There is a political tsunami in the 12th general election, with the Barisan Nasional suffering probably its biggest setback in history.
From available reports, DAP has won victories, in some cases with huge majorities, in the following Parliamentary seats:
1. Bagan
2. Tanjong
3. Bukit Glugor
4. Ipoh Timur
5. Batu Gajah
6. Petaling Jaya Utara
7. Seputeh
8. Kepong
9. Bukit Bintang
10. Cheras
11. Bandar Kuching
12. Segambut
13. Kota Melaka
(Note: Announcement of Sandakan win was premature. DAP parliamentary candidate Shanty Chong lost by a mere 174 votes.)
DAP is leading in the following Parliamentary seats:
1. Sarikei
2. Serdang
3. Klang
4. Taiping
5. Bruas
6. Teluk Intan
7. Jelutong
8. Bukit Bendera
9. Batu Kawan
For state assembly seats, DAP has won
1. Subang Jaya;
2. Teratai
In Penang the three state seats of Tanjong and Bagan have also been won by DAP. Other Penang state seats won by DAP are Air Puteh, Prai, Batu Lanchang, Pulau Tikus and leading in all the other state seats contested by DAP. DAP has also won new state seats in Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore.
One of the most noted state assembly win is the Sri Tanjong seat of Tawau, Sabah.

#1 by Chong Zhemin on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:56 am
who will be the mb for perak?? Situation is tricky. dap got more seats than pkr+Pas
#2 by robleong on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:56 am
What a truly magnificent victory, and against all odds! Very well done!
#3 by lakshy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:56 am
He he maybe the emergency umno or bn meeting is to take badawi’s scalp! ha ha!
#4 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:57 am
Don’t listen to those UMNO idiots!
#5 by kenchihi on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:58 am
P/s: this is of concern especially on PERAK, SELANGOR and KEDAH which have yet to be officially won. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS!
#6 by mugen2020 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:59 am
This GE result shows the real meaning of Democracy , Peoples Power
Congrats to all DAP candidates great winning .Lets our new voices of Democracy bring new hopes to all Malaysian in Dewan Rakyat.
#7 by Nobody on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:59 am
Correct…TV3 commentator is still talking about race…These people are now starting to be irrelevant but they are still dreaming.
#8 by techie on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 2:59 am
CM/MB should be held by the party with most seats. No other way, that’s the meaning of democracy.
#9 by lakshy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:01 am
MALAYSIA BOLEH! Now this saying finally makes sense to me!
#10 by devilmaster on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:02 am
If Opposition captures Perak, i would like to propose Nga Kor Ming as the new MB :)
#11 by pwth888 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:02 am
TV 1 is litter better than TV 3 after Zam lost.
#12 by VoteDAP on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:06 am
Uncle Lim! Great Job!!! and to all opposition allies. My best wish is you all can form a sound gov in Penang and all other states won.
Dont let power corrupts the effort you all have been fighting for yearssssss. Best wishes!
Also, what the hell why EC is not annoucing the result and UMNO is holding closed emergency meeting? Wanna play dirty huh????? Damn.
#13 by P.O.T.S on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:06 am
NO, NO DAP MENTERI BESAR.
We must be practical, not rigid.
We must be gracious, not legalistic.
It is not prudent to have a Chinese Menteri Besar in a Malay-predominant state.
Too easy for the opposition BN to strike hatred and suspicion among the Malays.
MB should be from PKR.
Deputy MB and so on can be from DAP.
http://www.unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com
#14 by dapbestrong on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:06 am
BN your days are now limited. DAP you must perform with the mandate the Rakyat gave you. Deny BN 2/3 in next GE! Congratulations DAP!!!!
#15 by anand on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:07 am
Uncle Kit ,
I’m begging to have at least 1 strong Indian reprensentative in any State Gov of which captured and going to be form by DAP.
If not a CM why not a deputy CM ?
It will make DAP even more popular and as a party takes care of Indians welfare.
Maybe who knows … DAP or BA can even capture Parliment in next GE 2012 (if there is one) !!
DAP,DAP,DAP,DAP
Anand,
Utah-US
#16 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:07 am
CONGRATULATION YB KIT,
Every drop of sweat and your sufferings for the past forty years are worth it. The people have finally woke up and you can rest assured that we will always be with you.
May I remind Penang DAP (through your blog) that they have to choose the best for any positions to rule Penang. Everyone will be clamouring for posts, infighting is bound to happen. Those not chosen will retaliate in different ways.
Before confirming any post, I suggest that the newly crown CM ie CM Lim Guan Eng, sits down and work with all potential candidates for at least a couple of months before appointing any of them.
And the most important thing to watch out is CORRUPTION. I suggest that the new Penang Government form a small team of ACA to put a check to ensure that this cancer does not happen in the new Government.
Its going to be tough and bn with their money and power is going to keep knocking and hitting at Penang until the next election.
Do it right and do not fail the people of Penang.
#17 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:08 am
UMNO LOST BECAUSE UMNO BOSSES ARE LIKE THAT TV3 COMMENTATORS
#18 by dapforever on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:09 am
We are happy we are able to deny 2/3 BN majority…
We have achieved it…Congratulations to all DAPs..
#19 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:09 am
The wave of Sarawak during last state election is sweeping through the floor of West Malaysia. Did any one expect so many states to be in the hand of opposition? Never, at least in my mind.
The victory means that the anticipation of the people is much greater than expected. The victory is a joint effort of the LKS and Anwar, DAP and Keadilan. Malaysian politics in the new era is about the politics for all Malaysians, and not based on the race or the crony. Existing politics is based on the rich, by the rich and for the rich who are in UMNO, MCA, SUPP, Gerakan, MIC. I am surprised to read that MCA’s president replied that they will do a study to find out why they lost. Are they still sleeping? The reason is obvious and yet they did not try to admit it or they are just stupid. Afterall Samy and his party deserved all the punishment by the people. Gerakan was smart not to announce the next chief minister because it is simply not for them.
History proved that we can do it. It is a bit sad about the outcome in Sarawak. But, Sarawak is so remote from the West and also the mentality of the people is behind those of the West. We also did not experience the direct impact under the arrest of Hindraf or May 13. I must also say that the standard of our DAP politicians is not of a very high caliber and there is just a few persons whom I would admire. But it is not easy to have very good ones….But please remember that we sent the first wave, two years ago, at the state level.
How many states under the ‘former opposition’ now? Can one or two UMNO in Trengganu ask themselves if they should still remain in the BN, or give the power to the opposition. May be these states should join and form a different form of central government.
#20 by jbozz on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:10 am
DAP manifesto looks good to try for all the Penangites, YB LGE has another 4 yrs to prepare his bullets to fight UMNO. That’s what i heard from YB LGE ceramah at Han Chiang. Pls for god sake, let’s all do it, don’t stop there.
Let’s do it together. Just Change!
1. New factories, new technology start-ups, new businesses opportunities. Retention plan for all the existing MNC company.
2. High Quality Jobs, High Wages, Low Living Cost
3. First class IT infrastructure.
4. Ease the traffic jam, especially during Rain, or every Friday.
5. Safe neighbourhood.
#21 by Amy_Seputeh on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:10 am
Congratulation to DAP. Well Done.
I agreed with techie, I think the post of CM/MB should be held by the winning party for the respective states.
#22 by dapforever on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:10 am
agreed with you BoycottlocalPapers…i can sense they embarassed..
#23 by noaki on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:10 am
let’s look at this article posted @ star online…
Sunday March 9, 2008
MYT 2:47:07 AM
BN forms govt with simple majority
By V.P. SUJATA
PUTRAJAYA: Barisan Nasional has obtained a simple majority by winning 127 parliamentary seats in the 12th general election.
Election Commission chairman Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman said as at 1.30am, Barisan Nasional had gained a clear majority of over 50% of the 222 Parliamentary seats contested.
The EC has also announced a simple majority in several states including Perlis, Pahang, Malacca, Negri Sembilan and Terengganu.
However, Abdul Rashid added that he still could not announce the results for a few states including Penang, Perak and Selangor as there was no single clear winner to form the state governments in these respective places.
“That is why I cannot make an announcement now unless there is a coalition formed in such states,†he said.
Abdul Rashid added that such a process would take time.
so clear that this Abdul Rashid is BN-friendly…how can we trust the integrity of the so-called EC??? all bull-shit!
#24 by Chong Zhemin on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:13 am
i also feel that perak mb should be from pkr…..though dap have majority seats. or umno might invite pkr and pas to form government in perak…..dun be greedy
#25 by tswern on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:14 am
Don’t forget the promises made. The rakyat would hold DAP accountable in Penang for the next 4-5 years.
#26 by biscuit ruler on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:15 am
CONGRATULATION for the huge windfall to DAP, PAS & PKR…!!!
It is sickening to see the racial card being flash over and over again by those BN Asinines. Malaysia voters are more educated and mature politically than before.
We need a better government who could run the country well and take care of every Malaysians. See BEYOND racial barrier, that will be the ultimate dream for all Malaysians … one big family..!!!
The Oppositions need a Dream Team to fight for the cause that have been fighting for all this while and let’s cherry-pick more states in the next election.
I am so excited and just can’t hide it…!!! Let’s do the best for this country we love.
CONGRATULATION TO ALL…!!!
#27 by nus on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:16 am
Hearty congratulations. Yes, do keep cool in celebrations. I attended ceramas this week and I felt strongly you would do well. Only thing, I did not expect you to do so very very very well. Congrats again.
#28 by farseer on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:16 am
Congratulations! despite the cheating and lack of media coverage, the voice of the people wins the day. A new beginning, let’s all work together for a better Malaysia for all Malaysians.
Glad I flew back to vote.
#29 by voice on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:17 am
It’s a new start for DAP, PKR and PAS, all the best!
#30 by dapforever on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:19 am
Now DAP has won…it’s time to perform to the fullest! You got our supports! JOM UBAH! JUST CHANGE IT! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! This phrases really works! :)
#31 by Jong on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:19 am
Such sweet victory! Congratulations to all those successful candidates in this GE 2008.
We all owe it to Lim Kit Siang, Wan Azizah, Anwar Ibrahim, Kapal Singh, Lim Guan Eng, M Kula, Fong Po Kuan, Khalid Ibrahim and everyone in DAP, PKR and PAS without them we would not have been inspired to go for change and make it possible!
Thank you!
#32 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:19 am
forget abt wat those idiots said in the tv…its naturally so biased and as for our pm….u dun even knw how to congratulate the winners with grace.it really showed in our pm’s face….a leader who dun even knw wat the people want and how to be a good loser.let this be a lesson to u mr pm.we are only simple people of malaysia…who wans fairness and equalness regardless of colors.u showed us wat a fair pm u are and we in turn showed u wat malaysians are made of.and mr pm…maybe u can learn something fr the oppositions…be fair and let them run the show the way they hv promised.and i bet….the oppositions can run the show much much better for the people the way u do.so mr pm…i hope u do hv a good nites sleep.congrats to our opposition leaders.u fought well for such a long time…u all deserve it.we who believe in a true malaysian spirit without having to look on others skin colors will always be behind u all.kamsia.kiong hee.
#33 by Kenny Chua on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:22 am
We have been waiting for this
Long Long Time.
Penang is free now :)
#34 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:23 am
p/s: hv anyone see any monkies jumping around lately?
#35 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:23 am
Hmmmm.
Looks like Lim Kit Siang won’t be Opposition leader again with the PKR and PAS also doing well. Anwar?
Hmmm.
As for the new MB of Perak, maybe Nga will be going to the kadi tomorrow.
#36 by maxplus on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:25 am
Semi Value now go no Value
What a relief; i am happy that we need not see his sickening face again.
Samy; pls remember that there is a Bigger Samy up there watching.
Serve u right and all your boot kissing friends in MIC
#37 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:25 am
Congratulations to all. BN won simple majority because of constituency lines weighted in its favour and its vast resources as incumbent. I believe majority of voters – and rakyat of all races – have resoundingly sounded their rejection of the BN’s policies. It is new dawn in Malaysian politics and its implications and what would happen will be clearer (perhaps not now) but in days to come. Umno leaders having an emergency meeting. No point of you guys blaming Pak Lah for the political awakening of the rakyat. Look at yourselves first how you behaved and learn from there….
#38 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:26 am
PLEASE!!!
Don’t say wrongly that BN are looking after the race. They are not. They are looking after only the rich Malay in the cronies. Please got this point right. There are equally poor Malays, poor Indians, poor Chinese, and even much more poor Ibans/Dayaks.
#39 by trusty on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:27 am
Lets Rebuild the nation
Good luck DAP, PKR & PAS
#40 by kickbutt on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:27 am
“i also feel that perak mb should be from pkr…..though dap have majority seats. or umno might invite pkr and pas to form government in perak…..dun be greedy” Chong Zhe Min
you mean dap has more seats and not majority of the seats?
a compromised solution to the problem as to who would be best to hold the post of mb may not be the end of the problem. a malay mb from pkr may be criticized as being nothing more than a front man, a puppet, a stooge etc. it looks like a minefield!
#41 by ian on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:27 am
Congratulations.. Many many thanks to Uncle Lim who has fought hard and long for this victory.
Anyways, let us not be too carried away with this tsunami. Next five years will be important for DAP and the other opposition parties to show that they can run the states.
Please capitalize on the victory gained.
#42 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:27 am
Now the challenge is to work together with PKR and PAS. Please be careful as UMNO will try to cause dissension between DAP, PKR and PAS. I hope the leaders are smart enough to counteract this problem.
#43 by disapointed86 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:27 am
hmm..so far now PAS form gov in kelantan…DAP in Penang, Perak should be given to PKR ..what about selangor..any idea?..as of to be fair to all the opposition..we just want a change…
#44 by disapointed86 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:28 am
wops..PAs in Kedah..i tink the remaing selangor and perak should be given to Dap and PKR each
#45 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:30 am
And also don’t follow BN style. Don’t be hungry for power once you gain the control, and don’t try to fight for whom to be the MB, etc. I think many of us share the same mentality because we have been living in the BN era and spoon fed by their system. No doubt that the best person would fill the job. I think LKS and Anwar know about it. So let’s wait and see.
#46 by disapointed86 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:30 am
to everyone here, i believe that if the MB is a muslim/ the vice shoud be a chinese..as to be fair to all races..somehow i tink need to see to the majority of the population in that area?
#47 by vehir on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:32 am
We should thank Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Harris Ibrahim for giving the ful support during the many ceramahs doen in the last 13 days.
RPK’s The People’s Declaration endorsed by the Opposition should be taken into account very seriously to gain the grassroot support to make a major change in the next general election 2012.
Do smartly and share the economic values equally among all races without giving any rooms for corruptions.
Peoples Power “Makkal Sakthi” has really shaken the BN lead government to loose in 5 states a biggest history in Malaysian politics.
My congrats to all those won and keep up your promises and work hard for all Malaysians.
#48 by biscuit ruler on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:32 am
A new lease of Life for DAP, PKR & PAS…!!!
Power sharing will be the key for political success. Self-inflation & infighting will end up defeat just like BN which rots from within.
Deliver what has promised, a clean and effective new government. That’s what the Rakyat wanted.
CONGRATULATION again..!!! We Love You…!!! Do us proud..!!!
#49 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:32 am
got no one to be mb in selangor…just drop me a line.hehehe…it doesnt matter whos gonna be the mb but pls choose wisely and dun fight over it for the sake of the people and unity.be it pas…pkr or dap…u people hv joined hands to fight these scumbags…show them wat unity is all abt…share the responsibility…to serve in fairness and honesty…we dun care wat u are…as long as u lead in a right way.
#50 by bumi-non-malay on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:33 am
Perak Chief Minister MUST Be Indian/Sikh/Orang Asli……Never must they be marginalised again…….This is the right thing to do!!
Now Go to Sabah Sarawak and talk to Taib and Pairin and ask them to support Barisan Rakyat to Form New Gevernment.
This is A NEW Malaysia and we must work towards Forgiveness for a Better Malaysia…. A Malaysia without UMNO corruption, racism!!