12 Proposals for a First-World Parliament in Malaysia

In 2004, I had made 12 proposals for parliamentary reform and modernization for Malaysia to have a “First World Parliament” not only in infrastructure, but mindset, culture, practices and performance.

These 12 proposals for First-World Parliament should be adopted as the parliamentary agenda of both the Barisan Nasional and the Opposition in the 12th Parliament when it convenes for its first meeting in May, viz:

- live telecast of parliamentary proceedings;

- daily two-hour question time;

- Prime Minister’s Question Time twice a week;

- Opposition MP heading the Public Accounts Committee (PAC);

- some 30 specialist Parliamentary Select Committees with a Select Committee for every Ministry;

- about ten general Parliamentary Select Committees to produce annual reports on progress, trends and recommendations on national integrity, IT, women’s agenda, environment, mass media, corruption, etc;

- allocation of certain days a week specifically to deal with Opposition business;
research and constituency staffing for MPs;

- an Opposition Deputy Speaker;

- modernization and democratization of Standing Orders;

- code of ethics for all MPs;

- Ministers’ Parliamentary code of conduct.

The political tsunami of March 8, 2008 general election is an unmistakable mandate and demand for far-reaching changes in Malaysia after 50 years of nation-building, including the creation of a vibrant, vigorous and truly representative First-World Parliament.

At the meeting of PKR, PAS and DAP leaders in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday night, I had proposed that PKR President Datin Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail be the Parliamentary Opposition Leader of the new Parliament until Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim regains his full civil liberties and is re-elected to Parliament, and the proposal was agreed by the leaders of the three parties.

DAP MPs and I will give full support to Azizah and the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz who is now fully responsible for parliamentary affairs, to turn the Malaysian Parliament into a First-World Parliament – as it is better to be late than never.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 11:50 am

Can you throw in a no-confidence vote in the parliament, especially since many BN men and women are not attending it? I mean you can have the majority in throwing out the government. also, you never know how these BN people will react when they have to vote.

2. #2 by melurian on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 11:57 am

you missed one, no cow or goat slaughtering at the yard ….

3. #3 by Justicewanted on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

Uncle Lim, we will be very very happy if the sleeping beauty @ Bohongwi adopts 50% of the 12 points.

4. #4 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 12:27 pm

YB Lim,

It is almost unthinkable that the Malaysian Parliament, set in the Westminster tradition, should continue without:

- daily two-hour question time;
    - Prime Minister’s Question Time twice a week;
    - Opposition lead Public Accounts Committee (PAC);
    - an Opposition Deputy Speaker;
    - code of ethics for all MPs;
    - Ministers’ Parliamentary code of conduct.

It is hoped that with a significant presence of Opposition MPs in the 12th Parliament, more pressure can be put on the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz to consider these proposals be adopted as a priority to others.

We support Datin Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the Parliamentary Opposition Leader and you as an experienced and senior MP to lead the pursuit and bring to fruition these proposals so as to bring about a more meaningful Parliament unlike previous ones being mere rubber-stamp of BN/UMNO willy-nilly fantasies.

5. #5 by harrisonbinhansome on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 12:46 pm

:) AGREE! It’s long due.

6. #6 by Old.observer on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 12:54 pm

Dear YB Lim,

I may not be an MP, but what you propose – the 12 proposals – looks very reasonable and very logical to me.

It is obvious to me that anyone – who has our Country’s Best Interest at heart – will not just readily, but quickly and promptly adopt ALL of your proposal.

To clarify, exactly which part of your 12 proposals is unreasonable?

For Abdullah to completely ignore your 12 proposals clearly shows to me that he is just not interested in having a First World Parliament.

Anyway, I keep an open mind. Perhaps someone likes to explain to me why any one of the 12 proposals should NOT be adopted. I am listening.

Thanks YB Lim.

Old observer.

7. #7 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 1:00 pm

Kit, perhaps it has sunk in yet, but the DAP is now governing Penang. Whatever you do or say, do remember that you are no long the “opposition”.

Start what you want the BN to do and doing it in Penang for the rest of Malaysia to see. If you can govern Penang well, everything else will fall into place.

8. #8 by DAPPKR on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 1:24 pm

Well said TheWrathOfGrapes!

And Mr Lim this is exactly a good step moving forward.

Maneuver Penang for greater success.

9. #9 by vehir on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 1:48 pm

Tengku Razaleigh has said in his interview that BN government and UMNO is in serious trouble. Everyone must listen. He has really commented on the UMNO performance and to reshape the struggle facing the UMNO presently.

Please view his interview PT1, PT2 and PT3 at
    http://kickdefella.wordpress.com

10. #10 by penang308 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 1:50 pm

It is very obvious, the BN MP has “NO INTEREST IN PARLIMET PROCEEDING”. THEY ARE MORE INTERSTED IN THE MONEY, CONTRACT AND KICKBACK THAT THEY CAN GET FOR BEING AN MP!

11. #11 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:11 pm

I think it’s timely for BN government to accept your 12 proposals as there is a possibility for BN to be in the opposition’s desk. If they don’t agree now risks include the BN itself could be deprived of this crucial position one day when they need most.

On a serious note it is time for both BN and BA to compete in their performances in nation building..

12. #12 by yeawho on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:11 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

Congratulation on your party massive win in the last GE.I have some suggestions for Barisan Rakyat or some people still called it Barisan Alternative.

Since we have won 5 states in the West Malaysia and if you look at the Malaysian map,all the states north of Selangor are controlled by BR namely Perak,Penang,Kedah and Kelantan except Perlis.We have economic of scale and we should leverage on the above states and urban electorate who are mostly BR supporters.

First why not have a common daily newspaper for the 5 states which the mainstream papers will not report.Maybe just name it Berita Rakyat or People Paper.Then all our news can be properly channel to our supporters instead of the bias reporting from their papers.

Secondly,can we have our own state run radio or TV station to run our news.Can it be done without the Federal government approval?

Finally I hope that all the 3 parties DAP,PKR and PAS should prepare to contest under one common front and logo in the next GE like what BN have done and learn the lesson in East Malaysia to avoid 3 corners fight.

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:20 pm

14. #14 by P.O.T.S on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:23 pm

Sound and reasonable suggestions, which is exactly why UMNO/BN will never adopt such proposals.

DAP/PKR/PAS must figure out a way to get their messages across to people who do not have internet, do not read blogs, do not have access to alternative news.

15. #15 by alancheah on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:24 pm

Let us see how many Ministers and Deputy Ministers will often attend the parlimentary meeting in the coming future!

16. #16 by pky103 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:25 pm

- With regards to the 12 proposals for a world-class parliament, I am shocked that we have been doing away without these key features of greater impartiality, accountability and transparency for the last 50 years!

- There is not a better time than now for these proposals to be implemented in light of BN’s historic thrashing, as the silent majority have spoken.

17. #17 by pky103 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:29 pm

- IN fact, I am greatly in favour of the first three proposals: live telecast of parliamentary proceedings; daily two-hour question time; and Prime Minister’s Question Time twice a week.

- Not only does it promote transparency, it also allows the Rakyat to see who is good and who should get the BOOT in Parliament.

18. #18 by APKINGS on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:51 pm

YB, SAYA SOKONG!

19. #19 by APKINGS on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:52 pm

If you need support on this matter, by Letter or Signatures from RAKYAT on Website please do so. 110% SUPPORT!

20. #20 by ganos on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:00 pm

YB Lim..a great idea. But why not u show the world with Penang DUN first. Maybe they will follow then. Hoping the Penang DUN will do it. Ingat we are kerajaan juga, and not an opposition in Penang.
    “ADIL TELUS BERSIH AMANAH DAN KEPIMPINAN MELALUI TELADAN” HARUS DITUNJUKKAN DULU.
    TQ for listening.

21. #21 by Tim Sng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:15 pm

Sdr Lim Senior
    [Saudara, because of your long standing advocacy of a Malaysian Malaysia]

Any proposal for a better, and more transparent parliamentary process is welcomed.

A serious study and review of the Constitutions is necessary.

Some time ago, you wrote in sympathy of the poor doctor who was jailed 3 months for not registering his clinic. This law…the Private Health Facilities Services act is an example of unfair/heavy penalty, that was meant for unqualified doctors, but applied on a locally trained MD>

It is about time, Parliamentarians take responsibility of their position and role to ensure the country is under a fair, just and practical Constitution.

Some of the key points should be:

1. Just Laws with fair sentences, while deterrent sentences are given for serious crimes.
    2. Protection of the rights of Malays, Chinese, Indians, Ibans, Orang Aslis…ie…..all citizens, while safeguarding the Bumiputras [for me, it is important that this is emphasised to assure Bumiputras are protected, feel protected and will be protected.]
    3. Free tertiary education for all Malaysians citizens with good grades. [This would be fantastic.]
    4. Upholding again the freedom of religion and freedom of speech and movement, with the provision that it is not offensive to others. [needs to be qualified.]

This victory of PKR,PAS, DAP should be a sign of a new tomorrow for Malaysia. As I said before, if BN revamps itself effectively and sincerely, it can come back with a Big Sweep in 4-5 years, a knock-out punch.

But. the rate it is going again, with MMT and TAd on board, a more serious tragedy may follow next exlections.

Ku Li? Welcome to the front! And where is Tun Musa? Will he not stand for the next by-elections? And of course, Saudara Anwar, if he embraces a Malaysian Malaysia will be the one to watch.

Does our former PM has an influence? He did in some ways, swing the mood towards realistic voting!

Where now Pak Lah? Where now Kit Siang? [Where now Tok Guru? [and where now DSAI, if you come on after April.]

The destiny of beautiful Malaysia is in your hands! If you put Malaysia first – even before self or party, you will do well, next time round. If you major in the `old’ and ‘unhealthy’ politicking, you may fail the next time round.

Malaysia, we pray , will always survive selfishness, and people who have self-ambition and motives apart from one for progress and harmony for this beautiful Land.

22. #22 by Ghost on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:22 pm

This should be implemented since the dawn of our independence, its for truthful and sincere government solely to construct a better tomorrow striving all obstecles alongside its peoples side by side. Our current M’sia’s system is build on separation and superiority, maintaining their conventionals beliefs, and dismissing the freedom of speech.
    Having open parlimentary meetings, allowing public participations is the way to democratic, the way to equality. Is the way our government promised since 50yrs ago, still today its unachievable, is it?

23. #23 by Ghost on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:24 pm

A partial turth is more untrue than a total untruth, because a partial truth gives us the feeling of being true.

24. #24 by vehir on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:28 pm

Latest from Malaysiakini.com

Adun PAS sertai j/kuasa exco Perlis

Dalam satu langkah yang dianggap memecah tradisi kerajaan negeri BN, wakil rakyat tunggal PAS di Perlis akan dilantik menganggotai salah sebuah jawatankuasa exco kerajaan negeri.

Menteri Besar Perlis yang baru, Datuk Dr Md Isa Sabu berkata beliau telah mengundang Ahli Dewan Undangan Negeri (Adun) PAS kawasan Simpang Empat, Rus’seli Eizan, untuk menyertai portfolio tertentu sebagai anggota jawatankuasa.

Sementara itu, Rus’seli berkata beliau sedia untuk memberi pandangan kepada kerajaan melalui portfolio yang ditawarkan kepadanya kelak demi kepentingan negeri dan rakyat.

25. #25 by vehir on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:32 pm

Latest from NST

Ku Li calls for special Meeting on APRIL 4 to discuss UMNO’s future

GUA Musang Umno division chief and Gua Musang MP Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has called for a special meeting on April 4 to discuss Umno’s future and the survival of the Malay politics. The decision was made at the Gua Musnag Umno division meeting today.

26. #26 by vehir on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

WHO IS GOING TO WIN

If Ku Li is calling for special meeting on April 4th, and if DSAI is not going to get the BN MP’s to crossover before this date to form the Barisan Rakyat government, then it will reflect that BN government will stay in office until the next election.

Ku Li earlier called for UMNO EGM on 11th May. But now he has changed his idea to have it on April 4th. In his interviews he has mentioned UMNO is in serious trouble.

27. #27 by Tickler on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:39 pm

After appointing another lacklustre Cabinet [delete] said this:

“He said the issues that would be closely looked into”. And this “We need to understand them.” What an Idiot. After four years he still wants to waste time closely looking and understanding things. Sampai ke tua pun it still has not got into his skull yet.

[deleted] has appointed Muhyuddin Yassin as Minister of MITI. Muhyuddin speaks the best Malay in South East Asia but he no speaka de inglish maa. So how he going to speaka de inglish wif de foreign invester maa? Talk kok oso cannot one.

[deleted] has appointed Khaled Noordin as the Minister of Higher Education. Khaled is a Khairy crony and is better suited to replace Azeez Mat Rempit, who lost in Baling, as the new leader of the Mat Rempits. These are all punks.

[deleted] has also appointed ‘I no speake de inglish’ Muhammad son of Muhammad as Minister to take back Selangor from PKR. Few people know this but new appointee Amirsham Abdul Aziz is also enemy No.. 1 of the new Selangor Menteri Besar. As head of Maybank, Amirsham Aziz used to report to Tan Sri Khalid when Khalid was boss of Permodalan Nasional Berhad.. There is some bad blood between them.
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/4702/1/

28. #28 by wag-the-dog on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:48 pm

Guys can anyone tell me how to register in Malaysia Today so I can comment.

29. #29 by max2811 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 3:49 pm

UMNO demonstrated against DAP and were racist and intimidating in their demands and comments recently. This only shows that UMNO is dead against Chinese in Msia. It has never been their intention to accept Chinese as citizens. It was willing to bring in millions of Indons and Filipino muslims to offset the number of non-malays, Indians and Chinese. Sabah is a good example.

How dangerous can they be? I hope the Police can act fairly in such situations. They always threaten when they cannot accept or explain any difficult situation. Many of their members have been mislead and misinformed. Many will fight for their cause. Even an old man can talk nonsense emotionally on tv claiming their ‘special rights’.

30. #30 by dawsheng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:00 pm

Uncle Kit, with the numbers of opposition MPs increased in three folds, I think Abdullah’s MPs dare not to attennd parliament meeting. So, you can forget about your proposals.

31. #31 by Tickler on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:04 pm

RE: UMNO demonstrated against DAP and were racist and intimidating in their demands and comments recently.

Malay Warriors Scared Of Rains
    http://no2umno.blogspot.com/2008/03/malay-warriors-scared-of-rains.html

32. #32 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:05 pm

“I will give full support to Azizah and Nazri Aziz, who is now fully responsible for parliamentary affairs, to turn the Malaysian Parliament into a First-World Parliament.”

Wah, I almost fell off from my chair when I read the above statement. Nazri to turn the Malaysian Parliament into a First-World Parliament! Ai-say, really ahh? Is the sun rising from the West? Can’t wait to see Nazri back in the parliament. Trick or treat?

33. #33 by Tickler on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:07 pm

34. #34 by dawsheng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:18 pm

As long as Abdullah remains as the Prime Minister with the current cabinet line up, there will be no meaningful exchanges in the parliament as there will be no work done. As such, every Malaysians can take Abdullah, his cabinet and MPs for granted, as a parliament is not a parliament with Abdullah, his cabinet and MPs. I don’t know why are we wasting so much times considering whether they will ever change?

35. #35 by dawsheng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:29 pm

We have got bigger problems too if the opposition took over the government, one will have to think seriously if the new opposition will ever work as hard as the current opposition. There’s no problem if the new opposition take your 12 proposals and throw it back to the new government since as the current opposition, you are committed to practice it, but will the new opposition bother? I don’t think so. Can you imagine if the new opposition still practices its conducts like when it was the government?

36. #36 by dawsheng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:36 pm

BN is not only facing leadership crisis, it is facing a brain drain crisis too.

37. #37 by AHILA on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:36 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,
    Great to see the proposals. Rakyat will be overjoyed even if 50% passes through.
    PLus..why dont every now and then the residents of parliment be it BN or BR..have an open debate/dailogue/forum with bloggers/public. This is help to know if the MPs or Ministers are ‘on the path’ or ‘paving a different route to hell’. And public can relate our likes or dislikes of certain proposals of the P house directly.

A truth speaking MEDIA should be owned by BR. My husband and I sms DS Anwar on this matter.He replied..thanks for your opinion.Please dont let it stay as an opinion for the Rakyat must know the truth that takes place in our wonderful country. All the BEst Uncle LKS, Uncle Anwar and PakCik Nik !!! Lots of love from rakyat for change !!

38. #38 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:49 pm

I think the current stalemate between BN and BR is the best solution for peace in Malaysia.

If the BR had won there would have been chaos with possibly the declaration of emergency rule.
    This transition allows the BR to gain good experience in leading 5 states while the BN needs to reform itself.

Come the next election, the playing field will be more level as the BN cannot make use of government facilities in 5 states. And the people are watching which side can “Walk the Talk” better.

But it is important to try to get a caretaker government for future elections.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/important-lessons-from-royals.html

39. #39 by carboncopy on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:54 pm

We need not just live telecast on TV. But live webcast as per UK Parliament webcast : http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/

40. #40 by pjboy on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:54 pm

Dear YB LKS

I truly support your efforts to restore our Parliament – this serves the whole nation & not for any political party – as I believe the Malaysian Parliament has been a laughing stock in the developed world, while we sing about Vision 2020. The system must be in place for future of Malaysian governance. Those who have witnessed how the UK Parliament (Westminster) is addressed, debates, courtesy…we are still 50 years behind. Most important of all, the MPs speak with humility & are very humble in their approach…most notably the debates are always concerning the nations welfare, economy, social, global issues & how they effect the country. Well, that’s over 10 years ago…but I believe they tradition continues as the system (one of the oldest Parliaments in the world) is proven. Way to go YB! You will be known as Bapa Parliamen Moden Malaysia.

41. #41 by voice on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 4:57 pm

YB Lim always try to help the current government to be better, but they never bother, let them continue to be like that and it will end soon in the next general election.

42. #42 by bentoh on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 5:36 pm

Dear YB Lim,

It was in the news just recent that the EXCO composition with the Selangor state government appeared to be an issue… I hope you could use your and DAP’s political wisdom to deal with the issue correctly… I doubt I could survive through another shock of boycott…

43. #43 by Loh on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 6:12 pm

///- Prime Minister’s Question Time twice a week///

Make it once a week for half an hour, as is done in UK now.

44. #44 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 6:20 pm

We must be dreaming that Bohongwi will adopt these proposals. Nobody will trust him anymore! He will continue to plunge BN into total fedeat come GE13.

45. #45 by controlnation1 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 6:58 pm

46. #46 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 7:05 pm

# wag-the-dog Says:
    Guys can anyone tell me how to register in Malaysia Today so I can comment.
    —————————————–

You need to get an account first, please try to email to the following address:
    labisman@yahoo.com
    admin.mtoday@gmail.com

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

Don’t think you want to put Wakil Rakyat Lim Kit Siang into trouble for condoning seditious statements from posters or statements which could be said to have seditious statements made by posters.

[Thanks undergrad2. - Admin]

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 7:11 pm

ooops tendencies

49. #49 by darnielng on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 7:30 pm

We will support this proposal.

Expect many dirty tactics by the BN to delay, destroy or defer this process.

It may take 10-15 years.

Just be very careful when dealing in Politics in this country. The Enforcement and Law will do anything at the WILL of the Ruling Coalitions.

50. #50 by vehir on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 7:57 pm

Ahli Parlimen BN Sarawak telah sertai PKR?

Oleh Ruhanie Ahmad
    Khamis, 20 Mac 2008

AHLI Parlimen BN daripada Serian, Sarawak, Datuk Richard Riot Anak Jaem, hari ini diberitakan sebagai telah menganggotai PKR.
    Sumber-sumber memberitahu blog ini bahawa tindakan Richard adalah permulaan kepada beberpa lagi tindakan di seluruh negara yang dijangka berlaku dalam tempoh terdekat ini.
    Richard adalah daripada parti PBB, komponen utama BN Sarawak, pimpinan Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud.

Tindakan ini bermakna PKR kini mempunyai kerusi parlimennya yang pertama daripada Sarawak. Tindakan ini juga menjadikan jumlah perwakilan PKR di Dewan Rakyat kepada 32 kerusi.

Tindakan Richard juga menyebabkan BN Sarawak kehilangan dua kerusi parlimen, termasuk satu yang dimenangi oleh DAP menerusi PRU12 baru-baru ini.

Pada waktu yang sama, tindakan Richard – ahli parlimen yang sudah beberapa penggal berada di Dewan Rakyat – juga menyebabkan jumlah keseluruhan kerusi BN di parlimen berkurangan daripada 140 kepada 139 kerusi.

Sumber-sumber memberitahu blog ini bahawa tindakan Richard adalah permulaan kepada beberpa lagi tindakan di seluruh negara yang dijangka berlaku dalam tempoh terdekat ini.

Oleh itu, mungkinkah Barisan Rakyat yang bertulangbelakangkan PKR mungkin berjaya menubuhkan kerajaan di peringkat pusat tidak lama lagi, dan sekaligus menyebabkan BN pula menjadi parti pembangkang? Sama-samalah kita tunggu perkembangan selanjutnya!

Comments are closed.