm

teejay,

i tot u remember wat i said previously? i will keep questioning until it is answered. Why cant u be open minded? U act exactly like UMMNO, only want to hear with good thing …

If i am not DAP supporter, why i raise this issue in this DAP blog? I for sure is not so stupid to do that as already know here got tons of hardcore supporters (support blindly without rational thinking) … if i really want to create chaos and spoilt the reputation of DAP, i can always go other public blogs to raise it up, as those blog shave more visitors than here 100 times .. furthermore many youngster have awareness of politics after 200GE … and i can affect their emotion easily … and let MCA easily make use of it …

but why i did not do so but i raise it here? This is the only internal source that i can find to express the disactifactory … impossible that i can face to face ask the DAP leader, rights?

39. #39 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:13 pm

ric23,

it’s his nature to be suspicious. He may think you, me and Teng is the same person. Funny isn’t it. If I don’t get any feedback from CEC DAP, in next election I won’t be surprised if DAP formed coalition government after GE13, many fresh faces will become important cabinet ministers and sideline more experienced MPs. I hope in the next election BN will not use this as an issue to attack DAP, understand? haiya, teejay, you want to suspect you just suspect la. Breathless la! What DAP used to attack BN especially UMNO during GE12, DAP itself have practised. Understand? Teejay, can you accept KJ as Minister now? If you say it is fine with you, then ric23 and me are very wrong here. If you cannot accept KJ as minister now, then i hope you understand our concerns regarding Teng. I hope you understand. or maybe I will see another of your “suspect” theories. or “lies” theory

40. #40 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:19 pm

teejay,

one thing very happy to see and appreciate is the web master of LKS blog is practicing the basic democracy … at least they only delete comments with fault word but not deleting comments which does not sound good …

imagine the web master have the character like u, then all the comments sound not good, will be deleted … and the blog only full of praise and say LKS handsome …

If u r supporter of DAP, then have the semangat of DAP lar, keep asking if see something wrong and never dies …

41. #41 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:22 pm

no insinuation intended, but you guys make good spokesperson for the coalition to reason out with the BN supporters…. :)

42. #42 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:25 pm

teejay,

I just love to see your conspiracy theories on me and ric23. Merits and achievements are not given by party leaders. it has to be felt by the rakyat. The papers have to report it. whatever DAP do now also if we don’t want to question. many years down the road, we may do what the malays do to UMNO in the election by rejecting them. UMNO claims to “bela” Melayu but they have failed. DAP stated Malaysian Malaysia but if they fail to honour it, rakyat may also reject DAP. Please answer my question on KJ, thanks. I repeat Ean Yong may be good but he has not been tested yet. why take this risk? I believe if we are not DAP supporters, why we want to log in here? teejay, do you know mca blogs,no? same with me. We can’t be bothered. right? come on, all of us hope DAP will be better and better. Just hope that the public will understand the justifications in the exco selection and hope bn will not use this to attack DAP in next GE. Khir Toyo already attacked Selangor Govt for sidelining Teng. Please see malaysiakini now.

43. #43 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:29 pm

teejay,

if we are not transparent, how we can stay firm to ask BeeAnn to transparent?

This will only give opportunity for BeeAnn to go against us.

44. #44 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:32 pm

ric23_my ur problem is, u insisted on something which has already been finalized. There shouldn’t be further question asked when it is final. I’m not hardcore DAP supporter, In fact, I’m not even a member, so I’m more like neutral, but i can see you are trying in vain to destroy and create a drama whereby Teng has been kicked out unfairly from the Exco namelist. Even when Teng explanation can’t satisfy you. You should go to Teng blog, to do it, or join BN coalition, put it in your little note there, when the next election come, you can raise this point out.

I know Teng brother is from Gerakan, well, there have pretty good generals there now, too bad their leader “Mickey” wasn’t a good leader cos he’s playing hand in hand with Ah pek siau.

45. #45 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:43 pm

Don’t follow what UMNO have done! during Dr M time, he changed lots of rules in UMNO. No Party election for many years, those vying for president must have 60 divisions (or branches, i can’t remember the percentage). the leaders choose not to listen to the grassroots. The grassroots voted loyally to them until they cannot stand anymore. i believe all those who log in here have bona fide intentions. we just hope CEC DAP will take note of what we feel wrong(it may not be wrong). It is up to them on whether they want to listen or not. i also believe lakilompat and teejay are very loyal. we want DAP to grow stronger. what else can we do if our opinions, representing only one vote for every person are not noted by CEC DAP? we exposed UMNO cronisym and favouritism (sorry teejay i have to use it again) as everyone knows KJ is only 31 years old and he is already no.2 man in UMNO Youth, please don’t let them have any chance to say “a pot calling the kettle black” on this Teng issue. that is my concern. Further when we said PM have not enough time (as one day only have 24 hours) to hold 3 portfolios, then don’t let BN to have a chance to attack back on this issue. please reduce the workloads of our beloved multi-tasking ADUN and MP. for GE13, hopefully, DAP MP and SA will be different. I believe by then there will be many talented and young energetic individuals who is willing to take up the challenge. Good luck DAP!

46. #46 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:49 pm

lakilompat,

why cant u see the point? let say we dun say teng lar OK? may be we say tiong or tang … why DAP want to discriminate talents? teng is just an example!

Fong in Batu Gajah, the girl compete for parliament, last minutes say dont want to compete and lost contact … and hint that due to discrimination that make her cant do her work efficiently … but at the end after persuading, then come back and won … u forgot already the case?

We are asking becoz we feel the smell of favourism .. and this is crucial as it will only make talent go off the party … and it is not good for party …

still cannot understand?

47. #47 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:50 pm

Is there a DAP youth division? i was looking forward to join one but i’m 30 yrs old does it fit me. Is there an age limit for youth?

48. #48 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:51 pm

lakilompat,

I remember reading somewhere in the MSM that Teng also has an uncle who is an MCA SA or MP. I think what ric_23 feared is that if we don’t show the public on the transparency, then in future how are we going to question BN on this issue. (remember those 4th floor boys with KJ as leader). what ric23 wants to know is explaination, DAP cannot behave like UMNO. Decisions often made but with no explaination. Many around the blogs questioned the reason Muhd x2 Taib been selected into cabinet. Don’t you want to know why? But our PM don’t even bother to explain. Do you think it is a popular move? hope you understand ric23 and my concern.

49. #49 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:54 pm

ric23_my i know, i’ve mentioned before Liu Bei has alot of capable generals, Guan Yu volunteered to be chosen, but Zhuge Liang objected, Guan Yu insisted, Zhuge Liang said fine, u must write military verdict in case he let go of Cao Cao he will have to bear the responsibility. Well, see what happen? favoritism? Guan Yu is capable but will he choose loyalty or principle? Don’t forget his bro is Gerakan, will you?

50. #50 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:55 pm

i think i don’t want to talk on behalf of ric23 or else others may think we are the same person. sorry ric23.

Comments are closed.