by Martin Jalleh
The Umno-BN hegemony has come to a sudden halt. The 50-year old political juggernaut has been severely jolted. Its formidable force fragmented. A mean machine has been reduced to a mouse.
The coalition that had used its brute majority to bully and bulldoze its way and will in Parliament, blinked when the Opposition breached its two-thirds majority. It was something that they had not bargained for.
The regime of humbug, hype, hypocrisy, hysterics and histrionics, displayed especially in Parliament, has been humbled, even humiliated. People in high places came hurtling down without knowing what really hit them.
The government of unbridled arrogance of power and brazen high-handedness has been brought low. A haunting silence hovers over the once haughty as their political future hangs heavily against hope. The high and mighty are hushed.
The powers that have dominated, dictated and decided for “the good of the people” have been dented. The BN is left in a daze as to why and how they have been ditched and damned so decidedly.
Umno’s high-profile ‘heroes’ had failed to prepare the party to cope with the winds of change. Instead, they became experts in denial, diversion, damage control and in demanding that they be not deprived of their “crutches”.
They had tried to stamp their superiority by demonising others, demolishing critics, “desensitising” non-Malays by brandishing a keris annually, and dramatically displaying Umno as the staunchest defender of Islam.
Umno’s elite would even walk over each other to grab any and every opportunity to satisfy their insatiable and grotesque greed — and they would have the gall to do it under the guise of fighting for the poor Malay.
Incapable of reforming themselves, as former PM Mahathir had inspiringly pointed out recently, it was only a matter of time when Umno would implode – self-destruct – the inevitable happened on 8th March!
The rakyat were fed up, frustrated and furious at the unconscionable Umnoputra elite and their lapdog coalition partners for having bled this country dry and gambling the country away with the racial and religious card.
The people were tired of the government’s make-believe. Behind its portrait of a “successful nation” hung an increasingly strained and soiled social fabric – which they had to contend with everyday of their lives.
Pak Lah’s advisors failed to read the groundswell of disillusionment and discontentment. Detached and disconnected from the grassroots, they discussed day-to-day realities from the 4th Floor…as the PM dozed off!
For four years they had gone on a frolick, fumbling and flip-flopping all the way, while the people struggled to stay afloat against the rising cost of living…and as the leaders of the country grew fat and flaunted their fortune.
Khairy and his boys on the 4th Floor must have flogged themselves or went into a fit as four more states fell to the Opposition. Oxbridge must have wished they never had such an ox-brained graduate.
Dr Mahathir says Pak Lah is responsible for ‘destroying’ Umno and BN. He forgets that the ruins of today have their roots in his government of yesterday — one riddled with the most rotten of policies, practices and public personalities.
“Small” Smart Voter
Alas, it was the “small” and ordinary man and woman on the street without cash, clout or connection who succeeded in clipping, curtailing and even crushing executive supremacy.
In the run-up to the elections they were unafraid of being gassed or goaded on like animals into police trucks. They also refused to be gagged by the gamut of executive powers to contain, cripple and crush legitimate dissent.
Neither did they succumb to the government’s threats and taunts, or fall for its treacherous tricks, treats and theatrics or bow and bend in servile subservience, or allowed themselves to be bribed or ‘bought over’.
In the long ‘march’ to freedom, the rakyat matched the BN’s ‘Man, Media, Money and Machinery’ with their ‘Courage, Camadarie, Commitment and Cyberpower’. It was People’s Power that pushed this nation forward.
The populace were also not swayed by the four economic corridors (totaling RM1 trillion) – a cheap claptrap meant to keep the PM and his cronies in the corridors of power.
They did not flinch nor faint when met with another “formidable force” – the Elections Commission – which left indelible traces of farce, flaws and fraud behind.
Aided by the alternative media, the rakyat were able to make out and even mock at the spin and slant created by the mainstream media assisted by their band of “convertible” intellectuals.
General Elections 2008 saw the voter of Bolehland coming of age. Crossing the age-old race and religious divides many boldly made their ‘one choice’ in the ballot box and told the PM the blunt truth.
The voter of today is discerning enough to decipher truth from falsehood, daring enough to cross mental borders, barriers and bias and to risk uncertainty that accompanies change, and determined enough to synergise with others to bring about genuine change.
The representatives of the Opposition must take note of this evolution of the matured and politically sophisticated voter – who will have no scruples over voting them out of office if they failed to keep their oath of office.
One can imagine Abdullah Badawi looking back on the day when the citizens of Bolehland gave him a massive mandate to seize the moment and to bring about much-needed change but the PM failed miserably.
The daggers are now drawn on poor Pak Lah. Perhaps Hishamuddin Hussien could tell us when they are going to use it? What a tragic and twisted irony! What an ‘unmitigated disaster’ for Umno, BN and the whole country!
(22 March 2008)

#1 by max2811 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:58 pm
Actually, I’m waiting for a witch-hunt. I hope to see all those who made a bundle during the previous regime thru illegal means must be put to trial.
LGE has something big about Gov land in Penang. He shouldn’t stop.
#2 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 4:10 pm
lakilompat,
u can just find any excuse to escape from being question about the selangor issue … and keep arrogant and ignorant … and smiling for urself for the next 5 years … see whether u still can gain support in next election or during Anwar competition soon … u will pay for the consequences due to the arrogant and ignorant …
It is very sad to see how a person betray it’s propaganda after they gain the power … i wish to see DAP can gain confidence back for ppl around especially after this issue …
If this issue is not well taken … it is very obvious wat ppl commonly said about DAP is true? -> A PARTY WITHOUT PARTIES, IS NOT A PARTY …
I hope this issue is taken care well … else i will still keep questioning
#3 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 4:10 pm
what’s SCOMI?
#4 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:27 pm
SCOMI helm by Pak Lah son, Kamaludin Abdullah. It’s a company that tackle all kind of govt. project whether it’s on air, land or sea.
ric23_my dun be like tat, u need a life, if ppl not selecting u doesn’t mean they are arrogant, when im playing a basketball game, the teacher will ask the 2 leader to choose their starting 5, if u r not been pick, dun get curse, becos overalls u will still be sitting on the bench. This is what i call team work. I think not even 2 girls can satisfy your mockery on S’langor exco list.
#5 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:31 pm
lakilompat, thanks. My guess is that Scomi is the public listed company in the KLSE main board.
#6 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:45 pm
jetaime, yes it is, On 1st November 2007, Scomi Engineering bags RM 122 million LRT Expansion Job. Who’s the man behind this project?
Khairy has 20% stake in Rapid KL, Rapid Penang, wow! I’m jealous well too bad I’m not Pak Lah son in law. Well, it will be tough to be one. It’s lucky I can lived a good life without being call “Raja Beruk”
#7 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:45 pm
lakilompat,
Then there is no point why we choose DAP rather than BN, since whoever is in power, the one will implement for favourism and crony policy … then next time dun ever use again the propaganda “best use of talent” .. and “transparency policy” … coz it will not be convincing anymore …
It only make ppl like me feel being cheated. We urge ppl around us to vote for opposition, 1 vote also kenot less to ensure that the opposition will not lost to the BN by postal vote …
and after they gain the power, we are forgotten and ignored … can be understandable if DAP leader did not appreciate for member that can contribute for so many years long … how would they appreciate to normal person like me who only contribute a small vote?
I will ensure that the voice of ppl regarding this issue is highlighted in public and widely spread if 1st attempt to discuss it internally is ignored… to create awareness so that the ppl will not cheated anymore … as we have been cheated for BN for 50 years …
We will see wat are the consequences in near election for anwar … we want to see the rakyat voice is greater than crony voice or teh other way round …
DAP leader can ignore, but u will pay for it … pay for the lesson similar to BN due to arrogant and ignorance …
#8 by joehancl on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:49 pm
REMEMBER the 7th day of the 7th moon of the chinese calender. It comes around once a year. When the gates of hell open it sweeps forth and the devil takes in its own. Be not afraid, be forewarned rather, those who suck the blood of the rakyat will be nailed one way or another.
#9 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:57 pm
joehancl, they dun care, even killing some1 and blowing it up into pieces is still OK. They will kill you 1st before been nailed. They are much worst than devil.
#10 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:59 pm
Thanks for volunteering the info. Appreciate it.
#11 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:02 pm
Nay, don’t think one wants to earn a living in that manner, if the intention is bad.
#12 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:52 pm
I fully agreed with what Martin Jalleh had written. Fantastic write-up. Really pray that our new BR would show the BN what is the proper administration! Be prepared for full take over in the next GE!
#13 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:17 pm
“Dr Mahathir says Pak Lah is responsible for ‘destroying’ Umno and BN. He forgets that the ruins of today have their roots in his government of yesterday — one riddled with the most rotten of policies, practices and public personalities.”
He knows that and he knows that we know that – and we in turn know that he knows that we know that. But he so hates the guy that he has to be heard saying that he has made a ‘mistake’ in appointing him as his successor – public admission of failure that we never heard him make before. The truth is it wasn’t a mistake when he made the choice. The ‘mistake’ is he forgets that power changes the man – like it did him. Power corrupts.
#14 by penang308 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:20 pm
So far so good in Penang!
The Penang people are happy. We know the job is not easy and we know BR can do it!
KS & LGE! we are 100% behind you!
#15 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:21 pm
Abdullah soon realizes that if it ain’t broken why fix it – especially if being in the different stages of being ‘broken’ he could benefit from it.
#16 by kslaw70 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:34 pm
Mr Lim, what u said of team of 5 DAP adun in the coalition gomen is just your lips service to quiet down the complaint by voters and party members pertaining Teng’s case.
2 weeks after election DAP CC still cant or reluctant to explain why and how Teng was drop. Show to us once and for all the judgement DAP CC used to drop him. I think if the reasons is good and you got nothing to hide than the whole story will be closed.
It looks to me that DAP CC dont have any reason to explain why a 29 years old freshie is more qualify than a 4 terms ADUN. I pity Tan Sri Khalid try over and over again to help DAP to explain to journalists everytime being ask about this matter.Dap now is part of the state gomen not opposition any more, pls act according to your latest status.
When people never complaint or silent dont treat people like stupitful. What u do now will give u the impact come next election.
Just to say : BN BOLEH, DAP LAGI BOLEH!
#17 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 8:00 pm
this is malaysia.we hv leaders who hv even abused the laws.even if a prime minister is found guilty in anyway…he shoudnt be immune by the laws of malaysia.if hes dirty he shud be put away and in jail for misguiding the country and its people with all the lies and all the cheats.but these clowns are too good actors and they will always hv a scapegoat to get away with any sins they hyv done while projecting their god-like looks.and these people really made most of us malaysians sick.[deleted]
#18 by Loyal Malaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:39 pm
Does the PM read? Send him and the ‘lapdog partners’ a copy of this analysis so they do not have to still look for reasons or give stupid reasons for the BN loss of 4+1 states and the 2/3 majority.
And I’m sure the opposition leaders know it is true that the rakyat will hold them to account in the administration of those states in 5 years time.
#19 by straight talk on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:32 pm
Give Pah Lah some credit lah. If the PM was Najib with Mahathir’s backing Barisan Rakyat -DAP,PKR & PAS would not have captured the other 4 states or wld have been able to deny 2/3 in Parliament. Look the BA is in 7 states. Don’t forget the Sultans of Perlis & Trengganu also opposed Pa La’s nominations. The time is now for the BA to show how they can rule in these 5 states effectively and efficiently. If this is achieved then come next GE the rest of states will follow to elect the BA. Rule well with a heart.
#20 by pjboy on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:29 pm
Well, BN is always good at blaming others for their misdeeds. The recent Star forum was just a chance for MCA-UMNO to propaganda & test YB TP reactions. Bravo YB TP for putting up with it. Some of the things said were hard to swallow – but I have to say the only one that stayed to the topic (80% I say) was only YB TP. However, the remark on “voting the dog” should be reserved to teh-tarik talk lah, no need to highlight…that part was turning into almost to a ceramah! Maybe BR should have a bi-monthly ceramah until next GE!!!
#21 by pjboy on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:34 pm
Like any war strategy, attack the enemy at its weakest points…draw away the enemy strongest points away from your own weakest points. Likewise, going to war has only one option: to win! The 12th GE was only the 1st battle. This is now like the 1st landings of the Allied Forces against the Nazi. Maybe I had too much coffee…
#22 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:08 am
Did you fellows read or not Sdr Lim’s posting here and also in another thread. Why keep on arguing about Teng like “eating dead chicken intestine”. Sdr Lim said wait, we wait lah. For how long we wait, I don’t know. But be patient lah, may be when State assembly meets we will know lah.
In the meantime, have we got anything new and interesting to discuss or not. All these old stories already lah.
#23 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:12 am
LadyGodiva Says:
Abdullah soon realizes that if it ain’t broken why fix it – especially if being in the different stages of being ‘broken’ he could benefit from it.
Huh??? Du kong hami kwei? Hollow philosophical or sophistication?
#24 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:21 am
limkamput,
from your comments … can i say this?
If abdullah ask you wait then you also wait lah … why like “eating dead chicken intestine” and keep arguing about abdullah lead cabinet?
i guess u will not accept this also, right?
#25 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:01 am
limkamput eats dead chicken intestines?? you gotta be kiddin’. he only eats dead pigs intestines. check it out!
#26 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:39 am
ric23_my, AAB never gives me reply mah, so we eat dead chicken intestine lah. But Sdr Lim already gave you reply mah, so go eat something else lah.
owah, gorilla finally found his password for kickbutt as i expected.
#27 by LadyGodiva on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:33 am
Listen, kickbutt! Let’s leave this guy alone.
With the elections over, now is the time to enjoy a song or two witb Bob Dylan.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8nz00qgWwE&feature=related
#28 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:54 am
akarmalaysian, u might be wrong. In Taiwan, Chen Sui Bien is charged with corruption, but President is immune to charges. Hence, they will charge him after he officially handover the sit to Mah Ying Jiou.
I’m looking forward they capture Khairy and sentence him to treason, destroying Pak Lah, UMNO, and BN.
#29 by PSM on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:23 pm
I don’t see what’s wrong with the new Selangor Exco. The DAP is also represented there with good people right?
Even before they do anything, some of you are alreday questioning!
Bro Kit has agreed to the appointments, & he should know what is best.
#30 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 5:36 pm
PSM,
we dun blindly against, and we dun blindly support … we against if it is wrong, and support if it is right …
if everything also agree without thinking, then better go MCA blog … then Kah Ting ask you whether he look likes britney spear or not, and you will say yes …
#31 by kurf85 on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 9:01 pm
Let us put the religious thing to aside shall we.
All religion said there is only one god and the name of their gods is different but that does not mean we should not love one another is it?
Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t the 10 commandment state that you should love your neighbour??? And does it state which or what type of neighbour or skin of the neighbour?? I believe it’s not. So please leave the religion thing to one side and put your political belief to another side. Last time I check in the Bible didn’t have or had a chapter about democracy or republic does it…and I’m a Muslim…what am I doing reading the Bible???If you guys are wondering…Islam doesn’t said that we can’t study other religion…”learn other things in this world and hope it can make you a better person”..that is what my lecturer said to me.
We all born ignorance, arrogant and racist. Don’t ever said that you aren’t racist because I can say that you are lying. We all are. That’s that. But we all try to be open minded for other people. Don’t you guys ever wonder why does God created people with different colour?? Is it because for racist purpose?? Or probably because God want us to learn from each other??? Be friendly…well I can go on and on…
About the media thing. Like I said…put the religion aside first..let us look from other country’s media..say..the US..with their CNN…if you said they aren’t bias, then why do they always telecast about Iraq..not about the people but about how their army is doing..how many people they are killing..hmm..thats a bit odd doesn’t it?
And the wheel keep spinning round and round until a media company suddenly said that they are going to telecast everything and anything about the world. Without being bias to anyone or any country the world are going to be the same as always. But you guys probably know this that sort of stuff isn’t going to happened because nowadays most of the “democratic” is using the communism best weapon. PROPAGANDA. It’s all propaganda…and what better way to channel it unless by using your own countries media network.
What I trying to explain from my gibberish sentence above is that, not only the Muslim media is narrow minded but so does every network in the world. And probably they are like that because of the media nowadays is not a hub for bringing knowledge or news to the people but it is like a commercial thing. Who have the most rating..who have the most viewers..things like that…Globalization and Capitalism if you ask me brings a lot of problems as well..
Well if you think I’m wrong than say it..but then again we all have different mind and view..does we not?? here’s my email kurf85@time.net.my …email me if any of you wants a discussion with me…TQ for you precious time.
#32 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 3:10 pm
There’s a saying History is written by the victor so as media is manipulated by those in powers.