Political tsunami in general election

There is a political tsunami in the 12th general election, with the Barisan Nasional suffering probably its biggest setback in history.

From available reports, DAP has won victories, in some cases with huge majorities, in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Bagan
2. Tanjong
3. Bukit Glugor
4. Ipoh Timur
5. Batu Gajah
6. Petaling Jaya Utara
7. Seputeh
8. Kepong
9. Bukit Bintang
10. Cheras
11. Bandar Kuching
12. Segambut
13. Kota Melaka

(Note: Announcement of Sandakan win was premature. DAP parliamentary candidate Shanty Chong lost by a mere 174 votes.)

DAP is leading in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Sarikei
2. Serdang
3. Klang
4. Taiping
5. Bruas
6. Teluk Intan
7. Jelutong
8. Bukit Bendera
9. Batu Kawan

For state assembly seats, DAP has won

1. Subang Jaya;
2. Teratai

In Penang the three state seats of Tanjong and Bagan have also been won by DAP. Other Penang state seats won by DAP are Air Puteh, Prai, Batu Lanchang, Pulau Tikus and leading in all the other state seats contested by DAP. DAP has also won new state seats in Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore.

One of the most noted state assembly win is the Sri Tanjong seat of Tawau, Sabah.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by gofortruth on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:34 pm

Hallelujah!Praise God!
    Bravo DAP Bravo!

2. #2 by oknyua on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:34 pm

RTM is slow in announcing rsults. Log in to Malaysiakini for info. Confirmed Dr Ramasamy beat KSK in Penang!

Hurray, hurray a thousand times!!

3. #3 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:35 pm

Great news indeed! Many congratulations!

4. #4 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:07 pm

I am listening to 988 now and they are announcing all BN Victories. haha…they are still trying to be optimistic, aint they??hahahaha…..

5. #5 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:24 pm

Please be prepared to pacify the people with the sudden abrupt change. I believe the opposition has been given a very good opportunity this time to prove yourselves. Be ready to convince the people that you will help the poorest irregardless of race.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:36 pm

Alhamdullilah !!!!

With Victory comes Responsibility, Accountability, Transparancy and Integrity.

This is the first time DAP can form a state government, with friends, of course!! See what Unity can do!!

I told you this afternoon Opposition will win at least 22 seats. And retain Kelantan by a big margin. Corect, correct, correct? Didn’t you believe me?

Alhamdullilah!!

7. #7 by thquah on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

Penang Rocks, Change finally comes after so many years.

8. #8 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

hooorayyyyyyyyyyyyyy…DAP win PENANG!!!!!!!! yeyeye…congratulation to all those in supporting!! any website can view the full result? im anxious…

9. #9 by pgsilai on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:48 pm

Yes, DAP bravo and hold on to your pledges for Penang!
    Penang pledge by DAP’s 23 parliamentary and state candidates in the Penang Esplanade on Thursday, 6 Mac 2008.

To all supporters of Penangites, let’s stay calm and be matured to embrace Change which is what we have been waiting for after so many years. Praise God for answering our prayers!

10. #10 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:50 pm

Total 53 seat (parliamentary)
    BN 21
    Opp 32 (60%)

11. #11 by tunglang on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:00 pm

Uncle Lim, Congratulations! What A Tsunami Sweep!
    Guan Eng, Jeff Ooi & the rest, Great!

12. #12 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:08 pm

Congratulation!
    We are glad that DAP won a big number of seats.

Mr. Lim,
    I do hope we are not carried away by the win. Do celebrate in a modest way. No need to hold parade or carry placards.
    Must be humble in victory!!!

13. #13 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:22 pm

Agreed. Grace. When Malaysia is 1. Then we can truely celebrate.

14. #14 by hanuman on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:51 pm

Congratulations.
    When we are united this what we can achieved.
    One heart, one soul, one people … Bangsa Malaysia.
    People Power in action.
    Dato Onn Jaafar dream of Malaysia for Malaysian is slowly coming to fruit.
    Today is People Victory.
    Today is Bangsa Malaysia victory.
    Long live Banga Malaysia.

15. #15 by catharsis on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:02 am

Uncle Lim lets not be carried away with the win and let it gets into the head. WINNING IS THE EASY BIT, THE HARD BIT IS TO FULFILL YOUR ELECTION PROMISES. Kevin Rudd is a good example to follow………………………The Rudd government started fulfilling its election promises from the 72nd day of governing

Humility and the fear of the Lord bring wealth and honour and life (Proverbs, 22:4)

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:04 am

The Eastern states of Sabah and Sarawak has not felt the tsunami. Now BN is heavily depending on them for survival. What the heck.

With four states under Opposition, one wonders whether Pak Lah was deceived into believing he will win big.

Hmm. The Star, NST, The Sun, Utusan, RTM etc etc has done him and us all a big disservice by reporting all is well, rosy and all that. Now you know the people were REALLY very upset and angry.

Pak Lah, you were out of touch with reality!! Sleep on !! When you wake up, you better think of your retirement plans. Your buddies like Samy, Koh Tsu Koon, Shahrizat, Zam, Kayveas etc have all gone, gone, gone. Start worrying that Najib is now thinking of retiring you soon. Coup d’etat by his boys?

But what the heck!! You still have sweet Jeannie.

Oh, by the way, Up Yours Chandra! Up yours Nalla! Yours too Wong Chun Wai.

17. #17 by Jefus on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:08 am

Congratulations!

18. #18 by cheong on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:24 am

Well done uncle Kit !

19. #19 by digard on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:38 am

Well done everyone! A day to be a proud Malaysian!

Now, please, everyone, keep your senses, and help everyone else, brothers and sisters, to remain calm, enjoy the victory in reasonable portions.
    And to the politicians, to share the responsibilities in a brotherly manner. Leave the infighting to BN. It will happen. BN does not need our help if it wants to self-destruct.

Sleep well, dream well. Rest assured, the scumbags will have nightmares.
    Enjoy the dream of a country not divided in races, and work on it from tomorrow.

20. #20 by randombyte on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:39 am

Malaysians (esp Penangites) have chosen to make their stand loud and clear.

DAP, now is the time to prove yourselves. Congratulations and please DELIVER, or else we will hold you up to your promises and not hesitate to boot you out ^^

21. #21 by Jamesy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:42 am

Dear Uncle Lim & all DAP candidates winners,

Congratulation! This is what the rakyat wants. A new Malaysia for all Malaysians and for our children. Please do not dissappoint them. You have been given the mandate. Work hard, honour your promise and fight for of rights and we will give you another mandate in the next GE to form the next federal government.

And please celebrate your victory in the moderate manner.

Congrats again! ;)

22. #22 by Just_True on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:48 am

So glad to hear voices of reason amongst us. Uncle Kit, you must be proud of those who belong to this blog. We shall not let success get into our heads -> humility and responsibility will take DAP far. This is the chance to show BN the way for clean, efficient and responsible government.

What a performance!!!! Congratulations.

23. #23 by pwth888 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:50 am

Yes! We’ve delivered a Rocket from P182 Kota Kinabalu to Parliament. Well done DAP.

24. #24 by giko on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:54 am

Congrats uncle lim. after almost 40 years of your hard labouring, your dreams are coming true!

I’m a happy man today.

Celebrate a little and get down in restoring justice and good governance in M’sia with Penang leading the way!

Congrats again!

25. #25 by jetaime.f on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:55 am

From a far, across a thousand miles and continents, congratulations to DAP and the rest of the opposition parties. For the 1st time, we have done extremely well….all thanks to the support of the Malaysian people who realized the future generations is in their hands. If grand pa pa is still alive, he’ll be very proud of this win…..nite….

26. #26 by shagg.in on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:57 am

First of all, my utmost congratulations and gratitude to Uncle Lim and DAP stalwarts.

But most of all, I wish thank all you Malaysians who voted for the alternative. This victory would not be possible without you guys.

May we see a meaningful and progressive change in Malaysia for us and more importantly, for future generations.

27. #27 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 12:59 am

ZAM ALAKAZAM LOST! Who will be the new misinformation minister? SAMY VELLU LOST! YAAY!!

28. #28 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:02 am

If the Barisan Alternatif had the chance in the mainstream media, Barisan Najis got no hope in this election.

29. #29 by choonchoy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:06 am

Yes! Go! Go! DAP!
    Out ! Out! BN!

30. #30 by mycroft on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:10 am

IT IS MORNING IN MALAYSIA!!

31. #31 by goldenscreen on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:10 am

Well what can I say..when RPK said that his intelligence reports said that 5 states will fall and opposition win 80-90 parliament seats, seriously I couldn’t believe it. But it has turned out true. 4 states so far and close to denying BN 2/3 majority in parliament. Well done DAP, PKR, PAS and also to all the tireless and dedicated Barisan Rakyat supporters throughout Malaysia. You have done us proud! Congrats!!

Now comes the hard part. Don’t be too exuberant in celebrations, if possible offer an olive branch to Gerakan and MCA to work together for the betterment of Penang and Malaysia. Thank you from the deepest depths of my heart! Thank you Pak Lah for graciously accepting defeat. Don’t be too hard on Pak Lah, he’s a human too. Tsu Koon thank you for accepting defeat and promising a smooth transition. At least you can now retire and enjoy life with your family.

32. #32 by marD on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:12 am

Couldn’t get in since 8.30pm!!! Couldn’t access malaysiakini also… Uncle Kit CONGRATULATION, we are supremely happy, the people have spoken, the silent majority has risen, Long Live Malaysia. Bless the people of Malaysia who reject unfair govt.

Auntie Sal, see what I mean, do not worry your money will multiply, foreign investors love democracy! See you in Sydney next week.

33. #33 by vehir on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:12 am

My congrats to all those who won with peoples power (makkal sakthi).

Opposition forming state government in Penang, Kedah, Selangor and Kelantan at this time.

The voters really changed the government. And DAP, PAS, OKR & PSM should send their congrats to the voters who elected you YB’s.

I was at Kepong Parliamment helping Dr Tan since the past 13 days and he emerged as the champion.

A real tsunami voters flooded the polling stations and wanted a real changed which gave the oppostion a great success.

34. #34 by ablastine on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:13 am

Dear Uncle Lim,

Congratulation. Please if your party must, only celebrate on the quiet. I agree there should be no victory parade and no placards. Do not give some trouble makers opportunities to sabotage the oppositions great victory. However, the work has just started. I hope with this victory the oppositions now has a stronger hand to stop the rot in the country. Regards.

35. #35 by tunglang on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:13 am

Can’t sleep, mind is still unbelieving yet overly overjoyed!

36. #36 by alaneth on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:14 am

Opposition also forming in Perak – full results not out yet.

Congratulations DAP!!!

37. #37 by catharsis on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:15 am

Sun TZU:

The management of a large force is similar to that of a small force. It is a matter of orgainsation and structure

To control a large force in combat is similar to that of a small force. It is a matter of formations and signals

Order or diorder depend on organsation

38. #38 by Not spoon fed on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:23 am

Congratulation!

We look forward to saving cost for Malaysians (open tenders), humble policies, contiune to help our brothers Indians and Malays….

The Indian and Malay community should still continue to get attention…there are many poor families among them…..

39. #39 by vwfs68 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:29 am

Congratulations! Finally, we have a real opposition! With Selangor under the opposition hands; do try to bring back city council elections!

Vincent
    vwfs68.blogspot.com

40. #40 by Joetan on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:29 am

I really hope that DAP will made full use of the opportunity given to them by taking care of the welfare of the penangnites. As we penangnites do not believe in KOW TOWING to anybody but leading the way.CONGRATULATE !

41. #41 by gchiam on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:30 am

Congratulations, Mr. Lim,

Show the whole country that DAP and other opposition parties CAN DO IT – run the state government well.

42. #42 by Not spoon fed on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:30 am

It is wise and humble to let PKR to be chief minister!

43. #43 by js on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:32 am

Congratulations to DAP and other opposition parties. Very happy to know that Lim Guan Eng will be our next CM.Cheers!

44. #44 by scorpian6666 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:33 am

While I am so saddened by the Sarawak’s result, I am so glad, Dap, PKR and Pas finally have chances to prove to the rest of malaysia what they could do, to serve as examples to states like Sarawak and Sabah.
    WELL DONE !

45. #45 by jbozz on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:34 am

Thanks to Dr Tun Mahathir 10 yrs ago he sent DSAI into a very good but painful lesson to realize who should watch and whom is the true friends in the government to rely on. He knew all these bloody leader can’t rule, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, within UMNO itself, how can he defeat em all 10 yrs ago. But now he give the best gift and opportunity for DSAI his truth successor, to have the key to realized suara rakyat determine the country, money politics will failed. “Malka Sakti”

Congrats to YB Lim Guan Eng to be the next Chief Minister of Penang, don’t forget our free bridge, lesser toll, and more MNC companies to come to Pearl of Orient to invest. Kindly restore the beauty of this island from the filth left by BN. Let’s create a better Penang with more tourist visiting us. I wanted to feel proud to be a Malaysian 1st class citizen.

46. #46 by vehir on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:37 am

MALAYSIAKINI.COM NOW CAN BE ACCESSED
    http://harakahdaily.net

those who find difficulty in accessing malaysiakini please visit the above site as malaysiakini is now temprorarily combined sites with harakahdaily.net

47. #47 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:37 am

For ongoing commentaries visit my blog at

http://www.myoe.wordpress.com

be great if you guys can drop by. I’ll be actively blogging there till 3am I think.

48. #48 by galaxy on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:39 am

Kit,

Congratulations! It is indeed a tsunami as predicted earlier.

Once again, congratulations and all the best wishes.

49. #49 by Lee Wang Yen on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:42 am

While we celebrate the historic victory, we must be wary of PAS. Accoriding to ‘Harakah Daily’, PAS’ agenda is still the establishment of an Islamic theocracy:
    ‘Mursyidul Am PAS, Tuan Guru Dato’ Nik Aziz Nik Mat berkata, kemenangan yang diberi Allah kepada PAS, KeADILan dan pembangkang lain di Malaysia adalah kerana tindakan Umno/BN yang sudah cukup melampau. Kata Tuan Guru, rakyat kelantan masih mahu mempertahankan kerajaan Islam yang telahpun dijalankan PAS sejak memerintah 18 tahun lalu. ‘
    http://harakahdaily.net/temp/

Note that Nik Aziz doesn’t even refer to DAP by its name (‘pembangkang yang lain’).

50. #50 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:44 am

It is time for us to have our voice heard in the mainstream media.

1 2 3 16

Comments are closed.