“Pace of reforms”? – Abdullah has yet to come to terms with March 8 political tsunami

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has yet to fully come to terms with the March 8 political tsunami which swept away the Barisan Nasional’s hitherto unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and power in five states.

He said yesterday:

“The result of the elections was a strong message that I have not moved fast enough in pushing through with the reforms that I had promised to undertake.

“I thank the Malaysian people for this message. Point made and point taken,”

Abdullah’s admission is not assuring enough, as he seems to have missed the whole point of the March 8 electoral verdict – not that he had “not moved fast enough” in reforms he pledged more than four years ago, but that he had hardly moved at all apart from periodically paying lip-service to them.

This is why there can be no political honeymoon for the second Abdullah Cabinet to implement what had been pledged four years ago as Malaysians are entitled to demand that these pledges going back to 2003 and 2004 are implemented without any further delay or hitches.

This is the reason why I had sent an urgent letter to the Prime Minister yesterday on the eight reforms which the new Cabinet should immediately embrace at its meeting today to show that the second Abdullah Cabinet is prepared to respond to the March 8 political tsunami and be on top of the changes demanded by Malaysians, in particular:

1. Immediate and unconditional release of the five Hindraf leaders, P. Uthayakumar, newly-elected DAP Selangor State Assemblyman for Kota Alam Shah M. Manoharan, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and T. Vasantha Kumar from Internal Security Act (ISA) detention.

2. Restoration of national and international confidence in the independence, integrity and quality of the judiciary.

3. First-World Parliament – full commitment to comprehensive parliamentary reform and modernization including live telecast of parliamentary proceedings, an Opposition Deputy Speaker, an Opposition MP to head the Public Accounts Committee, ministerial status for Parliamentary Opposition Leader and a full Select Committee system headed by Parliamentarians where every Ministry is shadowed by a Select Committee.

4. All-out drive to eradicate corruption with the elevation of the Anti-Corruption Agency as an autonomous agency answerable only to Parliament.

5. Full implementation of the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service to reduce crime, eradicate corruption and uphold human rights, particularly the establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

6. All-party inquiry to enhance Malaysia’s international competitiveness including having a world-class education system to enable the country to successfully face the challenges of globalization.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ilovedap on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:05 am

More importantly, I want to know when will they release the Hindraf 5? Come on Mr. Government. The people have voice out over and over again. Please release them and treat everyone like a human.

2. #2 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:06 am

Never see Pak Lah prepare his own speech before, did he prepare what speech he’s going to deliver or any Tom,Dick and Harry prepare it for him to read for the sake of press conference, he’s jus reading it for fun.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:39 am

I can’t believe after all the shouting that Badawi is about to cave-in to the Terengganu Sultan. Its the equivalent of a CEO having to fire a key staff because one of his members of board of advisors says so. When you are forced that way, its the beginning of the end of the CEO.

He does not see the big picture. He just does not.

4. #4 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

CEO failed to acknowledge the Board & the management. His days are definitely numbered. He’s going to continue sleeping again and again after delivering a few speeches, launching a few events.

5. #5 by Menang atau mati on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:06 pm

To those who directed their comments to me – points made and points taken.

WOW!! Sounds like Pak Lah,looks like Pak Lah but it is not Pak Lah – it is “Victory or Death”

RAJA PETRA DEFAMATION CASE

I cannot log on to his Malaysia Today website to post comments because labisman has not come back to me to grant permission to post comments.

That being so, I am pledging my support for Raja Petra here.

I pledge RM1000/- in support of Raja Petra defence/ appeal of the judgement handed down against him.

YM Raja Petra , just give me your account no. and it will be banked in within 48 hours.

I hope this gesture of mine will nudge or inspire others to do so similarly with whatever amounts they can.

We should start a Raja Petra Defence and Counter-suit Fund.

“Victory or Death”

6. #6 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:02 pm

menang atau mati.

you are a gem.
    Raja Petra had done much for Malaysia . arrested under isa. threatened with multiple reports, to the extend marina abdullah was even called to dang wangi for interrogation.

bentoh>
    if you are not having the ‘moderating thingy’- means you are good and beautiful and well mannered and high eq and iq. because i get carried away many times emotionally .

7. #7 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:38 pm

that was a quick ruling by the courts whilst other pertinent and highly publicized cases are prolonged…..

rick23_my, perhaps you can lend a helping hand to demand for an immediate answer re the above….

8. #8 by Menang atau mati on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:42 pm

By the way ,if Raja Petra’s comments were posted on his website and the website is based in the U.S, surely the Malaysian courts have no jurisdiction over the case and so cannot pass judgement.

Anybody ,can enlighten?

9. #9 by jetaime.f on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:06 pm

perhaps, that’s why it’s a defamation case

10. #10 by Menang atau mati on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:00 pm

Even if defamation case,it should be heard in the country the website is hosted?

11. #11 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

If ruling coalition win this case, it means Pak Lah, Khairy and his son will become filthy rich, he will sue each and every rakyat who said something bad abt him. Even voting for or supporting the opposition is illegal look at this letter:-

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k278/v-k0/UMNOBlacklist.jpg

Can we sue the person who directed this mail as threatening to blacklist contractor?

Why not they sue You tube for defaming them?

12. #12 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:55 am

Can we hear some statements from DAP, PAS and PKR on how we shall help Raja Petra solving his four million defamation award against him. He should be appointed the Governor of Penang, do you all think so?

13. #13 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 4:27 pm

Yes, my vote goes to Raja Petra as governor of Penang.

I hope I qualify to vote for him.

4 generations Penangite starting with my great grandpa, born and bred in Penang I am!

14. #14 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 3:01 pm

What’s the status of Raja Petra lawsuits?