No DAP CEC mandate for PAS Menteri Besar in Perak

The decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters.

The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.

DAP is prepared to accept DAP chairman and Assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang Assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar.

As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:43 pm

Look at what publicity DAP has created:
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79733

Good luck guys!

2. #2 by devilonpois on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:44 pm

haha… i thought that we all want a change and effiecient government… today we Barisan Rakyat has made it a historical moment…. so now… because…just who become MB…everyone complaining…. ….

pls remember that isn’t that we want a malaysia with malaysian people….so

if malay/chinese/indian/indian/chiense/malay/malay/indian/chinese/etc as long as they are citizen of Malaysia and there are called Malaysian….. why so care about who is who….

we want Malaysia Malaysian…. so…. don;t trap into racist/religions agains….stay as one bangsa that is Malaysian that has a new dawn …………

or
    we will be breaks like a vase…hit into ground…., and next GE…everyone back to square one…..

Whoever take up any position be it MB/CM/Exco etc…., please execute your tasks….. well…
    Menjalankan tugas yang diberi dengan jujur/ikhlas demi kepentingan rakyat jelata Malaysia……. untuk semua lapisan… bukan untuk segelintir, sekumpulan, atau satu ethnic..saje…..

3. #3 by BlueBear on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:45 pm

The BN-controlled press will have a field day tomorrow. Watch!

4. #4 by lina on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:46 pm

What has paper qualifications got to do with it. Bill gates never finished Uni and he still is a one of a kind leader. Paper qualifications should not be the deciding factor.

the ability to work with all races should be the one. For me personally PKR would have been a safe choice. It stands in the middle.

But with all said and done basically its the man on the streets opinion that is what really counts. We can agree and disagree. We can love PAS or Hate PAS, but the man on the street will get what he wants.

5. #5 by pilihanrayaexpert on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:46 pm

DAP mess up !!!

6. #6 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:46 pm

Look at what publicity DAP has created:
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79733

Not even mainstream media. DAP has been so stupid over this. I’m saddened.

7. #7 by Ade on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:46 pm

This is crap YB! Sia sia I go vote for DAP….you guys didn’t walk the talk.

Please end this boycott…..this is very very bad image for DAP. I’m sure many will remember this day comes next election if the boycott goes on. BN is already capitalizing on this squabble.

Just bad…you guys are nothing more than another BN…support PAS = PKR = DAP!!!

8. #8 by mob1900 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

What happen to the ‘Malaysia’ as your blog title suggested?
    PAS is also Malaysia.

9. #9 by bystander on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

Sorry but i beg to be different. i dont think all our royalities are colour blind. colour/race is thicker than water in this case.

10. #10 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

i heard over the news that the selangor deputy menteri besar have to be a malay too.

BANGSA MALAYSIA IS DEAD.

11. #11 by twothirdmajority on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

paper qualification and portfolio always the first measure when both are equal

12. #12 by BlueBear on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

It’s just ONE POST.

One STINKY POST.

This is not even worth the squabbles!!!!!

PLease end it!

13. #13 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

So this the reality of Malaysia politics.

14. #14 by DY on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:48 pm

You have mess up uncle!!!

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:48 pm

We don’t wnat this kind of news any more. They think they are heros. They should go to hiding quietly!

Samy says no to cabinet post
    Chan Kok Leong | Mar 12, 08 1:53pm
    updated 7.25pm The MIC president also said that he would not be seeking a senatorship as a back-door entrance into the cabinet.

Ka Ting to reject cabinet post
    Mar 11, 08 7:56pm
    The embattled MCA president said he was doing so to take responsibility for the party’s poor showing in the general election.

16. #16 by hiro on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:48 pm

I believe there is a third way forward to salvage the situation, and you will need all the party leaders to resolve this.

If indeed DAP Perak has acted without the instruction of DAP CEC, then the decision is ultra vires. But what can happen now is for PAS rep to carry on first, and perhaps within a few months, say that PAS is stepping down for PKR candidate.

Whatever it is, it would be best to work this out quietly instead of blowing up for BN to criticise the coalition.

17. #17 by sec on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

Do not give up ; DAP should be the MB .
    We said MCA is hiding the UMNO sarong now DAP is hiding under the PAS sarong; the whole party of DAP has lost its integrity, the people will laugh at us- coward.

18. #18 by grace on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

Mr. Lim,
    If PAS is notin DAP’s list as MB, its name should notbe submitted its the first case.
    Actually HRH is in a difficult position too I suppose. Om one hand the Malay subjects have to be appeased too. The urban Malays may accept a Non-Malay but definitely not the rural ones.
    Thus the choice of a Malay is the most logical. But for appointment of PAS as MB? Why not settle for PKR? This would make most of us happy.
    In coalition there would be plenty of give and take to make it work. Otherwise it is as good an over!!!

19. #19 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

The first mistake was made when 3 names were submitted instead of 2.
    Boycotting the ceremony will be a bigger mistake as it will be considered an insult by the Ruler as you need all the goodwill to consolidate the party’s position in the state.

Also may cause a state crisis even before DUNs take the oath.
    Suggest the DAP should compromise.

My 2 sen worth.

20. #20 by keants on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

Kit… pls laa… after so much effort that we have spent .. a sentence from your mouth will destroy what we have built… a New Malaysia.

Dont force us to take the step of sacrifice you for the sake of Malaysia… if we need to…. I start to understand why there was KOKS campaign long time ago

21. #21 by bystander on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

Is there a conspiracy among the royalities as a result of the loss by UMNO/Bn?

22. #22 by DY on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:51 pm

Greedy!!!!!! PAS should turn down the offer as MB.The people have the say in this.

23. #23 by BioLovepulse on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:51 pm

This evening I was waiting at the newstand fervently wanting to know Sultan’s choice. Yes, I heard rumours saying that Ngeh Khoo Ham will be Perak Menteri Besar. I was sooo happy. But, mana tahu the owner of the newstand complaint that newspapers under Sin Chew Media Corporation (Sin Chew Daily and Nanyang Siang Pau) has been misinformed. So they withdrawn the newspapers printed in the evening and reprinted them all over again. Everybody waiting for their night edition of both newspapers ended up getting their copies late. I am wondering how the journalists can get misinformed.

Let’s face the reality, YB Lim. Sultan is a politically neutral entity. He is the Sultan of all. Please, ask your men to attend the swearing-in ceremony. Be rest assured that Menteri Besar is not an absolutely autocratic person. He/she will still need majority votes to implement any policy. But let us make sure that the new Menteri Besar will not sell our common interests out, OK?

Please, the Sultan have sovereignity.

24. #24 by alaneth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:53 pm

As I’ve written in this blog prior to the election.
    Vote for any opposition except PAS. If got PAS vs BN(UMNO), then make undi rosak. But it was disregarded & see what happened…

1. Kedah PAS Govt did not nominate Kota Setar DAP Candidate into Exco.
    2. Sultan of Perak got a PAS member as MB.
    3. In PAS election manifesto says not going for Islamic state. But Hadi already said in public to ban ‘UnIslamic Entertainment etc’ in a nice way ‘thru the consent of everyone’ (but by majority of PAS).
    4. Even Sultan of Selangor confidential secretary announced today that the Deputy MB shall be a Malay.

See what happens when we vote PAS???

They are wolfs in sheep clothing (dropping Islamic state etc)

Now have no choice but to boycott PAS in Perak & send memorandum of protest to Sultan Azlan & Raja Nazrin.

Another way to work is as DAP has majority, we just don’t listen to the MB at all!!! We assume & take Ngeh as MB & disregard everything Nizar says or do. He cannot act alone. We have majority – just ignore Nizar & pretend he is not there & go along with our own policies.

If any state policies need Nizar to approve, DAP just ignore & go ahead & don’t bother.

25. #25 by jyc on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:53 pm

Kit Siang, i am so disappointed with you decision. i just coulnt believe you’ve said that. Pls reconsider. If DAP boycott the swearing ceremony, how do the perak pple would have confidence in the new gov? I m from Perak and I m worried not because member of PAS is becoming the MB but the statement you have made here. The coalition is falling apart in less than a week time, how could we have confidence for the next few years?

26. #26 by pac on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:53 pm

In the first place why submit 3 names for the Sultan when DAP is not agreeable to PAS candidate. When your strategy failed, you cry foul. Ngeh has agreed publicly that DAP will “sokong dengan sepadunya” to whoever is being chosen by the Sultan. Now you are singing different tune. Shame,shame,shame on you LKS!!!!

27. #27 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:54 pm

Well, now I understand why BN can remain in power indefinitely.

28. #28 by yewtzeee on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:54 pm

hello …
    don’t loss ur cool
    if u boycott them this time ,then i am sure ba will loss next election

29. #29 by ongheanteik on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:54 pm

VERY VERY SILLY STATEMENT. When so much has been won on non-racial, intelligent platform, to now THROW IT ALL AWAY on a stupid quarrel over the PAS MB in Perak.

Please show strong leadership and tell all short sighted narrowminded people in DAP, look at calibre of man, not at his skin or religion. If you behave like this, how do you expect MALAYS to accept Lim Guan Eng as CM ??

You are putting at risk all you won on 8th march. Only UMNO is happy. Is this the work of UMNO spies in your party ???

I am Chinese and Non-Muslim, and a DAP supporter! But if DAP is truely so bigoted and narrow minded, then you really deserve all the problems and chaos you will inherit by this very very stupid statement. No more politiking – get to work to improve people’s lives.

30. #30 by choong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:55 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

I am sorry to hear about this DAP decision. DAP’s choice will not only isolate itself from the Malaysian Malays, instead all Malaysians come the 13th general election will shun DAP.

I made a conscious choice to vote for PAS eventhough I have don’t agree with its Islamic state agenda. Why? Because the greater good necessitate the need for an alternative government.

Yes, PAS is imperfect but at least they are evolving. Why can’t DAP understand that in ensuring the rakyat interests are upheld and defended, a united and cooperative team is needed?

You must understand that in the first place, the rakyat place their hope in Barisan Rakyat / Barisan Alternatif for winds of change. If DAP want to create infights so early in this coalition, the real loser ultimately is DAP, PAS and PKR.

31. #31 by Chong Zhemin on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:55 pm

DAP should have made their MB selection clear from the start that they support a candidate from PKR. From the beginnning I do not favor a DAP candidate. The decision to nominate a DAP candidate for the MB position is a wrong one. The MB from Perak needs to be a bumiputera muslim, a DAP MB is too drastic a change and also against the MB tradition. Though PAS is the minority opposition in Perak, DAP-PKR still needs their seat to form a simple majority in Perak, hence they have the bargaining power.

I suggest that DAP made their decision fast and clear that they are prepared to accept a PKR candidate as MB but not from PAS.

Please guys, it’s not whether we(here) are prepared to accept a PAS MB, it’s about the majority of Perakian Chinese. Most of them do not have the same thinking as us. They will live in fear under a PAS MB. I am from Perak, I am ok with a PAS MB but most of my friends back in my hometown doesnt think the same way. The DAP CEC is making the correct decision now.

32. #32 by yewtzeee on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

perak people won’t be afraid of pas mb,but afraid of u,lks

33. #33 by BlueBear on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

Kit, as much as the average chinese person on the streets who voted for DAP would slightly begrudge a PAS MB, I can guarantee that he would find the DAP CEC action to boycott even more disturbing.

Act FAST Act NOW.

34. #34 by MISHUGINA on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

This whole charade is a joke.

- for those who keep arguing about Bangsa Malaysia and not wanting DAP to associate themselves with PAS be ****ing realistic. The goal for Bangsa Malaysia cannot be achieved overnight and do not forget significant Malay votes that have gone to Barisan Rakyat coalition.

- why submit three names of Perak MP to Sultan INCLUDING PAS nominee? I thought you folks of all got agreement already? Don’t make BR a laughing joke for BN!

- disrespecting Sultan’s wishes is political suicide, period. Uncle Kit, you better convince DAP CEC and show up at the ceremony tomorrow.

- finally it is obvious between PAS and UMNO the former is the lesser of two evils. While PAS may not have abandoned their Islamic state manifesto they’re not as fascist as UMNO. So for good of the nation work with them for the time being.

Please remember the rakyat can vote you out as fast as they voted for you in!

35. #35 by yewtzeee on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:57 pm

u,lks only know how to boycott people…
    but do u know the consequence?

36. #36 by lina on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Can a period of one year be given for each party to be MB? A trial period of sorts to let the people decide. After 3 years, Let the people decide MB post for the remaining duration. That way all parties get a chance and for those of us who dont want a PAS, wont worry to much and for those who dont care who is MB, well still wont care, but at least it will be fair and transparent. And PAS wont be able too many restrictions and PKR and DAP can counter any negative effects during their terms. Since the people decide the MB for the last few years all the reps will have to work really hard for us.

My opinion only…. Still doesn’t mean I approve of PAS (mostly due to Hadi Awang and his comments and the fact he thinks only he is right) but it would be a compromise..

37. #37 by Edwin19 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Uncle Lim…we should be UNITED…without PKR & PAS…..
    u think DAP CAN destroy BN 2/3??
    WE WANT PEOPLE Menteri Besar!!!! No Matter PAS , PKR OR DAP

38. #38 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

DYMM SULTAN is the sultan for all Malaysians.

simple language enough.

39. #39 by DY on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Uncle Kit…You have just lost a vote from me for the next election to come

40. #40 by BennyLong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:59 pm

I’m 20 years old chinese and i noe i dun have that much experience than anyone here to speak up about politic. I feel proud to be malaysian after BA won 5 states, many of my frens also feel the same way. They want new government. History prove that a federal government can be change but not in one election, but through a few election. This time BA won almost half, so i can say that if they keep their work done and gain respect from 3 party(PKR, PAS, DAP) supporter, i believe BA might won the next election due to the young supporter that they will have in the next 5 year election. However, Perak which should be the example of Malaysia on the next 5 year have give a bad impression to WE, the future voter, how do you want us to vote for BA next time? It is true that DAP won much seat but it is in the constitution that only malay can be MB. They should accept it. Most malaysian have been expecting the result and they can accept it, why cant DAP, our role model cant accept. If they accept, this give confident that it would be no problem for the BA to form the next federal government. Try to look at LOWYAT FORUM, this time election have unite lots of young voter from different races, there are malay who happy for penang DAP win, chinese and indian who happy for kedah PAS win. They dont mind who be the next MB as long as they treat all races equal. But this blog has leave a bad impression to BA(Barisan Alternatif) and DAP. Anyway, who are me to give so many suggestion. I just wish BA good luck and can deal with this matter. Perak represent the next 5 years Malaysia, show good example. Do remember BN is laughing in Perak matter now.

41. #41 by mixed ions on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:59 pm

Terlajak perahu boleh diundur,
    Terlajak kata badan binasa

True colours showing, eh?

42. #42 by allychong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:00 pm

It doesn’t matter with which race to become the MB. What the Malaysian want is unity among all races. Please do not break the unity because of this and let BN have chance to oppose..

43. #43 by prachai on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:00 pm

I suggest you go read in Chinese forum what people are saying there: http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/forumdisplay.php?fid=74&page=1

Except a few idiots who insist on DAP supremacy, most are Malaysians wise enough to know that a disaster awaits if you fail to control the situation in Perak.

44. #44 by yewtzeee on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:01 pm

islam is good…
    just that everyone has religion freedom…..
    but since pas won’t make perak islamic state,why u boycott them?

45. #45 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:01 pm

“In the first place why submit 3 names for the Sultan when DAP is not agreeable to PAS candidate. When your strategy failed, you cry foul. Ngeh has agreed publicly that DAP will “sokong dengan sepadunya” to whoever is being chosen by the Sultan. Now you are singing different tune. Shame,shame,shame on you LKS!!!!” Pac

I think that is not the case. The case here is the DAP CEC’s mandate, only 2 candidates received the mandate from DAP CEC. PAS has also submitted their candidate of course knowing they have only six ADUN. Hence, the three nominees. Remember that PAS has no electoral pact with DAP.

46. #46 by Perakian on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:01 pm

Are you crazy? My family supporting Sultan decision. We voted PAS also. Why you still want to created a topic for BN? It will hurt Malay people as you didnt respect Sultan decision even DAP had promised before.

http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/redirect.php?goto=findpost&pid=39539312
    http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php?tid=1142073

47. #47 by MNAA on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:01 pm

Think of the greater good. We are all in this together for a better Malaysia. To achieve our goal, there will be successes, there will be disappointments and there will be sacrifices to be made. Do not let this setback get in the way. Any impulsive actions will play straight into the hands of BN.

Think of the people that had voted for DAP. The people … not Chinese, not Indians and not Malays. We all voted across racial lines to put you guys where you guys are today in KL, Selangor, Perak, Penang, Kedah and Kelantan. The political tsunami would have happened if only the Chinese had voted for DAP. We turned our back on UMNO/BN because we trust you. Do not betray our trust and sacrifice ….

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:02 pm

This is how opposition working together?

Why DAP agreed to submit three candidates to Sultan? Now Perak Sultan choose PAS candudate, then accept the decision.

No yet forming new government, you people already fo into dog fighting.

Be prepared to be opposition in next election.

49. #49 by ySo on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:02 pm

this action is breathing life into BN, why are you allowing it? don’t be a FOOL!

50. #50 by bystander on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:02 pm

DY is right. In the interest of all 3 parties, PAS should not submit. It is not right and morally ethical as PAS has the least number of seats.