« Top DAP Election Ceramah Donations
The mornings after the 12th general election… »

Political tsunami in general election

There is a political tsunami in the 12th general election, with the Barisan Nasional suffering probably its biggest setback in history.

From available reports, DAP has won victories, in some cases with huge majorities, in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Bagan
2. Tanjong
3. Bukit Glugor
4. Ipoh Timur
5. Batu Gajah
6. Petaling Jaya Utara
7. Seputeh
8. Kepong
9. Bukit Bintang
10. Cheras
11. Bandar Kuching
12. Segambut
13. Kota Melaka

(Note: Announcement of Sandakan win was premature. DAP parliamentary candidate Shanty Chong lost by a mere 174 votes.)

DAP is leading in the following Parliamentary seats:

1. Sarikei
2. Serdang
3. Klang
4. Taiping
5. Bruas
6. Teluk Intan
7. Jelutong
8. Bukit Bendera
9. Batu Kawan

For state assembly seats, DAP has won

1. Subang Jaya;
2. Teratai

In Penang the three state seats of Tanjong and Bagan have also been won by DAP. Other Penang state seats won by DAP are Air Puteh, Prai, Batu Lanchang, Pulau Tikus and leading in all the other state seats contested by DAP. DAP has also won new state seats in Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore.

One of the most noted state assembly win is the Sri Tanjong seat of Tawau, Sabah.

Send article as PDF to PDF Download

This entry was posted on Saturday, March 8th, 2008 at 20: 22.17 and is filed under Election. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

765 Responses to “Political tsunami in general election”

1. gofortruth Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 20: 34.22

Hallelujah!Praise God!
    Bravo DAP Bravo!

2. oknyua Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 20: 34.36

RTM is slow in announcing rsults. Log in to Malaysiakini for info. Confirmed Dr Ramasamy beat KSK in Penang!

Hurray, hurray a thousand times!!

3. Lee Wang Yen Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 20: 35.28

Great news indeed! Many congratulations!

4. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 21: 07.14

I am listening to 988 now and they are announcing all BN Victories. haha…they are still trying to be optimistic, aint they??hahahaha…..

5. ZhouYu Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 21: 24.03

Please be prepared to pacify the people with the sudden abrupt change. I believe the opposition has been given a very good opportunity this time to prove yourselves. Be ready to convince the people that you will help the poorest irregardless of race.

6. sheriff singh Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 21: 36.01

Alhamdullilah !!!!

With Victory comes Responsibility, Accountability, Transparancy and Integrity.

This is the first time DAP can form a state government, with friends, of course!! See what Unity can do!!

I told you this afternoon Opposition will win at least 22 seats. And retain Kelantan by a big margin. Corect, correct, correct? Didn’t you believe me?

Alhamdullilah!!

7. thquah Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 21: 49.15

Penang Rocks, Change finally comes after so many years.

8. disapointed86 Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 22: 18.44

hooorayyyyyyyyyyyyyy…DAP win PENANG!!!!!!!! yeyeye…congratulation to all those in supporting!! any website can view the full result? im anxious…

9. pgsilai Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 22: 48.04

Yes, DAP bravo and hold on to your pledges for Penang!
    Penang pledge by DAP’s 23 parliamentary and state candidates in the Penang Esplanade on Thursday, 6 Mac 2008.

To all supporters of Penangites, let’s stay calm and be matured to embrace Change which is what we have been waiting for after so many years. Praise God for answering our prayers!

10. choonchoy Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 22: 50.27

Total 53 seat (parliamentary)
    BN 21
    Opp 32 (60%)

11. tunglang Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 23: 00.58

Uncle Lim, Congratulations! What A Tsunami Sweep!
    Guan Eng, Jeff Ooi & the rest, Great!

12. grace Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 23: 08.05

Congratulation!
    We are glad that DAP won a big number of seats.

Mr. Lim,
    I do hope we are not carried away by the win. Do celebrate in a modest way. No need to hold parade or carry placards.
    Must be humble in victory!!!

13. choonchoy Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 23: 22.49

Agreed. Grace. When Malaysia is 1. Then we can truely celebrate.

14. hanuman Says:
    March 8th, 2008 at 23: 51.17

Congratulations.
    When we are united this what we can achieved.
    One heart, one soul, one people … Bangsa Malaysia.
    People Power in action.
    Dato Onn Jaafar dream of Malaysia for Malaysian is slowly coming to fruit.
    Today is People Victory.
    Today is Bangsa Malaysia victory.
    Long live Banga Malaysia.

15. catharsis Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 02.05

Uncle Lim lets not be carried away with the win and let it gets into the head. WINNING IS THE EASY BIT, THE HARD BIT IS TO FULFILL YOUR ELECTION PROMISES. Kevin Rudd is a good example to follow………………………The Rudd government started fulfilling its election promises from the 72nd day of governing

Humility and the fear of the Lord bring wealth and honour and life (Proverbs, 22:4)

16. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 04.39

The Eastern states of Sabah and Sarawak has not felt the tsunami. Now BN is heavily depending on them for survival. What the heck.

With four states under Opposition, one wonders whether Pak Lah was deceived into believing he will win big.

Hmm. The Star, NST, The Sun, Utusan, RTM etc etc has done him and us all a big disservice by reporting all is well, rosy and all that. Now you know the people were REALLY very upset and angry.

Pak Lah, you were out of touch with reality!! Sleep on !! When you wake up, you better think of your retirement plans. Your buddies like Samy, Koh Tsu Koon, Shahrizat, Zam, Kayveas etc have all gone, gone, gone. Start worrying that Najib is now thinking of retiring you soon. Coup d’etat by his boys?

But what the heck!! You still have sweet Jeannie.

Oh, by the way, Up Yours Chandra! Up yours Nalla! Yours too Wong Chun Wai.

17. Jefus Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 08.23

Congratulations!

18. cheong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 24.07

Well done uncle Kit !

19. digard Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 38.22

Well done everyone! A day to be a proud Malaysian!

Now, please, everyone, keep your senses, and help everyone else, brothers and sisters, to remain calm, enjoy the victory in reasonable portions.
    And to the politicians, to share the responsibilities in a brotherly manner. Leave the infighting to BN. It will happen. BN does not need our help if it wants to self-destruct.

Sleep well, dream well. Rest assured, the scumbags will have nightmares.
    Enjoy the dream of a country not divided in races, and work on it from tomorrow.

20. randombyte Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 39.40

Malaysians (esp Penangites) have chosen to make their stand loud and clear.

DAP, now is the time to prove yourselves. Congratulations and please DELIVER, or else we will hold you up to your promises and not hesitate to boot you out ^^

21. Jamesy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 42.10

Dear Uncle Lim & all DAP candidates winners,

Congratulation! This is what the rakyat wants. A new Malaysia for all Malaysians and for our children. Please do not dissappoint them. You have been given the mandate. Work hard, honour your promise and fight for of rights and we will give you another mandate in the next GE to form the next federal government.

And please celebrate your victory in the moderate manner.

Congrats again! ;)

22. Just_True Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 48.32

So glad to hear voices of reason amongst us. Uncle Kit, you must be proud of those who belong to this blog. We shall not let success get into our heads -> humility and responsibility will take DAP far. This is the chance to show BN the way for clean, efficient and responsible government.

What a performance!!!! Congratulations.

23. pwth888 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 50.41

Yes! We’ve delivered a Rocket from P182 Kota Kinabalu to Parliament. Well done DAP.

24. giko Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 54.06

Congrats uncle lim. after almost 40 years of your hard labouring, your dreams are coming true!

I’m a happy man today.

Celebrate a little and get down in restoring justice and good governance in M’sia with Penang leading the way!

Congrats again!

25. jetaime.f Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 55.32

From a far, across a thousand miles and continents, congratulations to DAP and the rest of the opposition parties. For the 1st time, we have done extremely well….all thanks to the support of the Malaysian people who realized the future generations is in their hands. If grand pa pa is still alive, he’ll be very proud of this win…..nite….

26. shagg.in Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 57.18

First of all, my utmost congratulations and gratitude to Uncle Lim and DAP stalwarts.

But most of all, I wish thank all you Malaysians who voted for the alternative. This victory would not be possible without you guys.

May we see a meaningful and progressive change in Malaysia for us and more importantly, for future generations.

27. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 00: 59.39

ZAM ALAKAZAM LOST! Who will be the new misinformation minister? SAMY VELLU LOST! YAAY!!

28. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 02.06

If the Barisan Alternatif had the chance in the mainstream media, Barisan Najis got no hope in this election.

29. choonchoy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 06.24

Yes! Go! Go! DAP!
    Out ! Out! BN!

30. mycroft Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 10.12

IT IS MORNING IN MALAYSIA!!

31. goldenscreen Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 10.56

Well what can I say..when RPK said that his intelligence reports said that 5 states will fall and opposition win 80-90 parliament seats, seriously I couldn’t believe it. But it has turned out true. 4 states so far and close to denying BN 2/3 majority in parliament. Well done DAP, PKR, PAS and also to all the tireless and dedicated Barisan Rakyat supporters throughout Malaysia. You have done us proud! Congrats!!

Now comes the hard part. Don’t be too exuberant in celebrations, if possible offer an olive branch to Gerakan and MCA to work together for the betterment of Penang and Malaysia. Thank you from the deepest depths of my heart! Thank you Pak Lah for graciously accepting defeat. Don’t be too hard on Pak Lah, he’s a human too. Tsu Koon thank you for accepting defeat and promising a smooth transition. At least you can now retire and enjoy life with your family.

32. marD Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 12.24

Couldn’t get in since 8.30pm!!! Couldn’t access malaysiakini also… Uncle Kit CONGRATULATION, we are supremely happy, the people have spoken, the silent majority has risen, Long Live Malaysia. Bless the people of Malaysia who reject unfair govt.

Auntie Sal, see what I mean, do not worry your money will multiply, foreign investors love democracy! See you in Sydney next week.

33. vehir Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 12.56

My congrats to all those who won with peoples power (makkal sakthi).

Opposition forming state government in Penang, Kedah, Selangor and Kelantan at this time.

The voters really changed the government. And DAP, PAS, OKR & PSM should send their congrats to the voters who elected you YB’s.

I was at Kepong Parliamment helping Dr Tan since the past 13 days and he emerged as the champion.

A real tsunami voters flooded the polling stations and wanted a real changed which gave the oppostion a great success.

34. ablastine Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 13.54

Dear Uncle Lim,

Congratulation. Please if your party must, only celebrate on the quiet. I agree there should be no victory parade and no placards. Do not give some trouble makers opportunities to sabotage the oppositions great victory. However, the work has just started. I hope with this victory the oppositions now has a stronger hand to stop the rot in the country. Regards.

35. tunglang Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 13.57

Can’t sleep, mind is still unbelieving yet overly overjoyed!

36. alaneth Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 14.59

Opposition also forming in Perak – full results not out yet.

Congratulations DAP!!!

37. catharsis Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 15.36

Sun TZU:

The management of a large force is similar to that of a small force. It is a matter of orgainsation and structure

To control a large force in combat is similar to that of a small force. It is a matter of formations and signals

Order or diorder depend on organsation

38. Not spoon fed Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 23.21

Congratulation!

We look forward to saving cost for Malaysians (open tenders), humble policies, contiune to help our brothers Indians and Malays….

The Indian and Malay community should still continue to get attention…there are many poor families among them…..

39. vwfs68 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 29.37

Congratulations! Finally, we have a real opposition! With Selangor under the opposition hands; do try to bring back city council elections!

Vincent
    vwfs68.blogspot.com

40. Joetan Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 29.52

I really hope that DAP will made full use of the opportunity given to them by taking care of the welfare of the penangnites. As we penangnites do not believe in KOW TOWING to anybody but leading the way.CONGRATULATE !

41. gchiam Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 30.01

Congratulations, Mr. Lim,

Show the whole country that DAP and other opposition parties CAN DO IT – run the state government well.

42. Not spoon fed Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 30.55

It is wise and humble to let PKR to be chief minister!

43. js Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 32.39

Congratulations to DAP and other opposition parties. Very happy to know that Lim Guan Eng will be our next CM.Cheers!

44. scorpian6666 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 33.33

While I am so saddened by the Sarawak’s result, I am so glad, Dap, PKR and Pas finally have chances to prove to the rest of malaysia what they could do, to serve as examples to states like Sarawak and Sabah.
    WELL DONE !

45. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 34.18

Thanks to Dr Tun Mahathir 10 yrs ago he sent DSAI into a very good but painful lesson to realize who should watch and whom is the true friends in the government to rely on. He knew all these bloody leader can’t rule, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, within UMNO itself, how can he defeat em all 10 yrs ago. But now he give the best gift and opportunity for DSAI his truth successor, to have the key to realized suara rakyat determine the country, money politics will failed. “Malka Sakti”

Congrats to YB Lim Guan Eng to be the next Chief Minister of Penang, don’t forget our free bridge, lesser toll, and more MNC companies to come to Pearl of Orient to invest. Kindly restore the beauty of this island from the filth left by BN. Let’s create a better Penang with more tourist visiting us. I wanted to feel proud to be a Malaysian 1st class citizen.

46. vehir Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 37.06

MALAYSIAKINI.COM NOW CAN BE ACCESSED
    http://harakahdaily.net

those who find difficulty in accessing malaysiakini please visit the above site as malaysiakini is now temprorarily combined sites with harakahdaily.net

47. malaysiaalwaysboleh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 37.12

For ongoing commentaries visit my blog at

http://www.myoe.wordpress.com

be great if you guys can drop by. I’ll be actively blogging there till 3am I think.

48. galaxy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 39.01

Kit,

Congratulations! It is indeed a tsunami as predicted earlier.

Once again, congratulations and all the best wishes.

49. Lee Wang Yen Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 42.26

While we celebrate the historic victory, we must be wary of PAS. Accoriding to ‘Harakah Daily’, PAS’ agenda is still the establishment of an Islamic theocracy:
    ‘Mursyidul Am PAS, Tuan Guru Dato’ Nik Aziz Nik Mat berkata, kemenangan yang diberi Allah kepada PAS, KeADILan dan pembangkang lain di Malaysia adalah kerana tindakan Umno/BN yang sudah cukup melampau. Kata Tuan Guru, rakyat kelantan masih mahu mempertahankan kerajaan Islam yang telahpun dijalankan PAS sejak memerintah 18 tahun lalu. ‘
    http://harakahdaily.net/temp/

Note that Nik Aziz doesn’t even refer to DAP by its name (’pembangkang yang lain’).

50. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 44.36

It is time for us to have our voice heard in the mainstream media.

51. jus legitimum Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 45.50

Congratulations,

YB Kit,your long and enduring hard work has paid off.The election
    results reminds us of the famous chinese saying:’De Min Xin Tse De Tian Xia’.

I think you can have a good night sleep after a two week arduous election campaign.Wish you the best always.

52. cmbss Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 46.10

Really tragedy for MIC!!!!!!!!

The President of Koyak
    The Deputy of MIC also Koyak
    The Wanita MIC also Koyak
    The Youth MIC also Koyak

Makal Sakthi!!!!!!!!!!!

53. js Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 46.27

already deny 2/3 majority for Parliament seats. Congrats!

54. lavendersecrets Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 46.29

Congrats to DAP for all of the acheivements this election. You have made history for this country in so many ways and garnered so many milestones.Congratulations for getting penang,congratulations on the 36k majority for seputeh and congratulations in proving that the ISA can never hold a persons belief down,

55. HJ Angus Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 01: 51.13

CONGRATS on your major achievement for you and your team really deserve it.

Please do be gracious in this major victory and advise your followers not to antagonise the defeated for it is truly a humbling experience.

I think General Grant in the USA civil war after defeating the Confederates allowed the losers to keep their weapons as it was important to them.

Similarly we should not aggravate the situation further.

Hopefully the new government will not pursue the “politics of punishment” for that will surely drag Malaysia’s economy more.

56. Plaintruth Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 00.55

Congratulation to DAP !!!

The BBC news early report is here:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7284682.stm

It is a very much toned-down reporting trying not to offend UMNOPUTRA. At the very end of the article BBC invite readers to voice their opinion. Here is your chance to let the whole world know what is actually going on….
    “Are you in Malaysia? Did you vote? What are your expectations from the election? Send us your comments by filling out the form below.

Name
    Your E-mail address
    Town & Country
    Phone number (optional):
    Comments”

57. alvinkhng Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 01.10

UPDATE
    Opposition claims victory in Perak – 1.50am
    The state is still too close to call. However, the opposition claimed that it has won a simple majority in the state. According to PKR state chief Dr Lee Boon Chye, the opposition was victorious 30 out of 59 seats (DAP – 18, PKR – 6, PAS – 6).

But the state Election Commission appears to have suffered a computer glitch, which has delayed the announcement of the results

58. fjjs Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 01.41

Congratulations… amazing results…STAY CALM….it is time to walk the talk…for the betterment of all Malaysians.

59. cfcluvdap Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 02.12

Dear all opposition,
    Congratulation for putting up a big fight and won.
    We shall see a multi-racial Malaysia. Take care of all based on merit and remove the corrupted.

When I cast my vote yesterday, I saw a lot of MCA unties-members (not many man –a sign of disheartened support for BN) at the BN booths and there was hardly opposition members or booths outside the polling station…..it’s ok as the results showed that the people have made up their minds on who should be their representatives. Don’t work like BN in splashing money to fish for votes. Maintain the prudent approach in managing the party… The rakyat will know and support the party. We know you guys don’t have the duit to pay people crowding the booths to show off ( implied only) indicate party’s strength. Remember! be prudent. Rakyat knows that BN spend a lot of money to oil her machinery and to get people to work for them….where did the money came from…where else, the rakyat money through corruption.

60. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 03.00

Congrats uncle kit,

i want to see a change in malaysian politics. dont let the people down this time….

61. iyamwhoiyam Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 06.52

Hip Hip Hooray!…hip hip hooray!!! hip hip hooray!!!!

now go move penang forward, i will be one of the first to run there =)

62. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 06.53

The stupid EC chief did not announce how many seat opposition has won, lol he throw that announcement letter without answering, let’s fired this rude man.

63. kickbutt Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 09.33

lots of ayam in penang!

64. alaneth Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 21.03

The Winds of Change have arrived!

Penang, Kedah, Perak, Selangor, Kelantan – This is the BIGGEST Defeat of BN ever – we the rakyat are sending a huge message to those sitting in their comfortable palaces in Putrajaya… “if you don’t perform, don’t take care of the rights of the rakyat, the minority can upset many things.

Before the GE, I’ve predicted this may happen. MCA/MIC scaring the Chinese/Indians won’t work. In seats where UMNO-PKR/PAS, the Chinese/Indians will vote opposition, and when the Malay votes are split, these minority deciding votes will tip the scales over….. yes it has happened!

65. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 22.46

As the party that now represents the Chinese (mainly) and with the most number of seats in now Opposition controlled Penang, Perak and Selangor and many seats elsewhere, BN should now invite DAP to join the coalition.

Then BN will rule again.

As it stands now, we have a chance for a two-party state, just like Republicans and Democrats and Labour and Conservatives.

We are entering into a new era, in new untested waters. The Opposition has won big but was it ready to rule? Time will tell.

66. devilmaster Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 22.51

congratulations to DAP.

67. hyperventilating Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 24.22

Congratulations to the oppositions, We scared the shit out of BN!!!!

68. limkamput Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 25.07

May I extend my congratulation to DAP and LGE.

Please maintain humility in victory. LGE, please be inclusive in whatever you do. Running a government comes with lots of responsibility. Think of the interests and aspiration of other races. That is what DAP is all about.

To the bloggers, please watch your comments. Don’t be too rough and cocky.

69. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 26.32

Lol Pak Lah no face to talk and address the ppl in front of all media, reason is technical problem with mic.

70. dapbestrong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 27.01

Yes!! DAP has won Penang!!!! Tsunami indeed!! Congratulations DAP, Now we must perform and show the Malaysian, The Opposition can form a new and fair government in the near FUTURE!!

Thank You All!!!!!

71. KanNinNeh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 27.10

Uncle Kits,

Congrats ! You are Great !

Internet and SMS have also helped us a lot ! We must continue to make full use of the advanced technology !

BN is a bit outdated already !

72. anand Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 27.29

Uncle Kit,
    Congrats … on DAP’s best showing in 2008 GE. Your hardwork and patience didn’t go to waste. Penang – DAP CM , Perak – ?, Selangor – ? … who will be the CM ??
    I hope DAP,PKR and PAS will agree for at least 1 Indian CM for the captured states.
    We want ….
    DAP,DAP,DAP,DAP,DAP !!

Anand,
    Anxiously following the results from Utah,US.

73. DoingTheRightThing Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 28.13

The right to do is setting an example by getting to work tomorrow.

Do keep the promise. I believe, DAP, PKR and PAS will also learn from BN mistakes as well.

By the way, whats goes around comes around. This is always true and time will tell it.

Be humble and NO celebration.

Congratulations and all the best
    DoingTheRightThing

74. Windchime Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 29.17

Dear YB Uncle Lim,

You have inspired us Malaysians to take up the challenge for change and the people of Malaysia have heard your call – loud and clear this time.

A big congratulations to you and your team!! Its now going forward to penetrate further and charge on with the wind of change into parliament and also to the state assembly!

Thank you to you and your team and the rest of the opposition for making this happen!

Thank you people of Malaysia, thank you for making this change a reality! Let’s now build a better Malaysia for all Malaysians!

JK

75. RGRaj Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 31.57

Too bad the UMNO racists still won. But they won’t be as vocal as before, as they’ve seen what hurt feelings can do on polls day.

And with only a “simple” majority in parliament, the racist BN cannot be as irresponsible as before.

76. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 32.16

Can just imagine seeing Dr M grinning and saying, didnt I tell you so?

Well done to all of us for the effort put in! Malaysians have matured. Lets work towards a better Malaysia.

Now’s the chance to show how well Penang, Kedah, Kelantan, Perak and Selangor can be governed. Lets bring good governance back, and get rid of the excesses.

Lets all volunteer to help make it better in these states! The work begins now!

77. desmond yong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 35.41

The Lord God hears our prayers, this is the beginning for change ! Congratulation Kit Siang & all DAP candidates ! March on for better Malaysia !!!!!!!!!!

78. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 35.42

Did you guys see EC chairman (and clown) declaring that bn had a simple majority to form the government? The cameras were rolling and he probably was not aware of it. Should he was deeply upset with the results coming in. He was desperate to announce victory for his masters. He has shown how un-independeant the EC is.

Despite all the one sided media reports and postal votes heavily siding bn, the rakyat has flexed its muscles.

Yes bn, umno and EC, you forgot who the master is! Its us, the rakyat. And you have abused us for too long.

79. techie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 37.03

sheriff singh, no DAP will never join the BN like what Gerakan did. If DAP joins BN, all is lost!

80. cmbss Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 37.46

Congratulations!!!!!!!!!1

Long road ahead, credibility is critical to show that DAP can perform

81. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 38.16

The umno leaders who are in a meeting in their office, and not giving statements, shows they have lost touch with reality and did not even see this coming! What kind of leaders are they if they dont know what the rakyat want?

82. penang308 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 39.14

CONGRATULATION DAP!

You have successfully launched a “ChangEr” to the moon(just like China). Now we have a platform to achieve our DREAMS.

We are witnessing History rewrite itself, if anyone of you read “Romance of 3 Kingdom”, it is liken “Liu Bei” finally established a kingdom for himself(the “Shu”).

Mr Lim, your leadership and never give up fighting spirit(even jailed a few times) has made all this posible. People would give up after a few failure but NOT you. In every election, you give us HOPE and there is no other leader like you.

A BIG THANKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK YOU, MR LIM.

83. lavendersecrets Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 39.17

This election 5 states…if BA lives up to promises..next election, 2/3 majority!!!

84. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 39.37

I not only witness the EC Ra shit throw the letter when been asked by reporters to announce how many seat opposition win, I also watch the Sleeping Pak Lah remained muted blaming technical problems with audio. Nice tactics to avoid the responsibility to announce, now he lost more support from those who really work hard in MIC, MCA, Gerakan. These 2 guys are the living examples of loser.

85. Nobody Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 40.35

This is really a very good beginning of departing from racial politics in this country. I hope BN will wake up & behave themselves now. Playing the racial card will only hurt themselves. It is already outdated…

86. bukanbumi Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 41.07

Yes, the opposition has won the battle, but not the war. The battle is still on going. Be humble, and rule with responsibility, all races must be included in the human development in all opposition states. In this way we may win the final war against those racialists KERIS WEAVING idiots.
    Congratulations !! This is the happiest moments for those who felt threatened by the KERIS, whose Malay Bible or Christian books confiscated, whose temple been demolished, who love ones body snatched for Muslim burial despite prove that they are non Muslims and whose monies gone to the corrupted to built their mini palace!

Lets celebrate, but indoors with our friends and love ones.

87. eurekas Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 41.40

Greeting from Ipoh. Congratulations Uncle Lim! Finally see some sun light.
    Hope there is no May 13 incident happen after this election.
    abit scared…. Samy Velu down. Koh Tsu Koon also down…

88. theengeeyee Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 44.16

It’s a good start for DAP and other opposition parties, bravo!

The result shows that M’sian are getting matured towards a more democratic nation. Hope that DAP and other opposition parties can do a good job, or else, the people can still vote them down in the next term.

89. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 45.56

Ha if DAP/PKR/PAS have control of Selangor, can they please do something about Zakaria Mat Daros and family?

Did his daughter in law win? Anybody know?

90. padamBN Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 46.52

uncle Kit,

Just watch the tv3 biased commentary; those so called political experts are questioning how DAP are going to work with PAS?

Please,please prove the critic wrong!

91. waterfrontcoolie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 49.43

DAP did a good job, but don’t forget taht many have had voted because they went in with the HOPE that the three Opposition Parties of DAP-PKR_PAS would do a good job! So the hard work has just begin! With the possibility of capturing more than a couple of State Goverments, PLEASE DO NOT FAIL TO SET EXAMPLES FOR THE FINAL THRUST in 5 years’ time!! Be rational! Don’t get carried away! Do remember those who have just lost have been depending on CLUTCHES for over a generation! They could be real desperate to up-set the new set-up! Congratulations for a hard fought VICTORY!

92. TooFree Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 50.20

You want it and now its yours. You better do a good job like what PAS did in Kelantan. Don’t ever be like what the Socialist Front did in Malacca in the sixties when they took over the Malacca Municipal Council. Penang under KSK had lagged behind other states for the past 10-15 yrs. You have your work cut out for you.

93. peace Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 50.47

Penang, the Nation will start a new breathe of life with you!

94. dapbestrong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 52.30

Unofficial: BN denied two-thirds majority – 2.22am
    According to unofficial tally, the opposition has apparently denied the ruling Barisan Nasional its crucial two-thirds majority by winning up to 79 seats so far. To deny the government two-thirds majority, the opposition must win 75 seats. On the other hand, BN has won about 130 seats. There are still a dozen more seats to be decided.

More Good news pouring in! Uncle Lim Tonight is The Night! LGE do Keep your promise! Malaysia for Malaysian!!

95. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 53.49

The TV commentators are racists and are trying to incite racial sentiments. I switched off. Reading the net.

Wonder why they are not detained under ISA! Perhaps now can….:-)

96. pastaman Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 54.22

Dear Uncle Kit, a personal and sincere THANKS to all your team and your efforts, in creating this magnificent victory. My hope next is to for all the main opposition parties now to UNITE and form a realistic, credible opposition voice in Parliament, to be INCLUSIVE of all races, throwaway your petty squabblings, and then more people rakyat will follow.

Please also see that the Electoral Roll is cleaned up once and for all, reformed better still! Syabas!

97. somaris Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 54.30

THANK YOU THANK YOU
    PENANG PEOPLE
    YB LKS THIS IS UR BIG BIG ANG POW FOR U SO USE WISELY.
    ALSO THANK YOU ALL PEOPLE FROM THIS BLOG.U HAVE HELP A LOT
    KEEP ON WORKING FOR OUR FUTURE.
    YB CONGRATULATION TO U AND ALL THE DAP.
    I DO HOPE TO C
    PENANG CM DAP
    PERAK CM HINDRAF/PKR
    KEDAH PAS
    SELANGOR PKR/DAP
    JUST MY THOUGH
    WE SHOULD ALL THANK MALAYSIA KINI, MALAYSIATODAY,
    FOR THE TRUE STORY.
    NO MORE THE STAR,NST,UTUSAN.
    LAST BUT NOT LEAST
    LETS ALL OF US BUILD OUR COUNTRY FOR ALL RACES
    WE ARE ALL MALAYSIAN.
    THANK U THANK U

98. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 55.10

Run Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kedah and KElantan well, and the whole nation will be taken over next. That will bring an end to racial politics.

Now lets start to work on Bangsa Malaysia!

99. gracec Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 55.17

Never thought I’d live to see the day Malaysians stopped being suckers and I-DYOTS and started voting for some Opposition voices. Don’t think the Opposition, in their wildest dreams, expected BN to fall like dominoes in Penang. Got to give it to the gutsy Penangites ! Now, if only the rest of Malaysia could have followed suit. What’s the worse the Opposition can do after 50 years of absolute power by BN, 25 of which were unmitigated corruption and pillaging of the nation’s wealth ? They can’t bankrupt the country more than BN has, surely ?? CONGRATULATIONS, Lim Kit Siang, Anwar Ibrahim & Nik Aziz ! Raja Petra is priceless !! Maybe life would be a bit better now for the non-bumis and the poor bumis. Please attempt to bull-doze thru’ Parliament direct elections of local authorities. Tunku Abdul Rahman promised Tan Chee Khoon that he would bring back direct elections when they debated in Parliament donkey years ago on its abolishment. Successive BN governments have broken that promise ! Corruption & incompetence would prolly be halved with direct elections of local authorities.

100. kenchihi Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 55.45

EMERGENCY!

Dear Lim Kit Siang,

I hope that you are aware of the emergency meeting held by UMNO leaders. I would like to point one important thing that you have to look into immediately.

The Umno’ers are plotting a way to pull opposition candidates over to BN. They can do it both monetarily and by blackmail (hint: fpk). If you have noticed, only Kelantan and Penang has the chance to announce the opposition’s victory in the state elections. Perak, Selangor, Kedah are still in the limbo. The delay is intended to make time for Umno’ers to bring oppositions candidates over right now, and making it in time for tomorrows’ press to announce their success in obtaining 2/3 majority.

My recommendation is to emulate Sabah’s method years before this, by locking up all your election candidates in close quarters and insulating them from the outside world for the next few hours. This would ensure a definite win for the opposition as Umno’ers would fail to communicate with them. Please inform PKR and PAS on this. Time is running out, sir.

PLEASE LOOK INTO MY MATTER, FELLOW MODERATORS, PLEASE PASS THIS TO SOMEONE OF AUTHORITY! do not celebrate yet, the battle has just started

101. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 56.21

who will be the mb for perak?? Situation is tricky. dap got more seats than pkr+Pas

102. robleong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 56.55

What a truly magnificent victory, and against all odds! Very well done!

103. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 56.57

He he maybe the emergency umno or bn meeting is to take badawi’s scalp! ha ha!

104. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 57.12

Don’t listen to those UMNO idiots!

105. kenchihi Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 58.10

P/s: this is of concern especially on PERAK, SELANGOR and KEDAH which have yet to be officially won. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS!

106. mugen2020 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 59.00

This GE result shows the real meaning of Democracy , Peoples Power
    Congrats to all DAP candidates great winning .Lets our new voices of Democracy bring new hopes to all Malaysian in Dewan Rakyat.

107. Nobody Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 59.12

Correct…TV3 commentator is still talking about race…These people are now starting to be irrelevant but they are still dreaming.

108. techie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 02: 59.57

CM/MB should be held by the party with most seats. No other way, that’s the meaning of democracy.

109. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 01.17

MALAYSIA BOLEH! Now this saying finally makes sense to me!

110. devilmaster Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 02.00

If Opposition captures Perak, i would like to propose Nga Kor Ming as the new MB :)

111. pwth888 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 02.55

TV 1 is litter better than TV 3 after Zam lost.

112. VoteDAP Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 06.02

Uncle Lim! Great Job!!! and to all opposition allies. My best wish is you all can form a sound gov in Penang and all other states won.

Dont let power corrupts the effort you all have been fighting for yearssssss. Best wishes!

Also, what the hell why EC is not annoucing the result and UMNO is holding closed emergency meeting? Wanna play dirty huh????? Damn.

113. P.O.T.S Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 06.25

NO, NO DAP MENTERI BESAR.

We must be practical, not rigid.

We must be gracious, not legalistic.

It is not prudent to have a Chinese Menteri Besar in a Malay-predominant state.

Too easy for the opposition BN to strike hatred and suspicion among the Malays.

MB should be from PKR.

Deputy MB and so on can be from DAP.

http://www.unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com

114. dapbestrong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 06.53

BN your days are now limited. DAP you must perform with the mandate the Rakyat gave you. Deny BN 2/3 in next GE! Congratulations DAP!!!!

115. anand Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 07.32

Uncle Kit ,

I’m begging to have at least 1 strong Indian reprensentative in any State Gov of which captured and going to be form by DAP.
    If not a CM why not a deputy CM ?
    It will make DAP even more popular and as a party takes care of Indians welfare.
    Maybe who knows … DAP or BA can even capture Parliment in next GE 2012 (if there is one) !!

DAP,DAP,DAP,DAP

Anand,
    Utah-US

116. a-malaysian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 07.59

CONGRATULATION YB KIT,

Every drop of sweat and your sufferings for the past forty years are worth it. The people have finally woke up and you can rest assured that we will always be with you.

May I remind Penang DAP (through your blog) that they have to choose the best for any positions to rule Penang. Everyone will be clamouring for posts, infighting is bound to happen. Those not chosen will retaliate in different ways.

Before confirming any post, I suggest that the newly crown CM ie CM Lim Guan Eng, sits down and work with all potential candidates for at least a couple of months before appointing any of them.

And the most important thing to watch out is CORRUPTION. I suggest that the new Penang Government form a small team of ACA to put a check to ensure that this cancer does not happen in the new Government.

Its going to be tough and bn with their money and power is going to keep knocking and hitting at Penang until the next election.

Do it right and do not fail the people of Penang.

117. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 08.02

UMNO LOST BECAUSE UMNO BOSSES ARE LIKE THAT TV3 COMMENTATORS

118. dapforever Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 09.16

We are happy we are able to deny 2/3 BN majority…
    We have achieved it…Congratulations to all DAPs..

119. pulau_sibu Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 09.47

The wave of Sarawak during last state election is sweeping through the floor of West Malaysia. Did any one expect so many states to be in the hand of opposition? Never, at least in my mind.

The victory means that the anticipation of the people is much greater than expected. The victory is a joint effort of the LKS and Anwar, DAP and Keadilan. Malaysian politics in the new era is about the politics for all Malaysians, and not based on the race or the crony. Existing politics is based on the rich, by the rich and for the rich who are in UMNO, MCA, SUPP, Gerakan, MIC. I am surprised to read that MCA’s president replied that they will do a study to find out why they lost. Are they still sleeping? The reason is obvious and yet they did not try to admit it or they are just stupid. Afterall Samy and his party deserved all the punishment by the people. Gerakan was smart not to announce the next chief minister because it is simply not for them.

History proved that we can do it. It is a bit sad about the outcome in Sarawak. But, Sarawak is so remote from the West and also the mentality of the people is behind those of the West. We also did not experience the direct impact under the arrest of Hindraf or May 13. I must also say that the standard of our DAP politicians is not of a very high caliber and there is just a few persons whom I would admire. But it is not easy to have very good ones….But please remember that we sent the first wave, two years ago, at the state level.

How many states under the ‘former opposition’ now? Can one or two UMNO in Trengganu ask themselves if they should still remain in the BN, or give the power to the opposition. May be these states should join and form a different form of central government.

120. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 10.16

DAP manifesto looks good to try for all the Penangites, YB LGE has another 4 yrs to prepare his bullets to fight UMNO. That’s what i heard from YB LGE ceramah at Han Chiang. Pls for god sake, let’s all do it, don’t stop there.

Let’s do it together. Just Change!

1. New factories, new technology start-ups, new businesses opportunities. Retention plan for all the existing MNC company.

2. High Quality Jobs, High Wages, Low Living Cost

3. First class IT infrastructure.

4. Ease the traffic jam, especially during Rain, or every Friday.

5. Safe neighbourhood.

121. Amy_Seputeh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 10.18

Congratulation to DAP. Well Done.

I agreed with techie, I think the post of CM/MB should be held by the winning party for the respective states.

122. dapforever Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 10.29

agreed with you BoycottlocalPapers…i can sense they embarassed..

123. noaki Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 10.50

let’s look at this article posted @ star online…

Sunday March 9, 2008
    MYT 2:47:07 AM

BN forms govt with simple majority

By V.P. SUJATA

PUTRAJAYA: Barisan Nasional has obtained a simple majority by winning 127 parliamentary seats in the 12th general election.

Election Commission chairman Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman said as at 1.30am, Barisan Nasional had gained a clear majority of over 50% of the 222 Parliamentary seats contested.

The EC has also announced a simple majority in several states including Perlis, Pahang, Malacca, Negri Sembilan and Terengganu.

However, Abdul Rashid added that he still could not announce the results for a few states including Penang, Perak and Selangor as there was no single clear winner to form the state governments in these respective places.

“That is why I cannot make an announcement now unless there is a coalition formed in such states,” he said.

Abdul Rashid added that such a process would take time.

so clear that this Abdul Rashid is BN-friendly…how can we trust the integrity of the so-called EC??? all bull-shit!

124. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 13.04

i also feel that perak mb should be from pkr…..though dap have majority seats. or umno might invite pkr and pas to form government in perak…..dun be greedy

125. tswern Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 14.00

Don’t forget the promises made. The rakyat would hold DAP accountable in Penang for the next 4-5 years.

126. biscuit ruler Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 15.02

CONGRATULATION for the huge windfall to DAP, PAS & PKR…!!!

It is sickening to see the racial card being flash over and over again by those BN Asinines. Malaysia voters are more educated and mature politically than before.

We need a better government who could run the country well and take care of every Malaysians. See BEYOND racial barrier, that will be the ultimate dream for all Malaysians … one big family..!!!

The Oppositions need a Dream Team to fight for the cause that have been fighting for all this while and let’s cherry-pick more states in the next election.

I am so excited and just can’t hide it…!!! Let’s do the best for this country we love.

CONGRATULATION TO ALL…!!!

127. nus Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 16.48

Hearty congratulations. Yes, do keep cool in celebrations. I attended ceramas this week and I felt strongly you would do well. Only thing, I did not expect you to do so very very very well. Congrats again.

128. farseer Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 16.49

Congratulations! despite the cheating and lack of media coverage, the voice of the people wins the day. A new beginning, let’s all work together for a better Malaysia for all Malaysians.

Glad I flew back to vote.

129. voice Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 17.57

It’s a new start for DAP, PKR and PAS, all the best!

130. dapforever Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 19.11

Now DAP has won…it’s time to perform to the fullest! You got our supports! JOM UBAH! JUST CHANGE IT! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! This phrases really works! :)

131. Jong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 19.15

Such sweet victory! Congratulations to all those successful candidates in this GE 2008.

We all owe it to Lim Kit Siang, Wan Azizah, Anwar Ibrahim, Kapal Singh, Lim Guan Eng, M Kula, Fong Po Kuan, Khalid Ibrahim and everyone in DAP, PKR and PAS without them we would not have been inspired to go for change and make it possible!

Thank you!

132. akarmalaysian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 19.29

forget abt wat those idiots said in the tv…its naturally so biased and as for our pm….u dun even knw how to congratulate the winners with grace.it really showed in our pm’s face….a leader who dun even knw wat the people want and how to be a good loser.let this be a lesson to u mr pm.we are only simple people of malaysia…who wans fairness and equalness regardless of colors.u showed us wat a fair pm u are and we in turn showed u wat malaysians are made of.and mr pm…maybe u can learn something fr the oppositions…be fair and let them run the show the way they hv promised.and i bet….the oppositions can run the show much much better for the people the way u do.so mr pm…i hope u do hv a good nites sleep.congrats to our opposition leaders.u fought well for such a long time…u all deserve it.we who believe in a true malaysian spirit without having to look on others skin colors will always be behind u all.kamsia.kiong hee.

133. Kenny Chua Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 22.56

We have been waiting for this

Long Long Time.

Penang is free now :)

134. akarmalaysian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 23.17

p/s: hv anyone see any monkies jumping around lately?

135. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 23.32

Hmmmm.

Looks like Lim Kit Siang won’t be Opposition leader again with the PKR and PAS also doing well. Anwar?

Hmmm.

As for the new MB of Perak, maybe Nga will be going to the kadi tomorrow.

136. maxplus Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 25.00

Semi Value now go no Value

What a relief; i am happy that we need not see his sickening face again.

Samy; pls remember that there is a Bigger Samy up there watching.

Serve u right and all your boot kissing friends in MIC

137. Jeffrey Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 25.10

Congratulations to all. BN won simple majority because of constituency lines weighted in its favour and its vast resources as incumbent. I believe majority of voters – and rakyat of all races – have resoundingly sounded their rejection of the BN’s policies. It is new dawn in Malaysian politics and its implications and what would happen will be clearer (perhaps not now) but in days to come. Umno leaders having an emergency meeting. No point of you guys blaming Pak Lah for the political awakening of the rakyat. Look at yourselves first how you behaved and learn from there….

138. pulau_sibu Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 26.10

PLEASE!!!
    Don’t say wrongly that BN are looking after the race. They are not. They are looking after only the rich Malay in the cronies. Please got this point right. There are equally poor Malays, poor Indians, poor Chinese, and even much more poor Ibans/Dayaks.

139. trusty Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 27.03

Lets Rebuild the nation
    Good luck DAP, PKR & PAS

140. kickbutt Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 27.07

“i also feel that perak mb should be from pkr…..though dap have majority seats. or umno might invite pkr and pas to form government in perak…..dun be greedy” Chong Zhe Min

you mean dap has more seats and not majority of the seats?

a compromised solution to the problem as to who would be best to hold the post of mb may not be the end of the problem. a malay mb from pkr may be criticized as being nothing more than a front man, a puppet, a stooge etc. it looks like a minefield!

141. ian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 27.33

Congratulations.. Many many thanks to Uncle Lim who has fought hard and long for this victory.

Anyways, let us not be too carried away with this tsunami. Next five years will be important for DAP and the other opposition parties to show that they can run the states.

Please capitalize on the victory gained.

142. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 27.45

Now the challenge is to work together with PKR and PAS. Please be careful as UMNO will try to cause dissension between DAP, PKR and PAS. I hope the leaders are smart enough to counteract this problem.

143. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 27.52

hmm..so far now PAS form gov in kelantan…DAP in Penang, Perak should be given to PKR ..what about selangor..any idea?..as of to be fair to all the opposition..we just want a change…

144. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 28.48

wops..PAs in Kedah..i tink the remaing selangor and perak should be given to Dap and PKR each

145. pulau_sibu Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 30.10

And also don’t follow BN style. Don’t be hungry for power once you gain the control, and don’t try to fight for whom to be the MB, etc. I think many of us share the same mentality because we have been living in the BN era and spoon fed by their system. No doubt that the best person would fill the job. I think LKS and Anwar know about it. So let’s wait and see.

146. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 30.23

to everyone here, i believe that if the MB is a muslim/ the vice shoud be a chinese..as to be fair to all races..somehow i tink need to see to the majority of the population in that area?

147. vehir Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 32.01

We should thank Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Harris Ibrahim for giving the ful support during the many ceramahs doen in the last 13 days.

RPK’s The People’s Declaration endorsed by the Opposition should be taken into account very seriously to gain the grassroot support to make a major change in the next general election 2012.

Do smartly and share the economic values equally among all races without giving any rooms for corruptions.

Peoples Power “Makkal Sakthi” has really shaken the BN lead government to loose in 5 states a biggest history in Malaysian politics.

My congrats to all those won and keep up your promises and work hard for all Malaysians.

148. biscuit ruler Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 32.15

A new lease of Life for DAP, PKR & PAS…!!!

Power sharing will be the key for political success. Self-inflation & infighting will end up defeat just like BN which rots from within.

Deliver what has promised, a clean and effective new government. That’s what the Rakyat wanted.

CONGRATULATION again..!!! We Love You…!!! Do us proud..!!!

149. akarmalaysian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 32.28

got no one to be mb in selangor…just drop me a line.hehehe…it doesnt matter whos gonna be the mb but pls choose wisely and dun fight over it for the sake of the people and unity.be it pas…pkr or dap…u people hv joined hands to fight these scumbags…show them wat unity is all abt…share the responsibility…to serve in fairness and honesty…we dun care wat u are…as long as u lead in a right way.

150. bumi-non-malay Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 33.21

Perak Chief Minister MUST Be Indian/Sikh/Orang Asli……Never must they be marginalised again…….This is the right thing to do!!

Now Go to Sabah Sarawak and talk to Taib and Pairin and ask them to support Barisan Rakyat to Form New Gevernment.

This is A NEW Malaysia and we must work towards Forgiveness for a Better Malaysia…. A Malaysia without UMNO corruption, racism!!

151. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 37.08

This fellowship between DAP, PKR, and PAS is like the Fellowship of the Ring in The Lord of the Ring.

152. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 38.38

hahahahahaa
    good news

uncle sami lose.. i think now only shaolin can accept him
    his should change name…..

lolz

DAP is the best PARTY in malaysia…. uncle lim u did the best for us..fight for us forever… DAP alive malaysia…

153. alis7aquilae Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 38.43

Congratulations DAP for the massive victory which i’m sketical at first but was very shock with the success.

What the rakyat would hope now is that the Opposition will keep United as one and do something for the people to see..that they are different and that they can make a difference. Its more hard work from now on…PLEASE DO NOT DISAPPOINT US THE RAKYAT!

154. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 39.23

THANK YOU RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN & HARIS IBRAHIM

155. Nobody Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 39.43

I’m quite sure the opposition now has more total votes than the BN. BN wins because of the unfair constituency delineation.

156. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 40.09

khalid ibrahim will be selangor mb. teng chang kim will be deputy mb…Perak situation is more tricky…..

157. pwth888 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 41.53

Pairin the hopeless fellow. Forget about him.

158. Nobody Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 42.02

Yes…RPK & Haris Ibrahim are the man…

159. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 42.17

Next term i hope DAP prepare more and fight for sabah and sarawak… take it over from BN…

Choose DAP is your right choice for sure….

160. malaysiatoday.com Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 42.25

To Perak DAP and Lim Kit Siang,

Judging from TV3 commentators who already inciting Malay ketuanan sentiments openly and also to respect Malay as the majority in Perak as UMNO gave way to Gerakan in 1990 as Penang Chief Minister.

Please invite PKR candidate as Perak Menteri Besar and the right candidate is Anwar Ibrahim who have gathered supports from all races. Raja Petra also a good choice for Perak MB post.

Regards,

161. offspring Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 43.19

Congratulations to DAP for the great victories!!

Hope Sabah and Sarawak will learn from this!!

162. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 43.44

RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN SHOULD BE MADE THE NEW GOVERNOR OF PENANG & A STREET SHOULD BE NAMED AFTER HIM IN PENANG SO THAT NEXT TIME THERE IS A CERAMAH IN PENANG, THE POLICE WILL NOT STOP HIM FROM GIVING CERAMAH!! (i.e. if he wanted to, or if it is possible. LOL)

163. Kenny Chua Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 44.02

Uncle Lim,

I was study in UK before, so I understood that our previous government was one of the worst in Asia. Now I am happy DAP took control of Penang and I really hope that DAP, PKR and PAS can always work together to make Penang a better future. One thing we hope DAP can understand is don’t forget we support you because we trust you, don’t make us down or this will be the last chance for DAP.

We really wait for DAP to win for some many years, now it is happened. Make Malaysia Democracy and kick out all of the corruption politicians.

DAP, good luck and we believe you will not let us down :) Always supporting you!!!

164. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 44.07

Chong Zhemin Says:

Today at 03: 40.09 (1 minute ago)
    khalid ibrahim will be selangor mb. teng chang kim will be deputy mb…Perak situation is more tricky…..

hahaha..Uncle Kit be Perak MB pls..hahaha..

165. UzMiNoOnist Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 44.27

Congrats, Malaysians got our wishes “The Wind of Change” has arrived. What a resounding defeat for BN.

The victory by oppositions does remind me of the phrase “Our enemy is our common enemies”

I just hope that after the defeating our common enemy, we do not go after each others throat.

Effectively, we are proud to say that from now on the Parliament will be well represented.

I am sure there are many issues need to be handled and with care.

Lets this “change” be our permanent landscape for our children and their children sake.

I sincerely hope we grow as Malaysian and not as Chinese, Malays, Indians or other race. Discard the communal politic propagated by BN for so long that have lead to a generalized popular revolt by Malaysians.

Hidup Malaysia, Syabas to all my Malaysian, I am proud to be part of this process that change the political landscape forever.

166. malaysiatoday.com Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 44.54

Nobody Says:

Today at 03: 39.43 (2 minutes ago)
    I’m quite sure the opposition now has more total votes than the BN. BN wins because of the unfair constituency delineation.

===

Phantom voters and army and police multiple votings save BN from losing simple majority.

Next step is WE demand SPR reform to ensure fair election in the future.

167. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 45.01

RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN SHOULD BE MADE THE NEW GOVERNOR OF PENANG & A STREET SHOULD BE NAMED AFTER HIM IN PENANG SO THAT NEXT TIME THERE IS A CERAMAH IN PENANG, THE POLICE WILL NOT STOP HIM FROM GIVING CERAMAH

thumbs up …he deserves it

168. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 45.02

RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN SHOULD BE MADE THE NEW GOVERNOR OF PENANG & A STREET SHOULD BE NAMED AFTER HIM IN PENANG SO THAT NEXT TIME THERE IS A CERAMAH IN PENANG, THE POLICE WILL NOT STOP HIM FROM GIVING CERAMAH

thumbs up …he deserves it

169. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 45.12

i believe anwar ibrahim will be the right choice and right man too..

:P support him and i believe he can alive perak which is dead state when under BN

170. sparrow Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 46.05

Congratulations to all Rakyat malaysia who have shown that racial politics championed by UMNO and its hamba parties aren’t going to work as more and more malaysian are getting tired with them.

SYABAS MALAYASIA! It is winning for all malaysian!

171. techie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 47.04

disapointed86, majority population in Sarawak are the Dayaks. In Sabah, the Kadazans. But the CM is not a Dayak or a Kadazan.

Hope, the CM? MB issue will be settled properly. For me, I think the best choice would be a person who is most qualified. But then that’s subjective. Tough… lets stop discussing it. Leave it to DAP?PKR/PAS… I’m sure they’ll make a good choice.

172. CommonFolk Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 47.08

Hi All,

I am from Ipoh, Perak. I appeal to all DAP supporters to please nominate YB Lim Kit Siang to be the Menteri Besar of Perak. This is what we Perakians/IpohYan wants. I hope you all will support this nomination. This Uncle Lim had fought for so long (36 years) for almost nothing to his belt, one term as Menteri Besar is nothing too much right? It’s not too much too ask for, based on totals seats won by DAP. Gula also a good choice…but I prefer Uncle Lim.

Please let Ipoh have this ultimate dream. Thank you very much. :)

173. shaohen Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 48.36

If you can’t access MalaysiaKini it’s because the address conversion system (DNS) has been sabotaged. Use this link instead http://122.0.17.30

174. CommonFolk Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 49.08

Or Uncle Lim for Datuk Bandar can?

175. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 49.36

# disapointed86 Says:
    Today at 03: 44.07 (2 minutes ago)
    hahaha..Uncle Kit be Perak MB pls..hahaha..

No way……uncle kit did not contest in any state seats……

176. Chong Zhemin Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 50.32

i want to see local council elections in penang, perak and selangor…..then we can elect cmf to look after our longkang…..

177. anand Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 51.36

Does a candidate must stand and win a State seat to be a CM ?
    If yes, then I think Uncle Kit can’t be Perak’s CM !!

178. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 52.04

Look at Sabah and Sarawak. Why can’t you all agree like in West Malaysia?

Lost several seats because of 3 corner fights etc, What a waste.

179. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 52.32

haahahaha……whoever can be the menteri besar… as long as is smart and bring alive to perak which already a dead state.. the menteri besar also must able to take care of all races in the state

i from perak too… but my place won by rafidah which is damn sad for me…..

180. maxplus Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 53.11

I hope ppl do not forget that a minority factor behind the success of this election for us.

Lets be fair and equal to all

I am talking about Perak; and who is going to be the MB.

Mr Sivanesan for MB

We will be thankfull to you, and proves that we do not practice biasness

181. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 53.16

techie Says:

Today at 03: 47.04 (1 minute ago)
    disapointed86, majority population in Sarawak are the Dayaks. In Sabah, the Kadazans. But the CM is not a Dayak or a Kadazan.

Hope, the CM? MB issue will be settled properly. For me, I think the best choice would be a person who is most qualified. But then that’s subjective. Tough… lets stop discussing it. Leave it to DAP?PKR/PAS… I’m sure they’ll make a good choice.

hi there..i think its not rasional to say what you’ve said..cos like wat u say..sarawak majority is dayak, as im from sarawak too…but..the dayak mostly dont have the power to control things around as majority of them living in rural areas which cant be accessed by roads..so i believe they are not really awared of what happening around them..as for west malaysia..they are more different..for eg. kelantan.. is it posible the MB is a chinese? i dont think so ..cheers

182. I Malaysian Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 53.28

The excitement overcame the rest, so much so that I cant even sleep. Congrats to all our heroes in all 3 parties. My special congrats goes to Mr.Lim and team for the great great victory. The next 5 years hopefully the golden period to all Malaysians regardless of race.

183. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 54.01

So 13 is in indeed a “sway” unlucky number.

Pak Lah should sack his feng shui master or bomoh or astrologist or watever.

184. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 54.12

The combined opposition of DAP, PKR and PAS said that they will form the new government in Perak. Collectively the three parties have won 30 seats (DAP – 18, PKR – 6, PAS – 6) out of 59 seats. One seat (Teja) is yet to be decided.

However, the opposition still will have a narrow one-seat majority even if Teja goes to BN. About 50 opposition supporters are attempting to seal off the state government building in Ipoh to stop documents from being removed.

185. wombatahem Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 54.13

My humble wish here is that the newly formed state governments will rule the states with fairness without sidelining anybody because of his/her creed and religion. Congratulations to the Opposition but please do not rest on your laurels as an even bigger task looms ahead all of you.
    All the best!

186. MWong Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 54.54

Congrats, DAP, PKP, PAS and all opposition candidates! You’re the real fighters who deserve victories! Yea, a big thank you to alternative media i.e. Malaysiakini, Raja Petra, Haris Ibrahim and bloggers!Your works are unbiased and have enabled Malaysians in abroad to share this historical moment! The Local media are hopeless! Bravo Malaysians!

187. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 54.55

Yes, Sabah and Sarawak a lot of waste. You DAP & PKR guys could have WON THIS ELECTION IF YOU LISTENED TO RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN.

188. kickbutt Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 56.20

It is not over. It is only the begining!

What about likely cross-overs from PKR to BN (UMNO)?

The criticism levelled against Barisan Alternatif, and not without some merit, has always been that they will not be able to maintain enough cohesion among themselves long enough to provide a stable government.

Also it is after all the same formula used by the Alliance when they took control from the Brits in 1957. Does this victory by the opposition spell the end of the politics of race that we so vehemently condemn all this while?

189. pulau_sibu Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 56.29

Selangor to Anwar, Perak to LKS seems good suggestion

190. Nobody Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 56.52

If most Malaysians are really starting to reject racial politics, the BN might have to merge all the component parties into a single party if they want to remain in the game

191. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 57.13

actualy even the not won a sabah and sarawak.. they already enough to shock off BN, UMNO …. i think they never expected this kind of result will come out….

maybe they now in trouble and headache of losing so many state…

192. CommonFolk Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 57.18

I believe you don’t have to stand for state election in order to be CM of Perak. When new government for state is established, the CM will be elected internally. I hope I am right.

Even Uncle Lim didn’t go for state election…he was running like mad, this old man..the only person who did more than others so that DAP gain popularity at all fronts is Uncle Lim. Didn’t this count?

193. CommonFolk Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 58.33

Yup, agreed. Selangor for Anwar or Raja Petra(closer to his cousins ma) and Uncle LIm for Perak. Can? :)

194. techie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 58.42

isapointed86 Says:
    Today at 03: 53.16 (2 minutes ago)
    eg. kelantan.. is it posible the MB is a chinese? i dont think so ..cheers

I also don’t think so. I just asking since Sarawak majority are Dayaks, why is it possible that a Melanau is the CM?

195. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 59.29

hahaha.. whoever can la
    as long as not BN ….

this is a good lesson for them to learn

nv look down on us and keep on increase stupid price’

196. UzMiNoOnist Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 03: 59.56

Just a wild thought.

AAB will resign as he felt responsible for BN’s massive defeat and Najib will be the next PM. The ‘RAHMAN’ prophecy is coming true as it has for the last 50 years because the first name of all the PM followed the alphabets appear in the word. We had R-Rahman (The first PM), A- Abdul Razak, H- Hussein Onn, M-Mahathir, A-Abdullah Badawi, and N-Najib.

Is it possible that Najib will be the last BN’s PM?

197. citizen Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 00.05

Eventhough BN has got simple majority of over 50%, I hope the oppositions could beat BN’s 2/3 majority.

Anyway, congratulations! I just heard the oppositions is going to control four states:

Penang
    Kedah
    Kelantan
    Selangor

Announcement by Lim Guan Eng that DAP will work with PKR to form Penang goverment was brilliant! The BN always tell people on TV that the oppositions could never work together, now that DAP and PKR can work together, the rakyat will have more confident in the oppositions. Keep it up!

198. techie Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 00.16

Yes, LKS dedicated his life for Malaysia. He should be given a chance.

199. denytwothirds Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 01.40

Today is the day that all of us have been waiting for. This is history in the making. Congrats DAP for taking Penang. 2/3 majority have been denied. Now perhaps Malaysia have a chance.

200. WFH Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 02.06

Congratulations are due from all Malaysians, DAP memners or not.

Be calm, uncork some bottles of wine, and keep celebrations at just that level. Avoid celebrations that will be seen as gloating over the defeated.

Get together with PKR, PAS. Start tomorrow. Make the fonecalls now. Meet immediately.

Your responsibility to Malaysia is now much, much greater than yesterday.

We’ll be behind you.. as long as you remain true to your promises, these promises being also Malaysian expectations. Forget about not having won government – get just your states right. Sometime in the near future, a Parliamentary majority will surely follow.

Fail…. NOT!!!

201. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 03.45

UMNO NEEDS TO BE REFORMED:

THE FOLLOWING PEOPLES ARE LIABILITIES TO UMNO BUT ASSETS TO THE BARISAN ALTERNATIF:

1. HISHAMUDDIN AKA KERISMUDDIN – because of his KERIS
    2. KHAIRY CAMELUDDIN – because of his pride and arrogance
    3. NAJIB TUN RAZAK – because of Razak Baginda
    4. FORMERLY KNOWN AS PAK LAH , NOW KNOWN AS KA LAH – because he likes to build CORRIDURS so that he can TIDUR.
    5. NAZRI – Please watch the YouTube video
    6. TENGKU ADNAN – because of CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT

202. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 03.45

There’s a big difference between being opposition leader, and being a leader of a state. You need someone who has good administrative skills. Who knows the laws and regulations etc.

203. sheriff singh Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 03.51

See what happens when you try to brainwash the people?

The Star? The New Straits Times? The Sun? Utusan? RTM? TV3?

Chandra? Nalla? Wong CW?

The people are not stupid you know. The people is the boss.

204. disapointed86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 03.57

techie Says:

Today at 03: 58.42 (23 seconds ago)
    isapointed86 Says:
    Today at 03: 53.16 (2 minutes ago)
    eg. kelantan.. is it posible the MB is a chinese? i dont think so ..cheers

I also don’t think so. I just asking since Sarawak majority are Dayaks, why is it possible that a Melanau is the CM?

i’ve told u that majority of Dayak in Sarawak live in rural areas and most of them dont really care about politics..for 1 crucial reason that most of them vote for BN cos BN fill in Dayak well known people in their constituency…thats why the CM post is flying away from them…

205. CommonFolk Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 04.34

Lim Kit Siang for MB please..for real.

That’s how we repay this old man who fought for Democracy & Equality for so long, so hard. How much he had done for us in Dewan Rakyat..remember?

° Uncle Lim for MB of Perak °

206. storm Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 04.54

The tsunami we see today is a result of the immense willpower and desire for change by us the man in the street.I am one of them .I feel we owe so much to so many people:
    the rakyat of malaysia who decided enough is enough(thank you)
    those who were not afraid and boldly spoke out, raja petra you the man, bloggers like haris , jeff , and so many more
    the internet the great marvel of this century,
    hindraf , hindraf 5 bersih,
    yes even the msm for their so unceasing pummeling of us all and treating us like some stupid kid
    yes the arrogant umno for being truly sombong and forgetting the basic truth that we the rakyat put you all up and worse of all for treating us like stupid fools.
    to everyone of us who voted for change you should be proud of yourself that you had courage to get up be counted n change.Salute.
    As from today onwards let us all look forward to heal ourselves and work together,We are a wounded nation and so much huart and pain.Lets move forward together, to unite and truly be one nation.
    Hidup malaysia! no fear

207. sadugudu Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 05.51

Congrats,
    This victory comes with responsibility to all Malaysians.
    Be reasonable and look at the mistakes n highhandedness if the bn govt.
    Take all Malaysians into consideration in all that you do. Work closely with PAS, PKP and others.
    Remember all eyes and ears will be on all of you in the BA.

Congrats again.

208. jbozz Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 06.02

Hello all, Uncle Lim fight for us not for any titles like the UMNO leader who award millions of contracts to his own keen & friends, don’t let the UMNO media fool u. These ppl in the opposition don’t fight for money, they are humble leader and has high integrity. I once shake uncle Lim hand when he’s having supper at Penang Jalan tengah after his 1st ceramah the 1st gathering at Penang townhall, I know he can bring change to Penang and it is now realized.

Now it is time for Uncle Lim team to proof to the Rakyat not by word by action. Don’t forget Jeff Ooi, you also did great during the 60K historic Rakyat gathering at Han Chiang.

209. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 06.45

Please please please choose a bunch of guys who will run a clean administration.

I also suggest you call in audit firms to do a thorough audit of what has gone on in the state in the past, and expose it. Then work on the recommendations from the auditors to improve on it. And you need to appoint lawyers to go after the crooks!. That should be a good start.

210. bumi-non-malay Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 07.14

Get Ready People to move as people power to SEAL OFF STATE Government Building. We must stop any UMNO-BN officials from removing documents. Agong and Sultan must start ordering ARMY to protect people and Government from being accessed by Anybody especially UMNO-BN people.

Sabah & Sarawak Must do the Moral Thing and Join Barisan Rakyat for a Better Malaysia…..

Hello Ku Li How many UMNO can you bring Across to Barisan Rakyat………You will be made PM for the opportunity denied to you by UMNO BARU….!!!…Time To LOMPAT!!!

Malaysia at the dawn of a new GOVERNMENT!!!

211. BoycottLocalPapers Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 07.22

RAJA PETRA AS MENTERI BESAR OF SELANGOR IS NOT A BAD IDEA.

212. jason86 Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 07.48

hey everyone

actually whoever be MB is not important rites… the main important pooint here is that person can bring alove to perak. and no more dead town…

the person should be able to bring development to the state and he able to reduce the poor rates. and SAY NO TO CORRUPTION….

NO RASUAH is the main point

213. lakshy Says:
    March 9th, 2008 at 04: 09.24

Lets show the other states that we mean business. Start with the auditor generals reports for the past few years and go after the Directors who have not done anything. Give them a 2 week grace period to reply or get moved/demoted if no action has been taken.

Shape up teh administrative service. Lets go!

And by the way, will DAP/PKR/PAS re-start local government elections?

214. BoycottLocalPapers Says