Letters
by Frustrated JPA scholar
I am a medical student sponsored by JPA to study in Ireland about to complete my studies. I write to you after reading your article on the rot of the Malaysian healthcare system. We JPA scholars here have been very frustrated with the JPA enforcing us to immediately return to the country upon graduation, barring us from continuing training as interns (equivalent of houseman) in the countries where we graduated from This would mean we cannot obtain the sufficient exposure that would make our training complete, and would off course, mean a waste of taxpayers money as there would have been no difference with studying locally.
JPA had announced recently that none of its medical scholars overseas will be allowed the opportunity to do further train overseas even at their own expanses, and are to return ASAP upon graduation. No scholar would be allowed to stay on regardless of the training posts they obtain upon graduation. To add to the spice of JPA’s foolishness, it seems that JPA gives priority to romantic relationships over the academic achievements of its scholars by giving exception to remain overseas to those who are married to a fellow JPA/MARA sponsored student who are still commencing studies in the foreign country concerned.
Till today, I have yet to comprehend the narrow minded policies set by the JPA. JPA seems to fail to understand that by allowing its scholars to stay on for postgraduate training, many will be offered positions in world-renowned healthcare institutions. The exposure and experience gained through these positions would be an invaluable asset to the country and the rakyat in the future. Unfortunately, JPA seems to be adamant in having fresh graduate doctors returning to receive Malaysian medical training, instead of allowing these fresh grads to further train themselves and one day return as first world specialists who will reform and infuse new uptodate skills in Malaysian Healthcare a few years down the road. Also of importance is the availability of funding to do research work in these foreign teaching hospitals, which is significantly lacking in Malaysia. Would it not make Malaysia proud if Malaysian Doctors were publishing their research work in heavy weight journals in the medical world. Upon return, these foreign trained doctors will then be able to start up a trend of research-based medicine, to the benefit of the ranking of Malaysian universities who lose out because of lack in research.
This immediate return policy has also stunted the motivation of many JPA scholars. Housemanship placements in Malaysia show disregard to academic achievements. It is random where one is sent to at best, and at its worst influenced by racism and cronism. This off course does not help in encouraging JPA scholars to strive to improve themselves. Knowing the fact that additional experience, eg opitional research and academic grades do not count later on, there are some who have lost motivation, and many who have been apprehensive in taking further steps to improve themselves due to the fear that the JPAs immediate return policy might put all their effort into waste by abruptly discontinuing their work.
Starting year 2008, there will be at least 2000 Malaysian fresh medical graduates from the various public and private universities sprouting throughout the country, not to forget graduates returning from Russia, Indonesia, India and Ukraine. This number is likely to rise over the coming years. Will MOH be able to cope with the demand for training posts? Will the ministry of health be able to provide enough housemenship positions, and if yes, will these posts provide high quality training, as the saying goes ‘too many cooks spoil the soup’? In the long term, will the ministry of health be able to provide enough specialist opportunities, considering its eagerness to do away with MRCP and only recognize the local masters program? My fear is that there will be a bottleneck down the pipeline, and many competent doctors will be failed by JPA and the ministry of health’s poor planning. Henceforth, to lessen the burden on the Malaysian Healthcare system, it would only be simple common sense to allow those graduating from foreign universities who are offered good opportunities to continue with their post graduate training overseas without having to return immediately, as it is the easiest way to gain access to train in these countries.
During one of the talks given by JPA officials who visited Ireland, a student raised a question on the rationale of JPAs ‘immediate return policies’. The officer in charge went in a rage and accused the people who wanted to stay as ‘just wanting to earn money’. I could not believe the narrow mindedness behind these words. For one, what is wrong with earning money? Also, many JPA scholars are top achievers, and view further career advancement as the driving force behind their intention to remain and continue training overseas. The plight of these JPA scholars has fallen on deaf ears of the JPA authorities. Many of JPA’s policy makers are not doctors themselves. How are they to understand the need of good training even at a post graduate level.
Finally, I would like to stress that all JPA scholars love their country, and would love to return to serve. However to my view, it would be better to return after adequate exposure to first world healthcare, as this would bring the most benefit to the rakyat. I am also fully aware that a contract is a contract, (despite the fact JPA changed the contract one-sidedly half way through our training from a penalty of RM160,000 to approximately a million ringgit) without prior warning), and if JPA remains adamant to prevent its scholars to further develop their skills overseas, the only thing we can do is to return as housemen. The authorities in JPA, however, should understand that to attract talent in the public service, the more effective methods would be by improving pay, ensuring fairness by meritocracy and adequate training opportunities,. By using brute force, many may return, but only with the intention of leaving as soon as the bond imposed is over.

#1 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 5:28 am
limkamput Says:
Today at 02: 10.18 (2 hours ago)
cto,
Of course we can go anywhere we choose to be, no one can stop us. However, if you have an obligation, you must meet that obligation first. The reason the government, through tax payers’ money provides scholarship is to ensure sufficient supply of doctors for the country. Once served, of course the doctors are free to go. We must understand even developed countries face shortage of health workers and doctors. If we were to buy your argument, then the government may as well use the scholarship money to employ more doctors from poorer countries to serve in Malaysia. But we want to provide opportunity for our people and that is why we provide scholarship. But at least in return for that gesture, they must serve their contractual obligation first.
limkamput also Says:”Please don’t use the globalisation argument too freely, my friend. Ok.”
OK. I will try not to. Last I checked, I have only used this argument once and perhaps this is once too many for you.
With your permission I would like to use the globalization counterargument now. That is, if globalization does not exist and it is not real, then we will not be discussing. Greener pastures would not exist and “frustrated JPA scholar” will have no alternatives but to return and serve his bond. Correct?
———————–
I am somewhat confused by your argument. I thought you just state in one of your many postings that it is a fact that most of these ungrateful asses are just trying to escape bond. Given this is a fact, then it supports my argument that it is naive to think that people will not make life choices based on rational self interest.
Why is the Govt spending money on these ungrateful asses? To see if they will become grateful asses? Or the govt just feel like giving these ungrateful asses the opportunity to become ungrateful ass doctors? :) Is this experiment working or not?
If it is not, then employing foreign doctors from poorer countries is an option. It is not the only option though. Can you think of other options?
limkamput also Says:”It is easy to put forth arguments that suit our own biasness and point of view. The beauty is to be able to see from another person’s point of view.”
I am able to see “frustrated JPA scholar”‘s point of view. Is that beautiful or what? :)
Also, seeing and understanding another person’s point of view does not necessarilly equate to agreeing with that other person.
#2 by grace on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 9:56 am
Aiya , I believe this scholar has a motive behind his intention to do his internship overseas.
In this case if he complete his internship in Ireland, he could be registered himself with the country’s medical board or council. thus it makes it easier for him to migrate to UK later.
Similarly you find that many medical students in Australa want do their internship in Australia. They could get themselves registered over there. So in future if they want to migrate to Australia they need not take the tough qualifying exam again.
#3 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 10:36 am
I am not too sure they have the best brains. What I see is that they are hungry to become doctors/specialists (hopefully to make lots of money and have good life) and they are given the opportunity (through JPA) to do so. Now to achieve that, they have to serve, period. I think it is not farfetched for me to say that for whatever altruistic reasons we may want to give, the scholarship is one way for the government and tax payers to ensure sufficient number of medical doctors in the country. If some of those who think they are good enough to get another scholarship that has no bond, please go ahead. Please go to Singapore and see whether they will bond you or not.
Please don’t misconstrue me. I did not imply that you over used the word globalisation. What I meant was the word globalisation was over used (by many others) as an argument for many things that suit them one way or another.
#4 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:51 am
Those ppl who drafted the policy never experience the result. How can they draft such policy in the first place when they are not product of it? Reformist have to open to feedback that such policy is no longer valid in today society, those who created it may be only good at drafting but whether it is successful or satisfied by people who undertake it.
Many funny policy has been drafted by unqualified professionals which does not make any common sense at all. It is no surprise in 2008 we have the high profile Lingam case, where the secretary was locked up in a room to write verdict.
We need stop all these jokes.
#5 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 12:46 pm
grace Says:
Today at 09: 56.22 (2 hours ago)
Aiya , I believe this scholar has a motive behind his intention to do his internship overseas.
In this case if he complete his internship in Ireland, he could be registered himself with the country’s medical board or council. thus it makes it easier for him to migrate to UK later.
Similarly you find that many medical students in Australa want do their internship in Australia. They could get themselves registered over there. So in future if they want to migrate to Australia they need not take the tough qualifying exam again.
———————————–
And your point being?
#6 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:14 pm
limkamput,
I agree that the JPA scholars should come back and serve. For that matter, I do not believe that anyone else that empathize with “frustated JPA scholar” has ever said that he should just forget about the contract and leave. I therefore am at a lost as to why this point is being raised repeatedly.
Furthermore, I am not sure what data or empirical evidence do you have that all JPA scholars doing medicine are just a bunch of ungrateful asses that are only interest in money and a good life. Even if this is true, what suggestion do you have to resolve the problem of JPA scholars not wanting to return home and serve? How is that constructive?
#7 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:22 pm
I am sure that many have said this before me and I join them in saying this:
Come back and stop moaning .
Your prejudice is showing .
And by the way , how do you think seeing cases in the UK is going to help you in managing Malaysian health problems ? A different kettle of fish altogether .
And just so you know, the Malaysian Medical System is far better than most even in the supposedly first world .
I am in the medical profession by the way
#8 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:41 pm
rakyatmalaysia07 Says:
Today at 13: 22.36 (10 minutes ago)
And just so you know, the Malaysian Medical System is far better than most even in the supposedly first world .
—————————–
Oh really? I am not saying that the standard of Medicine in Malaysia is bad but to say that it is far better than those in the developed nation is a stretch. The fact that you are in the medical profession makes that even more of a stretch.
#9 by Blankets on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 3:19 pm
Well, every system has its pros and cons. It also depends on whose side you want it to be ‘better’, those who are sick, those who are poor, even those who aren’t sick (high taxes, etc). I’m on policy level for another country’s healthcare system and gee, it’s tough to please everyone. And we’re trying our honest best here too.
My personal take on this is that, after 7+ years being abroad, none of my fellow uni mates even bothered to go back to vote. Sure they ‘supported’ the Opposition with fervor on the Internet but when asked if they will ever return, I’ve always been met with a negative. They’re now working and some are even starting a family here (heh, I’m not that old). Most only have their parents left, all siblings abroad, some even with the plan to bring their parents over in the future.
Me everyone else labels as crazy; I’ve refused foreign citizenship and PR-hood, all to cling on to the faint ideal that my Malaysian citizenship remains untainted. I cancelled meetings and rescheduled appointments, applied for personal annual leave and forked out some hard-earned money to come back and do my duty in the GE. Was rather heartwarming to speak to others in the waiting lounge that they were doing the same.
In any case, I was one of those who was previously culled by the Institut Pengajian Tinggi system of randomly assigning ludicrous courses to applicants. Got snookered into Maktab Perguruan Sultan Idris, what gives. Gave my folks many sleepless nights trying to figure out an exit strategy for me. It was one of the most torrid times of my life and none I’ve met disputes my being bitter about it. Sometimes I really wonder why my blood boils Malaysian.
#10 by Richard Teo on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 6:51 pm
signandsight,
You must first understand that the JPA scholarship was given for undergrad medical degree and with the understanding that on completion the recepient should return and serve the country, and not to pursue a post grad specialist course.If that opportunity was given to my children I will drag them home to serve the country. Just to show how grateful I would be.Instead at my retirement age I have to work my butts off to see my children thru.No I am not rich but a struggling parent determine to provide a good future for my children.Which parent wont make that supreme sacrifice?
#11 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 9:10 pm
cto says: “I agree that the JPA scholars should come back and serve. For that matter, I do not believe that anyone else that empathize with “frustated JPA scholar” has ever said that he should just forget about the contract and leave. I therefore am at a lost as to why this point is being raised repeatedly.”
So what precisely is your point? What is your view on JPA scholar, please tell me because i am lost also.
cto says: “Furthermore, I am not sure what data or empirical evidence do you have that all JPA scholars doing medicine are just a bunch of ungrateful asses that are only interest in money and a good life.
Judging from so many of them refusing to come back. Judging from so many of them refusing to serve. It is a general observation most people have. If you don’t like it, I suggest you go and find out yourself. Why must i prove it to you? You prove it to me that what i said is wrong.
cto says: Even if this is true, what suggestion do you have to resolve the problem of JPA scholars not wanting to return home and serve? How is that constructive?”
My suggestion is to kick their butts to come back to serve. I have no other suggestions. If you have, please let me know.
#12 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 10:56 pm
limkamput Says
“So what precisely is your point? What is your view on JPA scholar, please tell me because i am lost also.”
It is simple. The JPA scholar has something to say, let’s not dismiss him as an greedy and ungrateful ass (or arse) that quickly.
limkamput also says
“Why must i prove it to you? You prove it to me that what i said is wrong.”
You can make whatever assertions you like without having to prove anything. To me, the burden of proof lies with the one that makes the sweeping statements.
limkamput also says
“My suggestion is to kick their butts to come back to serve. I have no other suggestions.”
Glad to draw that admission from you that that’s all you know how to do. It is as if all the ranting and raving is going to make this JPA scholar change his/her mind. There is nothing constructive here.
#13 by groyed on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:14 am
Will these Government bodies ever learn? JPA/Mara? Did anyone of you notice this scenario has been playing over and over again year in year out.
In the old days, some students just abscond quietly; nowadays they have the cheek to write and publish their dissatisfaction of the very contracts the sign to prominent SoPo sites, in the hope of not paying their dues.
Come now, if you do not want to serve the country (as per the contract) you shouldn’t have signed it in the first place. Which part of the contract did YOU not understand Messrs Frustrated JPA Scholar (I sure hope he/she is following the tirade thus far)
#14 by melurian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:15 am
you ppl all wrong – the real purpose of jpa is to put “best” malaysian students to show the world how smart malaysian students are! why shun them from showing their skill and capability to the mat sallehs, if they are good, they should be encouraged to maximize their potential.
i bet majority of commentators here are “very” against angkasawan malaysia.
banzai angkasawan.
http://www.angkasawan.com.my
#15 by nckeat88 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:47 am
melurian: You must be joking! Your so called angkasawan is just a space tourist paid by the corrupted Malaysian Gov using tax payer money. He is still unable to pass his final specialist exam till now and he will never will because he is busy entertaining the politician fulltime and primary school kids fulltime. He is just a clown.
#16 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:55 am
Cto says: “It is simple. The JPA scholar has something to say, let’s not dismiss him as an greedy and ungrateful ass (or arse) that quickly.”
“That something to say” is what to you? To me, he was trying to get out of obligation, period.
Cto says: “You can make whatever assertions you like without having to prove anything. To me, the burden of proof lies with the one that makes the sweeping statements.”
My statements sweeping? You prove it to me that my statements are sweeping. Make a quick survey, I think most would agree with me without hesitation except may lady-gorilla. But then he is not human.
Cto says: “It is as if all the ranting and raving is going to make this JPA scholar change his/her mind.”
Frankly, I don’t expect him/her to change anything. His/her mind is already set to avoid the obligation. I hope JPA is reading this. The resolve to get him/her as well as those in similar category to serve is more compelling than ever. For a long time, because of inept administration, we have left many off the hook.
#17 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:03 am
Cto says: “It is simple. The JPA scholar has something to say, let’s not dismiss him as an greedy and ungrateful *ss that quickly.”
“That something to say” is what to you? To me, he was trying to find a way out of his/her contractual obligation, period.
Cto says: “You can make whatever assertions you like without having to prove anything. To me, the burden of proof lies with the one that makes the sweeping statements.”
My statements sweeping? You prove it to me that my statements are sweeping. Make a quick survey; I think most would agree with me without hesitation, except may be that ladygorilla.
Cto says: “It is as if all the ranting and raving is going to make this JPA scholar change his/her mind.”
Frankly, I don’t expect him/her to change anything. His/her mind is already set to avoid the obligation. I hope JPA is reading this. The resolve to get him/her as well as those in similar category to serve is more compelling than ever. For a long time, because of inept administration, we have left many off the hook.
#18 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:43 am
limkamput Says:
“That something to say” is what to you? To me, he was trying to find a way out of his/her contractual obligation, period.”
limkamput also preaches:
“It is easy to put forth arguments that suit our own biasness and point of view. The beauty is to be able to see from another person’s point of view.”
Take heed of your own sermon. Enough said.
limkamput says:
“My statements sweeping? You prove it to me that my statements are sweeping. Make a quick survey; I think most would agree with me without hesitation, except may be that ladygorilla”
If you have read, you would have noted that someone who took the scholarship served for 23 years. This single counterexample is proof enough that not all are ungrateful greedy asses as you have asserted.
limkamput says:
“Frankly, I don’t expect him/her to change anything. His/her mind is already set to avoid the obligation. I hope JPA is reading this. The resolve to get him/her as well as those in similar category to serve is more compelling than ever. For a long time, because of inept administration, we have left many off the hook.”
Then the root cause of the problem is the administration. If everyone of the receipient is ungrateful and greedy as you have asserted, then the JPA should not give our overseas scholarhips at all. Instead spend the money of expanding the local facilities and increasing intake. That’s one way of giving opportunities to Malaysians and at the same time ensuring that there is an adequate supply of doctors. This is only one option and there are many others depending on the objectives and desired outcome. Calling them greedy ungrateful asses is not on my list of corrective actions.
Having said that, if you can kindly pardon my use of metaphor here, I am not going to spend a whole lot of my time “casting pearls at swines”.
#19 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:14 am
“I am not going to spend a whole lot of my time “casting pearls at swines”.
Please don’t insult the real swines.
#20 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:25 am
cto, the feeling is mutual. I have no time for pig like you too. I suspect the JPA scholar who wrote this letter is you or someone related to you. Please don’t put words into my mouth that all are ungrateful. I said most are, including you or someone related to you.
As for gorilla, you a coward pig. Even pigs have more dignity than you.
#21 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:29 am
cto says: Then the root cause of the problem is the administration. If everyone of the receipient is ungrateful and greedy as you have asserted, then the JPA should not give our overseas scholarhips at all.
So please tell us what do you want JPA to do? Close one eye or two eyes? Reral monkey.
#22 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:32 am
limkamput Says:
Today at 09: 25.51 (51 minutes ago)
“cto, the feeling is mutual. I have no time for pig like you too.”
Please do not misconstrue my use of the metaphor “casting pearls at swines” as being directed at you. It is just a figure of speech.
English is a funny language and if taken literally, it can be quite comical. For instance, if one were to read what you have written above carefully, it sounds like you are admitting that you are a pig before calling me a pig. I am sure that not what you intended to write but if it is so, I would take that deal.
limkamput Says:
“I am not too sure they have the best brains. What I see is that they are hungry to become doctors/specialists (hopefully to make lots of money and have good life) and they are given the opportunity (through JPA) to do so. Now to achieve that, they have to serve, period.”
When you said “they”, I understood it to be all JPA scholars. I have absolutely no intention of putting words in your mouth. My apologies if you felt that I have interpreted what you said incorrectly.
limkamput also says:”I suspect the JPA scholar who wrote this letter is you or someone related to you.”
Absolutely no truth in your statement. You give me too much credit. :)
limkamput also says:”As for gorilla, you a coward pig. Even pigs have more dignity than you.”
Do you have any data or empirical evidence to prove this?
#23 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:43 am
cto,
You should not expect limkamput who has only an attap education to understand the meaning of “metaphor” etc
For someone who thought government fiscal policy involves increasing money supply and changing interest rates, and monetary policy means increasing wages, what do you expect?
#24 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:44 am
ooops “attap school education…”
#25 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:45 am
limkamput Says:
Today at 09: 29.41 (1 hour ago)
cto says: Then the root cause of the problem is the administration. If everyone of the receipient is ungrateful and greedy as you have asserted, then the JPA should not give our overseas scholarhips at all.
So please tell us what do you want JPA to do? Close one eye or two eyes? Reral monkey.
———————-
Ignoring your name calling.
No, I do not want them to close one eye or both eyes. Both eyes are currently shut. They should open both eyes. And perhaps more importantly they should use their brain and inspire from the heart.
#26 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:37 pm
OK, Limkamput.
Thanks so much for your time and the entertainment that you have provided. I don’t wish to toy with you any more so if you would kindly excuse me, this will be my last post to you on this topic.
#27 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:53 pm
To the frustrated JPA scholar,
I am not sure if you are following this thread. If you are, please allow me to give you some friendly advice.
Like all the other writers here, I agree that you are fortunate. To me, you are fortunate not because of the JPA scholarship and the RM 1 million that the government spent on you, but because soon you will be in a position to help others. I fully appreciate that you feel hard done by the JPA and some of the policies are really quite idiotic. However, whatever injustice that you are feeling, I can assure you that there are other fellow Malaysians back home that encounter much worse. Your problems pale in comparison, therefore please do think twice and thrice about things when you feel frustrated about your circumstances.
I have been inspired by a number of doctors that have placed care for patients above material wealth. I am therefore offended by some of the comments made by others here. I need you to prove these people wrong as well. There is good in you and you have every intention to do good.
My advice to you is not to worry too much about the negative comments made here. Focus on your studies, return to Malaysia, help others and be an inspiration to others.
All the very best.
#28 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:01 pm
CTo said:
Oh really? I am not saying that the standard of Medicine in Malaysia is bad but to say that it is far better than those in the developed nation is a stretch. The fact that you are in the medical profession makes that even more of a stretch.
…………………………………………………………….
Waiting time for x ray:
In the UK it is 4 months last I heard
In M’sian health facility less than a month
In the US : Health care for the uninsured : almost none
In Malaysia :everybody who goes to a government health facility is treated at a minimal charge, foreigners are charged at a slightly higher rate yet cheaper than private medical services
In year 2000 Malaysia was ranked 49 in terms of health service in the world by WHO behind most Western countries but ahead of most East European countries.However , if you asked individuals living in Western countries, even in the ones with a socialist system , the waiting time for services makes much of the supposed services and advanced technology /skills become disadvantages.
There are many other reasons that I have for saying we have a better system than many countries comes from contact with individuals in other countries , including Singapore which by the way , ranks 6 in the world according to WHO in year 2000.
#29 by cto on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:26 pm
rakyatmalaysia07 Says:
Waiting time for x ray:
In the UK it is 4 months last I heard
In M’sian health facility less than a month
In the US : Health care for the uninsured : almost none
In Malaysia :everybody who goes to a government health facility is treated at a minimal charge, foreigners are charged at a slightly higher rate yet cheaper than private medical services
In year 2000 Malaysia was ranked 49 in terms of health service in the world by WHO behind most Western countries but ahead of most East European countries.However , if you asked individuals living in Western countries, even in the ones with a socialist system , the waiting time for services makes much of the supposed services and advanced technology /skills become disadvantages.
There are many other reasons that I have for saying we have a better system than many countries comes from contact with individuals in other countries , including Singapore which by the way , ranks 6 in the world according to WHO in year 2000.
—————————
To compare things fairly, I think you have to use a more holistic approach. To cherry pick one or two attributes is not making a fair comparison. Anedoctal evidence is even less objective. Are you telling me that you would rather rely on hear-say rather than WHO?
Besides, even with the data that you have provided above, how do you conclude that the system in Malaysia is FAR better than those in some developed nations? Far better to me means significantly better.
#30 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:22 pm
Cto says: “Please do not misconstrue my use of the metaphor “casting pearls at swines” as being directed at you. It is just a figure of speech.”
Oh yes, only perverted and coward pig will write such a thing and said it is not directed at someone. No, you don’t have the last say in this. I call the shot here too.
And for you ladygorilla, you are a coward who simply put words into others’ mouths. You are worse than pig, you are a coward pig.
#31 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:29 pm
cto says: Do you have any data or empirical evidence to prove this (that ladygorilla is a pig)?
I have more than evidence. this is one, more stupid than the pig.
“For someone who thought government fiscal policy involves increasing money supply and changing interest rates, and monetary policy means increasing wages, what do you expect?”
only stupid pig will accuse others like that.
#32 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:00 pm
>>>>Besides, even with the data that you have provided above, how do you conclude that the system in Malaysia is FAR better than those in some developed nations? Far better to me means significantly better.<<<<<
among other readings
http://www.pcdom.org.my/docinfo/docinfo-2/fuchs
btw , you can keep your opinions ..it does not matter
My only wish is for you to become sick in the US
#33 by sanAndero on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:40 pm
I think the most of us have misconstrued Frustrated’s intentions. Yes, we may have let the materialistic reality of life kick in whereby there’s no denying that Frustrated said what he wanted for selfish reasons since the country is such that the government do not compensate their medical staff well. Hence, they don’t feel appreciated.
But there is truth and light in Frustrated’s words.
Why return now when you’re still raw? If I take into account several opinions above that stress that there really isn’t much difference in the quality of education locally and foreign-based in medicine, then why did the Malaysian government come up with the stance to send students abroad?
If we assume that the quality of education is somewhat the same then can we also say that houseman-ship done overseas will produce equal results as well? There’s no denying that people in different countries will experience different diseases, but why are we limiting ourselves to provide only primary medical treatment in Malaysia? if a chronic patient (that most probably was/is a taxpayer) reads that it is not worth saving him/her because their numbers are small, do you think that is fair?
In case we forget, research is important. We don’t appreciate the importance of research because previous studies has already cured the problem. Need I quote important discoveries like vaccines for small pox (in the 20th century, it caused 300-500 million deaths) has been completely eradicated as of 1979?
Unfortunately, there are many diseases that are still incurable. This is where research comes it, and yes, for research we will need pretty smart people i.e. first class students (quoted from Morgan Lovell, in previous comments) and we will need people that are willing to do research. Research is tiring. strenuous and time-consuming. We can honestly say that research isn’t about pouring one fluid into another then test it on the subject to record its reaction.
Back to Frustrated, if you think about it, he is thinking about the future of medicine in Malaysia in the long term. What most commenters stressed was on short term obligation. I think we are still short of doctors that can provide primary medical treatment, but we lack by a larger margin the amount of experienced doctors that would be able to treat more chronic diseases. By this, I’m not saying that if Frustrated is allowed to do his/her houseman-ship overseas he would return a super specialist but at least when he returns with real experience of the medicinal field overseas he can contribute to the body of knowledge in the field of medicine in Malaysia.
Additionally, Frustrated did not deny that he will not return home. Yes, I might have to go to a reality check to ascertain that his intentions may differ once he has had a taste of working overseas. But I think he know that he not only owes the country for housing him but also the rakyat for giving him tertiary education.
Subsequently. although I’ve come to understand that the medical scene in Malaysia is relatively different because we fall back in terms of technology, expertise and man power where fresh foreign graduates would not be able to adapt to the circumstances in Malaysia, I don’t think Frustrated needs to take severe beating to make up for his lack of fundamental medicinal practice. In fact, these are stuff that you can pick up without a degree.
p.s. let’s just assume that Frustrated is a guy. He sound like one.
the second part of my comment is about Morgan Lovell’s unconclusive statement.
After meeting two rotten eggs from the basket, it isn’t fair to conclude that all first class students are like them. It is as if those that do well in their studies do not deserve to be absorbed into the corporate world. All graduates need getting used to working. Fresh out of university, they lack the direction when everything new is heading their way. I know, he was with them for a year and they made unexpected demands in the workplace but let me entice you with a normal life of dedicated first class student who has group members that are of second class upper and lower.
For group assignments, there are no solid contributions from these patrons. Group discussions are held whereby the first class students will inevitably have to distribute work and sets the deadline for submission to her for editing after she provides her output on what should be written in the assignment, for every part. Notice that there is no output during the discussion by the other students because actually they don’t know what the assignment wants. If you want to think that the other students were not given a chance to speak up I digress because it has been two years and if they intend to speak up, they would have done so a long time ago. Basically you get stares on blank faces when you ask them how we plan to do the assignment. When the group leader asks for their part of the assignment (since it was previously distributed), they come back in the most incorrigible English where the group leader has to spend nights editing the work, adding in stuff that she feels relevant because they only did what was asked during the discussion, nothing more.
So all in all, Mr. Lovell, if you want to hire these graduates that will listen to your every word, walk left when you want them to walk left and complain when there’s a puddle of water blocking their path and that stands in front of that said puddle of water period, not thinking by themselves how to get over it then by all means, hire them.
#34 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 8:15 pm
“My advice to you is not to worry too much about the negative comments made here. Focus on your studies, return to Malaysia, help others and be an inspiration to others.”
Yes, above all remember if there is one thing you should never do it is never to smack the hand that feeds you.
As for limkaput, never mind him. He’s in the last stages of that dreadful disease that we know as syphillis. It has gone deep into his nervous system, has affected his brain (not much to begin with in any case) and is no longer able to touch his nose, constantly and consistenly mistaking his ass for his nose.
#35 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:37 pm
See, syphillis, STD, pimping, making passes on woman bloggers – didn’t all these show that you are a depraved pervert who can’t take a second off on sex from your stupid brain?
Ladygorilla says: “Yes, above all remember if there is one thing you should never do it is never to smack the hand that feeds you.”
Oh ya, gimme a break coming from a pervert and coward who can’t even use one single ID and tried to impersonate me and Jong in others blogs. Hello, a scumbag like you has just lost all credibility to say anything ethical and moral.
#36 by cto on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:42 am
rakyatmalaysia07 Says:
Yesterday at 18: 00.04
>>>>Besides, even with the data that you have provided above, how do you conclude that the system in Malaysia is FAR better than those in some developed nations? Far better to me means significantly better.<<<<<
among other readings
http://www.pcdom.org.my/docinfo/docinfo-2/fuchs
btw , you can keep your opinions ..it does not matter
My only wish is for you to become sick in the US
—————————–
A number of points
1. Fuchs is an economist. Do you really want an economist to tell you which health care system is better? Is he commenting on the quality and standard of Medicine or from the GDP and health care spending stand point? Ever heard of Lawrence Summers and read his view point on issues?
2. You are asking Frustrated JPA scholar to come back because he can get better training in Malaysia. What has this got to do with the uninsured in the US not getting medical attention? The fact that the uninsured in the US may not get proper medical attention does not mean that the quality and standard of medicine in the US is poor. These are two distinctly different things. Also, let’s not lose sight on your original intent when you wrote about JPA scholar.
3. Your wish that I get sick in the US is not nice lah, especially coming from someone in the medical profession. If you do not want to back up your claim, then just say so.
Just to avoid any misunderstanding later, I reiterate that I am not saying or suggesting that the quality and standard of medicine in Malaysia is bad.
#37 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:10 am
cto, you are never clear in any damn thing you said. So please don’t argue for nothing.
#38 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:11 am
“Ladygorilla says: “Yes, above all remember if there is one thing you should never do it is never to smack the hand that feeds you.”
Oh ya, gimme a break coming from a pervert and coward who can’t even use one single ID and tried to impersonate me and Jong in others blogs. Hello, a scumbag like you has just lost all credibility to say anything ethical and moral.” limkamput
i see you’re still badgering postors for their comments while i’m gone. well, i’m back!
#39 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:45 am
who care you are back or you are gone or you are dead. the world shall have more oxygen.
#40 by thenorthface on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:16 pm
My dear friend.
In regione caecorum rex est luscus. such a poignant statement from a dutch philosopher 5 centuries ago can mean so true even today.
I’m sure erasmus knew what he was saying when he said ” in the land of the blind, the one eye’d is king”
well let me introduce myself, i am a fellow one eyed medical student studying in ireland as well. the main DIFFERENCE between me and you is that i am a private paying student and you are a PSD scholar.
That being that, as far as what u say about career advancement and all that shennanigans, let us be very frank and open about the “training” you want.
Firstly, you claim internship is beneficial, my dear friend, whether you are in dublin,galway,cork, or where ever you may be, and i hope for u thats not in limerick; there is absolutely positively no way you will get more hands on experience than you will in malaysia. face it!
in malaysia the housemen are made to work, in ireland the houseman do paperwork. the closest you get to action is probably doing an arterial blood analysis for a patient. housemen in malaysia are even delivering babies my dear friend. face it even if u are a Senior House Officer in Ireland, you will only be doing half the work the average Medical Officer in Malaysia does.
Oh, no doubt let me make it clear here you will also be earning maybe 4 times the amount the Malaysian does. you know that damn well to dont you. so what sort of experience are you talking about then, there is no logical basis for ‘experience’ my dear friend. please do not try to fool the malaysian general public that you will be performing medical wonders here as a intern. you will basically be a glorified medical student, not trusted to do anything and practically just hanging around while 27 million people are expecting better healthcare and are fully confident that you are “training” in Ireland. oh did i forget to mention interns in ireland are given a budget of around 5 thousand euro to spend on items they deem neccessarry for furthering their development. they are allowed to spend on laptops, palmtops and books. so maybe you should include that as well when you talk about “training”
You also claim that the people in PSD are not doctors and wont know about career advancement. My friend, their job is to give scholarships. they expect returns. is that clear enough for you,
its like this. they gave you a scholarship which you agreed upon by the way. you signed saying you will come back after graduation to serve the nation. it cannot be more simple than that. now if i want to go on and do some research or something of that sort, i dont have to answer to anyone but my private sponsors. you however, are a government scholar. heck, if i want to stop and start doing law, i can… and you cant, you have a huge responsibility there. you can’t let your country down.
by the way, i dont think the researchers in malaysia are going to like your sweeping statements of ‘lack of research’ in malaysia. in that respect you are the blind my friend, instead of being so swayed into dreams of euro currency, why dont u look up and see how much of money is being pumped into research in malaysia. of the top of my head the last i remember, even private medical universities are investing millions into research, so there again, my friend, dont try to paint such a bleak picture of malaysia and try to fool the public.
i am not writing this because i feel that i should go against you or anything of that sort. what i mentioned earlier on though, that is what i feel about, you are a scholar, even if u want to stay in ireland or go to mars i dont care. i just want to make it clear to the people who read such sweeping remarks by overseas trained students. malaysian medical education may not be as advanced and as cost effective as it is in Ireland or the UK, but it does provide enormous amounts of experience and that my friend is very important to generate competent doctors.
i hope u understand the importance of keeping to your agreement, maybe you dont know but for malaysia, capital flight is a serious issue, if you dont know what it is read it up, i think you have to wisen up and see the bigger picture here, if all scholars acted like you, your children will not be given scholarships. there will simply be no more money left in this country if we paying your fees . maybe then you will return to help, would you ? no i dont think so..
oh and regarding the contract and fees…
(circa 35 000 euro a year x 5 years is around 180 k euro = 900 000 ringgit, u think its fair if PSD asks a million back ? i sure do, sounds like a fair deal, oh wait, they pay for living expenses too ? ah, thats another couple of hundred grand aint it my friend, hmmm,maybe youre getting a discount here?
pay it off and stay in ireland then.. just swrite and speak sense while you are at it please.
#41 by ncp on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 4:24 am
Big mistake (syndrome) = small mistake (cause) + small mistake (risk factor) + small mistake (symptom)
Mistake can be divided into reversible and irreversible
1st Small mistake = JPA choose the wrong guy to study medicine (irreversible cause)
2nd Small mistake = Study environment and wrong doctor’s perception (reversible risk factor)
3rd Small mistake = Writer’s attitude of becoming a doctor (symptom that maybe reversible but can be irreversible as it is chronic)
We need to breakdown the problem and treat:
Solutions (treatment) are as follows:
1. To educate JPA people in choosing the right candidate (PRIMARY prevention – detect the cause, kill it before the epidemic start) from the beginning
2a. Can transfer him to India/Indonesia/Bangladesh/Egypt/3rd world country NOW and get the respective 3rd world university degree.
2b. Raised the penalty from 160K to 1000K
Since his intention is to get enough exposure – you got plenty chance to know the diseases. If he agree, JPA please transfer him and just recognize his degree :so no recognition issue – SECONDARY prevention (to treat before the ‘disease’ / complication affect him)
3. Send him back to Malaysia and ‘treat’ him first in Malaysia (TERTIARY PREVENTION – complication set in and need treatment)
I guess JPA is doing the tertiary prevention as well as secondary prevention (raising the penalty from 160k to 1000k).
Ha, we doctors treat our patient like that and we need to treat this ‘patient’ before the plaque swallow him.
#42 by Rationale on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 5:48 am
I see a lot of people here dismissing overseas scholarship as a total waste of money. I am shocked.
I am a recipient of JPA scholarship (Russia Medicine), and I really do count my lucky stars.
Having trained 5 years overseas now, there is something that I feel compelled of sharing with fellow Malaysians.
We are sent all over the world for a reason. We are here to observe the way things work in a foreign country, to gain a new perspective and hopefully to improve the health care system in malaysia upon return. Dear friends, we can’t really be cooped up in our coconut shell can we? While you complain about how bad our healthcare system in Malaysia is, do you realise that change can only be made if there is presence of exposure to different kind of possibilities being practised in different settings?
That’s what we are expected to do, I suppose. To see and learn the strong points of others, practise them in Malaysia while preventing mistakes in the countries we are living now from recurring in Malaysia.
And it is very unfair to us, that you deem us “incompetent housemen” when we return. Do you know that the local graduates are trained to adapt to Malaysian healthcare environment? How do you expect us to adapt at once when we are trained in a different way from you? It’s not fair that you give us a death sentence, dismissing the quality of our education just because, we are different from you.I am sure, if you are to practise in Russia, you will struggle too, at first that is.
Dear Malaysians, What makes you think that Malaysian medicine is better than other countries when actually we are only implementing what is RESEARCHED and PIONEERED by others at the very first place? I do not think that UK or US or Australia or Russia are way better than Malaysia, but to think that MALAYSIA MEDICINE IS THE BEST just shows plain ignorance that should certainly be avoided like the deadly plague.
I have seen the condition of hospitals in Russia, and also that of Malaysia. I weigh the pros and cons, and upon request we can tell you what is lacking and commendable in Malaysian Healthcare system.
I think we should paint a larger picture here. Sending students overseas is not a waste. We don’t work like dogs while missing family and friends back home for no reason. Please do not discredit our toil and tears because contrary to public belief, studying medicine overseas, is not a bed of roses.
#43 by ncp on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 4:52 pm
Rationale : My 2 cents of feedback, I wish to correct your opinion that Malaysian do not think malaysian medicine is better and we are NOT solely implementing what is RESEARCHED and PIONEERED by others at the very first place. Please attend some of the Malaysian Cardiology Conference (or others) and listen to the country best brain of how they criticising the lastest research together with their experience. See how are they extracting the conspiracy behind each trail and how they prove the trial is bias. Please be informed that most trails are funded by drug company to advertise their expensive drugs. (example, the best 1st line drug to treat hypertension is diuretic instead of CCB, ACEI, ARB in term of cost and mortality)
You haven just ‘seen’ the condition of both countries. In fact your are not part of the either health systems yet. Everybody can give commend of what they think but when you are really practise as a doctor and bearing the responsibility as health personal, you perception will change.
I believe sending student to overseas is not a waste BUT I do believe that sending a student overseas that who is not coming back or if coming back only complete the compulsary service and leave to the private later is a ‘waste’ to the tax player money. How many of the JPA scholarship oversea students manage to complete the 10 years bond service with the government? I afraid I don’t have any in my mind at the moment.
Pls come back to work in Malaysia and give commend later. Are you planning to stay to complete 10 years bond? I afraid later the excuses are bad health system, how come other lazy one get promoted and I don’t, I have been placed to the place that I don’t want, a lot of on call, low salary and so on when you plan to leave later.
To commend Russia graduate as ‘incompetent’ is not solely from what we think. It is from what we see and how they all perform when they are doing attachment in Malaysia. We as senior doctor don’t see only the knowledge but importantly the way and idea of how to look for the important patient history, come to the provisional diagnosis, ordering necessary tests and your approach later to solve the patient problem.
Knowledge you can learn from the books as we all don’t expect you know top to toe of each diseases. We senior doctor sometime have to read back our undergraduate book as well. So, the thinking and the approach of how you search and prioritise the patient problem when you see each patient is my utmost concern.
Sorry to say that the russia graduates that I seen so far is not up to the respective standard. They’re more concern of how to do T&S, dialysis and procedure but neglected the basic science and the correct approach to the disease. Skill can learn later but when you have wrong approach from the first place, it is very very hard for you to change later.
Adaptation from one health care system to the other health care system is no problem as if your approach is right in the first place. You can survive in both places. For example, russia student that I saw couldn’tt tolerate the synonym that used in Malaysia. Example CXR and chest x ray, AXR and abdominal x ray, Rx and treatment, Ix and investigation. I don’t know why they are so insist of using the full sentence. It is just a media for us to communicate with our college. What we concern is your approach, approach and approach.
Don’t expect to change the recent health system overnight as I believe that our DG and superior are doing hard work in changing it. You just can’t expect that you only come back when everything is ready for you. You have to sail through the hard time of how the system change and witness it.
#44 by Rationale on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 9:19 pm
Mr NCP,
I am very well aware that I am currently engaging in a debate with a potential superior who will most likely try to demoralise practically every Russian graduate without at first giving us a chance to prove ourselves.
I admit, I have zero experience in terms of treating a patient, I admit as well that I have never been to a “Malaysian Cardiology Conference (or others) and listen to the country best brain of how they criticising the lastest research together with their experience”.
But I guess you have to admit as well, that you have not been first hand in Russian hospitals to see how Russian doctors work in a different setting from Malaysia. When we do electives in Malaysia we are shocked by how Malaysian doctors write diagnosis, without full information of stages, classification and complication. It’s like you need to search through the whole thick case report and while trying , to read the illegitimate handwriting, work out painfully what is exactly wrong with the patient. Not to mention how doctors try their best to discharge all patients especially when weekend is approaching. And the patient education. Patients in Malaysia mostly do not know what medication they are taking. it would be either the “blue tablet” the “yellow tablet” or the “small white tablets”. Ask any babushka (ah mas) in Russia, they will tell you the names of the medication straight on your face, and don’t be surprised if they managed to tell you as well what the medications are meant for. And oh the compassion for patients, doctors in Russia actually LISTEN to patients. Have I mentioned that doctors in russia earn less than a bus conductor and a bus driver? Their passion for medicine and heart warming doctor-patient interaction is truly an eye opener.
Having said that, I don’t think that all doctors in Malaysia are interested in discharging patients only. There are quite many who win me over with their dedication and professionalism. Because unlike you sir, i don’t judge the whole basket of apples rotten when only a few of them is bad.
And for your information boss, my friends and I when copying lectures, we do use abbreviations like CXR, AXR, Rx, Ix. Please do not assume that you know us when you don’t know us at all.
So boss, we lack in the skill in approaching patients? Thank you for telling me that, I will convey your message to my fellow friends and we will try our best to improve on that.
As for you sir. I just hope, that you can be more open and stop thinking that Malaysia is all that good and Russia is lousy and beyond rescue. Everything and every one has their good and bad points. We the Russian medical students are really sick of how you doctors look down on us without giving us a chance to prove ourselves.
As for “expecting to change the recent health system”, how dare I dream to change our health system when I see that it’s so hard even to change your mindset on ALL RUSSIAN GRADUATES.
For your information, we are human beings with feelings too. We want to be a doctor as much as the local students and we work hard to achieve our aim too.
We will prove you wrong. I will prove you wrong.
Thanks anyway boss. You gave me more motivation to be a better doctor, and a better human.
#45 by Solution seeker on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 1:05 am
I read the responses with great enthusiasm and I’m glad to hear the voices of democracy. To start off with, I have to applaud the writer for his courage to voice his concerns. The responses are vastly critical of his views but I think they have criticised the wrong person whom I think is merely messager.
Most Malaysians would like to see him and the rest of the JPA scholars back to Malaysia, and I have a feeling that most JPA scholars would want to come back. How do I know? Because I’m one of these JPA scholars and I sincerely want to come back.
I agree with most responders that the JPA scholarship scheme is viewed as a waste of money. But what I don’t agree is sponsoring this writer a waste of money. S/he has at least raised a lot of problems that we need to address, and this awareness stems from the exposure we gain overseas.
Malaysian health & education systems are not heading the right direction. Our universities continue to slide down the world ranking, and our people is viewed as less than competitive in the global market. We are short of doctors at home, yet we don’t train those who did well at school & wanted to do medicine, and we certainly don’t treat our doctors well enough to keep them in the public system. Many simply wish to complete their compulsory terms and leave the system. Those who are compassionate enough to serve the Rakyat only later regret they are being left out in the ever Money oriented society.
Instead of attacking the writer personally and using derogatory description, let us ask a few questions:
1. don’t we all want the government to provide a free and fair education system? Instead of sending a few hundreds of scholars (mainly Malays) overseas doing bachelor degrees, JPA should channel the fund to local universities and hospitals, and improve the standards locally. I could not imagine JPA spending millions of ringgits on scholars including myself, only to see our valuable money goes to foreign economy, universities & hospitals. This money is better spend on improving our hospitals and providing more local scholarships, medical training positions & research funding. Speaking of scholarships, these should be awarded based on citizenship and meritocracy. A racially bias scheme would only undermine our unity and fuel resentment, and I call for more transparency in their selection.
2. don’t we all want a health system which has adequate funding & equipment, so that we can truly raise the Rakyat’s health standard? How can we expect these scholars to serve the Rakyat when our health system doesn’t have the financial capacity to provide for the Rakyat? Worse still, they come back as housemen and not fully trained doctors/specialists. Moreover, western trained doctors have acquired the knowledge, skills & experience from developed countries, and these assets are completely wasted if there is no opportunity for them to share & practise on their newly acquired knowledge, and that local doctors reject/belittle their views and continue with current standards of care. Malaysia is NOT a poor country. We have great human & natural resources and we have a proud multicultural history. The fact that our health & education systems are so depressing is because our government places little emphasis on these fundamentals of society. We see multi-billion dollar megaprojects failed and rampant corruptions that sap the tax-payers money. Effort should be made in stopping this blatant waste of money and more effort should be made to improve our health system and to encourage the JPA scholars to return home. Don’t let the government brain-wash you to believe the country can’t afford a first class healthcare system for the Rakyat.
3. don’t we want our local doctors to be better looked after, so the best local doctors remain in public system to serve the Rakyat and teach the medical students? Many JPA scholars are relunctant to return home to serve because of the many sad stories they hear from those who returned and those working in the public system. No one with some intelligence would want to return to a place which they will one day rot & live in despair. This is not being selfish or unpatriotic, this is simply being prudent. Many local doctors are eager to leave the system, and so it comes as no surprise why JPA scholars & western trained doctors are so relunctant to return to a system which even the locals are abandoning. And this is the root of why we are short of doctors – not because the few hundred JPA scholars not returning home, it is because the healthcare system is in such bad shape that doctors are leaving. We should call on the government to improve both our education & health systems, improve the doctors’ wages & working conditions, and clamp down on corrupted officials.
JPA scholars in general are not ungrateful Malaysians, and I myself don’t intend to use taxpayers’ money for my private indulgence. My dream is still to return to my country which I can truly contribute my part in improving the healthcare system, and not being exploited as cheap labourer. Forcing JPA scholars to payback lumpsum would only make matter worse. What JPA scholars, like the writer, want to see is light down the tunnel when they return home one day. No amount of coercion and criticism is going to make these JPA scholars return unless we truly address those issues of grave concern. I am confident JPA scholars will return in droves if conditions in Malaysian healthcare system in particular, and Malaysian politics in general, improve for the better. Forcing JPA scholars home would NOT improve our healthcare system because the main problem is our government’s lack of interest in our healthcare system. On the surface, it may appear they have breeched their contracts and are an ungrateful bunch, but their action serves a clear message that drastic changes are needed to improve our healthcare systems. I hope the recent election results send a clear signal to the BN-led government to clean up its act, or we’ll see a new government in 5 years time, which I hope will be more successful in moving the country forward, and in doing so, attract the JPA scholars including myself to proudly return home.
#46 by hanz on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 9:18 pm
I myself am a medical student studying in Eire, and to me, the writer is an embarrassment to ALL medical students here. The arrogance displayed showed the unrealistic ideas some JPA scholar have. I wonder is the writer even aware about the job opportunities in Eire. Even RCSI & UCD graduates have trouble getting an internship if they are not local or from the EU.
If you’re so smart, did you do your electives back in Malaysia? Have you seen how the doctors back here are more competent? Did you realise how they’re more of an all rounder rather than the slacking doctors in Ireland? I am not saying bad things about the Irish health care system but though we have horrible working hours here and a pay that doesn’t seem fair, our own health care system here is good!
Then again, maybe you think that you’re just too good for this country.
Let me ask you one thing, are you being a doctor because you want to help people? or you’re just doing it because of the money? most of the people I know who stayed back to work there do it for the money, as we know interns could have a pay up to 9000 euros if they work hard enough. Don’t give us the lie about working there for experience. We all know that working in Malaysia gives a whole lot more of exposure.
I wonder why JPA is giving scholars to such brats.
Correction : I’m not calling all scholars brats. Just to a few. I do know the last sentence is a judgmental sweeping statement, but I also know, many would agree with me on the statement.
#47 by riha on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 10:40 am
Even RCSI?i thought RCSI was a private institution and has one of the lowest entry requirements among all the irish med schools?RCSI graduates subjected to a lot of flak in the past.And if im not mistaken JPA has stopped sending students to RCSI.Is this true?
#48 by riha on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 10:41 am
sorry
i meant RCSI graduates have been subjected to……….
#49 by ncp on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 12:08 pm
Rationale : I do undertand you unsatisfaction for the commend form the so called ‘superior’ regarding the feedback especially Russian graduate. I can feel your anger in your feedback. However I wish to tell you that the only way you can turn the situation is to show your future superior and senior doctor how reliable and capable you are. Me too have undergone the situation maybe a little similar with your situation.
During my housemanship, I have to undergone my hard time too as my worst time was needed to work for continuous 48 hours without sleep and on top of that have to remember all the 40 patients history, presentation, provisional diagnosis, lab investigation as the next plan for each patient. You need to present to the specialist all the above information 5 times a day WITHOUT looking into the files. Which patient discharge today, which one is new patient? Sounds impossible but it can be done.
“When we do electives in Malaysia we are shocked by how Malaysian doctors write diagnosis, without full information of stages, classification and complication. It’s like you need to search through the whole thick case report and while trying , to read the illegitimate handwriting, work out painfully what is exactly wrong with the patient.” – I agreed with you, but take into consideration that you are looking a note that is from a working doctor, he is not suppose to write every patient case like ‘text book’ format and you student just read and learn. It like what I mentioned to you the approach, if you know what you want, you extract the important information from the 2 inches thick note, NOT to read and copy everything from it, otherwise you have endless job to do.
Doctor try to discharge patient before weekend. I guess the situation is same as Malaysia as well. The reason behind is the hospital need more beds to accomodate weekend patient. Beside working as medical student, have you ever considered the work and stress of the staff nurse and others like doing all the dirty work (changing diaper, washing dirty patient & facing with difficult patient etc).
Russian doctor earning less than bus driver? Compare to my time, my oncall earning only earn RM25/call (till 2004 I suppose)- it was even lesser than those who working in McDonald and labour. I did’t even mentioned it to anyone (since you brought it up). My worst time was 14 calls in a month and only earn RM350 extra in a month. Houseman now is earning RM150/call. You can’t compare it with other profession. You are not going to work in Russia later.
Put away all your unsatisfaction and frustration. Concentrate of what you suppose to learn now. What I advise you further is the 2 year housemanship is utmost important to all the houseman. This are the time that your future characteristic as doctor are formed. If you ‘curi ayam’ and lazy in the training. You might able to pass the posting, but later when you go to the rural area or working alone later, if you know nothing or a little thing only, the loser still the patient. So be prepare to undergo the hell like training and ‘torture’ by the system. If you can sail through it, you’ll be very much satisfy later.
I don’t care where are you coming from (UKM, UM or from well known uni), but if your attitude is wrong, then sorry to say that, I’m worry for the patient treat by you. Better go sell drug.
Lastly, you earn the respect from the people for what you did. I really wish you can prove that I’m wrong and I’m looking toward it. I can see that people always complained about Malaysia Health System. But can you find any place in the world that you only pay RM1 for the emergency doctor treatment (including CT scan, CXR and treatment), outpatient clinic and others. Malaysia situation now is 30% total doctors in Malaysia are working in government and they’re seeing 70% total patient in malaysia.
Do you know that some rich people use to come to government hospital paying RM5 and leave with expensive medicine costing >RM1000 even they are afford to pay it. Why some terminal / bad prognosis patient always ended up in government hospital after their money has been ‘squeezed’ totally by the private hospital? Do you still think government hospital is bad, I don’t think so. Why nobody see this??????
There are positive and negative aspect of each health system in view of different country politic influence and situation. So we shouldn’t apply other country health system to a country. Russia don’t have majority of Malay, Chinese and Indian people and Malaysia don’t have a lot of Russian people.
Wish you all the best.
#50 by mafioso_tnm on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 5:47 pm
I can understand the general sentiment that JPA scholars should come back and serve because they have been funded by Malaysian taxpayers.
However, in this case, I believe the argument that Malaysians are ‘not getting our money’s worth’ from these scholars is absolutely ludicrous. If these so called ‘defenders of taxpayers’ money’ really want to make a difference, their energy would be most useful chasing those indulging in corruption of up to billions of Ringgit, and not innocent medical students who actually are presenting sound arguments for their extended stay.