Plight of JPA medical scholars

Letters
by Frustrated JPA scholar

I am a medical student sponsored by JPA to study in Ireland about to complete my studies. I write to you after reading your article on the rot of the Malaysian healthcare system. We JPA scholars here have been very frustrated with the JPA enforcing us to immediately return to the country upon graduation, barring us from continuing training as interns (equivalent of houseman) in the countries where we graduated from This would mean we cannot obtain the sufficient exposure that would make our training complete, and would off course, mean a waste of taxpayers money as there would have been no difference with studying locally.

JPA had announced recently that none of its medical scholars overseas will be allowed the opportunity to do further train overseas even at their own expanses, and are to return ASAP upon graduation. No scholar would be allowed to stay on regardless of the training posts they obtain upon graduation. To add to the spice of JPA’s foolishness, it seems that JPA gives priority to romantic relationships over the academic achievements of its scholars by giving exception to remain overseas to those who are married to a fellow JPA/MARA sponsored student who are still commencing studies in the foreign country concerned.

Till today, I have yet to comprehend the narrow minded policies set by the JPA. JPA seems to fail to understand that by allowing its scholars to stay on for postgraduate training, many will be offered positions in world-renowned healthcare institutions. The exposure and experience gained through these positions would be an invaluable asset to the country and the rakyat in the future. Unfortunately, JPA seems to be adamant in having fresh graduate doctors returning to receive Malaysian medical training, instead of allowing these fresh grads to further train themselves and one day return as first world specialists who will reform and infuse new uptodate skills in Malaysian Healthcare a few years down the road. Also of importance is the availability of funding to do research work in these foreign teaching hospitals, which is significantly lacking in Malaysia. Would it not make Malaysia proud if Malaysian Doctors were publishing their research work in heavy weight journals in the medical world. Upon return, these foreign trained doctors will then be able to start up a trend of research-based medicine, to the benefit of the ranking of Malaysian universities who lose out because of lack in research.

This immediate return policy has also stunted the motivation of many JPA scholars. Housemanship placements in Malaysia show disregard to academic achievements. It is random where one is sent to at best, and at its worst influenced by racism and cronism. This off course does not help in encouraging JPA scholars to strive to improve themselves. Knowing the fact that additional experience, eg opitional research and academic grades do not count later on, there are some who have lost motivation, and many who have been apprehensive in taking further steps to improve themselves due to the fear that the JPAs immediate return policy might put all their effort into waste by abruptly discontinuing their work.

Starting year 2008, there will be at least 2000 Malaysian fresh medical graduates from the various public and private universities sprouting throughout the country, not to forget graduates returning from Russia, Indonesia, India and Ukraine. This number is likely to rise over the coming years. Will MOH be able to cope with the demand for training posts? Will the ministry of health be able to provide enough housemenship positions, and if yes, will these posts provide high quality training, as the saying goes ‘too many cooks spoil the soup’? In the long term, will the ministry of health be able to provide enough specialist opportunities, considering its eagerness to do away with MRCP and only recognize the local masters program? My fear is that there will be a bottleneck down the pipeline, and many competent doctors will be failed by JPA and the ministry of health’s poor planning. Henceforth, to lessen the burden on the Malaysian Healthcare system, it would only be simple common sense to allow those graduating from foreign universities who are offered good opportunities to continue with their post graduate training overseas without having to return immediately, as it is the easiest way to gain access to train in these countries.

During one of the talks given by JPA officials who visited Ireland, a student raised a question on the rationale of JPAs ‘immediate return policies’. The officer in charge went in a rage and accused the people who wanted to stay as ‘just wanting to earn money’. I could not believe the narrow mindedness behind these words. For one, what is wrong with earning money? Also, many JPA scholars are top achievers, and view further career advancement as the driving force behind their intention to remain and continue training overseas. The plight of these JPA scholars has fallen on deaf ears of the JPA authorities. Many of JPA’s policy makers are not doctors themselves. How are they to understand the need of good training even at a post graduate level.

Finally, I would like to stress that all JPA scholars love their country, and would love to return to serve. However to my view, it would be better to return after adequate exposure to first world healthcare, as this would bring the most benefit to the rakyat. I am also fully aware that a contract is a contract, (despite the fact JPA changed the contract one-sidedly half way through our training from a penalty of RM160,000 to approximately a million ringgit) without prior warning), and if JPA remains adamant to prevent its scholars to further develop their skills overseas, the only thing we can do is to return as housemen. The authorities in JPA, however, should understand that to attract talent in the public service, the more effective methods would be by improving pay, ensuring fairness by meritocracy and adequate training opportunities,. By using brute force, many may return, but only with the intention of leaving as soon as the bond imposed is over.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 2:25 pm

cto says: Ideally a scholarship should be just that – a scholarship. It is a prize or aid to a student based on merit etc. It should not be viewed as a direct investment where the receipient has to return in-kind or return the money with interest.

Then you better look for merit scholarships that have no bond. Nobody compelled you to take a bond scholarship and only to complain later. Sometimes we can’t see our own biasness and selfishness.

2. #2 by cto on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 3:08 pm

limkamput Says:

Today at 14: 25.47 (22 minutes ago)
    cto says: Ideally a scholarship should be just that – a scholarship. It is a prize or aid to a student based on merit etc. It should not be viewed as a direct investment where the receipient has to return in-kind or return the money with interest.

Then you better look for merit scholarships that have no bond. Nobody compelled you to take a bond scholarship and only to complain later. Sometimes we can’t see our own biasness and selfishness

———————————

Perhaps it is true that “frustrated JPA scholar” should not have taken up the scholarship. However, just because s/he accepted the scholarship and its term does not mean that s/he should not point out his/her concerns and the deficiencies of the system. If the authorities take in the points raised and improve the system, it is a good thing.

Furthermore, I think that “frustrated JPA scholar” has every right to complain if it is indeed true that the authorities changed the penalty clause to favour the government midway thru’ his/her studies without even a prior warning.

3. #3 by ngahc on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 4:12 pm

1) Please consider very carefully before you accept JPA scholarship, this is taxpayers’ monies..

2) Will you really return and serve the country after completed your post-graduate? Will you really honour the bonds?

4. #4 by grace on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 5:03 pm

When you sign up for a scholarship, especially medicine, you must know what you are in for. Knowing that the country is ver short of doctors, definitely we want you back in the shortest time possible. At least with the basic degree, the doctors can serve in Sabah or Sarawak to help the poor. After you have given back your due, by all means go back and specialise.
    Didn’t this scholar read about a top student in Johore whose ambition was to be a doctor. But due to family financially problem, this boy opted to do a lesser course and workd part time to help out his siblings. In ths way, the need of the family is more important than his own ambition.
    Similarly, the Malaysian ‘family’ needs this doctor very badly. He should not be that selfish to go on in overseas and denying the more needy citizens of medical treatment.
    Stop whining !!!!

5. #5 by signandsight on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 5:19 pm

To all the posters who think that the writer is not thankful for taxpayers money, does not want to come home forever after being overseas, I am sorry but you are totally clueless.

Please grow up and look beyond the superficial. You have no intention of understanding, you just want to judge.

The writer has some valid points. Basically telling the writer to come home, serve your bond and then you can do what you want after that is the easy thing to say, except the bond is long and human beings don’t live till 150 years old, life is short.

I have also heard from our local medical students that they are expecting a boom in the number of doctors soon, so it does make sense to let some students stay overseas and make use of their excellent opportunities.

And what is it with the taxpayers idea of come home as soon as possible? Do you think the country will be better served by a disgruntled houseman or a specialist further down the line?

I am sure anyone in that position will want to improve his/her life, should the chance come. The problem is not the writer’s loyalty. It’s making our country more attractive to work in.

6. #6 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 5:33 pm

“We JPA scholars here have been very frustrated with the JPA enforcing us to immediately return to the country upon graduation, barring us from continuing training as interns (equivalent of houseman) …”

As if this is not clear enough one smart ass has to call the argument baloney, when the only baloney we get to read is from him!

“I think there are lots of baloneys in this argument. First you should be thankful you are given a JPA scholarship to study medicine abroad. Second, you are expected to serve when you complete your study. Third, when you want to do specialist course, you can always do later.” limkamput

Again he could not rise above his Kg. Attap education to see that nowhere does this JPA scholar said he wanted to do a “specialist course” – but only to be able to continue with housemanship which is part of the course he was sent to do.

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 5:44 pm

If you have given your word by agreeing to return as per scholarship terms what is the use of complaining?

Trying to have your cake and eating it! Those who do not honour their bonds are cheats and really do not deserve to become doctors.

8. #8 by applet88 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 6:47 pm

Richard Teo , I agree wholeheartedly with you !

I’m a medical student studying in Russia on a FAMA scholarship too.

Morgan , do you really think my parents are rich and well off as you alleged ?

‘only people from rich background who are fortunate enough to have daddy like you whom can afford to send 4 children oversea on Medical degree are allowed to pursue their oversea happiness’

Nay , my parents are not well-off but it is due to persistence that I’m here . I find it rather unfair that you assume that private medical students abroad all have ‘rich daddies’ . Where I study , I can assure you that most of the private students ( non scholars ) come from middle-class backgrouds but their results are excellent . We do not get the chance to go to places like Ireland or the UK to study medicine simply because we cannot afford it ! Most of us are deserving of a scholarship through merit but I guess the distribution of scholarships is rather unfair .

Which is why I agree with Richard that those scholars lucky enough to get sponsorship should return ASAP after graduating , no ifs and buts . We are the intellectual property of our country but if our country does not appreciate us , why should we come back and serve ? I’m not saying that those who got scholarships are unworthy of them , but it’s rather well-known that some of the well-off DO get full scholarships isn’t it ? This country does not deserve me .

Life here is not easy . Sure , I’d have loved the chance to go to study somewhere in Ireland like this grouser here who goes on and on about how seemingly ‘unfair’ this is to the scholars but I’d just like to say : Shut it , and return to serve as you have promised . You took the taxpayer’s money and it’s time they get a return of their investment .

9. #9 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 6:48 pm

Lady godiva,
    Who is whining?I paid hard cash for my children’s education abroad. Why should I be grateful to the govt?Dont I have the right to tell them not to return?After all our country is a sinking ship.So why not abandon it now or provide an avenue to abandon later.

10. #10 by applet88 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 6:56 pm

OldManoftheSea , exactly my sentiments !

11. #11 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 6:57 pm

Lady godiva,
    For a woman if you are one, you have some problem with your attitude. You seems to have some delight in running down people like Limkamput. What;s your problem lady?PMS problem ahh?

12. #12 by william85 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 7:24 pm

A viewpoint from a medical student under JPA in Australia. I posted a comment five hours ago but it was withheld for moderation so you may have missed it. Do scroll back one or two pages if you were to view my two cents. Thanks.

13. #13 by Tim Sng on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 7:44 pm

This JPA scholar served out his term and went on till retirement, after 23 yrs of service from East to West.

Sdr Lim, champion the right people…..poor, needy, orphans, widows, underprivilege, village folks….of ALL MALAYSIAN races….truly practice the philosophy you have been supporting…..a Malaysian Malaysia.

14. #14 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:03 pm

“What;s your problem lady?PMS problem ahh?” Richrad Teo

You are a lot worse than the ‘bocor’ MPs we hear condemned all the time on this blog. Don’t feminists have a name for the likes of you that would be insulting even to pigs??

15. #15 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:05 pm

Morgan,
    You think its very easy to send four kids to overseas for studies?I had to withdraw all my savings in EPF which was for retirement, had to mortgage my house ,had to borrow from friends and bank to finance their studies. At the end of the day can’t I decide what they should do with their lives?I would have been immensely grateful if only one or two of my kids had a JPA scholarship but despite scoring 13As none of them got a whiff of any scholarships.Dont you think I have a right to be bitter?Morgan and Lady Godiva must be living in another planet to think that I should be grateful to the govt.

16. #16 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:17 pm

Lady Godiva,
    That comment was specifically directed at you because you seems to display that tendency.Your comments have all been sacarstic and vitriolic as if you have some behaviorial problem.Just go thru your own comments and see if there is anything complimentary about your comments.By the way do you regard PMS as derogatory?You are wrong, Lady, its a phase quite common for woman after attaining a certain age.Nothing derogatory about that,unless you choose to exempt yourself from that phase.

17. #17 by lbl on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:26 pm

YB Lim,
    In Australia as soon as you have a tax file, they deduct what you owe the government for educating you in the university.
    In Malaysia I hear they are having difficulty in getting back the loans given to students.
    Can’t we follow Australia’s method in the deduction? Appreciate if you could raise this in Parliament.

18. #18 by jetaime.f on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:29 pm

chill…….

intermission newsbreak: not sure where the lady/ gent who drops in with the news of the day, perhaps, some news from the tennis world:
    Roger Federer lost in the Semi-F, Djokobiv won the Finals at Indian Wells……

19. #19 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:42 pm

“You are wrong, Lady, its a phase quite common for woman after attaining a certain age.Nothing derogatory…” limkamput

Why then do you raise the connection between what is biological to attitude unless you think you are superior because you are not burdened by it?? What do they say about people who indulge in mental gymnastics only to be caught with their heads up their asses?

20. #20 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:43 pm

ooops that was meant for wise ass Richard Teo and not to my old friend from Kg Attap.

21. #21 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:55 pm

Lady Godiva,
    Just to refresh your memory, you called Limkamput smart ass and his kampong attap education but take umbrage when I remark that you may have PMS.How contradictory.Just stop calling the kettle black.You deserve what you get and dont hide behind that skirt of yours,lady.

22. #22 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

oops, like the pot calling the kettle black

23. #23 by Richard Teo on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Who say burdened by it? You said it not me. Isaid it is just a normal phase and that explains your erractic behaviour.Any way why should it be a burden? Its a normal phase woman go thru. nothing to be ashame about.

24. #24 by baoqingtian on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 9:30 pm

William85,

Good comment from you. But you have given a wrong diagnosis and differential diagnosis on Frustrated’s intention. Frustrated’s wish to stay on after graduation (by right he should return to serve) to continue his training and further his study has caused the tax payers to blow their mind to the point of impending stroke.

Glad to hear that Frustrated intents to further his studies. Nobody is preventing him from gaining that experience. But he is obliged to serve the tax payers after graduation as stipulated in JPA contract no matter what his future intention is. Frustrated has no other choice. Call it complications or side effects of signing a JPA contract. This is no remedy now. Let nature takes its course.

Upon completion of the required service, Frustrated can do whatever he wants to do and the prognosis is still good for himself and the country. Furthemore, he or she is still young after all.

The fact that Frustrated wish to stay back is an ill-intention enough and tax payers will definately felt betrayed.

25. #25 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:19 pm

Richard,
    ladygorilla is actually darkhorse @ kickbutt @ blackeye @ bodo @ diaperhead @ colonel @ dracula etc. Now he also wants to become she. I tell you Richard, this fellow, some mornings he wakes up man, some mornings she wakes up woman, and some mornings he/she wakes up in between. I suggest you leave him/her alone. He/she is a frustrated person. He/she even try to impersonate me and Jong in other blogs. The other day, he/she tried to make a pass on Jong and Jenny and the moderator even had to delete his/her posting. Pathetic pathetic pathetic!!!!!!

26. #26 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:26 pm

LadyGodiva Says: ooops that was meant for wise ass Richard Teo and not to my old friend from Kg Attap.

Why, feeling lonely and missing me is it. I got no time for you. I got better companies.

27. #27 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:28 pm

Ladygorilla, I suggest you go read again whether this JPA scholar has harbored ambition to do a specialist course. Look, there is no doubt in my mind at all this fellow want a free ride. He wants to do houseman there so that he can practise there and refuse to serve the bond. Come on, you are not as magnanimous as you think. YOU are supportive of him because you have the same value system as him – trying to have free lunches. There is no such thing, go ask Lee Kuan Yew. Everybody must take responsibility, not just the government.

28. #28 by william85 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:29 pm

Baoqingtian, if you noticed, I actually agreed with your whole point here, i.e. Frustrated SHOULD come home regardless of his noble intentions (assuming that it’s genuine). The reason being that he agreed to the terms in the contract, as I elaborated in my point 1.

My point 3 does not apply for Frustrated in particular. It is mainly to call for flexibility from JPA in its future policies if they were to get the most out of their investment.

I shall give an example of JPA’s inflexibility in another context. In Australia, medical courses in most universities are 6 years in duration except Monash which is only 5 years. The difference stems from the fact that all universities have a compulsory one-year research period during which students engage in biomedical research full time; but Monash makes it optional instead of compulsory. This research year is usually done on the 3rd year, i.e. in the middle of the whole medical course.

There are some people in Monash who expressed interest in doing this optional research year, but their applications were all declined by JPA officials with the reason of “it’s not in your contract”. While I understand JPA refusing to pay more than their initial budget in those individual students; one can’t help but to lament that JPA does not fully cherish the spirit of self-starting students who wish to improve their credentials and exposure via engaging in biomedical research.

In this particular case, there’s no concern about defection at all because the research year is done in the third year.

29. #29 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:35 pm

One more thing, go read the posting by william85, a medical JPA scholar himself. See I don’t have to read to know exactly what some of these JPA scholars are up to. They are a bunch of ungrateful asses.

30. #30 by william85 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:43 pm

@limkamput

Your comment is so unwarranted. For the points you do not agree with, kindly retort them in clear terms.

You had just committed ad-hominem attack. A generalised one at that. It sure doesn’t help with your cause.

31. #31 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:50 pm

“What;s your problem lady?PMS problem ahh?” Richrad Teo

You are a lot worse than the ‘bocor’ MPs we hear condemned all the time on this blog. Don’t feminists have a name for the likes of you that would be insulting even to pigs??

And william85,

Expecting limkamput to talk in clear terms is like asking Richard Teo to take his head out of his ass!

32. #32 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:59 pm

Morgan Lovell and undergrad2, whatever you fellows said has no theoretical underpinning and was based on your own personal experience. For every one first class you said is too academic or not a team player, I can find two that are better than any one you can find. I think we must know when we are making a general observation and when we are stating an exception.

33. #33 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:03 pm

Ok. William, this much I can go. Most of them, if not all, are ungrateful asses. Those who came back to serve are those who got nowhere else to go. Those that are highly demanded will try ways and means to escape the bond. It is a fact, check it out.

34. #34 by signandsight on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:05 pm

In reply to the message by Richard Teo at 00: 32.28:

Richard,

Don’t you feel it is arrogant, that you are offering no negotiation or empathy to the writer? You have done well by putting your children abroad by your own sweat. You tell them, do not come back to the country. However, you expect others to do otherwise, not knowing how their background is. Some people might not have such a fortunate scenario as your children. For them, the JPA scholarship, however imperfect, is the ticket to a better education. Now that they are overseas, other possibilities come up to improve their lives. The writer just wants a chance to pursue these things. If the writer does not love his country, he/she would not have bothered to ask if something can be done, that both benefits the scholar and the country.

35. #35 by william85 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:06 pm

Partly true; but what has that got to do with your alluding me based on my comment?

36. #36 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:10 pm

hello, william85, i am actually supportive of you. basing on what you wrote, i thought you are a few who may want to honour your contract with the nation. I think you misunderstood me. I read your earlier posting after you reminded us to read and i thought i share similar view with you.

37. #37 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:16 pm

signandsight Says:
    “For them, the JPA scholarship, however imperfect, is the ticket to a better education. Now that they are overseas, other possibilities come up to improve their lives. ”

Hello, the argument here is to come back to serve first. The government has already opened the door for him to graduate with a medical degree from abraod. Serve your bond first, and later he/she may pursue specialist course. I think no one is stopping him/her from doing that. You must think of the need of the government, the tax payers and the shortage of doctors in this country. Even countries richer than us like Singapore for example ties down their scholars.

38. #38 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:22 pm

ladygorilla @ pms, i think by now most bloggers know you have no idea other than throwing insults. I have challenged you earlier to write me three paragraphs to debate on. Till now i have not seen one line other than insults. What have you got?

39. #39 by mavericke on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:43 pm

I think you should just count your blessings and pray that you will score first class and complete the process as what others have said. You have signed the contract and please don’t break it. Otherwise you will be one of the many who has done it before – Breaking their promises. As a doctor, your profession is at stake. You want other people to trust you. How are you going to allow other people to trust you if you don’t earn their respect? I would suggest that you remain calm and get on with what you need to do. By the way, good luck to you.

40. #40 by groyed on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:58 pm

Coming from a single parent household, my mother struggled to put food on the table as me and my brother was growing up. Neither am I a JPA scholar nor a graduate of any Uni, just someone who has a younger brother who was offered a JPA scholarship back when JPA first started sending SPM holders overseas for Pharmaceutical studies but they had to first do their Form 6 (Lower & Upper) in the UK.

This was the scenario back in the early 90s: no JPA scholarship for Medical studies (someone had this bright idea to send bright individuals to study Pharmacy). 100 5th formers left Malaysia to continue their studies under JPA scholarship to UK & US. After the first year of Form 6, only a handful remained overseas. Ahh… the cream of the crop. I know each and everyone of my brother’s scholarship friends who finally graduated with my brother and HE’s a chap from Negri Sembilan. So the Government sent 50 to UK and only 2 graduated. What went wrong? Mind you, both my brother and this other chap didn’t even pursue Pharmacy as previously planned by JPA (they both wrote countless letters to JPA and informed JPA authorities at every juncture but still only received allowances for their initial study plan). Up till today, both of them have steered cleared of bread for some reason.

Upon completion of his Medical studies, he DID request to be given an opportunity to serve the Government but they couldn’t find a place for him (?); why? Because JPA has him listed as a Pharmacy student! So he signed up for some medical mission to some East African nation for 6 months.

Back to the present, he’s finally completing his Pediatric specialist course at his own expense whilst working as a Registrar in a UK hospital and he’s still looking forward to serving the country.

Do you think this time round MoH will be able to place him?

41. #41 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 12:01 am

I am surprised at the reactions of so many people on a complaint of a scholarship holder who,notwithstanding, would continue his study and most probably would never come back if he could find a way. Anyway, by not coming back, I am quite sure JPA coiuld not get him to repay. JPA is that efficient! It looks like studying medicine is a craze amongst many parents, some of whom mati-mati pun mahu belajar medicine. I say mati-mati because, their results are below ‘par’. By having to spend a near million to do this course, I wonder ,the bloke will ever earn back the compounded interests accumulated. In today’s market ,there ‘general’ practitioners who tried hard to earn 10k a month, there are many professions that do not require that kind of investment to earn such figures!. Of course if you are in love with medicine, come what may, do it! if you are in for the money and the so-called prestige, forget about it; as more and more people are learning to keep healthy by using more traditional medication.

42. #42 by tokmoh on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 12:11 am

Yohohoho, I understand this guy’s situation, he wishes to gain experience and expertise from the medical field there.

But sadly, the ultimate drive behind all this is money. Initially, they may ooh and ahh, yes, they’ll benefit working overseas and may always think “can’t wait to go back to M’sia to share these and improve the medical field”, but later, whenever they contact their frens here in M’sia, they’ll see their frens’ miserable life trying to make ends meet thnx to Barang Naik gahmen. 90% will fail to go back to M’sia cuz they’re oredi in the comfort zone, heck, I know of a M’sian specialist getting paid 5000 euro for his 1st paycheck, can you find such specialist paid that well here? There, they can enjoy buying BMW and Mercedes for a much, much cheaper price tag, while here, people need to take 9-yr loan for just a Proton/Perodua. Are they to blame for refusing to come back and serve M’sia?

IMHO, the gahmen need to improve our medical field to make their transition back here a painless affair.

43. #43 by groyed on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 12:56 am

IMHO, the ‘gahmen’ needs to improve on a lot of fronts; not just their ‘JPA’ policies. That’s why we (well most of us) voted for change. Slightly out of topic, look at how the ‘gahmen’ of today (23rd March) is shaping out. Can’t even decide on rightful MB, oh we shook the tree didn’t we?

Back to the letter at hand (by Frustrated JPA Scholar), read your contract properly, scan the fine print; does it say Bonded to the Establishment, if yes come home do your ‘time’ then go do whatever else you want to do. If it says you have to re-pay the loan then pay it and then shut-up. By repaying the loan, JPA can again foolishly sponsor another like-minded scholar in your wake, as did JPA after they received my cheque for my brother’s scholarship! And I didn’t even get a ‘Terima Kasih’ from them. All I got was a letter that said “Jelaskan biasiswa Rujukan # xxxxxxx dalam 60 hari atau tindakan mahkamah akan diambil” and the letter was dated 21 days prior to my finding it in my letter box! So at least Frustrated JPA Scholar, you have yet to endure the sudden ‘Tindakan mahkamah’ love letter from JPA to understand the full extent of the scholarship.

44. #44 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:14 am

I think it will become more difficult for Malaysian doctors to continue in the UK after graduating as EU laws are being tightened to give preference to Europeans – so better not hope you will be allowed to stay from next year onwards.

45. #45 by cto on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:33 am

limkamput Says:

Yesterday at 23: 03.04
    Ok. William, this much I can go. Most of them, if not all, are ungrateful asses. Those who came back to serve are those who got nowhere else to go. Those that are highly demanded will try ways and means to escape the bond. It is a fact, check it out.

—————————

Rational self interest is universal. It is present in every population, including medical students and scholarship holders. It is naive to assume that people will not make life choices due to their rational self interest. :)

I am not suggesting that it is OK for “frustrated JPA scholar” to violate the terms of his contract with JPA. Of course, it is not. However, the JPA should listen and take his comments into consideration to improve the system. It is just too easy to call “frustrated JPA scholar” an ungrateful ass and dismiss all the comments that s/he made.

The competition for human capital will increase as a result of globalization. Talented people are especially mobile. They can choose to live and work where their rational self interest (and we are not only talking about money here) is best served. Malaysia has tried to entice talented overseas Malaysia to return and contribute. Has this scheme been successful?

Are all overseas Malaysians and Richard Teo ungrateful asses?

46. #46 by signandsight on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:43 am

limkamput Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 16.44

Do you know how long is the bond for the JPA medicine scholarship? I believe it’s like 10 years or so, including the housemanship period. By then, our writer will be approximately 35 years old with other commitments like starting a family.

47. #47 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 2:10 am

cto,
    Of course we can go anywhere we choose to be, no one can stop us. However, if you have an obligation, you must meet that obligation first. The reason the government, through tax payers’ money provides scholarship is to ensure sufficient supply of doctors for the country. Once served, of course the doctors are free to go. We must understand even developed countries face shortage of health workers and doctors. If we were to buy your argument, then the government may as well use the scholarship money to employ more doctors from poorer countries to serve in Malaysia. But we want to provide opportunity for our people and that is why we provide scholarship. But at least in return for that gesture, they must serve their contractual obligation first.

Please don’t use the globalisation argument too freely, my friend. Ok, Malaysians are free to seek greener pasture elsewhere. In the similar vein, would you want the government to allow unrestricted entry of foreign workers and professions into the country? It is easy to put forth arguments that suit our own biasness and point of view. The beauty is to be able to see from another person’s point of view.

48. #48 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 2:18 am

signandsight
    I think I shouldn’t be here providing all these up and coming doctors what they need to do with their life. Suffice for me to say that you actually can work toward obtaining a specialist qualification while working in hospital. Just for argument sake, there are many aged 30 something who are struggling. So why must this group of doctors having got their education free be treated so special?

49. #49 by maulator on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 3:05 am

U have never worked in a Malaysian hospital…therefore u are not aware at all of the situation & environment. Clinical training in Malysia (tropical nation) & Europe would be totally different. Just come back to serve Malaysia. We need you more here.
    Don’t give lame excuses of venturing into researches as a reason to stay. You can go for reseaches in Malaysia as well. mind u, I am a medical personnel as well.
    Having said that, I do agree that MOH has to really reconsider of their move to not recognize MRCP in near future.

50. #50 by signandsight on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 4:21 am

limkamput Says:
    Today at 02: 18.07 (1 hour ago)

Because undeserving scholars notwithstanding, they are among the best brains and all-rounders the country has to offer? Scholarships are not just to churn out skilled workforce, they are a motivation for excellence for students everywhere and a measure to counter brain drain. With brain drain, it’s a fine line. The scholars won’t want to come home to lacklustre conditions, but if there were no JPA scholarships they might be with Singapore for example.

Comments are closed.