No DAP CEC mandate for PAS Menteri Besar in Perak

The decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters.

The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.

DAP is prepared to accept DAP chairman and Assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang Assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar.

As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by kickbutt on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:02 am

“DAP should be grateful that the Perak Sultan agreed to appoint a non malay Deputy menteri besar.” Richard Teo

Like the post of the Deputy Prime Minister, the post of the deputy MB is not provided for in the state constitution. It is purely an administrative position and is up to the MB in his discretion to appoint his deputy or deputies – or not to appoint any according to convention. The matter of deputy MB does not come before the Sultan.

2. #2 by solshih on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:03 am

I am a Chinese from Sitiawan, Perak staying in Selangor. And a supporter of DAP. I believe the MB post should in all fairness go to DAP nominee, Mr. NGEH KOO HAM, but such is the political landscape in this country where race and religion still reign supreme in spite of all the sweet talks. Sigh!

I seldom write unless ‘forced to’. This is an excerpt from the book How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie.

“THE BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG was fought during the first three days of July, 1863. During the night of July 4, Lee began to retreat southward while storm clouds deluged the country with rain. When Lee reached the Potomac with his defeated army, he found a swollen, impassable river in front of him, and a victorious Union army behind him. Lee was in a trap. He couldn’t escape. Lincoln saw that. Here was a golden, heaven–sent opportunity – the opportunity to capture Lee’s army and end the war immediately. So, with a surge of high hope, Lincoln ordered Meade not to call a council of war but to attack Lee immediately. Lincoln telegraphed his orders and then sent a special messenger to Meade demanding immediate action.

And what did General Meade do? He did the very opposite of what he was told to do. He called a council of war in direct violation of Lincoln’s orders. He hesitated. He procrastinated. He telegraphed all manner of excuses. He refused point blank to attack Lee. Finally the waters receded and Lee escaped over the Potomac with his forces.

Lincoln was furious. “What does this mean?” Lincoln cried to his son Robert. “Great God! What does this mean? We had them within our grasp, and had only to stretch forth our hands and they were ours; yet nothing that I could say or do could make the army move. Under the circumstances, almost any general could have defeated Lee. If I had gone up there, I could have whipped him myself.”

In better disappointment, Lincoln sat down and wrote this letter. And remember, at this period of his life was extremely conservative and restrained in his phraseology. So this letter coming from Lincoln in 1863 was tantamount to the severest rebuke.

“My dear General,
    I do not believe you appreciate the magnitude of the misfortune involved in Lee’s escape. He was within our easy grasp, and to have closed upon him would, in connection with our other late successes, have ended the war. As it is, the war will be prolonged indefinitely. If you could not safely attack Lee last Monday, how can you possibly do so south of the river, when you can take with you very few – no more than two-thirds of the force you then had in hand? It would be unreasonable to expect and I do not expect that you can now effect much. Your golden opportunity is gone, and I am distressed immeasurably because of it”

What do you suppose Meade did when he read that letter?

Meade never saw that letter. Lincoln never mailed it. It was found among Lincoln’s papers after his death.

My guess is – and this is only a guess – that after writing that letter, Lincoln looked out of the window and said to himself, “Just a minute. Maybe I ought not to be so hasty. It is easy enough for me to sit here in the quiet of the White House and order Meade to attack; but if I had been up at Gettysburg, and if I had seen as much blood as Meade has seen during the last week, and if my ears had been pierced with the screams and shrieks of the wounded and dying, maybe I wouldn’t be so anxious to attack either. If I had Meade’s temperament, perhaps I would have done just what he has done. Anyhow, it is water under the bridge now. If I send this letter, it will relieve my feelings but it will make Meade try to justify himself. It will make him condemn me. It will arouse hard feelings, impair all his usefulness as a commander, and perhaps force him to resign from the army.”

So, as I have already said, Lincoln put the letter aside, for he had learned by bitter experience that sharp criticisms and rebukes almost invariably end in futility.”

I HEREBY URGE MR. NGEH KOO HAM to do a General Meade and defy the DAP CEC and DAP supremo Lim Kit Siang and gather his men to attend the swearing-in of the Menteri Besar.

Unknowingly, Mr. Lim Kit Siang, by the stroke of a pen, had undo all the achievements witnessed recently which was built over the decades. What a great shame!

As a DAP Supporter, I extend my HEARTIEST CONGRATULATIONS TO ENCIK MOHAMMAD NIZAR JAMALUDDIN ON YOUR APPOINTMENT AS THE MB OF PERAK!”

Just a short piece of unsolicited advice:-

It is not how well you treat yourself and your fellow Muslims that your greatness as a leader is measured but how well, how understanding, tolerant and benevolence you are to others and the non-Muslims who are different from you, the weak and the small that your legacy in history will be judged.

Thank you.

3. #3 by equality838 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:06 am

Frankly speaking I don’t how many ‘experts’ above come from BN to spread rumour…How many BN supporters and PAS supporters.

U all love to blame but not using brain to analyze whole situation especially reason behind: Let spend some valuable time on my note:

Actually not so many people think in the broad mindset and from the reason behind…no matter chinese, malays or indians on the protest.

The fact is: On Sunday, DAP AGM(majority seat) want to pick from only 2 candidate which are from DAP or PKR…but Sultan intention is 3….Then Nga simply tell the media, that he will agreed on sultan decision(which is not the voting tells only 2 candidates)….Then PAS of course will submit their candidate on sultan request(but not under majority DAP and PKR agreement on first stage).

Then, suddenly drama begins: when Sultan decide PAS ability is higher than PKR…so conflict comeout…

Every experts above only think of the promise made by Nga but ignore the top commitee decision on Sunday. Then start blaming LKS for not keeping his word, but actually is spoken by Nga(different person).

Well! I knew u all are not non-muslim from perak….no one know why perakians non-muslim so scared about.
    Tell u all the voice of non-muslim from perak(many friends in perakians).

From DAP politicians point of view:
    a)The reason is simple: DAP can accept PKR muslim, why? because is nothing to do with Malays and sunday meeting actually pick DAP / PKR as a choice.
    b)Scared of 1999 result…why? because PAS islamic nation ideology can’t comfort non-muslim as they need to change business style, life-style, man-woman life-style. Only that religious is protected by PAS. This cause all the non-muslim vote go back to BN on 1999.

From perakians non-muslim voters point of view:
    a)Same as politicans aspect, changing of life style. PAS really need to do a lot work to proof he is not building islamic nation to force other religion to changing life style. But what happen in Kedah on this new election. Despite transparency contract and anti-currupt policy announced in Penang and Selangor, Kedah immediately implement Hudud that is nothing benefit but only create fear on non-muslim people. So, can PAS supporter know why non-muslim perakians is so fear on this? Nothing to do with muslim or malays (PKR can accepted by DAP and perakians)…

*Islamic Ideology sounds good, but can’t force others to obey, just like suddenly Penang implment buddhist ideology nation, do u think muslim will agreed on? not even chinese will support because it is religious based on nation.

Even u all no support my point, just think vise versa and not emotional. Tell u the truth of perakians voters, if any islamic idelogy implement in Perak, DAP supporters all gone from BR, PAS/PKR/DAP all lost in next state election after 5 years.

**Forcing on other people religion is only way to death, Kedah should be a stepping stone if PAS really want to conquer more state….Sometimes u must make all races happy with ur policy**

Lastly: highly educated person won’t believe what written in BN control media like utusan malaysia, that nothing talk for anti-currupt policy and transparency upload of YB, MP asset and contractor on internet…but just emphasize on demolish DEB that only benefir cronism UMNO minister and friends not the true poor Malays.

*Think LKS decision from many aspects, not one way thinking: If non-muslims espeically perakians not support, they will go back BN anytime….then Malaysians wait another 50 years for cooperation. Do doubt I am still curious on real reason of Regent of Sultan Perak decision. His honour should open a media conference to explain all the reason of decision to comfort and convince all population, this is wiser that cause conflict in BR cooperation.

Don’t blame LKS anymore(their agreement on sunday already stated clearly either DAP / PKR) . Only Nga (DAP) said different story…just blame Nga and those PKR/PAS that fight for power.

Please proof PAS islamic ideology works well in multi-racial in Kedah first, until All non-muslims comfort, then u will automatic get attention and support from non-muslim on other state.

**Ideology needs evident to proof, not forcing people to believe ur ideology without right to quetion of***

Pitty Lim Kit Siang, suddenly become Abdullah Batawi.

I have to emphasis on one wrong statements by experts above…

IT IS NOTHING TO DO WITH RACES(Malays) AND RELIGION(Muslim)…
    Can u answer why PKR Malay Muslim is selected and accepted 1 of the candidate of DAP during meeting?

Hey friends, don’t think in racist…if u always think that way, no doubt all senario is racist decision. PKR is accept that means no races issues here…Don’t simply talk rubbish, the main reason is only because of PAS ideology is conflict with DAP ideology. DAP not supporting PAS candidate to be submit on sunday, only request from sultan and Nga simply say words, nothing related to LKS.

I am not a politicians, but just analyze things fairly and fighting for equality.

**Equality not slogan but should be a action**

4. #4 by goldenscreen on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:07 am

Sigh…DAP DAP DAP…as a Chinese you should very well know the art of Chinese politics eg Romance of 3 Kingdoms, Art of War etc. You think it is easy to change people’s mindset overnight? Then why rock the boat? Do it slowly..you think this is a revolution isit..consolidate your gains, compromise and plan for future battles..instead you get into petty squabbles..where is your sense of reasoning? Baru win 1 battle, you think already win the war. So why you want to start to stab everyone in the back now?

To all the DAP fanatics (not all DAP supporters – just the Chinese chauvinists) please watch your mouth in here and stop insulting the Malays and PAS members who willingly voted for DAP and the royal family of Perak. You have destroyed months of goodwill in a single day..just like that..sigh..maybe Malaysia has no hope for a better future after all..I hope good sense prevails in the end.

5. #5 by alexx on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:08 am

Last post of mine on this topic:

You can submit the list with candidates that is acceptable for you to Sultan…
    You can submiting 2 name only (DAP and PKR candidates), if DAP can only accept this 2….
    Since that 3 is on the list mean 3 are all acceptable… Please dun tell me that non of DAP members knew about the list contain of 3 candidates….

And also we should respect Sultan’s decision no matter how… Never hurt Muslim’s feeling as you are going to if you take such move… Never show others that we cant practise our mission.. We are blaming abother barisan that the leader party inside just dun Respect others parties at all.. And we are going to show others that we are not going to Respect Sultan decision, new MB, as well as PAS as well…

(P.S:CommonFolk and MalaysiaToday.. Stop its… Dun spam this responds with fighting… Yet Uncle lim lazy to read the comments and neglected some sensefull voices..)

6. #6 by ghazaliabu on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:09 am

I watched the news (VIDEO) on RTM1 showing DAP, PKR and PAS assemblyman sitting together announcing the submission of the proposed candidates to the Sultan of Perak. In the statement made, Ngeh who is speaking state clearly that all of them will accept the decision of the Sultan of Perak.

When Sultan made his choice why all DAP want to stay away, from the swearing ceremony askind of boycot sign?

Please do not lie as what is done by the BN.

Hold to your words or else you will lose people’s confidence just like the BN and if that happen people will see your true color and remember that clearly until the next election.

Keep to your word or do not say you will accept the decision of the Sultan in the first place.

People is watching

7. #7 by Castelo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:09 am

thanks YB…next election will be ours!!…hahaha

8. #8 by phinixx on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:12 am

tahniah!kerana kamu baru saja memecah belahkan barisan baru ini.apa yang majlis tertinggi dap bincangkan kami tidak tahu tapi yg kami tahu anda memboikot majlis angkat sumpah mb perak tersebut sebagai protes!terimakasih.dalam malam ini sahaja dah ramai yg terkejut dgn kesombongan yg anda tunjukkan.ini belum hari esok,lusa, minggu depan,tahun depan dan seterusnya.apa yg saya ingat adalah perasaan saya malam ini .kalau semua adun dap tak pergi,kami pakat tak akan sokong parti dap lagi.menyesalnya kami kerana anggap kamu lain dari parti cina yg lain.pru13 will not be the same.please enjoy this short terms in perak…kawan kawan semua,dap tak boleh dipercayai!

9. #9 by markkhor on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:13 am

YB LKS: Hope you would make the decision based on the big picture. The circumstance would be much greater than Dr Koh giving away the seat to YB LGY. I believe we should respect Sultan’s decision like Dr Koh, and we get respected as well. We all can’t wait to see how well PAS could serve for Rakyat. Work Hard YB! :)

10. #10 by CommonFolk on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:16 am

# malaysiatoday.com Says:
    Today at 04: 01.45 (5 minutes ago)

Loser, run out ideas to fight back my attacks on YB Lim.

Ask YM Lim to remove my fiery comments from his blog is best way to run away from the public scrutiny.

Too believe DAP is Chinese bodyguard is an obsolete ideology and too greedy on power is started poisoining DAP leaders.

So, you shall understand why BN and MCA are corrupt…

—————

How old are you???? This politic not a fighting match. This is for the sake of Perakians not you and your website. Is it who win who has the last convincing voice. Then you just put DAP on the right track and slapped yourself twice.

Below are the details fo your website. Used fake phone numbers somemore..how credible are you in your argument?? This boils down to attention seeking right? You post fiery stuff to get noted because your domain will expire soon..you need more traffic and hits to sell more ads.

Copy news from others then use fake contact numbers…zzZZ..zz. Where’s your journalism? Honesty and First hand is journalism, not yours. Attention seeking? Yes it’s you.

WhoIs Results for malaysiatoday.com
    Contact Type Registrant
    Organization Name: Malaysia Today
    First Name: DotCom
    Last Name: Sdn Bhd
    Address 1: Via email only
    Address 2:
    City: Kuala Lumpur
    StateProvince:
    PostalCode: 50000
    Phone: +60.0161111000
    Fax: 60
    EmailAddress: araneumnxx@yahoo.com
    nameserver: DNS2.2020HOST.COM
    DNS1.2020HOST.COM
    updated-date: 2007-11-17
    registration-expiration-date: 2008-11-30

11. #11 by stupidmalaysia on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:24 am

In an earlier Press Conference, DAP Chairman of Perak Ngeh Koo Ham has mentioned that the parties will accept the decision of HRH Sultan of Perak. HRH Sultan Azlan was after all former Lord President, he’s not letting his state slide down Shariahville.
    So, let’s move on, honour your words, retract the boycot. Mohd. Nizar Jamaludin is after a professional Engineer (Ir. preceeding his name). DAP and PRK will have the Exco Council to smoothen issues out internally.

12. #12 by Castelo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:24 am

who cares??…hahaha…DAP, PAS n PKR will die soon…

13. #13 by hnlow on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:25 am

THERE ARE MANY REASONS CONTRIBUTED TO THESE SORT OF CONFUSION AND MISALIGNMENT FROM DAP, PKR AND PAS IN PERAK STATE. HERE ARE MY STRONG COMMENTS TO YOU ALL:

1ST, THE BA OPPOSITION HAS NEVER THOUGHT OF WINNING THE PERAK STATE, YOU HAVE THOUGHT THAT YOU MAY WIN MORE SEATS BUT NOT ENOUGH TO OVERTHROW THE PRESENT BN GOVERNMENT IN PERAK, BUT TO YOUR OWN SURPRISE, BA WON. THEREFORE THERE ISNT PROPERLY THOUGHT OVER STRATEGY AND PLAN TO CONSIDER WHAT IF BA WON IN PERAK STATE.

PERAK IS A STATE WITH MIXED POPULATION OF MALAY, CHINESE AND INDIANS. TO CHOOSE MB FOR PERAK, IT HAS TO BE A GOOD BALANCING ACT. DEFINITELY THE BEST CHOICE IS STILL A PKR MALAY CANDIDATE DUE TO THE FACT THAT PKR COMPOSED OF 3 RACES AND ALL MALAYSIAN AGENDA. PAS IS TOO ISLAMIC, DAP IS TOO NON-MALAY. IF BA HAD EVER THOUGHT OF APPOINTING PKR LEADER TO BE PERAK MB, THEN IN THE FIRST PLACE YOU ALL SHOULD HAVE IDENTIFIED THE RIGHT ACADEMICALLY QUALIFIED PKR CANDIDATE TO FIELD IN THE BATTLE POSTS IN MUTUALLY ACCEPTED PLACES IN PERAK TO WIN.

2ND, DONT BE BECAUSE OF DAP LEADERS IN PERAK HAD ACCEPTED THE DECISION, YOU LIM KIT SIANG FELT THEY HAVE GIVEN IN TO SELL DAP SHORT, YOU HAVE GIVEN PERAK DAP THE POWER TO DECIDE. THEY EXERCISED IT, ACCEPT THE CONSEQUENCES. DONT BLAME OTHERS, YOU SHOULD BLAME YOURSELF TOO IF YOU THINK IT IS NOT RIGHT. DECISION HAD TO BE MADE MUCH MORE EARLY THAN NOW, YOU SHOULD HAVE CONSTANTLY CONSULT THE 2 COALITION PARTIES AND PERAK SULTAN YOURSELF OF YOUR BELIEF AND STANCE FOR THE GOOD OF PERAK STATE, INSTEAD OF YOU SPENT MOST OF YOUR TIME IN PENANG TO OBSERVE YOUR SON TO SWEAR IN TO BE CM. YOU HAVE SHOWN TO THE RAKYAT THAT YOU ARE STILL THE EMPEROR IN DAP, YOU WANT WHAT YOU THINK IS RIGHT INSTEAD OF COLLECTIVE DECISION AND ACTION BY DAP MEMBERS. THIS IS NO DIFFERENCE THAN OTHER AUTOCRATIC LEADERS LIKE SAMY, KUAN YEW AND EVEN MAHATHIR.

3RD, ACCEPT THE FACT THAT EVERY ONE OF THE BA PARTIES ARE POWER HUNGRY TOO, EACH AND EVERYONE SOUNDED LIKE THEY ARE SO GREAT IN GIVING BUT INSTEAD THEY ARE SO GOOD IN FIGHTING EACH FOR POSITIONS IN THE PARTY, PARLIAMENT SEATS AND POSITION IN STATE GOVERNMENT. ACCEPT THE FACT THAT YOU ALL WANT MORE POWER AND YOU HAVE ALL FOUGHT TILL THE END B4 FINAL DECISION IS MADE BY THE SOVEREIGN. AND THERE IS SIMPLY NO TRUST AMONG THE 3 PARTIES.

4TH, IT MAY SOUND TO YOU THAT PAS IS THE BIGGEST WINNER IN THIS ELECTION AND COALITION, I.E. 3 STATES FOR PAS, 1 STATE FOR PKR AND 1 STATE FOR DAP. SOUR GRAPE FEELING ISNT IT? OTHERS DID THE HARD WORK, AND SOMEONE RIDE ALONG EASILY TO TAKE IT. BUT THE FACT IS YOU ALL FORMED UP AN ALLIANCE TOGETHER THIS TIME TO BREAK BN 2/3 SEATS. AND THAT YOU ALL SHOULD HAVE CLEAR OUT THE DIFFERENCES INSTEAD YOU ALL ARE SEEMINGLY LOOKED LIKE HASTILY INVOLVED IN THIS COALITION WITHOUT MUTUALLY AND PROPERLY PLANNED OUT, THOUGHT OVER, DISCUSSED, NEGOTIATED, CONFIRMED AND ACCEPTED AMONGST ALL.

5TH, DATO SERI ANWAR WILL NOT COME OUT TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE BETWEEN PAS AND DAP. OR HE WILL SUBJECT HIMSELF IN A HOT DEBATE AND HOT SOUP. WHY? IF HE SUPPORTS DAP, HE WILL BE TAKEN AS PRO-NON BUMI, IF HE SUPPORTS PAS, HE WILL BE TAKEN AS PRO-ISLAMIC AND PRO-MALAY. REMAIN HIMSELF TO BE SILENT IN THIS ISSUE CAN MAKE HIM BE A BETTER OPPORTUNIST, HE WILL SWING HIS SUPPORT TO THE SIDE WHICH COMMAND STRONGER VOICE AND STRONGER POWER END OF DAY. HE WILL LET BOTH PARTIES (DAP AND PAS) FIGHT SO THAT THERE WILL BE MORE OPPORTUNITY FOR PKR TO INVOLVE IN BETTER POSITION IN THE AFTERMATH. SO PKR WILL REMAIN NEUTRAL ON THEIR VIEW.

6TH, PAS CANDIDATE IS NOT GENTLEMAN ENOUGH TO HONOUR THE PARTIES WHICH WON THE MAJORITY SEATS TO PROPOSE THEIR CANDIDATE TO BE MB, INSTEAD THEY PORTRAY THEMSELVES TO BE POWER HUNGRY TOO MAKING THE RAKYAT SUSPECT THEIR MOTIFS AND AGENDA BEHIND. IF PAS EVER PROPOSE PKR CANDIDATE OR SEEMINGLY PROPOSE DAP REP TO BE THE FIRST CHOICE BUT ULTIMATELY WITH NO BETTER RESOLUTION AND THEN FINALLY ACCEPT THE APPOINTMENT BY THE SOVEREIGN, THEN THEY ARE CONSIDERED A GOOD TEAM PLAYER, VERY GIVING, CARING, SENSITIVE AND RECEPTIVE TOWARDS WHAT MAJORITY OF PEOPLE WANTED TO SEE. IT WILL WIN THEM BETTER SUPPORT FROM RAKYAT TO EVEN CHANGE VIEW TOWARDS PAS.

7TH, THE ROYAL OF PERAK IS WISE TO CONSIDER ALL FACTORS BEFORE ULTIMATELY DECIDE ON THE PAS CANDIDATE. DONT FORGET HE WAS TRAINED IN LAW. HE WILL AND COULD NOT CHANGE THE CONSTITUENCY WHICH WAS SET BY PREVIOUS SOVEREIGNTY, THE RISK IS SIMPLY TOO HUGE FOR HIM TO TAKE ON. TO AMEND IT MAY CAUSE POSSIBLE COMMOTION AMONG THE RAKYAT AND ALSO POSSIBLE ATTEMPT TO INFLICK RACIAL HATRED BY SOME INTENDED PARTIES AND MAY BE STRONG OPPOSITION BY UMNO. HIS INTENTION IS TO UPHOLD PEACE AND HARMONY WITHIN THE STATE, THAT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE SULTAN.

8TH, VOICE THEIR DISSATISFACTION BY NOT ATTENDING THE SWORN IN CEREMONY OF PAS CANDIDATE OFFICIATED BY THE ROYAL SULTAN OF PERAK ONLY MADE DAP LOOK MORE NAIVE, INCONSIDERATE, IMMATURE AND NON-GENTLEMEN ATTITUDE.

YOU MAY STATE THAT BN MEMBER DO NOT ATTEND YOUR SON’S CM APPOINTMENT CEREMONY IN PENANG BUT THEN YOU DID THE SAME TO YOUR OWN COALITION PARTY MEMBER. WHAT MAKES YOU? IT ONLY MAKES YOU LOOK LIKE A NARROW MINDED, STUBBORN EMPEROR. NOT WISE.

FACE THE TRUTH, EVEN WITH YOUR ABSENCE IN THE SWORN IN CEREMONY WILL NOT CHANGE THE DECISION AND POSITION FOR YOUR COALITION. SO TAKE THE GUT, BITE THE BULLET AND BE A BIG MAN.

9TH, LIM KIT SIANG, YOU WORRIED THAT YOUR VOTERS WILL NOT SUPPORT DAP BECAUSE OF THIS SWIFT OF TOP POSITION TO PAS. YOU SHOULDNT NOW, WHAT YOU SHOULD DO IS TO PUT OFF THE POSSIBLE FIRE CAUSED BY YOUR OPPONENTS, PACIFIED THE VOTERS AND SUPPORTERS, PROMISED THEM TO DO YOUR UTMOST BEST TO ENSURE PERAK STATE IS A “STATE FOR ALL MALAYSIAN”. PROVE IT WRONG TO THE OPPONENTS AND SET A NEW EXAMPLE OF A COALITION BA WITH “DEMOCRATIC” AND COLLECTIVE ADMINISTRATION.

I DO WANT YOU OR YOUR SECRETARY TO READ MY STRONG COMMENTS.

14. #14 by leeann on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:27 am

Wait …everyone here, is Anwar plot again to bring down even the Sultan? U n I know Lim Kit Siang can’t be tat stupid to submit 3 names and then disagree. WE are being played. They are playing games here.

Wat u think guys?

15. #15 by ManUsuxxors on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:28 am

Old Man Lim, I had, in the past, always thought of you as a hero, but after hearing the way you stammer your way in parliament, and your stupid behaviour now, takes away much of the lustre.

Why had you NOT decided among yourselves the appointment of the MB BEFOREHAND??? Even before the elections? Utter stupidity, and now you add to it by asking for a walkout.

I sort of think YOU were the one which stunted Malaysian Opposition for so long.

16. #16 by phinixx on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:28 am

im going to sleep with hate and regret

17. #17 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:30 am

DAP Loser, you forget how BN personal attacking on Anwar backfired on them. Forget this cheap stuff.

You cannot argue with brain, you shall join BN team.

I have reposted my comments on YB Lim to RPK website.

No tomorrow for DAP if YB Lim is still around.

18. #18 by goldenscreen on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:33 am

CommonFolk can you stop your flame war right here and now!! If you have nothing better to contribute but pick fights then I suggest you go and sleep NOW!

malaysiantoday.com, please do not respond anymore to CommonFolk. Just ignore.

Have a good night everyone. Just wait for things to sort itself out tommorrow.

19. #19 by gofortruth on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:33 am

Today at 03: 31.40 (30 minutes ago)
    CommonFolk Says:

You are still day, or perhaps night dreaming. The appointment of the new Perak MB is already out of the Rakyat and Democracy concept. It’s called side-siding…..
    ————
    The result of this 12th GE caught everybody by surprise, even BN with their vast information resources could not predict such a catatrophic outcome would befall upon them.

So what I’m trying to say is that the 18 so called majority seats DAP won this time around is by no mean a concrete prove of vote for DAP Democracy (how many seats did DAP get over the last 3 elections?).

This election is a very simple “people” voting against the arrogant BN, not any particular political ideology.Please! ( I’m all for Democracy)

If one thinks DAP won all the seats by their Democratic ideology, then I don’t know who is day or night dreaming.

All of us brag so much about a fair & just & democractic society with equal oppotunity for all the people irrespective of race & religion. Here the Sultan put a small practical test and all of us fell flat already. Sigh!

20. #20 by Castelo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:33 am

We call it YB Lim biggest mistake….hahaha

21. #21 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:36 am

You and YM Lim speak out for Perakians or oneself? How many perakians give you the voice?

18 seats is not even a half of Dewan Negari seats. 18 seats already make you so great and make you forget that these seats are not solely from Chinese votes.

Be prepared for less than 5 seats in 5 years time…I promise this will happen.

22. #22 by CommonFolk on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:38 am

MalaysiaToday dot com,

You have just proven my insight. Double posting all over in the oppositions’ blog. Boils down to?? Attention seeking.

When I argue, I want to make sure I am not used..by seekers like you..the more heated the argument the more people will notice you and you funny news forum..but you really succeeded. Maybe not here..maybe in Anwar’s Blog.

Your last statement just shows you are not interested in politics..the way you attacked Uncle Lim and DAP.
    You don’t even want to sound right..you just want to scold and create hoo-haa. Go to those online gaming forums where those 15′s and 18′s argue..they’ll be easily hooked and tricked by you.

23. #23 by antiBN08 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:41 am

Good job lar DAP in leading an infighting. Guess that BN will be very happy now, and it’s very likely that they’ll rule M’sia 4ever since there’s no unity among the oppositions. I once thought that there’ll be hope for M’sia, but it seems that I’m just too naive. DAP has just betray the trust the Malay has put upon them (I’m a Chinese FYI). This racist and religious political agenda will 4ever remain in M’sia political setup and I bet BN will still win the next GE coz BN is the expert in playing the racial games.

I pity all the M’sians, for they’ll forever be under the evil BN rules, and that they’ll be no party strong enough to defy their racist dominance. I rather be an illegal immigrant in a foreign country (for which I’m actually now in, but not yet illegal) than be a 2nd class citizen in this racist and discrimatory country, where I do not have much rights of my own anyway.

24. #24 by Castelo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:41 am

BN-28 seats lol…hahaha…

25. #25 by KennyGan on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:43 am

Lim Kit Siang thought there will be a political backlash against DAP if he did not object to an MB from PAS. But the electorate has spoken. It is clear there WILL be a political backlash against DAP if the party carries through with its decision to boycott the swearing in ceremony.

The paradigm has indeed shifted. It was what made this political tsunami possible in the first place. Leaders muust adjust their thinking to suit the new paradigm or just retire.

26. #26 by andy6000 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:45 am

i think that better don have MB for perak. Just register another brand new title for DAP leader. So it won break the rule of muslim.

27. #27 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 4:57 am

DAP is no more sit in the opposition bench in four states, do not beg me to be nice on DAP as before.

YB Lim is just not gettig more heats from BN, I see at least 90% voters who voted BA would spitting on DAP.

Your politics is power greedy like BN boys….so I am not interested on that.

28. #28 by gofortruth on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:03 am

Lets pray that Uncle Lim has a good rest (can we imagine how physically & mentally tired he must be by now?) & his energy fully replenished & with full of wisdom by the morning.Amen!

29. #29 by lakshy on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:07 am

YB,

I received this e-mail, source unknown, and felt it apt to reproduce here:-

New state gov’ts – don’t blow it
    Product Of the System | Mar 11, 08 5:40pm

Greetings to the new leaders of the state governments of Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan. We congratulate the parties for a hard-won battle against the seemingly insurmountable Barisan Nasional.

We the voters stood by you – DAP, PKR and PAS – during those days you were known as the opposition. We gave a great part of ourselves to help in your noble cause. We parted with our hard-earned money and donated generously at your open air ceramah. We braved the unrelenting terrible weather, stood heel-deep in mud listening to your promises of a better Malaysia.

We refused to budge under all adverse circumstances. Some of us have placed our careers and families at risk. We were vocal critics and diligent ‘Deep Throats’ supporting the opposition while earning a living in the civil service.

We slogged and blogged, wrote and re-wrote, voted and revolted. We did it all for only one reason – that together we can initiate change towards a better Malaysia. You have now won victoriously, far beyond anyone’s expectations. Do not disappoint us, the rakyat. You have proclaimed us your bosses by your own admission and we lay claim to that role.

You will fulfill your promises and we expect you to demonstrate genuine effort even if you fail in the end. In the past, you could cite limited resources and forced inhibition as excuses for delivery failure. No more now. You are in charge and the last thing we rakyat need is more mitigating factors.

We will judge you by the same measures by which we have expelled the previous regime. Rest assured that you will be held accountable to every proclamation and condemnation that you ever uttered over the last four years.

We voted you in without regard to your skin colour, religion or biological makeup. We were Chinese who have voted PAS, Malays who have chosen DAP and Indians who opted for PKR. We were the oppressed who saw you as liberators and the cheated who believed in the truth. We, your bosses, have set aside our differences and we shall settle for nothing less than the same among you. If we could unite in spite of years of BN racism, you as leaders have even more reason to collaborate and achieve.

While we won’t expect you to see eye to eye in all things, we do not want any washing of dirty linen in public, either. We affirm our right to praise or criticise you and it is our privilege to have a say in decision-making. We do not desire fanciful slogans or sweet-sounding promises. Rather, we wish to taste sincerity and humility, and we demand you from this moment to observe humility at all times. We insist on our right to be heard, our grouses to be attended to and our welfare to be considered.

We seek justice, not exhibitionism. Do not betray the trust we placed in you, lest we show you the exit the way we did to the previous regime that betrayed us. This is your time – your one and only chance to prove you’re worth your salt.

Don’t blow it.

30. #30 by princess on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:08 am

Uncle Lim,
    please look beyond the racial line,
    please don’t dissapoint us.

31. #31 by Castelo on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:12 am

already blow ma…haha

32. #32 by pas-word on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:13 am

I was a PAS member and has vote for DAP 3 times. If you, YB Lim has this ‘racist’ attitude, then no more vote from me for DAP. Feel very sorry for your CEC judgement….

33. #33 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:15 am

The Sultan did not make a very wise decision. In democratic system, the majority is the winner. My thought was DAP would take control as MB. It may be difficult for the three parties to announce so, but if Sultan picks it, the people would not say anything. Now the sultan made a different choice. Chaos started….

To reiterate my suggestion. Those in the state government, no matter they are from DAP, PAS or PKR, please detach yourselves from a particular party.

34. #34 by supersagi on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:15 am

Aiyah, so many politicians here meh? Why picked fight with one another. This is democracy, so everyone is entitle to voice their opinion.

If you don’t like what’s going on now, you get your chance in GE13. Now, no reversal already. HHmmmmmmmm …… Human, being human – full of emotion.

Maybe what we can do is be realistic and put ourselves in Uncle Lim’s position instead of our perception. Probably we behave 10 times worst than him ….

I am still confident that BR will live up to our expectation. Its like a middle class family just won a million dollar lottery and things went out of control. They’ll come to their senses once the hangover is gone.

Ok, good night and may all of you rest well for a new tomorrow.

35. #35 by lakshy on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 5:38 am

Another article by Michael Backman 12/3/08

Lets see the bigger picture ok guys?

MALAYSIA Boleh! (Malaysia Can!) is Malaysia’s national slogan but after last Saturday’s elections, the real slogan should be Malaysians Boleh! for ordinary Malaysians are to be congratulated. The humiliation they handed their government at the federal and state elections demonstrates how politically sophisticated and mature they have become in the face of a high-handed and patronising government.
    Five state governments were won by the opposition and federally, the Government had its worst showing ever. But it was the clinical precision in which voters went about their business that was most impressive.
    Zainuddin Maidin, the information minister, lost his seat. A measure of how complacent the Government had become was its appointment of the inept Zainuddin to the role in the first place. His appalling performance on Al Jazeera television late last year was a very public international humiliation for all Malaysians. Voters did what Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi did not have the guts to do: they removed him from office.
    Malaysia’s media has become so discredited that local bloggers are now hugely popular. Zainuddin had patronisingly warned Malaysians about false information spread by bloggers. They responded by voting one of the most popular bloggers — Jeff Ooi — into parliament.
    The birthday of Samy Vellu, the long-serving public works minister and head of the party that represents Malaysia’s Indian community, coincided with election day but it was Malaysians who got the birthday present. Samy lost his seat.
    No one is more to blame than he for driving Malaysia’s Indians into their pitiful state as second-class citizens. His deputy also lost his seat, as did the head of the party’s youth wing, its vice-president, and the head of its women’s wing. The party barely exists now.
    Meanwhile, a lawyer who championed the rights of Indians and who has been detained without charge since December because of it, won a seat in a state parliament — a seat in which the majority of voters are actually Chinese. It seems that ordinary Malaysians have a greater sense of fair play than their Government.
    The Government lost power in the state of Penang. Lim Guan Eng, the much-respected new chief minister, was arrested and jailed in 1994 after he distributed a brochure complaining about the handling of claims that the (then) chief minister of Malacca, Rahim Thamby Chik, had sexual relations with an under-age girl who happened to be one of Lim’s constituents.
    Unbelievably Thamby Chik was not charged for what amounted to statutory rape but Lim was, for having distributed the pamphlet. How embarrassing for Abdullah that he must now deal with a chief minister that his Government so unfairly jailed.
    Only the state government of Sarawak was spared voters’ ire but only because it had its elections last year. But nature will bring change there too. Its long-serving, outstandingly greedy, cancer-stricken chief minister is soon to learn that a shroud has no pockets.
    More broadly, the very legitimacy of Abdullah’s Government is open to question. At the federal level, the opposition received 47.8% of the vote; a remarkable result given voting fraud, a frightened media that gives the opposition almost no positive coverage, and severely rigged electoral boundaries. As it was, about a third of eligible voters did not vote, meaning that Abdullah’s Government was returned by only four out of 10 eligible voters.
    Late last year, I met with former finance minister and senior ruling party lawmaker Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah at his residence in Kuala Lumpur. He told me how appalled he was by the direction Malaysia had taken. He said that Malaysia needed a free media and a truly independent judiciary. He decried the corruption and nepotism that had beset the leadership of his own party. “But why don’t you stand up in parliament and say these things?” I asked.
    “Because the media would be instructed not to report it,” he said.
    If the opposition parties and their leaders can put their egos aside and think strategically, they have a chance of giving Malaysia what it sorely needs, a stable two-party system.
    Opposition figure Anwar Ibrahim will become eligible for election next month with the expiry of the ban following his criminal conviction.
    The nightmare scenario for Abdullah is that Anwar’s wife, who was again elected on Saturday, will resign in the coming months, forcing a by-election at which Anwar will be elected. He might then help to coalesce the opposition parties into a more unified and effective voice. If he were to lure the Chinese-based MCA and perhaps the Sarawak-based United Traditional Bumiputera Party away from the ruling coalition, then the opposition would have precisely half the members of parliament. And if just one more government member were to walk — Tengku Razaleigh perhaps — then the Government will fall after 50 years in office. The current 13-party ruling coalition would be replaced by a five-party coalition. Whether or not this happens, there will be constant tension from the fact that it might.
    Abdullah has emerged as probably Malaysia’s most pointless prime minister. The election results are an unmitigated disaster for him and his Government. If the opposition is sufficiently disciplined and the ruling coalition starts to crack, then his nightmare has only just begun. Could Abdullah negotiate such a minefield? So far his political talents don’t seem to have stretched beyond using chemical-laden water cannons against his own people. It would seem his days are numbered.

36. #36 by ghazaliabu on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 6:05 am

I watched the news (in video) on RTM1 showing DAP, PKR and PAS assemblyman sitting together announcing the submission of the proposed candidates to the Sultan of Perak. In the statement made, Ngeh who is speaking state clearly that all of them will accept the decision of the Sultan of Perak.

When Sultan made his choice why all DAP want to stay away, from the swearing ceremony askind of boycot sign?

Please hold your words not as what is done by the BN.

Keep to your word or do not say you will accept the decision of Sultan in the first place.

Everyone is watching. Don’t let us down.

37. #37 by ghazaliabu on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 6:17 am

I believe he will be a good MB for all.

Ngeh willingly accept him as he stated in the press conference after the submission of names to Sultan.

CEC should respect Ngeh stand in that matter. Let Perak DAP have their own way working with PAS and PKR. After all, you submitted 3 names.

I hope DAP would not have similar perception as MCA and BN about PAS.

You have yet to know them.

38. #38 by lawa88 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 6:46 am

Saudara Lim,
    Wake up to reality…DAP could not have done so well without support from PKR and PAS. Wake up…get all DAP ADUN to attend the swearing in and walk the talk..or else you are history…

39. #39 by KennyGan on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:04 am

A fine article by Michael Beckman except that luring the corrupted MCA to join the opposition coalition is not on the cards. But to get back to the point, all cyberspace warriors must continue to put pressure on Uncle Lim to reverse his decision. Uncle Lim please listen! If Malaysians and Perakians of all races can accept a PAS MB, why can’t you?

40. #40 by ranger on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:04 am

Sir, this is a VERY BAD decision. What you have fought for you yourself are unravelling. Get over it and attend the swearing ceremony. We put you there.

41. #41 by ipohmalihome on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:18 am

Good morning Malaysian, really take me 2 hours to read ppl voices and ideas. This matter really really sakit kepala. All I can said for those who won in this election for sure they will do their best so in the next election they will win more voters. This part everyone must agree. I love to sing this song “The winner takes it all, The loser standing small” or even this song too “My Way”.

ah yo yo poor DAP sudah dapat pun terpaksa kena letak balik……sometime to many cooks spoil the soup….after all….. lembu punya susu sapi punya nama lagi

Sacrified is not a easy thing to do and if DAP can do it ………..i think every Malaysian even the Sultan will salute to DAP as a hero party.

By the way…….at PAS website Guru Hadi Awang ever said before if a chinese can be a head he will support too………aiyah time up already have to go to work……….thank you for reading.

42. #42 by Evenmind on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:38 am

You people out there , grow up please, be gentlemen, obviously there is no communication with the Perak State DAP and the central DAP, IF a letter was acknowledged by the state rep, so stand by it, should have known better, now that the sultan has chosen the PAS man for the job , don’t moan and groan , its not anybody’s fault but your own. Don’t act like little children now.

43. #43 by Evenmind on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:38 am

You people out there , grow up please, be gentlemen, obviously there is no communication with the Perak State DAP and the central DAP, IF a letter was acknowledged by the state rep, so stand by it, should have known better, now that the sultan has chosen the PAS man for the job , don’t moan and groan , its not anybody’s fault but your own. Don’t act like little children now.

44. #44 by Evenmind on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:38 am

45. #45 by highhand on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 7:41 am

THERE WILL BE BLOOD

MAC 13 = MAY 13

46. #46 by Wang on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 8:05 am

It’s not a time to boycott. Put your differences aside now and work together as a team to show people that DAP-PKR-PAS coalition can deliver their promises. The new Perak state government is already quite weak, the last thing you want is to further weaken it. I understand that some supporters may not agree with the new Menteri Besar coming from PAS, but it is Perak sultan’s decision that the BN state opposition cannot point their fingers to DAP and PKR. I think people understand that DAP and PKR dominate the new state government and PAS will have to consider all members’ views.

47. #47 by js on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 8:05 am

Good News!Heard that DAP will be attending the swearing in ceremony today.

48. #48 by KennyGan on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 8:13 am

The mainstream media is quick to jump on the negative news with fodder provided so graciously provided by Mr. Lim Kit Siang. See what you have done Mr. Lim? I have voted for DAP every election but now I’m feeling disgusted at your petty politicking to satisfy your ego.

quote:

Cracks Appear In Perak Opposition Alliance

Wednesday, 12 March 2008
    KUALA LUMPUR, March 12 (Bernama) — Cracks have appeared in the opposition pact between the DAP, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and PAS which had earlier agreed to form a coalition government in Perak.

The Perak DAP assemblymen have been told to stay away from the swearing-in of Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as the new Perak Menteri Besar at Istana Iskandariah tomorrow.

49. #49 by doggone on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 8:22 am

LKS, please post an apology and your course of action regarding this issue.
    You really need to pacify the nation before this turns sour.
    I have been up without sleep hoping to hear some announcement from you.
    I am tired man, real tired.

50. #50 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Thursday, 13 March 2008 - 8:23 am

Uncle Kit
    I voted for BA. I did not care which symbol was there , I voted for BA and I want BA to work. Please please uncle KIT do not let the enemy of freedom and justice have an upper hand because of this .
    I beg you for the success of the BA and for all Malaysians to accept this unfairness for the meantime and make it work . Ir Nizar is a humble man who works for the greatest good, I am sure he is servant leader and not as obnoxious as some of the older PAS leaders are. Give this coalition a chance .
    Uncle Kit I do not love you less for this but I am very sad right now ..do not throw away our wins .

Comments are closed.