Political tsunami in general election

There is a political tsunami in the 12th general election, with the Barisan Nasional suffering probably its biggest setback in history.

From available reports, DAP has won victories, in some cases with huge majorities, in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Bagan
2. Tanjong
3. Bukit Glugor
4. Ipoh Timur
5. Batu Gajah
6. Petaling Jaya Utara
7. Seputeh
8. Kepong
9. Bukit Bintang
10. Cheras
11. Bandar Kuching
12. Segambut
13. Kota Melaka

(Note: Announcement of Sandakan win was premature. DAP parliamentary candidate Shanty Chong lost by a mere 174 votes.)

DAP is leading in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Sarikei
2. Serdang
3. Klang
4. Taiping
5. Bruas
6. Teluk Intan
7. Jelutong
8. Bukit Bendera
9. Batu Kawan

For state assembly seats, DAP has won

1. Subang Jaya;
2. Teratai

In Penang the three state seats of Tanjong and Bagan have also been won by DAP. Other Penang state seats won by DAP are Air Puteh, Prai, Batu Lanchang, Pulau Tikus and leading in all the other state seats contested by DAP. DAP has also won new state seats in Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore.

One of the most noted state assembly win is the Sri Tanjong seat of Tawau, Sabah.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:07 am

If we think that DAP’s compromise over the Perak MB is the right thing to do, then DAP has the moral responsibility to apologise to GERAKAN for attacking them on the issue of Penang deputy CMship. All these criticisms should be publicly retracted.

2. #2 by Loh on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:12 am

///We need to have people who understand balance sheets, and sources and uses of funds, or the municipalities will be bankrupted in no time.///–Godfather

I suppose municipalities do not survive on fines; otherwise the more summonses the better. Summonses are only needed to discourage people from breaking the law. And what are left are those who did not pay their fines outside the system; it’s an appreciation for not involving in corruption payment.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:12 am

Instead of submitting a candidate each to Sultan of Perak to choose from, PKR and PAS should wholeheartedly support DAP for the position of MB of Perak.

4. #4 by digard on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:13 am

dawsheng Says:

“The appointment of a Chinese Menteri Besar will send a powerful signal to all Malaysians who wish to see the end of racist politics!”

It needs a product of a screwed educational system to arrive at this type of flawed, contradictory, logic.
    Not that I’d agree with the following, but at least it would not be nonsense in the first place:
    “The appointment of a DAP-politician as Menteri Besar will send a powerful signal to all Malaysians who wish to see the end of racist politics!”

So far to everyone else, as proof how the average Malaysian mind has been poisoned by race-based policies in the last 50 years. Maybe dawsheng will not be able to unlearn this flawed and unhealthy, and most of all mindless, manner of equating ethnicity with arbitrary (and contradictory) elements. But I wish and pray that another, new, generation will enjoy an educational system, delivering school-leavers with a perspective on the world not seen through a pair of glasses by default tainted with ethnic undercolours.

5. #5 by limkamput on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:14 am

I have a question. I know what DAP and PKR stand for. But do think His Royal Highness, the Sultan of Perak, has an “absolute discretion” to appoint a non-Malay to head Perak? What would BN think about this, given that BN is still controlling the Federal Government?

I think we ought to know when we have genuine power sharing and when we are merely pomp pomp girls (tokenism) when a Malay is appointed MB of Perak. However, the danger is after the initial euphoria to work together, the position of MB may slowly dominate and eventually make DAP exco like the MCA and Gerakan. That is my concern. On the other hand, as pointed by some of you, if DAP has more exco members and all of them have high degree of integrity (may be under the constant watchful eyes of Sdr Lim), then it may be easier for them to play their due role in state administration. In addition to formal position, genuine power sharing is about integrity and tenacity NOT to sell out the interests of those you represent for personal gain. Never easy.

Godfather, running a government, be it at state or federal level is NOT like running a company. Please take my word for it. If you think you have experience running a company and therefore you can also run a state government, I suggest you need to ponder a bit more.

6. #6 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:14 am

GERAKAN supporter: ‘What’s the problem of creating the post of deputy CMship in Penang when UMNO had 12 seats and we had less then that? DAP leaders kept attacking us on this. But now DAP supporters see no problem in allowing PAS to fight for Perak MB post when they only have 1/3 of seats compared to DAP. Hey, we GERAKAN people were not as cowardly as what you made us out to be. We had less seats than UMNO yet we held on to the CM post and only ‘compromised’ (you can’t even say that it is a compromise as UMNO has most seats) on the deputy post. You’re even more cowardly. You have thrice the number of seats compared to PAS, yet they could contend for the MB post.’

7. #7 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:15 am

You still don’t get it dawsheng! Scroll back and read again all those posting. Aiyaaaaaaaaaa, goodnite!

8. #8 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:16 am

I think it’s best that the discussion on the aftermath of what happened on March 8 be done without the distraction presented by the mad ravings of someone who is probably in the tertiary stages of syphillis. In remote places like Kg. Attap in the 50s, penicillin was not available. Henceforth I shall ignore this person so stricken by this dreadful disease that he hears echoes of his own voices, which he not unexpectedly attributes it to others. Then he launches into a tirade against himself! Enough is enough!

9. #9 by limkamput on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:25 am

kickbutt, you are right, it is best that we keep out the pervert who thinks of nothing but trying to make passes to fellow female bloggers and constantly think of sexually transmitted diseases. Very true, this pervert should be ignored and kicked out for good.

10. #10 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:33 am

As PAS reveals their Kerajaan Islam agenda gradually in the near future, the historic success achieved by DAP on 8/3 will be severely undermined.
    I’m very concerned. DAP formed an alliance with PAS in 1999, but backed off later after electoral defeat. I hope this won’t repeat.
    I’d like to take the liberty to suggest that, if DAP leaders insist on working together with PAS, they must do something to protect themselves. Perhaps they could ask PAS leaders to publicly declare that they have no intention whatsoever to set up Islamic states, whether in the near future or in the long run, as long as they are in alliance with DAP. If such a public declaration can be secured, DAP would be able to ward off any criticism should PAS went back on their word and resumed their Islamic state agenda. Should this happen, DAP leaders can just say that they have not violated their conscience when they formed an alliance with PAS, because they had already renounced their Islamic State agenda then. What happens now is that they have gone back on their words. But this is their problem and we have done nothing wrong to our supporters.
    Bye!

11. #11 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:58 am

My advice to Junior Lim,

Do not need to hurry in annoucing many popular policies to make you like a hero for poor people.

Sit down with your team and invite some experts in social, economic, crime, etc to a conference to gather best ideas on how to run Penang.

From the momemt DAP won the Penang seats last Saturday, I already feel Lim Guan Eng is better be learning fast as a true leader.

I already feel very dissapointed with junior lim for the first day he becoming as Penang CM.

1. Annonced to abolish deputy CM post immediately after GE result was known.

2. Waiving summonses and compound shall not happen in any civil society. His message to us is don’t pay compound and you are above the law and law can be twisted according to political agenda.

My question to Junior Lim is did his has the power to waive summonses and compounds?

Rule of law and not rule by law as Senior Lim alway criticised BN.

Unfortunately Junior Lim seems does not understand his dad’s struggle to build a civil society.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 2:01 am

Sad, sad, sad, Guan Eng. You are already acting like a dictator.

You haven’t even formed your State Exco yet and you are already making decisions on your own. No consultations?

Bad decision, boy. Bad decision.

You are not there to be popular but to uphold the law, be accountable, be responsible, be transparent and be full of integrity.

Slow down boy. Feel the earth. Get your bearings, think straight and clear, not think like a drunkard.

Baaaad!!!

13. #13 by jpmm on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 2:28 am

Puji Tuhan!

14. #14 by jpmm on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 2:33 am

A bird in your hand is better than 100 in the forest/A bird in hand is worth two in the bush.

Meaning: it is better to accept something that you have or you can use now than to try to get something better that you might not be able to obtain.

It is better to be satisfied with something you have than to risk losing it by trying to get something better you may not succeed in getting.

My advice to DAP:

Penang is your baby now. Nourish it the very best you can (now or never) and you might just keep and flourish it for the next 50 years or so! Look at PAS in Kelantan; they took care of their baby well and no matter what BN does, the baby refuses to let go of PAS!

Doesn’t matter what happen in Perak, or even Kedah or Selangor; this is only your first term. Don’t spread too wide too thin. Focus on Penang. Focus on Penang! God has provided Penang to DAP. It’s Guan Eng’s destiny to lead that state. Be a good steward, Guan Eng. It is your base now, your fortress. Only when it is the right time, say 10-20 years from now, you can spawn from Penang to other states… even to Sabah and Sarawak. There’s a lot, a lot of potential there!

In the meantime, BN will go all out to discredit DAP in all four states and esp in Penang. Remember what BN did to demolish PBS in Sabah in 1994!

Take note, take note!

15. #15 by Come2Papa on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 2:48 am

“…if DAP has more exco members all of them high degree of integrity( being under the watchful eyes of Sdr. Lim)…” limkamput

You see, this is what happens when somebody thinks he is a smart ass! How could there be an exco when the MB has yet to be appointed???

16. #16 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 2:53 am

LGE is magnanimous for canceling all parking and hawking summonses. But always remember. To be a good leader, especially in a government is not an easy task and not easy to maintain an equilibrium between being stringent and compassionate. However you will not go wrong if you follow strictly by the rule of law as is always practiced in advanced countries. DO NOT follow the BN’s rule of the kangaroo where you will see hawkers and stalls everywhere, tables and chairs blocking the thoroughfares, and cars being parked here and there. These will be the beginning of all mother of corruptions and history will repeat itself..

17. #17 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 3:05 am

pwcheng,

That I suppose is meant to be a goodwill gesture and should not be taken as an indication of how DAP will manage the state of Penang. The DAP stood on that important platform i.e. to return to the rule of law, good governance, transparency etc. The Party owes it to the consituents to live up to its promise. Certainly this is not a good begining if seen in that context.

But then DAP cannot ignore the high turnout at the elections. Many have braved the elements to be on time and presumably have broken traffic regulations on that day to fulfill their constitutional duty. An amnesty for such law breakers is an expression of goodwill and appreciation. It is only proper that it is included among their first order of business.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 3:42 am

“In the P5 Jerlun parliamentarian race, 99.85% of the 37,297 voters turned out to vote !! Hard to believe? You bet it is !! According to SPR’s official result (available at http://pru12.spr.gov.my/spr/ )

– of the 37,297 voters, 37,242 came out to vote.Put it another way – of the 37,297 voters, only 55 voters have failed to vote !”

Very interesting!

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 3:46 am

It is one thing to win by a few hundred votes but it is another to put the voter turnout at almost 100%!!!

20. #20 by overseamsian on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:52 am

this clarified the error!

http://anilnetto.com/2008/03/11/bn-lost-the-popular-vote-in-peninsular-malaysia/

Frank Says:
    Tuesday, 11 March 2008 at 4.10 pm

Anil

On your posting on Mukhriz election, you mentioned that there was 99.85 %
    voting.

According to the electoral list, for Jerlun electorate, the total registered
    voters were 45,513 and the total turnout was 37242.

The registered voters stood at 45,513 and NOT 37,297 as you mentioned.

Actually the turnout was 81.8 % and not 99.85 % .

You may want to clarify your figures so that there is no confusion and cause
    unnecessary alarm even though Mukhriz is from UMNO.

sean Says:
    Tuesday, 11 March 2008 at 4.16 pm

is obvious that there is something wrong on the SPR website stats.
    If you look at the DUN seat, the P5 total voters is 19771 25742 = 45513.
    Thus voters turnout is 81.8% which is about right.
    So I think this is just wrong stats from SPR site. you can check on other
    site for the stats.

Simple stats also SPR can get it wrong..

21. #21 by somaris on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:54 am

ALL CONCERN
    Please let the sultan decided who be MENTERI BESAR.
    We should let the DAP<PKR<PAS to do their work wisely for the sake of all MALAYSIAN.5 yrs is a BIG Test for DAPPAS to show their work and promise to the people.
    Dont forget Bn UMNO is watching on how they work.We have to help them to help us to be ONE MALAYSIAN.
    im not good in politic and not a educated person.But i pray that things will work out well so that its for all MALAYSIAN.
    Im sure its not an easy job for LKS .so give him time to look into this.We all know he is not looking for position he is looking for all Malaysian to be one MALAYSIAN.Thats his dream im sure.
    YB LKS
    Take good care of urself , U ask for Ang pow so they give u BIG BIg ANG POW. So USE WISELY
    We all love you
    FROM IRELAND
    GOD BLESS YOU AND GUIDE U.

22. #22 by burn on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 5:56 am

syabas DAP! terlambat sikit to wish all DAP/PKR/PAS representatives…
    DAP, you’ve never given up hope fighting for our rights as a malaysian, which you’ve been doing it for many years. even before i know about DAP. for this, i would like to thank all DAP representatives from the bottom of my heart, for not givin up on rakyat. also to DSAI PKR party, RPK MT and PAS party for supporting malaysian malaysia as one.
    bein inexperience in politics, i will not get involve by telling you what is right and wrong, since i believe you all have the experience to handle it. even thought, some have already decided to tell you off… when they themselves was never there when you were detained under ISA. like people use to say, talk is easy, when come to the real thing, tergangga mulut…

23. #23 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:39 am

“…..but Wang Yen has rightly pointed out that it is about political principles of PKR and DAP which is at stake, hence the reason why the MB should be from the DAP.”

Are you saying PKR’s political principles are inferior to DAP so aren’t a good choice to lead the state government? If so, I would disagree because I like PKR’s multi-racial approach instead of DAP Chinese-centric version.

btw, I am a Chinese myself and believe we now have the historic opportunity to rise above politic based on racial line. I hope you would too.

24. #24 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:51 am

# Lee Wang Yen Says:
    “But what’s there in the formal title of ‘Islamic State’, when in reality UMNO’s brand of Islamic State is merely nominal and a secular state in substance? (Mahathir is a liberal Muslim). Islamic State a-la PAS is fundamentalistic, and really means business – hudud law, non Muslims are dhimmis (second-class citizens)… In’t the “substance” of PAS more dangerous than the nominal title of UMNO? What’s there in a name? Nothing really’”

I would have to disagree with UMNO being merely nominal in Islam and secular in substance. The way things is going, Islam under UMNO/BN is having more substance nowadays and the reason many people of other religions voted against BN. I know and so do my friends.

UMNO has the power to move towards an Islamic state and it is going that way. PAS wanted to move towards an Islamic state but do not have the power to move that way because PAS can never be as dominant as UMNO. In other word, UMNO don’t bark but is biting. PAS is barking but can never bite. Looking at it this way, give me PAS any day over UMNO.

25. #25 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 6:56 am

Loh Says:
    “DAP represents all races. So when DAP wins more seats, but the constitution does not allow Chinese as MB, then it has to produce a Malay DUN member.”

It is precisely because DAP can’t produce a Malay DUN member proves DAP do not represent all races. Fact is, DAP is still a Chinese-centric party. PKR represent more races than DAP.

26. #26 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:04 am

“Penang Municipal Council and Seberang Perai Municipal Council will waive all summonses involving hawker licences and parking offences issued before March 11?

I agree it’s a totally stupid and irresponsible thing to do. If they really wanted to practice popular politics, why stop at the hawkers? Why not let all who broke the law and now in jail go free? Rapist, murderer included.

Someone earlier said DAP can govern well, I am having very serious doubt now and don’t think they should have Perak MB post.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:10 am

Elections have now moved into the second stage i.e. our courts.

One involves Mukhriz Mahathir in Jerlun, Kedah and the other Khairy Jamaluddin better known as KJ (or Kerbau Jantan) in Rembau, Negri Sembilan. The former case involves a voter turnout of almost 100% which unfortunately is not per se a ground to challenge the result in a court of law – though it certainly is in the court of popular opinion. I am sure the lawyers will find the grounds needed to challenge the results as required under the Election Offences Act 1954.

In the case of the Rembau Parliamentary constituency, initial results showed a win for Badrul of PKR by a small margin. However, this was reversed after a recount by a huge majority of some 5,000 plus votes!

KJ has also spent more money than he was allowed to. Then there is the irregularity over the non-issuance of Form 14. Perhaps there are readers here who are well versed in election irregularities care to let us know what the controversy over Form 14 is all about. But these are legal grounds needed to mount a legal challenge unlike in the case of Mukhriz. The 20 odd police reports filed by the opposition in this case and some if not all of the allegations therein are bound to stick.

I am sure there are other cases. The opposition should not spare any effort nor waste any time by mounting immediate legal challenges to the election results. It is going to be an uphill task since the courts are pro-BN. But since when has it deterred the opposition from mounting such challenges? There are lawyers willing to take on such cases pro bono.

I sat through one High Court case with the disgraced Eusoff Chin presiding. I was witness to the coaching of witnesses etc done by the then UMNO lawyer who, barring unforeseen circumstances, will soon take over the post of CJ. One can only hope the circumstances today post elections are not as they were in the 90s and high court judges especially our appeals court judges are ready to show the kind of independence expected of today’s judges. A rather optimistic assessment? You bet! But what have we got to lose?

28. #28 by tsn on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:26 am

Let LGE has free hand to be Penang CM, not to judge him too soon, at least patientlah 100 hari.

We really need to shrink down the size of our public sector. LGE must ride on this opportunity to axe all the political posts due to previous UMNO hegemony and jealousy, save $ for Penang people, use the excess $ for cleaning stinking longkang, with roses smell Penang tourists will arrive in droves.

29. #29 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 7:43 am

“Godfather, running a government, be it at state or federal level is NOT like running a company. Please take my word for it. If you think you have experience running a company and therefore you can also run a state government, I suggest you need to ponder a bit more.” Limkamput

You are absolutely right. Running a government or a municipality is very different from running a company and nobody in DAP or PKR has that experience. Since we have to start somewhere, we have to bring in people who have at least some leadership and financial experience in running corporations. We need to have people who understand budgets, and how deficits are to be financed. We need people who have experience in negotiating with the federal government on grants, joint-ventures and privatisations.

Those with experience managing businesses would be the next best choice. Look at Guan Eng. I doubt he even knows the financial position of the two municipalities, and he already decided to waive summonses issued before March 11. As readers have pointed out, there are legal ramnifications in waiving essentially criminal offences. Also, Anwar has made a statement to the effect that the states under Opposition control will honour all government contracts, and Guan Eng has done the opposite i.e. to allow offenders not to honour their social contracts with the Penang state government.

Take stock of the situation first. Ask for help from those who are more qualified. Then formulate a course of action. A hastily-made decision is usually a bad decision.

30. #30 by BlackEye on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:02 am

31. #31 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:15 am

For those interested in further debating the issue i.e.the position of the PM as akin to the position of the CEO of a corporation, you may want to go here

http://logicalandtrue.wordpress.com/2008/01/31/the-president-is-not-the-ceo-of-the-country/

32. #32 by EagleView on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:16 am

I am utterly disappointed that we have a few people directing negative remarks to YB Lim Guan Eng so quickly when he made his first announcement to pardon summonces as the new CM of Penang. It was even more disappointing that some of this remarks came from a few that gave pretty damn good and positive remarks herein.

It seems that 50 years of BN rule has caused the thoughts of Malaysian to remain shallow and not have view of the bigger picture. This shallow thought can’t even comprehend the power of forgiveness and pardon. This two words were never the part of the philosophy of the BN government, so it will seem strange to lots of people.

It is even demeaning to say that the YB has no sense of economics. For Godsake, go google or wiki YB Lim biography before you make such remarks. This man is a qualified accountant. Also, do you really think he made this decision that same morning. As all wiseman would do, they would seek council before making such statement. Tony Pua is the economic adviser in DAP, do you believe he will not be consulted before YB made that decision on behalf the coalition government and DAP? Have some sense lah brother.

Furthermore, a pardon does not give the public to the right to abuse, instead it is the beginning of lessons to the public that they too have to learn to be accountable to one another and to the authority. I would suggest to YB that since the old summonses has been pardon, it is time to raise the summonses to heights never seen before and enforce the rule of law. Yes! That’s the Singapore way. But it has yielded result.

SPARE THE ROD! SPOIL THE CHILD!

Go YB Lim….your first decision was a right one.

33. #33 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:19 am

Kho Tsu Koon has proven to be a gentleman. Why not be humble and seek his advise or even engage him as a consultant on administrative issues? If handle properly, it could be public relation coup but could go the other way if handled badly.

34. #34 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:21 am

“Guan Eng has done the opposite i.e. to allow offenders not to honour their social contracts with the Penang state government.” Godfather

That is a bit of a stretch.

35. #35 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:35 am

Nevertheless, the underlying principle is the same.

36. #36 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:41 am

The election results shows that Malaysians may be ready for non-communal politics but the issue of who gets to be Perak MB show the reality of the situation: We are still unable to think out of the box.

The ideal situation would be for Anwar Ibrahim to stay with his non-communal approach and recommend for the first time, a non-Malay/muslim MB for Perak. However, fear of a backlash from Malay voters and even cross-over to BN could have prevented him from openly endorsing a DAP MB for Perak. Sad but the situation is very REAL.

My advice to DAP, PAS, and PKR:

1) Do NOT look upon the MB post as a position of influence and dominance. It is just a title and nothing more!
    2) Do not lose sight of the people’s aspiration of a leadership that cares for the people. If you can show through this MB selection episode that you can act in the best interest of the people and make decisions based on sound judgement on who can do the job best. You will emerge stronger and can truly stamp your claim of being the next government in waiting.
    3) Finally, do not seek to dominate one another but always strive to respect one another’s views and focus all decision makings in the direction of benefit for the people and country.

I hope to see a more matured leadership. I hope that Anwar’s vision of a “NEW DAWN FOR MALAYSIA” materialize and not fade away because we cannot even stop ourselves from something which is just a mere name/title.

Let us have “Wisdom” and not “Emotions”.

37. #37 by Joetan on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:42 am

I think you guys do not have a clear picture of what happened in Penang. I cant blame you guys because some of you guys probably are from other states. I think Lim junior made the decisions to waive summonses especially the parking summonses in Penang is because during the DAP ceramahs in Penang a lot of DAP supporters cars were summoned when they came to hear the ceramahs eg the ceramah at Han Chiang High School where donations amounting to RM133,000-00 were collected. But this is not the case at BN ceramahs especially the ceramah at Rifle Range in Penang. According to Lim junior during the ceramah there was a double standard practised by the state authority. I think thats is the reason why Lim junior waived the summonses.

38. #38 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:42 am

1. President/Prime Minister vs CEO
    Clinton and Obama were asked in a debate that they don’t have experience in running a big company, whereas America is like a big corporation.

9:12 p.m. ET: What will you say when Mitt Romney argues that you’ve never run a business.

Clinton: “We have a president who basically ran as the CEO-MBA president. Look what we got. I am not too happy about the results.” Big laughs.

Obama: “Let me also point out that Mitt Romney hasn’t gotten a very good return on his investment (in this campaign). I’m happy to compare my management style to his. I think they compare fairly well.” He gets big laughs too.

2. About the illegal traffic tickets and hawkers
    I tend to disagree on the waiving of summons. For the hawkers, I think that could be a promise to the illegal hawkers who supported the campaign. right?

3. It is very good to have the open tenders. Other local government should follow. But is it true that there is a remove of NEP or this was an exaggerated by BN. We better read well. Only rich Malays who won projects through connections should be punished. Same as the Chinese!

4. Declare assets and properties is an excellent move. This has been rejected by the corrupted BN all the time.

39. #39 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:47 am

Joetan:

Then Lim Jr should simply keep quiet, but allow appeals on that particular evening to be allowed. Even allowing all summonses on that particular day to be waived is understandable. However, this is no excuse to say that ALL traffic summonses or hawker summonses prior to March 11 will be waived. Sends a wrong message – not to traffic offenders – but to people like me who worry that he does not have a grip on the sources and uses of funds for the municipalities concerned.

40. #40 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 8:50 am

Pak Lah has no grasp on economics, hence we can excuse him for not understanding what a budget deficit is, and how that can be financed. Guan Eng has no excuse going forward – he is an ex-banker and has people like Tony Pua to tell him that he needs to know if there is a deficit, and ways to finance that deficit.

41. #41 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:04 am

I beg to differ. Lim Guan Eng by spelling out his policies on day 1 of his tenure as chief minister augers well for the people of Penang. It looks like we have a very dynamic leadership!

Don’t worry about the summonses issue ;).

42. #42 by helpless on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:05 am

Waiver for the summon & hawker licence?

What is the priority of New state government?
    The prople is vote the opposition party simply because there are expectation for changes in the state management.

The new state government shall not spend much time to manage those petty summons whereas there are much important task ahead in promoting the economic and wellbeing of the people.

Though one could not deny that there could be clear offender but spending time and money to charge the people will not be a good idea as well. Note the waiver is not a policy.

The challenge ahead is to practice the transparency policy as promoted by Selangor. Information of the public interest shall be made accessible for the corruption to be eradicated. On the contradict, too much information bound to create dissatisfaction among a small group of people as it is impossible to satisfy everyone. The limitation of information shall be set to avoid unnecessary delay of any project.

Mega project, privatise of any road shall be done only after gather a public poll. We do not want a project which burden us more than the benefit.

43. #43 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:13 am

We simply cannot afford short-term popularity decisions that could ultimately kill the economics of running a viable state. I said in a previous post that we have 3 years to prove that we are better than the bunch of thieves we displaced. We don’t need to make silly decisions in one week ! Especially if there is a high probability that we would need to reverse these decisions fairly quickly. Then what ?

44. #44 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:15 am

Kit:

I am willing to offer my time and service to help you guys. No charge to you.

45. #45 by cmbss on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:17 am

As I posted earlier, DAP is no longer a spectator, DAP now is in the driver seat.

We the Rakyat will comb all the misendeavour. The BN people will be documenting all these and mainstream media will do their part as their spin.

DAP must demonstrate that you are competent to run the government otherwise come next election or the future will be bleak.

BN will then have the basis to tell the rakyat “I told you so, it is now proven that DAP can talk but cannot work”.

46. #46 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:27 am

This issue about the DAP “forgiving” summonses issued for illegal parking etc is all about a storm in a tea cup. Let’s move on to more important issues.

47. #47 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:28 am

In The Star newspaper “Sabah had three Cabinet members in the last Cabinet, Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili and Tan Sri Bernard Dompok who served as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department and Datuk Shafie Apdal who was the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister.”

Can someone please tell me what’s “Minister in the Prime Minster’s Department”? It sound to me like an office boy post rather than an traditional ‘real’ minister.

48. #48 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:33 am

LadyGodiva:

It may be a storm in a teacup to you and me, but I can assure you that people like Kalimullah and Wong Chun Wai will make their usual spin in the mainstream press.

KKK:

Minister in the PM’s department is, as you say, an office boy who runs errands for the PM, who incidentally has 3 portfolios. The reason for the 3 portfolios ? So that UMNO Youth can have their positions entrenched as political secretaries to the various ministerial portfolios.

49. #49 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:35 am

And who runs UMNO Youth ? It isn’t Kerismuddin and it isn’t Mukhriz Mahathir.

50. #50 by Bobster on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 9:38 am

A Big Congratulation YB Lim for winning this Battle of The Century! Have been trying to log in but the blog was down.

It is the rakyat hope that PKR-DAP-PAS will continue to strengthen in their coalition and form Barisan Rakyat. Many parties from disgraceful writers in The Star papers to the national news reporters will certainly trying to break this coalition. Just hope PR can survive the constant attacks and strife for a better Malaysia for all races.

Hope forumers from all races and religions can continue to give ideas, constructive criticisms and advices so that YB Lim can relate the messages to the new administration.

We will continue to pray that God will give you wisdom and guidance beyond human understanding so that at the end of the day His name will be exalted. People of Malaysia will be so blessed beyond our wildest dreams and will recognise the reason why the very first Principle of Rukun Negara stated Kepercayaan Kepada Tuhan. Our forefathers were given insights beyond normal human understanding. This is a blessed land from God. Let’s us all work together so that the poor, the needy, the outcast will have a place under the sun!

God bless you YB Lim and team. Wishing you good health and happiness!

Comments are closed.