The mornings after the 12th general election…

I had thought that the tempo would have lessened considerably after polling day on March 8 to allow for some rest and physical recovery, but it was the exact opposite – an even more hectic period since the results started flooding in on the same night of a political tsunami which saw the historic loss of the ruling coalition’s hitherto unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority for 50 years, the loss of five state governments by the Barisan Nasional and the toppling of Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries.

I left Ipoh for Penang at about 10 pm without being able to wait for the official results of the Ipoh Timor parliamentary seat when results were clear that Barisan Nasional had lost power in Penang to a DAP-led coalition government.

When I arrived in Penang by car after midnight, I learnt that the political tsunami had also swept Barisan Nasional from power in Perak, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan.

The next three days were dizzying days, rushing up and down again and again from one state to another, particularly in the three states of Perak, Penang and Selangor to deal with the aftermath of the political tsunami of March 8.

The high point was undoubtedly the swearing-in of Lim Guan Eng as the DAP Chief Minister of Penang yesterday. At the surprise birthday cake presented by Penang DAP on February 20, I had made a birthday wish that DAP under the leadership of Guan Eng could capture the Penang state government in the general election. I had told newsmen to ask me about what birthday wish I had made after the general election, and I revealed after Guan Eng’s swearing-in yesterday of my birthday wish which had come true.

I apologise that this blog was disrupted because of very heavy traffic on the night of polling day and is only restored last night.
I also apologise that because of the hectic pace of keeping up with the events post-March 8, I have not been able to do any updates on the many portentous events taking place in the country or to follow the huge volume of comments.

In a very quick and cursory check, after the restoration of the blog, various comments have been made about Guan Eng’s statement and announcements after he was sworn in as Penang Chief Minister.

I am trying to settle down, including updating this blog regularly.

Let us start with Guan Eng’s swearing-in statement and announcements, so that commentators will not have to depend just on media reports which may not give the full and proper picture.

This is Guan Eng’s statement after his swearing-in as Penang Chief Minister:

(Speech By New Penang Chief Minister, Bagan MP and State Assemblyman for Air Puteh And DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng In Komtar Building Upon His Swearing-In On 11.3.2008)

Penang DAP & PKR Coalition Government’s Agenda For Change To Re-establish Rule By The Rakyat

Three days ago, the people of Penang voted for change by giving DAP and PKR a clear mandate of a two-thirds majority to form a coalition government. Today, we present you the Agenda for Change – from this Government of the rakyat.

DAP and PKR’s coalition government’s Agenda for Change to re-establish rule by the rakyat will centre on the key areas of Economy, Governance and the Social Needs of the People.

This is a government that is based on democracy – the core of governance. This is a government that advocates and practices Integrity and Transparency. This is also a government that believes in equal opportunity and socio-economic justice.

PKR wakil rakyats led by their President YB WAN AZIZAH BINTI WAN ISMAIL and Penang PKR Chair YB Datuk ZAHRAIN MOHAMED HASHIM as well as DAP wakil rakyats are humbled by the strong mandate given by the people of Penang to us. We are committed to fulfilling our promises made in the last general elections. We shall work hard to try and not disappoint you. With the support of the Penang people, we are here to build a Dynamic Penang for All.

A DYNAMIC ECONOMY FOR PENANG’S FUTURE

We want to foster a harmonious relationship between the federal and the state governments in all aspects, as it is our earnest endeavour to create a strong, dynamic economy for the benefits of the people of Penang. To this purpose I shall be seeking an appointment to meet with the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on listening and addressing the needs of the people of Penang expressed in the general elections on 8 March such as using Petronas proceeds to fully fund the construction cost of the Federal government’s 2nd Penang Bridge project.

We will adopt an investor-friendly policy and take active steps to attract local and foreign investments that create more high-paying jobs. Besides reviewing the incentive programmes to encourage the high-tech and manufacturing industries in upgrading themselves on the global value chain, we will also seek ways to assist the SMIs/SMEs to align themselves with the export markets in the region by using Penang as the base for their enterprises. We will hold dialogues and hear the inputs of investors and businesses to make Penang a competitive market economy.

More importantly, we will run the government administration free from the New Economic Policy (NEP) that breeds cronyism, corruption and systemic inefficiency. We will implement an open tender system for all government procurement and contracts. We will also practice transparency by uploading information of such tender bids in an internet portal to be set up in future for public access.

Instead, we strongly advocate a stakeholders’ economy for all – irrespective of race and religions – and based on the principle of shared prosperity in an equitable manner. We will encourage companies which undertake government contracts worth above RM10 million in Penang to contribute part of their profits for the benefits of the people.

Tourism

Tourism has been a significant revenue generator for the state, and we want to see Penang re-capture its past glory as a major in-bound tourist destination for tourists from the local and the global markets. Health tourism that has now gained immense popularity in the region will be fully exploited as Penang could offer service packages that are similar, if not better, than those available outside the country. Tourism infrastructure will be enhanced and we will seek the views of the tourist industry on any regulatory obstruction that hampers the promotion of Penang as a major in-bound tourist attraction.

The state government of Penang will depend on Penang’s home grown talent to develop and prosper Penang to secure our place in the rapidly changing globalised world where skill and capital resources are of prime importance. Towards this objective, we will introduce various strategic steps to culminate in a “Brain Gain” effect where vast talents of the ‘Penang Diaspora’ now residing in all parts of the world, will either return to Penang, or network with the State Government’s initiatives from their adopted bases, to generate business opportunities.

DEMOCRACY IN GOVERNANCE

The DAP-PKR Coalition Government is a government that is based on the tenets of democracy – the core of governance.

We shall attempt to restore Local Government elections in accordance to provisions under Article 113(4) of the Constitution. We will take the necessary steps to return the third vote of the Parliamentary Democracy by the end of our term. In the interim, we will review the current practice of only political appointees as representatives in the municipal councils. We shall exercise section 10(2) of the Local Government Act by appointing some professionals in their respective profession, commerce or industry and representatives from the Non-Governmental Organisations (NGO) as members of local government.

Strict measures will also be taken to ensure municipal councillors and council officials enhance the quality of public services. We will not compromise on the responsiveness in service delivery.

This state government will uphold the spirit of the Constitution to allow all people to enjoy basic human rights including freedom of religion and speech. We will direct our Members of Parliament, alongside other elected representatives, to initiate the enacting of a Freedom of Information Act to allow full access of available information that does not harm public interest.

Open Tender System For Government Procurement And Contracts

We subscribe to Integrity and Transparency in our governance. Government procurement will only be awarded through open tender, and priority will be given to Penang-incorporated contractors. An online portal will be set up to publish the list of qualified contractors, and the tendering process and relevant details, for public scrutiny.

Similarly, the Chief Minister, State EXCO members, Speaker and Deputy Speaker together with the respective heads of Majlis Perbandaran Pulau Pinang and Majlis Perbandaran Seberang Jaya will be required to publicly declare their personal assets.

SOCIAL NEEDS OF THE PEOPLE

Scarcity of land for residential holdings has led to escalating costs and prices of housing. This government will seek ways to bring affordable housing to the Penang People besides enhancing the quality of life of the house owners.

Traffic congestion has become worse and a public transport that is still unreliable. We shall be seeking views and inputs to see how both problems can be resolved and commit ourselves to a significant improvement by the end of our term.

I will meet the president of the Majlis Perbandaran Pulau Pinang (MPPP) and other relevant state agencies today to review the suitability of the entire Penang Global City Centre (PGCC) project that has aroused much concern among the Penang People.

I will also meet up with the relevant federal agencies today on how and whether it is possible to cancel the collection at the Sungai Nyior toll plaza that has triggered serious public complaints and unhappiness.

Waiver Of All Summonses Involving Hawker Licenses And Parking Fees Before March 11 2008

The Penang state government firmly believes in shared prosperity, and we have a heart for the lower income group who are burdened by the escalating cost of living. We have promised to take care of the poor and the lower income group of the society.

As a first step, I hereby announce that all compounds and summons for offences involving parking and hawker license issued by MPPP and MPSP before today, March 11, shall be waived.

However, we need to stress vehemently that it takes both the government and the People to realize the ideals for a Dynamic Penang. We must remember that the waiver for the arrears of offences for parking and hawker licences is just a one-time arrangement to help reduce the burdens faced the people, especially the poor.

On the other hand, there are larger-picture issues involved. In the past, Penang has earned recognition for the wrong reasons, including the notoriety as being “filthy”, and having a “chaotic traffic system”. As the Penang people have voted for change, we should also bid farewell to such stigmas and resolve to change our past habits. Let us each do our part to keep our traffic orderly, and to help our hawkers maintain a clean and healthy environment.

But more importantly, the new Penang state government is the Government of the People. We want the people of Penang to treat your government as your friend. And friends must work together and complement each other to make a Dynamic Penang a reality.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by guangxiren on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:19 pm

TCK should be the DMB Selangor, the rakyat votes must be takes count, not only from the support of insiders of the party itself. appeal to Lim Guan Eng, please put the rakyat views above all. Thank you.

2. #2 by TheThinker on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:21 pm

Makkal Sakthi ! Vox Populi !

- The BN machinery, no matter how much they throw into the works should not be able to surpass the progress made in opposition controlled states; given that the opposition does not retain a rusty corrupted machinery to clean before the wheels begin to move . . .

Show the nation what you can do, give the people what we want – Uncle Kit, congratulations and all the best, your long and terrible struggle has at last come to fruition.

3. #3 by orangcina on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:21 pm

i will be very disappointed if MB of Perak doesnt come from DAP rep. Very disappointed!

4. #4 by virgin rose on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:23 pm

DAP must learn to manage and to kick the people if they seek for help… AGAIN DONT BE EGO !!! VICTORY IS A FANTASY… DONT LET THE FANTASY BREAK JUST IN 1 TERM….. If it failed to respond to the PEOPLE’S DEMAND OR REQUEST, it destination wIll be a disastrous AND MISERABLE one…..

SOME WORDS FROM ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH….. IM TOTALY AGREE WITH THIS GUY !!!!!!! BRAVO !!!

PERAK : DAP HAS WON THE MOST SEAT AMONG THE PKR AND PAS. BUT NO CHINESE OR INDIAN CAN BE MADE A MENTERI BESAR . IF THE BA CANNOT CONVINCE THE SULTAN OF PERAK THAT MALAYSIAN ARE EQUAL, than you cannot manage MALAYSIA.

SELANGOR: TENG HAS DONE THE TOTAL DAMAGE TO BN, BY EXPOSING THE ZAKARIA ISTANA, but guan eng does not favour him. this is the same game of croynism preached by bn.

as in malaysia today, i am glad ym raja petra turned down all offers, but remain watching your promises.

IF IN THIS TSUNAMI, CHANGE IS NOT DONE, guan eng is another abdullah badawi in the making by compromising and being mr. nice to malays and chinese and indians. WE ARE MALAYSIANS. CHANGE THE MENTALITY OF KETUANAN MELAYU.

we voted for dap, we responed to your call of funds and help. show us that BANGSA MALAYSIA IS A REALITY. why must a malay to look into malay affairs and indian to look into indian affiars and chinese into chinese affair, IF YOU ARE TRULY SINCERE TO ALL MALAYSIANS REGARDLESS OF RACE AND RELIGION.

and by creating TWO deputy menteri besar posts and TWO deputy chief minister posts – it shows you lack courage to change.

5. #5 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:24 pm

if not for teng, zakaria deros istana and corrupt deeds and arrogance will not be exposed. but likewise now that guan eng is km of penang cum secretary of dap, he dislike teng for going against the party more than once.

emperors alway love apple polishing. the whip is crack on teng.
    the true colour ?

6. #6 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:26 pm

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH,

I think you misunderstood what I am trying to say.

Sure you can have your freedom of speech and you may be very learned about politics.

What I am saying here is that its better to leave all the appointments to the leaders as they know better.

What we want, as for me who know nuts about politics is to ensure that they work closely together, rid of racism and keep their election promises.

I am sorry if my post have in anyway offended you.

7. #7 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:28 pm

“A casino….to control illegal gambling? Personally I hope DAP will not encourage gambling. I am a muslim malay and I don’t gamble. And I hate to see chinese lost their hard earned money hoping to be rich thru gambling.”

Aiya… follow Singapore lah… discriminate against their own Singaporeans from going in to their own casino. :) We only wants the enormous benefits from tourism industry but we must take care of Penangites too. But come to think of it, if you don’t have legal casino, you will have illegal casino, and this is good haven for dirty cops, money money money! Tax should go to the state!

One more thing, Penang must also have their own TV station, commercial one ok, not to spread DAP propaganda but can use it once in a while for right purposes.

8. #8 by highhand on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:29 pm

good good now self destruct………….

5, 4, 3, 2……………..

9. #9 by year of snake on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:32 pm

Congratulations and I hope that I will be able to congratulate you again in the next elections. Therefore, I hope that your party and partners would rule the states as promised and please stop the bickering among yourself as BN is waiting for BR to split and capitalise on it. The people who vote for you do not like to see DAP and partners ruling the states of Perak and Selangor only for 6 months.

10. #10 by Demon on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:33 pm

100% with Chanjoe.The marriage is less then a week and we are already hearing rumours of quarrel.Very disappointed!

11. #11 by highhand on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:37 pm

the rocket might as well blown up before it launch….

12. #12 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:37 pm

I am a chinese but we are in Malaysia and so must have respect for all races.
    Whats wrong in having PKR be MB?
    If UMNO can gv Gerakan CM post in 2004…why can DAP gv PKR?
    We have to be realistic as there are still many long ways to go to reach a stage where we don’t refer us to as Chinese, Malays or Indians.

13. #13 by highhand on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:39 pm

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!

14. #14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:42 pm

If Trengganu can have Hadhari Park we can have a Disneyland in Penang. :)

15. #15 by wargamalaysia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:43 pm

Disneyland in Penang??????…OKKKKKKKKKKKK

16. #16 by orangcina on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:46 pm

chanjoe, i have no problem with PKR MB in Selangor, PAS MB in Kedah n Kelantan. Because they have more seat than other parties. In Perak, DAP have the more seat. There fore DAP shuld get the MB. This is democracy.

17. #17 by grace on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:46 pm

dawsheng, there was a gambling den in my area before the election. They are more or less sanctioned by the ADUN then. Gladly he was given the boot. He used to bail them out when caught. All ‘kow tim’ by him.
    Now that DAP and PKR are in control, this illegal gambling must be checked. Yes, no room for gamblers.

DAP must be genuine in sharing power with Keadilan and MIC. Make sure that all races are wanted in Penang. The poor whether Malay, Chinese or Indians must be taken care of.

I think Indians youth urgently need employment as I can see many loitering aimlessly in Prai. I do hope Prof Ramasamy can come to Prai to try find out what type of jobs are open to them .

18. #18 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

SAD……SAD….SAD…..VERY EGOISTIC OF DAP SELANGOR & PERAK… Can’t you people be mature and listen to voters voices?
    If you listen to us during polling campaign…please listen …
    Or are you people in DAP so blinded by the victories????
    We spend our money, time, effort to ensure victory for you but you have started to throw it away…
    We will know what to do in the next election………. Continue to hold on to your HIGH EGO!!!!!!

19. #19 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

a- malaysian.
    no need to apologise.

i am sure we all meant well for the country. i am equally sure you are learned too.

BUT , we are all Malaysians first. AND IN MALAYSIAN BEING FIRST. WHY DISCRIMINATE AGAINST A CHINESE MB? INDIAN MB? OR MALAY MB? the party that has the most votes lead.

especiallly in Perak , GOD SENT STATE for the opposition. this is the test of BANGSA MALAYSIA.and if we can change perak, we can change Malaysia. IF BANGSA MALAYSIA ONLY WORKS IN PENANG, dont ask me to cast votes for dap or ba in other states PLEASE.

a- malaysian.i know you love malaysia as much as we do. and i know you have access to kit. so please pass on the message.
    thank you.

20. #20 by oknyua on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

Reading all your comments made me realise we are expecting too much within such a short time – guys be patient lah. As I said , let YB Lim Kit Siang have a little rest first. He is already 70.

In regards to Lim GE, hey, he is new. Just look at the latest nstp report about him attending MATTA meeting. It is shocking what had not been done by the previous administration.

The MB Perak, let it be DAP or PAS or PKR, it might be a matter of pride to have DAP, but it does not matter if the new MB carries out the aspiration of the people. Deng Siow Peng said, “.. as long as the cat catches mouse.” Don’t accept rumours as truth.

Once again, leave YB Lim KS for a while. He is not a superman travelling from Penang to Perak and then Selangor – by car some more!! Don’t ask him to solve this or that.

21. #21 by saubing on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:48 pm

I feel sad for Mr. Teng Chang Khim. After many years of hard work, from what I saw in unconfirmed reports, he will be left out for the post of Selangor Deputy MB. Don’t get me wrong if anyone think that I am a supporter of Mr Teng. I am a Johorean and not even a DAP member. I just feel that in line with DAP spirit, the best person deserve the post. He has exposed many of ex-Selangor Government wrongdoings including the famous case on the late Zakaria. Although Teresa is capable, I feel that she is more needed in Federal level. Who knows, by next election, Barisan Rakyat may be able to be the next government. I believe that’s the wish of many Malaysian who wants a more transparent government, free from corruption, cronyism and mismanagement. We hope for a good alternative government but in less than a week, we already heard PKR reject DAP as exco for Kedah. PAS reject DAP candidate as PErak MB, 4 DAP rep vying for Selangor Deputy MB, PAs not offered exco post in Penang etc etc….. Please tell me Barisan Rakyat is different from Barisan Nasional or else I will not vote in future general elections. Prove it! I give you one term

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:53 pm

dawsheng.
    casino n gambling. what about those prostitution den ?

23. #23 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:56 pm

oknyua – we have waited 50 years for this tsunami.

there is NO LEARNING CURVE FOR POLITICIAN.

24. #24 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:56 pm

“dawsheng, there was a gambling den in my area before the election. They are more or less sanctioned by the ADUN then. Gladly he was given the boot. He used to bail them out when caught. All ‘kow tim’ by him.” grace

Yep, that’s how it works. Penangites finally realizes the danger of corrupt politicians and gave them the boot! Sure in the next 12 months BPR is going to be very busy.

25. #25 by wargamalaysia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:58 pm

That’s the problem with malaysia – too many political parties. One day (in the future) we should follow western countries. UK – Labour & Conservative, US – Republicans & Democrats.

BN is more matured in term of political experience than BA. Hope BA leaders (DAP/PKR/PAS) will not blow the chance that they have now.

26. #26 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:58 pm

PKR and PAS fear backlash from their supporters if there is too many Chinese leading the state government, chicken shit fake democracy!

27. #27 by oknyua on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 4:59 pm

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!! – highhand

What is the objective of your post? This is a serious politcal blog and I hope you’ll be respectful to the owner, YB Lim Kit Siang. If you don’t respect him for his sacrifice to this nation, at least respect him for his age. Thank you.

28. #28 by pilihanrayaexpert on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:18 pm

It’s time for DAP to repay ROCKET supporters !

Let Teng Chang Kim become Deputy MB !!!!!!!!!!!!

29. #29 by wargamalaysia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:19 pm

That’s the difficulty normally facing by the leaders. In term of political maturity, I do envy BN. Their leaderships can works together. That’s why they survive for 50 yeras. Their problem is only ‘no good governance’.

If BA blow up this chance and BN can reform and clean up their dirty tricks, they’ll be booted out.

30. #30 by mycroft on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:23 pm

Sheesh, I can’t believe the suggestions given by some people on this blog. Do they even stop to think what they are saying? Raise prices of cigarettes and legalise gambling dens? HELLO? These are matters for the Federal govt. Even if they (the new state govts) want to do such things, they would have no locus standi for doing so.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:24 pm

“dawsheng. casino n gambling. what about those prostitution den ?” ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

First of all, I felt very honored to be ask this question, not that I am the expert in this field but I have been pondering about it as far as I can remember. You see, prostitution is the oldest profession, why exactly so I do not know but if it was traditionally the male who are prostitutes, I guess it would be simple, it is the most easy profession one can ever venture into without having academic knowledges or whatsoever.

There was a time when being a prostitutes is respectable but at the same time being despise, nothing change much since including the reasons why prostitutions still exist. Can we stop women and men who wants to sell their body for a price? Very hard I say, today if I handsome and if some ladies or aunties want to pay me I will get laid straight away, of course for me to do so I got my price lah, young lady charge cheaper and old aunties charge higher I suppose!

I think what is morally right to do here is that we stop people from exploiting young children, girls and boys from prostitution. In my opinion since we cannot legalize prostitution there are nothing much we can do about it, same as gambling.

32. #32 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:27 pm

Just got sms saying that Ngeh is confirmed new MB of Perak…..well….good for DAP but if its really true?????…then I foresee that the DAP MB led govt will only last a couple of months before some ADUNs will jump ship to BN and thats the end of all the hard work done to win the govt.

What a waste if that comes true….so lets wait and see how long Ngeh will be the MB of Perak….hahahaha…..a big EGOistic guy….

33. #33 by guangxiren on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:33 pm

sources of my friends from perak said Ngeh Khoo Ham already been appointed as New MB of Perak. anyone can confirm this?

34. #34 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:34 pm

“Sheesh, I can’t believe the suggestions given by some people on this blog. Do they even stop to think what they are saying? Raise prices of cigarettes and legalise gambling dens? HELLO? These are matters for the Federal govt. Even if they (the new state govts) want to do such things, they would have no locus standi for doing so.” mycroft

You know what? you are right! I do not stop thinking!

35. #35 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:46 pm

Ok on the subject of gambling…..anyone wanna bet on how long the perak Govt with Ngeh Koo Ham as MB will last? 1 month, 2 months or 3 months. (If the news of him being appointed MB is true)
    I am waiting very eagerly to see when the frogs start to jump to Bn and Tajol Rosli will move back to his bastion office…..

Sayang…sangat sayang….cuma siok sendiri sekejap aje…(SSS)

36. #36 by chai on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:49 pm

in selangor khir toyo said he want 0 opposition in selangor but now……haha all people are talking about khir toyo!!!!!!

37. #37 by baoqingtian on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:51 pm

Let Pinang become a role model to the BN

38. #38 by P.O.T.S on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:51 pm

LIM GUAN ENG SHOULD START A BLOG.

39. #39 by Bigfoot on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:52 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

A very big CONGRATULATIONS to you and all those who made this possible.

I believe that the move to a truly Malaysian Malaysia will take time, and although I believe it meritocracy and in letting the best man or woman win, I also think that we are still a nation that is still in a state of transition. Given this, drastic moves like this may not be totally welcome by all quarters. In fact, it could undermine everything DAP has tried to achieve.

Given this, I believe that one has to be fair to all groups who made this possible. It is for this reason that I applaud Guan Eng’s move to appoint to 2 Deputy Chief Ministers of a different races. That way no one group that helped make this unprecedented victory possible feels alienated, and feel that their efforts were a waste. Also, you don’t alienate the huge segment of the population who voted for BN. The last thing DAP needs is for BN to turn this into a race issue. Don’t give them the chance.

Having said the above, I fully agree with tswerns post that “DAP should not make the mistake like BN whereby Indian related issues are passed to MIC and Chinese related issues are passed to MCA”. Each race must feel comfortable with each other, and this is going to take time to build up.

As for a suitably qualified Orang Asli, why not? One of these days this may be possible.

So it is wiser to be fair, than to make a rash decision. I hope that you can convince PAS & PKR to consider the same model for other states as well.

40. #40 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:03 pm

malaysiakini reported: nizar from pas made mb of perak.

in future, vote dap only in penang.

no further comments.

41. #41 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:07 pm

malaysiankini report on perak mb. disappeared .

very strange

42. #42 by saubing on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:09 pm

STAR ONLINE-PAS Perak Secretary made Perak MB. I feel very uneasy but it’s the Sultan’s choice. Can’t do much

43. #43 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:10 pm

malaysiakini report 5.49 reports that nizar from pas made mb.

steven gan and kabilan – please check your newspage.
    thanks.

44. #44 by mangodurian on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:13 pm

Congratulations as per others. The big challenge may be rejecting all the cosy relationships and bribes that will be coming your way. I am sure the previous BN govt had entered into many relationships where the state govt won’t be able to function without the patronage of the other.

No only that, I am very sure BN and UMNO are plotting your downfall at this very moment, maybe even do another ’69 on you. Sabotage is a big danger especially in Selangor.

May you have the courage to resist these temptations and do a Singapore in Penang.

45. #45 by guangxiren on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:14 pm

in next GE, contest under one BA banner, no DAP, PKR or PAS, no racism reaction. accept any race of MB, no racism.

46. #46 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:23 pm

Just read the breaking news on Malaysiakini. It is confirmed that Perak PAS secretary Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin was today confirmed as the new menteri besar of the state and the other two names submitted will be his deputies.

I should think that under the circumstances, we should trust the judgements of Sultan Azlan Shah and the leadership of the three political parties involved. Let us move on and….

Let the new Barisan Rakyat government get down to the business of bringing a new dawn to Malaysia. ;)

47. #47 by roticanai on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:24 pm

Latest news, the MB for Perak has gone to the candidate from PAS

48. #48 by Richard Teo on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:24 pm

First of all congratulations to LKS and all the DAP members who managed to wrest control of Peneng, Perak, and Selangor from B.N.
    However I feel very sad that there is no firm direction from the DAP leadership as to how Penang and Perak should have a coalition to accomodate all parties in the Barisan Rakyat and that must include PAS.If PAS is prepared to offer DAP lone representative in Kedah an Exco post why cant DAP do likewise for PAS in Penang?Election is not about winner take all and loser lose everything.In order for the Barisan Rakyat to succeed everyone must have a stake in the new govt.
    In Perak the DAP chairman seems not able to read the situation very well.The state constitution is very clear.Only a muslim can be a M.B unless the Sultan use his discretion under the waiver clause.But why put the Sultan in a very difficult situation?If he appoints a chinese this will antagonise the malays not forgetting the 28 B.N representative.If he by pass the chinese and appoint a malay the chinese will view the sultan as biase.Either way he will not win.The DAP chairman should show magnanmity by just submitting two malay candidates and abstain altogether.That should have been the honourable thing to do but what he displayed was a greed for power which would lead to the ruination of the coalition.

49. #49 by mycroft on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:25 pm

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Teng several times. I like him. He is a good man and a very good ADUN. I believe he will be a good choice for Deputy MB. BUT!! Even if he does not get it, as disappointing as it may be, I will still remain loyal to the Party.

50. #50 by limkamput on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:32 pm

This is what the Star says:
    “PETALING JAYA: Pasir Panjang assemblyman from PAS, Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, has been appointed as Perak Mentri Besar.

Mohammad Nizar is the state PAS secretary.

Perak DAP chief Ngeh Koo Ham, who is the assemblyman for Setiawan, will be one of two Deputy Mentris Besar for the state.

The second Deputy Mentri Besar has yet to be named.”

I am thinking and thinking, but know not what I am thinking. Where are Jeffrey, Richard Teo, Undergrad2 and Wang (the Cambridge guy)? Limkamput is confused and need enlightenment!