I was granted an audience with the Perak Regent Raja Dr. Nazrin Shah after the swearing-in ceremony of engineer and PAS Perak Secretary Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as Perak Menteri Besar at the Iskandariah Palace, Kuala Kangsar today where I personally apologized for any offence caused to the Perak Sultan and Regent
On Saturday, I had written a formal letter of apology to the Perak Sultan.
At the swearing-in ceremony for the new Perak Mentri Besar, three representatives from each of the three parties to the state coalition government, DAP, PKR and PAS (DPP) were invited to attend. DAP was represented by the DAP Perak State Chairman Ngeh Koo Ham (MP for Bruas and State Assemblyman for Sitiawan), Perak State Secretary Nga Kor Ming (MP for Taiping and State Assemblyman for Pantai Remis) and myself.
The formation of the new Perak State Exco, based on a 6-3-2 formula for DAP, PKR and PAS respectively, is the next step for the formation of the Perak DPP coalition government.
The greatest challenge of the Perak DPP coalition government is to be a government for all Perakians – Malays, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asli and others – capable of better looking after the interests and welfare of the people of Perak as compared to the previous Barisan Nasional state government, with greater accountability, efficiency, productivity, justice and integrity.

#1 by melurian on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:34 pm
did you wear songkok ???
#2 by pablopabla on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:34 pm
Well done indeed! I admire you for your efforts to reconcile with the Perak royalty and it speaks volumes about your humility.
Now, it’s time to prove to all that we do have an alternative government in Malaysia which is more than capable of running the country!
#3 by mobileworld on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:34 pm
Just one word SYABAS! Keep up the good work and plse do not disapoint us! All the best and hopefully something good comes up in Selangor as well for DAP! Syabas and Cheers!
#4 by fuad on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:37 pm
YB Lim,
Glad that Perak Regent wanted to meet you, count yourself lucky.
Next time stop sadiwara at the wrong time to the wrong people.It should never have happened in the first place.
NOW is the time to govern intellegently, tell your Perak DAP to use their brain to make all races happy and show the world that DAP is not a party for chinese only but all races.
And you bet more malays will vote DAP.
Good luck!!
#5 by toast on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:38 pm
Kudos LKS!! I am so proud of you and I look forward to great things from you.
#6 by stnaaron on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:38 pm
Congratulation! YAB LKS and the gang
You did something great today!!!! Well done…Well done….
we are looking forwards to listen more of your party good
news and view..
Regards…
#7 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:41 pm
After everything is said and done, there is no escape or even attempted escape thus far from the racist mindset that has bedevilled our efforts at unity.
If we want to think of ourselves as Malaysians, why are we still referring to ourselves thus:
“The greatest challenge of the Perak DPP coalition government is to be a government for all Perakians – Malays, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asli and others – capable of better looking after the interests and welfare of the people of Perak …” Kit
..and why are we using the term “Yang Behormat” (which is a term more suited to those who subcsribe to the so-called BN “bodek” culture) instead of the more plain but more dignified term “Wakil Rakyat”.
Henceforth I shall address all duly elected representatives of the people by their rightful title “Wakil Rakyat” or people’s representative. It is term which is better suited because it is a reminder that they are there in a representative capacity, elected by the people to represent them.
Either that or we have to find a better way of addressing our Members of Parliament outside of Parliament. “The Right Honorable Member from Bruas” or “Yang Behormat” when used should be heard only in the halls of Parliament or Dewan Rakyat or Dewan Negri as the case may be.
#8 by Raja Mongrel on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:44 pm
I concur with many that donning of Songkok is kind of surrendering to racist oppression or bowing to unmitigated tyranny,
Let me put it this way, the Sultan should know (at least by now) the sensitiveness of his subjects (of various ethnicity). And I believe the question of disrespect simply does not arise as long as the rakyat dress properly. I don’t see how the Sultan is suddenly no longer a Sultan just because he allows the Rakyat to walk into the palace in Armani suits? I certainly fail to see how there will be no ‘unity’ unless everyone dons a Songkok?
So, why can’t the Sultan just relax the so call ‘Palace Protocol’ which doesn’t even exist (for Songkok) in the first place?
Actually, I think the Chinese have been very nice and sensitive towards the Malays for not mentioning another reason why they refuse to don the Songkok (which I am convinced is a Dutch ciplak, so do many Indonesians even though many Indians insist it’s originated from Bharat) …
I’d like to ask the Malays to imagine they are living a place where the majority of the inhabitants are some kind of native whom they consider as rather backward, relatively barbaric, dress weirdly and worship an ‘alien’ God. Not only the Malays are constantly being threatened and discriminated, they also forced to learn the natives’ language which is actually a useless dialect that is totally hopeless academically, commercially or whatever.
Now, let’s say the Malays are asked to attend a ceremony at the Native Palace whereby it’s say the ‘Palace Protocol’ is you should wear Bull Suit ie. Bare-chest bullhide skirt c/w a bull’s butt hat (decorated with oxtail, oxdick, oxballs and some colorful cock feathers) on your head but it’s NOT mandatory, would you rather not to wear a suit or something else that is equally ‘formal’ instead of the Bull Suit?
What I am trying to say is people generally will have no problem with things that are considered as advanced, civilized or even just being ‘hip’ (never mind its origin), in another word, the positive, but that’s not the case with things they consider as negative eg. outdated, backward, absurd etc.
Unless you can convince me Armani suit is inferior as compared to Songkok … I urge the Sultans, please be considerate, just say “please dress formally” and leave it to the Rakyat to determine what constitutes “formal dress code”.
After all, the so called ‘Malay’ thingy be it garment, language or what have you is really nothing more than symbolism of Malay Supremacy (courtesy of the world #1 Racist: UMNO), which is bad for everyone, including the Malay themselves … So my question for the Sultans is: Why are you dancing with wolves (and become a partner-in-crime, so to speak)? Isn’t UMNO your foe (remember the Johor Sultan/Mahathir saga)?
I also suggest let’s not only discuss what can be accepted as ‘formal dress code’, we should also take this opportunity to talk about what constitutes an ideal medium of instruction, among others … I suggest we revert back to the most popular language on earth: ENGLISH. There are simply too many good reasons why should seriously consider reverting back to English, and I urge BR to fight for its realization.
#9 by chanjoe on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:44 pm
At least when we go to the street to protest…we go with our concience clear and for a good cause but the UMNO pariahs just cant take any defeat and just want to cause trouble..hoping to get a quick chance maybe to win back their power….
DEAR MALAYSIANs….we all know that they are actually trying to get back their riches which have been stop right on the track with BN’s losses and thats why they resort to destroying all their previous records of their misdeeds.
Fellow Malaysians of Malay race…please tell the stupid UMNO trouble makers to accept the reality of the election and follow what we the people wanted them to be…..that is to wake up and be a fair govt for all races.
Just read that PKR having urgent impt meeting this evening and there will be a very impt announcement…anyone can shed any lights???? TQ
#10 by Jong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:46 pm
I have a question for YB Lim Kit Siang. How should we refer to your coalition of DAP, PKR and PAS?
I don’t think you guys have even thought of a name for yourselves! Too busy? :D
Someone earlier on this blog used “DPP Govt”. I was confused for awhile, then I began to figure out that it meant DAP-PKR-PAS !
I see names like these have used – United Rakyat, Barisan Rakyat and even Angkatan Rakyat.
Comeon its time you give your coalition a name to ensure mainstream media/tv stays uniform and uses the same name. We are all confused.
Over to you YB.
#11 by teejay on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:48 pm
Aiyah chan joe ! Yesterday you say you are not a friendly posting for Teng. Today after extolling Teng’s virtues (when we are discussing about another subject,ie Perak MB swearing in and Kit’s audience with the Regent of Perak), you have to put at the end that you are not an apple polisher for Teng ! Like I said yesterday ”
“Some of them says he is the most qualified to have the post. My question is most qualified for what ? My guess is that any candidate will be severely examined in the following areas. Whether the person is a team player, whether he commands the respect of his peers and not only his supporters, his attendance at CEC & State DAP meetings, contribution of his DUN allowance to National DAP,etc. I am sure the leadership will access to all this information and make the proper choice. Last time got 2 opposition members in Selangor DUN – now got 13 members, times change and leaders should also change according to the sitiuation. Meanwhile let us watch carefully to see who puts party interest above selfish ambition. Meanwhile pls take down the banner lah, it is too embarassing. True leaders don’t have to advertise their qualities …..imagine Kit Siang putting up a banner saying he is most qualified to be Parliamentary Opposition leader. Unthinkable !”
I would say that the leadership would be looking into the additional aspects of the candidates before they make a choice. This would include integrity, character,team player,etc. The leadership must check the candidates background carefully so that one’s private life is congruent with one’s public image. May the best candidate succeed ! It is not the end of the world if one does not get a particular post – all are still DUN and can serve the public.
Btw, can anyone tell me if Teng has removed his”gigantic” banner which was put up to support him.
#12 by EdChoo on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:50 pm
Congrats, Uncle Lim. I salute you. It takes a real man to do what you have done.
I agree with MW88 re. MSM. We have to take measures to counter the spin and propaganda. I don’t know what to make out of the one just reported by The Sun..”Cooperation, yes, no to hudud law”. Seems to have painted you in a very ungrateful manner. What’s the story here!! Already some negative feedback from Malaysia Today readers. But then again we are dealing with The Sun.
We really have to take stock of what the MSM are feeding us. Just look at the Bernama story in Penang. Pure lies and half truths. LKS, DAP really needs to set up a full time PR department with full time PR personnels and professional spin doctors to counter the MSM. You really need to be quick in countering issues or risk things blowing up in your face.
I think many jokers are going to pounce on this. You should think about spinning this latest issue back into your favour. Nip it in the bud. Already there are calls asking DAP to reciprocate some of the positive gestures from PAS these recent days. DAP should reciprocate or seen to be reciprocating these kind gestures from PAS. I believe they are changing and holding out an olive branch to DAP.
#13 by hanuman on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:56 pm
I hope you will not make anymore “boo boo”. You as a Hokkien would say “lau chiao” (old bird), should know better when and what to say.
If you continue your stupid rhetoric, I would have to admit I stupid to have voted DAP. If the Opposition have 2/3 in Parliament and run this beloved country of mine, it will definitely collapse.
You are behaving you are no different from BN, bloody arrogant. We the rakyat, Bangsa Malaysia voted you in and we will definitely vote you out if you continue your rhetoric.
I would like to apologize if I took a poke at your ego. I have voted DAP all my life. If you delete this post than you are no different from the main media and BN.
#14 by chanjoe on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:59 pm
Thank you teejay for your kind words……
My arguments are that we should allow experienced candidates to hold the fort when the time comes..
This was what LKS had actually said to my friend when there was a time to propose new faces for candidature in past GEs….
LKS had said he preferred tested and experience candidates for impt posts…thats why I am still calling on LKS to live by his words but maybe time had chaqnged and he has finally see through that new guys can do well too…hahaha…
All for jest but waht I said is true…however lets not argue over this as we should berganding bahu to give all our support to LKS and his team to give a good account this time so that we can all stand tall to convince more people to vote for BR in the next GE and in so doing….we can nthen bowl over the pins of NS, Melaka, Pahang and even Johore…the signs are there…
Lets keep our sights focussed and make sure BR goes in the right direction….
#15 by ilikeit on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:02 pm
I like you more and more Uncle kit
Bravo you did the right thing after doing the wrong thing.
#16 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:05 pm
We hear calls for the end of the NEP often these days. The term NEP is valued loaded with an emotional content so strong that the mere mention of it evokes an anti-Malay (or a pro-Malay sentiment depending on how it is used or who uses it).
Instead of saying “We must end the NEP” shouldn’t we be better off saying “We should have a better affirmative action programs to help the poor” – not “the poor among the Chinese, Indian and Malays and others” but just the “poor among Malaysians”.
Our political leaders especially those elected into office should help the people think of themselves as Malaysians and limit the use of ethnicity to a cultural setting not a political one.
The term NEP is divisive. Its constant use serves only to remind us of the past instead of the future.
#17 by budak on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:06 pm
finally I can save a breath to fight for better future…!
dear Perakian, DAP-PKR-PAS supporters,
this is the golden time we’ve waited for 50 years… we should build a better home for Malaysian for the next 50 years or so… dont misuse this opportunity given by the Rakyat and dont dissappoint them… they’re always with you for now and forever…
Thank you Malaysian, and thank you YB Kit… :-)
#18 by observer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:08 pm
Congratulation Uncle Kit for patching up the problem caused by the earlier DAP CEC Stand on the Appointment of the MB.Such a big relief for the Ppl of Perak, Let the DPP coalition go down to work, REMEMBER The promises that the Coalition had pledge and don’t fail on them . Bravo again long live the DPP coalition, Work hard and we Malaysian will vote DPP into the Federal Govn. in the 13th GE.
#19 by myop101 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:09 pm
Dear Uncle Kit,
Thank you for going the extra mile. Sorry for any outburst made earlier. But it seriously takes a bigger man to apologise for the errors made.
#20 by FromIpohtoIpoh3 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:17 pm
I was taken aback reading the updates from the Star paper stating of the proposal of a minority BN government for Perak! Why can’t we Malaysians accept the fact that we had lost? This is the analogy of all competitions….why must we still stir uncertainty when the fact that we had lost is no longer able to be concealed and when everyone is preparing to accept a new govt. We shall instead improve and rectify those weaknesses and compete again the next time (4-5 yrs). If we are good and the incumbent is not then nothing can stop another new govt….if not…make a longer stride..perhaps there will be one day….The govt of DPP took 50 yrs to be formed, are we good enough to take it back? If we can digest all these, I dont think the proposal would be in place
#21 by deepthot on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:18 pm
great job.i definitely can respect a man who is humble enough to admit his mistakes.good luck.and may malaysia and it’s people grow better with each passing day.
#22 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:22 pm
Why DPP?? To many DPP stands for Deputy Public Prosecutor a term so closely identified with the prosecutorial minded UMNO/BN when running the government – which they still do in most of the states and at the federal level!
DAPP would be a better term. At least it reminds me of Johnny Depp!
#23 by pwcheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:26 pm
We must understand that all those voted in from DAP, PAS or PKR are also human beings and can succumbed to temptations. Though they know that this can cause their downfall, but somehow find it irresistible.
We as responsible citizens must keep track and check for any malpractices on this new government. Lets hope the head is steadfast on their manifesto, as the fish always rot from the head.
#24 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:30 pm
DAPP is a much better reference to the tripartite coalition. But of course expect the other two to oppose because it involves the use of the letters DAP. Though accurately reflective of the 6-3-2 formula agreed upon, it serves to signify the domineering position of the DAP in the tripartite coalition!
#25 by tokki20 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:30 pm
Barisan Rakyat is simple and straightforward…….sound more like belonging to people.
#26 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:30 pm
DAPP would be a better term. At least it reminds me of Johnny Depp!
mwaaaaahahhaaa…… :)
PCP = The People’s Coaliation Party…
or MPCP = THe Malaysian People’s Coaliation Party
#27 by Better Future on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:33 pm
Congratulation, now I think my son is still having a future in this country which I almost wanted to give up once upon a time. I just hope the new form state government of BR /DPP will show to whole Malaysia there can work together. I think MR LKT you should inform to other BR leaders not to give too much statement to the press as they ‘re all your enemy. Just trying to take your word as start spreading rumour. Just a good example was the sunday gathering when Utusan Malaysia claim having 1000 people while The Star said 50 people by looking at the picture taken by Utusan itself maybe 1 person in real stand for 10 person. Please keep up the good work.
#28 by chanjoe on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:36 pm
I think the best reference to the coalition should be Barisan Rakyat “BR” as the rakyat of all races voted for Opposition.
The votes trenscend across all borders irrespective of whether its PAS, DAP or PKR.
I asked my 2 children to vote for PAS in DUN and PKR in Parliament and PAS did win in DUn but unfortunately PKR lost in Pandan Parliament seat.
If we still subscribe to racial and religion issues…then I don’t see the BR Selangor Govt being able to be formed at all as Bn would win more seats then.
SO lets use “BR” for the new Govt of Kedah, Penang, Perak & Selangor and that too for the future coming Govt of Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Johor and Melaka ( How nice and satisfying to dump the Ali Rusted).
LONG LIVE “BR”
#29 by adoionline on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:40 pm
Hundreds of comments follow each blogpost. Talk about audience feedback!
Doubt you’ll ever find time to read every one, Kit Siang, but if you ever chance upon this – KNOW THAT YOU ARE GREATLY BELOVED AND ADMIRED BY MORE MALAYSIANS THAN YOU POSSIBLY EVER MEET IN A SINGLE LIFETIME. Hope that makes you feel warm all over. Nobody could ever accuse you of “wasting your life” :-)
Thanks for battling on the last four decades even when the darkness seemed overwhelming. Thanks for going in and out of Kamunting on our behalf and for yelling your voice hoarse in a parliament of overdressed turds. Enjoy the view from the top. It was a looooooong, hard climb for sure….. breathe deep and slow…. heaven on earth is possible, nay, INEVITABLE….in our lifetime. That is MY solemn promise to you.
#30 by as.i.see.it on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:43 pm
Uncle Kit,
Winning combination is 18:7:6 (DAP: PKR: PAS)
Why 6-3-2? It should be 7-2-2.
Managing the situation and negotiation skill from state DAP leaders are poor and not convincing?
#31 by St0rmFury on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:55 pm
Haih… I remember how a lot of the members here bashed YB for what he did. Now I see a lot of salutes and apologies from the very same people who displayed such immaturity by lashing out at Kit when they don’t even know what’s really going on. These so called “DAP supporters” are so fickle.
Do you people still regret voting for DAP, huh?
#32 by kopio2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:57 pm
Uncle Lim,
Perak is a very unique combination of state government compared to Penang, Kedah, Salangor and Kelantan. It is simply because it is lead by a minority party. The whole malaysian is watching what will happened when there is an argument between three of you. If you can shown a good cooperation in this state that mean you guys will have a very high possibility to let people know that this is a example of how are you going to manage the multinational country not like BN. It is good to see the Selangor and Penang government move a big step of how they want to do about NEP, hope to see some new thing from new Perak new team.
#33 by Jong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:59 pm
Frankly, don’t we have enough of “Barisan” already?
When they have “B”, this new coalition should use
“A” ! – Angkatan Rakyat sounds nicer. Also it will not confuse the people. Well just my 2sen worth.
#34 by LT on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:00 pm
Well done Mr Lim. There is always lessons to learn. Congratulation.
#35 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:02 pm
when will all the summons be cancel down south here too…..
can’t wait for the next 5 years to come
whopee !!!
#36 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:10 pm
Hello JOng!
“Angkatan Rakyat sounds nicer. Also it will not confuse the people. Well just my 2sen worth.”
What do you plan to angkat?? I’m already confused!
#37 by Old Geezer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:19 pm
Am glad this episode is over.
There is only so much goodwill that you have with other people.
The best thing is to be careful what to say and do especially when it involves sensitive issues such as the royalty.
Malays may be “chin chai” on other matters and may be happy with just sambal and rice for dinners. But they consider it a great insult to their race and culture if their royalty is not respected.
DAP could not care less about this in the past.
But in this new time and age, especially now it is part of the govt and will be interacting more often with the royalty in Selangor and Perak, it should be aware of this sensitivity.
This is all the more important as DAP deals with the problem in Selangor.
Chen Man Hin’s recent press interview also did not give a good impression.
“Their proposal has left a big question mark over our future co-operation,” a visibly upset Dr Chen said while angrily pushing aside a newspaper article on the Pas proposal.” NST Online
Apparently, Chen Man Hin did not read Husam Musa’s later statement (which already appeared at that time and Chen was reading old news) where he also criticised the press:
“PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa has clarified that his statement on the party taking over the Government at the federal level was taken out of context. …
Husam urged the mass media to be careful in its reporting to avoid antagonising anyone unnecessarily.” Star Online
I think elder statesmen should know how to say “No comment” to press queries.
Obviously the govt media would gleefully report any sign of discord within the coalition.
Better still, let the official DAP press secretary (if there is one) or Secretary General make all the necessary comments, so that there would appear to be one voice and one consistent policy.
#38 by tokmoh on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:22 pm
YB Lim
Congrats for the installation of Perak MB, and congrats that you’ve shown maturity in handling a problem when there’s a disagreement. Since you cannot change who the Sultan wants to pick as the MB, you (DAP Perak) can successfully negotiate with PAS on the exco part. As the saying goes, “failure means God has a better plan for you”, now everyone’s happy and the new Perak govt can get to work.
#39 by Jong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:22 pm
Hahaha, I was just trying to give my opinion of those being used by some of the blogs and/or media/tv, can’t remember where. The name didn’t come from me lah!
#40 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:23 pm
13 sound like a favourite number for some ha ha ha
next GE is 13………………
#41 by Valentine Tnay on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:28 pm
A day after the GE results a friend SMSed me with the message Hip Hip Hooray..I replied..Hold your migration plans there’s light at the end of the tunnel..many Malaysians r holding on to high hopes to a change for the better..don’t let us down..fight for every Malaysian’s rights without fear or favor..not among yourselves..so far so good..albeit a few teething problems along the way..
#42 by Humanrace on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:28 pm
Congratulations LKS and your gesture to the Sultan is definitely a very good example for all of us to adopt in a similar situation.
Whilst it is a necessity to work with PAS on a highly optimistic note, i think LWY has a point that we need to be informed, updated and some sort of cautions need to be exercised. LKS constant reminders to PAS not to propose hudud laws by frontdoor or backdoor is a welcome.
The current set of politician in PAS at present are very sensible based on their views and actions.
However one can guess what could happen (very possible) if some fanatical groups manage to take control of PAS in the future.
There is a possibility for the fanatics to twist the ideology to serve their own interests and by then the majority may be held to psychological ransom via subliminal means. It will then be too late to turn the non rational faith and emotional tide.
If we Malaysians can work together as progressive humans and modulate our negative animal instincts, we will be on our way to a better tomorrow..
#43 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:52 pm
we want fireworks
we want firework
#44 by just a moment on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:16 am
Well done Uncle Lim,
And to all the DAP/PKR/PAS, thank you, thank you.
Lets start moving now. All on board!!!
YES! YES! YES!
#45 by Bigfoot on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:32 am
Dear YB Lim,
I very happy to hear that things are working out.
Now, I’ve been reading that some states require that the Chief Minister (CM) or Deputy Chief Minister (DCM) be a Malay & a Muslim. I haven’t problem with this, as long as the individual is a fair and an open-minded person. Having said this, how many CM’s who would otherwise fulfill conditions, be genuinely religious? I have my serious doubts if many are. This being the case, how can they actually be advisors to the Sultans? Besides, in this day and age, the Sultans must not only look after Malay/Muslim subjects, but also non-Malay/non-Muslim subjects as well.
Given the above, I feel that it would be better if the Sultan of each state had an advisory board comprising of religious and cultural experts, who could advise him on the needs of the different communities in his state. This advisory board could be mandated to resolve issues amongst the various groups, so as to avoid further occurences of issues involving the demolishment of religious places of worship, etc. Their stress should in fact be on unity and harmony of the various groups. The advisory board could in fact be consulted jointly by the Sultan, the CM and the DCM (s).
What do you think of the above? I hope to hear your feedback on my suggestion.
#46 by lbl on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:36 am
YB Lim,
I am glad all went well with the swearing-in of the Perak MB.I think the Ngeh and Nga will have to be told what to do.If I am not mistaken Fong had some problems with them before the election.
BN lost Perak because they thought no one could shake them. Hopefully the Ngeh and Nga will not have the same idea.
#47 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:19 am
The “Opposition” has been in Opposition for too long – 50 years? Now the “Opposition” has turned Government in some states, and the current Opposition in these states is the BN. So for the “new” Govt in these states, will the previous opposition please think outside the box and carry on the job to GOVERN?
The “oppositon” coalition Govt is a beginning era and DAP, PAS and PKR must work together for long-term gain and commitment to the rakyat. You fail, and you fall! Compromise and cooperate. Get professional advisors on how to manage Govt. You must succeed to ensure a true Malaysian society. Be honest, be publicly vocal and fight for the rakyat’s rights, and you will survive!
I feel that the BN will not be able to re-coup in the next GE if the BA keep on their toes. The media are now giving more coverage to BA, albeit negatively at times. This is a PLUS! When in the past has the media given such exposure to Opposition?
You need some time to adjust to your victories, but don’t take too long, and don’t make stupid personal announcements. Change your previous opposition mindset, you are now Government in some states!!
#48 by GradUnion on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:37 am
Dear YB Lim KS,
We, Perakians are very proud of your noble and humble leadership in leading DAP to achieve your Dream today. Your immediate apologise to our beloved Regent of Perak showed that you are not arrogant like UMNO leaders but a learnt gentleman with full respect from all Malaysians. We salute you for being a great stateman.
Congratulations ! Perakians are very happy to have a Tiga Sekawan parties – DAP/PKR/PAS to govern the silver state in Perak. The Northern people said the Tiga Sekawan parties have strike GOLD jackpot in the 12th GE to grab power from arrogant BN who ruled for 50 years. It is indeed sad that BN got the “CROWN” of federal government but the Tiga Sekawan parties managed to got the “Jewels & Gold” of four golden silver states in Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor including 10 seats in FT KL . Now BN is a lame duck without the rich states to boost their egos and arrogant minds. Bravo! We hope that Tiga Sekawan in Barisan Rakyat is able to govern all 4 northern states with good governance, fair to all races, zero corruptions, transparency and fullfill your promises to the Rakyat.
Finally, Perakians hope that Tiga Sekawan is able to continue to serve the people of all states in the next GE and to take the CROWN away from BN. Please work hard to serve the people and dont easily loose the people trust. Otherwise, Tiga Sekawan parties will be removed by the people to let BN rule again. We hope that Barisan Rakyat will replace BN in next 13th GE to govern Malaysia for 50 years and beyond.
Thank you. GOD blessing always.
Best regards,
Perakians & All Malaysians.
#49 by doggone on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:22 am
Dear Kit Siang.
You are what great men throughout history is all about. Hats off to you.
May you lead and guide our younger office bearers to emulate your persistences and righteousness and bring glory to our land called Malaysia.
With God’s blessing, you just might see your unwavering struggle come to pass in the very near future. I for one have great confidence in you. Apologies for some of my unrefined comments at the heat of the moment.
Thank you Sir.
#50 by KS R on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 3:38 am
Hi Uncle
Well done. Keep up the Good Work. Ensure to make a strong Government Penang /Kedah /Perak / Selangor / Kelantan.
Homework to be done by three of you. DAP/PKR/PAS.
Is there any DMB 1 and 2 PERAK / Selangor and I, request every state require Malay MB (this should be abolish once we take over Parliament) that means DMB must be Indian and Chinese
Please inform Dato Anuar / Pas leader too
There is demonstration by UMNO uncivilized Members in Penang. Please inform CM Melaka RUSTUM to revoke the Citizenship and send them to Java or Sumatra