BY Azly Rahman
During presidential elections in the United States, it has become customary for the main candidates (almost always the candidates of the two main parties, currently the Democratic Party and the Republican Party) to engage in a debate. The topics discussed in the debate are often the most controversial issues of the time, and some have said that elections can be won or lost based on these debates…. Presidential debates are held late in the election cycle, after the political parties have nominated their candidates. The candidates meet in a large hall, often at a university, before an audience of citizens. The formats of the debates have varied, with questions sometimes posed from one or more journalist moderators and in other cases members of the audience – from Wikipedia
Malaysia’s government has rejected an Islamic opposition party’s challenge to hold an American-style public debate between their leaders ahead of the March 8 general election, news reports said on Sunday. PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang recently dared Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to hold a televised debate similar to those held by US presidential candidates…But the Sunday Star newspaper quoted Trade Minister Rafidah Aziz as saying there was no place for such debates in Malaysia.. “We don’t follow the American system in our country. We (the country’s leaders) should be debating with villagers or town folks concerning local issues affecting them,” she said in the report. – from Malaysia Today, March 1, 2008
What is the problem of having televised debates? I do not see any. The politicians for the ruling party and the aspiring parties are intelligent enough to hold debates for the benefit of the people who are also getting more intelligent. We have been independent for 50 years. We are no longer colonised by the British “bloodsuckers” who wanted us to become merely tools of their Empire. We cannot say that we are still not ready.
Our politicians are mainly university graduates; some form Oxford, Cambridge, some form Harvard and Columbia, some from Monash and Australian National University, some from top universities in Asia such as University of Malaya. There is no reason why they cannot show the public that they can debate on critical issues facing the nation.
We are having an elections at the time when America is having hers too. We should take this opportunity to emulate what is good from the world’s most advanced liberal democracy. We must learn how they debate on election issues. It will be an exciting and education moment not only for the candidates but also for the nation.
Sensitive issues
I think the politicians and the people they want votes form are ready to listen to the pros and cons of arguments on the elections, I think we are even ready to talk about sensitive issues – on rights and responsibilities as citizens. Those who say we are not ready to debate are the ones not ready to debate. They are imposing their fear and ignorance on others.
In debates, not just charisma will be a plus, but wit, intelligence, and good arguments that appeal to the audience count as well. Candidates will be given the chance to be scrutinized on all these qualities. My view is that if a candidate is ready to be nominated, he/she is ready to make a stand on issues and articulate them to the constituents. Only then we will know how to differentiate between street politicians and budding statesmen.
In a debate, it is the appeal to reason, more than to emotions that will ultimately count. The outcome is how these candidates will best present the assets and liabilities of taking this or that stand.
Role of universities
I see Malaysian universities playing a role in hosting these debates. This will be a new dawn of world-classism as a standard to be achieved. I’d like to see all universities enriching the minds of the students with the “blue ocean” strategy of hosting events that will celebrate diverse political points of view.
Every day before voting day can be a time when each candidate for parliament and state seats be given the platform to debate on issues. It would be good to listen to candidates of Umno debating with those of PAS, DAP, PKR or even with an independent. We can then teach our children what it takes to be a Malaysian politician.
As an educator I have had the chance to train and groom debators. A number of them went on to Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Columbia, Cambridge, Wharton School of Business, College de France and many top American and British universities. These are kampong kids trained in the rigour of public debates. They acquire the skills of argumentation through debates.
Political debates event should be made open to the public. Schoolchildren, government servants, businessmen and women, homemakers/housewives and househusbands can all come and be educated of the issues before they cast their votes. There is no need to give them money, kain pelikat, kain batik, sacks of rice, Gucci and Coach handbags, vacation trips, or even huge contracts to make them vote – all will be about respecting the mind of the voters by turning them into intelligent voters who use rational arguments to make rational choices.
Create debating culture
We need to broadcast, telecast, simulcast, and podcast these debates not only for Malaysians to see but for the world to enjoy as well. If we can send a man into space and groom our Mat Rempits to compete internationally or send them bungee-jumping or skydiving in the North Pole, we should be able to set up political debates.
Debates before election should become our culture. We have debating clubs in schools and in universities. We hear people debate on the streets, in warongs and coffee shops. We must elevate debates beyond these premises.
I see that we will evolve into an intelligent society if we encourage public debates before the nation votes. We will become Athenians. We may even produce our own Ciceros and Sukarnoes or even Barack Obamas. We must debate all sensitive issues and desensitize the nation into making intelligent choices at every election.
I suggest our universities host these televised and broadcast debates and show the public that our higher education institutions are not only world-class champions of diversity but also use the ‘blue ocean’ strategy to celebrate radical thinking in universities.
“Just do it”, as a Nike slogan goes.

#1 by k1980 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:52 pm
MCA’s main role these days is mainly to ‘turun padang’ and explain to the Chinese why being threatened by UMNO leaders with keris is OK; how Malaysia never having been a secular state doesn’t threaten their freedom of religion – even as the corpses of their dead fathers are abducted by the religious department; how the NEP actually benefits the Chinese by helping them avoid being driven into the sea by the UMNOputras
http://sean-the-man.blogspot.com/2008/03/mca-i-not-free-fuck-you.html
#2 by cemerlang on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:57 pm
I agree to have debates between all the political parties. That way Malaysians will know who knows best and who knows nothing, who works and who do not. Before the debate, there should be some ground rules. Example there should be restraint at all times including restraint from the supporters in public areas. If Malaysia says she wants to be industralized, then she should be opened and follow the steps of the other open societies in the world. There should be a desensitization of the racial and religious issues. As long as we do not talk about it, we shall always remain sensitive. But if we are courageous and confront the issues in a manner that would not spark violence, slowly but surely we will learn to talk about those subjects in a more open manner. We cannot avoid the racial and religious issues because they are woven into the Malaysian society. Malaysia is now 50 years old but she is still immature minded.
#3 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:42 pm
“Have you all thought about why useless people are Government ministers and supposedly cleverer people in opposition? Just a thought.” limkaput
The clever people are in neither because they are too busy making money for themselves to bother. You are not one of them. So don’t try to be too clever by half!
#4 by arctanck on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:44 pm
@r-ptr
Unfortunately most people are interested in issues that really do affect them, like petrol prices, than corruptions. When there is enough food on the plate then you can talk about politics. You want people to be concerned about where the oil money from Malaysia has gone. To be honest in an ideal case I’d like peole to use less petrol as possible, so I’d not disagree too much about raising petrol prices. But transparency is needed to show where the extra proceeds has gone.
#5 by alphoti on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:37 pm
Elections Debates, YES, JUST DO IT!
We all know the advantages of such debates but it will be just our wishful thinking for many years to come…..UNLESS opposition won & become government.
While I do not see any problem for most of us, I do see BIG problem for BN candidates. Just to add to what has been said by other friends above, ‘It is easy to tell lies & walk away, but it is not so when there is someone probing on the lies & you have to cover the lies with more lies’
I can imagine the debate like a circus, with all our ministers as clown.
#6 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:45 pm
Kickyourbutt,
Have you heard of this story? Two men went haunting and they encountered a big bear. The first man took out his heavy boots and started to run. The second man told him, what for, the bear would still out run you. The first said, no, I am not trying to out run the bear. I am trying to out run you. See, I am the first man, and you are the pathetic second man. That is sufficient for me. I don’t have to be the cleverest. I just have to be cleverer than you.
Are you implying that those in oppositions are not clever? That was what you said, clever people only in business and making money. Are you trying to insult people like Sdr Lim, Anwar, and LGE. See thinking process again.
#7 by Come2Papa on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:48 pm
“Election debates – just do it” ???
Having a BN Minister answering questions on TV is like reading how limkamput handles so-called ‘debates’ on the issues in this blog!
#8 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:05 pm
come2papi, you are just jealous so many are supporting me. As for you, you are supporting yourself, using different IDs of course. You are such a pathetic perverted dog even trying to make a pass on Jong and Jenny in a political blog. Celaka betul.
#9 by alaneth on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:37 pm
I came back from DAP N52 Senai – Ong Kow Meng ceramah & also attended various ceramahs…. why can’t our DAP guys talk with more confident???
Same like Badawi’s slow gentle talk just like old Mc.Cain. But DAP’s Dr.Boo Cheng Hau (N48 Skudai) is very good. Sounds like Anwar, Hillary & Obama – with all the aire of confidence.
#10 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:59 pm
BN leaders cannot justify what they have been doing,so how can they debate with the opposition leaders?
If BN leaders are ‘anak jantan’ just take up the challenges to debate on various policy issues instead of resorting to personal attacks.
#11 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 3:10 am
limkamput,
You’re welcome to trash (not ‘thrash’) the blog. Keep talking trash. Any other blog you’d find yourself in the dumpster!
#12 by Evenmind on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:08 am
Folks, this is one of the many mails I received past one week. Please keep forwarding if you share the same inspiration.
Vote the opposition doesn’t mean we are anti-government or we do not love this country!
Because: We love this country, we NEED to stand up and ensure this country not to be run by these hypocrites and weak government FREELY with unlimited resources!
Recently, MCA keep on saying , “Again, we managed to “fight” for another xx millions for xx Chinese schools ”
SILLY!! What do they mean by “fight”? Don’t you think it should be their jobs???
Why “fight”? Isn’t it should be their duty!!
Do the Malays need to fight for their mosques and schools??
Don’t you think they are just like dogs around the master’s table barking till their throats drop.. then they will get a bone tagged with a pcs of skin .
And they “shout” to the whole world . They managed to “fight” for something ..!!! Pathetic! It is a disgrace to the Chinese community.
Answer is :- they are too weak in BN!! They have to beg and fight..!!
Voting for BN means voting for Umno!
MCA and Gerakan are just their “running dogs”..they throw some bones out..so that these dogs can share the “good”news..!
Yes, Shouldn’t blame the Malays ..!!
We, Chinese and Indians are to be blamed as we “willingly” :-
- surrender our rights to them
- surrender our children’s education’s opportunities to them
- surrender our dignities to them (even they have asked us to leave Malaysia for hundred times, still our MCA ppl keep quiet like dogs..)
- surrender our 30% shares and much more with the NEP…for so many years..
- surrender our future in this country….
What do we care?
Tomorrow still can eat pork or not? Can “yam seng” or not?
Is that what we care only?
What make us feel that if the BN can’t get the 2/3, then we don’t have pork to eat?
WHO always “remind” us that if BN can’t get 2/3, there will be May13?
You still want to be threaten??
Still remember that I read an article from PAS:-
UMNO, please don’t threaten our Chinese friends again with the oldtricks :- MAY13 issue.
Listen, before you touch our Chinese friends, you have to walk pass our dead body 1st…
We won’t let you harm them!!
I’m touched!. I believe our poor Malay friends have seen the TRUE UGLY face from their leaders!!
They know well ..30% or even 90% shares given to BUMI won’t benefit them at all…. except those in UMNOs .
A lot of them have woke up, are you still asleep!??
Can you still don’t bother???
WAKE UP!!!!!
Me too, love this country do u??
#13 by Evenmind on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:21 am
Talking abt debates, BN will not do it, cos they know they will become butt of jokes, unless they do it in Bahasa, cos thier english is simply atrocious.,
Just saw the RIz Khan programme on Al Jaazeerah, Buduhwhi, was a disgrace , he even showed his anger when someone asked him abt his son in law in the future cabinet., this is Malaysia , where MORONS and corrupt people are elected as our leaders, well only we can make the difference, vote these parasites out cos they are also draining our nation’s coffers , always using racial issues as a smokescreen to carry out thier looting.
#14 by Jimm on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 9:04 am
AAB have rises a racism statement to Penang people especially Chinese in The Star about MCA/Gerakan needed in Parliament in order to have Chinese welfare to be heard.
Indirectly, he is telling Chinese that he will not be a fair PM if there are no Chinese (his preferred group) representing Chinese in Parliament.
Is this the kind of leader we are voting to lead this country?
We will not give up in believing and striving for Malaysian Malaysia.
There will be no more racism issue or status concern as all Malaysian believe in unity.
#15 by k1980 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 9:25 am
Opposition parties have long complained of “phantom” voters – dead people who have never been struck from the election rolls.
The election commission claims that 8,666 registered voters on the election rolls are more than 100 years old, including two people who are 128, which seems unlikely in a country where life expectancy is 72.
http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/03/06/asia/malay.php
#16 by k1980 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 9:38 am
Abdullah today denied claims that he snoozed through important meetings.”We are not asleep, for we are working,” Abdullah was quoted as saying by the national news agency, Bernama.
So bosses, when your workers snooze off at work, don’t sack ‘em, ‘cos they’re working, like the PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/mar/03/malaysia
#17 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:56 am
“I hope the present opposition when taken control of the government someday will institute change …. I pray to God that the opposition will NOT do the same to this nation.” Lebai Kamal bin Put
For someone who speaks so vociferously for the opposition to the extent that he is prepared to trash the blog, this last statement shows the true worth of the man!
What do they say about empty vessels making the most noise?
#18 by AhPek on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:08 am
Bugger me if I know why loving the country has to do with loving your government.Loving one’s country has no connection whatsoever as to whether you love your government or hate your government
In fact in Malaysia’s case HATING YOUR GOVERNMENT SIMPLY MEANS LOVING YOUR COUNTRY.
WHY? UMNOPUTRA the government is raping this country silly and if we love this country,just throw them out tomorrow!
#19 by AhPek on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:24 am
Correction to first line. ‘Bugger me if I know, why to some section of Malaysians, loving your country has to do with loving your government.’
#20 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:50 am
kickbutt Says:What do they say about empty vessels making the most noise?
Looking for a one liner empty vessel and a pervert? Look no further, he is here – the name is kickbutt but may quickly change into come2papi, blackeye, darkhorse, ladygorilla etc. He is the epitome of personality disorder – finding faults, talking to himself, ridiculing others for no reason, and worst of all a pervert and a coward trying to talk sexy with Jong and Jenny in this blog. The moderator has deleted the whole posting of this pervert trying to talk sexy with Jenny. Celaka.
#21 by k1980 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:31 pm
Pics from Han Chiang ceramah
http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/9-pm-latest-penang-rally-going-on-nowdraws-30000-.html