01.3.08 Penang RM38,000
02.3.08 Ipoh Timor RM38,025
03.3.08 Kota Melaka RM50,000
04.3.08 Klang RM63,000
05.3.08 Puchong RM35,000
05.3.08 Port Klang RM42,000
06.3.08 Penang RM133,000
07.3.08 Ipoh Timor RM82,000

This is not a complete list and will be revised with new information.

The great support to the DAP general election campaign, both in mammoth ceramah turnouts and unprecedented donations, give hope that the 12th general election is set for a major political change in Malaysia.

Lets keep our fingers crossed that when the votes are counted, Malaysia will be set to begin a new political era for democracy, accountability and integrity.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:16 pm

I just woke up and all i hear is good news…Hooray….

2. #2 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:16 pm

GOOD NEWS! PENANG UNOFFICIALLY BELONGS TO DAP! YAHOO!

3. #3 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:17 pm

we are taking penang!!!! I will go celebrate later, I am so so so excited now!!!

4. #4 by mendela on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:18 pm

The latest news from Malaysiakini Chinese version is faster than its English version…

5. #5 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:19 pm

YES! Give BN the BOOT!

6. #6 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:20 pm

Hurry Hurry Guys!!! Update Update i’m watching RTM but they only show BN win that Sabah seat. Heard that DAP unofficially win Penang??

7. #7 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:20 pm

P46 Batu Kawan Dr Koh Tsu Koon (Gerakan) vs Dr P. Ramasamy (DAP) DAP wins by 3000

8. #8 by JimT on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:21 pm

Heard news says that lim guan eng confirm next pg CM

9. #9 by wombatahem on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:21 pm

Biased RTM! As usual!

10. #10 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:23 pm

Thank you for the man who started it all! This unhappiness among Chinese is started by this man! His name is KERISMUDIN. His grandfather was a great man as he was one of the politicians I admired the most in Malaysia.

Kerismuddin, Khairy, & Samy Vellu contribute to the downfall of what Uncle Kit called UMNO HEGEMONY

Our heroes are UNCLE KIT and HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN, & DATO’ SERI ANWAR IBRAHIM

Thanks also to Hindraf guys.

11. #11 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:24 pm

Thank you Guys Officially Koh Tsu Koon is OUT!!! Served him right!

12. #12 by mendela on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:27 pm

Bodowi lost???

Pls comfirm.

13. #13 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:27 pm

Remember Sothinathan? The MIC(key MOUSE) guy who challenged Po Kuan at parliament for a fight? His seat will be taken by PKR guy.

14. #14 by kickbutt on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:27 pm

His Royal Highness??

15. #15 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:29 pm

P41 Kepala Batas Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (Umno) vs Subri Mat Arshad (PAS) Badawi by 1000 – Malaysia Kini

16. #16 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:29 pm

I love to see rtm spinning the result. They announce the result are still not final and awaiting the sleepy bodohwi at 9pm to announce the results that are slowly streaming in.

UP UP UP DAP
    down down down bn

17. #17 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:30 pm

KOH TSU KOON LOST! Prof P Ramasamy wins! YAHOO!

18. #18 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:30 pm

Thanks to YM RPK, LSK and Anuar.

19. #19 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:31 pm

P138 Kota Melaka Wong Nai Chee (MCA) vs Sim Tong Him (DAP)
    DAP wins

20. #20 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:31 pm

I still cant imagine Guan Eng becoming the CM of Penang!!! Arrgh~ am i dreaming???

21. #21 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:32 pm

Another hero of mine KARPAL SINGH WIIIIIIINS!

22. #22 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:33 pm

MR.PM. is going to get a rude awakening today. ZZZZZZ

23. #23 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:34 pm

SIL lost. Yes.

24. #24 by satya on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:36 pm

Take that Badawi, that’s the silent majority talking now!

25. #25 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:36 pm

This is it the time we have been waiting for.. Malaysian are not stupid! We sent our message loud and clear, We want NO racist in our goverment!

26. #26 by MST on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:37 pm

Samy is in big trouble – >1000 votes behind!!

27. #27 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:37 pm

It looks like Samy Vellu will no longer need wear his wig to parliament. He is behind PKR’s Dr D Jeyakumar now.

28. #28 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:40 pm

They have fooled us for 50 years. We are officially merdeka today~

29. #29 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:41 pm

Opposition closer to taking Penang – 8.20pm

Having unofficially won 17 of the 40 state seats in Penang, the opposition is currently leading in six other seats with a wide margin. They need to pick up just another four seats to take over government in the island state. -Malaysiakini

30. #30 by kickbutt on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:25 am

Time to kick butts!

31. #31 by Plaintruth on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:58 am

Congratulation to DAP !!!!!

I am not a politician but I have suggestions to have a good start for a new government to show to the people what a new era is affront…..

I wish that DAP would have a proclaimation, a statement, a contract to the people that within 100 days what could be achieved, what would be changed. This is to show and reinforce to the people that we do what we say. I do not want to see a list of 10 to 50 items, perhaps 3 to 5 items is good enough. A list that can be realistically achieved within the time period. Something that are specific and can be measured.

My second wish is to form a citizen committe in every state government that the opposition party won to look into the book. To find out in the past what secrete policy, memo, account bookkeeping that the BN government had abused and uncover every wrong doing. Let the sun shine in. Let the dirty laundry be out in the open to let the people what wrong was done.

Third wish was to remove the top management, top officials in those government agencies and machinery that is part of the corrupted regime. Let those people go, demote them, transfer them to other postings. These are the people formerly benefited from inbedding with the corrupted regime. Bring in fresh new responsible people. New people who are accountable to the rakyat. New people who can make a change. The new state government can make changes but the old top official still act their old way is not going to bring any changes. Worst still, the old top official will resist and undermine and subortage the changes.

Just my two cents of thought…..

32. #32 by lakshy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:16 am

Should definitely give AAB a prize. Without his blundering about, this would never have happened. So must also thank his son-in-law too!

33. #33 by lakshy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:19 am

Now we have plenty of opposition voices in parliament. And without convincing the opposition, no more laws can be amended.

BN has now got to learn to engage the opposition, and convince them, and not just bulldoze all the motions in parliament.

Hooray to democracy finally arriving in Malaysia.

34. #34 by lakshy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:20 am

Hey is umno meeting so late to offer PKR or PAS to join the BN? That will bring us back to square 1.

35. #35 by dashkid on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:21 am

We have done our part. Please don’t disappoint us in the next for years. GO DAP! :D

36. #36 by kickbutt on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 4:02 am

Unlikely!

What is likely to happen is PKR cross-overs to UMNO. Some may have stood for the elections with that in mind – pre-planned perhaps even with the tacit approval of the UMNO leadership.

37. #37 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 10:57 am

5.07am – Latest tally of parliamentary seats (219 out of 222 parliamentary seats counted):

BN – 137; PKR – 31; DAP – 28; Pas – 23

This means the Opposition has denied the BN a two-thirds’ majority.
    It also means that PKR will emerge as the largest opposition party and its coalition with Pas could lead to Anwar Ibrahim standing in a by-election and – if he wins – going on to become Parliamentary Opposition Leader.

Latest tallies of state seats for the opposition states:

Penang: BN 11 – Opposition 29 (DAP – 19, PKR – 9; Pas – 1)

Perak: BN 28 – Opposition 31 (DAP – 18; PKR – 7; Pas – 6)

Kelantan: BN 6 – Opposition 39 (Pas – 38; PKR -1)

Selangor:BN 20 – Opposition 36 (PKR – 15; DAP – 13, Pas – 8 )

Kedah: BN 14 – Opposition 22 (Pas – 16; PKR – 4; DAP – 1; Ind – 1)

http://anilnetto.com/2008/03/08/election-night-live-coverage-and-discussion-here-as-election-results-pour-in/

38. #38 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:47 pm

Hollywood should make a blockbuster entitled “The Mullah who Fell from Grace” based on the lies and deceptions of AAB and his defeat in the just concluded GE

39. #39 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:23 pm

Abdullah, who only four years ago led the coalition to a record election victory on a wave of hope for change, faced a bleak political future
    — the coalition ended up with 62 percent of federal seats, down from 90 percent previously

Political experts and economists wondered aloud whether the Barisan government could now pursue its agenda, including plans for $325 billion in development zones across the country.

Without a two-thirds parliamentary majority, Barisan can no longer change the constitution or make some key appointments and could struggle to alter electoral boundaries, powers that the opposition have long maintained were abused by Barisan.
    http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080309/3/3gbvi.html

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 8:22 am

Knock! Knock! Anybody home??

41. #41 by k1980 on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 7:43 pm

“We will run the government administration free from the New Economic Policy that breeds cronyism, corruption and systemic inefficiency,” Lim Guan Eng, the newly sworn chief minister of Penang State, said in a statement.

“We will implement the open-tender system for all government procurement and contracts. We will also practice transparency by uploading information of such tender bids in an Internet portal to be set up in future for public access,” he said.

http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080311/kyodo/d8vb63f80.html

42. #42 by limkamput on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 9:53 pm

Knock! Knock! Anybody home?? undergraD2,

WHY LONELY is it? come on, election over la, it is back to reality. we have to earn a living you know.

43. #43 by stnaaron on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:12 am

hi!DAP leader watch out for those BN,UMNO and MCA ass wipers i doesn’t have to mention MIC cos they all “C Liao” . This group of people will try to create issue to break PAS,DAP and PKR apart.. They will cos stirs among BA group . Ong Ka Chuan the first that spreading lies in the news saying DAP duped chinese voters to pas govern in perak…. They will splending more lies,dirty trick to split BA .Ong Ka Chuan sebelum undi harap kan undi untuk menang selepas undi spreading lies…. Ong burn in hell ,burn you in hell …..

44. #44 by stnaaron on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:22 am

something fishy about zakaria death…. I think he is still alive… you guys know what i mean …. Trying to get away from the new government for corruption …. Please look into this!!! very interesting

45. #45 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:38 am

Why not DAP try working out, from the donation received, the number of people who would vote for DAP. A person will only donates if he likes the party.

Assume an average Malaysian donates RM10, if the total donation collected is RM4000, then there is a high chance that 4000/10 or 400 people would vote for DAP.

Since DAP now has the votes counted, it may establish a correlation between donation received and the number of voters voted for DAP.

46. #46 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:06 am

Where got I go to sleep one while at work? The opposition monkeys are bluffing one. Look at me, I am not sleeping one, am I?
    http://english.aljazeera.net/mritems/images/2008/3/11/1_242844_1_9.jpg

47. #47 by penang308 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 11:15 am

It is funny to see PM, Najib and their gangmember at Zakaria funeral.

Didn’t they see that Zakaria is partly contributed to BN poor showing in the 12th election? Or are they really so BLIND?

48. #48 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 11:18 am

BN’s share of the popular vote in the peninsula actually dipped below the 50 per cent mark. The BN received just 49.8 per cent of the popular votes cast. For the whole country, the BN bagged 51.5 per cent of votes cast as more than 60 per cent of the residents of Sabah and Sarawak opted for its component parties. On the other hand, more than than 60 per cent of voters in KL and Penang voted for the Opposition’s parliamentary candidates.
    http://anilnetto.com/2008/03/11/bn-lost-the-popular-vote-in-peninsular-malaysia/

49. #49 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 11:30 am

DAP plans reforms in Penang, Umno upset with coming changes
    By : Sharanjit Singh and Audrey Dermawan – NST Online.

GEORGE TOWN:

The DAP-led Penang government has outlined several reforms it plans to undertake in the state administration, including awarding government procure ment contracts by open tender.
    Newly appointed chief minister Lim Guan Eng said the party also planned to immediately review the current practice of having only political appointees as representatives in the municipal councils.

Speaking to reporters, Lim said effective immediately, information about government contracts and tender bids would be uploaded to an Internet portal for public scrutiny.

“We want to run a state administration free from cronyism, corruption and systematic inefficiency.

“Instead, we advocate a stakeholders economy for all based on the principle of shared prosperity in an equitable manner,” he said.
    Lim said he along with all exco members, state assembly speaker, deputy speaker and the respective heads of the Penang Island Municipal Council (MPPP) and Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP) would also be making a public declaration of their personal assets.

He added that the DAP-led coalition would also attempt to restore local government elections before the end of its term.

In the interim, the state government intends to exercise Section 10(2) of the Local Government Act by appointing professionals and non-governmental organisation representatives as members of local government.

In an immeidate reaction, Penang Umno secretary Datuk Azhar Ibrahim warned that if the new state government goes ahead with its plan to do away with the NEP’s practices, it will anger Malays in the state.

“It will also result in unrest because they will face all sorts of hardship,” he said.

Despite 50 years of Independence, Azhar said the Bumiputera’s equity was still lacking by 18.7 per cent. The group has yet to achieve the 30 per cent target.

Azhar claimed the DAP, unlike Barisan Nasional, had never supported and encouraged the NEP.

“They claimed to represent the people of all races but are they really doing so?” he said.

Since the party had been chosen by the people to lead the state, along with Parti Keadilan Rakyat, they should be responsible for each and everyone’s well being, Azhar said.

————————————————————

Uncle Lim,

I think this UMNO crook, Datuk Azhar Ibrahim, is making seditious statement and using the word “Malay” as an excuse to carry on with UMNO’s NEP policies in the new Penang State government. It’s like saying “you better do it or else…..” Someone should charge him under the Sedition Act.

Comments are closed.