Opposition and Anwar Ibrahim – Make no mistake on your sincerity and integrity

by Foong Wai Fong

The events in the next couple of weeks, leading to whether Anwar will contest a by-election will demonstrate to the People of Malaysia whether they have indeed make the right choice, by voting in the Opposition. The People are troubled by these post-election developments.

A message to the OPPOSITION:

1. Many people voted you in not because how good you were or will be, but more they just wanted to throw out the other guy, deny the 2/3 majority given to the ruling coalition.

2. If you walk your talk, you MUST NEVER do what the other guy has been doing in the past decades.

The electorate wishes to see REAL Change, sincerity and integrity; not making deals and bargains wrapped in exchange of cabinet positions for alliance — this makes the OPP no different from the incumbent ruling class. Any mistakes on the part of the OPP in strategy will bring serious backlash, that mistake has the high risk of throwing Malaysia into a state of chaos and instability. This is SERIOUS matter.

On the other hand, if the OPP and Anwar Ibrahim can be a little patient, taking things one step at a time, act with integrity and sincerity, THIS IS A HISTORIC OPPORTUNITY. Any tactic that involves trading of bargains of power would diminish all hope that we are entering a new era. For we believe any of those MPs or state assembly members out there who cross over because they did not get the so-called “rewards” in position would do no good for the OPP. All cabinet and government positions are positions to provide service, not positions for reward of winning the election! It serves the OPP well to remember that.

Does the people of Malaysia has the assurance with PAS and DAP balancing the ambition of Anwar and PKR?

Can Anwar rise to be a true leader for all Malaysia, and that his present struggle is a fulfilment of his long time political vision to make Malaysia truly multiracial and progressive, not that he is getting even with UMNO. By and large it was not the BN or UMNO that wrong him, it was Dr Mahathir who did.

The people of Malaysia ought to pray and work to see a reformed BN — in spite of the difficulties within the ruling coalition to change. We are striving to have two strong parties; only in having credible choices could the people’s wellbeing be safeguarded. BN would need to act swiftly to reinvent and prove itself; much time and opportunity has been wasted, for example naming the new cabinet presents real opportunity; but BN misses that.

The People of Malaysia wishes to see gradual change; the OPP settles in and build its governing team. Many of the candidates in the OPP do not have the credentials to be government leaders; they were put together and got voted in by the wave for change; this these new YBs must know. They must now accelerate their learning and find out exactly what is expected of them and rise up to the occasion. Anwar must further consolidates its power and assure the people of his intentions; at the same time give BN time to change; the next election would present people with the real choice. If the current OPP does get to form the government; it would be very credible because people voted them in to form the government. For this election; by and large, the People of Malaysia only wanted to deny BN its 2/3 majority; not all the way to have the OPP running the country yet. Events have its own turn; the people however, while willing to give the OPP a chance to govern 5 states, but are still tentative in its feelings about the outcome.

All eyes are on the OPP government in the state. Waiting for one more term may be the right thing to do before going for the Federal Government.

There is real opportunity here for Anwar Ibrahim. If he succeeds to bring about democractic change to Malaysia in an honest, clean and credible way; he would go down in world history as a national leader who could go beyond racialism to embrace the larger interest. If Anwar does that, the People of Malaysia will nominate him for the NOBEL PEACE PRIZE — for setting the world on the right track and for bringing hope to all societies plagued by racial struggle; putting Anwar Ibrahim in the company of Gandhi, Martin Luther King and the like. This would rekindle the fire for truth and ideals; key values to building a sustainable world.

1. #1 by baoqingtian on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:27 am

Please don’t miss this golden oppurtunity of showing your capabilities to run the country effeciently. It is now or never. BN, so far is still singing the same old tune.

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:45 am

I think if Anwar is patient untill the 13GE before winning the PM’s post that will do more for tolerance and goodwill than all the efforts at promoting IHadhari.

Agree the opposition need to spend at least one term before the great elections to create the 2-party system.

3. #3 by madguyho on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:19 pm

I beg to differ from what you wrote. Judging from the post election political development, do you think the BN government and our PM has woke up from the slump? The answer is a big NOPE, they are still dreaming on with the same old promise and rhetoric. From the lopsided news reporting, the pro BN demonstrations and finally the rebranding of a questionable Cabinet, business is back as usual, nothing has change and nothing will change. Hence it’s time to change and kick out the BN government for good. The country can’t go on like this for 5 more years. Why should Anwar wait for 5 years if he can do it now? Five years is a very long wait and anything can happen. In 5 years no matter how good the BR controlled states are manage, BN will do anything to destroy them, to turn off the funds, to disrupt the developments or to create chaos, just to win it back next GE. After all, BN don’t win this election fair and square, why talk about sincerity and integrity with them. It’s a good time to finish off BN before they put their house in order for the good of the country and we can move on now, not 5 years later.

4. #4 by syncbasher83 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:41 pm

agreed with madguyho, its now or never…
    talking integrity with bn, just forget about it

5. #5 by smeagroo on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:44 pm

Whilst it is correct to say that the rakyat only wanted to deny BN from getting 2/3 majority but would it be right for me to say that the opposition was also denied the opportunity to rule becos of mass rigging in the electoral system? SO end of the day are we correct to say that the current ruling party is what the rakyat wanted?

For all we know BN would hv been the opposition now and many of their high profile ministers would have done a “zakaria” by now.

6. #6 by fjjs on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:50 pm

The opposition (DAP, PKR, PAS) after capturing 5 states and increased in parlimentary seats need to really work hard and prove to the rakyat that they made the right choice. BN will call for the 13th GE not in 5 years…maybe in 3 years… so the opposition needs to really work hard. At the rate BN is going now, unless they reform fast enough, BR will govern come the next GE. Why BN will fail:
    – the new cabinet still consists corrupted officials…will bring harm and bad image
    – the bias reporting from mainstream media…..rakyat getting more pissed off…. a backlash to BN…so unfair
    – the fragile and infighting in UMNO ,,,will make BN weaker
    – MCA , MIC, Gerakan…rakyat forgot these parties..old fashioned
    – unfair representation for East Malaysia…next GE , East Malaysians will support BR
    – before next GE..Oppostion to have more ceramah in Malacca, Negri and Johor plus other states and will capture these states as well
    – people on the ground whether Malays, Chinese or Indians are fedup with BN

Yes….cooperation…sincerity and integrity is the way to go.

In 3 years time…BR will rule the country…for a better Malaysia.

7. #7 by adoionline on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:51 pm

I have to be honest with myself. The prospect of seeing the Dacing in the seat of power for another 4 or 5 years makes me nauseous. It’s like having to live with a corpse with the windows closed. My every instinct tells me the sooner Umno-BN is swept away from decision-making the better off Malaysia will be. By their own actions they have demonstrated their true colors as an incumbent government – note how almost all the state governments have been destroying or stealing state documents in case the new administration finds the necessary evidence to put 90% of the Umno leaders in jail where they belong. As long Umno-BN controls the MSM we will have a musoh dalam selimut, constantly trying toundermine and sabotage. People like Wong Chun Wai and Joceline Tan have long shown themselves to be professional sycophants. They would do well to work for the PR industry and get out of news. Every cell of my body is repelled by the evil smell of BN’s racial politics and their braindead statements. Not once has a true word escaped Pak Lah’s lips except when he finally admitted: “We’ve lost, we’ve lost.” Yes, Umno-BN, you HAVE lost (we all KNOW you would be jobless today if you hadn’t CHEATED at every turn). So… start getting honest… or GET LOST!

8. #8 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:57 pm

I bet the BN will be hard at work now ,trying to figure as many ways to prevent Anwar from winning, if there’s a by-election.
    Hope the BR will be well prepared to foil them.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:02 pm

On what ground we can justify a crossover?

10. #10 by Mymymy on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:13 pm

BR should take over the federal government now or never. BN will do everything possible in their power to deny BR in next election. After 8 March, they will surely change but maybe not for the better. MSM still under their control, one of the main factor that sure affects the line of voting in last election is information transfer. The modern voters especially chinese and young modern malays in the city have resort to
    the information in the internet such as opp. web site, blog and you tube. That’s why a big swing in these voters group. Whereas in the rural areas, kampung and deep forest of Sarawak are still untouched by the opposition except for some ceramahs by PAS. That’s why we can see small change in this voters group. No doubt with the gains of 5 states, ceramahs can be organised more freely to reach the people living in rural areas, but it cannot be denied that MSM still the main player. BN will use to their gains as they always do.
    My point is, BR cannot wait for next election. With the federal gov. in hand, they should lift all the restrictions especially on the media and in the laws. SPR to be totally neutral, same goes to the police and judiciary. By keeping the promise in the manifesto, rakyat will understand the necessity to change and they will continue to vote for BR.

11. #11 by dawsheng on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:18 pm

If crossovers should determine who form the government, wouldn’t it be a form of mockery towards the electorate and the practice of general election?

12. #12 by Mymymy on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:27 pm

Next GE will be the dirtiest3x election in the history of mankind. Coz BN realised already that they have done a big fatal mistake in the last election.

13. #13 by One4All4One on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:29 pm

One4All4One Says:

March 20th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 14: 16.48
    Allow a little digression cos i am not well versed with the field of opthalmology and the requirements to practise in the country.
    Therefore, the digression.

Well, instead of talking about Course of study/Requirement relation, i would like to discuss about ‘vision’ as in being farsighted / shortsighted in one’s outlook about issues of concern to us all.

The current impasse and difficulty in setting up government especially in the states won by the PKR/DAP/PAS ( let’s call them the BR)coalition is a case in point. And the people who demonstrated in protesting certain policies. And also about the role of the royalty in the power equation.

Due to SHORT-SIGHTEDNESS, the political parties be it in the BN/BR, find it difficult to come to terms with one another to form a sound government. Self-interest is always the element in causing differences, albeit the difference in ideologies. It is also the inability of being truly multi-racial in words and deeds that cause differences and problems which should not have arisen at all if there are true intentions of serving the people. Self-interest always seems to rear its ugly head and reveal the true colours of the players.

WIth a clear aim in mind, the political parties should quickly put aside differences and get down to work. Once the formalities of forming the government are done with, policies and scope of duties should be reviewed. What were wrong should be righted; what were good should be improved on. Go down to the ground, and meet the REAL people and find out about the REAL issues which are confronting them. So as not to over-look the REAL reasons to fight to form the government, and to defend one’s ideology.

The power that be should come out of their cocoon and advise their supporters to stop disturbing the peace and harmony of our beloved country. One has to learn to accept defeat ( in the election) gracefully and to congratulate the opponents in a fight well-fought. Be man enough to stand up to losing a fair and open election. Don’t be so short-sighted. If you so desire toget back into the goverment, prepare yourself well, and maybe you may be back in the driver’s seat in the nex GE.

The royalty, with due respect, should not be a taboo subject whereby the rakyat are not allowed to dwell on. To be sure, nothing exist in a vacuum, so is the royalty..simply because if there are no rakyat, there would not be any royalty at all. As one can see, there are quite a lot of write-ups by the learned on the role of the royalty. Surely, there must be a certain scope and limitation within which where they could exert their influence in society, simply because there cannot be an absolute monarchy, there is none on planet earth.

14. #14 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:29 pm

To kick the BN out will not be an easy task.
    As we all should know very well that the police, the AG, the ACA, the EC and many more, sided them.
    Even every of the media seems to belong to them.
    Umno are more or less powerful like the mafia.
    Even AAB had once said that he fear no one except god.
    Well, I would’nt know what are the status of the king or the sultan here actually?
    And even if the opposition were able to do that, there’ll be chaos and rioting here because BN are not really gentleman.

15. #15 by chuchueey on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:42 pm

While I would like to see BN, in particular UMNO, toppled fast, but I feel BR must be patient. Being rushy would convey a picture that what BR cares most is power grabbing.
    Give yourself maybe 100 days, a good enough period to show to the rakyat that you can work and be fair. Suspicions must be dispelled and trust be cultivated in its place. Reach out to our Malay brothers, who all along have been sceptical of the OPP, in particular, DAP. The Malays shook off their distrust of the OPP and voted for you. Nurture their trust; move with and among them; visit their kampungs, their mosques. You will find that they are very down to earth kind of people. Convince them that you are working for all (they sympathise the poor Indians who have no shelter and no food) races; many feel that the NEP has been unjust and want to see a better format being used.
    This message is to Lim Guan Eng and your exco members: enjoin the Malays and participate in their gotong royongs, visit their places of worship and give grants for repairs, attend their weddings and kenduris, go walk around their pasar pagi and pasar malams. Believe me, this is the best formula of winning trust.

16. #16 by wartank on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 2:04 pm

I agree that forming a government thru ‘crossing overs’ seemed defitting the purpose of the election but the current events in the 12th GE i.e. indelible ink, phantom voters, mis-counting, restraints to recounts, etc..was already a mockery to the election process. So much that the actual outcome as to who actually won is still debatable till today.
    There were also indications of possible crossovers from E.M’sia B4 the GE but was held back by DSAI due to the ‘impartiallity’ of SPR.
    So, the question is.. shd we allow this to carry on or will there be enough checks and balances in future elctions to ensure that the actual “Suara Rakyat” is reflected from the results.

17. #17 by Pink Leo on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 2:11 pm

While I am hoping to see a better Malaysia in terms of economic development (afterall, money is very important to keep a country grows), I hope to see a greater Truly Asia Malaysia, true blend of culture, races and religions.

Where have the ‘muhibba’ value we learned when we were young?

18. #18 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 2:18 pm

I tend to disagree with this writer. Many people wanted DAP and PKR to rule, but most people did not expect that we could throw out many more BN candidates to come to this stage. In order to make changes, you need to rule. Rule and change. So go ahead, people’s power!

19. #19 by Libra2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 2:24 pm

“By and large it was not the BN or UMNO that wrong him, it was Dr Mahathir who did.”
    I disagree.
    When Anwar was demonized and humiliated none from BN and UMNO stood up for him. No one defended justice. No one defended TRUTH. It was their fear and preservation of self interest that brought our judiciary to such ridicule.
    It was Anwars political opponent who spoke up for and defended him.
    I would hold the entire BN and UMNO for the injustice cause to Anwar and his family.

20. #20 by truthreveal8 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 2:34 pm

I agree with u, Foong Wai Fong! AI, I’m still doubtful whether what you are doing are for Malaysians, or for your power gain!? Excuse me for feeling and thinking this way cause you were from the SAME BN that created the problem. Maybe your time in prison helps you to ‘WAKE-UP’. Therefore, Foong Wai Fong is right to say that its best to give time for us to know you. AI has done well so far. While some say its the best time to “overtake” BN now, but let’s have patience and not go fishing for people for crossover. Let Allah lead us.

While UMNO is going around saying “whats best for UMNO!” and MCA going around saying
    “whats best for MCA!” or so and so says, “whats best for BN!”. None of them actually go around saying, “Whats best we can do for Malaysians?” ; except DAP, PKR, etc…

21. #21 by SammyVelu on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:13 pm

Dear Libra2,

Anwar is a charismatic leader up-to-date, he spent years to build up his reputation in Malaysia as well as international arena.

If “taking revenge” is part of his “revolution plan” for Malaysia, it’s getting too personal and he may end up losing both ends, Malay supporters as well as the others.

The ancient Chinese teaching believes “the best way to defeat your enemy is to be better than them”! Revolution is talking about consistency and longetivity, eyes are looking at what’s Anwar next step/game plan, a wrong move can put his political path to a full stop at anytime. Remember, Malaysians now are knowledgable, mature, analytical and well-informed of the current issues. BN had made the biggest mistake, Anwar won’t want to be the second one, right? Last but not least, his wrong move won’t only ruin PKR but the whole coalition, there’s no hero in politics, after all, it’s all about team work!

22. #22 by For future on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:14 pm

I disagree with you. The opposition has already won so they should mount a serious attack and take over.

Do you know that the opposition has a higher percentage in national representation?

Do you know that opposition needed only 56,822 more votes to wrest the coalition’s 30 weakest seats to form the federal government? Subtract this small amount the one million phantom votes BN used in all constituencies particularly in Kedah, Perak, Sarawak, Sabah and Terengganu? So who won? It is PKR, DAP and PAS.

BERSIH and MAFREL have given evidence of malpractices that should have led to the rejection of BN candidates but you know that Rashit is an UMNO putra who knows who pays the piper.

Do you think that the federal govt will help Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan to succeed? No. They will not. Didn’t you listen to Ali Rustam saying impose sanctions on Penang? For the states to succeed, we must have Anwar as the PM where Lim Kit and Hadi Awang, Karpal, and other veterans and stalwarts are in the federal cabinet. Otherwise, don’t ever imagine that BN and RTM and NST and the Star will help you to succeed. Forget that.

Those who are saying this was a protest vote amaze me. Where on earth does an opposition win without a protest vote? Does a satisfied electorate throw a protest vote? Some people have no knowledge of democracy and voting patterns. The people voted or change and PKR, DAP and PAS should choose 30 clean BN MPs and move foward.

One more thing, Barisan Rakyat is made of 3 parties while BN is made of 20 and odd Parties. Yet BN could only afford 49% in Peninsular Malaysia. It failed. failed and failed. Take over the federal govt.

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:24 pm

Foong Wai Fong’s ‘message’ is directed at PKR’s Anwar Ibrahim.

Coffee shop speculations are rife that going price in East Malaysia is RM2 million per crossover, so that 23 crossovers would cost RM46 million.

Anyone or party coming with that kind of money is suspect. Questions will be asked how and from where such sums of money could be raised – and how being spent they will be replenished. If any Opposition party or leader were proven implicated, that’s a critical blow to the Opposition’s moral position that accuses the BN of money politics and corruption.

Anwar Ibrahim made the first mistake by telling reporters (when he should have kept silent) that many lawmakers in the ruling coalition wanted to defect to his camp after their election debacle and approached him. Anwar however did make clear that they were welcome to defect but no bribes would be paid to make them to cross over. “We will remain consistent and committed to the code of ethics. If you want to surrender at a price you have chosen the wrong party,” he told reporters. If you want to surrender at a price you have chosen the wrong party,” he told reporters. “People have approached and discussed … but no one dared raise the issue of price (of defection) to me,” he said, without elaborating. He said he believes some will eventually defect, even without monetary inducement. But he refused to say if the numbers would be enough to topple the National Front government, which is facing its worst political crisis in the 51 years it has been in power”.
    (Source: report of International Herald Tribune – The Associated Press Published: March 17, 2008).

In todays news (The Star pg 12 of 22nd March) Anwar asked “why 23, why not 53?” He said the number was pure speculation. The question of buying people does not arise. It is not our tradition”. PAS endorses. Its president says PAS welcomes BN MPs crossovers but “they should do it out of sincerity and not because they are enticed by money or forced” – pg 4 of Star of 22nd March).

DAP is, so far quiet, about the issue. Maybe it is better stay that way. It is fatuous to suggest that these people cross over for sincerity when they only recently won their seats. To say it is not Opposition’s tradition to buy crossover begs the question whether or not it is the tradition of those who crossover to do so for a price/monetary consideration.

We all know that many have crossed over in the past elections and for what reasons. The International Herald Tribune opined: “Buying political support, especially by paying voters money, is common in Malaysia, and bribing lawmakers to defect, while not widespread, is known to occur”.
    If indeed en masse defections from BN occur in East Malaysia who but the most naive would believe that is due to “principles” and sincerity and not financial inducements?

Once the Opposition decides to play this game it will forfeit its moral right to criticize the BN for seeking to embark on buying Opposition to cross over to the BN, playing the game which they know best and have perfected it to a state of art. Even not counting the moral and ethical aspects of the equation, does the Opposition have as much financial resources as the BN to finance cross overs??? All I know is many politicians from both sides of the divide will get rich from winning a seat and then get paid to cross over.

This has got profound implications on DAP esp. in light of recent statements that it is working out a formal cooperation in coalition Barisan Rakyat. Can this work out if DAP is looking at upholding principles of democratic and secular governance, PAS , a theocracy and PKR, forming an immediate government shoat Anwar may be installed Prime Minister, with a latter two in a hurry to realize their respective divergent goals regardless of methods to achieve them?

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:33 pm

Last para: Should be “……PKR, forming an immediate government SO THAT Anwar may be installed Prime Minister….”

25. #25 by leealex24 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

Bottom line, the opposition regardless of whether PKR/DAP/PAS, it boils down to performance. There has been talks of the opposition now leveraging on the opportunity to control on the federal level. I’m a bit worried about this development because we are only in the midst of forming our state governments and getting the political machinery on track, and now we’re thinking big of setting this federal govt. Remember, a good and able government doesn’t happened overnight and the opposition (if they are really sincere in developing the country and make positive changes – economic equality, transparency, abolishment of racial politics), start with the reforming the state governments and the people will recognize this and would act accordingly in the next election. Remember, it’s better to under-promise and over-deliver instead of the other way around. I do not want the opposition to get too excited about this and take on federal govt level and perform poorly in governing. My two cents worth (although I believe it definitely worth more)..

26. #26 by AHILA on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:42 pm

History will relate how a man who rose to his height dropped to the lowest….jailed, humiliated, dragged,kicked,etc..etc…then,how he climbed the ‘political everest’ and caused a tsunami.Chances of becoming the PM is within grip. This will happen if you dear DSAI truly love your fellow Malaysians no matter what race or religion he might be., be just, be honest, be kind, treat all equally ..then, you can count on the Makkal Sakti 100%. But remember we honestly wanted to deny BN the 2/3. For that purpose we willingly allowed our own Indian/MIC to loose. A risk ! BUt what we have got to loose. We wanted a change.Why? We could no longer trust our own skin in BN/MIC. There was no voice for us in the Parliment. The UMNO (puppeteer) controlled MCA/MIC (puppets)…marginalizing the very people who trusted and voted for 50years. We too tolerated far too long with the fat,fallen man from ‘River of Shell’. We altered our mindset..and we are truly Malaysian today for voting for BR;a non race based political party (no offence to pakciks in pAS). BN had done much for the country,I cant deny that. But too much has been going on for too long.No justice ! Too powerful (kebal).That’s not a good sign and the people of all races knew it’s time to revolt.And what a surge it was! We were in slumber all this while.That’s the people’s mistake;taking things for granted. NOw we are all alert….very alert. We know what we want and we know how to get it. ‘Don pray pray’ with people power..ah.Either you make it or break it,DSAI. If you are truly a God fearing person, proceed to lead Malaysia….its now or never !Go for it ! Remember..karma is always a good teacher.

27. #27 by Wise Voter on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 3:43 pm

DAP’s popularity has reached Manchester United. Christiano Ronaldo, asked on his execution of dead balls, replied, “Rocket. I like to hear people say ‘the Ronaldo rocket’.

28. #28 by bukanbumi on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 4:27 pm

By admitting “DEFECTED” BN MPs into BR in order to take over the Federal Government. Bear in mind that many of those BN MPs are corrupted ones.

What is the difference between Federal Government form by BR and ex-BN then? Will the Federal Government less corrupted? Food for thought indeed.

29. #29 by wag-the-dog on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 4:31 pm

The US sub-prime crisis in graphics – Part 1

Read this to understand better as it is going to become a global economic crisis and we will see it soon in Malaysia.

http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com

30. #30 by PSM on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 5:14 pm

I must say that I agree with the writer. Many of us hate the BN so much that this hate has clouded our judgement! No one can blame us though. The BN has over the last 50 years “screwed” Malaysians left & right! The level of Corruption, Cronyism & over all “Rot” (Police force, Judiciary, Racial Tensions, etc) has reached unbelieveable heights!
    And yes, the BN is still playing the same tune. Just look at what we get daily over the Media (Newspapers, TV , Radio). Same old crap & they expect us to believe them?
    However, the Opposition has now a great chance to prove to us the Rakyat that they can do something. They asked us to deny BN the 2/3rds Majority. We have given them that. They have to prove to us now.
    DSAI has an “axe to grind”. I don’t begrudge him that. After what UMNO has done to him, who wouldn’t? However, he has the chance to do something now. I think he was instrumental in getting the DAP & PAS to work together. He has shown that his party PKR is a force to be reckoned with & he has wiped the smirk from Najib’s face (which Najib had when he coined PKR as “Parti Kurang Ralevan”)! DSAI has I believe caused our sleeping PM to suddenly remember who he is (remember Pak Lah said he did not remember who Anwar was? Can one of our Goevrnment controlled Newspaper Reporters ask Pak Lah if he remembers who Anwar is now?!).
    Anwar only needs to make sure that the Opposition delivers what they have promised & in the 13th GE, Pak Lah & compeny will be voted out into space with Mamak Maidin & our first Angkasawan! And then he can lead us all together to a new Malaysia.

31. #31 by kanasai on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 5:28 pm

People has yet to see any fulfilment of the promises manifested in BR’s last GE manifesto but already start ‘dreaming’ about forming the federal government. 2ndly, will there be a standard form of policies from all BR component parties in all the five oppostion states?. Lim Guang Eng has taken a precedence by throwing a challenge to all other opposition leaders to open tender and ballot system in the provision of state contracts and land alienation in PEN. What about Selangor?

32. #32 by P.O.T.S on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 5:49 pm

Agreed.

Anwar Ibrahim does not want to be referred to as the opposition or be addressed as opposition leader.

He wants to be known as the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

PKR needs to prove that it is not developing into an UMNO clone, otherwise Malaysians are totally screwed.

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/03/from-umno-to-pkr-hegemony.html

33. #33 by cfcluvdap on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 6:03 pm

Hello,
    I can’t say more than what the author had clearly cited that the oppositions should take stock of their strength to show what they can do for the rakyat with what they have won….do not go overboard now as it might disrupt the trust on the opposition can do alot more good than the corrupted bn.
    Just do with what you have and turn things around for the rakyat…ok

34. #34 by vehir on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 6:34 pm

New Terengganu MB appointed
    BERNAMA

KIJAL state assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said has been appointed the new Menteri Besar of Terengganu and will take the oath of office in Kuala Terengganu tomorrow, the office of the Sultan of Terengganu announced today. – BERNAMA

35. #35 by ForTheFuture on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 7:02 pm

IMHO, Crossover or ‘hopping’ reps were prevalent in Sabah. The general effect was that it discredited whoever crossed over and the party who received them. After all, the old saying goes, ‘never trust traitors’. The questions would form in people’s minds, who can trust somebody who would go against their own party / what they stand for?

Plus, some of them might just turn out to be saboteurs. Again, that’s what happended in Sabah, they ‘hopped’ back at the earliest opportunity. Take your time, BR. Be solid and listen to the people.

36. #36 by vehir on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 7:15 pm

Zaid cadang gubal undang-undang anti-lompat parti
    22-03-2008 05:02:05 PM

KOTA BAHARU: Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri (JPM) Senator Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim mencadangkan kerajaan menggubal undang-undang khusus untuk meletakkan noktah bagi perbuatan melompat parti oleh ahli politik.

Beliau berkata perbuatan ahli politik yang bertanding mewakili parti tertentu dan bertukar ke parti lain apabila menang dalam pilihan raya umum merupakan perbuatan amat tidak bermoral walau apa pun alasannya.

“Kita tak boleh benarkan orang bertanding satu parti, buat janji macam-macam untuk rakyat percaya dan bila menang, lompat ke parti yang lain.

“Pada saya ini tak ada integriti, saya harap kerajaan boleh adakan undangundang khas, sudah sampai masa kita ada Undang-undang Antilompat Parti supaya tak timbul lagi perkara seperti ini,” katanya pada sidang akhbar di kediamannya di sini pada hari Sabtu.

Beliau berkata walaupun perbuatan itu bukan sesuatu yang bertentangan dengan Perlembagaan negara, ia bagaimanapun memberi kesan negatif kepada pentadbiran negara.

“Saya fikir kita tak payahlah buang masa lagi (untuk memikirkan sama ada ia wajar atau tidak), gubal sahaja undang-undang ini, kalau tidak, ia akan berterusan seperti yang kita sudah mulai dengar sekarang ini.

Kalau kita tak buat sekarang, takut nanti rosak negara,” katanya

For more infor refer-http://mstar.com.my

37. #37 by donng55 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 7:20 pm

Many of us are in sync with Foong’s message. We voted for the Opposition simply because we dislike and distrust BN more.

We strongly urge DAP, PKR & PAS not to resort to the dirty tactics of UMNO/BN, such as ‘hopping’. If you do then you are no different than them. Show us what you can do in the five states first.

DO NOT, and we repeat, DO NOT play play with us!

38. #38 by yhsiew on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 7:44 pm

People are watching closely how Barisan Rakyat (BR) performs in the states it governs. I think the acceptance of BR by the people as the next federal government is based on the following factors:

1. Component parties within BR are able to prove to the people that they can work together and accommodate one another despite being strange bedfellows.

2. BR can outperform its rival (BN) in economic, social and political achievements/ developments.

3. DAP is able to prove to the Malays that it is not a Calvinist party. To do this DAP has to champion the rights of both the Malays and the non-Malays.

4. PAS is able to convince the non-Muslims that it is not a Taliban-like party. To do this PAS must protect the interests of both the Muslims and non-Muslims; I think PAS has done well in Kelantan in this regard.

5. Component parties in BR merge under one banner after 2 or 3 years, i.e. after they have succeeded in convincing the people that they are a clean, high-performing, creditable BN Alternative. Not only the merger is important to circumvent such issues as “the MB must be a Malay Muslim” and “the ratio of Malays to Chinese must be this and that in the EXCO team”, it (the merger) is also the only way to quash the “minority government” threat. Already BN was trying to exploit the minority government issue to gain back control of Perak.

6. BR, after merger, must spread its wings to East Malaysia (e.g. build up service centres to sever the people there) at least one year before the general election. This will give BR time to build up close rapport with the people there and hopefully establish a strong base in East Malaysia eventually. It is sad to see that the gain made by BR in West Malaysia was somehow negated by the loss in East Malaysia in the just concluded election.

7. BR, after merger, can consider economic integration among the states it governs so as to strengthen its political clout (the EU has done it). For example, Selangor may adopt Kelantan as a “sister-state”, based on win-win smart partnership, to take advantage of the latter’s abundant lands and man-power. By so doing, less developed Kelantan will become popular on the investors’ radar.

39. #39 by Tim Sng on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 7:45 pm

Saudara Anwar Baru,

[I call you Saudara because of my firm believe in a Malaysian Malaysia, which makes all Malaysians my saudara.]

Malaysia looks forward to a new Anwar Ibrahim – made new because of the 10 years of struggles, with many years behind bars [rightfully or wrongfully], made new because these past ten years of reflections have changed you, and finally made new because of the recent victories of PKR, PAS and DAP – all of which point to the fact that by 2012 – an alternative party – Barisan Rakyat can rule the nation.

Make no mistake, though – the Malaysian voter has matured and even more so by 2012, which means that if PKR, PAS, DAP cannot deliver [ eg. be united, have a common front, be harmonised despite differences, no infighting, able leadership], it will fall.

BN will sweep back and the hopes of a two party system in Malaysia may go down the drain, in view of the failed second attempt….after SEmangat 46 and Coalition of 13th GE.

Show us that there is indeed a new Anwar Ibrahim, one who has risen above race, religion, even politics – way above the historic pasts of corruption, cronyism and deception that led BN slide to near loss. Malaysians want sincerity, dedication, commitment, honesty and good governance.

Of course, protect the Malays…..and along the way all other races….do not marginalise any group….there is enough for all.

There is no doubt at all, the whole victory from north to south was engineered by a man popularly called DSAI, with 5 states feathers in their cap, and WP also, and two Sultans rejecting the BN’s choice – it is indeed a time for Malaysia to hear from a new Anwar.

As you engineered the combined efforts of three parties, it will be you, who can take the three parties to a sweeping victory in 5 years.

Show us a new AI and ALL MALAYSIANS will love it, but it must be a genuine new AI, which is
    [A one], not F 1, not formula one, but False One.

One last point! Why buy them over? This is bad politics, unless the one who crosses over is genuinely and sincerely wanting to do so….someone with foresight, someone with true integrity rather than a ‘cheating hop-over’, but someone who has a very clear message to BN.

“I know the people voted me on a BN ticket. However, following the sweeping victory of BR in many states, I am now convinced that BR is the way to go for the future. I want to put the past behind and move forward with a party that will take this nation to greater heights. I fully support DSAI.”

Kalau macam itu, kemungkinannya, kita akan menyaksi satu “Exodus” yang besar di politik Malaysia. Situasi di Negara kita belum stabil lagi. Gemuruh yang berlaku di Perlis dan Terengganu kemungkinannya boleh menimbulkan satu tsunami politik.

Nasihat saya: Jangan guna duit untuk membeli hati YB dari BN, gunakan filosofi untuk menangkan hati.

Mengapakah pucuk pemimpin BN maseh belum sedari hati rakyat yang ingin melihatkan satu kerajaan yang baik, jujur dan berintegriti, tanpa personaliti seperti MMT?

40. #40 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 8:34 pm

41. #41 by ahpiow on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 8:42 pm

Excellent piece of writing by Foong. The rakyat should be cautious. This is going a little too fast, barely 3 weeks, but then politics is such. Maybe Anwar from his incarceration by TDM has now changed from his past ideals when he was the DPM and part of gomen. Has he? If yes then it is for the good of Malaysians. How do we know or how can we know? Only when he is given the new opportunity to show his face again will the rakyat the know. A risk we have to take, through trials and tribulations.

42. #42 by joehancl on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

Yes, This is indeed SERIOUS matter. This is a God given opportunity for the Barisan Rakyat to set THE example {INTEGRITY, SINCERITY} to clean up the MESS left by the BN govt. If the BR govts. of the 5 states do not do so, there will be HELL to pay. They will be cursed by the rakyat and maybe also God.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 8:53 pm

The Opposition won on promises of a corrupt, clean, transparent, an independent judiciary and a return to the rule of law among others. Winning the elections is not a victory against corruption, abuse of power etc. It is only a victory against a corrupt government.

The opposition now has to deliver what it promises. Remember the opposition has not taken over control of the federal government but only a handful of states. Although Malaysia is a ‘federation’ it is not a true federation. The states do not have their own state troopers, national guards, state courts and supreme courts, or their own internal revenue departments and state universities. As it is the police, the judiciary are not much more than mere appendages of the political party that runs the federal government.

If Malaysia is a true federation with its own state courts, it would be easier to prosecute the corrupt among politicians and government servants. Then the states would have their own state attorney generals. As it is, it is going to be an arduous task to prosecute, but prosecute them we must. How else would the opposition survive an attack on its integrity?

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:19 pm

Will Anwar and PKR make prosecution of the corrupt among BN politicians who once controlled the state government of Selangor their first priority? Or are we hearing calls for patience, that time is needed for the state government to put its house in order and that there are more urgent priorities – the first indication that it is wavering on its promises for a clean government.

A political party having won the elections on the ticket of a corruption free government and the return to the rule of law, now puts the same on their back burner! What sorts of signals would they be sending??

Questions are rightly being raised about Anwar Ibrahim and his bunch of ‘reformists’ and Anwaristas who have taken over a key state, whether they say what they mean and mean what they say. Or whether the recent victory at the polls were nothing more than ‘pay backs’ – only time will tell.

45. #45 by penang308 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:24 pm

Who are these people that want to crossover?

Why they want to crossover?

(1)Is it that they are not REWARDED(“cabinet post/promotion”) after serving their party for so long?

or (2)they feel FRUSTRATED because their APPEAL FOR HELP/ASSISTANCE from the Federal/State NOT COMING hence, they feel being “MARGINALISE/BACKSTAB”.

or (3)they see there is NO FUTURE IN BN hence they “ABANDON SHIP” just because BR is doing better now!

or (4) they feel CHEATED BY BN for NOT BEING FAIRLY REPRESENTED in the government (b’cos UMNO always get the “LION SHARE” eventhough they done badly.

or (5) somebody from the other side is offering them a HUGE REWARD?

or (6)they cannot stand the attitude of BN leader which they feel is arrogant and refuse to listen to the plight of minority hence they say ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

or (7)they feel they have being used/bully by BN especially UMNO, they have to OBEY EVERYTHING UMNO SAID, when UMNO say “sit” they all sit, UMNO say “stand”, they all stand, just like MCA.

or (8)they feel that their community has been treated as 2nd or 3rd class citizen and there is NO END TO IT.

or (9)they now realised that what they have been fighting for all this while is wrong, so they repent!

or (10)there is too much CORRUPTION and they cannot stand it anymore!

THE LIST GO ON AND ON…., DO FEEL FREE TO ADD IN SOMEMORE!

Now, who is who and with what intention they want to defect?

How to seperate the GOOD GUYS FROM THE BAD ONE?

IT IS UP TO YOU TO DECIDE!

46. #46 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:26 pm

Very well said! I wonder if Anwar is aware of the rakyat’s sentiments with regards his haste to bring about the downfall of the BN government. Yes, if he can achieve it without engaging in the despicable horse-trading mentioned by the writer, well and good. But granted the political scenario as we know it in our country, that will be extremely unlikely.
    So, the Barisan Rakyat should consolidate, show they can administer the 5 states well and come the next elections, be prepared to take over the administration of the country if the rakyat so decides.

47. #47 by ilikeit on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:40 pm

Anwar should not jump too hastily or he will appear too greedy and impatient to be a Prime Minister thus showing that he too is power crazy.Have to be very careful there, POWER CORRUPT AND ABSOLUTE POWER CORRUPT ABSOLUTELY. Any politician that can be bought or jump ship because he or she didn’t get any goodies or any other selfish reason is of a suspicious character and/or principle.

and as an aside Uncle Kit i want you to be on your guard against this Anwar fellow as i have this funny feeling behind my brain that tells me that this fellow is a double headed snake, very dangerous. i don’t know but i could be wrong but i am right most of the time, i mean regarding this feeling. Anyway nothing wrong to be on the
    safe side, right?

48. #48 by cfcluvdap on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:48 pm

Hello,
    The high number of comments calling for clean and sincere means in gaining rakyat trust and confidence, BR must heed the voice of the rakyat. Taking short cuts may results in a disastrous and regretful outcome. Short cuts are mean for ppl who harbour corruptuous and selfish mindset.
    So, pls do a good job with what the parties had won and deliver. Rakyat will continue to admire and support the leaders who win with sincerity and commitments.

49. #49 by P.O.T.S on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:19 pm

My two cents worth is that DAP needs to embrace PAS in a more platonic and diplomatic manner.

Both the DAP and PAS share much in common, more than they realise.

Focus on building on individual strengths, not petty differences.

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/03/bagai-pinang-dibelah-dua.html

50. #50 by ctzen on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:23 pm

I feel BR, especially PKR, should not accept any ‘katak’, if it wants to prove to the rakyat that it is different from BN. Also, it’s a matter of principles – these kataks should resign and stand for election again for obvious reasons.
    These kataks joined BN not for noble reasons but to line their pockets; surely they aren’t going to be different if they join BN? Their aim is to leave the sinking ship, as pockets are more difficult to be lined. So they want to try their luck in a ‘new ship’. Then BR will become another BN – ugh! It won’t last another 5 years this way.

51. #51 by Barisan Rakyat on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:28 pm

I agree with the writer. It is better to concentrate with the 5 states now. Show to the Rakyat how well we administer our states and I think the support will come neutrally. There should not be any pre-bargain with the BN candidates to join BR as this will only make us look cheap. As the writer correctly said as far as the PRU12 is concern the Rakyat just want a change. It is not because BR candidates are better. But with sincere and honest administration I don’t think it is difficult to do better than BN have done.

52. #52 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:35 pm

A political party having won the elections on the ticket of a corruption free government and the return to the rule of law, now puts the same on their back burner! What sorts of signals would they be sending?? Undergrad2

The same can be said of parties having complete divergence political ideologies now working together. In the aftermath of election victory and perhaps spurred on by the desire to form state governments, the parties in coalition are probably very benign and forgiving to each other in terms of power sharing and in putting on the back burners the parity ideologies and principles. As they go into the day to day administration of the state, the reality will probably bite. Yes, only time will tell.

53. #53 by Orangutan on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:59 pm

This is an open appeal to DSAI and DAP-PKR-PAS , the Barisan Rakyat coalition – my whole family of 15 voted for all three of you in 2 different states now under your joint governance because you promised to uphold righteousness, integrity, individual rights and freedom, respect for law and last but not least to weed out rampant corruption that BN is so synonymous with.

Allowing BN MPs to just “cross-over” for short-term political gains is just too short-sighted and betrayed the trust from us, the Rakyat. If those MPs have indeed and genuinely changed their political affiliation and ideology, they should honorably resign and recontest on BR ticket. I feel that cross-over after election is unethical and also cast doubts on those MPs intention and ethical values.

Firstly, we the Rakyat certainly do not want people who wants to jump ship because they cannot get “reward” from BN. We don’t want these people to “contaminate” BR, period.

Secondly, some may say that BR was denied the win in 12th GE because of votes rigging, so the voluntary or induced cross-over is justified. This may be true but two wrongs doesn’t make a right, right? Why must BR reciprocate BN’s misdeed, remember BR are suppose to be way above BN when it comes to honesty and righteuosness. Those MPs should not only have DSAI’s consent, but also the Rakyat’s blessing as well. If BR opens the gates and let them in unconditionally, BR will be no different from BN in time to come.

DSAI, please listen to the people or your may not have my 15 votes anymore come 13th GE.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:18 pm

If this man is able to unite UMNO and purge the party of its undesirable elements I suspect PKR would fall like a deck of cards come next general elections! It is all about Malay unity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKSPJmW4jxs&eurl=http://kickdefella.wordpress.com/

55. #55 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:22 pm

what many ppl do not realize is that state govt in msia had limited power and resources. In msia, ordinary ppl do not pay income tax to state govt.
    In msia it is the federal govt that really counts!
    hope new govt in those 4 states (kelantan same govt lah) will do better than previous govt

56. #56 by HB Lim on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:30 pm

Even if money was not the reason to cross over, it is hard to believe that those who want to do so have suddenly become enlightened about and become averse to the sins of the BN so much so that they want to abandon the BN.

If they are indeed so enlightened, then the best thing to do is to renounce their affiliation to the BN and also their seats and let by-elections be called. The point is that the BR should aim to form the Federal Government by the strength and justification of the Peoples’ consent, endorsement and mandate, not by a back-door strategy. This back-door strategy may just backfire, more so if those who jumped ship from the BN to the BR did so because they were not happy for not being accorded the recognition or given the office that they thought they should get and therefore jumped just to snub the leadership of their former party, not because they have suddenly become enlightened to the truth. Do we want this kind of characters in the BR?

If we accept this kind of characters, not only will the BR be populated and tainted by questionable characters which may become the starting point of a corrupt and cancerous culture which may eventually make the BR no different from the BN, the BR would bare itself to insinuations, criticisms and attacks by the BN and the People which will invariably cut away layer by layer its integrity. The long term effect would be adverse and the loss incalculable and would not be worth the immediate gain.

The BR should be the change that they want and as part of the overall change towards a just and democratic society, the BR should stand firm against the practice or encouraging the practice of jumping ship by election winners who to my mind, generally speaking, are no good opportunists or sore losers anyway.

If the cross over plan has been conceived even before the election that certain BN candidates would make use of the BN’s banners to win and thereafter cross over to the BR, then that, to my mind, would be an indirect kind of election fraud and should be denounced. What the BR should aspire for is a government which has the full mandate of the People.

There is an argument that the BR would have been the Government if not for election rigging by the BR and therefore there is nothing so wrong for the BR to achieve control of Parliament by the back door. First is the difficulty of proof but even if the allegation of election rigging was true, to counter an election fraud by another fraud would not make the BR very different from the BN, would it?

I think that if there are MP’s who want to abandon the BN, they should relinquish their seats simultaneouly and let by-elections be called. A win by the BR in such a by-election would be one which cannot be questioned as it would have the mandate of the People.

The BN after so many decades of corruption, cronyism and patronage, ‘war-lord’ culture is still very much paralysed by the same systemic diseases despite the rude awakening, judging by the latest development. I think it would be difficult for the BN to become very much different come the next general election. What the BR should do from now till the next election is to focus on learning the business of governing and to govern well in the few States which they are now in control so that come next election.

It is evident now that the BN and its component parties are already trying hard to copy and paste the BR’s political stand and philosophies. Copying is the best form of flattery; it just means that the BR is on the right track which if maintained would lead them to bigger victory in the next general election.

However, copying and pasting would not work unless the basic culture or operating system is the same – if the BN persist in their brand of Bumiputra’ism and do not address and overhaul their political system to cleanse or at least reverse their systemic rot, the inconsistency between system and application would become apparent and hypocrisy would become more and more obvious and bare for all to see. As such, I think there is no need for the BR to resort to questionable back-door strategy to win control of Parliament.

57. #57 by balance88 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:33 pm

In my opinion, the DAP-PKR-PAS (BR) coalition should just focus on the job in hand, ie, successfully manage and reform the 5 states under their care. Show us some REAL change. Why be distracted by all the “kataks” and don’t even bother about plotting to take the government in the next GE because if you screw up the 5 states, all your plans gets sucked down the drain for people will just vote you out.

Pls remember – the journey of a thousand miles begins with a first step. So, please walk the first step successfully. We are no fools. If BR performs well, you have our votes.

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity for BR. You do well, BN will have a tough time wresting back power. I don’t expect much changes from BN. From what we have seen so far, we can expect more of the same from BN. We still have the same old generals running BN’s component parties. Soldiers may have changed but generals are still the same old same. How to reform? How to change? Cakap banyak banyak.

Message to BR – please do a good job. Put things right once and for all. Transcend race. Abolish corruption and cronysim. Implement real changes. Make this a pivotal turning point for Malaysian politics! Walk the talk!

58. #58 by HB Lim on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:40 pm

My apologies, the eighth paragraph of my earlier comment is incomplete and should end with “…so that come the next election, they would have no problem retaining control of those States and hopefully can gain a few more States and also the Parliament.”

59. #59 by yhsiew on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:23 am

Ma Ying-Jeou has won in Taiwan’s presidential election. Ma gave the reasons below as to why people chose him to be the president. Perhaps our Malaysian politicians can take heed of Ma’s words.

“People want a clean a government instead of a corrupt one,” said Mr Ma, quoted by AP news agency.

“They want a good economy, not a sluggish one. They don’t want political feuding. They want peace across the Taiwan Strait. No war.”

60. #60 by peacefulcitizen on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:30 am

greetings everyone.. this is a high time for the oppositions to show their through colours. we’re sick and tired of hiding in BN’s shadows. n to our dearest PM, plz step down. Dont u see that Malaysia doesnt want u to be our PM? That shows u’re not fulfilling ur responsibilities as our PM. U’re being one sided. Yes u may say u’re being fair to all races. Have u ever tot of other races which is ur responsibility to look after them? Giving them help, support n needs just like u had promised when u first took oath as a PM? U’re being bias. Dont spoon feed ur own kind. Thing of others. Peace

61. #61 by peacefulcitizen on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:37 am

Lets not talk about Taiwan’s PM. Look at ours. What our PM is doing now it’s an obvious sign that he wants power through corruptions than running the country where it was first formed. Going overseas and all that was just BS. Every d*** thing that’s happening especially political issues (corruptions, Mongolian murder case, HINDRAF, BERSIH etc) is all happening right under his hairy nose and all he could do was sit there in the cabinet n say nothing? correct me if im wrong, is he still eligible to be our PM?

62. #62 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:11 am

I agree with HB Lim’s comments.
    You can also take a poll on this topic here.

The will of the people surpasses the need to stroke any man’s egotistic ambitions and we need to rein in leaders who show signs of chewing off more than they can handle.
    Let us always remember the 22 years under TDM when the Judiciary was trampled under and that accelerated the rot.

Winning the elections is only the beginning of a long march to prove that you can govern well. I am sure that is what the new state admins are beginning to discover.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/elections-are-over-it-is-time-to-get-on.html

63. #63 by novice101 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:45 am

DAP, PKR and PAS, do not misread the victory that you have gained, Each person had his own reason for the way he voted on that day. The reasons were many and varied.

But it is definitely not because of any far-reaching, well-thought-out policies or programs you had proffered, nor it is because of the oratory abilities of your leaders. None of you have really been tested, so, it is not because of your tested honesty and integrity.
    So, please be humble and work hard to deliver the goods. The rakyat is now more discerning, more demanding, more exacting and less forgiving !

History has shown, repeatedly, how power corrupts and how absolute power corrupts absolutely. Power and money had seduced many a good man, so institute checks and balances.

64. #64 by novice101 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:10 am

The BR coalition should ponder hard on accepting cross-overs. These people stood under the BN banner and the rakyat voted for or against them based on this, so, would BR want to win by default? Is this a principled move?

These intended cross-overs decide on the move for reasons, best known, to themselves. For more times than naught, they are problem-children of the other parties. Why do you want to take over other parties problems? Let them stay where they are and create headaches for your opponents.

Rushing to form the government may not be wise. Are you, even partially, ready? From what is shown, after the GE12, your mindsets are still trapped by the experiences you have gathered as the opposition.

You still have to settle the ideological differences that exist amongst yourselves. The gap is great and it can easily cause a crack in the coalition and bring it tumbling down!

65. #65 by pwcheng on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 3:10 am

Jeffrey Says:
    Yesterday at 15: 24.46

Correct me if I am wrong. I certainly think Anwar is a very seasoned politician with “impeccable” intelligence well defined for a role as a political strategist. I think his war cry of BN politicians crossover is a strategy to make them condemn such acts as I think Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over (or bought over)than the other way round. And Anwar had a job well done as all of us can see how BN had shot themselves at their feet because they are condemning what they should be rightly be condemned of, as they are the main culprits of such despicable acts. And now they are made to be frightened of their own ghosts.
    If I read Anwar rightly, he must be acting like Colin Powell who deceived Sadamn Hussein by continuously telling that he is attacking from the east but on that fateful day attacked from the west and drove the Iraqis out of Kuwait without much resistance.
    I am not trying to exaggerate his intelligence but this is my opinion, but certainly I can be wrong as many will not agree with me. But I still think that Anwar is a very much more intelligent politician than our Pak Lah Lah.

66. #66 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:11 am

Anwar is his own worst enemy. On the issue of credibility, the jury is still out.

67. #67 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:35 am

“I think his war cry of BN politicians crossover is a strategy to make them condemn such acts as I think Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over (or bought over)than the other way round. “ – pwcheng

Then it is a bad strategy that guarantees back firing.

If one is afraid of one’s own MPS crossing over, one does not resort to war cry (publicizing BN MPs cross over) that will only make the other side takes the gloves off and retaliate faster to do against one self the very thing that one proposes to do to the other by the war cry.

Secondly, if Anwar is more afraid of his MPS crossing over, then surely he surely has a very poor and dim view of he integrity of this own Opposition MPs (as far as PKR’s MPs go) that he himself, as defacto head had a part in choosing and fielding as candidates.

Thirdly by such a ‘war cry’ he is only delivering on a silver plate to the opposing side (the BN) the golden opportunity to seize the moral initiative to look good and smell sweet! Already BN’s minister Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim told reporters this a t a press conference at his residence:

“We cannot allow people who contested on a particular party’s ticket, make all kinds of promises to convince the people and after winning, they switched over to another party. To me, these people have no integrity and I hope the government will formulate a special law. It’s high time that we have the ‘Anti-Hopping Law’ to stop such acts” He said although switching political party was not against the federal constitution, it had negative impact on the country’s administration. Zaid said he would propose that the matter be discussed at the Cabinet, adding that such a law had already been adopted in several countries including India.
    He believed the formulation of the proposed law would be supported by the opposition too. “The proposed law will benefit all parties. It’s an issue that is good for national stability, that respects the aspiration of the people, why won’t the opposition support it?” he said.

“I’m making the proposal to help overcome the crisis in the era of the new democracy in the country so that it will be more orderly.,” – source NST 22/03/2008.

I will be the last person not to acknowledge his ‘intelligence’ and political strategic capabilities : the Opposition’s ‘victory’ in 2008 GE is in many ways attributable to him, starting with LingamGate, his unseen hand behind some ‘reformasi’ street demonstrations, acting as intermediary between PAS & DAP all built on the political capital of being persecuted by TDM. However his overarching ambition for power may have overtaken his political strategic capabilities.

However one must remember intelligence and capability is one thing, character is another, and no leader can be great unless he also possesses the latter!

Today everything has been positioned for him to lead the BR coalition to complete victory in the next GE and become PM. (The position of Opposition Head has even been conceded to Wan Azizah to pave way for him after April).

Although everyone has ambition to reach the top of power, the critical question is always to procure the power for what purpose : is it for narrow self interest or to be able to wield power to effect change of people’s lives for the better.

The expectation is that he will lead the new order of politics for Malaysians yearning for better democratic governance after 50 years of lack and want thereof under BN.

If out of pure ambition and nothing more he is rushing to take over the helm by resorting to the same tactics of BN decried, then this is not a good sign of things to come, he would disappoint many and BN will have the opportunity to reverse its losing streak and recapture the support lost in 2008 GE. He would have squandered the historic opportunity to be the leader that makes the difference. At best the place in history books will be a come back kid (after fall from grace due to TDM’s machination) to emerge triumphant as another TDM’s clone.

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:39 am

sorry – “delivering on a silver PLATTER to the opposing side “

69. #69 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:53 am

MPs who stood on a party ticket and won should be made to resign and vacate their seats and then stand as independents if they so wish. But crossing the floor of Parliament so to speak without vacating their seats betrays the support of constituents who voted them into power and makes a mockery of democracy.

70. #70 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 6:40 am

That is exactly the point. Our Nik Aziz and Hadi of PAS endorse DSAI’s invitation of BN cross overs if it were due to “sincerity” and not financial inducement. But where is the sincerity shown in such cases?

This is traditional post-election horse trading not uncommon in East Malaysian political landscape.

To prevent ‘kataks’ from leap frogging over to Mahathir’s BN, it had gotten so bad that Joseph Pairin, at one time in the 90s Sabah state election, had to lock up his state legislators and take away their hand phones till he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Sabah!

“It is now time for Malaysia to tread the path towards a new future, armed with a New Hope, great and bright in its promise of glory” said Anwar on eve before the election that heralded the new dawn of Malaysian politics.

However we are entitled to question what new dawn is this when, as the first streak of light approaches, we are awakened to a political landscape – and soundscape –dominated by croaks of frogs hopping about instead of the strong crow for democratic fair practices?

Crossovers are ok if one believes in the “ end justifies the means” approach, and the “end” here is to accelerate the end of BN whose very existence is so disapproved that even practices that are an antithesis to democratic practices are deemed acceptable if not welcomed!

Anwar has been endorsed by both YB Lim Kit Siang and PAS president Hadi Awang to lead the charge against the BN’s fortress that had exposed a huge chink in last election.

I can understand PAS president Hadi Awang’s acquiescence with Anwar’s receptivity to cross over. After all PAS is carrying out the Almighty’s mission, and the sooner the better!

But what about YB Kit & DAP????

71. #71 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 6:59 am

This poses the fundamental question to DAP: do you still stand by democratic principles opposed to katak cross overs??? PAS has made its stand: its ok if they crossed over due to “sincerity”.

What about the DAP?? Your silence is liken someone retreating deeper and deeper into the labyrinth of a cave not wanting to respond to voices calling for you from the outside for a stand.

Silence may not be consent but it certainly may pass off as acquiescence!

This has profound implication on your proposing to work in collaboration with PKR and PAS in the formal coalition of Barisan Rakyat.

Your ‘partners’ have shown signs that they are in a hurry – never minds the means -to accelerate the attainment of the end of dislodging BN and assuming political power, one perhaps for the prize of Prime Minister’s position, the other for the earlier fulfillment of God’s mission and goal to establish His state.

What about the DAP? The silence on this major public issue of crossover is deafening!

72. #72 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:10 am

In short as far as undemocratic practices go within thisbt, will the DAP be an opposition within the Opposition – or in re the MCA altion to

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:12 am

As far as undemocratic practices go, will the DAP be an opposition within the Opposition – or deferent to PAS/PKR like MCA to UMNO?

74. #74 by Godfather on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:44 am

Kit is probably still in the process of getting a consensus internally on this matter, particularly as the subject of cross-overs has been a one-way street for DAP in the past, and this is the first time that it could go the way of the federal Opposition.

75. #75 by hopman on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:21 am

Dear Kit Siang,

The Malaysian Citizens voted of change in the 12th GE 2008. The opposition has done well by capturing 5 states and denying BN 2/3 majority. Change denotes the transition that occurs between one state to another. When the rakyat want “change” its means we are tired with what happens in the past 50 years. We want new leaders to emerge from the Malaysian Political scene. Now we have seen Lim Guan Eng emerging as a capable leader to lead Penang. The “old” guard like Tun Mahathir, Anwar Ibrahim and the rest of the old UMNO guards should step aside so that new faces should emerge to lead Malaysia. Malaysian is going to through a transition period right now. The old guards… please be there to provide your guidance to the new Malaysian leaders. Please do not be greedy to take opportunity to become the next Malaysian PM. Your time is over please give the younger Malaysian a chance to lead Malaysia.

76. #76 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:25 am

Correction on my earlier statement “our Nik Aziz and Hadi of PAS endorse DSAI’s invitation of BN cross overs”. There are now two contradictory positions.

In Sunday Star March 23rd, Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz reportedly “threw his support” behind Datuk Zaid Ibrahim’s proposal (to promulgate the law against “party hopping”) saying that “PAS also had to deal with defection threats”….whilst PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang is still on record for stating yesterday that “PAS welcomes Barisan Nasional MPs if they want to cross over to join the alternative front but they should do it out of sincerity and not because they are enticed with money or forced” (The Star March 22). As I said earlier BN is coming out of this issue smelling sweet with Zaid saying that enacting a law banning “party hopping would be among the first actions that he would initiate…” Zaid also said, “The Federal Government must make an open apology to those victimized by the judicial crisis in 1988 that led to the sacking of then Lord President Tun Mohd Salleh Abbas ….We should seek forgiveness in the eyes of the world, the judiciary system”. This was the first goal. The second, “to strengthen judicial independence and delivery of justice by revamping the appointment and promotion process of the country’s judges and magistrates”. And the third goal of his, “to strengthen the judiciary with the help and cooperation from all stakeholders such as the judges, the Attorney General, the Bar Council and law enforcers such as the police” – page 6 The Star (Nation) of 23rd March 2008.

77. #77 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

These are good initiatives by Zaid and will do much to address the problems in the Judiciary. Hopefully there will be definitive steps taken with the conclusion of the Lingam tapes RCI.

Those judges who were sacked should also be reinstated if they are of good health and willing to serve for the lost years. After all the laws now allow people to continue to serve the nation.

Anti-hopping laws will be good for political stability.

78. #78 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:26 pm

In the 1980s there was ‘Frogger’ – it was violent and brutal. While crossing roads frogs get run over by cars and while crossing river frogs get eaten by buayas. It was only a PC game though, but how apt!
    It would not be good for MPs to be chickens either because when they want to cross the road, everyone would start asking ‘why did the chicken cross the road?’.

79. #79 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:22 pm

WHAT BN IS DOING NOW IN TERENGGANU IS AMOUNT TO DISRECPECT NOT JUST TO THE SULTAN BUT THE AGUNG OF MALAYSIA! BN POWER MONGERS REALLY ‘BOLEH’.

80. #80 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:44 pm

Now what happened in Trengganu,
    Only UMNO can no ‘ikut perentah’ Sultan of Trengganu (who is also present Agung!).
    What is wrong with that Ahmad that the Sultan choose?
    Why UMNO objected so much? What reason?

81. #81 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:14 pm

Please don’t look at Zaid’s proposed anti hopping law as something principled intending to get rid of unethical behaviour among elected representatives. I think for the first time, UMNO and BN are seeing the prospect of hopping away from their parties and hence Zaid’s first act to propose the anti hopping law upon assuming the minister post.

If there is no enticement/inducement involved, elected representatives should be allowed to change party affiliation. Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.

82. #82 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:14 pm

Implosion within UMNO, self destruct in 5 days………

83. #83 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 2:16 pm

Scenario in Terengganu, new state election, PAS takes over……

84. #84 by dimplerid22 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 5:14 pm

There are too many factors involved with too many questions that only time can answer.
    It is true that many Malaysians voted for change not expecting the results achieved by the BR.
    I think that the BR finally has an opportunity to stop the rot in Malaysia should it be able to form the federal gov.

As far as BN MPs crossing to the BR I think many of us would agree that the UMNO CAN THROW MORE MONEY TO THEM THAN THE BR COULD POSSIBLY AFFORD!!!
    Remember that defectors in previous elections stood to join a more powerful coalition ie BN.This is currently not the case with the BR.

Many MPs in Sabah/Sarawak are said to be loyalists to their party and constituecy more than they are to the BN.With UMNO showing no signs of improvement and the continual arrogance shown especially by their youths, I am sure many of the Sabah/Sarawak BN component party members are thinking of teaching UMNO a lesson.

I say that we should accept those who make the jump so that the BR may be able to make a positive change for the future of all Malaysians.

If we delayed until the next general election,fraud on a scale never seen before will most likely be perpetrated.

Let the show begin!

85. #85 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 7:58 pm

limkamput says
    “If there is no enticement/inducement involved, elected representatives should be allowed to change party affiliation. Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.”

MPs are MPs because it is the people who voted them in. It would be a gross mis-interpretation and mis-representation of the electorates’ wishes to assume that they (the MPs) can change party based on just their whims and fancies. If they want to change party, they must resign from the party and quit the seat then re-contest under the new party. Let the people decide. Remember, who is the ‘boss’.
    Strong leg muscles the kataks may have, but in culinary inclined society like ours these kataks might serve a better purpose on a plate rather than on a seat.

86. #86 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 8:48 pm

“Situations change, political parties rise and wane, so what is wrong with elected representatives changing affiliation to bring quick end to the old and quicken the embrace of the new.” limkamput

What is wrong? This is why it is wrong.

You get nominated by your Party to stand for elections in your constituency based on party principles and values and the party’s belief that you are the best they got among nominees in terms of your ability, past contribution to the party. Constituents may not know you that well but they vote for you based on what the party stands for and their trust and confidence in their party in nominating the best to represent them in Parliament or SLA as the case mayt be.

87. #87 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

…after having won the elections, you then undergo ‘a change of heart’ let’s just say. You went across to the other party.

What is wrong?? What is wrong is you betrayed your constituents who supported you and elected you not you personally but the Party you stood for.

You can of course change your political and party affiliations and are free to do so. But not by betraying your constituents and the party that nominates you. Where would you be without the support of your constituents and your party.

There is no point in criticizing for the sake of criticizing because it does not get anywhere near where we are going. Anti-hoping law is what this country needs. It does not matter who proposes it.

88. #88 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:08 pm

HAving said that an MP or State Assemblyman or woman once having taken their seats in the national or state legislature, who disagrees with any bill being proposed should be free to vote against it. They should be free to voice their disagreement and should vote according to what they believe is good for the people.

They should not be disciplined by their party for voting against a bill their party moves.

Based on your voting history and your views as expressed in Parliament and SLA, your party may not nominate you come next general elections – or they may. Or you may choose to serve your constituents as an independent.

89. #89 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:36 pm

The right thing to do is to vacate your seat and have your constituents decide during by-elections which must be held. What you should not do is to betray them!

Isn’t that what democracy is all about? The candidate who has the most votes get to represent them??

90. #90 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 9:50 pm

Interestingly Zaid said that he believed the formulation of the proposed anti hopping law would be supported by the opposition too!

Now why would he say that and bother about the Opposition?

The reason I think is that the BN needs to change the Federal Constitution because it is an amendment of Constitution requiring two thirds majority that BN now does not have. This is because of the 1992 case of Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan v Nordin Salleh.

In that case, Pas wanted to take legal action against Nordin who had joined Umno. Pas had earlier passed a law that forbade their members from joining other parties. However, the law was considered null and void vis-à-vis the article in the Constitution upholding “Freedom of Association” and struck out on grounds that it was unconstitutional.

So what goes around, comes around, and if UMNO wants to qualify Freedom of Association to stop party hopping that it didn’t want stopped in 1992 – because then ‘katak’ was hopping to BN rather than now from BN to (say) PKR, it cannot command the 2/3 majority to qualify that article!

What this means is that if DSAI wants to play dirty and influences all Opposition MPs in parliament to vote against Zaid’s anti hopping bill, that entails constitutional amendment of Freedom of Association requiring 2/3 majority to pass, the anti hopping bill cannot pass…….Which also means DSAI has free rein, if he has the influence, to entice at will the BN’s ‘kataks’ to cross over.

Of course both can play the game, and it’s the question of who could throw more enticements, whether positions or money.

Now is the time many newly elected representatives lacking scruples can take advantage due to the narrowness – about 30 seats – making a difference whether it is BN or BR that form the majority in parliament for government!

Either way, government whether by BN or BR is not stable, threatened by spectre of cross over.

91. #91 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

Hypothetical problem – (say for example only), Sarawak United People’s Party (Supp) has called on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to consider Serian MP Richard Riot Jaem to fill one of the several federal cabinet vacancies. Assuming that wish is not gratified. As a result Richard Riot Jaem and all the SUPP MPs who won on SUPP/BN ticket defect to join BR which then has majority to form government and give SUPP’s rep a cabinet position as promised in consideration of mass defection.

Kataks will then say that they did not betray the party SUPP because the entire SUPP party defects from BN. On the argument that they betray the constituency that voted them in the BN’s ticket, again Kataks would argue that they were voted upon expectations that BN leadership would appoint their elected representative to cabinet position and if these expectations of their constituency were not fulfilled, then their constituency would be more than happy to support their en masse defection from BN to BR if by so doing, BR could, in being able to form a government thanks to the defection, reciprocate by fulfilling their constituency/voters’ aspirations for cabinet representation at federal level. So there’s no betrayal of their constituency by party hopping, the “kataks” would say : staying on in BN unrepresented at federal level is betrayal!

You can say Devil will cite scripture for His own cause but that’s how the justification for crossovers will be put forth…..

92. #92 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:45 pm

Precisely, Jeffrey, kong beh liow, not simple right. But I still feel that BN does not have good a motive to propose the anti hopping law now. Let them sweat a bit, is ok.

93. #93 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 10:56 pm

Undergrad2, you should be the Supreme Court judge or the attorney general. You are too good enough even to be an ethical politician.

94. #94 by katdog on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:06 pm

Tough choice. Support crossovers and have the chance to form the federal government. Or oppose it because crossovers are unprincipled and ‘dirty’.

As BN has now found out, the phenomena of crossovers is a double edged sword, It can bite you back.

My opinion is, we should not ban crossing over. But instead, if any elected representative should decide to cross over, a by election should be held. This way the voters have a chance to express their opinion whether the ‘katak’ is crossing over for his constituents benefits or for his own personal gain.

95. #95 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:06 pm

aiD_kamikuP,
    I am aware of the all arguments against hopping. I am just fed up with the proposed anti hopping law (now being considered) because I smell fish. For the last fifty years when the situation favoured BN and when they have 2/3 majority to do it, they sit pretty and let opposition parties suffered. Just off hand I could remember of Richard Ho and Yap Pian Hon (both from DAP) hopped to BN. So now is pay back time plus interest charges.

96. #96 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

We should let the MPs and ADUNs hop now capitalising on the momentum to complete the change. In a few years, the situation may be completely different again. This is provided there is no enticement or inducement.

97. #97 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:45 pm

To: Jeffrey QC

What of the freedom of speech of the constituents who voted you in only to see you betray them??!

98. #98 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:07 am

I suppose ‘betrayal’ depends on expectations of the constituents. They will be ‘betrayed’ if, for example, they voted a candidate from DAP to speak for them in parliament who crosses over to (say) MCA and is silenced. But if constituents expect their representative to be appointed to federal cabinet position that they think can help bring development under his ministerial portfolio to their constituency and that expectation is easier fulfilled and quicker realized by their representative crossing over to the other camp to help it form government on quid pro quo promises of ministerial position, otherwise denied under the original ticket????

99. #99 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:19 am

The trouble with BN is that its candidates are voted for bringing material devlopment rather than freedom of speech or other freedoms. East Malaysian contituencies are more likely looking at material devlopment and benefits – which they may think is facilitated by having their representatives in cabinet – and which camp serves this cause more than just strict allegiance to ideology of BN vs BR….(That is why overall they supported BN on 8th March as compared to West Malaysians’ protest votes on ideological grounds against the BN). After BR’s astounding ‘victory’ and perched on verge of taking over government with 30 crossovers, they may think why not leverage on that to bargain for federal cabinet representation in new govt that they help form by cross overs?? Of course they are not thinking of high principles but what serves their parochial interests.

100. #100 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:22 am

“material development”

101. #101 by katdog on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:28 am

Easy solution: Have by elections if you crossover. Let the people decide if they support the candidate crossing over or they want to continue supporting another candidate from BN.

102. #102 by undergrad2 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:58 am

Jeffrey,

If the case you referred to was won on the basis of the constitutional freedom of association, what of the freedom of speech of the constituents who voted you in to represent them (at any level – be it as an MP or a Minister)? You having received your mandate and then subsequently crossing over to another party betrays the interest of your constituents who have used the ballot box to speak their minds for them.

Is it not an abuse of the political process??

103. #103 by undergrad2 on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 1:04 am

It involves the balancing of two types of freedom i.e. the freedom of association and the freedom of speech. Because it is also an abuse of the political process, and because of the representative capacity of the MP or State Assemblyman, the constituents should not have their freedom of speech denied.

104. #104 by HB Lim on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 2:18 am

Different people vote for a particular party for different reasons.

We are assuming that the SUPP supporters vote for expediency or development support and not on high principles and hence it would not amount to betrayal of their mandate if the same expediency or development support can be given by the party their chosen representative later hopped to but that whole argument is based on and hangs precariously on the assumption that the voters are more practical-minded than principle-guided.

For all we know, they may be endorsing the BN’s form or model of power sharing and that is voting based on principles and not on some narrow expediency.

I still think that to have a legitimacy which cannot be questioned, the BR should encourage the MP intending to abandon the BN to quit the BN as well as the seat and participate in a by-election.

But politics being politics, it would be understandable that at times principle must be sacrificed at the altar of expediency. But at this time when the whole thrust of BR’s strategy to defeat the BN is the denunciation of the latter’s corruption, trickery, fraud and immorality, it would be high hypocrisy on the part of the former to engage in such expediency bordering on ‘fraud’. The legitimacy just gained by the BR would very quickly dissipate in the eyes of the People and the accusation that the BR is as power-hungry would be validated.

Negative perceptions once formed are hard to erase. The back-door strategy to gain power would backfire. Many more hypocritical decisions and actions would become necessary to stay in power obtained in questionable ways; you get caught in the vicious cycle.

While the BN can be mired in hypocrisy and yet manage to cling on to power for decades, with the advent of knowledge and communication technology, the BR practising the same kind of hypocrisy may not not have that kind of luxury and may not even survive the next general election.

105. #105 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 7:04 am

Gentlemen,

At level of principles, I guess it will be hard to defend party hopping and cross overs. Undergrad’s hypothetical poser of which is more important – constituents’ rights to freedom of speech or the candidate’s right to freedom of association – is a difficult question for which I do not know any local court has been asked to balance and adjudicate upon. Even PAS’s. Kelantan MB Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat supported Zaid’s move, if you believe MSM (NST)’s report – “I agree,” said Nik Aziz, “elected representatives should not disappoint the people who had voted for them. Party-hopping is not the work of politicians but those who makan upah (accept money).” Interestingly PAS’s spiritual advisor’s opinion not exactly shared by its president Hadi Awang. From principles perspective, it is right to say people intending to cross should quit the BN as well as the seat and participate in a by-election.

It is however another argument if you proceed on realpolitik principles (political expedience as HB Lim terms it) that our Anwar may be taking.

Take for example what Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam said, “Switching camps amounts to a betrayal of the people’s confidence. If they do so, a by-election must be held.”

A lot of Opposition supporters (Lim Kam Put for example) just won’t buy such argument. The Gerakan did not talk on these lines before when BN induced cross overs in the past from the Opposition’s side and hence has now forfeited its claim to high principles of democratic fair play at this juncture when it is vulnerable. What is sauce for goose is sauce for gander, Opposition sympathizers would say.

HB Lim’s point – that just because BN stooped to doing it in the past is no justification for BR holding higher claims to democratic best practices to emulate quid pro quo – will be balanced against what is really on the ground. By that I mean is there really betrayal of constituents in East Malaysia context in real practical terms?
    HB Lim said, “we are assuming that the SUPP supporters vote for expediency or development support and not on high principles…. For all we know, they may be endorsing the BN’s form or model of power sharing and that is voting based on principles and not on some narrow expediency”.
    But is the assumption wide off the mark looking at real situation on the ground??? Do you really believe that looking at their record of crossovers in past??? Well that’s the candidates but talking of constituents, and their rights to freedom of speech, I have been told the BN in past could (esp in less developed parts of Sarawak accessible by river), afford giving them boats or engines, televisions and other material benefits etc to secure votes. I stand corrected if this is wrong.

And even if as HB Lim said, “for all we know, they may be endorsing the BN’s form or model of power sharing” (at the time of polls), do they still endorse that power of sharing representatives elected was appointed to federal cabinet position, as appears to be the main grouse at this moment? As I said, the “kataks’ who may be citing scripture for their own cause, now argue that it is the BN that has post election reneged, betrayed their constituents’ legitimate expectations, and to stay on represents greater betrayal.

What is the DAP’s position on Zaid’s proposed anti party hopping bill? We have yet to hear it.

106. #106 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 7:10 am

Sorry for typo ommision in 2nd para from bottom : it should be “…do they still endorse that power of sharing WHEN NONE of THEIR representives was appointed to federal cabinet position, as appears to be the main grouse at this moment?…”

107. #107 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 8:36 am

“…Lim Kam Put for example just won’t buy such argument.”

Don’t mind limkamput. What do you expect from somebody whose highest level of education is the Kg. Attap type!

108. #108 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:02 am

“As can be seen from these arguments, a key question is whether parties or individuals considered to be the central elements of the political system.

Once again, the answer to this question is complex.”

http://mad-science-party.conferencecallarticles.com/politician-overboard-jumping-the-party-ship-134801

109. #109 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:30 am

Thanks LadyGodiva for the link. Wow it is a thesis, indeed the question is complex. As always it is what considerations weigh more when one juggles between (a) one’s own own self interest,(b) the party’s or coalition’s interest (these may be separate) and (c) consciences and principles in balance.

110. #110 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 12:15 pm

Ladygorilla @ pervert,
    Who care about principles – people talk about it only. Just like all the political parties now talking about being non-racial. But who is not racists. Undergrad2 just taught me a good lesson about racism a couple of nights earlier. Real politics ok, real politics. But of course I don’t expect a pua tang sai educated person like you to understand and to reconcile what is at sake. Sometimes we have to be evil to be good. This is real. As I said earlier, undergrad2 is good to a judge (certainly not a politician), and for you ladygorilla, you should be cleaning all the clogged drains in Penang. Have you seem any change yet in Penang? Or are they still talking about what they want to do? You please make sure they stop talking and start doing.

111. #111 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 1:11 pm

Jeffrey, before election, i was opposition supporter. After election, i support whoever make more sense to me.

112. #112 by lakilompat on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 2:19 pm

To limkamput, change is not easy, the opposition just come into power, the municipal still have alot of bad eggs, lazy eggs, rotten eggs, and hard to find those good eggs that are educated and can fully undestand the benefit of change.

All the Penangites has witnessed the Komtar rally by some foolish wild monkeys of UMNO members. These group of mamak or UMNO members are still reluctant to change as they don’t feel comfortable at all. Therefore, the new opposition government need to work hard to promote those who want change within the municipal, and government servants and try to sack those who fail to understand the benefit of change. Well, Opposition need more soldiers to implement such change, i believe within a year or two nothing much can be implemented. New blood need to be rejuvenated into the already tiring and bad one.

113. #113 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 3:14 pm

The way to stop crossover is collect in advance the undated letter of resignation of the candidate to resign as Member of Parliament, so that the moment he crosses, he is treated as having resigned with his resignation leter dated and given effect thereby forcing a by-election. :)

114. #114 by LadyGodiva on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 5:54 pm

http://www.aph.gov.au/library/pubs/rp/2002-03/03RP04.pdf

JUMPING SHIP

This article is meant for intelligent readers like yourself who reads and thinks for himself. Of course, I strongly advise limkamput not to exert himself mentally. He might feel compelled to look for a sampan, row it to the open sea and then jump!

115. #115 by pohwatchdog on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 10:23 pm

Crossover shouldn’t be accepted coz unprinciple, lying and might stab at you anytime. That is unhealthy politic and not to be encouraged. Well… we are watching DAP-PKR-PAS as government in state level and not good at issue statement. DAP-PKR-PAS is equal to BARISAN NASIONAL. Work to make Malaysia a better place for us. Not enrich themselves

116. #116 by limkamput on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 11:31 pm

Jeffrey says: The way to stop crossover is collect in advance the undated letter of resignation of the candidate to resign as Member of Parliament, so that the moment he crosses, he is treated as having resigned with his resignation leter dated and given effect thereby forcing a by-election.

If I am not mistaken, I thought this too has been rendered invalid before. But I am not sure. May be you should let your wannabe researcher to check it out. After, he can’t think very much, so cut and paste shouldn’t be too taxing for him.

117. #117 by Toyol on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 2:03 pm

Lets face it. BN will never change. The opposition ruled states will over the course of the next years find a bottomless pit of wrong doings and scandals which will make the Harry Potter series look like a Enid Blyton story!!!

lets work together again and the next elections BN will be irrelevant.

118. #118 by citizen86 on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 5:46 pm

We all should unite and first bring about change to the country lets all put aside our differences and make a change , we have a louder voice in parliament now lets work together and develop this country and bring about solutions to the problems faced by ppl then by the 13th general election i hope barisan rakyat overthrow not bn but umno because ultimately umno is in power mca mic ppp n all the other parties are just slaves who are told what and what not to do by the mighty umno gang

119. #119 by boobear on Sunday, 20 April 2008 - 12:22 am

Sometimes we are influenced by what we read… and that was precisely what the MSP (Main stream press) were portraying, post Mar 8, 2008.

But since then, with the “sms-induced” rallies, “big” talks, challenges and counter-challenges, the MSP have wised up and taken the stance on NOT FLAMING the EMBERS of DISCONTENT especially of racial in nature.

Then there’s the matter of BN-controlled Federal Ministers that adopt a “hero”/”heroine” attitude to champion their cause to their political masters and “kuncu-kuncu” by ACTING TOUGH with the PR-controlled states.

ALL THIS EMPHASIZES THE NEED>>> ULTIMATELY OF A TOTAL PRakyat controlled Govt, from Federal to States to really offer a SINCERE effort that is WORKABLE…

Otherwise the “new” opposition will twist and turn what PRakyat comes up with.

120. #120 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 4:06 pm

PR is a silence dragon bidding its time.

121. #121 by danialalan on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 7:16 pm

Whatever it is,the new PR govt must ensure that no one race in this country is being discriminated against all in the name of ‘affirmative action’ !

122. #122 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:18 pm

Anwar and PR are using the strategies of ‘ambush’ and ‘surprise’ to leave BN in ‘shock and awe’. So folks, don’t be surprised if the cross-overs happen very much earlier than 16 Sept. It may even happen in the upcoming Parliamentary session on 23 June!

123. #123 by chiakehleong on Wednesday, 18 June 2008 - 12:01 pm

Tun M gotta be real regret for not hanging him few years back then.

124. #124 by barble on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:37 am

when PKR and DAP coalition government comes into power, i am hoping the first thing they do is swipe clean of all the useless old cabinet ministers, no family MPs such as brothers or father and son or even mother daughter as MPs in the cabinet. because if this happens then the coalition government are no different than the current one and a lot of self interest will take place once again. PKR and DAP must also in sure that POLITICIANS can never be BUSINESSMEN too. if they are politicians stick to politics and if they are businessmen stick to just doing business, not trying to kill 2 birds with 1 stone! this evidently will decrease and subsequently stop graft in this country. secondly, STOP CRIME! the increase in crime in this country is alarmingly high and people don’t feel safe to go out even to pump petrol at night alone. the judiciary system in our country must be changed and allow public people to be more involve like doing jury duties, then there would be fairness in sentencing cases. not judges doing whatever the hell they like and picking within themselves to take cases that brings financial benefits from especially politicians. move back OLD generation of POLITICIANS and give the NEW generation the chance to lead this country into a better future!!!