LKS GE Campaign Programme

Friday 7/3/08

(1) Ceramah in Kampar (8pm)
Venue: DAP Kampar Centre
(Contact: 016-5960131)

(2) Ceramah in Buntong (9.30pm)
Venue: Along Jalan Sg Pari (Near roundabout)
(Contact: Suguna 016 5621986)

(3) Ceramah in Ipoh Timur Operation Centre, Ipoh (11pm)
(Contact: 05- 2533096)

Earlier Programme:

Friday 29/2/08

(1) Ceramah in Kampar (8pm)

(2) Ceramah in Teluk Intan (9.20pm)

(3) Ceramah in Ipoh Chin Woo Hall (11.30pm)

Saturday 1/3/08

1. Kota Kinabalu lunchtime ceramah (11.30 am – 1 pm)
Venue: Gaya Seafood Restaurant, Inanam
(contact Dr. Hiew 019 – 8809987)

2. Ceramah at night at Sandakan
Venue: Yuan Secondary School Hall, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan
(contact Chelvam 0122470892)

Sunday, 2/3/08

1. Tawau breakfast ceramah (6 am – 8 am),
Venue: (i) 6 am – Pasar Tamu, Jalan Apas/Jalan Kuhara (ii) 7.30 – Sin Onn Market, Jalan Sin Onn, Tawau
(Contact Jimmy 016 -8260108)

2 Ceramah at Bidor, Perak (8 pm)
Venue: Simpang Empat, Kg Baru, Bidor
(Contact Ramani 012-2782062)

3. Ceramah at Buntong, Ipoh (9.30pm)
Venue: Teluk Kurin, Padang Buntong, Ipoh
(Contact Suguna 016-5621986)

4.Ceramah at Ipoh Timur (11pm)
Venue: IT Elections Ops Centre, Jalan Kampar
(Contact: 05-2533096)

Monday 3/3/08

(1) Whistlestop visits to Johor:

1. 9.30am – 10.00am Senai (019 7122412)
2. 10.30am – 11.15pm Skudai (012 7205909)
3. 11.45am – 12.15pm Stulang (012 7778796)
4. 1.30pm – 2.00pm Yong Peng (012 7687758)
4. 2pm – 2.45pm Labis (012 7371058)
5. 4.00pm – 4.30pm Jementah (019 7251183)
6. 5.30pm – 6.00pm Bentayan (019 6568282)

(2) Ceramah in Kota Malacca 8 pm
Venue: DAP Melaka hq, 5 Jalan PM 1/1, Taman Pandan Mawar People’s Hall
(Contact: 06-3369354)

(3) Ceramah in Rasah 9.30 pm
Venue: Ming Kok Restaurant Car park, Era Walk, Seremban
(Contact Lee 019 6606947)

(4) Ceramah in Subang Jaya 11 pm
Venue: USJ 12/2 , 12/2F, 12/2E Padang
(Contact: 012 618 7643)

Tuesday 4/3/08

(1) Ceramah in Batu Gajah (8pm)
Venue: Batu Gajah Town Mei Seek Fong Coffee Shop (main road)

(2) Ceramah in Tebing Tinggi (9pm)
Venue: Wah San Coffee Shop, Jalan Bendahara, Ipoh
(Contact: Henry 016 4226762)

(3) Ceramah in Ipoh Barat (10pm)
Venue: Sze Chuan Restaurant, 30 Jln Kamarudin Isa, Fair Park, Ipoh
(Contact: Suguna 016 5621986)

(4) Ceramah in Kampung Simee (11pm)
Venue: DAP Kg Simee Centre (near market)
(Contact: 05-3233054)

Wednesday 5/3/08

NEW(1) Ceramah in Taman Connought, Taman Tun Razak (6.30pm)
Venue: Pasar Malam, Padang Taman Connought
(Contact: Azman 012 6633265)

(2) Ceramah in Teratai (8pm)
Venue: Cheras Indah Padang (opposite EON Bank & Tmn Maju Jaya)
(Contact 03-42951267)

(3) Ceramah in Bukit Bintang (9pm)
Venue: Hang Tuah Flat, KL
(Contact 03-2142 5835)

(4) Ceramah in Puchong (10pm)
Venue: Tanah Lapang, Jalan Helang 13, Bandar Puchong Jaya (opposite 7/11)
(Contact: 03-79836768)

(5) Ceramah in Klang (11pm)
Venue: Hin Hua school, Port Klang. (next to La Salle)
(Contact: 016 626 7797)

Thursday 6/3/08

(1) Luncheon Talk in Teluk Intan (2pm)
Venue: SRJK San Min, Teluk Intan
(Contact: 012 5088681)

(2) Penang Programmes
8pm – Taman Indrawasih, Perai
9pm – Wolly Carpark, Raja Uda, Bagan
10pm – Han Jiang Field, Penang

Print Friendly

1. #1 by penang lim on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 2:01 pm

Cheers and many heart felt thanks to a malaysian
    for the infor on the ceramah speech by RPK and Haris
    in penang , would pass infor around

2. #2 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 2:36 pm

Can someone pls answer my question?

“Responding to critics, the commission has agreed to introduce a few reforms such as marking voters’ fingers with indelible ink to prevent people from voting more than once. But the measure is voluntary, so voters can refuse to have their fingers dyed.”

Voluntary? Is this true? Then why the heck introduce indelible ink?

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 2:53 pm

Penangnites, tonight ceramahs:

RPK will be the special guest (with Haris Ibrahim & Ronnie Liu) at the following ceramah tonight, Tuesday 4/3/08:

8pm: Kampung Paya (Bagan)

9pm: Chai Leng park playground (Prai)

10:30pm: Lengkok Burma (Pulau Tikus)

11:15pm: Hye Keat estate (Air Putih)

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PISA CERAMAH ON 6TH IS NOT TRUE. LOSER BN IS SPREADING THIS RUMOUR TO LET US ON A WILD GOOSE CHASE

Yet to be confirmed: THE BIG ONE WILL BE HELD AT HAN CHIANG HIGH SCHOOL

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

4. #4 by voteforDAP on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:01 pm

Hi all, just in case you guys do not know. Chandra Muzaffar is diabetic. His mind is not in total control when he speak during the forum @ Menara Star. His blood sugar extremely low and what he says about Anuar could be half true. Even Mahathir was goin against the ruling party at one time. But Anuar knows what is best for him now after he’s out from BN.

When Anuar was part of the BN, he has to speak for the best of interest of UMNO. If he defy UMNO, he will get kicked out. Mahathir could get someone to film him having sex with some indian girls and with the controversial CD, he get kicked out from UMNO. This is just like what happened to Chua Soi Lek. Therefore, Anuar acted on best interest of UMNO at that time. Chandra Musaffar, when you are sober, you speak like a gentlemen, when you are drunk with too much sugar in your blood, you speak like Lingam.

5. #5 by elvin on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:17 pm

To all voters for barisan rakyat — please ensure that you, your immediate immediate family, relatives & friends come out in full force to vote on Mar 8 even if it rains. Every vote counts for a better future.

6. #6 by voteforDAP on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:26 pm

TODAY,

I spoke to Chinese from Kelantan, they are voting for PAS

TODAY,

I spoke to my friends and clients whom I knew not so much about them, they are voting from DAP

YESTERDAY,

None of us voting for BN.

TOMORROW,

None of us will vote for BN (Corruption, Marginalization & Egoistic)

7. #7 by giko on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:39 pm

was having lunch this afternoon when a tv3 crew came around asking for opinions on Najis Razak. so watch out for tv3 spin on najis – good or bad, just watch!

8. #8 by voice on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:47 pm

Mr Lim, please take good care of yourself, I’ve just watched the video of you giving ceramah at Malacca (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhX4x5wL6Sg), obviously you are not at good condition, me and my friends are supporting DAP now, the coming election will be a change for the country, god bless you Mr Lim.

9. #9 by Jimm on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:54 pm

Penang people, please do not fall into KTK’s trap.
    He purposely name that 3 fellow as the potential candidate for the replacement CM in order to gain votes from you all to keep Gerakan ahead from Opposition.
    How can you all not see the KTK tricks ?
    We all knew that UMNO will placed their people as the next CM just like what is happening in Sabah …
    Wake up and be smart …
    KTK just follow his master instruction ….
    Look into his eyes … he’s a goner.

10. #10 by cheeran70 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:21 pm

I was really amused Reading the ‘Disaster if Anwar is PM’ in The Star (online edition) today. And the heads that commented on Anwar are all a bunch of empty cans who can only make more sound. The hollow in there is getting wider and deeper, being grinded by the UMNO controlled BN leadership.

To say that if Anwar become a Prime Minister, it would be an “Unmitigated Disaster” shows how the leadership of BN is taking things for granted. All these BN idiots too are singing a different tune too.

My question here is why Chandra Muzaffar and Lim Kheng Yeik kept their mouth shut when Anwar was in the cabinet with the rest of them? Now they are whistling foolish tunes saying Anwar did this, Anwar said that etc etc. What the hell is happening here? When things go wrong everyone start to point at others. Chandra and Kheng Yeik should have done this whistle blowing long time ago, not now, after being pressured by some ‘useless’ entities on the BN.

A true human is he who raise his voice at immediate pace when the rights of the people are being traversed, and not to wait for years to regurgitate the so called ‘TRUTH’ which can be lies as well. Ask yourselves are you true human with dignity? Lim was in the cabinet but he ‘tutup satu mata’ then, and he let his mouth ‘bocor’ now.

These are the signs of what becomes of politician and academicians who support BN. They become crookedly crooked crooks!!.

The opposition had never done anything like that, at least not DAP. Give the opposition a chance and I believe we can march ahead united together.

11. #11 by matterofchoice2008 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:38 pm

Jimm,
    Thanks for your reminder.
    Koh Tsu Koon thinks that he is very smart with this kind of lousy trick. Koh thinks that simply naming 3 Gerakan candidates as potential next Penang Chief Minister will gain Gerakan candidates more votes. FAT HOPE, at least from me!!!
    Koh Tsu Koon, I for sure don’t care about your trick as I shall vote for oppositions this time round both for the parlimentary and the state level seats.
    Yes we need to be alert with Koh Tsu Koon’s trick. Please alert all our friends and relatives not to be fooled with Koh Tsu Koon’s trick.
    Penang and Malaysia voters, lets vote for oppositions this time round both for the parlimentary and the state level seats.

12. #12 by js on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:56 pm

Do you believe if I said Penang CM will under 2 year term among chinese and Malay? I heard the Malay candidate from Balik Pulau will be the next CM. BN dare not announce at this moment as it will affect the vote.
    Lim KY today said the highest vote will become the CM…Dont fall into their trick.Please spread around…BN now does not have any issue to raise already.The votes among these 3 places are different and it is not fair.
    DAP, please highlight this trick in all ceramah to attendees.

13. #13 by fabm on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:30 pm

Have you all notice the following?

Putrajaya: 1 parliamentary seat – 6,608 voters
    Kapar: 1 parliamentary seat – 112,224 voters

1 vote in Putrajaya is equivalent to 17 votes in Kapar!

How can this be a fair election?

Read more on Vote Against Gerrymandering:
    http://forabettermalaysia.blogspot.com/2008/03/vote-against-gerrymandering.html

Vote For A Better Malaysia
    Vote For A Stronger Opposition

14. #14 by cmbss on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:46 pm

STAR SMS ALERT:
    4.47pm 4 March 2008

Election Commission has cancelled the use of indelible ink during the polling day citing public orders and security issues

What happened?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by cmbss on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:50 pm

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=318292

Bernama.com
    ——————————————————————————–
    General March 04, 2008 17:10 PM
    EC Scraps Indelible Ink Plan

PUTRAJAYA, March 4 (Bernama) — The Election Commission Tuesday cancelled plan to use indelible ink in the upcoming general election.

– BERNAMA

16. #16 by alancheah on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:18 pm

Yes, Mr. Lim Kit Siang has lost his voice…
    I attended the ceremah in USJ12 yesterday nite.
    Take care, Mr. Lim. We will ALL support DAP, and
    we will vote for ALL opposition parties this time!

17. #17 by cmbss on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:34 pm

Mahathir is correct.

This will be the dirtiest election in history!

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

“1 vote in Putrajaya is equivalent to 17 votes in Kapar!” – fabm

The delineation of constituencies has been such to give disproportionate weightage to rural and/or Malay vote base favouring BN.

Which means that unless there is a significant shift of Malaysian Malay votes against the BN, the ruling coalition will maintain at least its two thirds parliamentary majority under the most adverse backlash from voters of other communities.

As the population of Malaysian Malays increases proportionately more than others, the calculations are that BN will maintain its supreme position for so long as PAS fails to make significant inroads into Malaysian Malay vote base due to mainstream resistance.

In this coming elections, it is expected that Opposition in general will, in best scenario, probably get about 40 – 45 parliamentary seats out of which DAP is expected to evince a better performance to secure anything from 24 to 30 parliamentary seats.

Out of a total of 222 parliamentary seats contested, Opposition parties need to secure at least more than 1/3rd (at least 75 seats), no easy feat !

At best, a severe mauling of MCA, Gerakan and MIC will send a strong signal to UMNO and the rest that it/they has/have to address the concerns of non Malay minorities and generally urbanites dissatisfied with its policies if UMNO/BN were to continue maintaining power.

As the BN fortress based on present electoral system is virtually impregnable short of en masse swing of traditional Malaysian Malay voters (not expected for long time to come), the question may legitimately be asked – why would UMNO/BN want to ameliorate concerns and grievances of non Malay minorities and generally urbanites of all races if the delineation of constituencies has always been in such a way that favours it maintaining 2/3rd parliamentary majority, no matter how dissatisfied non- malay and/or urban constituencies are.???. …

The short answer to that is that urban centers and their denizens are the nation’s centers of commercial, cultural and intellectual activities and where the shakers and movers of the nation reside.

Strong rural support to ensure 2/3 is meaningless if the important urban centres – getting larger and larger due to continuous rural urban drift/migration – are seething with unrest and become a nestbed of discontent and demonstrations.

You look at at where unrest that topples governments in this region happens – they happened in urban centers of Bangkok, Jakarta and Manila!

Concerns of urbanites are ignored at the governing elite’s peril as these cases show. Look at the effect of Hindraf. Can they afford a few more of these in urban centers?

What this means is that even if Opposition Parties are not able to breach the BN’s 2/3rd parliamentary threshold, a strong showing of 40 to 45 opposition members put into Parliament would have already served an important purpose and deliver the right message – that something need to be done by the BN to address and stem this alienation amongst peoples in urban centres (especially minority non malays).

It will also make the thumping sounds from the government bench reciprocated more effectively from the Opposition side’s with more issues being discussed and debated in parliament.

Sad to say, the change for the better, if it comes from this election, is less likely to come from the Opposition parties’ replacing the incumbent or even making a dent to its 2/3 majority but more from the incumbent coalition being forced by Opposition’s very significant gains (relative to 2004) to at least review and try re-invent and effect changes within its own system to accommodate rising expectations unfulfilled amongst people in urban constituencies. The risk of not doing so is potential civil unrest (when people see they have no recourse through either ballot or the law to address ther grievances), which is really bad for business and investment, that is the raison de etre of our political elites feeding on government-business patronage system. They just cannot afford to let peace and stability – and by extension their concomitant, the government-business patronage system – suffer without losing their very reason to be in politics….

19. #19 by fancy on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:11 pm

It’s totally unfair!!!! My friend he is staying in Buntong,Ipoh but he was placed to vote in Cheras,KL!!!! What is this???? How can a old man travel all the way to KL to vote??? Im really angry about this!!!!

20. #20 by choonchoy on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:11 pm

To all the BR candidates, all the best and take care. Many have lost their voices. I was is SS2 last night and got drenched. YM RPK’s speech was good. (Hats off to RPK)

SPR will not use the ‘indelible ink’ after spending millions of the rakyat’s money. Only AAB could believe the reasons given. BN has ‘main rakyat kat belakang lagi’.

I implore everyone to call your relatives in the kampong, inform your relatives of what’s going on. The urbanites know the issues. Now let us hit the BN where it hurts, that’s the constituencies with 14k to 20k population, our fellow rakyat who have been deceived the most, and who are suffering the most. The winds of change have arrived, now it is time the rakyat turn the tides.

Undurlah BN.

Let’s give BN the BOOT!

21. #21 by alancheah on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:13 pm

“Election Commission has cancelled the use of indelible ink during the polling day citing public orders and security issues…”

Indeed… BN now knows that many RAKYAT will support opposition parties and they suddenly change their mind in using indelible ink… lol… they are more “Kia Su” than our neighbour country.

RAKYAT… stand up… no matter what BN does…
    Just VOTE for all Opposition Parties!!!

We will let BN see a VERY BIG Breakthrough this time,
    even if they don’t use that bloody ink!!

22. #22 by burn on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:19 pm

“cheeran70 Says:
    Today at 16: 21.53 (2 hours ago)
    To say that if Anwar become a Prime Minister, it would be an “Unmitigated Disaster” shows how the leadership of BN is taking things for granted. All these BN idiots too are singing a different tune too”…

kebanyakkan mereka bergaji tinggi, sudah tentu mereka akan menjaga kepentingan mereka. rakyat yang separuh mati, mereka tak peduli…
    all of them memang takut kalau kalau DA jadi PM!
    rombakan parliment/ketua2 menteri/ketua2 bandar/direktor2 kaki lepak dan ampu akan berlaku, dan ramai akan di tendang keluar kerna korupsi dan pentingkan diri sendiri. that’s the only reason they’re scare off…

23. #23 by A_Malaysian on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:42 pm

Can someone confirm if this is true. Way back in history, GERAKAN was formed as an Opposition Party and then joined BN as a component party after they won the majority in Penang.

If this is true, the people in Penang must NOT even give a single vote to GERAKAN as they have betrayed the trust of Penang people.

The BN Report Card has deteriorated over the past 50 years of ruling and getting worst in the last 4 years and definitely to be worsen if nothing is done by the people of this beloved Nation.

We must Vote for a Change. Give a chance to ourselves and the truly patriotic citizens to safe this country, especially, our offsprings and future generations. We need a truly Democratic Nation.

Vote for any Opposition Party both in Parliaments and States level in your constituency.

24. #24 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:25 pm

EC cancels the use of indelible ink – and now cheatings can be carried out blatantly in Kelantan and Trengganu again, same like in 2004 when hundreds of buses ferrying phantom voters into these 2 states.

Gerakan & MCA eunuchs in Penang can now breathe a sigh of relief as massive emergence of phantom voters will be their saviour.

Election Commission, the 15th component party of Barisan Nasional. Admit it, whether you like it or not.

25. #25 by showsomemercy on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:27 pm

Dont know Malacca can wrest back Kota Melaka from BN or not. Hope they do it!!! Any Malaccans around?

26. #26 by clear conscience on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:41 pm

To all Malaysian

Please be advised that Mr Yeo Yang Poh of the Bar Council had posted an open letter for all Malaysian voters to seriously take note when casting their votes.

http://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=a96c87ac39&attid=0.1&disp=vah&view=att&th=118774dd27682150

27. #27 by simsimsim on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 9:38 pm

Yah !! Chandra is really SICK , he can’t even understand what he said , is politics , Stupid !!! Whatever it is , I will vote for DAP and influence all my friends and ppl surrounding me !!! Change ! Change ! Change ! else , we will end up , Increase ! Increase ! Increase ! ( corruptions , Toll price , Petrol price , medical fees , school fees , food price etc …. )

28. #29 by alvinkhng on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 9:57 pm

malaysiakini is unlock from today and its free now for a week
    check out their site at
    http://www.malaysiakini.tv/
    those of you who cant get to the ceramah you can watch RPK’s ceramah at brickfields
    good quality video too
    enjoy
    Just CHANGE

29. #30 by simsimsim on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:33 pm

Very Inspiring “ceramah” which really carry out the message through !!
    Yes , No Government Now , No YAB PM , YB Minister etc…. all are equal and fight to form the NEW Government ….. Just Change and fight for NEW Government !!!
    Thanks alvinkhng …. To All, please inform as many people to watch this video clip if possible !!

30. #31 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:54 pm

Desperate Loser Using Desperate Dirty Moves.

I just came back from the ceramah which PKR and Haris are supposed to speak. Learn that they were denied permit to speak on the island.

Is this call Democracy?

As expected more desperate moves by the ec and umno to make the Oppositions ceramah as problematic as possible will continue.

They could not be bothered by any election rules and laws. They are the law.

So people, which type of government do you want, the choice is yours.

Jeff Ooi informed during the ceramah that the Big One will be held at Han Chiang High School on the 6th Thursday and request all people to wear RED to wash away the evil blue.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

31. #32 by cfcluvdap on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:55 pm

Chandeerang is disgusting?
    Is he a political scientist as claimed…but his mind is of an opportunist, go where there is milk and turnabout without turning the head! If he fail to gain advantage, he quickly change color and try to bodek where the money is.
    Chandeerang, pls do and preach as a political scientist, not as a political swindler

32. #33 by fjjs on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:03 pm

It’s time to stop Umnoputranism….. BN destroys temple…where is OKT of MCA? Where is KTK of Gerakan? Are they protecting our rights?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8o12E7ejlY

VOTE OPPOSITION for a better tomorrow…better Malaysia… for all MALAYSIANS.

33. #34 by ckloh on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:30 pm

Alot of positive ceramah’s review by DAP and its Barisan Rakyat’s partners, I can see. However, have you all listen to an MCA’s ceramah before, in this election?

Let me introduce itself, from last Monday until today, I have attended ceramah everyday except last Friday (work), Monday’s Tony Pua in SS2, Tuesday’s Teresa Kok in Sri Petaling, Wednesday’s Teo Nie Ching in Seri Kembangan, Thursday’s Fong Kui Lun in Brickfield, Saturday’s Hannah Yeoh in USJ 12, Sunday’s Lim Lip Eng in TTDI, yesterday’s Teo Nie Ching again just to catch up Fong Po Kuan. Most of them, I listen all of the speakers before I left even with the rain. And all are greats, or else I won’t be there day in, day out.

Today, I thought want to go to Puchong’s for Gobind Singh to catch up Karpal Singh, however, I changed my mind and went back to home for a rest. However, someone told me that MCA Carol Chew is doing a ceramah near my place, Sri Petaling.

Don’t get me wrong, I already decided who to vote for, even before nomination day, but I am curious to see how pathetic they are, so I decided to go and have a look, just a walking distance from my home.

When I reached there, Carol already finished her speach, and left to the last speaker, who claims to be former worker of Teresa Kok, candidates for Seputeh Parliamentary Seats. And I don’t believe my ears. And alot of people does not believe their ears too. During my 10 minutes stay there, less than 40 people are there, that pathetic, and most are shaking their heads, including myself. If there is eggs on my hand, I will throw it up, thrust me.

FYI, Seputeh area is a safe seat for Seputeh. DAP has hold his area for a very long time. And 2004, Teresa won it big here. We heard Carol’s hitting below the belt by launching the ‘sexist’ cartoon against Teresa. What else she can do?

Below are the simplified contents from the 10 minute speach.
    1. 70% of the speach criticising Teresa, saying various scenario, where Teresa misuse the DAP funds. A few scenarios are given, but no prove is given at all. For example, in one of the scenario, he mentioned the workers of Teresa for one of the funds raising activies, use some of the money to buy supper. All allegations without prove. They are extremely desperate. Nobody claps hand this time, compare to DAP ceramah, because we know this is not true.

2. Boasting that MCA under the leadership of Ong Ka ting managed to get a primary school for Seri Petaling resident. Enough of being heard of this issue, don’t believe they dare to use this point as the reason to vote MCA. Only after 50 years, Seri Petaling get one Chinese School, and it is election goodies.

3. This point is the last point that I heard, that make me angry, that if eggs is on my hand, I will just throw towards the speaker. The speaker told us that he agreed that corruption is a fact. He agreed that UMNO is corrupted, but he said DAP is corrupted too base on point 1 mentioned above. He said, what important now is be practical, don’t care about the corruption, a scenario that can’t be fixed, what important is to ensure MCA get more people in parliament, where in appropriate time, the MCA have more people to check UMNO if they go overboard in corruption (little bit never mind). He mentioned that what important now is CHINESE should think of themselves, change are not going to happen, just think of themselves get the goodies offered from MCA for Seputeh area. The country is too big for all of us to concentrate, think of ourself, think of what Seputeh will benefit from MCA as MCA have more money.

And true enough, out of the 40 people that present there, less than 10 claps their hand, when the speaker end the speach. in MCA speach, you will see majority don’t agree on what the speaker said, something that will not happen in DAP ceramah. I know MCA is desperate, but I don’t know they are pathetic at this stage, hitting below the belt and deliver such low quality and unpatriotic speach. Just thought want to share it out, for those that busy attending DAP ceramah, and wonder what BN’s ceramah can offer.

I am extremely angry, the motive of the speaker, to get vote, try to make allegation without prove and give unethical advice like ‘we can tolerate corruption, more important, think about yourself first, take care of yourself first, vote for the one that have more money’.

If speaker/leader can be that low, what hope our country is? Lets vote them out!!

34. #35 by negarawan on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:12 am

It is clear that the EC Chairman Abdul Rashid is a running dog of UMNO. The unconstitutional extension of his retirement age has paid off for UMNO. International political observers and watchdogs, together with the US and EU, must put pressure on UMNO and EC for colluding in making this election heavily biased towards UMNO and BN. It is clear that the last minute reversal of EC in disallowing the use of indellible ink is due to the need for UMNO to get phantom voters in. Shame on you Rashid. You have no integrity and no respect at all. You can cheat now, but you can’t cheat forever. The civil society of Malaysia makes a serious appeal to the international community in condemning the UMNO government and its EC agents for their corrupt and undemocratic practices.

35. #36 by negarawan on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:14 am

Let’s all tear the photo of Abdul Rashid in public tomorrow as a sign of protest and disgust of the blatantly corrupt and undemocratic practices of the EC!! Makkal Sakti, Reformasi now!!

36. #37 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:25 am

I really pity ckloh for having to endure the pain to stand listening to the MCA “ceramah”….
    One thing for sure…these ceramahs bears good news like school funds, repacement of roads etc….. All basic rights any Govt must provide at all times and not only during GE.
    My home town (Chinese New Village) gets the retarred road once every GE…you call that fair? They thought they will get our votes with that….BUT….pooodahhhhhhhh…..what they did was only to enrich the local MCA/MIC/UMNO leaders’ pockets becuz the price will definitely be bloated many times just to fill the coffers of these so called leaders.
    We are not easily swayed but some repaved roads or some funds….our support & votes will not be for BN…we will be FOR OPPOSITION only…..

37. #38 by negarawan on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:31 am

Chandra Muzaffar, how much were you paid by UMNO? What other favours did you receive for your so-called Just World?

38. #39 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:46 am

Today it is indelible ink. Tomorrow and thereafter there will be MORE Surprises, read my lips. BN dogs are the masters in last minute surprises. They will create maximum damage to the oppositions and shut down all communication so that the opposition will not be able to retaliate or contain the damage. We must prepare psychologically for all the last minute surprises.
    It is really a baloney to disallow the use of indelible ink. At the last day before election, they will probably cut down the voting hours just to make sure some of us don’t get to vote!!!!!!!!!!! By the way, how much money was spent to buy those indelible inks? Can we send the bill to the EC chairman and ask him to pay personally.
    Sometimes I just wonder why BN need to try all ways and means to win so that they can “SERVE” this country. What a baloney! My foot, berkhidmat untuk rakyat. My foot, berkhidmat untuk Negara. For BN, it is berkhidmat untuk sendiri, untuk keluarga and untuk suadara mara! BN Sendirian Berhad.

39. #40 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:52 am

Yes one by one is coming out. If Anwar is a chameleon, Chandra is the master of all chameleons. You can’t blame me for my disdain for intellectuals, Strip them naked, every one is a prostitute! Bloody prostitute in three piece suit.

40. #41 by P.O.T.S on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:04 am

41. #42 by tunglang on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:06 am

cmbss Says:

Election Commission has cancelled the use of indelible ink during the polling day citing public orders and security issues

What happened?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WAIT A MINUTE! The commission bought about 47,000 bottles of the indelible ink, manufactured in India, for RM2mil.

And now the idiotic Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman just as easily cancelled the wasteful proposal to use the indelible ink.

You know what, this is an earlier ploy to make the EC looks Bersih!
    So now it can go back on its words with some filmsy excuses not to use the ink. Real Bastards SOB.

May I suggest Abdul Rashid take home the 47,000 bottles and drown himself over the election weekend.

We don’t need this Bastard to announce the election results!

42. #43 by PK Wong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:24 am

Vote BN for the state. Vote DAP for the parliment.

I heard this statement from some old uncles and old aunties while I did campaigning for the Opposition. They said that for state, BN could get things done fast whereas DAP could not help much due to limited resources. For the parliment they said that DAP was good for debating over important issues whereas BN was dumb.

This kind of mentality echoed by the old uncles and old aunties can be damaging and erupting the spirits for the wind of change.
    They may form a small group of this wrong mentality but they can influence their friends who are also old uncles and old aunties. They cannot give their heart 100% to DAP though they like DAP in the first place.

We need to pay more attention to these old uncles and old aunties.
    We need to correct their thinking in order to win back the other 50% vote from them for the DAP.

Vote for MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA! VOTE DAPPPPPPPPPPPPP! DAP!

Also vote PKR and PAS.

43. #44 by Jong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 2:19 am

EC Chairman Abdul Rashid said: “there were reports made to the police alleging that certain quarters had purchased indelible ink from abroad with the intention of creating confusion and suspicion as to the status of voters.” He cited public order and security issues!

- Now where’s his logic? I find it difficult to reason out why anyone would want to buy the ink back and
    how would it create confusion?

I don’t see any logic in his claim other than there is already too many indelible ink suppliers flooding the local market and SPR will now find it difficult to justify its rm2.4 million claim that might have made somebody already an overnight millionaire?

44. #45 by sean on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 2:36 am

i was at the ss2 mj cafe ceramah on monday……..it was raining cats and dogs an hour after the ceramah started(when RPK begins)and it was the time everyone started to bring out the umbrellas and i am happy to see old and the young ones brave the rain and continue with the thunderous supports the crowds gave.Infact me, my parents and sister were all soaking wet even with umbrellas but we were determined to stay put like everyones else and ww and many more even shared our umbrellas with the one standing next to us which is without one.Keep the MOMENTUM FLOWING….and will continue to support the ceramah from the opposition come rain or shine.
    LETS CHANGE ..THE WIND IS INDEED BLOWING

45. #46 by Love Dap on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 3:18 am

Dear Kit Siang, my heartfelt thanks to your team for their passion and committment to the people and country. Thank you for the effort that you have put in with the objective to deny BN 2/3 seats in the parliament. I can deeply feel that each and every words that you speak, you speak it from your heart. You team are not doing for their own glory, but, to the nation. Sincerely wish that you take good care during this crucial period. We are always here giving you our full support as we know that you are a great leader !

46. #47 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 4:16 am

Election Commission (EC) cited legal and security reasons for 11th hour cancelling the use of indelible ink

As early as in Jan 12 Malaysians For Free and Fair Elections (Mafrel) chairman Abdul Malek Hussin already pointed out to EC that the use of indelible ink was not provided for under the Elections (Conduct of Elections) Regulations 1981 and so its use must be sanctioned by way of amendment of these regulations and gazetted. However this has not been done – and cannot be done since Parliament has already been dissolved.

EC chairperson, Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman apparently took legal advice (likely from the AG). He said that the use of indelible ink would not be effective as the country’s constitution allowed those who refuse to have their fingernail marked with the ink to still be issued with a ballot – source Malaysiakini.

If the EC tries to bar someone from voting for refusing to have “indelible” ink marked on his finger, the voter/elector could cause an altercation in poling station ostensibly threatening security – and ultimately could also challenge legality of the entire balloting in the particular stream/poling station on grounds that his constitutional right to vote has been infringed; if he and others likeminded could not be legally forced to dip his or their finger(s) in ink, and the whole dipping process becomes, as such voluntary, what’s the point in requiring others to do so???

BN, as has been said, relies quite a lot on its traditional Malay/Muslim constituency to deliver the votes and is worried that mischief makers could also last minute sow doubts and confusion amongst electors/voters that certain ingredients in the indelible ink are not halal (whether true or not). One can’t really anticipate kind of teething problems that can arise. Certain polling stations must run out of vats of ink : does that mean that polling has to be delayed or postponed?

The examination of nails for polish and application of such ink and then wiping it off with a tissue to avoid staining of ballot papers – and the answering of queries by public on such ink of, for example, what is the ink’s purpose and how long it would remain on fingers, all of which might delay the voting process and aggravate queues in certain stations. Even with proper administering of ink it would take at least 30 seconds to get the ink on the voters’ fingers, then another 30 seconds for the ink to get dried so taking slightly more than a minute per voter in addition to checking MyKad against electoral roll, getting signature/thumb print on ballot counterfoil, crossing out the name after ballot issued.

If explanations were not properly given, that would take time, illiterate voters especially in rural areas of BN’s vote bank might mistakenly try to mark ballot papers with a fingerprint dipped with ink instead of a cross made with a pencil, thereby spoiling the vote. (This actually happened in certain areas in Mozambique’s lections in 2004). Imagine also the enormous task to train election workers throughout the country to administer this ink and answering queries.

In Afghanistan’s first elections in 2004 in which indelible ink was used, there were complaints that the indelible ink used to mark voters’ fingers could be washed off. One woman candidate, Masooda Jalal, told the Associated Press: “The ink that is being used can be rubbed off in a minute. Voters can vote 10 times.”

Indelible ink is just a security measure to appease critics. It is hard to imagine there is no alternative security measure to guard against multiple voting. What is important is drawing the electoral roll up properly.

I read this from a surgeon one Dr Chris Anthony who correctly observed that “What we really need is not marking our fingers with indelible ink but for our EC to be neutral. What we need is a transparent EC not transparent ballot boxes”!

Well, whatever our ink’s quality, somebody – don’t know who – would have made a little money from sourcing 48,000 bottles of indelible ink worth RM2.4mil from India, which now will not be used.

47. #48 by lakshy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:12 am

Ha ha ha, Rashid Rashid. I wonder how India which you accuse of being such a corrupted country has managed to use the indelible ink for numerous elections without such incident, but in Malaysia, you have problem doing it even once.

If you have any cow-dung left in your brains, you should use it as a trial run. Let the IC be the deciding factor this time. But get people used to teh concept of the indelible ink, so it can be used in future elections.

Anyway, even if you use it now for thsi election, what is the harm? Just that nayone with their fingers already marked, cannot vote! Whats the effect?

chee sin

48. #49 by lakshy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:28 am

Now, everyone can see how the odds are stacked against the opposition. With the postal votes and phantom votes, etc, DAP, PAS and PKR have an uphill task.

BN is sure to win, what with the controlled media propaganda being spewed every single day during prime time and all the papers.

Lets all come out in full force on election day and do our duty to cast our votes for the opposition for both state and Parliamentary seats. With high voter turnout, there can be less phantom votes and postal votes being dumped into certain constituencies. We need proper checks and balances in both state and parliament.

Lets do whats best for the nation, and for our children.

49. #50 by sotong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:42 am

It is obvious decades of narrow, short sighted and damaging politics and bad leadership and governance of the country are doing enormous permanent and long term damage to the country.

It is sad to see a promising country grossly mismanaged.