Political tsunami in general election

There is a political tsunami in the 12th general election, with the Barisan Nasional suffering probably its biggest setback in history.

From available reports, DAP has won victories, in some cases with huge majorities, in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Bagan
2. Tanjong
3. Bukit Glugor
4. Ipoh Timur
5. Batu Gajah
6. Petaling Jaya Utara
7. Seputeh
8. Kepong
9. Bukit Bintang
10. Cheras
11. Bandar Kuching
12. Segambut
13. Kota Melaka

(Note: Announcement of Sandakan win was premature. DAP parliamentary candidate Shanty Chong lost by a mere 174 votes.)

DAP is leading in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Sarikei
2. Serdang
3. Klang
4. Taiping
5. Bruas
6. Teluk Intan
7. Jelutong
8. Bukit Bendera
9. Batu Kawan

For state assembly seats, DAP has won

1. Subang Jaya;
2. Teratai

In Penang the three state seats of Tanjong and Bagan have also been won by DAP. Other Penang state seats won by DAP are Air Puteh, Prai, Batu Lanchang, Pulau Tikus and leading in all the other state seats contested by DAP. DAP has also won new state seats in Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore.

One of the most noted state assembly win is the Sri Tanjong seat of Tawau, Sabah.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 10:55 pm

Friends.

The new Menteri Besar of Perak will be from DAP.

(But will this cause problems?)

2. #2 by geno on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:01 pm

congratulations!

3. #3 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:02 pm

If the Sultan of Perak is ok everyone will be ok.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:10 pm

If so happen that a Chinese Menteri Besar from DAP was chosen, few Malays constituencies crossover to UMNO and the power change hand back to UMNO, we have got nothing to lose.

5. #5 by digard on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:14 pm

Kind of sad, the direction this blog takes. :(

There was enthusiasm and happiness, and now some parties start the big bad bickering. How much do ‘they’ pay some of you? Oh, you’re not being paid? Then it is worse and you are half-blind. Since this is what it takes to jump at Anwar for mentioning ‘Malay Rights’; and in the same breath talk about ‘the Chinese will …’.
    Nobody ever spoke about scrapping all and everything in a single go, from one second to another. On the contrary, the declared intention of today is to start dealing with MNCs for FDI, and doing away with the 30%. I am well aware that some Khairy-s will want a sudden cut-off of all rights and privileges, forcing a lot of our brothers and sisters into poorness; and rubbing their hands when another 69 brews.
    Shall I lay the blame on the educational system, when some of the not-to-highly educated in here equate democracy with ‘the majority forcibly rules the minority’? This is what BN has been doing, and it seemingly has left relics in the brains of some.

We all know, that the rakyat has not exactly voted ‘for anything but BN’ to have the same mindset continuing, the one of ‘we have the majority, so we need to command the MB’. Therefore, what some in here deliberately try to do, is turning the wish of the rakyat, of the voters, upside down.
    Draw everyone his/her own conclusion why they would do so.

“Don’t feed the trolls”, as they say. The best is, to ignore the ignorant.

6. #6 by Itshowtime on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:14 pm

It will be nice to see kedah become a model islamic state.Kelantan has pass the test now its kedah’s turn to show all malaysians kedah can be successfully turned into a islamic state governed by islamic rules while accommodating non muslims to freely practice their faith in total harmony.Nothing is impossible.there must be a will to do it.lets see if pas can put it across.

7. #7 by Dr. W on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:20 pm

Well said, digard. Let’s ignore the ignorant.

8. #8 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:20 pm

“Shall I lay the blame on the educational system, when some of the not-to-highly educated in here equate democracy with ‘the majority forcibly rules the minority’? This is what BN has been doing, and it seemingly has left relics in the brains of some.” digard

Of course you can.

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:25 pm

The dust has yet to settle, and already there are so many stupid comments from the right wing supporters of the DAP.

First, what’s wrong with Anwar leading the Opposition ? Anwar pulled in the Malay votes despite UMNO portraying him as a traitor to the Malay cause. Anwar wants to abolish the NEP in favour of a non-racial assistance policy. Anwar also has appeal to many countries, in particular the G7. PKR went from 1 seat to 31 seats. DAP has 28 and PAS 23, so who should logically be the leader of the Opposition in Parliament ?

Second, if unfair decisions are made hastily and without consensus, then there will be cross-overs to the BN. Does this help the Opposition cause ? Dawsheng, stop talking nonsense about having nothing to lose. This is the opportunity to show what a united Opposition can do at state and federal levels. Giving this opportunity back to BN will negate everything that we have fought for.

Third, stop talking about what constitutes fair or unfair policies. Let there be a consensus, and let the dust settle. Running a state is difficult, and running town councils are equally difficult given that the administrations have been built on inequality, corruption, sheer stupidity and wastefulness. Changing this mindset would be a priority but it will not be easily implemented.

Fourth, those of you who have ideas and spare time should volunteer to help the Opposition. Don’t just sit in your armchair and talk about big ideas and big changes. I am putting my name forward to help – are you ?

10. #10 by Loh on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:33 pm

MCA President has declined to be included in the Cabinet, MIC President is not an MP, and would not be a senator, and so will be out of the Cabinet too. Gerakan’s acting President has offered to resign, though rejected. As Gerakan is a party for all races, it is time for MCA and MIC members of parliament or DUNs be absorbed into Gerakan. MCA and MIC can retain its organization but to cease as a political parties. The members could automatically be absorbed into Gerakan.

Since Gerakan President is willing to step down, that party can be reorganized so that new office bearers can be elected. Then UMNO will be the only race-based political party in the country.

There has been call by the puppet master that PM AAB resign. We might have underrated the wisdom of AAB in not realising that it was PM AAB’s calculated move allow the destruction of UMNO when it could not be reformed, so that a new political infrastructure could be established in the country. (Just give him the benefit of doubt for the present.) The 22-year rule of TDM brought the country to the brink of disaster, and had AAB kept himself awake during meetings, he would have done only the wrong things right, and allowed the rots to continue. MCA and MIC would remain intact, but the country would continue on its path to ruin.

It is quite unlikely that AAB would be overthrown before the next UMNO election in August, and yet it is very likely that he might be removed as President of UMNO during that fight. AAB should move now to rearrange with BN component parties, making the government now a coalition government so that he might not be automatically removed as a PM through losing his presidency. In that manner, he will be able to do the right thing of divorcing himself from the money politics within UMNO.

It is good that the BN government has lost its two third majority, and also hopefully it will not be back in power come next election. But we certainly do not want a total demise of the current BN political parties resulting in having no strong opposition to check on future government. We hope to see two groups of parties which can offer themselves to form government and we want them not to be race-based.

11. #11 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:34 pm

What have we got to lose if DAP shall become another Gerakan or MCA?

12. #12 by Itshowtime on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:36 pm

Hi digard …at last some one is talking some sense.phew what a relief.Please air your views without fear or favour.It sounds very rational and fair comment to me.good on you man

13. #13 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:37 pm

Uncle Lim you must be so busy. Take care of your health!

When you can please do keep writing a few lines to challenge & feed & keep your internet children from all over the globe.

Thanks!

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:37 pm

Dawsheng:

Stop making stupid comments. If the Opposition cannot show that it can do better than the den of thieves that it has displaced, then the general rakyat will boot the Opposition out in the next GE. This is a golden opportunity to show leadership, to show what others can do, and not one to be thrown away lightly.

15. #15 by Itshowtime on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:40 pm

Hi Godfather another piece of excellent comment closely followed by digard.These nutters need to shot for their silly unwarranted spineless comments.Please air your comments before these nutters take over and make this site a boring and dull one to come too.

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:41 pm

Equating DAP with the good-for-nothing MCA and Gerakan gives me the shudders. We want to lead, not to be led by the nose. We want to be transparent, not to be opaque. Finally, we want to have integrity, not to be ball-carriers to another dominant party.

17. #17 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:46 pm

The opposition cannot show it can do better than BN if the MB of Perak is not from the DAP. I insist not because I want to challenge the state constitution, I insist not because DAP having the majority of seats in DUN of Perak alone, I insist because it is the right thing to do. If having different opinions from you make me stupid, so be it.

18. #18 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:58 pm

The appointment of a Chinese Menteri Besar will send a powerful signal to all Malaysians who wish to see the end of racist politics!

19. #19 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 11:59 pm

Dawsheng:

Look beyond Perak. Don’t insist because the repercussions are serious for everyone who voted for change. If you insist, you have to change the state constitution, and that takes time. That also gives time for BN to drive a wedge between PKR and DAP. The role of the menteri besar may not be at the same level of intensity as when BN was in charge. As I see it, an “inner circle” of advisors plus Kit, Anwar and Tok Guru is probably needed to “run” the 5 states under Opposition control.

I repeat – anyone who stands up now and says that it does not matter for any Opposition-controlled state to revert to BN control needs to have his head examined. Look at the bigger picture. The BN parties are already imploding, and UMNO will probably implode in the run-up to the August general assembly. No need for us to do anything silly that could slow down or reverse the process of implosion.

20. #20 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:02 am

DAP has no track record of being able to govern so how can you be so sure they could? Able to Talk and able to Walk the Talk is two very different thing. If they couldn’t, the rakyat will vote them out as they had voted BN out of Perak in no time.

21. #21 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:02 am

For latest news and political commentary, visit

http://www.myoe.wordpress.com.

Just be mindful that my blog is rather non-partisan, so DAP supporters might not be fully happy, or fully sad. I just write what I think about the matter.

22. #22 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:06 am

No one is demanding overnight change. The expectation is simply that the opposition should practise what they preach. It takes time to overhaul a faulty system. But that does not mean that one can preach against race-based politics on the one hand and deal with the MB issue based on racial and religious considerations, worst still by citing the need to protect Malay rights. If DAP has to compromise for the sake of the big picture and in the face of political realities when it has the most seats in Perak, then it should take back all its previous criticisms of MCA and GERAKAN for kow-towing to UMNO. Didn’t they have to face up to ‘realities’ and focus on the ‘big picture’?
    If ad hominem dismissal of dissenting voices among DAP supporters as nothing but ‘ignorant gibberish’ is the best we can do (rather than responding to arguments and points), I’m afraid we’ve not gone very far.

23. #23 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:10 am

What’s at stake is not simply the post of Perak MB – but the political principles of DAP and PKR, as I explained in an earlier post.

24. #24 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:12 am

KKK:

Not having the experience or track record to govern is not necessarily a negative, especially when we compare this to a previous regime that is corrupt to the core. Adminstration is not easy, but with the right attitude and the right help from those who have managed companies before, the Opposition can make it work. We have about 3 years to prove that we are better adminstrators, with transparency and integrity. If we can prove that, then there is even a chance we can run the federal government and/or win more states.

25. #25 by digard on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:14 am

dawsheng Says:

“The appointment of a Chinese Menteri Besar will send a powerful signal to all Malaysians who wish to see the end of racist politics!”

Thanks for proving me right. No further questions.

26. #26 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:17 am

Lee Wang Yen:

Have you run a company or a business before ? What’s in a title ? Is formal leadership more important than informal leadership ? Will you contemplate the repercussions of giving Perak back to BN administration ?

27. #27 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:22 am

I am from Ipoh and with DAP winning 18 state seats, i do not see why DAP is not the best candidate for the Perak MB post. DAP totally wiped out MCA in all state seats. This is an achievement. DAP must stake a claim for the Perak MB post. I think this is the right time to activate Section 12(2). Of course this will be under the Sultan’s discretion. If this provision is not used, then what it is for?

28. #28 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:23 am

I hope proving you right doesn’t mean I am wrong digard, it is about opinions that matters, that’s your right even if you think I am stupid. :)

29. #29 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:28 am

Tony Pua has a stinging rebuke of MCA’s race-based sentiment in his blog:
    ‘After a humiliating defeat in the hands of the opposition, particularly by DAP for MCA, the President of MCA, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting still doesn’t get it.
    A page 8 report in the New Straits Times today had the headline “Ong: We’ll continue to work for Chinese”.
    At the rate it is going, MCA will become obsolete possibly within the next decade.
    What has “RACE” got to do with it? When we are elected by the people, we serve ALL Malaysians, and not just “one” race. The race-based politics of Barisan Nasional component parties will spell their death knell in the years to come and unless they come out of their shell, DAP can certainly look forward to a better performance in the next General elections.
    DAP stands strongly for Malaysians First, and not instead, the divide and rule policies of Barisan Nasional component parties. ‘

Don’t you think Tony’s rebuke applies equally well to Anwar who says that he needs to protect the Malay rights with regards to the Perak MB issue?
    What I’ve been stressing is a consistent platform and ideology. If DAP leaders like Tony Pua preach against race-based politics and some DAP supporters defend Anwar over the ‘Malay rights’ issue, this will raise problems of political principles. We don’t want to give people an impression that we are unprincipled and blind supporters in that something is wrong if it is said by MCA leaders (Ka Ting, ‘we will continue to work for the Chinese’) but right and good if it is uttered by the opposition (Anwar, ‘We have to protect Malay rights’), when both are equally race-based sentiments.

30. #30 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:28 am

Staking a claim is fine, but insisting on it is not. The reason why PKR/DAP/PAS have each nominated a candidate for the Sultan to decide is precisely that each party does not want to offend the other parties, and that hopefully the Sultan’s decision would be regarded as acceptable to all races.

We have to move away from the race-based politics of the past. We have to start implementing the Deng Xiaoping doctrine of “it doesn’t matter if the cat is black or white; as long as it catches mice, it is a good cat.”

31. #31 by cmbss on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:29 am

Running the government and making it works it completely different matter altogether.

DAP is now a driver and no longer a spectator. I elaborate below:-

I foresee that DAP will be “under pressure” as a result of the unexpected control in Penang, Perak and Selangor.

Performance by DAP will closely monitored by the BN. Expectation from Rakyat is extremely high.

DAP has in the past only oppose and criticising role but never runs a government before, more of arm-chair critics without practical experience.

DAP must be PRAGMATIC in its approach so that it does not stifle the economic activities. Idealism would not work which curtails the growth and attractiveness to investors (local and foreign).

BN will use its machinery to harp any weakness by DAP and destroy the credibility of DAP to win back the support by next election.

DAP MPs need to be careful also not fall trap by “vultures” and “sour grapes” now trying to engage DAP and making use of the MP in the Parliament for their self- interest. DAP can be trapped, embarrassed and its credibility tarnished.

DAP need to assemble a team of competent and appropriate people with INTEGRITY and EXPERTISE to run the government. But this could be a challenge to DAP – right people with integrity are not easy to find and DAP has very limited time ~ only 5 years.

On the other hand the Keadilan people are savvy in business, Anwar Ibrahim has the control and influence of large of business network (remember before his downfall in 1998). Don’t forget Anwar has been in Government before. How is DAP going to have effective check and balance on your partners? Keadilan has been well-prepared.

It will be very difficult to clear the mess created last 50 years, but if the bleeding , abuses, wastages, stealing and raping of country recourses can be minimised substantially, I consider it will be a success in the next 5 years.

IMMEDIATE PRIORITIES
    ELECTORAL – Gerrymandering
    JUDICIAL REVIEW
    IPCMC & CRIME PREVENTION
    The boss of ACA
    LOCAL COUNCIL ELECTIONS

Wish DAP all the best!

Most importantly, DAP must “Cakap Mesti Bikin Siap Siap”

32. #32 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:30 am

Godfather,

Yes, the difficulties you point out are very real.

But if DAP has to back down on this, then it will loose all its argument against MCA and GERAKAN over their compromise to UMNO.

33. #33 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:32 am

sorry, ‘lose’ all its arguments…

34. #34 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:34 am

Don’t believe what the mainstream media writes about Anwar. Running dogs like Kalimullah and Wong Chun Wai will try to twist every word that is uttered by the Opposition leadership. Trust people like Anwar, Kit and Tok Guru to bring up “inconsistencies” in each other’s leadership behind close doors.

In today’s Straits Times, it was quoted that Mukhriz Mahathir was firmly behind Pak Lah, when what Mukhriz said was that he was confident that Pak Lah will do the right thing. This is mainstream reporting for you.

35. #35 by ZhouYu on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:34 am

Before election, everyone say vote for opposition. Deny BN’s 2/3rd. After election, people start to get suspicious of the other parties. If everyone is not happy, just return the state of Perak to BN. They’re more than happy to take it and there’ll be a 100% common understanding on who should be the MB.

Having the Sultan of Perak to decide the next MB is a good idea. Don’t forget that DAP would not have won so many seats without Anwar and votes from our Malay friends.

MB or no MB, it lasts for at most 5 years. After that period of time, things are still in the balance. Racial sentiment could still be exploited if this is not handled correctly. Just let the Sultan of Perak to decide and accept it. If you can’t accept that, break the pact in Perak and let BN with the majority state seats to form the government.

36. #36 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:35 am

Godfather. I am merely responding to dawsheng comment “The opposition cannot show it can do better than BN if the MB of Perak is not from the DAP.”

dawsheng is automatically implying the DAP can govern well just because they can talk well. Whereas I am of the opinion that it is not necessarily the case. DAP may or may not govern well. Time will tell and I sincerely hope they can govern as well as they talk.

37. #37 by decapod on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:36 am

Penang CM announces waivers, new policies – The Star 11/3/08

“Penang Municipal Council and Seberang Perai Municipal Council will waive all summonses involving hawker licences and parking offences issued before March 11″

What a disappointing decision. What kind of message is the new Penang CM giving to law-breakers, especially to those who parks unconsiderately and causing inconvenience to other fellow road-users, causing them time and money?

We do sympathize that most hawkers make hard earnings, having to wake up even before the sun is up, to prepare for the day, having to work hard and long hours while earnings are usually little. However, waving all summonses involving hawker licenses do not address the root of any issue at all!

While licenses fees are collected to bring income for the local council to run effectively, however, we must remember that licenses are required for proper control, check and balance. If not, some unscrupulous hawkers may not bother to ensure food handling cleanliness, setting up stalls at locations that may cause inconvenience to others etc.

Look at the root of the problem. Would ways like setting up hawkers centres with proper facilities (clean toilets, water, proper drainage, garbage disposal system etc.) and renting them out affordably to deserving hawkers, be more effective?

How about freeing all convicted rapist and cold blooded serial killers? Would that be a dead NO!? How about after having a proper rehabitation, strict parole enforcement or for the case of wrongful conviction, a proper, real chance of appeal?

http://rukunegara.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=62

38. #38 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:40 am

Godfather says:
    ‘Lee Wang Yen,
    Have you run a company or a business before ? What’s in a title ? Is formal leadership more important than informal leadership ? Will you contemplate the repercussions of giving Perak back to BN administration ?’

Consider the following:
    DAP speaker in election campaign: ‘GERAKAN leaders are coward. When UMNO made demands, they dared not refuse. When UMNO insisted, they created the post of deputy CMship in Penang to accommodate UMNO’
    Defender of GERAKAN, ‘Have you run a company or a business before ? What’s in a title ? Is formal (or more precisely, de jure)leadership more important than informal (de facto) leadership ? We just gave them a nominal deputy CMship, no big deal. Will you contemplate the repercussions of not submitting to UMNO?’

39. #39 by KKK on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:40 am

dawsheng “I insist not because DAP having the majority of seats in DUN of Perak alone, I insist because it is the right thing to do.”

The right thing may be the wrong thing to do and things are never in Black or White in real life. There are lots of gray area and like it or not, we are in a multi-racial country and one have to consider the other race’s sensitivity. That’s life and we have to live with it.

IMHO, let’s not put the whole system to too much shock. Something might break and that’s definitely the wrong thing to do.

40. #40 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:41 am

I agree that waiving summonses is NOT the right thing to do, especially when the new leadership does not have any idea as to the finances of the municipalities in question. We need to have people who understand balance sheets, and sources and uses of funds, or the municipalities will be bankrupted in no time.

Tony Pua should understand this and should help Guan Eng in such matters.

41. #41 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:44 am

“dawsheng is automatically implying the DAP can govern well just because they can talk well. Whereas I am of the opinion that it is not necessarily the case. DAP may or may not govern well. Time will tell and I sincerely hope they can govern as well as they talk.” kkk

I think you misunderstood as I didn’t elaborate but Wang Yen has rightly pointed out that it is about political principles of PKR and DAP which is at stake, hence the reason why the MB should be from the DAP.

42. #42 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:46 am

Patience my friends! Let’s wait another day, and accept without question whichever candidate HRH Sultan of Perak/Regent of Perak decides for post of Menteri Besar.

Selecting an MB is not as easy as selecting a class Monitor. There are many issues to look into and take into consideration.

43. #43 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:49 am

Suddenly many DAP supporters start to realise that MCA and GERAKAN have a point when they said that they had to make painful compromises for the sake of the bigger picture and political realities.

44. #44 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:56 am

‘What’s there in a title?’
    MCA supporters: ‘Precisely, what’s there in a title? Nothing substantial really. Kit Siang rebuked our leaders for accepting Mahathir’s declaration that Malaysia is an Islamic state. But what’s there in the formal title of ‘Islamic State’, when in reality UMNO’s brand of Islamic State is merely nominal and a secular state in substance? (Mahathir is a liberal Muslim). Islamic State a-la PAS is fundamentalistic, and really means business – hudud law, non Muslims are dhimmis (second-class citizens)… In’t the “substance” of PAS more dangerous than the nominal title of UMNO? What’s there in a name? Nothing really’

45. #45 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:57 am

Isn’t..

46. #46 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:59 am

We now also have center, right wing and left wing DAP supporters.

47. #47 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:59 am

We have just won the battle with the den of thieves and I am sure many of us are very tired and estatic over the results but please be a little sensitive and considerate, be mindful of words used so as not to create division for the ‘United Rakyat’.

Let’s stay clear and let the ‘experts’ get on with whatever they need to do while we wait for announcement tomorrow.

48. #48 by Loh on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:01 am

DAP represents all races. So when DAP wins more seats, but the constitution does not allow Chinese as MB, then it has to produce a Malay DUN member. Since DAP cannot, the issue will be the constitution. DAP has submitted a name for consideration by the Sultan. It is the Sultan’s perogative to decide. I think it would not be wise to turn this into a racial issue.

The gain of Perak from BN is to stop the MB building a war chest for UMNO. Without easy sources of money, the loyalty of its members would be subject to test. Let’s hope that it would discourage some ambitious UMNO members from harping on racial issues during the next five years, when there is no promise of immediate gains.

49. #49 by Lee Wang Yen on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:03 am

Make no mistake. I’m a DAP supporter. But we do not want to be blind supporters. We expect our DAP leaders to be consistent and principled, and do not yield their political ideologies easily for political expediency, like the MCA and GERAKAN politicians they loath so much. As much as we’re disastisfied with MCA/GERAKAN, we do not want to apply two different sets of standards for DAP and MCA/GERAKAN.

50. #50 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:04 am

Why spend so much on the MB debate when the 3 parties have each submitted a name to let the Sultan choose?

Quite a smart decision, I think and shows the 3 groups are able to articulate their positions and come to a consensus. That augurs well for the partnership.

Comments are closed.