CMs, DPMs and PMs: Time to go beyond the old taboos

By Farish A. Noor

WHEN the opportunity presented itself for Malaysia to choose a Malaysian woman of South Asian origin to be made the country’s first astronaut, those responsible for the final decision stepped back before the seemingly-insurmountable wall of taboos and inherited petty wisdom. No, they opined, we should choose a Malaysian Male Muslim Malay instead, as this would reflect the demographic realities of the country. But by doing so, they not only reflected the demographic realities of the day, but also confirmed the hegemony of that reality and thus rendered it absolute and unquestionable.

Now think of the possible alternatives had the Malaysian-Indian woman be chosen instead: For a start it would point to the demographic realities many of us would have wanted to see; and it would have been such a powerful symbolic message sent to Malaysia and the world. Had the other candidate been chosen, we could have proudly proclaimed that this was a country where racial and ethnic divisions had been transcended, and where gender equality was within reach. It would also have been such an enormous boost to the pride and sense of self-worth of so many other marginalised minority groupings in the country, to see themselves mirrored in the national narrative and to be made to feel that they truly belonged to a Malaysia that was indeed a country for all races. But no: Sadly, once again, the powers that be did the familiar cop-out and conceded to their own misguided belief in the old taboos.

The debate over who should be made chief minister of Perak, which has been going on for a week now, points to the same sort of intellectual and psycho-social impasse that has kept Malaysia paralysed for so long. Despite winning the biggest number of state assembly seats in the state, the DAP was not allowed to nominate one of its own to the post. The grounds for this realpolitik consideration happens to be a legal provision in the Perak constitution that apparently precludes the possibility of a non-Malay and non-Muslim from assuming the post of chief minister, even if her/his party won all the seats in the state assembly.

That such a provision emerged in a specific historical context that was determined even before the struggle for independence got off the ground is known to historians and laymen alike. But the question is this: Are we forever to remain beholden to history and trapped by the circumstances of the past? Or are we finally going to admit to ourselves that this nation-state of ours – Malaysia – is an invented construct and as such is also open to deconstruction, revision, adaptation and subsequently evolution? Are we now ready to evolve a new Malaysian politics that will finally reflect the plural and multicultural reality of Malaysian society today?

The debate over who should be the Perak chief minister appeared archaic and totally out of touch with the realities of our time. Coming immediately after an election that demonstrated the possible emergence of a pan-Malaysian cross-racial electorate, the fact that the post of chief minister for Perak was determined not by merit, experience or acumen, but rather by the racial background of the potential candidate, was surreal to say the least.

But as the dust settles and as the country slowly regains its momentum in the wake of the results of the 12th general election, let us take this opportunity to stir up some other sleeping sacred cows and rattle some other popular taboos.

To begin with, let us ask the singular question that nobody seems to have raised thus far: If, as our politicians would lead us to believe, this is indeed a country for all Malaysians, then should it not be the case that Malaysian citizenship and the commitment to the ideal of a plural Malaysian Malaysia be the guiding principle and criteria for all appointments to high office? Should that premise be accepted, would it not be conceivable that one day this country may have as its prime minister or deputy prime minister a Malaysian of non-Malay, non-Muslim and non-Male background? In other words, can we even begin to imagine the day when we may have a prime minister who happens to be of Indian-Hindu background and a woman to boot? And if such a situation is deemed unthinkable by some at the moment, we need to ask: Why? What is holding us back from entertaining such contingencies and variables? Surely what matters most in the selection of any leader or administrator is the competence and sincerity of the individual concerned; and it’s not as if it is the colour of the person’s skin that is doing the governing! (We hope not at least.)

The following imponderable questions can be addressed to all the parties in the country today as well.

Umno considers itself the party that defends the interests of the Malays and bumiputeras, though as we all know, both of these ethnic-racial categories are artificial and were invented as part of the colonial census. Be that as it may, Umno still presents itself as the party of the Malays and bumiputeras, and so let us ask this question aloud: Can the Umno leadership and membership consider the possibility that one day the president of Umno may be of Kadazan, Bajau, Iban, Penan or Peranakan background? Could a Catholic Kadazan ever dream of rising to such a post, and if not, what does this say about the institutional and structural limitations of Umno itself that does not and will not open up such opportunity structures?

PAS on the other hand claims to have transcended the culture and praxis of race politics, and the elevation of its Chinese-Muslim leader (Datuk) Anuar Tan Abdullah in Kota Bharu is a case in point. Yet PAS still has a woefully small number of non-Malay Muslims in its ranks and it remains to be seen if the party can and will make that great leap to non-racialised politics by courting the support of non-Malay Muslims across the country. Now the leaders and members of PAS may wish to consider this imponderable question as well: Can and will a non-Malay Muslim ever become the president of PAS, chief minister of Kelantan or even assume the highest post of Murshid’ul Am (Spiritual Leader) of the party and its followers?

Both the DAP and Gerakan on the other hand are ideologically-defined parties that have foregrounded their ideologies in the course of their struggles. But with the demise of Ahmad Noor, it has become an imperative for the DAP in particular to expand the racial spectrum of its leadership and membership. Already efforts are being made to undermine the hard work that the DAP has put into winning back Penang and those crucial state assembly seats in Perak and Selangor. Barbed comments about the DAP being a Chinese-dominated party may upset the sensibilities of DAP stalwarts who have laboured for so long to fulfil their leftist ambitions, but the fact remains that this perception of the DAP as a Chinese party is real for many and resonates with others too. In the same way that PAS places Islam at the forefront of its struggle, so should the DAP keep its Democratic-Socialist course, but surely the time has come when we can and should imagine the possibility of the DAP being led by a leader who may be of Malay or Indian background?

In the wake of the election, many of us have celebrated what may well be the first signs of a nascent Malaysian nation where citizenship counts the most in defining ones identity. A rupture has been opened up at last in the collective mindset that determines the conduct of our politics, and perhaps for the first time since 1957, we are in a position to collectively redefine the terms of Malaysian politics.

We need a new Malaysian politics that would breathe new life and faith in the political system, and where all of us – mainly on the basis of our universal citizenship – can claim to be stakeholders in the nation-building process. But for this to be the case we have to be brave enough to think out of the box and to imagine what was once deemed unimaginable. Our sacrosanct taboos and sacred rites have held us back too long, and kept us in a state of limbo where political superstitions ruled the day. For so long, we assumed that Malaysians would not vote for change; that the Malays would never support the DAP; that non-Muslims would never vote for PAS. But these certainties have been shattered and we now see that we are a mature, adult nation after all.

So perhaps all we need to do is push the envelope a little further, set our targets a little higher, wish and work a little harder; and our dreams for a truly democratic Malaysia that is the nation for one and all may eventually come true. We failed to send a Malaysian-Indian woman to space, but that doesn’t mean we can’t send her to the Prime Minister’s Office in Putrajaya!

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:38 pm

It is good that we have started to think out of the box.
    Just look at the USA – they will have the first black or woman President.

Malaysia will take a few more years. People now getting used to the idea of changing the federal government.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/if-prime-minister-is-forced-to-resign.html

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:57 pm

I would like to suggest that the state authorities of Penang, Selangor, Perak and Kedah negotiate with malaysiakini for special subscription rates for the civil servants.

The expense can be offset from the subscriptions to the MSM that can be reduced or eliminated.

It is not so much propaganda but more to expose them to what ordinary Malaysians are saying.

3. #3 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:08 pm

what’s MSM?

4. #4 by observer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:13 pm

Is it not true that DAP is led by Karpal Singh ? I think Farish Noor should note on this fact.

5. #5 by kcb on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:14 pm

Main Stream Media.

6. #6 by ppsbmy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

HJ Angus, we may have voted differently this time but we need more actions to truly cross those boundaries. & USA might not have a woman nor a black as president as the elections is not finished yet. After all the hypes around the democrats, the people of USA might just go for the norm in getting a male, white president in John McCain.

7. #7 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:19 pm

kcb: thanks.

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:20 pm

I suspect that the Americans want change after the Bush years and may want the Democrats this time round.

McCain is a little too old, in my opinion.

9. #9 by Penang_soul on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:25 pm

I really hope to see more NON-Malay headmasters in the SK schools in Penang under the DAP leadership. Every SK school you go in Penang the headmasters and the senior assistants are all Malays. Very-very hard to find a NON-Malay holding any top post in SK schools in Penang.The very same goes with the District Education office and the State Education Department. I don’t know if this is also true in other states but I guess it MUST be the same. I have an Indian friend who is teaching in SK school who is almost reaching his retiring age BUT he NEVER got promoted!! He is still an ordinary teacher DESPITE having all the qualifications and all the the extra advantages and inter personal skills as compared to the Malay headmasters in SK schools. He is practically helping the whole school administration in running the school as he is very skillfull in using computers and knows programming etc. an the irony here is those who are holding the top post like the headmaster himself is computer illiterate. This Indian guy who is about to retire also has diploma as compared to his headmaster who ONLY has SPM qualifications. It seems he always becomes the middleman for parents who are well versed in speaking english as the headmaster in that school don’t speak much english. AND THIS IS THE TRUE STORY OF WHAT IS HAPPENING IN PENANG.

10. #10 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:27 pm

yup, JOhn McCain is a strong contender and popular amonst the people too…….but is he as capable as perhaps Bill Clinton?????? it will be interesting to see another chapter added to the world’s history if one of the Democrats win…..
    Popular may not be = capable……

Thought Karpal Singh is chairman DAP….not sure what’s Mr. LIm’s position in DAP. The news is pretty confusing…..as confused as its Editors these days…….and readers like me :)

11. #11 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:40 pm

while the woman n the black r still fighting, the white man already touring the world

12. #12 by elsylei on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:40 pm

Angus,
    Thanks for being so considerate about getting special rates for civil servants. Don’t forget the pensioners too.
    Also do you know that in JOHOR, bumi house buyers have a discount of 15% unlike the 7% in other states.Why?

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:43 pm

“It is good that we have started to think out of the box.
    Just look at the USA – they will have the first black or woman President.” HJ Angus

The first white woman contender for the nomination of her own party for the post of US President has destroyed the first African American contender for the same! Thanks to Youtube!

The more likely candidate to succeed George Bush is John MCcain. Being a democrat, rather than vote for Hilary Clinton I’d vote a Republican in – any Republican.

14. #14 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:43 pm

Thank you Farish Noor. You made me a proud Malaysian again.

I wish to raise some issues here and I hope you can address them in due course.

We all know by now DAP, PAS and PKR have formed the coalition governments in Perak and Selangor. As much as we may want to think otherwise, many do hold the view that the coalition is mere political expediency driven by a common hatred toward inept BN government. In the long term, I guess most Malaysians are desirous of a common Malaysian identity sharing a common destiny. As a non-Malay and non Muslim (and I may be bias here), I have no problem seeing DAP ideology in forging a common Malaysian identity that is acceptable to all other races and religions. What DAP wants is equal citizenship, premised upon a secular government based on constitutional monarchy. In other words, the moment a person holds a public office, he/she must leave his/her religion, race and value at home. What the PAS want, as far as I know, is based on theological state angled upon Islam and Islamic jurisprudence. I guess such an ideology may pose a lesser problem to citizens who are Muslims but it certainly imposes on non-Muslims’ right to equal citizenship. Unless PAS changes its ideology, the party is essentially fighting for an “Islamic Malaysia” which may not be palatable to most citizens, (non-Muslims as well as some Muslims) who want a more inclusive “Malaysian Malaysia”. How can PAS reconcile or do you think other political parties like DAP and PKR should compromise to PAS. You article has not explicitly addressed this issue and I hope to have your view in due course.

15. #15 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:48 pm

sorry should be anchored upon Islam and …..

16. #16 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:51 pm

undergrad2, what is your problem with Hillary. Don’t assume everybody is Obama’s supporter, ok.

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:59 pm

sorry I brought American politics in here.
    Maybe for the next elections in Malaysia we can organise proper debates in the states held by the BR.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:03 pm

“For so long, we assumed that Malaysians would not vote for change; that the Malays would never support the DAP; that non-Muslims would never vote for PAS. But these certainties have been shattered and we now see that we are a mature, adult nation after all.”

I must say – a rather overly optimistic and less than accurate or even misleading assessment of the current situation. It is far too early for Malaysians to congratulate themselves for their supposed transition to a more mature electorate who would vote across party lines.

What happened recently is that Malaysians have for far too long allowed themselves to be continually pushed to the brink of political insanity that they would vote for anything that moves – even a cow! If someone were to have registered the name of his cow and file the necessary papers, don’t be shocked if the cow gets elected!

19. #19 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:11 pm

Yes undergrad2, i agree with you. All the races voted against BN but I think the vote of each race is governed by a different reason.

20. #20 by justiciary on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

To eradicate racial politics,Umno should take the lead.Being the dominant and a race based party in BN,its rule of 50 years has contributed to disunity among the people.DAP is a multiracial party.It fails to gain massive support from the Malays because of insinuations and image tarnishing deliberated by UMNO.Look at DAP’s office bearers and elected representatives.Isn’t it multiracial?Hopefully it will be able to attract more Malays to become members now.For the sake of having a bright future for Malaysia,race based politics should be shoved into museum.

21. #21 by kopio2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:24 pm

I think Pas is changing and the leaders is far more better than UMNO leaders. It is time to sit down and discuss for the direction from now to GE13 soon. I believe UMNO is much much more aggresive towards islamic state compare to Pas. The Kelantan and Kedah chinese has told DAP that they are no longer afraid PAS and I believe thru the coperation of PKR and DAP, PAS will not able to build Islamic country in Malaysia. For my prediction, I will say that pas will only won 40-50 seats if in the next election there is a change again and DAP will have about 35 – 45 seats, lastly PKR will have about 40-50 seats too. So it is between 115 to 145.
    So, right now Islamic state will not occur for at least next election. Let support DPP coalition.

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:32 pm

The problem with the BN parties is that so many top leaders are not able to pass a close scrutiny.

We all thought the Penang handover was smooth and gentlemanly but even there the official documents and files have disappeared.

Guess the state authorities should secure the computers and get some forensics experts to try and retrieve the documents from them.

They can destroy the documents and that may contain agreements so all BR states can also simply “buat bodoh” and let the other party to the agreement complain and also produce those agreements. They may do a plea bargain to a lesser charge.

23. #23 by novice101 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:39 pm

We, the true stakeholders of this beautiful country of Malaysia, have asserted our rights. We have claimed back what is rightly ours!

Now we have got it back, we should nurture it with loving tender care, lest we lose it again. What we have in our hand
    is very fragile, at any moment it can break into pieces. If it breaks, it would be impossible to put it back again.

So, my fellow-stakeholders, let us tread cautiously.

24. #24 by just a moment on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:54 pm

Faris, I truly enjoy reading your comment and wish many like you can step forward and share similar views.

I have been living in Malaysia since the 60’s, experience the not so pleasant days of 1969, Operation Lallang? (not sure if I got it right),Seen the ways Government handle the listless events of injustice being handle down to majority Chinese, Indians and Malays in this order….

My personal observation about radical changes in Malaysia is
    for mindset to change in terms of racial differences.(Pardon me here coz I understand we are getting away from this old thoughts)
    However the roots of the challenges must not be swept under the carpet less we will have to deal with it more ‘unpleasantly’ in the future.

Sorry, if I burst the bubble of Joy here (No intention). I will be the first to Rejoice if one day Malaysia can have PM who is a non-muslim. A sultan by the name of ….anak lelaki or perempuan or any chinese person for that matter.For that to happen it requires us to understand the past no matter how ‘unbearable’ like Australia recently apologised to the abor.? I’m not suggesting that anyone should apologise here in Malaysia but the context of burrying the hatchet and start anew is so very crucial.

1. You see Faris, in Malaysia, Other races cannot, dare not, many would not point out the weaknesses of Malays because they will end up in ISA, etc……. Its the supremo – (Suddenly religion comes to play Islamic countries etc..) No no no. So as a result, what sort of feedback can one get is anyone guess. This is one of the reason
    why I say we need more like you (Malay) to voice out. Afterall, the autopilot mode of learning has to be this way, no other way..period! It has to come from within the Malays, don’t ask me why.

2. Other than racial differences, I just hope more will talk about ‘similarities’ here. Malays are a wonderful lot.I have been personally blessed to be around with some of the best Malay friends here and obviously have also experience the other extremes. They enjoy peace, fun, success, and many other things all human enjoys. However, when it comes to ‘work’ (touchy subject now) they also like to be succesful Unfortunately they needed role models.Who can they turn to?

3. Many politicians talks about raising the standards of the Bumis, to be on par with the rest of the other races. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, the question is With What? Learn What?
    How long? From Whom? Where? For starter, I want to tell all my Malaysian Bumis friends. You are made for greatness!! like evryone else is. Whatever you want to achieved, you can have it. Just stand up and ask for help. Don’t just depend on the Government.
    Break away from the psychological bondage, be free!! Be your true-self.

4. As for the rest of us, We need to show emphaty and keep lots of faith that this one day, we’ll all be liberated. 50 yrs is nothing if we can just focus on the immediate future and here after. Yesterday is dead and gone. So Yes, Faris, Raja Petra et al, pls come forward and lead the charge! I will do my part learning and enjoying our journey together with all races here in Malaysia.

Proud to be a Malaysian. Tomorrow begins today.
    Good nite loving people of Malaysia.

25. #25 by A true Malaysian on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:56 pm

This article of Dr. Farish A Noor is actually in the same wave length as Dr. Hsu Forum article titled ‘Race and nonracialism’, which attracted a lot of responses from all races. http://hsudarren.wordpress.com/2008/02/22/race-and-nonracialism/

The 12th GE has shown that a lot of Malaysians begin to realise the saying of a great leader, Mr. Deng Xiao Ping “it doesn’t matter whether the cat is black or white, as long as it can catch rats, it is a good cat”. This saying, if look at the context of Malaysian politics, can be rephrase as “it doesn’t matter whether the PM / MB /CM is a Malay, Chinese, Indian or whatever, as long as it can manage the country well, he / she is a good PM / MB / CM”.

I believe we Malaysians can achieve this ‘noble vision’ over time if everyone of us play a part to it. Logically, leaders of all political parties are the one who should ’start kicking the ball’ for others to follow, by carrying out their duties in transparent and fair manners.

Of course, it is easier to say than to put in action. The main stumbling blocks like ‘Ketuanan Melayu’, Malay rights, bumiputra status, die hard Chinese educationist, race-based parties that champion ethnic rights need to be unblocked over time. I believe such stumbling blocks can be ‘unblocked’ not by force, but by ‘fair play’ and ‘merit’.

If those in UMNO, MCA & MIC can take the lead by forgoing their ‘race-based’ ideology, for sure this ‘noble vision’ can be achieved sooner then it should be.

26. #26 by tsalak on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:00 am

“…Are we now ready to evolve a new Malaysian politics that will finally reflect the plural and multicultural reality of Malaysian society today?…”

Perhaps not yet! the absolute determinant is that magic threshold – 2/3 majority in Parliament or State which will usher out battered yardsticks, with the rakyat empowered by greater tolerance and expanded capacity.

27. #27 by Noor Aza Othman on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:29 am

Brilliant and enlightening comment as usual from Dr. Farish Noor. The Apartheid Wall definitely needs to come down in Malaysia; for the well-being, especially within the mentality of all Malaysians. The wall was there all along but we, especially the majority ordinary Malay population were, and many still are blinded by such false sense of patriotism due to Umno’s brainwashing strategy, that we decided to ignore the wall. And yet we get so emotional about the Apartheid Wall in Israel towards the Palestinians. Such a shameful history indeed for the Malay or Islamic civilization in Malaysia.

28. #28 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:44 am

“Sorry, if I burst the bubble of Joy here (No intention). I will be the first to Rejoice if one day Malaysia can have PM who is a non-muslim. A sultan by the name of ….anak lelaki or perempuan or any chinese person for that matter.”

I for one will not rejoice. The Malay sultanate is an integral part of this nation’s history. Their positions are protected under the Constitution. To install a Chinese or Indian sultan would be to insult one of the deeply held traditions of the nation.

29. #29 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:19 am

It seems to me we will have new government after April. New government formed by the coalition. It will be very exciting

30. #30 by sotong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:40 am

Thanks to our leaders, most Malaysians were brought up not to accept and tolerate differences….they do not trust each other.

There are hateful extremists waiting for the opportunity to create trouble.

31. #31 by sotong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:06 am

Bangsa Malaysia is meaningless…..most people, in particular Malays, are not ready to accept this.

The misinformation and misunderstanding of the struggle of all races to achieve independent had done enormous permanent and long term damage to a promising multi racial and religious country.

This is the consequence of decades of bad leadership and governance of the country.

32. #32 by Jimm on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:06 am

Time will tell ……
    We have decided and now we are at the beginning of that new journey. Don’t quit !!!!!
    We all know that we are doing all these for the good of this country and our children future.
    We are not competing with the world as we are putting ourselves in an unique position of peace and harmony Malaysian for the world to witness.
    Malaysia is the best country with many uniqueness cultures to visit.
    We don’t need to be like others as we are jewels in the crown byitself.

33. #33 by dranony on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:15 am

One thing which the New State governments of Selangor, Kedah, Penang (Perak?) should do,
    is to call upon Pak Lah to publicly denounce the destruction of documents.
    If the previous administration had been honest and transparent, there would be nothing to fear.
    To destroy or hide documents from a new incoming government, gives everyone the impression that there had been dishonesty, perhaps even criminal activity, that needs to be hidden from the public.
    Even if there is no dishonesty, it would represent hindrance to the work by the incoming government for the good of the rakyat. Such intentional hindrance sets a very BAD precedence for every government.

Since Pak Lah was instrumental in choosing the previous state governments, and also in present ones in BN held states, he should public denounce this immoral destruction of documents and hindering of work for the rakyat by the incoming government.

Refusal by Pak Lah to publicly denounce this, would only give the impression that he approves of covering up of impropriety.

34. #34 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:21 am

“I for one will not rejoice. The Malay sultanate is an integral part of this nation’s history. Their positions are protected under the Constitution. To install a Chinese or Indian sultan would be to insult one of the deeply held traditions of the nation.” mycroft

I think Raja Nazrin made this point clear at this most appropriate time when non-Malays are questioning the monarchy system without understanding the heritage of the country.

“Raja Nazrin pointed out that the Ruler and the palace were guardians of the state’s customs and traditions, whose government was historically a Malay government.

“The customs and traditions and palace decorum should be safeguarded and respected and not be tarnished at all,” he said

He also noted that the royal institution was part of the history and system of governance in the Malay land.

Raja Nazrin stressed that the royal institution had remained relevant and fulfilled its role effectively from the days of British colonialism to the post-independence era.” Star Online

35. #35 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:24 am

“Document cleansing” should be a criminal offence like obstructing the authorities from carrying out their duties.

But I think the BR should also not encourage cross-overs from the other side unless they resign and submit to the wills of the people again.

You can tell us your views on the poll here if you prefer not to write.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/what-do-you-think-of-mps-who-cross-over.html

36. #36 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:25 am

sorry typo
    will not wills

37. #37 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:34 am

“Thanks to our leaders, most Malaysians were brought up not to accept and tolerate differences….they do not trust each other.

There are hateful extremists waiting for the opportunity to create trouble.” sotong

I agree that we have to be vigilant against “hateful extremists”. But different people consider “hateful extremists” differently depending on their viewpoints. DAP also have extremists.

To me, this Farish Noor’s article is quite extreme.
    I am not sure of his intention, but as a non-Malay I would steer clear of this debate and let the Malays duke it out among themselves.

38. #38 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:47 am

“The debate over who should be made chief minister of Perak, which has been going on for a week now, points to the same sort of intellectual and psycho-social impasse that has kept Malaysia paralysed for so long.” Farish Noor

Is this the reason why some commentators here insults and calling others name such as stupid, morons etc.?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:58 am

“But the question is this: Are we forever to remain beholden to history and trapped by the circumstances of the past? Or are we finally going to admit to ourselves that this nation-state of ours – Malaysia – is an invented construct and as such is also open to deconstruction, revision, adaptation and subsequently evolution? Are we now ready to evolve a new Malaysian politics that will finally reflect the plural and multicultural reality of Malaysian society today?” – Farish Noor

It is the religion isn’t it?

40. #40 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:04 am

dawsheng, you can’t disagree that some comments here have been pretty stupid.

41. #41 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:07 am

Raja Nazrin stressed that the royal institution had remained relevant and fulfilled its role effectively from the days of British colonialism to the post-independence era.” Star Online

What ever respect we have to the Sultan,we must remember the Sultan themselves almost agrees to the formation of the Malayan Union(which it’s good or bad status is debattable).

Also for numerous times, the Sultan themselves lead the offensive against the detractor’s of British rule like in Pahang.(Datuk Bahaman)

42. #42 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:16 am

“Can the Umno leadership and membership consider the possibility that one day the president of Umno may be of Kadazan, Bajau, Iban, Penan or Peranakan background? Could a Catholic Kadazan ever dream of rising to such a post, and if not, what does this say about the institutional and structural limitations of Umno itself that does not and will not open up such opportunity structures?” – Farish Noor

UMNO seeks to dominate other races to overcome its institutional and structural limitations, but to dominate other races it has to do it within its institutional and structural limitations, UMNO is not meant to evolve. The same applies to MCA and MIC, they divide the people among the races so they can cooperate with each other, this what I called LPPL.

43. #43 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:20 am

mycroft, I think people shouldn’t be too suprise if they found out that they are actually better or more intelligent than others.

44. #44 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:25 am

“Can and will a non-Malay Muslim ever become the president of PAS, chief minister of Kelantan or even assume the highest post of Murshid’ul Am (Spiritual Leader) of the party and its followers?” – Farish Noor

God forbids!

45. #45 by justiciary on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:25 am

Tradition,custom and royal institution may not last forever.Take for example Iran,France,India,China,these countries were once ruled by emperors or kings.Nepal soon will see the monarchy collapsing.

46. #46 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:28 am

“In the same way that PAS places Islam at the forefront of its struggle, so should the DAP keep its Democratic-Socialist course, but surely the time has come when we can and should imagine the possibility of the DAP being led by a leader who may be of Malay or Indian background?”

Can any Malay who apply to become DAP member but rejected please stand up?

47. #47 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:32 am

Tradition,custom and royal institution may not last forever.Take for example Iran,France,India,China,these countries were once ruled by emperors or kings.Nepal soon will see the monarchy collapsing.

Except they only got one.We got 9.

48. #48 by sotong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:36 am

Old Geezer, many non Malay like you are very concerned of hateful extremists in position of trust, power and influence…..these are the people that could create the most damage to the country.

49. #49 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:55 am

If Utusan continues to go ahead with its unprofessional biased reporting style,soon the paper will be fit for cleaning backside like what we used to do with old papers in the kampungs during the 50s and 60s.

50. #50 by Godfather on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:25 am

I don’t know and I don’t care if the majority happen to be more intelligent than others, but the basic tenet of the majority is this:

Any purported supporter of the DAP who criticises the DAP decision to work with PKR and PAS in a coalition, and who openly says that we should give up state administration to BN rather than cooperate with PAS is an idiot. No other way to describe this person.

51. #51 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:26 am

Yeah,I thought the media would change after 5 states have been conquered by the opposition?Not to mention the states that the paper’s being published is in oppositions hand.Guest they’ll never learn.

52. #52 by Godfather on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:54 am

Anyone who would rather foresake nation-building, and pursue a narrow-minded agenda which would be seized upon by the BN to undermine the Opposition coalition agenda has to be a moron. What other way to describe this person ? A patriot ?

53. #53 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:02 pm

“Any purported supporter of the DAP who criticises the DAP decision to work with PKR and PAS in a coalition, and who openly says that we should give up state administration to BN rather than cooperate with PAS is an idiot. No other way to describe this person.” Godfather

Uncle Kit, is Godfather your blog spokeperson?

54. #54 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

I hope nobody here is involved.

“Perak PAS has lodged a report at the district police headquarters here over poison pen letters being circulated by unknown groups claiming that the party would turn Perak into an Islamic state.” Star Online

55. #55 by Godfather on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:24 pm

Old Geezer:

There are so-called DAP supporters who are doing it right on this blog ! No need for poison pen letters.

56. #56 by Godfather on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:27 pm

Dawsheng:

I am not Kit’s spokesperson. You just have to accept what Kit has decided and what Kit is trying to tell people like you – read Ishar Nahappan’s posting, Farish Noor’s posting and Bakri Musa’s posting in this blog. If you can’t understand their message, I can help you.

57. #57 by Jimm on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:33 pm

To welcome the new era of BR which brought about by rakyat decision to change , we must first change.
    Changes are something very alien and troublesome to many.
    Like it or not, we just need to change.

58. #58 by Wisdom above on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:35 pm

Have you read MT posting on “PKR invites Umno for talks on NEP ” ?

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

..’National Development Policy’(NDP)…

.. TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Someone from Sabah talk sense….. My Sabahans friends are laughing at us .

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

59. #59 by limkamput on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Godfather,
    I think there are genuine concerns expressed by others with regard to PAS ideology and ultimate objective. I have earlier addressed these issues to Farish Noor and I hope he will provide some insights into these. I repost what I wrote earlier for your information.

“We all know by now DAP, PAS and PKR have formed the coalition governments in Perak and Selangor. As much as we may want to think otherwise, many do hold the view that the coalition is mere political expediency driven by a common hatred toward inept BN government. In the long term, I guess most Malaysians are desirous of a common Malaysian identity sharing a common destiny. As a non-Malay and non Muslim (and I may be bias here), I have no problem seeing DAP ideology in forging a common Malaysian identity that is acceptable to all other races and religions. What DAP wants is equal citizenship, premised upon a secular government based on constitutional monarchy. In other words, the moment a person holds a public office, he/she must leave his/her religion, race and value at home. What the PAS want, as far as I know, is based on theological state anchored upon Islam and Islamic jurisprudence. I guess such an ideology may pose a lesser problem to citizens who are Muslims but it certainly imposes on the non-Muslims’ right to equal citizenship. Unless PAS changes its ideology, the party is essentially fighting for an “Islamic Malaysia” which may not be palatable to most citizens, (non-Muslims as well as some Muslims) who want a more inclusive “Malaysian Malaysia”. How can PAS reconcile or do you think other political parties like DAP and PKR should compromise to PAS. You article has not explicitly addressed this issue and I hope to have your view in due course.”

In our quest to form state governments we may have inadvertently overlooked the fundamental principle of DAP. The raison d’etre of DAP is Malaysians First. This is totally “uncompromisable” with PAS’ ideology which is to set up a theological state. I can go along with the coalition governments for a simple reason that the present group of DAP leaders are assertive and conversant with the DAP philosophy. However, over time leadership changes and DAP may just end up like an MCA or Gerakan playing the subservient role and continue to allow PAS to assert its influence. We have trade short term expediency with long term misery with UMNO for 50 years. We don’t want to do the same with PAS for another 50 years. Right now, PAS is only saying they will work with DAP to govern the states of Perak and Selangor. PAS has never said they have given up Islamic Malaysia. I think once we have nurtured PAS’ strength to that of UMNO prior to March 8, 2008, we can kiss good bye to multiracial Malaysia again. I concur with some other bloggers here that we have to be forever vigilant on this.

60. #60 by sotong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:14 pm

There are only a few monarchy left in this world……our neighbour Indonesia has lost it.

Ours is one of the oldest in the world and it is unique to the country…..like the unique culture and traditions of bumi, they are beautiful and must be fully protected at all costs.

61. #61 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:06 pm

Lim Keng Yaik is at it again, singing the old tune over and over again. This time he has the b*lls to say that DAP should have gone against the Sultan’s wish. Just imagine a BN statesman asking DAP to revolt against the royalty. What a trouble maker.

“Gerakan adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik said he could not understand why DAP supports a menteri besar from Pas for Perak when Pas’ objectives for a theocratic Islamic state remains unchanged.” Star Online

62. #62 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:13 pm

One of the oldest? come on…now.Since when?400 years ago?The England monarch comes a way way longer.Lots of our sultan actually branch out from Parameswara.(Who wasnt local by the way.)The Sultan of Malacca then send his prince to other states to be king and thus the formation of our present day states kingdom.I think one of our Sultan,I’m not sure but Pahang I guest are not even descendant of king but a descendant of the Bendahara which claim the throne after killing the original Sultan who are deemed atrocious to its people.

63. #63 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:22 pm

“I am not Kit’s spokesperson. You just have to accept what Kit has decided and what Kit is trying to tell people like you – read Ishar Nahappan’s posting, Farish Noor’s posting and Bakri Musa’s posting in this blog. If you can’t understand their message, I can help you.” Godfather

By calling people moron and stupid? Hey, thanks but no thanks!

64. #64 by k1980 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:22 pm

YB LKS and YAB LGE,
    To counter the never-ending false news from Utusan, Star, NST ect, why not set up a news website Rocket Online similar to that run by PAS’s Harakah Online?

65. #65 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:45 pm

controlnation1, the current royal family in Britain isn’t even as old as 400 years. They are descended from the Hanoverian line, who came to rule during the 18th century because the laws of England forbid Catholics from ascending the throne.

66. #66 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 3:37 pm

I beg to differ.English monarch had existed more than 1000 years
    (url)http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_monarchy(/url)
    (b)Monarchical lineage(/b)
    The current British monarchy can trace its ancestral lineage back to the Anglo-Saxon period, and ultimately back to the kings of the Angles and the early Scottish kings. By the year 1000, the petty kingdoms of early medieval Britain had resolved into the kingdoms of England and Scotland. Beginning in 1603, when the Scottish king inherited the English throne, both kingdoms were ruled by a single monarch, and in 1707 the kingdoms were merged to create the Kingdom of Great Britain and, essentially, the monarchy of the United Kingdom today.

Queen Marry Tudor and Queen Elizebeth are sisters though they profess different religion.

67. #67 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:36 pm

I think if you look at it carefully, the current British Royal Family cannot claim a direct lineage of more than 350 years. Everything else before that is murky.

68. #68 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:55 pm

And the same goes to our monarch.
    The johor Sultan actually a descendant of a Temenggung.Temenggung Ibrahim(which is the father of the infamous Maharaja Abu Bakar).And that only occured about 150 years ago.

Dont forget about the Spain monarch as well.the Swaziland monarch,Monaco,Morocco and also the great japan.That goes a long long way.

69. #69 by Godfather on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:26 pm

“In our quest to form state governments we may have inadvertently overlooked the fundamental principle of DAP. The raison d’etre of DAP is Malaysians First. This is totally “uncompromisable” with PAS’ ideology which is to set up a theological state.” Limkamput.

If you believe that it is “totally uncompromisable”, then why are you still with DAP ? Of course, you did go on to say that “I can go along with the coalition governments…” which is a far cry from the position of those who keep regurgitating anti-PAS statements in every thread of this blog. It is a far cry from the position of those who openly demand that DAP should get out of the ruling coalitions, and even let BN rule again.

I am willing to coexist with those with say that their position is generally uncompromisable but willing to give the coalition a chance. Those who are not willing to give change a chance ought to go back to being BN members.

70. #70 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:32 pm

And what is the point of bringing up whether or not the various royal families in Malaysia have been present for a few hundred years? The fact is they are there, and their stati are protected by the Constitution.

71. #71 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 7:48 am

“If you (limkamput) believe that it is “totally uncompromisable”, then why are you still with DAP ? ” Godfather

Good point! But don’t hold your breath for a rational answer if I were you.

“I can go along with the coalition governments…” which is a far cry from the position of those who keep regurgitating anti-PAS statements in every thread of this blog. It is a far cry from the position of those who openly demand that DAP should get out of the ruling coalitions, and even let BN rule again.” Godfather

In direct reference to he who stands above all others currently studying philosophy – “regurgitating anti-PAS” material, obssessed with the ideological differences to the exclusion of everything else.

72. #72 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 7:54 am

“The raison d’etre of DAP is Malaysians First. ” limkamput

It is not worth your time trying to figure out what this self-proclaimed pseudointellectual that has run amok in this blog for a while now, mean by “Malaysians First”. Does he expect foreigners to be appointed to the Cabinet and state EXCOs??

73. #73 by controlnation1 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 9:35 am

“”mycroft Says:

Yesterday at 23: 32.19
    And what is the point of bringing up whether or not the various royal families in Malaysia have been present for a few hundred years? The fact is they are there, and their stati are protected by the Constitution””

Well Sotong started it.

My point is we should stop this “THE SULTAN ALWAYS RIGHT,MENTALITY.Makes Malaysian look dumb.

74. #74 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

“The raison d’etre of DAP is Malaysians First. ” limkamput

LadyGodiva Says:“It is not worth your time trying to figure out what this self-proclaimed pseudointellectual that has run amok in this blog for a while now, mean by “Malaysians First”. Does he expect foreigners to be appointed to the Cabinet and state EXCOs??”

I don’t think you will ever understand what Malaysians First meant, judging from the question you asked of me. Taking pity of you let me explain. Please be humble and learn something new to day, ok.

Malaysians First means Malaysians First, not Malays first, not Chinese first, not Indians first, not Kadazans first, not Ibans first and not anybody first but Malaysians first, understand? It means complete equality among Malaysians – Malaysians no longer segregated and “hierarchised” by race, religions, ethnicity, regions and family background. Got it? The fact that you asked “do I expect foreigners to be appointed to the cabinet and state EXCO” shows that you are completely scr*wed in your understanding for the fundamental philosophy of DAP. I usually don’t humiliate others for nothing. Frankly you are not fit to be here. You have to learn to read first from the postings of others before you venture to open you big mouth.

75. #75 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:22 pm

Ladygorilla,
    I have no problem with the response given by Godfather. I think he understood me and I understood him. There is no need for you to regurgitate him. If you have nothing to contribute, just shut your mouth. What you did is plagiarism.

76. #76 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 1:25 pm

May I suggest that Limkamput and Lady Godiva take their personal feud somewhere else ?

77. #77 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:03 pm

What is your problem Godfather? if you want to suggest anything, i think you should suggest that this ladygorilla goes fly kite. Please don’t involve me as i did not start all these nonsense. You are not as popular as you think. When you argued endlessly with others, did we ask you go somewhere else?

78. #78 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:21 pm

By the way Godfather, I think you are fanatic and blind supporter of DPP. Before election and for the purpose of electioneering, we may resort to beating up the drum to gather support. I think now is not the time to behave like a Nazi supporter. Ask yourself in what way are you different from some of those UMNO supporters in Penang, Ipoh and Selangor recently. I hope DAP leadership is not a group of people who look forward to supporter like you – b*ll carrying, fanatical, blind and brainless.

79. #79 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:36 pm

Godfather says: “If you believe that it is “totally uncompromisable”, then why are you still with DAP ?”

You are a typical arrogant and fanatical supporter. You think DAP belongs to you? Honestly, if you are the SG of DAP I will quit no matter how much I hope the ideal of DAP.

Dr. Chen Man Hin also gave a lot of comments of PAS’ theological state. Why don’t you ask him to quit too?

80. #80 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:50 pm

Lim Kam Put:

People like you give DAP a bad name. You don’t even know whether you are coming or going, judging by your self-contradictory comments. I have condemned Karpal for his “over my dead body” comment when asked about working with PAS before the elections, and I will tell Chen Man Hin the same thing. We cannot be hypocritical by accepting PAS supporters’ votes, but not accepting that we could work with them. The words “totally uncompromisable” is not acceptable to coalition governments, in case you don’t know.

Go take your medicine and come talk to me.

81. #81 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:31 pm

For you I think no amount of medicine will help.

Totally “uncompromisable” is referred to their respective parties’ philosophies. I have never said the two can not work together right now, which to me is governed more by their common hatred for inept BN. Let me ask you a simple question: are the two parties DAP and PAS working together spurred by a common enemy or they are together governed by a common aspiration. I think they are people here who can rightly raise this issue. In the aftermath of election victory, we can all be very benign and forgiving on principles that we hold dear. We shall wait and see. One of them has to give way.

82. #82 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 6:44 pm

“Go take your medicine and come talk to me.” Godfather

I think you meant “medications”. It is common knowledge that he tends to miss his medications and when he does he litters this blog with his ‘intellectual’ excrement.

83. #83 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:50 pm

ladygorilla, you don’t even understand what is Malaysians First. What else is there left for me to say. My sincere advice to you: please don’t indulge in intellectual diarrhoea anymore; we have enough of your stinging smell.

84. #84 by John123 on Friday, 21 March 2008 - 5:16 pm

The Malaysian Election is now over. It is time that all elected representatives should take ACTION to serve the rakyat of Malaysia. It is time for all members of the government and state government to sit down together and take ACTION to serve the rakyat of Malaysia and to strengthen the economy of Malaysia.

There may be some unhappiness here and there. But most important all parties should sit down and work together to serve the rakyat now and strenthen Malaysia’s economy.

This is important. it is not good for the world to see Malaysia
    as having political parties that are not at peace with each other.
    Irrespective of which party we come from, once the people
    have decided on the member of parliaments and
    assemblymen; then it is important that all members of
    the State governement and Government should work
    together now to serve the RAKYAT

In terms of business, Malaysia has to compete with the ever complex and challenging golabl market place. In my view, The government and State Governments will have to look into the folllowing immediately:

1. To help Malaysia would be entrepreneurs to start new
    businesses by providing them with loans. One way is to provide
    an opportunity for EPF contributors to withdraw partially
    from their EPF account to start a business.

Banks should be willing to give out loans to people to start
    businesses.

2. More training should be given to entrepreneurs or would be
    entrepreneurs to ensure that they have the essential knowledge
    and skills to handle the business in the global economy.
    It is no point for a person to start a business and have not
    sufficient knowledge and skills in making the business profitable.

We should make Malaysia the Centre for Entrepreneurship
    Excellence in Asia; whereby people in this country is trained
    to have an entrepreneurship mindset and entrepreneur
    competence.

3. The development of more consultants and coaches to
    guide entrepreneurs.

4. To ensure we provide a home for the homeless and the
    unfortunate in Malaysia.

5. To create more jobs, we need more business to be started
    up. This is important.

I hope the government and state government should continue to work with the private sectors – to grow Malaysia’s economy. People in Malaysia should also work hard and willing to learn new things, acquire new knowledge and skills.

Everyone should make it a point to take POSITIVE action
    to help Malaysia economy to grow. Talking alone is not enough.
    Planning alone is not enough. The secret of SUCCESS is doing, Implementation and taking positive action to make the Malaysian DREAM come true.

85. #85 by mauriyaII on Friday, 21 March 2008 - 11:28 pm

Broad minded Malay intellectuals like Farish Noor may understand what a Malaysian identity means and even dare to think of a day when a non-Malay and non-Muslim male or female might be the PM of the country. This country of of ours needs brave and liberated individuals like him to open the minds of the UMNOputras in the country.

When an UMNOputra can’t even visualize a time when the NEP is no more or when he fears his crutches might be taken away and left to compete with others, how is it possible for him even to think out of the box.

When the UMNOputras are not ashamed of their ‘dole mentality’ and when they have in their psyche that all they need is to proclaim their exalted state as ‘sons of the soil’ to satiate their ever increasing avarice, when can a non-Malay ever be allowed to hold a high post as the MB of a state. For that matter even the Sultans do not entertain such an idea. The happenings in states such as Perak and Selangor shows that we have a long, long way to go.

What Farish Noor proposes can only come to pass if the Malaysian and State Constitutions are amended accordingly. In countries practising real democracy the citizens can practise any religion of their choice and as citizens they have the right to question the government of the day about transparency and accountablity. As a last resort they have the judiciary to hear their case and seek redress. But NOT in Bolehland. Even the intergrity of the judiciary has been compromised by orders of the executive.

If you dare to exert your rights even in a peaceful way, you would find yourself under detention not because you have gone against the laws of the country but because the UMNOputras don’t like either your colour, race, creed, religion or your views. Even though the constitution grants every citizen the right to practise his religion without persecution or harrassment, the opposite is true in Bolehland.

Anyway not everthing is grim and bleak. So long as more and more enlightened Malay intellectuals like Farish Noor speak up and start a renaissance in the mindset of others especially the UMNOputras, there is hope. The 12th general election has been an eye-opener.

It may not happen during our time but the seeds need to be sown now to germinate and bear fruit in the not distant future.

86. #86 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 6:03 pm

Dear Farish Noor,

I refer to your posting on Malaysian astranaut on also the choice of Menteri Besar of Perak.

I am not so sure how you come to conclusion that the said astranaut, Dr Sheikh, was chosen simply because of his race, sex, and religion. As far as I( and every Malaysian whom I met), that was not the issue.

Why create an issue out of nothing? Simply because a Malay was chosen to be astranaut does not mean that racism is the factor. Can you prove that he was chosen oven an Indian candidate from Kulim simply because of his race?

As far the choice of Menteri besar, surely you cant forget that UMNO despite being the most senior coalition partners inPenang after 1990 election, in humility allowed Gerakan to keep the Chief Minister’s post?

So, what is wrong in asking DAP to show the same magnaminity, if it has one. And perhaps you should also ask DAP whether it is willing to put anyone who is not the familiy members od Lim Kit Siang as its leader. In all fairness, what are the fates of those who Kit siang see as threat to Lim eng Guan supremacy in DAP’s politics?

As for UMNOputras, only the blind will refuse to see that every Malays have at some point in their lives benefits from UMNO’s policies. Not believing me? Why do not you check the lists of scholarships given to Malaysians in the past 30 years. They includes the very same people who currently admonish UMNO. DEspite what you tried to portay, no Malays can deny that UMNO’s policies does help. Thanks God, for UMNO’s policies, Malays professionals are now a norm. It is political harakiri for Malays should they have politicians who maintains a very anti-Malay attitude like you.

What is wrong for Malays to support a Malay. At least UMNO is not scaring Malays on its long lasting frienship with MCA, MIC.Is that not what DAP did? Scaring the Chinese by saying that a vote to MCA is a vote to UMNO supremacy. Clearly DAP is playing with racial issue here.

87. #87 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 8:31 pm

Ah, Shamsul, if based on your logic that because a significant number of Malays have been ‘helped’ by UMNO and therefore, ‘what’s wrong for Malays to support a Malay,’ and the fact that such a decision would have been made by a Cabinet totally dominated by Malays, it is therefore very, very plausible that Farish is right! That trashing of ‘Malay for Malay in an ethno-centric self-serving behaviour’ is not Farish’s contention may have entirely missed your sharp eye and mind. It is about ‘…why not a NON-MALAY, NON-MUSLIM for even Prime Minister.’ It might be intersting to read your views either for or against this proposition – WHY NOT A NON-MALAY, NON-MUSLIM for PRIME MINISTER? Why not?

And by the way, MCA helped thousands and thousands of Chinese get the education that the quota system deprived them of. Today, this same thousands of Chinese are the first to condemn the MCA for being running dogs of UMNO. MCA continues to do so even now when it is squealing and thrashing in pain like the slaughtered pigs they ‘close one eye’ to as the farmers suffer high-handed rebukes to their appeals for help.

And do you know why these thousands and thousands of Chinese turned their backs on MCA? Because MCA no longer cares enough to fight for the future of our children – as MALAYSIANS in the LAND OF OUR BIRTH! MALAYSIANS OF ALL RACES WITH ONE COMMON DESTINY!

What about UMNO? Has the quota system worked? Has the twisted meritocracy system worked? Have handouts worked? Are you not familiar with the adage? – GIVE A FISH TO A MAN, HE EATS FOR A DAY. TEACH HIM TO FISH, HE EATS FOR LIFE! Has UMNO taught Malays to fish or is UMNO throwing out fishes for Malays to catch? The Chinese are not that fortunate. Even less fortunate are the Indians. Unless of course you happen to be Samys and Lingams willing to crawl (like the running dogs of MCA) at the feet of UMNO hegemony.

Only Malays like you will call the UMNO-MCA-MIC master-servant relationship a ‘long-lasting friendship.’ It’s been 20 long years of servitude since illegal UMNO took over.

At least the DAP has the gumption and balls of steel to stand for an ideal that EMBRACES the INTERESTS OF ALL RACES in a MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA! Truly developed nations in the world allow their citizens to challenge RACISM and DISCRIMINATION because equality of all men is both enshrined in their constitutions as well as the right to exercise this protected with their lives! And you have a decent judiciary to ensure your basic human right to equality free of racism and discrimination is protected.

88. #89 by controlnation1 on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 1:49 am

Role model

here