by M. Bakri Musa
One least noted but most consequential impact of this last election is that those rabidly racist UMNO ultras have been effectively defanged. Malaysians can now be assured that the next UMNO General Assembly will not see the likes of Hishammuddin Hussein or Khairy Jamaluddin putting on their race-taunting, kris-wielding stunts.
These hitherto UMNO young bulls have been, as we say here on the ranch, “cut off.” Yes, castrated! They are now reduced to sterile steers destined for the slaughterhouse; they are not worthy to propagate the herd.
Khairy Jamaluddin in particular had a near-death political experience in Rembau, his father’s village and a previously safe UMNO constituency. Unknown PKR’s candidate Badrul Hisham Shaharin, or Chegu Bard, a product of the local kampong school and the nearby Raja Melewar Teachers’ College, proved a formidable opponent for Khairy, the self-puffed ego and product of Oxford University via Singapore’s World United College.
Khairy is smart enough to realize that had it not been for the timely “rescue” in the form of postal votes, together with the earlier last minute cancellation by the Elections Commission on the use of indelible ink that would have prevented fraudulent voting, Chegu Bard would have easily humbled Khairy. How else to explain an initial hundred-vote victory for Chegu Bard would turn out to be a massive 5,000-vote victory for Khairy on “recount”?
As I wrote elsewhere, even UMNO morons are teachable. That is not a surprise, for the ability to learn is an attribute of all living things. The only variable is the slope of the learning curve and of course the timing.
UMNO operatives may have learned their lesson with this election, but it is already too late. The implosion of UMNO has begun.
That said though, there are still some slow learners within UMNO; the lesson has yet to sink into Abdullah Badawi, for example. He still thinks he had a thunderous victory and vows to carry on with business as usual. Unfortunately his ministers and UMNO Supreme Council members are all lembik. To them, their naked emperor is still immaculately attired in fine embroidery. There is no jantan left in UMNO to disabuse Abdullah of his delusion. That is, until now.
Enter Mukhriz Mahathir
Enter Mukhriz Mahathir, yes the scion of that Mahathir. Abdullah had earlier selected Mukhriz to contest the “iffy” seat of Jerlun instead of the more predictable Langkawi. Much to the surprise of his detractors, in particular the hierarchy of UMNO Youth, Mukhriz won handily, and without resorting to a recount!
In a letter to Prime Minister Abdullah immediately following the election, with convenient copies to top UMNO leaders who were too chicken to convey the blunt message directly to Abdullah, Mukhriz called for Abdullah to resign for the greater honor of the party and “bangsa, agama dan negara” (race, religion, and nation).
Surprisingly, the mainstream media carried this item. Perhaps those editors have also learned their lesion in this election. It would not have mattered anyway as that letter is widely circulated on the Internet and foreign press.
Many would think that Mukhriz is a chip off the old block, recalling that nearly forty years ago his father, then a defeated candidate in the parliamentary election, also sent a similar letter to Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman asking him to resign following the 1969 election mess and the ensuing horrendous race riot.
Nothing could be further from the truth. Unlike Mahathir’s letter which was written in traditional Malay form filled with self humiliating terms like patek and hamba (slaves), and was excessively deferential as a peasant would in addressing his lord and master, Mukhriz’s was direct and with the minimal of formality. It was to be sure polite, but there was no mistaking his blunt message.
One would think that Mukhriz would shy away from such a bold move. For one, he is a relative newcomer to politics. Mahathir had expressly forbidden his children to be active in politics while he was in power, a lesson he unfortunately did not impress upon his successor. Mukhriz should therefore be a “good” and “obedient” Malay; meaning, he should “know his place.”
For another, Mukhriz should at least be terhutang budi (indebted) to Abdullah for having selected Mukhriz to contest this election. Clearly this young man saw his duties beyond that of personal loyalty or gratitude. Instead he saw his loyalty extends beyond any one personality or leader. He clearly saw the greater cause for his party and country.
Obviously Mukhriz is not your grandfather’s Malay. He is a true modern-day Hang Jebat, loyal to institutions and principles, not personalities and titles. He is a worthy and necessary adversary to the hordes of latter day Hang Tuahs who surround Abdullah these days.
As an added measure, Mukhriz let it be known in his letter that he was prepared to face the consequences of his action, as if daring Abdullah to, “Go ahead! Make my day!” Mukhriz was challenging Abdullah mano a mano, man to man, a gauntlet that could only have been thrown down by an assured jantan.
Abdullah’s reaction? He deferred to UMNO Youth leaders to “take the necessary action.” Lembik leader! As for UMNO Youth’s task-baring, nose-flaring, and kris-wielding Hishammuddin, his muted response was simply to assure the public that Mukhriz was speaking in his personal capacity.
Earlier on party veteran Tengku Razaleigh also called on Abdullah to “take full responsibility” for the rout. The Tengku was too genteel and indirect that Abdullah missed the sendir (subtlety). Ku Li should have been more frontal like Tun Mahathir, who also called on Abdullah to quit. Rest assured that there will be many more and louder such voices coming soon.
I do not see Abdullah giving up voluntarily much less gracefully. He has to be literally dragged out and figuratively hit on the head with a two-by-four.
In Mukhriz we finally have a true “young Mahathir” in UMNO. All along we had been duped by that other pretender, that Kurang ‘Jar (K‘J) character who had been publicly fancying himself as UMNO’s “young Mahathir.”
We all know the fate of Hang Jebat in that story. Before today’s Hang Tuahs in UMNO gloat however, they should remember the fate that befell the more important Malacca sultanate.

#1 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:51 pm
Instead of attending MSM interviews ( is this the right time? there is a time for everything), why not invite MSM heads over to your office and interview them and show them in you tube?
#2 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:58 pm
The last draw of a fading man – stirring racial havoc?
If the Royal police ( or is it still BN’c police) has some common sense, they should reject any such gathering especially during this sensitive period when bad losers can turn so ugly.( KJ is without a doubt, one of the biggest losers in this election)
This DAP,PKR & PAS must be mindful & take precautionary measures.
#3 by DarkJustice on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:11 pm
Now, Who is biadap?? Ask yourself UMno ,ex-MB Perlis, Shahidan is also more biadap to the Sulatn of Perlis if compare with Uncle Kit’s case which is not intentionally.
Why dont you UMNO demonstrate against Shahidan?? What double standard you are practicisng?? I understand Khairy has got permit to have another gathering at the Penang State Mosque at Green Lane this Thursday. I think Pak Lah sudah stop all these nonense in Penang and moreover it’s your home state, Be gentleman and act like one as a loser. I want to ask the police why grant them the permit this Thursday???
BN previously ‘hentam’ opposition’ taking to street demo but now they are behaving worst than that like last week demo by UMNO at Komtar where we understand, supporters were paid RM80 each to participate in the demo and police also one-sided compared to their action against on Hindraft and Bersih. They even make friends with them in one of the video in youtube .
#4 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:14 pm
Should remember to take videos or pictures of the monkeys and post them on Youtube for all to see.
#5 by Caribenar on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:20 pm
I am sure that Mukhriz has not acted alone. He has support.
#6 by malaysiantruly on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:22 pm
My dear ALL UMNO members:
“PLS DUN LET THE WHOLE FOREST VARNISH BECOZ OF A SICKED TREE”.
Wake up! Malaysians have voiced and shown clearly the exit sign to him and yet he still claimed he has your support and stay on. Now, we Malaysians will leave it to you all to show us UMNO is serious in changing….not only in saying but in action. Our supports will remain with you if it happens. Or sad to say, whole BN becomes history after yr 2011. Your choice….
#7 by Mydeen Aboo Backer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:27 pm
By the same token, let not the combined DAP-PKR-PAS be lulled into complacency, for the reason for the swing in the 12th General Elections could be that the voters voted against the BN, as opposed to voting for DAP-PKR-PAS. The 13th GE is but 5 years away, and Malaysians have short memories.
#8 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:33 pm
Could anybody figure out why there are more than 100% of voter turn up for Putrajaya seat? or have the SPR given an explanation?
#9 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:39 pm
Plus the fact of fatal errors made by the EC, where Chong Eng of Bukit Mertajam initially won with 5700+ majority,(many begin to doubt his popularity) but ended with nearly 26000 majority. See the article in :
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/NewsBreak/20080311163107/Article/index_html
According to the article, results from 7 polling centres were put into BN’s Ong Tang Chuans count when it should have gone to Chong Eng. These put KJ’s rembau seat highly suspicious too? Have the EC checked it properly?
#10 by js on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:39 pm
Moderator, Please delete my the above comment at 16.47pm
#11 by pgsilai on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:06 pm
I wonder how long they can continue paying RM80? From clips, and tv news I could see that most of them are Mamak, I don’t understand why they are so “kepo”, they are not pure Bumi!
Yuuchh, that Azhar Ibrahim barks like a mad dog, I wonder the Umnos ever feel ashamed to have such a leader. Keep on talking about NEP, NEP and NEP which I think they are even worst than beggars on the street. Yes, whoever gets to take pics or videos of these monkeys on Thurs please put them on youtube. If it is true that police grant them permit,this is really not fair! Catch all of them including the police force who grants the permit.
Next, I think CM should not spare his time for the interview with Wong Chun Wai. What is that to ask, is he genuine or going to be one sided again or worry that all of us going to stop buying STAR?
I could still recalled one day before we had our ceramah at Han Chiang they had theirs at Rifle Range, tomorrow the STAR, 1st Page big pictures of them gathering, but the next day how come our pictures at Han Chiang none at all?
#12 by Noor Aza Othman on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:25 pm
Brilliant article Bakri! But all I want is UMNO bulldozed completely! It’s a racist, sexist and fascist party right from the beginning. To think that I wasted almost my whole life defending the sickos from this party;should have listen to my father long time ago! Didn’t realize my father was so wise after all; despite of only finishing school at primary six. And was forced to join the army out of poverty. Whilst the Umno ultra-nationalists and elite-capitalist class were sitting comfortably amidst their stolen-from-the-poor’s (of all Malaysians) wealth and glory; busily brainwashing ordinary Malays. The only hard job that they ever do!
#13 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:29 pm
Hi, can anyone advise whether the Deputy MB is still on the agenda of appointment?
#14 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:20 pm
Menang Atau Mati, that’s what my friends told me, wah Malaccan town people really got balls ar… Not scare at all of BN… All vote DAP! :)
And today i was having lunch i heard a few aunties talking, Wah Can’t let opposition win too much… wait Luan… As u know, we as kids we shouldn’t interfere to aunties point of view. Wait they said we Biadap! :) In my heart i say, aiyoh aunty… If opposition win all also, nothing will happen… If luan also, who is the biggest looser? UMNO themselved! wakakaka….
Ali Gostan… I fear you NOT! I will vote for opposition because i got BALLS! :) Choy ar… ^^
#15 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:30 pm
Funny, how people need to feel afraid for not voting for a certain party……isn’t voting about choice and prerogative…….
#16 by EddieTheHead on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:33 pm
“…Surprisingly, the mainstream media carried this item. Perhaps those editors have also learned their lesion in this election….”
Freudian slip?
#17 by chanjoe on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:57 pm
Orang Melaka….WAKE UP…UP…UP…
The Chinese had shown him they despise him for making the pig rearers suffer.
My relatives in Melaka prayed and took action to vote out MCA & Gerakan candidates but unfortunately…Ali Rustam still managed to conned Malay voters.
Koh Nai Kwong & others were hated by the Chinese….
Now Ali R threatened Historical Melaka that no development for city…so what…its a historical city so not much development shld be done to protect its history…..who will suffer most?
The cronies in MCA, Gerakan, MIC and UMNO will actually syffer as they are the people behind and stand to get mega bucks if the development goes on time…look what happen to Padang Merdeka?
Now a concrete shopping center…what a shame….people come to Melaka for the history but now its being turned into concrete everywhere……
sad…sad…Ali to hell wit u …don’t play…play…with the intelligence of orang melaka….
#18 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:17 pm
wah… i got a strong supporter here by the name of chanjoe! :) I am 100% with you brother… He should be shipped out…
I heard he load his Bukit Baru seat but postal votes saved him! Come on orang Melaka… Don’t sleep no more… This time we win 5 only, make sure next round win 25!!! Let Ali Gostan eat his own words…
Enough is Enough!!! :)
Ship him out like the big Portuguese ship! :)
#19 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:01 pm
Since “balls” has become so popular.
The next GE, let’s have a competition to see which state has the most “balls”!
Hard to beat Penangites,leh?
#20 by drngsc on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:10 pm
Friends,
Let us not indulge in name calling. It would mean that we are stooping to their level. Let us by our deeds, not our words, show that they are wrong. Otherwise, the gloating will be shortlived and they will have more to gloat in 5 years time.
This is the time to work hard, so that they will never have any chance to ever do what they did, again.
#21 by ilikeit on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:01 pm
work ahead is hard I see
steady yourself you must
#22 by year of snake on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:09 pm
At last, I do not have to read in the papers the statement which the extremist loudmouths keep on reminding us that UMNO CAN FORM THE GOVERNMENT BY THEMSELVES. I am so happy that they are eating their words now, if fact if there are cross overs to the opposition by their MPs they will be in the Opposition. Even with 140 MPs the UMNOPUTRAS are feeling shaky not knowing from where and when some of their MPs will jump ship.
#23 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:23 pm
Menang atau Mati, i would agree with you that Penangites really show their balls this time around. Lolz! Malacca will sure be the next one with the balls! :)
Come on Malaccan… Show the Penang people that they can do it, we at Malacca also can do it! Oh yeah baby! :)
#24 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:59 pm
Showsomemercy,
Just as a wushu master would say,
“if I am beaten by practioner with a higher mastery of wushu(ball) skills, I am indeed highly honoured.
#25 by showsomemercy on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:28 am
lolz… Agree Agree! :) Don’t worry no matter rain or shine, earthquake or tornado, my vote still goes to DAP! :)
#26 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:50 am
No No No!
If DAP goes wayward,we cannot support them ,although I don’t think they would.
#27 by GradUnion on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:00 am
Dear All Tiga Sekawan – DAP/PKR/PAS,
Please remember the good advice from GANDHI about politic life, he quoted :
” from Promise to Power, Win with humble, Defeat with grace, TRUTH and Non-Violence are as old as the Hills, People TRUST is priceless, Serve them well”
We, Malaysians hope that Barisan Rakyat is able to learn and practice good governance with clean minds to serve the Rakyat.
Bravo ! Barisan Rakyat deserves to Win. Please serve all Malaysians well and keep your words too.
Congratulations !
#28 by Bobster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:31 pm
Abdullah pls don’t come down. Stay put. Let DPP build up its strength, take over and clean up the country in the next election.
Anyone want Mongolian suspect to ruin the nation with commission and C4? At least AAB is less evil. No oppressive force like ISA last yr besides some Hindraf leaders are still in the locked up. If Tun his AAB shoes Operasi Lalang II would have sent many including patriotic bloggers into ISA. People might one day be more grateful to AAB compare to TDM and award AAB with the title Bapa Demokrasi. Still think people should be grateful to AAB (though with all the blunders) for allowing freedom of speech in the cyberspace at least.
Like the formal USSR President Mr Gobachov who allowed moderate ideology and democratic process to develop in Russia. Well he destroyed communist ideology in Russia, causing collapse of USSR, but at least the world was free cold wars which might result in 3rd World War. China prospers today as they gave away the wrong communist idealogy that became the stumbling block to the nation growth since end of WWII. Just see how much China has developed as they open up the economy 10 yrs ago and adopt moderate and democratic policies.
Same for this country, if the rakyat see the truth and reject the wrong ideology and policies, very soon it will be a major break through that will propel the nation and people to a great high.
I still see some good in AAB though many condemn him. No better candidates in BN at this moment so let AAB carries out his duty.
#29 by Bobster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:33 pm
By the way, sorry for the typo errors.
#30 by robbinlee777 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:41 am
I do not know weather it is right to have postal votes after a count. This is the mistakes done several times in past election and byelection. Does it takes the last minute for additional postal votes to arrived or should arrive before the count? Imagine postal votes even arrived at night and vote on Bn only.
Hope some one can find the answer for it.
It should be fair. Every dog has it’s day.
#31 by samarlin on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 10:16 pm
Lets just let those dirty fellas roll in their own shit and soon enough we will see them drown in it.Just keep on digging out their
skeletons from their closets,BR!
#32 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:13 am
Postal vote are a cheat, a soldiers will be able to vote twice! Because postal votes does not use Identity Card to identify themselves.
Try it yourself go to
http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/
Then key in the below ID, notice both individual are the same person but one is postal the other is individual, mean same person can vote twice, that’s why they are paying RM 200 and buses to cater for these ppl to vote for BN.
and key in the following IC nos:-T715511 and 670104075529
Not convinced? Try T719756 and 750909035727