by Foong Wai Fong
The events in the next couple of weeks, leading to whether Anwar will contest a by-election will demonstrate to the People of Malaysia whether they have indeed make the right choice, by voting in the Opposition. The People are troubled by these post-election developments.
A message to the OPPOSITION:
1. Many people voted you in not because how good you were or will be, but more they just wanted to throw out the other guy, deny the 2/3 majority given to the ruling coalition.
2. If you walk your talk, you MUST NEVER do what the other guy has been doing in the past decades.
The electorate wishes to see REAL Change, sincerity and integrity; not making deals and bargains wrapped in exchange of cabinet positions for alliance — this makes the OPP no different from the incumbent ruling class. Any mistakes on the part of the OPP in strategy will bring serious backlash, that mistake has the high risk of throwing Malaysia into a state of chaos and instability. This is SERIOUS matter.
On the other hand, if the OPP and Anwar Ibrahim can be a little patient, taking things one step at a time, act with integrity and sincerity, THIS IS A HISTORIC OPPORTUNITY. Any tactic that involves trading of bargains of power would diminish all hope that we are entering a new era. For we believe any of those MPs or state assembly members out there who cross over because they did not get the so-called “rewards” in position would do no good for the OPP. All cabinet and government positions are positions to provide service, not positions for reward of winning the election! It serves the OPP well to remember that.
Does the people of Malaysia has the assurance with PAS and DAP balancing the ambition of Anwar and PKR?
Can Anwar rise to be a true leader for all Malaysia, and that his present struggle is a fulfilment of his long time political vision to make Malaysia truly multiracial and progressive, not that he is getting even with UMNO. By and large it was not the BN or UMNO that wrong him, it was Dr Mahathir who did.
The people of Malaysia ought to pray and work to see a reformed BN — in spite of the difficulties within the ruling coalition to change. We are striving to have two strong parties; only in having credible choices could the people’s wellbeing be safeguarded. BN would need to act swiftly to reinvent and prove itself; much time and opportunity has been wasted, for example naming the new cabinet presents real opportunity; but BN misses that.
The People of Malaysia wishes to see gradual change; the OPP settles in and build its governing team. Many of the candidates in the OPP do not have the credentials to be government leaders; they were put together and got voted in by the wave for change; this these new YBs must know. They must now accelerate their learning and find out exactly what is expected of them and rise up to the occasion. Anwar must further consolidates its power and assure the people of his intentions; at the same time give BN time to change; the next election would present people with the real choice. If the current OPP does get to form the government; it would be very credible because people voted them in to form the government. For this election; by and large, the People of Malaysia only wanted to deny BN its 2/3 majority; not all the way to have the OPP running the country yet. Events have its own turn; the people however, while willing to give the OPP a chance to govern 5 states, but are still tentative in its feelings about the outcome.
All eyes are on the OPP government in the state. Waiting for one more term may be the right thing to do before going for the Federal Government.
There is real opportunity here for Anwar Ibrahim. If he succeeds to bring about democractic change to Malaysia in an honest, clean and credible way; he would go down in world history as a national leader who could go beyond racialism to embrace the larger interest. If Anwar does that, the People of Malaysia will nominate him for the NOBEL PEACE PRIZE — for setting the world on the right track and for bringing hope to all societies plagued by racial struggle; putting Anwar Ibrahim in the company of Gandhi, Martin Luther King and the like. This would rekindle the fire for truth and ideals; key values to building a sustainable world.

#1 by Barisan Rakyat on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:28 pm
I agree with the writer. It is better to concentrate with the 5 states now. Show to the Rakyat how well we administer our states and I think the support will come neutrally. There should not be any pre-bargain with the BN candidates to join BR as this will only make us look cheap. As the writer correctly said as far as the PRU12 is concern the Rakyat just want a change. It is not because BR candidates are better. But with sincere and honest administration I don’t think it is difficult to do better than BN have done.
#2 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:35 pm
A political party having won the elections on the ticket of a corruption free government and the return to the rule of law, now puts the same on their back burner! What sorts of signals would they be sending?? Undergrad2
The same can be said of parties having complete divergence political ideologies now working together. In the aftermath of election victory and perhaps spurred on by the desire to form state governments, the parties in coalition are probably very benign and forgiving to each other in terms of power sharing and in putting on the back burners the parity ideologies and principles. As they go into the day to day administration of the state, the reality will probably bite. Yes, only time will tell.
#3 by Orangutan on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:59 pm
This is an open appeal to DSAI and DAP-PKR-PAS , the Barisan Rakyat coalition – my whole family of 15 voted for all three of you in 2 different states now under your joint governance because you promised to uphold righteousness, integrity, individual rights and freedom, respect for law and last but not least to weed out rampant corruption that BN is so synonymous with.
Allowing BN MPs to just “cross-over” for short-term political gains is just too short-sighted and betrayed the trust from us, the Rakyat. If those MPs have indeed and genuinely changed their political affiliation and ideology, they should honorably resign and recontest on BR ticket. I feel that cross-over after election is unethical and also cast doubts on those MPs intention and ethical values.
Firstly, we the Rakyat certainly do not want people who wants to jump ship because they cannot get “reward” from BN. We don’t want these people to “contaminate” BR, period.
Secondly, some may say that BR was denied the win in 12th GE because of votes rigging, so the voluntary or induced cross-over is justified. This may be true but two wrongs doesn’t make a right, right? Why must BR reciprocate BN’s misdeed, remember BR are suppose to be way above BN when it comes to honesty and righteuosness. Those MPs should not only have DSAI’s consent, but also the Rakyat’s blessing as well. If BR opens the gates and let them in unconditionally, BR will be no different from BN in time to come.
DSAI, please listen to the people or your may not have my 15 votes anymore come 13th GE.
#4 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:18 pm
If this man is able to unite UMNO and purge the party of its undesirable elements I suspect PKR would fall like a deck of cards come next general elections! It is all about Malay unity.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKSPJmW4jxs&eurl=http://kickdefella.wordpress.com/
#5 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:22 pm
what many ppl do not realize is that state govt in msia had limited power and resources. In msia, ordinary ppl do not pay income tax to state govt.
In msia it is the federal govt that really counts!
hope new govt in those 4 states (kelantan same govt lah) will do better than previous govt
#6 by HB Lim on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:30 pm
Even if money was not the reason to cross over, it is hard to believe that those who want to do so have suddenly become enlightened about and become averse to the sins of the BN so much so that they want to abandon the BN.
If they are indeed so enlightened, then the best thing to do is to renounce their affiliation to the BN and also their seats and let by-elections be called. The point is that the BR should aim to form the Federal Government by the strength and justification of the Peoples’ consent, endorsement and mandate, not by a back-door strategy. This back-door strategy may just backfire, more so if those who jumped ship from the BN to the BR did so because they were not happy for not being accorded the recognition or given the office that they thought they should get and therefore jumped just to snub the leadership of their former party, not because they have suddenly become enlightened to the truth. Do we want this kind of characters in the BR?
If we accept this kind of characters, not only will the BR be populated and tainted by questionable characters which may become the starting point of a corrupt and cancerous culture which may eventually make the BR no different from the BN, the BR would bare itself to insinuations, criticisms and attacks by the BN and the People which will invariably cut away layer by layer its integrity. The long term effect would be adverse and the loss incalculable and would not be worth the immediate gain.
The BR should be the change that they want and as part of the overall change towards a just and democratic society, the BR should stand firm against the practice or encouraging the practice of jumping ship by election winners who to my mind, generally speaking, are no good opportunists or sore losers anyway.
If the cross over plan has been conceived even before the election that certain BN candidates would make use of the BN’s banners to win and thereafter cross over to the BR, then that, to my mind, would be an indirect kind of election fraud and should be denounced. What the BR should aspire for is a government which has the full mandate of the People.
There is an argument that the BR would have been the Government if not for election rigging by the BR and therefore there is nothing so wrong for the BR to achieve control of Parliament by the back door. First is the difficulty of proof but even if the allegation of election rigging was true, to counter an election fraud by another fraud would not make the BR very different from the BN, would it?
I think that if there are MP’s who want to abandon the BN, they should relinquish their seats simultaneouly and let by-elections be called. A win by the BR in such a by-election would be one which cannot be questioned as it would have the mandate of the People.
The BN after so many decades of corruption, cronyism and patronage, ‘war-lord’ culture is still very much paralysed by the same systemic diseases despite the rude awakening, judging by the latest development. I think it would be difficult for the BN to become very much different come the next general election. What the BR should do from now till the next election is to focus on learning the business of governing and to govern well in the few States which they are now in control so that come next election.
It is evident now that the BN and its component parties are already trying hard to copy and paste the BR’s political stand and philosophies. Copying is the best form of flattery; it just means that the BR is on the right track which if maintained would lead them to bigger victory in the next general election.
However, copying and pasting would not work unless the basic culture or operating system is the same – if the BN persist in their brand of Bumiputra’ism and do not address and overhaul their political system to cleanse or at least reverse their systemic rot, the inconsistency between system and application would become apparent and hypocrisy would become more and more obvious and bare for all to see. As such, I think there is no need for the BR to resort to questionable back-door strategy to win control of Parliament.
#7 by balance88 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:33 pm
In my opinion, the DAP-PKR-PAS (BR) coalition should just focus on the job in hand, ie, successfully manage and reform the 5 states under their care. Show us some REAL change. Why be distracted by all the “kataks” and don’t even bother about plotting to take the government in the next GE because if you screw up the 5 states, all your plans gets sucked down the drain for people will just vote you out.
Pls remember – the journey of a thousand miles begins with a first step. So, please walk the first step successfully. We are no fools. If BR performs well, you have our votes.
This is a once in a lifetime opportunity for BR. You do well, BN will have a tough time wresting back power. I don’t expect much changes from BN. From what we have seen so far, we can expect more of the same from BN. We still have the same old generals running BN’s component parties. Soldiers may have changed but generals are still the same old same. How to reform? How to change? Cakap banyak banyak.
Message to BR – please do a good job. Put things right once and for all. Transcend race. Abolish corruption and cronysim. Implement real changes. Make this a pivotal turning point for Malaysian politics! Walk the talk!
#8 by HB Lim on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:40 pm
My apologies, the eighth paragraph of my earlier comment is incomplete and should end with “…so that come the next election, they would have no problem retaining control of those States and hopefully can gain a few more States and also the Parliament.”
#9 by yhsiew on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:23 am
Ma Ying-Jeou has won in Taiwan’s presidential election. Ma gave the reasons below as to why people chose him to be the president. Perhaps our Malaysian politicians can take heed of Ma’s words.
“People want a clean a government instead of a corrupt one,” said Mr Ma, quoted by AP news agency.
“They want a good economy, not a sluggish one. They don’t want political feuding. They want peace across the Taiwan Strait. No war.”
#10 by peacefulcitizen on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:30 am
greetings everyone.. this is a high time for the oppositions to show their through colours. we’re sick and tired of hiding in BN’s shadows. n to our dearest PM, plz step down. Dont u see that Malaysia doesnt want u to be our PM? That shows u’re not fulfilling ur responsibilities as our PM. U’re being one sided. Yes u may say u’re being fair to all races. Have u ever tot of other races which is ur responsibility to look after them? Giving them help, support n needs just like u had promised when u first took oath as a PM? U’re being bias. Dont spoon feed ur own kind. Thing of others. Peace
#11 by peacefulcitizen on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:37 am
Lets not talk about Taiwan’s PM. Look at ours. What our PM is doing now it’s an obvious sign that he wants power through corruptions than running the country where it was first formed. Going overseas and all that was just BS. Every d*** thing that’s happening especially political issues (corruptions, Mongolian murder case, HINDRAF, BERSIH etc) is all happening right under his hairy nose and all he could do was sit there in the cabinet n say nothing? correct me if im wrong, is he still eligible to be our PM?
#12 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:11 am
I agree with HB Lim’s comments.
You can also take a poll on this topic here.
The will of the people surpasses the need to stroke any man’s egotistic ambitions and we need to rein in leaders who show signs of chewing off more than they can handle.
Let us always remember the 22 years under TDM when the Judiciary was trampled under and that accelerated the rot.
Winning the elections is only the beginning of a long march to prove that you can govern well. I am sure that is what the new state admins are beginning to discover.
http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/elections-are-over-it-is-time-to-get-on.html
#13 by novice101 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:45 am
DAP, PKR and PAS, do not misread the victory that you have gained, Each person had his own reason for the way he voted on that day. The reasons were many and varied.
But it is definitely not because of any far-reaching, well-thought-out policies or programs you had proffered, nor it is because of the oratory abilities of your leaders. None of you have really been tested, so, it is not because of your tested honesty and integrity.
So, please be humble and work hard to deliver the goods. The rakyat is now more discerning, more demanding, more exacting and less forgiving !
History has shown, repeatedly, how power corrupts and how absolute power corrupts absolutely. Power and money had seduced many a good man, so institute checks and balances.
#14 by novice101 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:10 am
The BR coalition should ponder hard on accepting cross-overs. These people stood under the BN banner and the rakyat voted for or against them based on this, so, would BR want to win by default? Is this a principled move?
These intended cross-overs decide on the move for reasons, best known, to themselves. For more times than naught, they are problem-children of the other parties. Why do you want to take over other parties problems? Let them stay where they are and create headaches for your opponents.
Rushing to form the government may not be wise. Are you, even partially, ready? From what is shown, after the GE12, your mindsets are still trapped by the experiences you have gathered as the opposition.
You still have to settle the ideological differences that exist amongst yourselves. The gap is great and it can easily cause a crack in the coalition and bring it tumbling down!
#15 by pwcheng on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 3:10 am
Jeffrey Says:
Yesterday at 15: 24.46
Correct me if I am wrong. I certainly think Anwar is a very seasoned politician with “impeccable” intelligence well defined for a role as a political strategist. I think his war cry of BN politicians crossover is a strategy to make them condemn such acts as I think Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over (or bought over)than the other way round. And Anwar had a job well done as all of us can see how BN had shot themselves at their feet because they are condemning what they should be rightly be condemned of, as they are the main culprits of such despicable acts. And now they are made to be frightened of their own ghosts.
If I read Anwar rightly, he must be acting like Colin Powell who deceived Sadamn Hussein by continuously telling that he is attacking from the east but on that fateful day attacked from the west and drove the Iraqis out of Kuwait without much resistance.
I am not trying to exaggerate his intelligence but this is my opinion, but certainly I can be wrong as many will not agree with me. But I still think that Anwar is a very much more intelligent politician than our Pak Lah Lah.
#16 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:11 am
Anwar is his own worst enemy. On the issue of credibility, the jury is still out.
#17 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:35 am
“I think his war cry of BN politicians crossover is a strategy to make them condemn such acts as I think Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over (or bought over)than the other way round. “ – pwcheng
Then it is a bad strategy that guarantees back firing.
If one is afraid of one’s own MPS crossing over, one does not resort to war cry (publicizing BN MPs cross over) that will only make the other side takes the gloves off and retaliate faster to do against one self the very thing that one proposes to do to the other by the war cry.
Secondly, if Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over, then surely he surely has a very poor and dim view of he integrity of this own Opposition MPs (as far as PKR’s MPs go) that he himself, as defacto head had a part in choosing and fielding as candidates.
Thirdly by such a ‘war cry’ he is only delivering on a silver plate to the opposing side (the BN) the golden opportunity to seize the moral initiative to look good and smell sweet! Already BN’s minister Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim told reporters this a t a press conference at his residence:
“We cannot allow people who contested on a particular party’s ticket, make all kinds of promises to convince the people and after winning, they switched over to another party. To me, these people have no integrity and I hope the government will formulate a special law. It’s high time that we have the ‘Anti-Hopping Law’ to stop such acts” He said although switching political party was not against the federal constitution, it had negative impact on the country’s administration. Zaid said he would propose that the matter be discussed at the Cabinet, adding that such a law had already been adopted in several countries including India.
He believed the formulation of the proposed law would be supported by the opposition too. “The proposed law will benefit all parties. It’s an issue that is good for national stability, that respects the aspiration of the people, why won’t the opposition support it?” he said.
“I’m making the proposal to help overcome the crisis in the era of the new democracy in the country so that it will be more orderly.,” – source NST 22/03/2008.
I will be the last person not to acknowledge his ‘intelligence’ and political strategic capabilities : the Opposition’s ‘victory’ in 2008 GE is in many ways attributable to him, starting with LingamGate, his unseen hand behind some ‘reformasi’ street demonstrations, acting as intermediary between PAS & DAP all built on the political capital of being persecuted by TDM. However his overarching ambition for power may have overtaken his political strategic capabilities.
However one must remember intelligence and capability is one thing, character is another, and no leader can be great unless he also possesses the latter!
Today everything has been positioned for him to lead the BR coalition to complete victory in the next GE and become PM. (The position of Opposition Head has even been conceded to Wan Azizah to pave way for him after April).
Although everyone has ambition to reach the top of power, the critical question is always to procure the power for what purpose : is it for narrow self interest or to be able to wield power to effect change of people’s lives for the better.
The expectation is that he will lead the new order of politics for Malaysians yearning for better democratic governance after 50 years of lack and want thereof under BN.
If out of pure ambition and nothing more he is rushing to take over the helm by resorting to the same tactics of BN decried, then this is not a good sign of things to come, he would disappoint many and BN will have the opportunity to reverse its losing streak and recapture the support lost in 2008 GE. He would have squandered the historic opportunity to be the leader that makes the difference. At best the place in history books will be a come back kid (after fall from grace due to TDM’s machination) to emerge triumphant as another TDM’s clone.
#18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:39 am
sorry – “delivering on a silver PLATTER to the opposing side “
#19 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:53 am
MPs who stood on a party ticket and won should be made to resign and vacate their seats and then stand as independents if they so wish. But crossing the floor of Parliament so to speak without vacating their seats betrays the support of constituents who voted them into power and makes a mockery of democracy.
#20 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 6:40 am
That is exactly the point. Our Nik Aziz and Hadi of PAS endorse DSAI’s invitation of BN cross overs if it were due to “sincerity” and not financial inducement. But where is the sincerity shown in such cases?
This is traditional post-election horse trading not uncommon in East Malaysian political landscape.
To prevent ‘kataks’ from leap frogging over to Mahathir’s BN, it had gotten so bad that Joseph Pairin, at one time in the 90s Sabah state election, had to lock up his state legislators and take away their hand phones till he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Sabah!
“It is now time for Malaysia to tread the path towards a new future, armed with a New Hope, great and bright in its promise of glory” said Anwar on eve before the election that heralded the new dawn of Malaysian politics.
However we are entitled to question what new dawn is this when, as the first streak of light approaches, we are awakened to a political landscape – and soundscape –dominated by croaks of frogs hopping about instead of the strong crow for democratic fair practices?
Crossovers are ok if one believes in the “ end justifies the means” approach, and the “end” here is to accelerate the end of BN whose very existence is so disapproved that even practices that are an antithesis to democratic practices are deemed acceptable if not welcomed!
Anwar has been endorsed by both YB Lim Kit Siang and PAS president Hadi Awang to lead the charge against the BN’s fortress that had exposed a huge chink in last election.
I can understand PAS president Hadi Awang’s acquiescence with Anwar’s receptivity to cross over. After all PAS is carrying out the Almighty’s mission, and the sooner the better!
But what about YB Kit & DAP????
#21 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 6:59 am
This poses the fundamental question to DAP: do you still stand by democratic principles opposed to katak cross overs??? PAS has made its stand: its ok if they crossed over due to “sincerity”.
What about the DAP?? Your silence is liken someone retreating deeper and deeper into the labyrinth of a cave not wanting to respond to voices calling for you from the outside for a stand.
Silence may not be consent but it certainly may pass off as acquiescence!
This has profound implication on your proposing to work in collaboration with PKR and PAS in the formal coalition of Barisan Rakyat.
Your ‘partners’ have shown signs that they are in a hurry – never minds the means -to accelerate the attainment of the end of dislodging BN and assuming political power, one perhaps for the prize of Prime Minister’s position, the other for the earlier fulfillment of God’s mission and goal to establish His state.
What about the DAP? The silence on this major public issue of crossover is deafening!
#22 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:10 am
In short as far as undemocratic practices go within thisbt, will the DAP be an opposition within the Opposition – or in re the MCA altion to
#23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:12 am
As far as undemocratic practices go, will the DAP be an opposition within the Opposition – or deferent to PAS/PKR like MCA to UMNO?
#24 by Godfather on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:44 am
Kit is probably still in the process of getting a consensus internally on this matter, particularly as the subject of cross-overs has been a one-way street for DAP in the past, and this is the first time that it could go the way of the federal Opposition.
#25 by hopman on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:21 am
Dear Kit Siang,
The Malaysian Citizens voted of change in the 12th GE 2008. The opposition has done well by capturing 5 states and denying BN 2/3 majority. Change denotes the transition that occurs between one state to another. When the rakyat want “change” its means we are tired with what happens in the past 50 years. We want new leaders to emerge from the Malaysian Political scene. Now we have seen Lim Guan Eng emerging as a capable leader to lead Penang. The “old” guard like Tun Mahathir, Anwar Ibrahim and the rest of the old UMNO guards should step aside so that new faces should emerge to lead Malaysia. Malaysian is going to through a transition period right now. The old guards… please be there to provide your guidance to the new Malaysian leaders. Please do not be greedy to take opportunity to become the next Malaysian PM. Your time is over please give the younger Malaysian a chance to lead Malaysia.
#26 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:25 am
Correction on my earlier statement “our Nik Aziz and Hadi of PAS endorse DSAI’s invitation of BN cross overs”. There are now two contradictory positions.
In Sunday Star March 23rd, Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz reportedly “threw his support” behind Datuk Zaid Ibrahim’s proposal (to promulgate the law against “party hopping”) saying that “PAS also had to deal with defection threats”….whilst PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang is still on record for stating yesterday that “PAS welcomes Barisan Nasional MPs if they want to cross over to join the alternative front but they should do it out of sincerity and not because they are enticed with money or forced” (The Star March 22). As I said earlier BN is coming out of this issue smelling sweet with Zaid saying that enacting a law banning “party hopping would be among the first actions that he would initiate…” Zaid also said, “The Federal Government must make an open apology to those victimized by the judicial crisis in 1988 that led to the sacking of then Lord President Tun Mohd Salleh Abbas ….We should seek forgiveness in the eyes of the world, the judiciary system”. This was the first goal. The second, “to strengthen judicial independence and delivery of justice by revamping the appointment and promotion process of the country’s judges and magistrates”. And the third goal of his, “to strengthen the judiciary with the help and cooperation from all stakeholders such as the judges, the Attorney General, the Bar Council and law enforcers such as the police” – page 6 The Star (Nation) of 23rd March 2008.
#27 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:21 pm
These are good initiatives by Zaid and will do much to address the problems in the Judiciary. Hopefully there will be definitive steps taken with the conclusion of the Lingam tapes RCI.
Those judges who were sacked should also be reinstated if they are of good health and willing to serve for the lost years. After all the laws now allow people to continue to serve the nation.
Anti-hopping laws will be good for political stability.
#28 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:26 pm
In the 1980s there was ‘Frogger’ – it was violent and brutal. While crossing roads frogs get run over by cars and while crossing river frogs get eaten by buayas. It was only a PC game though, but how apt!
It would not be good for MPs to be chickens either because when they want to cross the road, everyone would start asking ‘why did the chicken cross the road?’.
#29 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:22 pm
WHAT BN IS DOING NOW IN TERENGGANU IS AMOUNT TO DISRECPECT NOT JUST TO THE SULTAN BUT THE AGUNG OF MALAYSIA! BN POWER MONGERS REALLY ‘BOLEH’.
#30 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:44 pm
Now what happened in Trengganu,
Only UMNO can no ‘ikut perentah’ Sultan of Trengganu (who is also present Agung!).
What is wrong with that Ahmad that the Sultan choose?
Why UMNO objected so much? What reason?
#31 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:14 pm
Please don’t look at Zaid’s proposed anti hopping law as something principled intending to get rid of unethical behaviour among elected representatives. I think for the first time, UMNO and BN are seeing the prospect of hopping away from their parties and hence Zaid’s first act to propose the anti hopping law upon assuming the minister post.
If there is no enticement/inducement involved, elected representatives should be allowed to change party affiliation. Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.
#32 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:14 pm
Implosion within UMNO, self destruct in 5 days………
#33 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:16 pm
Scenario in Terengganu, new state election, PAS takes over……
#34 by dimplerid22 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:14 pm
There are too many factors involved with too many questions that only time can answer.
It is true that many Malaysians voted for change not expecting the results achieved by the BR.
I think that the BR finally has an opportunity to stop the rot in Malaysia should it be able to form the federal gov.
As far as BN MPs crossing to the BR I think many of us would agree that the UMNO CAN THROW MORE MONEY TO THEM THAN THE BR COULD POSSIBLY AFFORD!!!
Remember that defectors in previous elections stood to join a more powerful coalition ie BN.This is currently not the case with the BR.
Many MPs in Sabah/Sarawak are said to be loyalists to their party and constituecy more than they are to the BN.With UMNO showing no signs of improvement and the continual arrogance shown especially by their youths, I am sure many of the Sabah/Sarawak BN component party members are thinking of teaching UMNO a lesson.
I say that we should accept those who make the jump so that the BR may be able to make a positive change for the future of all Malaysians.
If we delayed until the next general election,fraud on a scale never seen before will most likely be perpetrated.
Let the show begin!
#35 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:58 pm
limkamput says
“If there is no enticement/inducement involved, elected representatives should be allowed to change party affiliation. Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.”
MPs are MPs because it is the people who voted them in. It would be a gross mis-interpretation and mis-representation of the electorates’ wishes to assume that they (the MPs) can change party based on just their whims and fancies. If they want to change party, they must resign from the party and quit the seat then re-contest under the new party. Let the people decide. Remember, who is the ‘boss’.
Strong leg muscles the kataks may have, but in culinary inclined society like ours these kataks might serve a better purpose on a plate rather than on a seat.
#36 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 8:48 pm
“Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.” limkamput
What is wrong? This is why it is wrong.
You get nominated by your Party to stand for elections in your constituency based on party principles and values and the party’s belief that you are the best they got among nominees in terms of your ability, past contribution to the party. Constituents may not know you that well but they vote for you based on what the party stands for and their trust and confidence in their party in nominating the best to represent them in Parliament or SLA as the case mayt be.
#37 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 8:56 pm
…after having won the elections, you then undergo ‘a change of heart’ let’s just say. You went across to the other party.
What is wrong?? What is wrong is you betrayed your constituents who supported you and elected you not you personally but the Party you stood for.
You can of course change your political and party affiliations and are free to do so. But not by betraying your constituents and the party that nominates you. Where would you be without the support of your constituents and your party.
There is no point in criticizing for the sake of criticizing because it does not get anywhere near where we are going. Anti-hoping law is what this country needs. It does not matter who proposes it.
#38 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:08 pm
HAving said that an MP or State Assemblyman or woman once having taken their seats in the national or state legislature, who disagrees with any bill being proposed should be free to vote against it. They should be free to voice their disagreement and should vote according to what they believe is good for the people.
They should not be disciplined by their party for voting against a bill their party moves.
Based on your voting history and your views as expressed in Parliament and SLA, your party may not nominate you come next general elections – or they may. Or you may choose to serve your constituents as an independent.
#39 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:36 pm
The right thing to do is to vacate your seat and have your constituents decide during by-elections which must be held. What you should not do is to betray them!
Isn’t that what democracy is all about? The candidate who has the most votes get to represent them??
#40 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:50 pm
Interestingly Zaid said that he believed the formulation of the proposed anti hopping law would be supported by the opposition too!
Now why would he say that and bother about the Opposition?
The reason I think is that the BN needs to change the Federal Constitution because it is an amendment of Constitution requiring two thirds majority that BN now does not have. This is because of the 1992 case of Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan v Nordin Salleh.
In that case, Pas wanted to take legal action against Nordin who had joined Umno. Pas had earlier passed a law that forbade their members from joining other parties. However, the law was considered null and void vis-à-vis the article in the Constitution upholding “Freedom of Association” and struck out on grounds that it was unconstitutional.
So what goes around, comes around, and if UMNO wants to qualify Freedom of Association to stop party hopping that it didn’t want stopped in 1992 – because then ‘katak’ was hopping to BN rather than now from BN to (say) PKR, it cannot command the 2/3 majority to qualify that article!
What this means is that if DSAI wants to play dirty and influences all Opposition MPs in parliament to vote against Zaid’s anti hopping bill, that entails constitutional amendment of Freedom of Association requiring 2/3 majority to pass, the anti hopping bill cannot pass…….Which also means DSAI has free rein, if he has the influence, to entice at will the BN’s ‘kataks’ to cross over.
Of course both can play the game, and it’s the question of who could throw more enticements, whether positions or money.
Now is the time many newly elected representatives lacking scruples can take advantage due to the narrowness – about 30 seats – making a difference whether it is BN or BR that form the majority in parliament for government!
Either way, government whether by BN or BR is not stable, threatened by spectre of cross over.
#41 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:17 pm
Hypothetical problem – (say for example only), Sarawak United People’s Party (Supp) has called on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to consider Serian MP Richard Riot Jaem to fill one of the several federal cabinet vacancies. Assuming that wish is not gratified. As a result Richard Riot Jaem and all the SUPP MPs who won on SUPP/BN ticket defect to join BR which then has majority to form government and give SUPP’s rep a cabinet position as promised in consideration of mass defection.
Kataks will then say that they did not betray the party SUPP because the entire SUPP party defects from BN. On the argument that they betray the constituency that voted them in the BN’s ticket, again Kataks would argue that they were voted upon expectations that BN leadership would appoint their elected representative to cabinet position and if these expectations of their constituency were not fulfilled, then their constituency would be more than happy to support their en masse defection from BN to BR if by so doing, BR could, in being able to form a government thanks to the defection, reciprocate by fulfilling their constituency/voters’ aspirations for cabinet representation at federal level. So there’s no betrayal of their constituency by party hopping, the “kataks” would say : staying on in BN unrepresented at federal level is betrayal!
You can say Devil will cite scripture for His own cause but that’s how the justification for crossovers will be put forth…..
#42 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:45 pm
Precisely, Jeffrey, kong beh liow, not simple right. But I still feel that BN does not have good a motive to propose the anti hopping law now. Let them sweat a bit, is ok.
#43 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:56 pm
Undergrad2, you should be the Supreme Court judge or the attorney general. You are too good enough even to be an ethical politician.
#44 by katdog on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:06 pm
Tough choice. Support crossovers and have the chance to form the federal government. Or oppose it because crossovers are unprincipled and ‘dirty’.
As BN has now found out, the phenomena of crossovers is a double edged sword, It can bite you back.
My opinion is, we should not ban crossing over. But instead, if any elected representative should decide to cross over, a by election should be held. This way the voters have a chance to express their opinion whether the ‘katak’ is crossing over for his constituents benefits or for his own personal gain.
#45 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:06 pm
aiD_kamikuP,
I am aware of the all arguments against hopping. I am just fed up with the proposed anti hopping law (now being considered) because I smell fish. For the last fifty years when the situation favoured BN and when they have 2/3 majority to do it, they sit pretty and let opposition parties suffered. Just off hand I could remember of Richard Ho and Yap Pian Hon (both from DAP) hopped to BN. So now is pay back time plus interest charges.
#46 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:17 pm
We should let the MPs and ADUNs hop now capitalising on the momentum to complete the change. In a few years, the situation may be completely different again. This is provided there is no enticement or inducement.
#47 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:45 pm
To: Jeffrey QC
What of the freedom of speech of the constituents who voted you in only to see you betray them??!
#48 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:07 am
I suppose ‘betrayal’ depends on expectations of the constituents. They will be ‘betrayed’ if, for example, they voted a candidate from DAP to speak for them in parliament who crosses over to (say) MCA and is silenced. But if constituents expect their representative to be appointed to federal cabinet position that they think can help bring development under his ministerial portfolio to their constituency and that expectation is easier fulfilled and quicker realized by their representative crossing over to the other camp to help it form government on quid pro quo promises of ministerial position, otherwise denied under the original ticket????
#49 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:19 am
The trouble with BN is that its candidates are voted for bringing material devlopment rather than freedom of speech or other freedoms. East Malaysian contituencies are more likely looking at material devlopment and benefits – which they may think is facilitated by having their representatives in cabinet – and which camp serves this cause more than just strict allegiance to ideology of BN vs BR….(That is why overall they supported BN on 8th March as compared to West Malaysians’ protest votes on ideological grounds against the BN). After BR’s astounding ‘victory’ and perched on verge of taking over government with 30 crossovers, they may think why not leverage on that to bargain for federal cabinet representation in new govt that they help form by cross overs?? Of course they are not thinking of high principles but what serves their parochial interests.
#50 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:22 am
“material development”