IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force on seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate in Labis to demonstrate police respect for women dignity and rights

(Media Conference Statement (2) by DAP Ipoh Timor parliamentary candidate Lim Kit Siang at Ipoh Timor Ops Centre on Wednesday, 5th March 2008)

IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force on seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate in Labis to demonstrate police respect for women dignity and rights.

The Johore police called an unprecedented 1.30 am press conference in Johore Baru yesterday morning to give their version of the scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm during my 24-hour four-state 11-stop election whistlestop tour.

This is a reflection of the power of the internet for immediately after the scuffle in Labis at about 3 pm, the Internet was abuzz with reports of a police officer in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP parliamentary candidate which resulting in her being hospitalized, creating concerns about the health and welfare of both the mother and the unborn child.

In the 1.30 am press conference, Johore police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Mohd Sharif denied that a police officer had used force against a pregnant woman DAP parliamentary candidate.

Mokhtar denied that the police officer had pushed anybody let alone take away by force the microphone Teo was using to say “thank you” to several hundreds of supporters who had turned up to welcome my visit.

Nobody alleged that the Segamat OCPD “pushed” Teo, but what is undeniable is that Abdul Majid was involved in a scuffle with the seven-month pregnant candidate when he tried to snatch her mike – as illustrated the photographs (below) and video tape on Youtube .

Mokhtar’s claim that it was Teo who did the pushing is both preposterous and outrageous, as borne out by the photographs and video clip.

I had gone up to Abdul Majid to urge him to refrain from continuing the scuffle with Teo in trying to snatch away the mike.

I find it most regrettable that the Police had given a selective and dishonest account of what happened, hiding photographs from the media which would have told the country the whole truth.

It is most shameful,for a police officer to use force on the seven-month pregnant DAP woman parliamentary candidate when all she wanted was to say a few words of thanks to the public who had gathered to meet me.

The Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan should suspend Abdul Majid as Segamat OCPD to demonstrate police respect for woman dignity and rights instead of siding with him in his deplorable conduct r using force in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP woman candidate.

If the police are not prepared to do justice in the Labis seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate case, then all Malaysians should use their vote on March 8, which is also the International Women’s Day, to express their condemnation of the police officer’s scuffle and using force on Teo on Monday.

scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm
Print Friendly

1. #1 by showsomemercy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:18 pm

Aiyoh, cheat to win now use force on a pregnant lady. Shame on those scum bags. Main kotor lagi bn!

2. #2 by go4dap on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:20 pm

Now they cannot win the people heart. Majority on opposition side. So have to by force one lar. Pregnant lady also don’t want let go ahh.. What a shame on police force!

3. #3 by budak on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:30 pm

BN/UMNO have no other resolution to reduce the voices of the RAKYAT… MAKKAL SAKTHI… :-)

I personally urge the Rakyat of Labis to vote for DAP candidate for Teo Eng Ching and her unborn child’s to Parliament… We need your vote to rewrite the Malaysian history… and for the sake of our children, please vote BN out…

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:36 pm

The big question in my mind is: What business has this police got to do on the stage?. She has every right to welcome YB Kit and moreover she is the DAP Candidate. What had she spoken to make the police want to snatch the microphone from her?

Did she speak about anything unlawful to warrant the police to act this way? If she did, she cannot run away. The police can get her anytime but why act in this manner.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

5. #5 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:47 pm

will there be blood or plenty of shits ?

6. #6 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:48 pm

The image of the police in Malaysia has long been tarnished by corruption,incompetence,inefficiency,and lots of other negative characteristics and you name it and they have it.The OCPD in question is a good for nothing bum.He practises discrimination against only the opposition.It is totally abhorrent to have another scum like this in the force.In order to cleanse the stinking police force,use your vote to whack BN out.

7. #7 by sean on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:51 pm

condemn the police acts….that show they are running dogs for BN
    side track a bit here…
    Anyone knows where Nurrul Izzah speaks tonight?

8. #8 by Godson on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:54 pm

What the hell is that police a$$ doing up there? He knows mandarine or not or maybe he is just thinking that she say something bad about him. Hey Tidurwi, what the hell are you doing? If you dont understand mandarine please ask some a$$ in your BN MCA to help you lah. Why are you such an a$$? Tidurwi what are you trying to show to the world? Why are you such an a$$? Are you sleeping?

GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.
    GOD BLESS DAP.

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:02 pm

After the elections I suggest the DAP should sue the police for interfering with the election campaign.

Most unprofessional behaviour by the OCPD.

10. #10 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:03 pm

Is this polis try to show “ketuanan polis”, thought this is election time, everyone can “talk a bit more”, this polis act is really despicable!
    Why should polis snatch a harmless mike from a pregnant lady. Would any 7 month pregnant lady want to push polis? (even if this is true, polis , being strong male should just walk away, and not involved in a scuffle with a pregnant lady, BETUL, BETUL KURANG AJAR!)What rubbish is the polis version of the incident!
    Everyone should CONDEMN this KURANG AJAR polis!

11. #11 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:07 pm

nation wide got mega posters showing pm inspecting a police line, what a smug image

12. #12 by burn on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:12 pm

polis berat sebelah!
    and pity, he’s brainless, moreover an OCPD!!!
    anyway, my mom in-law is goin back to segamat. her siss recently call her to comeback to vote. her family parent was once BN strongman in segamat, but now, everything change. all her families and relatives is voting for DAP!

hidup rakyat! hidup DAP!!!

13. #13 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:13 pm

Bolehland Police
    . n.[treated as pl.] a disgracing unit used by UMNO as political tool to intimidate political opponents.

14. #14 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:16 pm

Well LKS can raise this in bnext parliament sitting but then be prepared to hear their standard reply ” Not urgent” by the speaker and ‘tadak suka – keluar” ( Is he still contesting? ) ;)

15. #15 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:19 pm

enough of fear politics, we need politics of hope. change we can believe in

16. #16 by cmbss on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:24 pm

See u 8 March 2008!!!!

17. #17 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:27 pm

what say the minister of women affair ?

18. #18 by blueblue2626 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:37 pm

BN Goverment is Low Quality……!

19. #19 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:40 pm

This is just another example how

DEMOCRACY IN MALAYSIA IS BEING ADULTERATED BY BARISAN NASIONAL.

OTHERS ARE:

1. UNFAIR MEDIA COVERAGE -MAINSTREAM MEDIA BEING USED BY BARISAN TO CHANNEL THEIR PROPAGANDA, PORTRAYING THEIR OPPONENT NEGATIVELY . BLACK-OUT ALL NEGATIVE (BUT IS THE TRUTH) ISSUE RELATED TO BARISAN NASIONAL.

2. EXERCISE UNDUE INFLUENCES ON BUSINESS COMMUNITY TO HAVE THEM SHOW THEIR SUPPORT TO THE BARISAN. IN 2006 SARAWAK STATE ASSEMBLY ELECTION, ANWAR IBRAHIM CAME TO MIRI TO CAMPAIGN FOR PKR CANDIDATE. The PKR candidate at that time booked MEGA HOTEL (a 4-star) hotel in Miri. However, when ANWAR IBRAHIM arrived and the hotel learned that the BOOKING was actually for ANWAR IBRAHIM, it was told that the hotel management do not want ANWAR IBRAHIM to stay in the hotel. THAT NIGHT ANWAR IBRAHIM HAVE TO STAY IN THE PKR CANDIDATE- DR TEO’S HOUSE …hotel do that with the fear that the government might blacklist them and not awarding future contract to them…….IT IS INDEED AN ADULTERATION TO DEMOCRACY!!

3.BARISAN NASIONAL CANDIDATES WITH THE INFLUENCE GET THE COMMUNITY LEADERS, ORGANISATION LEADERS TO DELARE THEIR SUPPORT TO BARISAN NASIONAL – AND PUBLISHED IN THE NEWSPAPER. On the contrary, dissatisfactions voiced out by the villagers would never be published to protect nice image of barisan nasional . VOTES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE SECRET, PERSONAL OPTION -WHEN A COMMUNITY LEADER OPENLY VOICED THEIR STAND OF SUPPORT ONE PARTY AND AND THE SAME TIME PORTRAY THE OTHER PARTY NEGATIVELY WITHOUT STRONG BASIS, IS THE VOTE STILL SECRET? IS THE INDIVIDUAL IN THE COMMUNITY STILL EXERCISE THEIR FREEDOM OF CHOICE – OR THEY ARE OBLIGED TO FOLLOW THE LEADER? In this is done in IRAQ or pakistan, or even TIMOR LESTE, the person who openly declare his stand, could have been shot by the agitated other party. But Malaysia is the land where people are peace-loving….. however, the true democracy should not be adultered by the people in power.

20. #20 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:53 pm

Once again it proves beyond a shadow of doubt that the Royal Police force of Malaysia is not serving our Agong to take care of his subjects (the citizens).
    Its no longer a Royal Police force, its BN coalition’s private police force.
    This must be changed!

I am only amazed & perplexed our Agong is taking all these sitting down!!!

21. #21 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

“Seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching”

There’s only one word “respect”! She’s tough!

22. #22 by StevenT on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

This is what i called an opportunity of a lifetime to get majority of the chinese votes who prefer not to interfere with governance and therefore voted for BN. Publicize this video rapidly and spread the word around. 3 days more before the election and this video will be crucial in securing the Chinese votes. Publicize this in Penang, show it during the Han Chiang ceramah and make that the finale to emphasize why it is important to have a change in governance. If it’s well done, it will be all over the news on Friday.

23. #23 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:04 pm

Lets keep all the recordings, and after election it will be replayed whenever opportunity allows. Post it to you-tube, convert to short clip and send it to your friends.

24. #24 by voteforDAP on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

THIS IS STUPID! DOES THIS HAPPENED ONLY FOR THE OPPOSITION? WHY OPPOSITION? THE BN CROONIES GETTING THE COPS TO GET INVOLVED SO THAT THEY COULD SPOILT THE PARTY’S CERAMAH?

BN, sorry to say… u people are goin too far!

25. #25 by voteforDAP on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:12 pm

DAP, do not worry, so far, you have 30 votes from my side. Those are real people and not phantom voters. May BN loose this time!

26. #26 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:16 pm

The Police supposed to be impartial in carrying out their duty… but this incident implied that they are serving ‘certain party’. no impartiality…

In altantunya’s case two police officers who served as bodyguards of the prime minister ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI were the the suspects in the Mongolian Altantunya murder. The other Suspect was the Barisan Nasional political analyst and strategist -who were close to the two top Barisan ‘s government leaders… C4(believed to be from military source) explosives were used to blow the mongolian woman, and the woman’s entry to Malaysia was erased from IMMIGRATION department of Malaysia….The case has yet to be closed… maybe it would remain a mystery…. MALAYSIAN X-FILES……

many question marks…..

# who authorized the deletion of immigration records?

#that the bodyguards of Prime minister involved unnecessarily in that nasty case?

# Who authorized the use of C4?

mystery…..mystery….mystery…..

27. #27 by Democrats on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:19 pm

“I think everyone here misintepret the video. Abdul Majid very considerate policeman….sedia membantu. He worry the mike too heavy for a pregnant woman to carry. Wanted to help her.”

Johor Police Chief should have used that angle…. At least we have something to laugh at.

28. #28 by AnakSabah on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:33 pm

As the old saying goes “action speaks louder than word”. What on earth is that “damed” police doing? Who he thinks he is? Its time, its time to make a change for the betterments. Its time to change the 2/3 majority in favour to the Oppositions!

Need we say more than this “action speaks louder than words”?

29. #29 by taikohtai on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:34 pm

Lucky people of Labis,

One vote and you can send two people (Dr Teo and her unborn child)
    into Parliament! Now, that’s a world record Malaysia has got to have and be proud of it.

3 Cheers from Brisbane!

30. #30 by showsomemercy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 8:00 pm

I am doing my best already. My house here already got 4 DAP already. I am telling my friends all to vote DAP also. I even asked my uncle and aunties to vote Tony Pua for PJU. No Matter what, just vote opposition for a better Malaysia! :)

31. #31 by IsaMrofer on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 8:36 pm

Bodoh punya Polis. If you wanted to stop the speech just unplug the mic lah..Why go and harrast a pregnant lady.

32. #32 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:00 pm

There are other more effective ways to stop somebody from speaking. Why wrestle with a woman for control of the mike?? Or doesn’t he know??

Time to kick butt fellas!

33. #33 by politicalopinions on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:04 pm

http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftar.asp

Go to this website and check

T719756

The top is citizen IC and the bottom is army IC. Both belong to the same person.

One vote in Penang and the other in Kelantan. No wonder BN is so confident they will surely take back Kelantan.

34. #34 by concerned_citizen on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:08 pm

This is what I call democratic country. The police that practice BN-way. Don’t be agree with them. They are trained to act like this, the are pathetic.

35. #35 by alaneth on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

There’s nothing we can do – see all the scandals back from Anwar’s time all the while….. just name it. Many cases have been swept under the carpet.

But nothing can be done – perhaps we need a Royal Commission to resolve all these problems.

36. #36 by PSM on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

Wow! Another example of our “Macho” Police! Remember how our police force were scared of the Mat Rempits?
    They can only shoot Water Cannons & Tear Gas at Women & Children. They “bully” Pregnant Women! Did you guys see how he walked up to her & grabbed the mike? Wow! he must be very proud of his bravery!
    I bet this guy gets a promotion after the GE!
    This is on YouTube. The world can now get to see how our Macho Police Force behaves!

37. #37 by dylsee on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

What politicalopinions has pointed out about an single person having two electorate is true. I have checked it out and found the same person’s name, one under army in Penang, and another IC in Kelantan. Try it out and see how the phantom voter. There may be also many other such cases.

38. #38 by PSM on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:26 pm

Oh by the way, I suggest our Police change their name from PDRM to PDBN (Polis Di-Barisan National) since they don’t work for King & Country, they work for BN!

39. #39 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:38 pm

DISGUSTING & DAMN FOOL is the word for the OCPD. you r supposed to protect the people but u chose to protect the BN. You bully a 7 mths pregnant woman and you shall pay for it by way of CSL’s son losing the seat of Labis.
    Calling all women folk of Labis….show your courage and bravery…vote for Teo and her baby in her tummy and we shall have a happy ending and show who is the bravest of them all….the OCPD (bully) or the people of Labis & whole of Malaysia.
    All other Malaysians who have families, relatives or friends who are voting in Labis, please call on them to stand up to such uncivilized butchery….. VOTE for DAP & TEO….TQ

40. #40 by all ready on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:48 pm

No wonder that most of the rakyat do not have confidence and trust in the Malaysia Police Force anymore UNDER THE GOVERNANCE OF THE BN, and that a pregnant lady candidate was not spared either.

By way of the photos, one can deduce really ” BERAT SEBELAH ” by that OCPD rather than the standing instruction to maintain and control or ensure no chaos during cerrmah .

DID HE ACT ON HIS OWN ACCORD OR ON THE STANDING INSTRUCTION OF THE POLICE FORCE?

G O D O N L Y K N O W S !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SUCH UNCALLED FOR INCIDENT WILL DEFINITELY FRIGHTEN VOTERS AND PROMPT THEM TO VOTE THE OPPOSITION MORE SO AS TO ENSURE SUCH PHENOMENON WILL NOT BE REPEATED.

TO ALL VOTERS OF MALAYSIA OUT THERE, LET US UNITE TOGETHER TO VOTE THE ROCKET OR ANY OPPOSITIONS. LIKE THE DAP SAYS, ” ENOUGH IS REALLY, DEFINITELY, TOTALLY , TERMINOLOGICALLY AND FINALLY ENOUGH “

41. #41 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

If only the police know how much they are despised by the rakyat. [deleted]
    May I ask why the police send truck loads of police personnel to opposition ceramahs?
    Why should the OCPD refuse to give permit for the 2 ceramah in Segamat?
    Why can’t the stupid OCPD just give her 5 minutes to speak some word of thanks? Is it that necessary to snatch the phone?
    I can tell you the woman folks are angry with the police. In fact everybody hate them. They are just like legalised bandits and thugs.

42. #42 by Dan on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

Would like to discuss about the Motorola issue and canditate of chief minister in penang, anyone ?

43. #43 by bolehlandor on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

Those shameless inhuman @#$% are desperately despicable & behaving worse than wild animals. Cannot refer to them as guardians of the laws; more like thugs of the worst kind!!

Such is the BN ilk that all their members & supporters are akin to vampires sucking the country dry & at the same time oppressing innocent rakyat for their ill-gotten evil profits at the expense of the country. These @#$% will sell their mothers & wives for a few rinngits. Utterly shameless…….

44. #44 by mickeymouse on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:22 pm

[deleted] even dogs would not do something which is wrong. they r employed by BN to do their dirty work. BN is scared of the truth which is told by the opposition. that’s why they don’t give permits to opposition. They still think that we, the rakyat are stupid and they can continue to fool us. HEY! we don’t live in the medival times alright! we know all ur lies and dirty tricks.

BN is getting very desperate for votes till they have to resort to putting up fake lying advertisements in the papers and billboards(MCA,MIC)esp. now the cancel the use of indelible ink. why? to buy more votes just to cover their position in case of loss. and the money spent for the ink? its in Bodowi’s pocket.

in tourism dept, many LCD tv worth 9000 is purchased for 50000 and hardly being used. the difference in price? –>in the minister’s pocket

how about 15billion going to be spent on cloning a tortoise?? what a idiotic thing to do.. please lah.. we’re not that advanced yet. why waste the money on something u don’t know. Go and help the poor lah.. even a small kid can tell u that.

BN has to bribe us with free makan, free shirt, cap, bla bla bla to attend their talk. our tax money. whereas during opposition talk, ppl come voluntarily even though place not so comfy, no food. BN treats us like kids, bribing us with food and stuff.

VOTE OPPOSITION AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE!!!
    50 YEARS OF BN REGIME IS MORE THAN ENOUGH!
    WE LOVE PKR,DAP,PAS,PSM BUT NOT BN!!!

45. #45 by choong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:28 pm

pathetic… this shows the police only know how to live in denial, hallmark of what is wrong with country’s administrators…. time to kick BN out…for good….

46. #46 by OldManoftheSea on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:34 pm

No wonder the confidence in the Police is eroding. This is too much, I am sending this news by emails to all my friends to see.
    See for themselves how the Police bully a pregnant lady.

47. #47 by smartee on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:56 pm

Regarding Case of 750909035727 / T719756

“The first is a citizen IC and the next is his army IC. Both belong to the same person. He can vote in Penang and then drive to vote in Kelantan. “

I feel info such as these should be kept secret for the BA Top Leadership and not let out on the web.
    With Video cameras ready in both election centres, we can then record a movie of the man turning up at both centres, Then, if BN wins, we can declare the election null and void , producing the proofs…. :-)

48. #48 by Godson on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:09 pm

Driving home one nite, saw something lying motionless by the roadside. Wondering what is it……..looks like a policeman but also looks like a dog. If its an injured dog, i will send it to the vet but if its a policeman……..mmmmm…..what shoud i do?????? Reminds me of a story by M.Bakri Musa “The tale of the Rattlesnake”.

WASTE NO TIME, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE………………….

GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.
    GOD BLESS DAP.

49. #49 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:25 pm

What do you expect from this OCPD?? He probably abuses his wife, a home maker for asking money from him!

50. #50 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:29 pm

Malaysians denied fair vote: Human Rights Watch
    http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080305/afp/080305060904int.html

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.