Building of Ong MCA political empire at the expense of MCA leaders, Ministers and MPs

(Media Conference Statement (3) at DAP Ipoh Timur Ops Centre on Thursday 29th February 2008 at 1 pm)

I take great offence at the highly defamatory allegation by MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting hurled at DAP leaders that they are greedy and selfish in contesting in two seats, parliamentary and state assembly, as wanting to collect two allowances of Member of Parliament and State Assemblyman.

DAP leaders are very different from MCA leaders including Ka Ting. DAP leaders are in politics not for self gain, wealth, position or government position but for our ideals and principles, and love for our country.

DAP MPs and State Assembly members do not get the constituency development allocations which have now mushroomed to RM5 million per parliamentary constituency for Barisan Nasional MPs –the most blatant example of discriminatory and unaccountable disbursement of public funds, money politics and the root cause of the rampant corruption in the country as it is open knowledge that there are BN MPs and State Assembly members who demand a “cut” for themselves before allocations are made to the public from the constituency development funds.

DAP leaders who are fielded in both parliamentary and state assembly constituencies will have to bear a heavy political responsibility – not to get more allowances but to play a greater role in the larger national objective to strive for a more just and democratic Malaysia.

DAP Secretary-General, Lim Guan Eng, for instance, who is contesting both parliamentary and state assembly seats in Penang, is not in these two contests for the allowances or he would not have stood up on his convictions ten years ago to defend the dignity of an under-aged Malay girl resulting in his conviction under unfair and draconian laws of Sedition Act and Printing Presses and Publications Act, leading to his disqualification as elected MP for Kota Melaka, being jailed for 18 months in Kajang Prison, forfeit of his parliamentary pensions and being disqualified from standing for elective office for five years after his release from prison.- missing two general elections.

Guan Eng had also been detained under the Internal Security Act in the 1987 Operation Lalang dragnet – with both of us among the first to be detained but the last two of the Operation Lalang detainees to be released in April 1989.

It is highly presumptuous and intolerable for a politician, who could climb so high up the political ladder as to become a Cabinet Minister without having to make any personal sacrifices whatever in his political life, to cast aspersions against political leaders who have paid a very high price in terms of personal liberty for their political convictions.

DAP Perak Chairman, Ngeh Koo Ham, who is contesting both Bruas parliamentary and Sitiawan state assembly seat, is not in politics for the money!

I can vouch that Ngeh has given to the cause for a Malaysian Malaysia far more than he had received as Perak State Assemblyman for the past four years.

Can Ka Ting say that he had personally given more in terms of money in politics than he had received from his parliamentary and Ministerial allowances as in the case of Ngeh?

I deplore Ka Ting for such mischievous, malicious and irresponsible politicking. He should have the decency and humility to openly apologise for his misconduct.

While making baseless accusations against DAP leaders, Ka Ting should heed the rumble of discontent in MCA at his building up of a Ong Brothers political empire in the MCA over the bodies of MCA leaders, including Ministers and parliamentarians.

Two MCA Ministers had recently fallen by the wayside – Chan Kong Choy and Chua Soi Lek. Who is really responsible for their downfall?

Chan must be held responsible for the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, the biggest financial scandal in the Abdullah premiership which is even bigger than Mahathir’s first mega financial scandal, the RM2.5 billion Bumiputra Malaysia Finance scandal 25 years ago!

Chan cannot escape accountability for the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, but it is unfair if he is alone left to “eat dead cat” as the entire Cabinet, including Ka Ting, cannot shirk responsibility as well.

Is it true that Ka Ting is the reason why Chan dropped as a MCA candidate in the 2008 general election?

Who was responsible for the political “killing” of MCA National Vice Chairman and Health Minister, Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek over the sex videotape scandal?

This is not an outside job but a MCA high-level operation. Was Ka Ting responsible for Chua’s removal from the MCA front-line of contenders for the top political post in MCA?

Be that as it may, Ka Ting should not try to distract attention from his MCA troubles by hurling defamatory allegations against DAP leaders.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Wisdom above on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:20 am

other effective way … to reach out to voters, is via internet / emails.

http://www.youtube.com/profile_favorites?p=r&user=DAPmsia&page=1

http://www.youtube.com/profile_favorites?user=PKRBR

A ‘ Dynamic Malaysia ‘ … equality for all… a better future…

Vote for a New MALAYSIA.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

2. #2 by Come2Papa on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:28 am

“Because MCA represents the Chinese in BN. Of course, this obviously excludes you.” limkamput

You never cease to amaze me how you’d fail to understand the simplest of messages!

3. #3 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:28 am

As the polls is drawing near, go for whatever you can to bring the message out.
    Boycott the TV3 news and don’t go for any goverment owned media.
    Most of the time they’re trying the brainwashing tactics.
    Keep on thinking about the rising crime rate, the lies from the PM mouth,the money that is being wasted, the rising of goods and petrol, and other kind of stuff that have happened during these four years period.
    Laugh ridiculously, when you sees or hear anything about the Barisan propoganda. I think this will help you to counter the Barisan ways of false hope.

4. #4 by matterofchoice2008 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:33 am

Time to vote for Jeff Ooi and the Opposition. Exercise your right now!!

TAK NAK TO PETROL INFLATION
    TAK NAK TO UNBEARABLE EVERYTHING INFLATION
    TAK NAK TO HIGH CRIME
    TAK NAK TO LINGAM SCANDAL
    TAK NAK TO CHUA SOI LEK SCANDAL
    TAK NAK TO CORRUPTION
    TAK NAK TO NEPOTISM
    TAK NAK TO ………….

http://www.geocities.com/matterofchoice2008/My_page.html

We need the check and balance for good governance.
    Please do your part. Please call upon all friends and relatives to vote for the Opposition.
    We need to send the right candidates to parliment to voice up for us.
    Penang and Jelutong voters, we need more supports to reject BN parasites going into the Parliment.

5. #5 by localgrad on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:46 am

Gosh! watching PROPAGANDA BARISAN NAZI’s TV, almost fainted after hearing that OKT hurled some stupid comments like that. I think he is like Semi Value, totally losting his mind and gone insane after tremendous pressure from their MASTER.

what kind of leader of this bunch of scumbags?

6. #6 by sfr on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:48 am

This OKT tak malu, his brother lost to cili padi, but become Secretary General of MCA, rank no 3 in MCA. Is this type of Party can safeguard and fight for Malaysia Chinese interest ? Think carefully, friends.

7. #7 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:48 am

Ask the MCA, Gerakan,PPP or the MIC to speak out thru their own self consience.
    On what sort of aspect do they represent the Chinese or the Indian community. When the Umno Youth hurt our feelings and never even apologise, what did they do. They keep mum!
    When we say something wrong to them, we are threatened with sorts of action and what did they do? All of our pride have been washed out into the drain and still they’re many so called members of those parties running around proudly. Even in the parliament, the opposition is not spared. We’re even told to get out of malaysia when we oppose of certain things. The Barisan component parties are not representing either one of us.
    They’re just representing themselves and their famillies.
    Put it right, please!

8. #8 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:57 am

Our Najib advised the Penang folks not to talk about sentiments on who is going to become the CM of Penang because it’s our PM home state.
    Make your choice wisely!

9. #9 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:16 pm

We do not think Ong is of leadership material. It is known for years, MCA is just a pawn to UMNO in the BN.

10. #10 by yyh on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:22 pm

MCA works for the people? For every tax payer’s money that flows back to the rakyat via these political parties, how much have it been siphoned off? Is it not a MCA MInister that approved the PKFA scandal which cost the taxpater RM4.7 billion, Mr ONg.

And you MCA corrupts glorified a paltry total sum of RM2.5 million for Chinese schools as goodies for this election and that is only RM100,000 per school over 4 years or equivalent to RM25,000 per year. Compared to the huge RM4.7 billion milked from us, you called that working for malaysians.

People like u including your brother has no conscience and history will remember MCA as the running dog in exchange for the ringgit sign.

11. #11 by cfcluvdap on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:26 pm

It’s so horrible….the MCA guy who jiak money calling or branding others greedy. It is terrible that OKT reserve the “safe” dewan for his brother to make more money and said others trying to draw 2 salary….pretending that he is still poor coming from a poor family background. OKT, cukup lah….sudah jiak so much, else get choked and may have to vomit out later….OKT, you did that to CKC and CSL, one day, you will have to pay for it when your machai do it to you.
    Maybe, OKT think that he built the empire with your brother getting into safe dewan, become miniter too and nobody can disturb him in the future.

12. #12 by hanliang on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:26 pm

mr ong. u should remind u umno fren. they also field a future mb in parlimen seat & state seat in kelantan mah. umno cant win in kelantan.

13. #13 by undertaker988 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:29 pm

Yes..tsunami is coming to penang this 8th mar.Okt(useless dog) n co will definely wash out of penang…
    WELCOME DAP…DAP …DAP………….

14. #14 by Anti_NEP on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:30 pm

This OngKaGoodForNothing is talking c**k. He has the guts to claim that he and his Umno master are of same standing. MCA dog is forever MCA dog and always obey his Umno master’s command.

MCA claimed achievement in setting up UTAR and TAR College. If the BN practice true meritocracy in the last 50 years do we need these two institutions?

Former primier Dr. M had mentioned that the chinese communitiy paid the most income tax. It is the duty of the elected government to provide education, healthcare and development to the tax payers. Why MCA acted as second income tax department for the chinese community to collect money to put up these institutuions?

15. #15 by chench88 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:35 pm

Time for MCA to wake up.Don’t cheating chinese anymore.(OKT MUST SEE). Listen, most Malaysian chinese hate you MCA. cos all MCA leaders dare not bark umno and prefer to be runner dog.Most chinese supports DAP.

16. #16 by Short-sleeve on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:43 pm

To Ong Ka Ting & all at MCA,

Why dont we have a Ong Ka Ting vs Lim Kit Siang public debate for the rakyat??

Make it a 2 hour debate. To balance things a little, Ong Ka Ting can speak for 1.5 hours. Lim Kit Siang just need 30 minutes.

17. #17 by wizzerd on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:45 pm

Ong Ka Ting is not called Ong Kow Tow or Kowtow Ong for nothing.

Nuff said. your MCA infomercials on TV/Astro/Radio/Newspapers make me wanna puke.
    You can spend a fortune doing all these,but they are not going to make me change my mind.
    My vote..together with my family and friends are for the Barisan Rakyat

18. #18 by sotong on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:46 pm

Those who are prepared to work hard are worked to their bones…..sacrify their personal and family life to ensure a reasonable financial security at retirement age….but a working poor all their lives.

19. #19 by devilmaster on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:55 pm

??????????????

20. #20 by cmbss on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:08 pm

OKT, becareful, your mother will wake up from her grave and SLAP you.

Sick dog you!!!

Can you declare all the money made whilst in MCA, (under your family, friends, proxies’ name?

Can you? Can you? Can you? Can you? Can you?

21. #21 by Godfather on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:08 pm

By allowing a crook Ling Hee Leong to contest in Gopeng, the MCA clearly has no interests of the Chinese community in mind. If Ling wins, he and the MCA will be forever beholden to the UMNO masters because of the thick file currently with Badawi.

22. #22 by AhPek on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:37 pm

Tell me ONG KA TING, MR. MINISTER SIR, what have you done towards stopping the continual institutionalisation of discrimination being carried out in this country, discrimination such as:-

(1) Racial discrimination in the appointment and promotion of employees in public funded bodies (means funded by taxea of which a large part comes from non MALAY contribution), resulting in these becoming almost mono-raced bodies (particulrly so in their top strata). These bodies include the civil service,police,army and various semi and quasi government bodies like the 10 public universities whereby all vice-chancellors are Malays!

(2) Barring of non Malays from tenders and contracts controlled directly or indirectly by the government.

(3) Imposition of compulsory price discounts and quotas in favour of Malays in housing projects.

(4) Imposition of compulsory share quotas for Malays in non-Malay companies.

(5) Blanketbarring of non-Malay to publicly funded academic institutions.

(6) Completely lop-sided allocation of scholarships and seats of learning in clearlyunreasonable proportions that reflect racial discriminations.

(7) Almost zero participation in the oil industry (in Petronas).

(8) The Judiciary an important keeper of fair play and justice, I am not sure whether there are any non-Malay judges any more in the Supreme Court.
    Our Constitution provides only one class of citizenship and all citizens are equal before the law. The presence of Article 153 does not alter the fact as it is meant only to protect the Malays from being ‘squeezed’ by other races at the time of independence by allowing the reservation of reasonable quotas on certain sections of national life.This special position and not special privileges or special rights of the Malays was put in precisely because of the backward educational and financial positions of Malays at the time of Independence and this position was also to be reviewed in 15 years time (1972) as a gentlemens’ agreement amongst our founding fathers. However , this Constitution has now been hijacked thro decades of hegemony of political power by UMNO of which you, your MCA,MIC,Gerakan,SUPP condone in and may even have contributed to it, resulting in the virtual monopoly of the public sector by a single race. the ensuing racism,corruption and corrosion of our democratic institutions have brought serious retrogression to our nation building process in terms of national unity, discipline,morality and competiveness of our people.
    At this critical juncture where nations in this region and around the world are urgently restructuringand shaping up to cope with globilizationour nation stagnatesin a cesspool that has created thro decades of misrule of which you and your MCA has played a part in it of no small measure.
    Unless urgent reforms are carried out,Malaysia is in for serious troubles in the days ahead

23. #23 by k1980 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:37 pm

Which of the following crooks can hold his head high and say, “I have made my community proud of me”

Tun Tan Cheng Lock (27 February 1949 to March 1958)
    Tun Dr. Lim Chong Eu (March 1958 to July 1959)
    Dr. Cheah Toon Lok (acting) (July 1959 to November 1961)
    Tun Tan Siew Sin (November 1961 to April 1974)
    Tan Sri Lee San Choon (April 1974 to March 1983)
    Datuk Dr. Neo Yee Pan (acting) (March 1983 to November 1985)
    Tan Koon Swan (November 1985 to September 1986)
    Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik (September 1986 to May 2003)
    Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting (May 2003 to Present)

24. #24 by mauriyaII on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:40 pm

Ka Ting, Ka Chuan,Ling Hee Leong, KTK of the Gerakan and Samy Velu of MIC are nothing but rabid dogs of the UMNO barking as loud as possible that only mongrels are capable of. When they feel cornered and all their wrong doings exposed, they just can’t take it. So they hit out at anybody just to look good to their followers.

They are the shameless, greedy and selfish ones who DO NOT CARE TWO HOOTS FOR THEIR RESPECTIVE COMMUNITIES. These won’t hesitate to sell whatever little rights the Chinese and Indians have for money, power, useless titles and of course for the pleasure of sucking up to UMNO.

Mr. Lim, Just ignore these worthless and ungrateful scum.

25. #25 by son of perpaduan on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:44 pm

Malaysian with love,
    Politician talk a lot and promise sky high things. Both parties hurling abuses to each others. Who is good and who is bad is not the issues. Before and after always not the same, BUT…..at least all malaysian should help opposition to proof their resistance to the current administration which sucking the poor malaysian wealth and freedom. Name me which goverment agencies is not taking bribe…….???? NONE IS THE ANSWER…right or wrong??

26. #26 by Billy on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:49 pm

Come, OKT, if you are one who truly claim that you represent the Chinese community, I want to see you stand for election in any of the DAP constituencies. I am sure DAP would not mind putting a junior member to contest against you. You know what, we’ll show you the door in double quick time. Many Chinese do not want you and disdain you like a bucket of s***. So stop claiming something which you are not. To me and many others, you are totally a nobody and a non entitious character seeking fame and fortune in the BN, and that will be your downfall.

27. #27 by max2811 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:54 pm

Frankly speaking, my family and I are glad Ling Jr is standing in our constituency. As MCA members, we have been loyal to the party and BN in the previous elections.

On 8th March, the four votes that my family carry and the votes of other ppl who had voted for BN, will go to PKR’s Dr. Lee Boon Chye.

My way of taking revenge for losing money on Omega way back in 1997. Our way of expressing our happiness towards PKR’s manifesto. May GOD correct the wrongs that have been going on in Msia.

28. #28 by KC GOH on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:03 pm

You might have hit the nail on the head–building a Ong’s brother political empire. Actually don’t know yet, will have to see the political development. May be truth may be not.http://rightthinking123.blogspot.com

29. #29 by somaris on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:04 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    TIME IS NEAR.
    LETS ALL GO OUT HELP DAP.
    INFORM ALL THE KAMPONG PEOPLE VOTE DAP,PKR
    DENY DENY DENY BN-UMNO
    DENY DENY DENY MCA-UMNO
    DENY DENY DENY MIC-UMNO
    DENY DENY DENY PPP-UMNO
    VOTE VOTE VOTE DAP,PKR
    ALL INDIAN TIME FOR U TO CHANGE THE FUTURE.
    GOD BLESS ALL OF US.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:12 pm

TKO/OKT = Give a technical knock out to OKT!

Please ensure all MCA, Gerakan, and MIC candidates lose so bad on 8.3.08 that they lose their deposits. A great TKO!

31. #31 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:47 pm

You never cease to amaze me how you’d fail to understand the simplest of messages!

Papi chai, who care whether you are amazed, shocked or surprised. Who are you? A phua tang sai mah cai of OKT?

32. #32 by boh-liao on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:00 pm

In all ceramah, DAP and opposition speakers must announce to all Malaysians that AAB is a LIAR!

Fact #1: AAB lied about the date when parliament is to be dissolved. On 12.2.08, AAB said “parliament will not be dissolved tomorrow”. On 13.2.08, the Star (a BN controlled newspaper) screamed: “Parliament will not be dissolved today”. Then on 13.2.08 after 12 noon, Badawi, without any embarrassment, declared to the world the dissolution of parliament.
    What the F, ini pun nak tipu!

Of course, there are many more lies.

A country is judged by its leaders. Malaysia was led by a big liar. Are we proud of this? Do we still want a pathological liar, in the Emperor’s New Clothes, to lead the nation?

In all ceramah, DAP and opposition speakers must announce to all Malaysians that AAB is a LIAR!

33. #33 by boh-liao on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:07 pm

Malaysian Politics 101: What to do when encountering a BN candidate

1. When a BN candidate meets you, say in a kopitiam or market, don’t avoid him.

2. It’s OK to shake his hand.

3. Just say you will vote for BN and demand from him an ‘ang pow’ or sewing machine, if you like.

4. If he gives you the ‘ang pow’, open it and check how much. (If possible, record it: photograph or video.) Then you say loudly so that all around you can hear: “Aiyah, so little money one! Need more money lah.”
    Keep the money so that you can donate it to DAP/PKR/PAS later.

5. Then ask the BN candidate: What do you think, can we trust AAB as our PM? Is AAB a liar? Why did AAB lie to the world about the dissolution of the last parliament? Do you agree with the decision for police to use water cannon and tear gas against unarmed citizens who wish to have a peaceful public rally? etc. etc.

6. Finally, say goodbye to the BN candidate and tell him that after talking with him, you prefer to vote for CHANGE and will be voting for DAP/PKR/PAS.

Malaysian Politics 101: What to do when encountering a BN candidate

34. #34 by pongsakling on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:08 pm

I don’t care what MCA or Gerakan anjing said, I will vote for DAP!

35. #35 by pongsakling on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:20 pm

Dear YB Lim,
    Why no ceramah at Batu Kawan?
    Please come to Batu Kawan for ceramah, Malaysians are waiting for you! I Love DAP!

36. #36 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:32 pm

Dear bohliao and all,

Would it not be better that we take the money ,thank the BN agents loudly so that everybody can hear,tell him that we will vote for the BN and then do otherwise at the ballot box?

Money can then be donated to whoever you like.

Let them think they have won your votes.Then let them wake up yo reality on 9th March.

37. #37 by showsomemercy on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:34 pm

That is more like it! Take whatever they give you. We deserve more then what they give, but oh well just take….. Vote otherwise…! :)

38. #38 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:39 pm

To all Penagites,

The MCA and Gerakan can still claim they represent the non-Malays because they are still holding so many seats all these years.

If after this election ,they are still holding many seats ,they will still claim they represent the Chinese and non-Malays.

Wipe out MCA and Gerakan!!!!!!.T

Then ,they cannot talk big anymore.Force them to admit they have lost the mandate of Heaven and the mandate of the Chinese and non-Malays.

Hor e-lang kam thiam la!

39. #39 by year of snake on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:41 pm

This OKT is talking through his nose, who does not need money to survive and what is the salary compared to what he can get from his master. Instead he should do something positive like asking his master to let MCA have the portfolio of either one of these ministeries, Finance, Commerce, Foreign Affairs, Defence, Home Affairs or Education then I will consider voting for MCA but this will never happen.

40. #40 by Anti_NEP on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:46 pm

OKT = Oh Kui Tow to his Umno master

41. #41 by mycroft on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:53 pm

“k1980 Says:

Today at 13: 37.50 (1 hour ago)
    Which of the following crooks can hold his head high and say, “I have made my community proud of me”

Tun Tan Cheng Lock (27 February 1949 to March 1958)
    Tun Dr. Lim Chong Eu (March 1958 to July 1959)
    Dr. Cheah Toon Lok (acting) (July 1959 to November 1961)
    Tun Tan Siew Sin (November 1961 to April 1974)
    Tan Sri Lee San Choon (April 1974 to March 1983)
    Datuk Dr. Neo Yee Pan (acting) (March 1983 to November 1985)
    Tan Koon Swan (November 1985 to September 1986)
    Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik (September 1986 to May 2003)
    Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting (May 2003 to Present)”

I think the above statement is highly uncalled for. To call someone like Tun Tan Cheng Lok, a crook, is to show great disrespect to a man who tried to bring acceptance of Malayan Chinese into the mainstream of society. We must remember that during those days, many of the Chinese in the country did not have Malayan citizenship. The efforts of Tun Tan were instrumental in ensuring that the Constitution recognised the rights of many Malayan-born Chinese people such as mother tongue education and citizenship. He was not perfect of course, but if we were to just call him a crook because we do not agree with his political philosophies is the first step of a dishonest society.

Lim Chong Eu also should not be deemed as a crook, although his bringing Gerakan into the BN was a disgrace. He lost power in MCA after he fought with UMNO over the number of MCA (Chinese) candidates in the 1959 elections. Under his stewardship as Chief Minister, Penang was the jewel in the crown of Malaysia and he pioneered the concept of attracting foreign investors into the State to set up operations. A concept that was later taken by Mahathir on a Federal level… without acknowledgement to Dr. Lim of course. Was bringing Gerakan into the BN a terrible mistake? Yes, as we can see now Gerakan has lost all revelance and without someone like Chong Eu is all but a punching bag for UMNO. Was he flawed? Definitely. Was he a crook? No.

Tan Koon Swan – Well, this one was definitely a crook. Just ask the courts in Singapore. Does Pan El ring any bells?

42. #42 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 4:10 pm

Tun Lim Chong Eu – I do have some respect for him.However,bringing Gerakan to BN, I think, was a mistake.

Instead of being developed into a truly national multi-race party, its has become restricted to Penang because it went under the umbrella of BN.

Its growth was curtailed and has generally degenerated into a mainly one race party with its strength only in Penang.

It can only degenerate further.

As for Tun Tan Cheng Lock, I am too young to know what really happened.But I do understand that many Chinese were dissappointed with him.

43. #43 by ycchai62 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 4:59 pm

OKT,

I have few question for u to answer :

1. As tax payers, why the Chinese being denied their right for Chinese school development fund from the government. Instead we have to dig our own pocket. why?
    2. Why are MCA has such low self esteem that u are damn satisfied with allocation of only 4 minister posts. If MCA is ranked at par with UMNO, u should aspire to become even a PM. After all, u are also a rakyat of Malaysia.
    3. Why there are not even a single non-malay CEO in GLCs, public Uuniversity, Bank Negara. Are we not qualified or just not being treated as a rakyat.
    4. Ling Liong Sik asked the Chinese to behave like a minority few years back and face the reality. What is u understanding of this statement. Are we Chinese all idiots.
    5. Tan Koon Swan set up Koperasi Mulpha and resulted millions ringgit of hard earned money of the Chinese community washed down to the drain and someone’s pocket. Isn’t it greed.
    6. Your brother, OKC said he failed to bring development to Kinta Valley as he was not elected in 2004 GE. What does it imply? A rakyat will not entitle to any development if he don’t vote for the ruling party, what kind of healthy politics MCA or BN is preaching? Inciting fear, devide and rule or u treat the rakyat as dog? (u get bone only if u bark)
    7. MCA maintain their influence or power in all rural village by handing out goodies to a bunch greedy chaps and make them village head and councilors. And they control the approvals of a various matter such as land, housing , licence etc together with other BN chaps. Now, what u call this if not corruption.
    8. Did the government made any BN’s MP to submit their account on the RM5 million constituency development fund for audit? What kind of transparency is this?
    9. Why do we Chinese have to bend to such a low esteem that we need to kow tow to UMNO if we are EQUAL ? Why? Why?

Don’t ask me but answer your ancestor instead if u are honourable and sincere. Remember , remember the 4th precept since u claim to be a Buddhist.

44. #44 by mycroft on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:03 pm

Many people were disappointed in Tan Cheng Lok because they felt he did not fight hard enough for the Chinese. But we have to understand that the situation at the time called for a give and take approach. The Chinese accepted issues such as the National Language and the Rulers, while the Malays accepted the granting of citizenship to the Chinese.

Of course these days it is UMNO takes takes takes, and everyone else gives.

45. #45 by oknyua on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:06 pm

K1980,

My opinion, your list is a bit too far. Tan Kon Suan- he is remosrseful, I think. Forgive him.
    Tun Ling LS, he never show any regret. He intensifies it with his son’s name.
    The present OKT – his crying face tells all.
    Tan Siew Sin, Lee San Choon – I think they did their best. (Just opinion). Neo YP, well he didn’t start any dynasty. Hs brother is my close friend – poor like me.

Max2811 – Omega Holdings – are you sure Ling & Sons the schemer behind this? They are related to someone behind the scheme but I don’t think they are the the main players. However I agree that your vote should go to DAP or PKR!

46. #46 by Saint on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:28 pm

Saudara kit,

Forget about MCA or Gerakan or BN for that matter.
    Just concentrate on winning as many Parliament seats possible.
    Those in this blog know of your sacrifice to this nation.

47. #47 by mycroft on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:36 pm

Tan Siew Sin – The man who did the most to break up Malaysia.

Lee San Choon – Mr. Piggy. Between him, Neo Yee Pan and Ling Liong Sik – they form a frightfully ugly bunch. But well, credit to him, he was the only MCA leader with the guts to fight in a DAP stronghold – Seremban vs Dr. Chen Man Hin.

48. #48 by dawsheng on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:44 pm

“Many people were disappointed in Tan Cheng Lok because they felt he did not fight hard enough for the Chinese.” – mycroft

Nobody has ever fought hard for the Chinese in Malaysia as they were never once united under any circumstances or any other struggles. No Chinese has ever suggest or say, let’s fight for a separate homeland in this Malay penisular, and from the Malacca days we know that the Chinese are all for racial integration as it was a proven fact with the existense of Baba.

The Chinese know the only way to go foward is total integration with other races but what they didn’t know at that time is not all people want integration, some people wants to be special. At that time who would have thought we have to fight so hard to be call Malaysians? Then it was also totally unthinkable that living together would be so hard.

It was always the question of interest. Self interest vs. group interest and all that. But ever since the day of Yap Ah Loy, Ghee Hin and Hai San, the MPAJA and communist party up till now we still have many factions with different ideologies, but never once one of these claimed to represent the Chinese except MCA.

As far as I concern there is no culprit, if there to be one then it must be everyone.

49. #49 by dawsheng on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:48 pm

Come on Mr. Moderator, my comment is ‘armless!

50. #50 by dawsheng on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:52 pm

But the bottom line is this, DAP is not fighting for the Chinese, DAP is fighting for all Malaysians, if it is worth fighting hard, this it is!

Comments are closed.