BY Dr Chen Man Hin (DAP Life Advisor)
IDENTITY CRISIS
It was clear that during the 50th Merdeka celebrations there was uncertainty and frustration among the people because they were unsure of their identity. Some were bumiputras, while others were non-bumiputras, Some were called ketuanan Melayu but others were not. They thought they were Bangsa Malaysia (Malaysian), but now they were told by UMNO that they do not accept Bangsa Malaysia.
The Federal Constitution clearly states that there is only one category of citizens. There is no mention of bumiputras or ketuanan melayu, which are actually inventions of UMNO.
Prime Minister in 2004 promised that all citizens in Malaysia are treated equally. He has not reinstated the Bangsa Malaysia status for all citizens.
VOTE FOR CHANGE. Vote for your birthright. Vote for political freedom, political equality and for BANGSA MALAYSIA.
ECONOMIC FREEDOM IS LACKING in Malaysia. It ranks 68 out of 157 countries in the world. Because of this, foreign investments into Malaysia are low compared with Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong. In a global world, liberalisation with a free market economy is important for the economy to progress.
The New Economic Policy has frightened investors from Europe and America. It is also the cause of slow economic growth. since its launching in 1971, the economy has fallen badly behind Singapore, Taiwan, Hong Kong and South Korea.
Per capita income 2007
Malaysia US$ 6146 (IMF)
Singapore 34,152
Taiwan 16,246
Hong Kong 29,149
South Korea 19,624
The figures speak for themselves. It means that the Barisan has been telling one big lie to the people. Because of the NEP and corruption, Malaysia is way behind the four Asia dragons. Malaysia per capita income is one third that of a South Korea and one fifth that of a Singaporean.
Bear in mind that in 1970, Malaysia and Singapore started at about the same per capita income level. With the present economic progress in Malaysia, vision 2020 will remain a dream at the targeted date of 2020
VOTE FOR CHANGE FOR PROSPERITY!
There is no religious and cultural freedom.
The modern global world is moving towards religious and cultural freedom. We are a secular state but Barisan’s leaders like DPM Datuk Razak claims Malaysia is an Islamic state. It is therefore not surprising that although there is an inter-faith council, all religions are represented in the council, but not Islam. It is also shocking that the courts have made rulings which imply that syariah law supersedes the jurisdiction of civil law.
Prime Minister Dato Abdullah insists there is freedom of religion, but the syariah court determines otherwise, and refused an applicant to change her religion.
Cultural freedom is also lacking in education. Mother tongue schools are not given the same treatment as national schools. In a multicultural society, all cultures must be accorded just and equal treatment. in practice, the Barisan government gives miserly allocations to mother tongue schools.
VOTE FOR CHANGE. VOTE FOR RELIGIOUS AND CULTURAL FREEDOM!.
RULE OF LAW HAS DETERIORATED UNDER THE BARISAN GOVERNMENT.
The shocking revelations of the Lingam Commission of Enquiry indicate that the integrity, credibility and independence of the judiciary have been comprised. The impression is given that judges can be bought and sold like chattels and goods in the market. it is quite evident that rule of law has been corrupted by wheeling and dealing in the courts.
Because the highest levels of justice have been corrupted, it is not surprising that it has a corrupting influence down the chain of administration of law and order.
This has set a bad example for the whole country resulting in a decline of morals and an increasing crime rate. Security has become a major problem, and the people are afraid for their lives and property.
VOTE FOR CHANGE TO HAVE RULE OF LAW, FREEDOM FROM THE THREAT OF INCREASING CRIME!
FREEDOM OF SPEECH CLAMPED DOWN BY BARISAN
Contrary to world trends towards more democracy, the Barisan government has suppressed press freedom more and more. under PM Abdullah, Malaysia’s World Press Freedom index slipped from 104 in 2003 to124 in 2007
Peaceful demos internationally accepted as human rights are outlawed in Malaysia.
Freedom of speech is banned in colleges and universities
This is a regressive law and resembles the harsh ban on free speech in communist countries, and causes them to fall behind in economic development.
Countries like Finland and Norway with free speech, the students and people are inspired with creativity and innovations. they are top countries with the highest per capita incomes and great competiveness.
Reject the backward Barisan’s policies of the communist era.
VOTE FOR CHANGE. VOTE FOR FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND ASSEMBLY
CORRUPTION AND CRONYISM HAVE MARGINALISED THE AVERAGE MALAY, CHINESE AND INDIAN AND MADE THEM POOR
Corruption is a cancer eating into the political, economic and social development. Transparency International states that the corruption perception index of Malaysia in 2007 ranked 43 out of 163 countries, far behind Singapore, Denmark, New Zealand.
It is widespread and rampant, every department is affected.
Government contracts are never on open tender but are given to cronies and well connected personalities.
The NEP has legalised corruption. The 30% quota has been used to enrich Umnoputras and cronies. APs for privileged and connected UMNO leaders have made them millionaires overnight.
Unfortunately, poor Malays continue to be poor and they have been marginalised
The average Malaysian whether Malays, Chinese or Indians or indigenous natives has been marginalised.
The 9th Malaysia plan figures show that the average household income per month was
Malay household RM 2711 or RM 540 per person
( 5 persons)
Indian household 3455 or 659 per person
Chinese household 4437 or 880 per person
According to economists, the poverty line for Malaysia is RM 1200 per person. The figures above indicate that the average Malaysian whether Malay, Indian or Chinese is all living below the poverty line
PM Dato Abdullah boasts that the poverty rate has been reduced to 6%, but the average household income statistics indicate that the average Malaysian has been marginalised.!
VOTE FOR CHANGE. VOTE FOR A CLEAN, HONEST AND EFFICIENT GOVERNMENT

#1 by Loh on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 10:41 pm
///So PKR is not our friend, but the enemy of our enemy?? ///
If one takes PKR as a friend, then it is a freind, period. When the position is not clearcut, then the enemy’s enemy is a friend, for fighting the common enemy.
#2 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:04 pm
Since there is no 3-cornered contest, perhaps banners should be reading “VOTE OPPOSITION” instead of VOTE DAP or VOTE PKT or VOTE PAS?
Would this not help voters who seem confused?
#3 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:05 pm
ooops PKR
#4 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:16 pm
A DAP member and supporter should be casting his or her vote for PAS if that helps to strengthen the role of the opposition in Parliament, and not because he or she agrees with what PAS stands. One can understand the feeling of perhaps not trepidation but outrage at the thought of having to vote for one’s traditional enemy. You are not voting for your enemy, not because the enemy of your enemy is your friend but because you would be denying your enemy of a seat in Parliament. A seat lost is a seat denied.
#5 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:22 pm
Dear kcb and Ah Pek,
1. To answer both of you, given a situation of BN (whether UMNO, MIC or MCA) vs Pas, I won’t vote. This is because, having regard to what I think is Malaysia’s longer term interest, I am of the opinion that PAS is a greater evil and therefore cannot vote for it. If I have otherwise thought that BN is greater evil, then I would vote for PAS but the fact is that I don’t : I think PAS is the greater problem.
2. Having said this, I am mindful that there will be a body of ‘not invalid’ criticisms that I am wasting a vote; that it is not practical and pointless. Well that’s a criticism/burden that I have to bear with as much fortitude as I could summon because I just cannot make myself vote for expedience (based on a greater long term enemy of a lesser immediate enemy is still my friend for now deserving of support) in a manner contrary to my conscience of what I think is ultimately good or not good for our country.
3. I am also aware that no one could claim monopoly of the truth and what is right, least of all myself. So maybe many of you are right : vote for PAS. However if, after listening to contrary views, my opinion still remains unchanged, I have to follow my own lights as to what is right or wrong. Ultimately we have to do what we ourselves think is right or wrong. By that I mean based on certain principles and not just practical expedience. That is the only sure compass in difficult and complex situations – at least for me. I can’t speak for others.
#6 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:27 pm
I forgot to say that not voting for greater evil PAS dies not imply the corollary that I should not waste my vote and therefore should at least vote for the lesser evil, BN. I won’t. If you are evil, whether greater or lesser, you won’t get my support.
#7 by Lee Wang Yen on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:29 pm
Denying your enemy at the expense of supporting (however unwittingly that is) a worse enemy?
Jeffrey has spelled out in detail why PAS is worse than BN.
#8 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:29 pm
Sory typo error rectified in capitals after ‘PAS’ – “….not voting for greater evil PAS DOES not imply….”
#9 by Lee Wang Yen on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:33 pm
Jeffrey is right that we don’t have to vote in that situation. Opting for a lesser evil is only an issue IF one is forced to choose between an evil and a lesser evil. But in the voting situation, the choices are not exhausted by ‘voting for’ and ‘voting against’. There is a third option: abstention.
#10 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:39 pm
There is a fourth – and it is called ‘spoilt votes’. Voters do go and excercise their constitutional right to vote but spoiling them like marking outside the box because their candidate is not on the ballot paper.
#11 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:42 pm
To these group of citizens it is important that they exercise their constitutional right to vote.
#12 by Lee Wang Yen on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:43 pm
Abstention is also a right.
#13 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:43 pm
This is in response to what Undergrad2 commented : “You are not voting for your enemy, not because the enemy of your enemy is your friend but because you would be denying your enemy of a seat in Parliament. A seat lost is a seat denied.” I agree that it is correct that the issue of whether or not to support ‘enemy of your enemy is your friend’ is subtly but distinctly a separate issue from ‘a seat lost is a seat denied’ for the Opposition esp in terms of breaking the all important psychogical threshold of denying BN’s two thirds majority. This is, in my view, subject to one proviso.
Undergrad2′s position is entirely defensible provided one is of the opinion that there is no costs and danger implicated in the decision to support PAS for now at BN’s expense. ie. with such support PAS will not, in a multiracial society, gain strength and eventually triumph!
Well I just happen to be those who think PAS will, and therefore there is a cost to all of us, maybe not now but long term. Now between a shorter term view and longer term one, I am inclined to the latter. That is my view.
I grant that others may think – and therefore would behave and view the casting of vote differently.
#14 by lopez on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:53 pm
It has been some time that I visit our historical melaka, there i was passing through the older part of town ,almost everything i see is 600 years old , hmm of course not the passerbys.
For me. the best part was the river side and world famous jonker street area , and also lately the other discovered parts of the aFAmosa fort, and where re- building initiatives are in progress.
Ha,,,this is good for the touristlah..but too late alreadi…. you see lah
You walk further down , expecting to see the distant beach, what the heck where’s the beach front and the iron Cross where the portuguese planted , gone alreadi loh…dont get hasty , a modern food court aircond and all is made for your conveninece but soory no nostalgia
Perhaps malaccan can throw some light on the matter,,,please.
our history, the malayan history with no particular reference of it’s origin or the type of people who had made them or caused it to have had it done that has enjoyed her prominence in the past and has withstand the great world war, WWII , the malayan monsoons,vandalism, thelf, grafitti, and was still left standing until not too long ago has been selectively belittled, demolished, removed and archived somewhere else “for safekeeping” away from $tourist, including you and me. Even at one time the dead were not spare at the hill.
smaller ancillary buildings facing the beachfront used to be offices of the dutch and english were museums for stamps of the good days i think..but now used for something else and display with other things that does not belong or had close relationship of building dwellers at those particular spots. but I am no expert .
More so and back in KL similar happening , “le d coq ” restaurant , Jalan Ampang was torn down practically overnight, I hard great set lunches there
at first the wrougth gate was locked , then the gate was vandalized and robbed because of antique designs or by treasure robbers. Out of a sudden fine day it was flatten down overnight.
Same goes to that bungalow opposite to Pudu jail, belong to a prominent man in the malayan days, whoosh one night it was gone.
I used to commute along Jalan TAR, in KL , traffic jams and humid , i still commute , i can go behind Selangor emporium and have chappati,or have curry laksa next store….sorri long time no more.But i can go Doshi and get saddle king for new year, soori nomore crowd lah, Mr Doshi also close shop. Aiya let go Globe silk store get school uniform or some cotton towels,,, soory no more crowd, …
The whole TAR now is dead street, but it has met some people aspirations.
I vote for change , a forward change , change not because of ego or other agenda , I vote for my children future, their friends future,
I vote for those people who dont reengineered other peoples respective cultures, traditions, beliefs, values systems.
I vote for those people who respect other people cultures, traditions, beliefs, value systems.
I vote for those people who dare to say what can i do to serve you, and not the other way around,
You can laugh at this guy now who says ” work with me”.
I say you can walk yourself to holland.
#15 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:00 am
“…with such support PAS will not, in a multiracial society, gain strength and eventually triumph!” Jeffrey
It is to be expected that some Malays would rather vote for PAS then vote for DAP because of their long held resentment against what they see as a Chinese party dedicated to denying them of their special privileges, just it is expected that some DAP members would vote for another Chinese political party rather than vote for PAS.
Voters need and could overcome this kind of sentiment if they believe PAS, by accident or by design, will never be a force to reckon with especially at the federal level, now and in the future. I believe there are enough educated Malays who believe PAS is not a viable option, not a real choice. The country is fast moving away from its one-party dominant system.
#16 by AhPek on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:03 am
Well Jeffrey,
I read you wrongly for a start and of course you can choose not to vote since that prerogative is yours and yours to make.However you would not then help to solve and turn the sorry state of affairs in this country and to me it is really sad.
The least we can do is to help solve this coutry’s problem one way or another for by our doing so we can at least harbour the hope that this country’s sorry state of affairs could have at least have a turning point. As it is it is going down and down seemingly into a bottomless pit.Where Malaysia could end, your guess is as good as mine.
For me my vote is the lesser evil for if we look at the long track record it is PAS that is the lesser evil.How can I say otherwise since politics after all is a human activity and UMNO has a track record of bulldozing down Indian as well as Chinese temples,not giving land for building churches,snatching bodies whereas PAS has none of such shameful acts but in fact has allowed Indian temples and Chinese temples to be built.Politics is not the great
phillosophical questions starting in the market place of Athens debating down the ages to the present day without any end in sight.
#17 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:05 am
Education is one thing emotions as affected by sustained indoctrination is another. You would recall that the pilots that flew the planes into the Twin Towers were educated pillots – homegrown in the US. :)
#18 by Lee Wang Yen on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:14 am
There is a teaching in Islam that Muslims should resort to deceptive strategy of temporary compromise when they are in a weak position, and pursue their real agenda explicitly once they have gained strength. We have to take this into account when we assess the track-record of PAS. When deception is involved, the past is not indicative of the future.
#19 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:14 am
To undegrad2 and others,
Are all the debates here confusing enough? Tell this to the common folks who are going to vote!!!!
Sometimes we have move three steps forward and two steps back. We know where we are going, but along the way, we just have to adapt, accommodate and compromise a little. This is part of the process. You can’t win all at one go. Do you think those in PAS and PKR are not thinking and contemplating the same thing? We are no smarter. So, get over with it, just vote oppositions for now. Remember LKY used the communists, the trade unions and even the communalists before attaining power.
#20 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:20 am
Ah Pek,
In a sense you’re right that based on ‘homegrown’ and local experience, the BN is a proven evil – whilst PAS (based again on home gown experience again) is only (to some of us) notionally a greater potential evil, not really proven as such yet (it has never come to power) – as it is also true that politics is dynamic and things can change from now to then – and therefore on this basis, if you take such a view, your voting for PAS is understandable.
I emphasize ‘homegrown’ and ‘local’ because based on what I see in the ‘international’ arena, the developments in the Middle East and beyond, the threat of PAS (as well as its potential to widen its base) is real (beyond ‘notional’) to me, and therefore poses a greater threat. I see similarities between PAS and radical Islamic theocracies in large swathes of Middle East.
#21 by AhPek on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:28 am
Umno has also the track record of raping the country’s treasury silly.
Umno has also a strong record of institutionalising discrimination.Look at the civil service whereby at the time of independence there is 30% participation of non Malays there and what a drop today about 10% at most.Look at the Petronas gas stations …99% owned by Malays.Look at the education budgets alloted to Chinese and Tamil Primary schools,3.5% to the 2 vernacular schools whereas Malay Primary schools get 96.5%.Whilst non Malay kids whose parents earn 1000 ringgit monthly salary are not entitled to school text book loan, Malay kids whose parents earn 2000 ringgit monthly salary are eligible.
I can go on and on but my point is this has got to end and for PAS to do like what UMNO is doing it has still got a long way to go before they can reach that powerful position that UMNO has reached and by then, again hopefully we hope more Malays, more Chinese, more Indians will think as Malaysians or as Bangsa Malaysia.
#22 by Lee Wang Yen on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:39 am
It’s true that with their current 7 seats in the parliament, PAS still has a long way to go. But it is a different story if people heed the call here and give them a big win in the coming election.
#23 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:54 am
So a big win by BN led by UMNO is ok? Please don’t continue to talk nonsense here.
Before you react, please take note that whatever you said here can influence potential voters. I have the right to say that whatever you are saying is nonsensical before more people fall into your half bake intellectual diarrhoea again.
#24 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:55 am
The stronger PAS gets – the more dependent PKR (on which hopes rest) on it (to lead the Malay constituencies) will become. Our task is more to contain PAS in its marginalised role so that PKR can fledge its wings more independently to collaborate with DAP with whom it shares congruence in ideologies.
UMNO takes 50 years to grow this strong to do as it will because it hems and haws between what it preaches and the contrary that it practises. PAS is different ball game. It has not shown this trait of hem and haw. It is very focused. A big win (for PAS) in this election is one thing but if it is a harbinger of a greater win in two general elections down the road to the extent that Opposition wins more 50% with PAS at the driver’s seat, everyone will have a big problem. At that stage, it does not need another 50 years – just one stroke of the pen to subordinate the constitution under theocratic principles.
#25 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:01 am
Dear Lim Kam Put
Are you advocating censorship here (ostensibly not to influence potential voters here for the Opposition) ? Don’t you think they are entitled to the presumption that they have minds of their own to evaluate conflicting opinions?
#26 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:06 am
I would like to think that posters here are entitled the respect that they can differentiate between truths and ‘intellectual diarrhoea’, and besides what is nonsensical to you may not, to me, and vice versa.
#27 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:06 am
Tell this to the common folks. They don’t the luxury of time and the intellect like you people here.
#28 by Loh on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:06 am
It is because Chinese would not vote for PAS that UMNO was able to ensure that MCA and MIC members are elected and be eternally grateful to UMNO to be their lapdogs. BN could have 92% Malay representatives, but they would not be able to openly declared that their policies are agreed to by non-Malays through their representatives.
When one can condone Malay racists in UMNO accepting that they had to be overzealous on their way up the political ladder, knowing full well that it is this group of politicians on the way up that are making UMNO ever more racist over the year, it is quite strange that we would reject PAS when it wanted to implement Islamic state. Kelantanese tell us that PAS follows the teaching of the Islamic religion, and the non-Muslims in the state are happy with its administration. So, PAS acts religiously whereas UMNO uses religion for political purposes. Their behaviour is not even guided by their religion.
When Chinese do not vote for PAS, then they can only hope for UMNO to change for the better. UMNO would not change unless it is required to behave properly to earn the votes. When Chinese do not vote for its opponents, as the case may be, then UMNO has no need to change.
It is true that PAS would become stronger with Chinese support. PAS might have stuck to its extreme religious views because it considered itself serving only as an opposition, and could only gain support from Malays. PAS might be encouraged that together with PKR, it might be possible to be partner to a coalition government, and as a coalition party, it has to accept a common position to be a member party of the government. The opposition parties should not form a coalition party similar to BN. They should only form coalition government so that they are free to pull out of it when the other partners do not keep to their promises.
Politics is the game of possible. When PAS can help serve the interest of all races to deny UMNO continued disgovernance, we should cultivate its potential.
When one abstains during the next election one allows others to decide his fate. So MCA and MIC representatives can continue to collect their allowances, and give UMNO the excuse to do what they please.
We want to deny MCA and MIC representatives the opportunity to hurt non-Malays, and to deny BN the right to govern, if possible. We should so it at this coming election. UMNO has shown us that it would not keep to its promise to our forefathers, and we cannot accuse PAS of that sin. If we had to deny PAS come the next election, we would at least be happy than UMNO has already been weakened by then. They might then have learnt how to repent, for once in 50 years.
Think and vote right, but never give up the right of the citizenship. Not to vote is accepting dictatorial rule, and why do we care for the right to parliamentary democracy in that event?
#29 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:10 am
A big win (for PAS) in this election is one thing but if it is a harbinger of a greater win in two general elections down the road to the extent that Opposition wins more 50% with PAS at the driver’s seat, everyone will have a big problem. Jeffrey
So if what you said is a certainty, then what are we here for discussing about opposition strategy and how BN led by UMNO should be checked? So if we need to control the raise of PAS and let PKR to take the lead instead, what make you think that PKR will not behave like UMNO once they have attained power? We have not even move one step but we start to procrastinate, contemplate and hallucinate all kinds of possibilities. Please go on with our permutations.
#30 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:18 am
Are you advocating censorship here (ostensibly not to influence potential voters here for the Opposition) ? Don’t you think they are entitled to the presumption that they have minds of their own to evaluate conflicting opinions? jeffrey
Again you are not a realist. Please look around what is campaigning for? What are all the advertisements and propaganda for? If people don’t get influenced, why do we do all these things? Election is just few days away. Please don’t complicate the already very complicated situation. Yes, please don’t talk too much intellectual cock here can or not, for the sake of the opposition and the DAP in particular.
#31 by AhPek on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:21 am
Jeffry,
They say the best proof of anything is in the eating and following that again I’ve to assert that politics is a human activity and being of that nature one must refer to track record for this activity is not like great the philosophical questions of the western tradition whereby these are debated down the ages without having an end.Choosing which party can best lead Malaysia is a question of judgement and this can be helped by referring to what they have done to date in governing the nation or their states.All other questions regarding them without reference to any bench mark (ie track record) belong to the realm of surmising and we can’t afford to do that for this country is slipping very fast into the slippery slope of self destruction.
I repeat I do not share Jeffrey’s view that PAS can be that powerful so quickly as to hold a two thirds majority in so short a time so that they can be in a position to amend the constitutions.It is just not possible.I am more sympathetic to the view that we must do away with this UMNO thing first to give the nation a breathing room for more enlightened Malaysians to emerge to dominate the political scene of this nation.Not voting in my opinion doesn’t help to give Malaysia that breathing spell.In fact it is more like to hasten the decline down that slippery slope of self destruction.
#32 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:35 am
Campaigning & advertisements and propaganda from different parties in an election is for people to have the contrariety of different mesages and ideas to sift, weigh and then decide and vote for that which is right and true – in the highest democratic traditions. You should not disparage the judgment of readers whether DAP supporters or otherwise in this Blog that they should not be exposed to differences of opinions at this time, eve of elections….Such a stance of telling everyone here – that there is but only one message, ie ‘if between BN and PAS, vote for PAS, if between BN and monkey or donkey, vote for the monkey or donkey’ and any other permutation is nonsense will only illustrate your dictatorial cast of mind no different from those in the BN camp that you so much despise and deride. I believe your stance is totally indefensible.
#33 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:43 am
AhPek
Talking about the proof of the pudding is in the eating and track record being more persuasive than philosophical debates, PAS is trying level best to be exemplary in the state it controls (and even then its most exemplary is not convincing to me) for it has to ‘show case’ what it does in Kelantan to convince Non Muslim detractors in the rest of the states to win their support and acceptance. It does not necessarily apply if it eventually wins in the rest or majority of other states.
#34 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:55 am
Never Jeffrey, I am as entitled as you to say my piece. If by so doing I am dictatorial it is also fine with me. Honestly, whatever you people discussed here are postulates. There is no way we know for sure. But right now, I only know that we have to reduce majority if not replace the existing government. To achieve that, we need to split the Malay votes the way the non-Malay votes are split during the last 50 years. Just look at BN, UMNO is the only Malay party while other communities, be they Chinese, Indians, kadazan and others are represented by more than one parties. What does that tell you? And yet you people here are talking about not wanting to vote for PAS fearing for some Islamic state? I have asked you people before, and I am asking you again now, what is the SIGNIFICANT difference between UMNO and PAS today? I only know UMNO is more racist and corrupted than PAS. The rest are the same! With regard to all the controversial constitutional amendments that we so often talked about here, may I know which government allowed it? Don’t forget, besides UMNO, MCA, MIC and all the good for nothing non Malay parties also participated in those amendments. Saya tak boleh tahan lah, bukan saya sombong dan suka nak menghina orang lain. Kamu semua kalut lah.
#35 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:56 am
Voltaire is attributed with having said, ‘I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.’ This was the Renaissance thinker that contributed much to our concept of democratic traditions of which the DAP and this Blog stands for.
However it seems to me that one of its staunchest and passionate supporters has come out with a somewhat contrary version when election is near and that is, ‘I disapprove of what you say, and I will defend to the death my right to say to you that you talk nonsense and ‘intellectual cock’ and should shut up’. That’s the new ‘democracy’ being suggested here ???
#36 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:01 am
Jeffrey, When PAS did something exemplary, it is “showcasing”. So how do you prefer PAS to behave, like UMNO?
#37 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:04 am
“what is the SIGNIFICANT difference between UMNO and PAS today?” The former is an imposter besides being, as you said, more racist and corrupted whilst PAS is genuine in its agenda just like Ayatollah Khomeini was as genuine, non-corrupt and non racist – which is precisely what is more worrying, if you think about it.
Imposter only think of greed and money, bottomline, and can shift positions if taking another stance will also help in the cause of avarice and sticking to the old ways will not.
However the RealMcCoy will not shift and compromise and there lies the problem in the longer run. :)
#38 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:08 am
See, please remember, whatever you have said or have to say about PAS are just postulates, got it?????
#39 by AhPek on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:08 am
Jeffrey,
I am not referring to a track record of one or two years.It is a record of 50 years, half a century mind you and that’s a pretty long time to judge a practical human activitysuch as to decide you one thinks would rule Malaysia better or if you like who would do Malaysia more harm.
Judging like the way you do does not give me much confidence for you are judging from the perspective of a philosophical debate which at best belongs to the realm of surmising.We certainly do not have the luxury of time on our side.Our immediate concern, at least that’s my view is to try and salvage Malaysia and the best way to do that is from their track record of 50 years.I have nothing else to turn to for referrence besides this to aid my judgement!
#40 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:11 am
“Showcasing” means not showing your true colours that are not yet acceptable; it means boiling the frog method show a bit, hide back the rest and show the contrary – can have temples, eat pork conedm racism, even field non muslim candidates, talk less about Hudud (after mainstream market gave it a thrashing in 2004 when it lost the opposition head seat to YB). It does not mean following the other guy (BN) whose qualities are just as hated….As to the question how does one know the exemplary part is not genuine, that one has to study and understand the ideology of Islamic theocracy, to vast a subject to discuss here.
#41 by Jeffrey on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:15 am
AhPek,
Sorry I think I misunderstood the context of your “track record” which you meant BN’s whilst my posting was based otherwise on PAS’s.
#42 by kcb on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:20 am
Limkamput says,
“A big win (for PAS) in this election is one thing but if it is a harbinger of a greater win in two general elections down the road to the extent that Opposition wins more 50% with PAS at the driver’s seat, everyone will have a big problem. Jeffrey
So if what you said is a certainty, then what are we here for discussing about opposition strategy and how BN led by UMNO should be checked? So if we need to control the raise of PAS and let PKR to take the lead instead, what make you think that PKR will not behave like UMNO once they have attained power? We have not even move one step but we start to procrastinate, contemplate and hallucinate all kinds of possibilities. Please go on with our permutations.”
That’s a good one, Limkamput.
Yes, can anyone guarantee that PKR will not turn into another UMNO, or even worse?
If every voter will only vote for the opposition party of his/her
choice, then the strategy of one-to-one contest is meaningless!
The only beneficiary will be the ruling coalition party.
#43 by limkamput on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:30 am
Kcb, thank you. i need it.
#44 by kcb on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 2:40 am
Sorry, another BN or even worse.
#45 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:44 am
“There is a teaching in Islam that Muslims should resort to deceptive strategy of temporary compromise when they are in a weak position, and pursue their real agenda explicitly once they have gained strength. We have to take this into account when we assess the track-record of PAS. When deception is involved, the past is not indicative of the future.” Lee
A quote out of Salman’s Rushdie’s “Satanic Verses”?
#46 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:49 am
“Imposter only think of greed and money….” Jeffrey
Excuse me! Did you say “imposter”? Who let the dogs out??!
#47 by Come2Papa on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 4:23 am
“Saya tak boleh tahan lah, bukan saya sombong dan suka nak menghina orang lain. Kamu semua kalut lah.†Limkamput
You making fun of Chinese again?? Your condescending and racist attitude shines through like the sun through the morning mist. Can run but no can hide!
#48 by Loh on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 4:39 am
We are afraid that PAS might do more harm so that we should be able to tolerate what UMNO is doing to us. That is the essence of the argument of those who object to voting for PAS in the coming election, even when we long for a change in the political scence of the country.
So, UMNO will have all the time in the world to continue boiling non-Malays like frogs. It is not just our generation that would suffer, our children and grandchildren would too.
I thought MCA only used the threat of May 13 for an immediate effect. Bt there are others who imagine that it might be worse, suggesting that the present PAS leaders are planning in advance to hookwink non-Malays so that they would establish theocracy in the country, decades later. If Malays can accept theocracy then, they would also accept it now. Are we saying that it is the corruption opportunities presided by UMNO that has keep UMNO members falling from the theocracy choice? And we should thank UMNO for the corruption practices which they have engineered to prevent theocracy!
TDM said that Chinese knew how to vote. He must have meant that we vote for status quo, speculating that changes could be worse. Yet in status quo, we are being treated worse by the year. We deserve what we vote, or abstain.
#49 by sotong on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 5:43 am
Race is not an issue in Islam and PAS….but it is a huge issue to UMNO.
In view of the deacdes of narrow, short sighted and damaging politics of race and religion, in term of national unity, BN UMNO is more divisive to the country than PAS.
#50 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 8:36 am
“Well I just happen to be those who think PAS will, and therefore there is a cost to all of us, maybe not now but long term. Now between a shorter term view and longer.” Jeffrey
There are always consequences to everything we do. Now here’s one perspective.
What we want right now is a foot in the door. What we do once we get passed that door is another matter. So great is the need to get a foot in the door, that everything else pales in comparison.