by Dr. Azly Rahman
http://www.azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com/
“Our government teaches the whole people by its example. If the government becomes the lawbreaker, it breeds contempt for law; it invites every man to become a law unto himself; it invites anarchy.” -Louis D Brandeis (American Supreme Court Justice, 1856-1941).
I do not wish to remove from my present prison to a prison a little larger. I wish to break all prisons. -Ralph Waldo Emerson, American transcendentalist.
The second wave of Independence, achieved with the storming of the “Bastille that is Putrajaya” in March 2008, in a phenomena called “implo-volution” in which the old regime was crushed by its own weight of contradiction and one whose ruins were charted some fifty years ago, present an interesting possibility. It is that of the ethnogenesis (emerging new culture) of a new Malaysian identity. Political will is complementing this philosophical vision. The Internet is aiding in speeding up the process.
The wave is forcing the various ethnic groups to think of defining itself as a ” new nation” when power-sharing of a truly multicultural nature at the state level is becoming a reality. Not only the different ethnic groups are fairly represented in what I call the “yellow” states of “Perak and Selangor” but religious background of the state leaders are also playing a key role in the evolving nature of the leadership.
The yellow states are forging ahead with care – aware of the sensitivities of the different ethnic and religious groups, focusing on the pragmatics and ethics drawn from each cultural tradition. Thus, we saw Penang CM Lim Guan Eng refusing to use thousands of ringgit of state funds to move to a new office, we saw the Kedah chief minister and we saw the continuation of Kelantan chief minister’s commitment to the principles of Islam in governing the state with prudence and tolerance.
What is displayed is Confucianist-Taoist ideas and Islamic brand of ethical leadership – two seemingly radical philosophies that actually complement each other. When it comes to statecraft, both are useful in forming as basis for a philosophy of governance that appeals to the Malays and the Chinese. These ideals are no different that the ones taught in Christianity, Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, and the cultural philosophy of the natives of Sabah and Sarawak and of the Orang Asli.
The “ethics of authenticity” as philosopher Charles Taylor would put it, is universal enough to be a guiding light of this new nation. Ethics by any name is a system of check and balances of the Evil and the Good within. It is the Middle Path of Inner Statecraft.
Istana Zakaria and pondok Nik Aziz
In speaking of the manifestations of the excesses of greed and the imbalance of evil within, two installations of polar opposites are worth quoting as semiotics of conspicuous consumption, in a country such as Malaysia.
The old and dying regime, Barisan Nasional too consists of Chinese and Malays. But the evolution of racial-politics necessitated the development of a style of leadership that requires extra-ethical means to be employed in order for power to be sustained via the control of wealth and resources. Not only these are controlled but they are displayed conspicuously and of late, with arrogance. This brought about the shocking defeat of the 50-year-old seemingly indestructible machine. The excess of this image of conspicuous consumption is in the Istana Zakaria.
The alter image to Istana Zakaria would probably be the house that Tuan Guru Nik Aziz inhabits. But why do we have these contradictions? How have we come to this historical juncture in which the moral compass of the national leaders are misplaced or even lost and what we are seeing are the consequence of the capitalist system that is rearing its ugly immoral head. We have created monsters out of the freedom we give human beings to profit from the consumerist capitalist system we created out of the fear of socialism and Communism.
Billionaires and multi-millionaires in this nation are creations of a system. They are the products of the evolution of individuals that are installed by the institutions derived from the ideology of uncontrollable free enterprise constantly wanting to be freer and freer. Over a long period of time, the system creates a huge gap between the haves and the have-nots. It creates antagonism – of class and the hypermodern caste system. This is the Reaganomics of poverty – a mass deception of the “magic of the marketplace”.
As a nation, what do we want to be known as? How do we re-engineer another evolution? How do we maintain a sense of personal freedom in the process of crafting a synthesis of “national identity and freedom?” Will the Internet be the great deconstructor of such an identity, once we forget it?
There are multiple contradictions in these questions. They are worth exploring.
Themes of freedom
I suggest we explore these themes below, either out of your own interest or for your graduate work. I think these are fertile areas of research to help us contribute to the ongoing conversation on the politics of identity.
- Human nature and freedom
- National Front, freedom and its problems – based on political economy of identity formation
- People’s Front and freedom – even more problematic since we have multiple layers of identity, construction, deconstruction, and reconstruction of identity.
- New bumiputeraism.
- Archaeology of identity
- Philosophy of beingness
- Theology of existence
- Sociology of nationhood
- Technologies of the mind and body
- Education and cultural engineering.
- Culture critique and ethnogenesis
- Social reproduction and social relations of production
- Institutions and installations
- Self in society
These I believe are themes we will explore as Malaysia progresses into the age of postmodernity bringing forth the excesses of freedom in a world characterised by the rapidisation of technology and the heightening of chaos and complexity. The question of “freedom” will be more daunting as the politics of identity and the identity of politics become inter-twined.
What does “nation” mean? How must a nation be “free”? What kind of freedom must a nation enjoy and protect? In a consumerist society, how is freedom defined? How do bring the notion of freedom down to the grassroots level of the rakyat—how will we synthesise these notions?
Brazilian educator Paulo Freire would call this synthesis “praxis” in which the subjective and objective aspect of the phenomena under study become synthesised and transformed into action. The stage “cultural action for freedom” is an important aspect of this Malaysian revolution of 2008. How do we turn those at the grassroots level into active participants of the national development agenda? How do we teach them to reject all forms of state propaganda?
Freedom is an elusive concept and has its ambiguities. Mat Rempits think they are free and lead a life of total freedom, but who controls the production and reproduction of Mat Rempits. At another level, the power elites in the government think that they are guardians of Freedom/Merdeka but what is the meaning of freedom when those “corridors” built are institutions that will benefit the few and sell the country to foreign investors – in the name of progress.
Freedom is a prison-house of language
The new state governments in the yellow states (Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan) will need to showcase what freedom means and how the rakyat will benefit, in the most meaningful and tangible ways. What are the benchmarks of social justice and freedom that the rakyat will see in the agenda? How will “standards” of tolerance, justice, and peace be set and achieved – how will these be measured? How will the rakyat be the judge and the ones to decide if these standards are achieved?
We’re getting into a serious business of systemic and systematic change here, after the revolution.
Even fundamental is the question: who defines freedom? These themes below need to be explored in order to answer the question of the authorship of the definition of freedom:
- Needs versus wants
- Eco-philosophy
- Radical philosophy
- Poverty of culture and culture of poverty
Culture not merely and house we inhabit and the tools we use but both, evolvingly – technology shapes our consciousness.
Where do we go from here – in our exploration of two contradictory terms nationhood and freedom?
Let us discuss this question – as a new nation.

#1 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:59 pm
lakilompat,
u pls lah, now is 2008 … u talk until china dynasty so long for wat? better u talk until jurassic park and all the dinasour also come out …
straight to the point lah … we dun talk about teng lar, OK? we talk about Fong in Batu Gajah … how to explain? Cannot smell another favourism?
#2 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:03 pm
Look what President Bush has done to the American, more than 4000 orphans, widows, or handicap soldiers returning from Iraq war? what do they get? is it an honor to get killed by friendly fire and enemy defending their home soils? He’s lying abt the weapon of mass destruction to gain support from allies and the ppl, he’s lying abt Saddam Hussein having link with Al Qaeda so that ppl will want to punish him badly. Well, ppl still support him right? Who can topple him? that’s the evil of democracy.
To Saubing & ric23_my i believe the explanation is clear, that he was not selected and he respected the decision.
#3 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:04 pm
lakilompat,
his bro is gerakan, uncle is MCA, it does not make any difference. Who wants to join opposition in the first place if they want money and post. those who is brave enough to join opposition is not afraid of ISA, lost business opportunities and many other factors. why we donate to DAP during GE? It’s because they need the money for day to day expenses.every single flag or posters the candidate need to bear. that’s why i really salute opposition party leaders. ISA is always waiting for them. Teng is a practising lawyer, do you think he will be popular among those large corporations especially banks and developers. I know that P Uthayakumar is also a lawyer and he spent most of his personal money to fight for the justice of his fellow Indians adn he is still under ISA detention. I always believe if a person join opposition party, it means he really can’t be bothered of lost opportunities. Salute to those opposition MPs and SAs!
#4 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:06 pm
I also respect Teng’s decision. Just hope that in future DAP CEC will be more transparent and careful in every decision they make.
#5 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:14 pm
When human died, the body will rot but the soul will be reincarnated. Scientifically it has yet to be proven, but is there anyone on earth can claimed this is not true and never existed.
History often warn us, tryant will failed, poor governance will lead to rebellions, such as the case when a group of incapable Eunuch take over the government. Leader who lied will lead the nation to destruction and despair, look at the American today. How many widows, orphans, handicap young man & woman they’ve produced as a result to achieve some individual patriotic dream?
Intelligent ppl observe the past (history) study the star, river flows, and rate the governance. By correcting history so that it won’t repeat, this will pave way for future. Identifying the past mistakes, correcting it now, observe and monitor during the implementation phase then rectify it or replace it to achieve the result desired. I believe, in order for a healthy system to work, patience is required.
#6 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:21 pm
lakilompat,
so we patient for 4 years lah … next election when DAP go near to the Selangor ppl, if they said … 4 years … enough is enough …
whose butt should i kick? i think i am going to voodoo u if this happen
#7 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:33 pm
Ean is appointed to settle the case involving Zakarria palace which digged out by teng …
we will see whether he can play his roles and dun fear against actions from UMMNO putra in near future …
see whether he dare to stand firm agaisnt these ppl or not .. if not, next year should immediately replaced
#8 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:42 pm
ric23_my no need 4 yrs, jus sit calmly and watch. If he’s doing something silly, YB LKS will drop the axe.
#9 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:45 pm
u this lakilompat, really kenot get the point
#10 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:58 pm
U shud respect and honor the decision, don’t argue anymore it won’t get you no where. Let their pledge speaks, and proof you wrong.
#11 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:00 pm
lakilompat,
i have semangat DAP, will always ask until they answer, never dies …
#12 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:01 pm
let’s move on
#13 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:05 pm
well then, u must ask them always but not in the manner earlier on, i mean earlier on u r relating the incidents to DAP principle, crony and favourism which might create an impression that they are not acting as one.
I agreed with saubing let’s move on.
#14 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:07 pm
But i feel is favourism, as can see in Fong case also … if not ask in this manner, wat is ur suggestion?
#15 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:19 pm
nice :) time……
#16 by BlackEye on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:34 pm
Hey Tickler,
You should know better than to get readers here worked up on events in Trengganu surrounding the Palace and the Malays there!
Why do you think YB Kit stays clear of the issue or issues surrounding the case? A cursory reading of the article would no doubt leave the less perceptive among readers that the DAP has been singled out for praise. It is not the case! There is nothing written that is complimentary of YB Kit and Karpal Singh!
(translated for the convenience of readers)
“However, deplorable some of the activities of non-Muslims in Malaysia they have yet to offend the teachings of Ad Deenullah, insulting the sovereignty of the Malay sultan.
Lim Kit Siang has yet to insult the Sultan the way UMNO Malays have done in Trengganu.
However stubborn Karpal Singh may have been in his protest against the implementation of Shariah law in our country, he has yet to insult his Majesty.”
Unquote
Needless to say, YB Kit in his infinite wisdom has chosen not to comment on the issue in his blog for fear of being dragged into the controversy.
“Mahaguru” is one blog non-Malay or even non-Trengganu Malay readers may want to visit occasionally to understand the Trengganu Malay psyche, but make no mistake it is not exactly a blog that could be said to subscribe to the concept of Malaysian Malaysia.
#17 by mycroft on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:07 pm
lakilompat, DAPSY (DAP Socialist Youth) membership is open to people below 40. That is the youth wing of the DAP. Not very sure, but I think if you join the Party, you are automatically seconded into it.
#18 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:29 pm
saubing Says: “I also respect Teng’s decision. Just hope that in future DAP CEC will be more transparent and careful in every decision they make.”
What statement are you making? You “hope” and in “the future”? So are you saying if Teng is wronged, it is ok? You just “hope” that in “the future” it will not happen again. I think this is not the way to support a political party. I want DAP to do the right thing now, not in the future. I expect and demand the DAP to do the right thing now, I don’t hope.
We must be rational when we support a political party. If we are blind and fanatical, in no time the party we support will behave like another BN.
#19 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:39 pm
limkamput … i will keep pondering until it is answered :p
#20 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:21 pm
limkamput,
please look at the earlier comments made by me,ric23,lakilompat and teejay. It is never my intention to say that it is ok if Teng is wronged. DAP CEC still do not want to give an explaination on why Teng is dropped. We, as concerned voters queried but still there’s no reply from DAP CEC. what can i do? I admire ric_23 persistence but what can we do if DAP do not want to answer our queries?
#21 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:25 pm
limkamput,
please look at the earlier comments made by me,ric23,lakilompat and teejay. It is never my intention to say that it is ok if Teng is wronged. DAP CEC still do not want to give an explaination on why Teng is dropped. We, as concerned voters queried but still there’s no reply from DAP CEC. what can i do? I admire ric_23 persistence but what can we do if DAP do not want to answer our queries? you can see whether i blindly support or i have many queries? whatever it is let’s move on…….
#22 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:45 pm
saubing,
i very energetic, will keep pondering until it is answered :p
#23 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:48 pm
“We must be rational when we support a political party. If we are blind and fanatical, in no time the party we support will behave like another BN.” limkamput
Saubing, you’re new on this blog. So you could be excused for not knowing that only this self-appointed resident gatekeeper is rational, not blind and not fanatical.
But hey who says in the land of the blind the one-eyed jackass is not king??
#24 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:58 pm
ric23,
I am not as energetic as you. please see this article
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/80481
I think it’s well said. DAP should do some reflection after this GE.
I hope you can update me if there is any reply from DAP CEC regarding the matter that you are so persistent! Keep it up!
#25 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:02 pm
saubing Says:
I admire ric_23 persistence but what can we do if DAP do not want to answer our queries? you can see whether i blindly support or i have many queries? whatever it is let’s move on…….
What can we do? We also have lots of complaints against BN, and what can we do? Hmm, nothing much we can do and let’s move on……and we have been doing that for 50 years. If we are not careful, the next 50 years is another “let’s move on….”.
#26 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:10 pm
limkamput,
I’m sorry for not stating my earlier comments clearly. what i mean for let’s move on is on Mr Teng’s case. Thank you
#27 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:29 pm
saubling,
I think you don’t understand me. I am referring to Teng’s case and my point is we just can’t move on unless we get some answers from DAP. Otherwise DAP will be no difference from BN. Be it on Teng’s case, be it on the administration of a state government, and be it on the management of a political party, the principles of transparency, fairness and accountability are the same and they equally and unequivocally apply. If we can sacrifice Teng, we can sacrifice bigger issues in the future.
#28 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:37 pm
limkamput,
We have been asking for explaination since Monday but until today there is no justification or explaination from the CEC DAP regarding their criteria in choosing the three excos. they want to behave like UMNO Putras mentality “we think what is best for the rakyat” selecting the 29 years old boy is the same like PM selecting KJ as Minister. no justification. maybe u can refer to my previous comments. I am tired of repeating.
#29 by mycroft on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:13 am
saubing said,
“selecting the 29 years old boy is the same like PM selecting KJ as Minister.”
I can think of a hundred reasons why KJ should not be a minister and his age is not one of them. Similarly, I cannot think of any reason why Ean Yong’s age should count against him. I think you are being highly insulting by calling him a boy. He’s 29 years old, which means that he is 11 years past 18, which is when most people are considered to have become matured. That’s hardly a boy, is it? Or are you saying that his constituencies are stupid for electing a “boy” to be their representative?
Age is only a number. William Pitt the Younger, one of Britain’s most famous and respected Prime Ministers became the PM at the age of 24. Ok, granted in those days things worked differently, but he was also derided by his political opponents for his age more than anything.
As for Teng not being in the ExCo. I think the matter should be dropped. Instead of attacking the DAP for that, I don’t see anyone of you questioning why the DAP was only given 3 seats which is what PAS won when the DAP won 13 seats compared to 8 seats for PAS.
#30 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:00 am
mycroft,
saubling might make u misunderstand on this issues … it is not about age or person
it is the same theory why we all curious on certain formation of abdullah cabinet … we will ask if we curious …
selangor case is why an experience and has achivement candidate is not appointed but a fresh one is appointed … usually fresh one is selected if we have no other choices … but in this case it is not …
bare in mind … we have only 4 years time … and chances that BN will take over selangor is very high … BN fall this time becoz they have too much weakness … not becoz the opposition have many achivements in governing state (since we dont have chances for 50 years) …
with this short time of 4 years, we need to make use of ppl with experience to ensure that the experience can efficiently help to achieve some performace on the state government … DAP need big achievemnt, not minor achievement in selangor goverment …
that’s the reason why ppl curious and asking, why dun make use of the experience one but a fresh one IN THIS CRITICAL MOMENT?
#31 by saubing on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:00 am
mycroft,
I’m sorry if I make u misunderstand my meaning. To cut things short.
Q1- Why must DAP use an untested Ean Yong as Exco to investigate the matters that were brought by Teng?
Q2-Why must DAP drop a proven SA with creditable showing in the late Zakaria istana issue and let Ean Yong investigate?
Q3- Who has more knowledge in the istana Zakaria NOW?
Q4- What is the justification in selecting Ean Yong over Teng?
DAP=TRANSPARENCY
or is it?
#32 by saubing on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:07 am
mycroft,
maybe I am wrong, the reason that DAP got 3 exco instead of 4 exco is because the Sultan “advised” that the proportion of the Malays and nono-Mal;ays exco be be at least equal. I am sure DAP would not want to dispute this as they may end up like UMNO Trengganu and the MSM may sensationalise the issue (like what they did to Uncle Kit for the Perak MB issue). 13/36 is 36%. so we are almost there if Teng is made a Speaker.
#33 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:43 am
saubing,
u better save enegy lah, they are DAP Putra …
it will be the same as if you ask UMMNO Putra about the DEP, they will twist here and there to make it out of topic and finding excuses to escape …
#34 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:46 am
The appointment or the non appointment of Teng goes beyond age and experience arguments. It may also connote hegemony within DAP where senior and potentially capable leaders are sidelined.
I see that we are vociferous in our attack against Ean Yong and Ronnie (to some extent) but we have left Theresa untouched. May I know why, is it because she is a woman or a popular MP? Is she really that capable or resourceful to be everywhere and holding so many positions? Never mind, we shall all see the quality of her work as well as Ean’s and Ronnie’s from now on. Besides, I think the positions they are holding now are not their own doing or decision. Ultimately, it is CEC and Sdr Lim who need to provide some explanation on this.
#35 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:05 pm
Pak Lah can’t take KJ, else he have to declare, also it is much better for KJ to remain low profiles to keep things secret anyhow Pak Lah will still seek KJ advise on certain federal contracts, the Iskandar projects etc. Don’t forget Pak Lah need to enjoy family life with Jeanne, grandson, daughter, son, ultimately Khairy. If you appoint Khairy as minister, he will be busy. Now Khairy is not minister he can easily fly here and there enjoy his life, any new contracts come, he will get first hand info. He’s probably enjoying his massage now or sipping his coffee at one of the golf ranch while the rakyat and opposition struggles to fend off federal sabotage and EXCO appointment.
Pls look and think far! Why i need be a minister when im a prime minister eye and ear?
#36 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:10 pm
Q1- Why must DAP use an untested Ean Yong as Exco to investigate the matters that were brought by Teng?
[Rejuvenate - New ideas, talents that doesn't mean Ean Yong can't deliver]
Q2-Why must DAP drop a proven SA with creditable showing in the late Zakaria istana issue and let Ean Yong investigate?
[They work as a team whoever is drop and rise, does it really matters? Is it in the constitution one must be creditable in order to get the appointment?]
Q3- Who has more knowledge in the istana Zakaria NOW?
[Who care?]
Q4- What is the justification in selecting Ean Yong over Teng?
[Rejuvenation? perhaps, give young generation a chance]
DAP=TRANSPARENCY
[Off course else you wouldn't have statement made from Teng]
#37 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:15 pm
lakilompat,
this issue make ppl feel the smell of favourism, and sidelined of potential and caliber leaders ..
since DAP selangor have their reason and criteria to select the exco list … if it is convincing, why so scare to let other knows?
If DAP selangor will tell ppl that exco is selected based on criteria “who’s armpit hair is the longest” … then i am going to use a ruler to measures … if teng’s armpit hair is the shortest, then i will keep quiet and accept it …
there must already a criteria how the formation is made, right? Then what it is? ppl curious to know since there is smell of favourism …
#38 by saubing on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:16 pm
I have never doubted Teresa’s ability cause she has shown results since becoming an MP from 1999. the same goes to Teng who have been showing results since 1995. But then the same cannot be said of Ronnie and Ean Yong. hope they can be good or even better than Teresa and Teng. Just curious why DAP want to risk this little chance given by the rakyat after a 50 years wait to test on fresh SA. I agree with ric23. with DAP Putras in DAP, the CEC do not need to show Transparency here!
#39 by wag-the-dog on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:17 pm
Malaysia’s Beauty only Skin Deep – A Nomad
This article was written by a traveller and an expat who had lived in Malaysia.
Malaysia is a great country! Unspoiled beaches, excellent diving spots, mountains surrounded by misty fog, exotic fauna and flora and a healthy, vast rain forest are attracting plenty of visitors. Islands like Pulau Langkawi, Tioman, Penang, the Perhentians or locations like Genting Highlands have a legendary reputation with travelers.
The country embraced tourism already many years ago and the slogan “Malaysia – truly Asia” will ring in your ears forever; once you saw the mesmerizing advertising campaigns on CNN, BBC or other global TV stations.
However, Malaysia’s politics were never that idyllic and recent years were no exception:
What happened so far?
Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.
#40 by politicalopinions on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 4:42 pm
Original Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house
and laying up supplies for the winter.
The Grasshopper thinks the Ant is a fool and laughs & dances & plays
the summer away.
Come winter, the Ant is warm and well fed. The Grasshopper has no food
or shelter so he dies out in the cold.
New Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house
and laying up supplies for the winter.
The Grasshopper thinks the Ant’s a fool and laughs & dances & plays
the summer away.
Come winter, the shivering Grasshopper calls a press conference and
demands to know why the Ant should be allowed to be warm and well fed
while others are cold and starving.
TV1, TV2 & TV3 show up to provide pictures of the shivering
Grasshopper next to a video of the Ant in his comfortable home with a
table filled with food.
The majority of the Parliament is stunned by the sharp contrast.
How can it be that this poor Grasshopper be allowed to suffer so?
Khairy stages a demonstration in front of the Ant’s house.
Nazri goes on a fast along with other Grasshoppers demanding that
Grasshoppers be accorded the same comfort during winter.
Most of the related people criticize the Government for not
upholding the fundamental rights of the Grasshopper.
The local newspapers (MSNs) & the Internet are flooded with online petitions
seeking support for the Grasshopper (many promising Heaven and
Everlasting Peace for prompt support as against the wrath of God for
non-compliance).
The u must not object controlled Parliament immediately passes a law preventing Ants from working
hard in the heat so as to bring about equality of poverty among Ants
and Grasshoppers.
Krishammudin provide ‘More Special Reservation’ for Grasshoppers in
Educational Institutions & in Government Services.
The Ant is found guilty and fined for failing to comply with 30% sharing. Having
nothing left to pay his retroactive taxes; its home is confiscated by
the Government and handed over to the Grasshopper in a ceremony
covered by the MSNs.
Prime Minister announces to the whole nation that this is part of
the Never Ending Policy and all have to respect, no questions asked and have to follow
it.
Many years later
The Ant has since migrated and set up a multi-billion dollar company in its new country.
In spite of the NEP, 100s of Grasshoppers still die of starvation everywhere.
With the loss of many hard working Ants who worked very hard feeding the Grasshoppers,
the country still remains a developing country!!!
Where will the country be without the ants……………………….
so…. are you the brilliant hardworking ant or the grasshopper that is dependent on the NEP
and forever hopping for aid???
Found this in the net….enjoy
#41 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:57 pm
Malaysia is a paddy field infested by locust (UMNO), thanks god the new pesticides has been introduced.