Apology to Perak Sultan and Regent – No offence intended

My three-paragraph statement at 7 pm last night that the DAP Central Executive Committee emergency meeting on 9th March had not given approval for a PAS Mentri Besar to head a Perak coalition state government was not made out of disrespect to the Perak Sultan and Regent both whom I have always held in the highest regard and I apologise for any offence caused. The statement was on the party position at the time.

There have been further discussions and developments on the matter in the hours after the statement. Announcements of the latest position will be made.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:11 pm

Tnanks Uncle,
    I knew my faith in you is justified . I understand that what the Sultan decided was not really fair to DAP and you are magnanimous in giving the apology anyway.
    I pray you will always bear in mind that the vote given to DAP and the mandate is from all Malaysians including Malays like me .

2. #2 by BetterMalaysia on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:12 pm

YB Lim;

last night l called you UNCLE KIT, today you’re different one, really a YB. Never pretend to be a Guan Eng father, DAP Supremo, Chinese fighter BUT nation statesman.

Kudos for you sir.

We can deny BN in GE13.

3. #3 by Joetan on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:13 pm

In this difficult situation that DAP is facing I would like to say that at this moment, this can be considered a wise move by Sr. Lim. From the begining I have state that I dont quite agree to have a chinese candidate to be the menteri besar of Perak. This is bcos in the next election Barisan Rakyat might faced a backlash from the malay communites. BN will definitely stand to gain from backlash if there is any. Secondly, if a chinese from the DAP will to become the menteri besar then he will faced a lot of difficulty to run the state efficiently. He will faced tremendous pressure from the BN and the malay communities in Perak. Issue such as land, housing and etc will be made into a racial issues.We must bear in mind that the non-malays in Perak are the minoritiies. Thirdly, the candidate from PAS will probably take a more moderate islamic stand in this mixed population unlike Kelantan. Fourthly, the perak ppl irrespective of race will gain more if the PAS candidate practise equality, transparency and accountibility unlike the BN discriminatory policies. This will definitely put pressure on the BN government to change their existing discriminatory policies if they wants to win back the non-malays vote. From this episode , we might say that it is too bad that the PKR candidates do not have any paper qualification.

4. #4 by deborahwong on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:14 pm

Uncle Lim,
    I understand the predicament that DAP faces, and in my opinion, there is no single candidate out of the 3 components that would meet 100% approval from everyone. The saving grace of course, is that BR has a common vision and purpose to bring about a just society for all malaysians, to uphold justice, practise good governance and to weed out corruption.

Your earlier stand is not without merit completely, esp in the light of MCA’s accusation published in the STAR today. The sentiments of the DAP supporters notwithstanding, however, we need to look at the big picture. I imagine you and your team will be reaching out to the people of Perak to help them understand and to garner their support for the new state leadership team. Lets all give the new MB a chance to prove to the people that, the new govt of perak will be good and fair to all.

I applaud you for the courage shown thus far… to be a dissenting voice even though u must know yesterday that your stand will not be popular, and hving done that, eat the humble pie and apologise now.

I wish you and your team all the best….

5. #5 by digard on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:14 pm

Thanks, Kit, for doing the right thing.
    Let’s bury this topic in the category of ‘human mistakes’, irrespective of the damage it might have done.

“I am sick of reading news about samy or MCA. Can the newspapers stop reporting those meaningless news?”
    pulau_sibu, why not instead you stop reading them?
    If you stopped reading them, and everyone else stopped reading (and buying) them, the problem would solve itself.
    I am sure the wise leaders and advisers of BR are aware of the fact, that one of the next huge steps will be the establishment of a daily paper providing fair reporting. If things move on as they are at the moment, Vincent Tan might be tempted to pick up on the idea.
    Also, our brothers and sisters in the rural area must not be deprived of decent reporting, neither.

6. #6 by hwt on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:14 pm

Hi,

I am one of the voters who gave PAS a 72-vote majority in Lubok Merbau, which may be one of the reasons why the opposition is able to have a marginal majority in the Perak state assembly. I hope Mr Lim and his DAP “comrades” treasure the opportunity to prove their governing ability to the people, not resorting to political ploys even before the formation of the state government. PAS is a minority party in the assembly, and with a large number of BN representatives, the people are not worried about over-islamization of the state. In fact, from recent reports in even Chinese newspapers, quite a lot of people are having the impression that the PAS candidate is indeed a better choice among those proposed.

Hann Wei

7. #7 by tsondrue on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:15 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

Please, you must help the People in Perak to stop this. DAP must rule, I heard that there is such rule that only muslims are allowed to be MB.

Honestly if other parties are made the MB, then 4 years later, not alot of people will vote for Opposition party anymore. I was born in Perak and I dont feel like anyone of us like Jawi words on the signboards,

Chinese or Indians or any other religion people can rule the state as well, why would people say we are a multi culture country where it can only be run by muslims?

Better say this is a muslim country and people like chinese and indian stay at our land! This is so unfair!

Uncle Lim, with all respect DAP must win this or opposition will be at threat on the next election.

I would say not more than 10% of people would prefer Perak to be run bu PAS, can you imagine your wife or daugters are fouced to wear Tudung? no more pubs and liquors? no more late nights?

Please help!!

8. #8 by andy6000 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:16 pm

Thanks Hero from DAP for your sincerly APOLOGY! DATO Lim Kit Siang you are my hero again. You had teach us the lesson we must do our correction for the mistake we made. Thumb up for our Yang Berkhidmat LIM KIT SIANG.

9. #9 by rocketintoparliment on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

One more thing Uncle YB Lim,

You are now the govt of Penang, Perak & Selangor. You are now no more the opposition. Whatever that you say or do will now have an impact on our economy… Look at today’s KLSE, after one comment from you.. it drops again. This is because your comment now has an impact on investors and this will have an negative impact on us ( the normal rakyat who is trying to survive ).

I urge you and your party to think before you open your mouth and say something stupid as you are now the govt of today and not just an opposition party or leader. Please, do not open your mouth and shoot like before as DAP is now the Govt of 3 major states in Malaysia. No point saying something and then say sorry later as investors will just move away and we , the rakyat who voted for you suffer. DAP is no more an opposition party like before, in 2008 DAP is the kerajaan of perak, penang & selangor. Please remember this ya..

10. #10 by andy6000 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

And YB Lim, when you will have talk again in Ipoh?

11. #11 by stnaaron on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:19 pm

All DAP member please be a observant and feed back in this blog if you can see people are trying to spread lies , negative thought that they are using to split barisan BA… especially the little ong saying that DAP duped chinese voters… i don’t think the little ong is a chinese …supporter… I heard that during that nite after election on 08,march,08 almost everybody that votes for BA are praying on thier knees to deny 2/3.. i got feedback from among my fren… most of them are praying hard for the change/…. take it easy LKS and the gang I think in our nation we have 12million are behind your back …. for support…

12. #12 by peterngchinpoh on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:20 pm

YB Lim.

Bravo on your statement. You will have my continued support in our fight for justice and equality irrespective of race and religion. Let us just form the government first and from there BA has to prove to the rakyat that they are really an alternative to BN. Your speech in USJ12 eventhough you are not well at that time inspired us. Irrespective of the race and religion we are all brothers and sisters and we are malaysians. Give PAS and BA a fighting chance.

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

Why Pak Lah wants the NEP to continue— because the BIG CRUNCH is coming
    http://english.aljazeera.net/NR/exeres/958CC5D2-638C-428E-AF84-91041B355EF0.htm

14. #14 by alegria on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

Uncle Lim,

From the bottom of my heart, please do not repeat such a stupid action. I woke up this morning and my ulcer acted up because of the news showing the statement you made yesterday evening. I am thinking, first your son has to go on air telling the whole country about the NEP and your rejection of PAS Menteri Besar. I smelt racism at highest level. I hope and pray that your apologies can undo the damage you have done to the DAP and the hurt that you have incurred to the voters who voted for DAP.

Please instruct you son to set up a website to gather input on how to make Penang great again. And tell him, the abolishment of the local council summon is not a good ideal, it will be better if the summon can be discounted like 70% if the offender pay within 30 days. And do not abolish the NEP, you can practise the NEP in a more transparent and fairer manner. NEP is meant to help the poor of all races, so do it and don’t stop it.

Lastly uncle Lim, loosen your grip on the young team you have there. Do not act like you own them. You have a good team now, let them grow and reinvent a more dynamic DAP for the future.

15. #15 by kchyip on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:23 pm

Dear Democracy,

Do you know why we are supporting DAP this time?

If comparing with BN, DAP is with lesser experience to lead the PERAK state!

We supported DAP because it is able to fight not only for the chinese community but also for all malaysian towards democracy!!!!

DAP is able to do and say something that BN would not do in BN! This is the most important strength of DAP!

Unfortunately, DAP has made a very wrong decision in PERAK!!! Now, DAP is no longer as its role! DAP Perak just acts as MCA!!

DAP of perak is giving up the people there as well as democracy for power and certain position!

Please remember that :-

IF DAP of PERAK acts like BN , why dont we choose BN since BN has more experiences?

The minority to lead the majority in PERAK is a shame on Democracy!

DAP of Perak would pay for it in the 13th GE!!!!

DEMOCRACY FALLS IN PERAK !!!!!!!

Many Thanks!

16. #16 by kcb on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:23 pm

Few could have anticipated the outcome of the 12th GE. Quite obviously, I don’t think the possibility of forming coalition government in states like Perak and Selangor had crossed the mind of PKR/DAP/PAS leaders.

It is not an easy task to form a coalition government in such a short time, especially when the 3 parties were not prepared in the first place. I believe that the voters understand this situation and are prepared to be very forgiving for any initial hiccups.

Please try not to make any hasty decisions and/or statements. We voted for BR and we want to see BA succeed!

17. #17 by ajax on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:25 pm

Uncle Lim,

Pls understand now u r the government not the opposition…discretion is greatly advised. We have put u there to teach the ruling party how to administer a Malaysian state and how all Malaysian can co-exist to develop a state regardless who the MB is coz the state in not the MB’s alone. It’s the rakyat’s…MAKKALSAKTHI..remember.

18. #18 by bokiasee on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:26 pm

Uncle Kit, you know we have been waiting 50 years for this moment, we had been working so hard at the bottom of our heart to see DAP will prosper and florish for the nation. Future generation’s propect lays in the hands of B.R.

So, the responsibilities and tasks lay on your shoulders and vital. Have a clear mind and objective NO matter what kind of obstacles strive on. This is just a beginning………………

19. #19 by kcb on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:26 pm

sorry, …we want to see BR succeed!

20. #20 by phinixx on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:27 pm

OPINION IS OPINION,FACT IS FACT.

21. #21 by gofortruth on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

Thank you Uncle Lim.
    It was a test on your humility & meekness.
    It takes a brave man & a bigger man to turn around & to apologise on an extremely difficult decision made earlier and today you are that bigger man.
    It goes to show how humble & pliable uncle Lim is and he is always at the ground to listen & lead all the rakyat of Malaysia.
    Many congratulations uncle Lim, you have passed the test with flying colours!
    Rest well & stay sharp!

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

All’s well, that ends well….well, not quite so fast, at least not just yet.

The journey to replace BN has only just begun. Now BARISAN RAKYAT has to prove they can deliver in the 5 states, helping each other to score more and more successes along the way.

Come 2013, Barisan Rakyat will be ready to be the new government in Malaysia and will replace the corrupt, crony-istic BN.

23. #23 by boonbooncompany85 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

i am dap supporter. thanks for your wise decision. we need a chance to show our leadership and now sultan has given it to us. we should appreciate that. i respect malays and indians. they are my fren. i welcome the wind of change. and i strongly believe the new perak government is better than the previous !

24. #24 by andrwo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:29 pm

Uncle Lim – I voted and I persuaded my family to vote for you – so please don’t disappoint me by doing these sort of brainless CRAP.

If it have to be PAS, so be it. It looks STUPID and DISHONOURABLE to have given written agreement for the Sultan to pick as he wishes, only to cry uncle when the Sultan pick the 1/3 that you don’t like.

Live with it! PAS is already trying their best to temper their manifesto to work with you guys, live up to the name and stop making such bigot decisions!

Hope you guys will clean up your act … sheesh what a LOUSY start….

25. #25 by malaysianboleh on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:29 pm

i am shock to hear that PAS became the MB. But i am disappointed but have to respect the decision by the Sultan. What ever it is . i sincerely hope the new MB from PAS will be a fair and just,when making decision in this multi races Perak state.

TOO SAD BUT BETTER THAN NOTHING !!!

26. #26 by mendonan on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:29 pm

Dear LKS,

I am a Malay Muslim supporter of Barisan Rakyat and agree with most ppl who commented. Thank you LKS for hearing us out! To reiterate what others have spoken — DAP (and PAS too) should refrain from unnecessary idealistic public statements for now, stick with our common grounds (peace, justice, accountability, integrity, serving the rakyat/community etc etc) and common goals (kick UMNO/BN out!!!). We need to keep the momentum going throughout this next 5 years. Treat each day as election day!

27. #27 by jspt on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:29 pm

We can see so many comments from our malays in this blog to support Kit’s statement of apology.It proves that Malay also support DAP for the sake of creating a better Malaysia. I can see many people have asked DSAI to settle this issue with DAP last night as per DSAI blog. They are very concern about it.

28. #28 by LG2u on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:31 pm

Uncle Lim,

I am glad that you apology on this matter.

Although I respect your firm stand that DAP is not happy with a PAS MB, I guess you have mis-judged on how high the respect Malaysian people given to the Perak sultan. His majesty is kind like the one and only one King that can gain so much respect from people in this country.

I hope you and the DAP party can be more confidence. As long as the result seen in Perak and Penang … the rulling term shall continue… let’s get back to work!

29. #29 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:31 pm

Thanks YB Lim for the apology.

It’s important that we admit our mistakes.

Being a Chinese, for the first time, I have successfully convinved my family members to vote for PAS instead of MCA/BN. We don’t mind PAS being the MB as long as he practices equality, justice, corruption-free policies, and does not turn the state into an Islamic state.

As long as the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition can prove themselves to be better than BN, I will continue to support them!

30. #30 by conec on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:33 pm

Thank you uncle Lim for the statement. I also would like to apologised for remarks I made about you yesterday.

I believe everyone here is a bit emotional and get carried away. I believe PAS may not be the ideal candidate in a Chinese dominant state. However, under the current political tsunami/government change or whatever you might call it, PAS will need to show that they can cater to the needs of the people (Malay/Chinese/Indian).

PAS idealistic religious government has had mixed performance ie very good in eradicating corruption & maintaining peace but poorly in socio economic. I believe it is our duty to assist PAS, to enlighten them to take the moderated/modern Islamic approach in managing government. Like Lim Guan Eng said yesterday “Don’t tell me the problems, tell me the solutions!”. Instead of criticizing them of their religious believe and their failure, lets help them make Perak a multi cultural place. If they refuse to listen, then only we shall drop them.

Together, let us make this Malaysia for Malaysian. And finally I am starting to believe in Malaysia Boleh

31. #31 by MWong on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

Wise move, Uncle Lim! As a Ipohan + Perakian, I could see where you come from. Bein’ the majority seat holders, you’ve every reason to do so in favour of a fair and democratic outcome. You’re in a very difficult position. But since DAP has left its fate to the Sultan, like it or not, it’s the Sultan’s choice, and we’ve to respect your highness’s decision. Since the MB, and TMBs involved 3 races, and all representatives for 3 parties, this is the “Best combo” we could ask for. I reckon we, Perakians will understand, that’s nothin’ to do with your’/DAP competency to defend your stance and rights, accepting the appointment is just bein’ respectful and big-hearted. Btw, you must have really heard us, both from your blog n facebook account, thank you for listenin’ to the rakyat voice! Bravo Uncle Lim!

32. #32 by ah yee on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:40 pm

To pas/dap/pkr coalition, while campaigning we use slogan “vote for change. Vote for moon,rocket or bull’s eye”..now that we are winning why suddenly whether you represent moon,rocket or bulls eye become sooooooo matter…….hope all the new leader be careful in making statements.

SO WHY BOTHER BECAUSE PAS MB IS OUR MB, DAP MB IS OUR MB AND PKR MB IS ALSO OUR MB. ITS OUR NEW STATE GOVERNMENT ANYWAY. WE RULEEE!!!!….for the time being respect Sultan decisions and move along with it.

The most important thing is to sort the differences and move on and show to the people who give trust on us and give another shock to BN that we can work and progress better than when they rule the state.

PROVE TO THE PEOPLE WHO HAD TRUST ON US WE ARE FAIR AND CARE FOR MALAYSIANS NOT ON SINGLE RACE OR SINGLE RELIGION AGENDA.

……AND BELIEVE ME MY FRIEND,WHEN WE ACHIEVED THIS, WHOEVER BECOME THE ‘MB’ AFTER GE13 WILL NOT MATTER ANYMORE AS LONG AS WE RULEEE!!!!!!!

p/s: perjuangan masih panjang….

33. #33 by kclim on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Before 12thGE each party head of DAP . PAS & PKR could rattle off their heads.But now after 12GE , Barisan Rakyat which was sneered as a “ marriage of convenience by incompatible partners” by BN has turned out to be an awesome “BN Terminator”.

Now the BN controlled media shall seize every opportunity to headline in the daily newspapers each and every utterance from DAP, PKR and PAS leaders taken out of context of course. After the damage is done , any apologies or retraction will be reported in small print in some obscured back pages. So BR component party members beware as you are now given immensely much more news media coverage that reaches the masses.

Lim Kit Siang should from now onwards be careful about what he says since this tri-partite coalition is still in its infancy. Given time Barisan Rakyat shall very certainly evolve to be the most sophisticated political machinery Malaysia has ever seen. BN shall shudder each time they tangle with BR.

Dr. Koh Tsu Koon is indeed a gentleman and deserves praise for the respect he accorded BR especially Lim Guan Eng by requesting to be given the opportunity to attend and witness the swearing in ceremony for Penang on Tuesday 11 March since he had to attend PM’s ceremony on the 10 March. Coming from an arch foe is truly heart warming. Hence when DAP threatens to boycott Perak’s swearing in ceremony , we wonder if the time has come for old guards like LKS to ride off into the sunset with Samy Vellu.

So Saudara LKS, being the wise old owl , kindly throttle down your fiery comments since you are now not only speaking for DAP but for and on behalf of Barisan Rakyat since the people respected, accepted and voted for the opposition coalition front BR. This intricate coalition fabric weaved together by RPK and DSAI with DAP/PKR/PAS is very fragile indeed right now. I guess the leaders of PKR and PAS can learn something from your trespass on this issue. In politics one seldom get second chances, damage control hardly works especially where the media is biased and stacked against the “offender”.

34. #34 by Libra2 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Now we wait in anticipation for that elusive announcement.
    Say something for the rakyat, for the country, for the future.

35. #35 by jennifer cheong on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Dear YB Lim and all leaders,
    We are so sad but please bear with it, as it is just the beginning. the most important task is to form a new government smoothly and have a good working relationship with Sultan and all. We are dissapointed, but we can understand as it is not DAP fault. It is the final decision made by respective authority. We will not blame DAP or anybody, but praise God for what God has bless DAP on earth for 12th GE result. Well done ! We love you and wish all of you our lovely leaders the best ! Work smart and work wholeheartedly for the RAKYAT who needs you!

36. #36 by badak on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:47 pm

Good going uncle LKS…Don,t be afraid of PAS..Show UMNO LED BN gorverment that DAP can work with PKR as well as PAS,ISLAM is a beautiful religion.It is UMNO WHO IS POISONING the mind of people.

UMNO VETERAN Tan sri ABDUL AZIZ TAPA said that Malays who voted for DAP are not patriotic.I am one of them.Please i voted for DAP,Because of UMNO being a corrupted party.PGCC PROJECT IN PENANG CLEARLY SHOWS HOW CORRUPTED BADAWI IS.

BADAWI himself launch the project .When no approval was given by the state.This is only one case.I bet there will more issuses like this.

Talk about the NEP,Only MALAYS who support UMNO benefits.If a malay who openly supports PKR ,PAS OR DAP ,CAN FORGET ABOUT ANY KIND OF HELP.Why are there so many poor malays in
    KELANTAN .It,s because they support PAS.We malays are not unpatriotic,IT,s those in UMNO WHO ARE.IT WAS UMNO WHO MADE US HARD WORKING MALAYS LOOK LAZY IN THE EYES OF THE CHINESS AND MALAYS .

37. #37 by mecharojak on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:48 pm

LKS & CEC, the damage is already done! Public support for DAP will be affected. Malaysia is for Malaysians not DAP! Please remember this election is won with protest votes. DAP has not yet won the battle for the hearts of Malaysia.

This coming 4-5years DAP must prove that you guys are not TALK ONLY. Please be wiser in the future. If you DAP old guards cannot see the bigger picture please retire now.

38. #38 by yummyking on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:48 pm

LKS, congratulation on your reversal of your earlier decision.

I believe that the role of MB is to manage the body of execo members. Representation at this level should be based on share of seats won by each party. In another word, the MB is sort of a Chairman of Perak Inc. !

I hope you now see the light why the Sultan’s choice should be respected!

39. #39 by sean on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:48 pm

Well……i guess agreeing who and whom and which party the MB is suppose to come from is and will not be a big problem at all.Am sure the coalition will come to terms.After all if the Sultan or the Regent have chosen…am sure the choice made were best for all and most of all the entire state.Am confidence DAP will be a strong partner in Perak state and works towards a betterment of the state and the entire nation.We have lost so much under BN.

The biggest problem starts when BN lost badly in the just concluded GE12…they will “REINVENT ITSELF” and i am very sure of that.You see…..every failure comes success.
    Lets make a comparison between Opposition parties and BN.
    Opposition fought like hell decade after decade as opposition and they have created a bench mark for themself.Their failures to capture any states (let us all exclude Kelantan to make the explaining easier) or even form any government since the beginning of time have made the opposition parties a “GOAL”.And unfortunately their goal is to deny 2/3 etc.And now GE12….they eventually achieved its goal and made even better achievement by capturing a few states.So the main aim and goal for the opposition have been achieved(LET NOT BE COMPLACENT).And they will remain as it is in which it will comprise of the few parties namely DAP,PKR AND PAS.So….the three parties will remain the same if they do not increase its benchmark which is ultimately “COMBINING INTO A SINGLE PARTY”.

As for BN………..they were the government for almost all states as well as the entire nation.But 12GE cost them dearly.They divide and rule for so long and finally they lost badly.When that happens…don’t you guys think BN benchmark and their goals have change entirely? My opinion….BN will seriously or in the process of upgrading its benchmark and they the BN will eventually merge and form a single party system(A STRONG multi racial party)
    Look if this were to happen…..the only loser at the end will be the current opposition parties in the mid and long term.Like i said earlier…every failure will turn into a success and if the opposition can’t catch up with the BN sometime in the near future then the opposition future will spell doom if nothing are done to transform into a single party system.

40. #40 by proud2bMalaysian on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:53 pm

uncle Lim,
    i think it’s ok if PAS going to be the MB even i’m a chinese…
    what we want now is fairness…
    please show that BA can develop and improve the country…
    work together…
    i agreed with justice_fighter…
    the important think is equality…
    even my friend a malay and indian also vote for DAP…
    it’s not only chinese in our party…
    forget about races…
    but work for the RAKYAT…MALAYSIAN…

41. #41 by ytc on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:54 pm

My wife and I were having a gloomy day yesterday after seeing your public response. I work as a GP doctor and I do deal with public, esp those before, during and after the election. The sentiment for change is so real, you can feel the heat of victory even during one of the worst day at Stock Market on monday.

The whole sentiment almost got lost yesterday when I read your public statement.

I appreciate your courage to reverse your statement today, not because we (inc. my wife, who was never a politically aware individual, except this time, which is also her first time she make sure that she exercised her voting right) like PAS, but we do feel that for the first time in our Political history, we feel there is hope for our daughter in this generation.

Let the fragile opposition coalition works its way up, and make sure there is no turning back. We beg your wisdom to let this happen, Mr. Lim.

And thanks again for your reversal of stand today.

42. #42 by sotong on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:54 pm

BN’s decades of divide and rule policies had created an unhealthy and damaging distrust between the races and religions.

Due to the damaging and unhealthy condition, the people must start to think before they say or do anything without any intention to harm/hurt others.

43. #43 by cto on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:55 pm

Not attending the ceremony is very poor form in my honest opinion. Has DAP boycotted all the ceremonies where a BN MB was sworn in? If not, unless DAP is closer to BN than PAS, why boycott this one?

If DAP does not want to be part of the opposition alliance with PAS, then get out of it. Can’t have the cake and eat the cake.

44. #44 by Dr. W on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:56 pm

What a relief~! Kit Siang has proven to the us that he is willing to listen to the rakyat!

Now, all of us who has voted for BR are eager to see you, the mighty supremo LKS to defend the rakyat against the evil in the parliment, together with our victorious opposition MPs.

You as the si-fu of DAP, get prepared to battle in the front line while leave the states affair to your students. From this drama, it is beyond my expectation to witness the maturity of Perak DAP branch members headed by Ngeh in handling the issue.

My worries after 7pm are vanished after this post. Thank you again for making it happened.

45. #45 by emanuel on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:57 pm

Hi! This is your first test to show what that DAP stands for justice. How can PAS member be MB when they have the least number of MP? This is not fair and if DAP stands for justice, then stand up for it. We voted for DAP and not PAS. So, I do not want PAS person to be MB otherwise, I cannot go to a pub any more, I cannot buy “sew yoke” in the open anymore, I cannot wear my miniskirt anymore, I cannot do so many things just like those guys in Kelantan.

If DAP cannot stand up to PAS now, this will show that you are a push over! Don’t let those “nonsense” about unity get over your head. PAS and Anwar is trying to make use of DAP and you are old enough to know that. These guys are snakes and they will spike DAP when the time is right and form a single party oposition instead of a united opposition front.

Down with PAS MB and Go for DAP MP. It’s all or nothing ok. REmember…the saying “Lembu punya susu, Sapi punya name”. DAP won the biggest in Perak; so DAP should lead Perak!

46. #46 by Danny Lim on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:58 pm

We MUST move FORWARD!!! We cannot look at the past, we have to look forward! Work together as a team is the most important task at this moment for Barisan Rakyat! PKR + DAP + PAS, this term is the most crucial years for all of you to work together and make Malaysia a better country to live! Don’t because of POWER that spoil this relationships and very soon, people will loose HOPE in this BR and vote swing back to BN.. DAP can celebrate this tsunami, but if you don’t do the right thing, the next tsunami will go the other way. Show us what you can do, and give us what we want! Go Go DAP!

47. #47 by stevchew on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 12:59 pm

Kit Siang. good sense prevails. Whatever reasons you may have for the protest, resolve it internally. Look at the bigger picture and the reality of the situation. The Sultan must have his reason for appointing a PAS MB.

48. #48 by mypopo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 1:00 pm

DEAR MR LIM,

IT WAS WITH SHOCK WHEN I READ OF YOUR BOYCOTT OUTBURST. THIS WAS A GAFFE OF A HIGH ORDER. DIDNT EVERYONE READ THAT THE COALITION WAS WILLING TO ACCEPT WHOEVER THE SULTAN CHOOSES ? MAYBE EVENTS OF THE PAST WEEK HAVE OVERWHELMED YOU AND YOUR OUTBURST WAS NOT INTENDED.

BUT YOUR APOLOGY WAS ALSO ANOTHER GAFFE. TO SAY ‘.. I APOLOGISE “FOR ANY OFFENCE CAUSED” …’ TAKES AWAY THE DEPTH AND SINCERITY OF THE APOLOGY. YOUR APOLOGY MUST BE UNMITIGATED CONDITIONAL OR PRESUMPTIOUS. I AM SURE YOUR ARE REALLY APOLOGETIC.

I AM A CHINESE AND SUPPORTS YOUR LONG STRUGGLE. PLEASE GET SOME REST.

POPO

49. #49 by wwwatcha on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 1:01 pm

Anda mengambil tindakan bijak LKS dengan memohon maaf pada Sultan Perak dan pesan saya jangan sesekali bermain api dan jangan sesekali MENDERHAKA kepada KESULTANAN MELAYU.

50. #50 by choong on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 1:02 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

I am unsure of what other announcements you will be making later on behalf of DAP but I do hope you will attend the swear-in ceremony as well. Barisan Rakyat will remain a distant dream if DAP, PAS and PKR don’t cooperate and bring about the changes the rakyat sorely need.

Let the winds of change blow for the good of the nation.

Thank you.