The decision to appoint a PAS Assemblyman Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar has caused shock and consternation to DAP leaders, members and supporters.
The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.
DAP is prepared to accept DAP chairman and Assemblyman for Sitiawan Ngeh Koo Ham or PKR Behrang Assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi as Perak Mentri Besar.
As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.

#1 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:28 pm
Hello do we really need this now? Supportlah, show the world we can work. And I believe Perak royalty is number in supporting good governance, fair play etc, etc. Takan cakap kosong aje?
#2 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:32 pm
YB, I WAS SHOCKED TOO! WHY PAS!? WHY NO OBJECTION! ANY GOO D REASON FOR THAT?
#3 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:37 pm
dap – be in the opposition. redeem your integrity.
without dap , pas cannot form the government.
#4 by khensthoth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:38 pm
Although I do not necessary agree with the appointment of a PAS Menteri Besar, considering the huge DAP win there, I do however advise DAP-PKR-PAS to sort all differences out, and project an image of a strong coalition which can work together. All opposition parties now are under the watch of the Rakyat, to judge if the opposition really have the ability to form and manage a coalition, and next a country.
Please do sort this out and solve it immediately. Also, I don’t think staying away from the swearing-in ceremony helps at all.
#5 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:40 pm
PAS should PASSED the CM PERAK seat to DAP or PKR.
#6 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:41 pm
PAS representative has NO qualification to be the CM of PERAK
#7 by BlueBear on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:41 pm
As much as DAP supporters are disappointed by the selection of the PAS member for the top post in Perak, your actions are potentially very inflamattory.
I think the DAP unfortunately needs to compromise here. Please do not worsen the situation by publicly displaying your disapproval. You can potentially undo all your good work in the elections with this action.
#8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:41 pm
all dap wakil raayat resign n forced another by elections. PLEASE.
#9 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:42 pm
“The DAP Central Executive Committee, at its emergency meeting in Penang on Sunday, 9th March 2008, had given approval for the formation of a Perak coalition government comprising 18 DAP Assembly members, seven PKR Assemblymen and six PAS Assemblymen.”
Is staying away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow overturn the approval given by DAP CEC for the formation of Perak coalition government on the 9th March 2008?
#10 by ySo on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:42 pm
not a wise choice… i’m chinese btw
#11 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:43 pm
all dap wakil raayat resign n forced another by elections. PLEASE.
Not necessary. It will not change anything.
#12 by BlueBear on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:44 pm
If DAP jumps to the opposition in Perak, this will have easily have ramifications to the other DAP-coalition state governments. Need to be cautious.
#13 by tsn on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:45 pm
Without PAS, Barisan Rakyat no longer a majority barisan, reduce to a lesser barisan than BN.
#14 by jaygan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:47 pm
Here we go again :(
#15 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:51 pm
if pas won six seats and be given the mb post. than lets do not preach democracy in this cyberblog.
than dap shouldnot appeal for funds for this election support.
IF THIS IS CALL BANGSA MALAYSIA. than i suggest that only two parties represent malaysia. umno and pas.
#16 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:53 pm
HOW TO kick this PAS out of PERAK NOW! SOmeone helps ANWAR where is Dato Seri ANWAR now?
#17 by Itshowtime on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:54 pm
LKS your man said he will accept who ever the sultan chooses.Please walk the talk.This is not the time to sulk and give BN a chance to get a crack at us.Walk the talk please and lead by example.You are wise. please be there at the swearing in with the 18 assembly man.Its the rakyat wish.please honour it
#18 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:54 pm
There is nothing to be afraid of a PAS MB. Dont let the ghost of 1999 haunt us. Just explain to the people this is under state constitution and those PKR candidates do not have the proper paper qualifications. And since the sultan of perak refused to defy the state constitution, hence the post had to be given to the PAS representative.
#19 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:55 pm
Guys, just have to face reality, whatever is it, the MB post will surely be led by a Malay, since Perak is still a Malay majority seat. We are not a country which has totally eliminated race base politics like the USA. So it’s either from PKR or PAS.
Why the Sultan chose Pas instead of PKR is still a question remained to be answered.
BUT Please:
“As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.”
Cmon DAP, aren’t you guys supposedly to be working with each other? SHOW YOUR SUPPORT FOR EACH OTHER! SINCE BA HAS CHOSEN TO LET THE SULTAN DECIDE, THEN RESPECT THE SULTAN’s DECISION.
I would be very happy if the MB is from DAP as I’ve always been a DAP supporter. But life’s like that, it’s never fair! DAP will still rule the Exco state member seats! DON’T LET SUCH THINGS JEAPORDIZE our co-operation with other parties.
#20 by Sooth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:55 pm
I’m not a DAP member but I and my family have always supported you and your ideals of a Malaysian Malaysia and voted for DAP whenever possible. I’m wondering if this step is necessary?
Since there’s no formal pact on who should be the MB because this has been an unexpected victory, and you’ve decided to form the state government together, I think it’s only right for your state assemblymen to attend the swearing in ceremony. I think it’s plain stupid if you guys decide not to attend the swearing in ceremony but remain as part of the state government.
#21 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:57 pm
We really need PAS’ help to abolish the NEP. Pls dont do something that will wreck our main objection.
#22 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:57 pm
type error : objective
#23 by Jackychin on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:57 pm
There is inequality in the Perak’s constitution at the first place, many had hoped for the Royal family to be fair and equal, once again, the majority of people’s voice has fallen to deaf ears, it is too late to do anything now for the Royal announcement had been made…We know now what the will of the family is…Non muslims do not have a future in Perak…it is very clear now…sad…
#24 by catharsis on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:58 pm
Children Please Behave yourselves……………….
#25 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:58 pm
“As the appointment of PAS Assemblyman for Pasir Panjang Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin as Perak Mentri Besar representing the third and smallest political party in the proposed coalition has not received the mandate of the CEC, DAP Perak Assemblymen will stay away from the swearing-in ceremony for Perak Mentri Besar scheduled tomorrow.”
If staying away from swearing-in ceremony in the solution, uncle Kit must be kidding me. What is in store for Perak Uncle Kit? Is DAP showing some muscle now? I think it is too late. Just accept it.
#26 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:59 pm
YES I agree with Itshowtime and devilmaster!
There is more at stake. DAP knows they can’t defy the Sultan’s decision, just accept it with an open heart!
I live in Ipoh, I don’t mind who being the MB. I’m sure others can too.
DON’T let BN USE THIS MATTER AGAINST DAP!
#27 by lina on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:59 pm
Do not resign and force a by election. It might just worsen an already tense situation. DAP MUST fight for top posts in the mayors and exco offices. Go for the major ones. Only that way can we keep PAS at bay.
WE WANT DAP FOR THE MAYORS POST, LAND EXCO, ECONOMICAL EXCO etc. Demand the posts. We gave Perak away but lets gain control in Ipoh. Don’t let PAS have too big a say in Ipoh. MB is enough everything else MUST go to PKR and DAP.
Come on Anwar, YB Lim you promised to listen to us now prove it. Listen to what the people want. We want fairness. Dont give the mayors post to PAS too just on the reason a malay should hold the post.
Lets Be That BANGSA MALAYSIA we all talk about. And dont think ALL the Malays support PAS. They DONT.
Please listen DAP and PKR.
Without PAS we will still be a hung state. Ever thought that maybe PAS won the six seats because there was no PKR or DAP candidate in that particular constituency. And if there was maybe PAS wouldn’t have won???
#28 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:00 pm
what is anwar ‘s comment on this ?
or like lim keng yaik said ” dap is playing with fire ”
bn and umno is having the last laugh.
#29 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:02 pm
Quote:
Jackychin Says:
Today at 19: 57.59 (1 minute ago)
There is inequality in the Perak’s constitution at the first place, many had hoped for the Royal family to be fair and equal, once again, the majority of people’s voice has fallen to deaf ears, it is too late to do anything now for the Royal announcement had been made…We know now what the will of the family is…Non muslims do not have a future in Perak…it is very clear now…sad…
Cmon guys, we are the one who is asking people not to be racist and overly religious, now see who is the hypocrite now? THIS IS A GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY TO ALLOW PAS TO SHOW IT’S MORE MODERATE SIDE through PERAK!
PS: I live and grew up in Ipoh, I really don’t mind this!
#30 by ncysan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:02 pm
i objection for pas as a MB perak.
after 2012 or next election, perak state will become is islam state.
because 2008 umno state seat (dun) will be win by pas.
now and begin now pas have power and increase pas effect in all state.
sorry.. perak orang… you are 2nd grade citizen
#31 by aloysius ang on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:03 pm
pls be clear on your main objective! your manifesto.! The sultan has the last say, so compromise,work together n not rock the boat that just started sailing. Is post so important then working as a team to achieve our objective?
#32 by jaygan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:03 pm
Ho ho ho
#33 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:04 pm
Kit,
This boycott thing is not a wise move. How can the DAP function as a government if it boycotts the swearing in ceremony. How is DAP going to work with the MB after that?
DAP should cooperate with the MB and see how he functions. There is good chance he will go along with DAP demands.
#34 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:06 pm
lina, I’m utterly dissapointed with your words. WITHOUT PAS, WE CAN’T EVEN HAVE KEDAH, PERAK and SELANGOR UNDER OPPOSITION! If it’s not for those non-bumi who voted for PAS against UMNO, we wouldn’t have gotten so many states.
Now you all are getting suspicious with PAS? Of cmon guys, WHY ARE ALL OF YOU AS HYPOCRITICAL AS UMNO/MCA/MIC etc?
#35 by lxiongmau on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:07 pm
Lim Kit Siang, pls ask your DAP Perak Assemblyman to attend the swearing ceremony . We do not expect such a ‘childish’ action frm you. Let’s respect the appointment from the Sultan. Please do not give ammunition to the BN and the press ‘sing’ about the coalition between DAP-PKR-PAS in Perak?
R you willing to forgo Perak then Selangor just bcos of this appointment? All the hard work that your assemblymen have done? If your answer is YES, I think those who had voted for DAP, will be really really really really disappointed.
#36 by Sooth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:07 pm
Posted this earlier but it says it’s still awaiting moderation. I’ll repost it but without the s t u p i d word.
I’m not a DAP member but I and my family have always supported you and your ideals of a Malaysian Malaysia and voted for DAP whenever possible. I’m wondering if this step is necessary?
Since there’s no formal pact on who should be the MB because this has been an unexpected victory, and you’ve decided to form the state government together, I think it’s only right for your state assemblymen to attend the swearing in ceremony. I think it’s plain s****d if you guys decide not to attend the swearing in ceremony but remain as part of the state government.
#37 by benkaiser on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:08 pm
YB LIM,
Please don’t do it! please! I am a Chinese and a DAP supporter, please don’t this. It will definitely be targeted by BN that the opposition front can’t work together! Don’t do it! I beg you!
We must be united! WE must! The Rakyat don’t want to see any fraction in the opposition states!!!!
DO THE RIGHT THING, YB LIM!!!!!
PLEASEEEE!!
#38 by ncysan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:09 pm
???????????????????????????????????????????.
?? chinese ?? indian
#39 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:09 pm
Uncle Lim
What a great way to show our Malaysians that we can even work together with a minority PAS man as MB.(Just like a team leader lah). Ultimately whoever the MB has to listen to the Barisan Rakyat directives right?
Whichever the arrangement, make sure you deliver your promises to the people who voted you in – clean & fair society.
Be watchful, I know it has been a tiring journey to get here, so many busy meetings & sleepless nights. It may not be easy to think clearly & wisely.This can become a potential crack for the lurking BN to capitalize and attack.
So, rest up well & think trice & think wisely over the larger picture.
#40 by Utopia on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:10 pm
—————————————————————-
ncysan Says:
Today at 20: 02.33 (4 minutes ago)
i objection for pas as a MB perak.
after 2012 or next election, perak state will become is islam state.
because 2008 umno state seat (dun) will be win by pas.
now and begin now pas have power and increase pas effect in all state.
sorry.. perak orang… you are 2nd grade citizen
—————————————————————-
Cmon, post some construtive comments. You can’t obeject shit. The decision has been made and please accept it with a mature mentality. I’m from PERAK and I don’t give a damn to who is the MB. DAP will still have the majority exco members.
#41 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:10 pm
I am not Suspicious with PAS, but in PERAK PAS has no right to be CM since they just TUMPANG kereta with a MINORITY seat at PERAK, other state might be okay.
#42 by undecidedmoron on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:10 pm
Hi YB Lim, please have the 18 assemblymen go for tomorrow’s swearing in ceremony. We really do not need this from DAP. you guys are suppose to work together. What is this? This will definately show uncertainty and instability in the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition. yes, DAP won the most seats. but the law states that a malay muslim has to be the MB. it doesnt matter.
Please grow up and dont be a child.
Yes you may be unhappy but please do not show to the people in Perak that there is struggle among you guys. If you guys are not cannot agree in one thing – MB – how can you guys agree in many more things especially running of a state????
#43 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:11 pm
Now the score is BN 8 — BR 5
Next election BN ? —- BR ?
This is the larger picture.
#44 by APKINGS on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:14 pm
YB, I agree you should be there for the SAKE of RAKYAT, but don’t forget to Demand them. Please Keep your promises!
#45 by drctan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:14 pm
I am disappointed with this post. Where is the solidarity? When the rakyat voted for the opposition, they did it regardless of whether it was DAP, PAS or PKR. As others have posted, DAP may not have that many seats anyways if PAS or PKR supporters did not vote DAP. I had also been reading the Harakah where PAS seems to be doing their best in offering an olive branch to DAP and reassuring non-Muslims that their rights would be protected. Is it just a sham/marriage of convenience to empower DAP? I was disappointed the UMNO reps boycotted Guan Eng’s inauguration as CM but now that the Ruler of Perak has decided, DAP is going to do the same, stooping to their level?
#46 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:14 pm
Kit,
Did you give any specific instructions to Mr Ngeh on the appointment of Perak MB.
Ngeh then could have conveyed the parties views to the ruler.
Ngeh had said that all 3 parties will abide by the rulers choice. Then it is wrong to boycott the swearing in ceremony.
The voters have given the 3 parties the green light to work together. Why not this marriage a chance?
The UMNO putras will laugh at the BR and urge Malays to unite against the DAP.
Your magnanimity here will win the hearts of the Malays. Please rethink.
#47 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:14 pm
This is the last thing we want. Don’t undo what have been acheive in this election. Accept the situation and see how it goes. Otherwise people who have given their votes to you will be disappointed.
#48 by mixed ions on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:15 pm
The only thing DAP will get by voicing this out is the impression that DAP will toiuch on malay sensitivities and risk the stability of the different races. I am Malay who voted for DAP ever since the 1998 Anwar case. But looking at the reaction of DAP once in power in Perak makes me doubt if I would again vote for DAP.
If DAP is any wiser, you’d agree happily with this and not voice any challenge on this issue. But no, DAP has shown impatience. And that is detrimental to the opportunity of having what you have today.
#49 by ktchye on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:15 pm
Please, Mr Lim, reconsider. Let us show that we can work together. Don’t spoil what we have all achieved. Don’t let the people down.
Work with the new MB. Show the people of Perak that the coalition can work. For the next 4-5 years, serve the people of Perak well and they will surely vote you in again.
Abide by the Perak Constitution and the Sultan’s decision. It’s a wise one to defuse any possible tension.
Show us you are a wise leader. You above many others deserve this victory in the 2008 GE after all the sacrifices you have made throughout the decades. You don’t deserve to see it scuttled.
I too have waited decades for what happened on March 8 and I’m very concerned that we all move on to greater heights. May the Barisan Rakyat show Malaysians that they are united in wanrting to unite the people!
#50 by mob1900 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:16 pm
Why not?
If PAS as MB and DAP/PKR as deputies, I don’t see any problem with it. I do see PAS as having a more sincere effort in building Perak with the rest of our other ‘Rebelious’ states. You tauted DAP as a WIP Multi-racial party and here we have you staying away from the swearing in ceremony because of technicalities.
I remember witnessing PAS Marshals standing in between the BERSIH supporters and the FRU, they were the first to be hit, in order to shield ordinary men from being hit. PAS is like DAP, in the process of changing its party to a softer & friendlier stance, if PAS can do it, why can’t DAP?
Please accept the decision and prove DAP is sincere in running a state government with people’s mandate with Barisan Rakyat.