Removal of BN 2/3 majority – prerequisite to achieve BN 2004 manifesto and Vision 2020

(Media Conference Statement at the DAP Ipoh Timur Election Ops Centre, Ipoh on Wednesday, 27th Feb. 2008 at 12 noon)

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said yesterday that it was crucial for the Barisan Nasional to retain its two-thirds majority in Parliament as a prerequisite of strong government.

He said: “In this era of globalization, they would only invest in our capital market if they had confidence.

“If we have a weak government which can collapse at any time, they would just go and invest in other countries which have a stronger and more stable government.”

This is the political myth which had led Malaysia up the “garden path” for half a century and why Malaysia had failed to fulfill the potential to be a great competitive global nation, contributing our assets and resources to make other nations like Singapore more successful and pulling ahead us while we continue to fall behind one nation after another.

Is Najib seriously suggesting that if Barisan Nasional (BN) loses two-thirds parliamentary majority in the 8th March polls, the Barisan Nasional cannot govern and there will be anarchy and chaos in Malaysia?

Clearly Najib is not very good in maths. If BN is to lose its two-thirds parliamentary majority, it must lose at least 75 out of a total of 222 parliamentary seats, i.e. leaving the BN still with a solid phalanx of 147 MPs. This will give the BN a huge majority of 72 seats which will be the envy of all governments in first-world developed nations.

I challenge Najib to state and justify why the BN with a 72-seat parliamentary majority cannot govern effectively and will be a “weak government which can collapse any time”?

Is the Barisan Nasional coalition government so fragile and unstable that even with a 72-seat majority in Parliament, it could collapse any time?

Do we now have a new meaning of “Malaysia Boleh”, which was invented by the previous Prime Minister Tun Mahathir , under the Abdullah premiership?

Is Najib serious when he said that if Barisan Nasional loses its parliamentary two-thirds majority, Malaysia will lose out in the era of globalization as investors will shy away from Malaysia and will not invest in Malaysia?

Leaving aside Asia, I challenge Najib to name the first-world developed nations in the West whose ranks Malaysia hopes to join under Vision 2020 which are uncompetitive and unable to attract foreign investors because they do not have two-third parliamentary majorities for the ruling government or coalition.
I would like to know which fully-developed nation in the First World has a two-third parliamentary majority for the ruling government or coalition!

Najib is indulging in the irresponsible politics of fear and scare in the 12th general election campaign.

In fact, it is the removal of the BN two-thirds parliamentary majority and end of Umno political hegemony which are the prerequisites for Malaysia to achieve BN 2004 manifesto of “excellence, glory and distinction” and Vision 2020 objective of an united, dynamic, progressive fully developed nation.

If Malaysia is to become truly competitive and to become a first-world developed nation by 2020, we must now develop the mindset, mentality and culture of a first-world developed nation and not wait until 2020 to remove the two-third parliamentary majority – for then we will have to wait for another 30 years until 2050!

1. #1 by matterofchoice2008 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 5:22 pm

Time to vote for Jeff Ooi and the Opposition. Time to negate corrupted BN government who SAPU all from rakyat. Exercise your right now!!

TAK NAK TO HIGH CRIME
    TAK NAK TO CORRUPTION
    TAK NAK TO UNBEARABLE INFLATION
    TAK NAK TO LINGAM SCANDAL
    TAK NAK TO CHUA SOI LEK SCANDAL
    TAK NAK TO NEPOTISM
    TAK NAK TO SAPU-FROM-RAKYAT POLICIES
    TAK NAK TO ………….

http://www.geocities.com/matterofchoice2008/My_page.html

Yes, we need the check and balance for good governance.
    Please call upon all friends and relatives to vote for the Opposition.
    Please do ourselves favour by sending the right candidates to parliment
    to voice up for us. Especially Penang and Jelutong voters, we need more
    and more of your supports to reject BN parasites in the Parliment.

Please call upon your friends and relatives, vote for the Opposition.
    Especially those staying in Penang, please vote for the Opposition. Let
    the Parliment have the real voice of rakyat.

2. #2 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 5:31 pm

Nutjib, Nutjib, after Sukhoi and submarine scandal, you still want to talk about BN getting 2/3 majority or else Malaysia won’t get FDI? Are you crazy? Or is the ghost from Mongolia haunting you every night? Malaysia will continue not to receive fresh FDI because 30% must be given to umnoputera or in this issue umnowanita….
    So long as BN Regime continue to be power, FDI will flow to Indonesia, Vietnam, Singapore and not to Malaysia.To quote an example:- Singapore just got a SGD386 Million FDI from a German company to product butyl rubber (a main substance to produce tyres) which means, Malaysian tyre manufacturers will buy the substance from Singapore next time? Why couldn’t the German company set up the factory in Malaysia which is a tyre manufacturing country and set up in Singapore,a country with no rubber and no tyre manufacturer?
    Another case, Tan Sri Cam Soh managed to bring in a RM100 Million FDI to produce Geely cars in Pekan which would actually mean another few hundred million business for the local OEM manufacturers last year but had to divert the FDI to Indonesia because a certain umnowanita demanded 30%? When will this rampant corruption stop?! When BARISAN RAKYAT has formed the new government of Malaysia come 9-3-2008.

We want a change in the Government! WE WANT BN REGIME OUT!

VOTE DAP! VOTE PKR! VOTE PAS!

3. #3 by anak sungeisiput on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 5:32 pm

YBH LKS,

2/3 majority, in my view, is irelevant for the the inner circle of elitist UMNO putras. The NEP and Malay dominance will circumvent parliamentry procedures and will go their merry way to goven by adminsitratve processes in Boleh land where there is no adminsitrative laws and where the judiciary is beholden to the CEO of UMNO, the Malay Prime Minsiter. I am sorry to say the oppistion can put up its best protests. but you will be ignored and there is nothing, I repeat, nothing you or any other oppositon can do about it. Any street protests will be met with laced water canons, and the ISA will be applied with impunity.

Lingams tape has shown it all. Good luck and may the grace of god be with you and protetect you for your belief and community services.

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 5:39 pm

EC new rule, Please read here.

Calling Penangnites, please volunteer your service as polling and counting agents. Go to any DAP center and submit details.

Penang DAP is really short of manpower for counting agents and the new ruling by the ec to submit names by this Friday make it more strenous for DAP.

Just give your service for ONE DAY ONLY and see that justice is done. Walk your talk, bn machineries are so powerful that without us to help out, DAP may suffer loses in many constituencies.

There is not much time left, please, I beg you all to go to any DAP center or approach any DAP workers at ceramahs to sign up.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

5. #5 by drmaharajahrk on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 5:40 pm

really sad, in 1999 when the Malays did not support UMNO, UMNO scared the non Malays by saying that PAS was a fanatical Muslim party and if it came to power we will be finsihed.

2004, Bodowi won handsomely cos after 22 yrs of dictatorship, and after the Anwar scandle many wanted to express their protest against Mahathir. But I tell you, had Mahathir stayed on, 1999 who have become cancerous in 2004. Thats why the poor old fella cried and stepped down and made the ” Melayu mudah Lupa” poem.

2008, since the non Malays have had some issues with UMNO, they are now again playing the race card by saying the non Malays are questioning Malay right.

Sadly the Police, SPR , Judiciary are all not neutral anymore. So it is an up hill battle for us.

Any way no sweat for Pak Lah . He forgotten Anwar and probably sleeping cosily with Jeanne some where in Sri Perdana.

The boys on the ground are feeling the heat.

6. #6 by Malaysian citizen on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:05 pm

Najib and his members are all the same , they wanted the non-Malays to continuously vote themselves to be second class citizens , to be naive.

All non-Malays are already now being treated as 2nd or 3rd class citizens. We have nothing to lose. At least we can hear how uncle Lim defend our rights in Parliment.

We have given BN component parties 50 years to change things but it seems like our non-Malays’ dignity and rights are getting from less to zero.

You can see how arrogant all the UMNO members talk everytime they win , their respect to the non-Malays is getting from very little to zero.

You can see how all their departments like Police force , JPJ and Bandaraya treat the non-Malays , double standard and without respect.

As non-Malays , when the present government is bullying all of us and are we suppose to just keep quiet about it?.

When the present government has robbed our rights , and are we suppose to just keep our mouth shut?.

The police chief always mention in the TV warning not to mention sensitive issues , I trully felt that the police force is abusing their power , threatening the citizens not to mention anything even though they are being robbed of their Rights. Are we going to be cowards our whole life???. It is time to stand up for your own rights.

You can see how the government is treating us.MCA and the rest do not dare to defend our rights.

What all citizens wanted is a Malaysian malaysia society.I don’t think that is too much to ask for.

I am sure no one in Malaysia is happy being treated as a second class citizen so if you vote for BN , you are actually voting the people who made you a second class citizen.

Please stop being a naive voter , ask yourself why the Malays has special rights and special high quotas for what ever opportunities available , why you have to accept being called a non-bumi , are all the non-Malays born in another country???.

7. #7 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:08 pm

Bloggers, read this …

In his analysis, Malcolm Gladwell, in his widely read book ‘The Tipping Point’ brilliantly narrated how ‘little’ things can make a ‘big’ difference.

According to The Telegraph, the tipping point “is a magic moment when an idea, trend or social behaviour crosses a threshold, tips and spread like wildfire: like a flu epidemic, popularity of a new product, a drop in crime rate”.

Will this happen on polling day, March 8?

Malaysians have recently witnessed the Hindraf phenomenon which many believe will radically change the voting patterns of the minority Indian community. Surely this cannot be the only factor in determining the results of the upcoming elections.

As an illustration, if we look back at the recent past and the couple of issues which snowballed and created the perception of serious misdeeds by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s government, only then can we begin to understand the hot button issues which can move the urban voters beyond the “bread and butter” issues.

In 2007, a survey conducted by Merdeka Center for Opinion Research revealed surprising results.
    “About two-thirds of the respondents (51% urban and 49% respondents) think the country needs a stronger opposition,” it said. It also observed that “Chinese are more in favour of having a stronger opposition and their desire increases steadily”.

The survey asked – does the country need to have a stronger opposition? It showed that at the national level, some 66% agree, 4% maybe and 26% disagree, while in Kuala Lumpur (67% agree, 6% maybe and 17% disagree) and Selangor (58% agree, 6% maybe and 28% disagree).

Disparaging, racist remarks

What could be the causes of such perceptions?

A year before the survey was done, several Umno delegates made disparaging and racist remarks against the non-Malay community at the party’s annual congress along with its infamous keris-raising incident.

There appeared to be a serious gap between what government leadership had promised and the sentiments expressed by the ruling party’s rank-and-file leaders. Take these few examples.

“I will never allow non-bumiputeras to enter UiTM. I will ensure that the percentage of Malay students given places at public universities will always be higher than the percentage under the previous quota.” (former higher education minister Shafie Salleh, Umno AGM, 2004)

“Universiti ini tempat Melayu.” (Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak, Umno AGM, 2004, in referring to UiTM)

Compare such remarks to the 2004 BN general election manifesto which said, “BN has worked hard to provide universal access to education. We will … foster student interaction to enhance national unity.”

The same can be said of other promises made in the 2004 manifesto.

“I hope the public will not question the money saved…” (Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, March 17, 2006, on the RM4.4 billion saved from fuel subsidies). “Why are you complaining? What more do you want?’ (Abdullah, April 7, 2006 on the 9th Malaysia Plan).

Yet the manifesto argued that “BN cares about your needs and will seek your views on important issues.”

Promises broken

On “religion and culture”, the 2004 manifesto said: “BN will continue to promote peace, prosperity and harmony among Malaysians. BN upholds the diversity of religious practice, language and culture.

The reality however is very different, especially with the recent spate of Hindu temples demolition.

Or consider what Badruddin Amiruddin (left), who has been picked to defend his Jerai parliament seat, said: “Let no one from the other races ever question the rights of Malays on this land. Don’t question the religion because this is my right on this land. Don’t poke at this nest, for if it were disturbed, these hornets will strike and destroy the country.”

During a parliamentary debate, the same Badruddin lashed out at the opposition: “Malaysia ini Negara Islam, you tak suka, you keluar dari Malaysia.”

On human rights and freedom, the 2004 manifesto promised, “BN safeguards the interests of all citizens. We listen to and act on the hopes and aspirations of all groups regardless of age, gender, ethnic background and religion.”

Here’s the reality – Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Mohd Nazri Abdul Aziz on March 20, 2006 said, “We will not think twice about using this law against anyone who incites – that’s why we still need the Sedition Act and ISA (Internal Security Act)”. On Suhakam’s ineffectiveness, he said, “I think you are dreaming, we have never planned to give any teeth to Suhakam. To give them teeth has never been a proposal.”

On the corruption and abuse of power issue, Umno secretary-general Radzi Sheikh Ahmad (commenting on money politics) said, “Umno does not intend to report the cases to the ACA. We have our own mechanism.”

Urban voters better informed

Today, urban voters are better positioned to evaluate the government’s ability in delivering its promises. This category of voter segment has an information advantage that may arise due to several factors:

Greater average wealth

Higher education

Better access to the media as well as stronger urban focus in media coverage

Greater access through the Internet and interactive IT communication
    Tricia Yeoh (right), director of Centre of Public Policy Studies, has put a rather tantalising question: “Will urban voters translate their political perceptions and sentiments into changing patterns at this general election?”

Perhaps part of the answer lies in this remark by economist Zainal Aznam Yusof: “A responsible government would say what it wants to do after the elections. You cannot dupe the electorate – they know what is coming.”

Gladwell in his book concluded by saying that people can radically transform their behaviour or beliefs with the right kind of impetus.

“Tipping points are a reaffirmation of the potential for change and the power of intelligent action. Look at the world around you. It may seem like an immovable, implacable place. It is not. With the slightest push – in just the right place – it can be tipped.”

Will it happen on polling day?

8. #8 by dylsee on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:53 pm

In football, people will love to watch a match between Manchester United and Arsenal, and not MU and a second division club. So it is with us today, that we wish to see that the equality in power in politics. Power without control will ruin a person as well as a nation. Thus, denial of 2/3 majority is not enough, and we should look for 50-50 in future. This is the case in Taiwan. When a party become corrupted, it is gone, but when it has restored its reputation, it comes back. It is up to the maturity of the people to decide. Although I must say that DAP does have its own problems, at the moment it is better to give more power to DAP than BN so that the people can watch a close match in future. That is football mentality. It works, please try it out.

9. #9 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:55 pm

We should stop BN to amend the Federal Constitution at its own wish and more opposition members will also give opposition parties more power to supervise this big bad BN.

If BN is given two-thirds majority again, I am afraid the electors of Malaysia will send a wrong signal to the BN. The corrruption will be more rampant,prices of the necessities will become higher and most importantly the crime rate will skyrocket.

BN should be denied two-thirds majority in the parliament as well as SLA to show that Malaysian has become more politically mature so the foreign investors will have more confidence in the future of Malaysia.

If BN is given a big mandate again, the draconian ISA, RR or OSA will be employed to deal with the dissent more oftenly.More funds of government will be spent on unneccesary ‘white elephant’ projects.

10. #10 by Loh on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:18 pm

“In this era of globalization, they would only invest in our capital market if they had confidence.”— DPM Najib

Why is it that people had misplaced confidence and invest in our capital market? It is because MCA and MIC provided the wrong impression that they had a say in the running of the government. That was also the basis of TDM’s statement that government policies, including those that are discriminatory against the non-Malays has the approval of non-Malays through MCA and MIC. Yes, non-Malays acted out of fear, and helped to vote in MCA and MIC candidates, together with Malays who supported UMNO action to make MIC and UMNO representative wall flowers. When MCA and MIC candidates are elected, UMNO gets the impression that the non-Malays are still able to tolerate UMNO excess, and there are still room for exploitation. Foreign investors get the same impression that non-Malays are just living dead, and political stability is assured.

When MCA and MIC do not feature in Malaysian government, UMNO will be the only race-based political party in the country. Malaysia is known to have multi racial and multi religions population. Foreign investors will want to know when a race-based party is leading the government, would that government act in a racist manner; whether government policies and implementation favour the ruling community and discriminate against others. More detailed examination of government actions would be made. The government will have to be concerned about the perception outsiders have on its policies, and based on the policies, and the neutrality of implementation by its government services.

Yes, all foreign embassies in Malaysia have comprehensive knowledge and information about the discriminatory policies against non-Malays in the country. When the government wins similar large margin in general election, this will only signify to foreign governments that though there were unfair policies in the country, the victims are able to smart the pains, or leave the country, and the stability is not impaired. That indication is the number of MCA and MIC representatives elected to the parliament.

When UMNO loses its trump card in getting sufficient MCA and MIC members for window dressing, they will have to revise its policies. UMNO will have to formulate policies without racial biases so that non-Malays can even support them based on their performance. Similarly, the educated and enlightened Malays who have pride to forgo crutches would give it their support. In fact, what UMNO would lose is the confidence that they can have guaranteed return to power doing the same evil governance, and they will not be able to treat public funds as their private coffer. Politics will be a profession to serve like almost all other country in the world.

Having had the easy life all the past 50 years, there is an inertia for UMNO leaders to change. The learned and cultured Malays who believe in Islam faith of civility, equality and fair play will no doubt choose opposition parties in the coming election. The Chinese and Indians should ‘penalise’ themselves now for not having MCA and MIC to represent them in the government. That would move UMNO to change for the better. Otherwise, an alternate government could take over come next election.

There may not be risk free in seeking changes. But May 13 will never happen again because it would be too dangerous, and the riots may not be containable. So it will not be organised. MCA and MIC MPs and Ministers could not have gained any ‘fight’ if UMNO had not intended ‘the battle’ to be a side show. In fact UMNO might not have been making excessive demands in certain cases had it not been intended for MCA and MIC to stage a ‘fight’; and when MCA and MIC representatives were too afraid to try, then excesses became fait accompli. On balance, even without foreign intervention, MCA and MIC ministers and politicians are a liability to the Chinese and Indian communities.

Vote for opposition and kill the hope of MCA and MIC candidates.

11. #11 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:23 pm

Uncle Lim

Can you do something about this? I am from Johor Bahru and will be voting under the STULANG constituency where 55% of them are chinese. Here, there is DAP contesting under Noman (unknown here), BN with Mok Chek Hou and SK Song as an independent. Previously this constituency was divided into several areas so that the votes are divided. This year it has all been lumped under STULANG and is a wonderful opportunity for DAP to win, but unfortunately you have put in an unknown person under DAP against the BN candidate and the the other independent, who is more well-known in the local circle. You should do something about this – opposition votes will be split to reflect a disadvantage. My whole family is voting for opposition nevertheless.

12. #12 by cancan on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:43 pm

Malaysia is a blessed country with many natural resources-rubber,oil palm,timber,pepper,gold and most important of all petroleum.

We are one of the major exporters of rubber,palm oil and pepper in the world

After more than 50 years,we are still lagging behind our neighbor and full of animosity.

It is very clear for all to see that something is very wrong in Malaysia.
    This UMNO led government has been taking us for a ride for far too long.

Give them another five years and they will take us to hell.

If you are an investor,will you invest in a country with the following
    record ?

1) Poor security.
    2) Limited quality manpower.
    3) Rampant corruptions.
    4) Full of red tapes.
    5) Must give 30% equity to Bumiputra.
    6) Failed judiciary system.
    7) An idiotic government.

This idiotic government must be changed and we,the true Malaysians will change it on 8th Mar 2008.

History is in the making !

13. #13 by gotcha1965 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:46 pm

Same old scare tactic which UMNO frequently deploy for the last 50 years. But I’m not sure whether they meant to scare us Malaysians or they (UMNO) are so scared that they will try scare us (Voters) first to camouflage their weaknesses (of being scared).

Come GE12, even if bn is defeated 2/3, we will still have 222 MPs in parliament as leaders of the country serving us Malaysians’ interest.

Only this time we will have more matured debates on issues of national interest. No longer one way traffic to pass bill as they like to satisfy a few bn pockets. If any bills (untainted by corruption) benefit our country and us Malaysians, why would the oppositions reject.

In fact, I see it (2/3 slashed) as an opportunity for bn to cleansed themselves of corruption as they will need to perform else face the brute of the strong opposition. In time to come, only politicians with integrity will be in parliament. Those low class one-eye jack, kena-bu(a)ng-tangan bocor, will be gone forever (we hope).

Slowly but surely, this will lead us along the right path to reinstate integrity in parliament, then judiciary, then councils, then police, etc. Why would foreign investor shy away when we have a better and stable government then. In fact I believe more foreign investors will thread our way if we truly have an efficient delivery system free of corruption.

Vote DAP! Vote Barisan Rakyat! Vote for Change!

14. #14 by darnielng on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:55 pm

One thing unavoidable in any situation or country is the greed in people in a high political seat knowing that they have full control over everything and they can do it without getting caught! This is the true meaning of Malaysia BOLEH!

This gives the ruling REGIME a free hand to manipulate the law, evidence, projects, main-contractor, sub-contractos, sub-sub-sub-sub contractors, proxies and money, mostly to their inner circles.

Contesting of state and parliament seats is flawed and controlled to an extend by itself since the early days 40 years ago. This is basic statistics and equation to win majority for the ruling REGIME makes it almost impossible for the opposition. If you want to change something of a 40 years legacy. Then the election we have every 5 years since the 1960s is pointless. We will have so called democracy for these 2-4 weeks. When the ruling government softens, do their fancy campaing, 2 months of so called wonderful write up on how this country is etc…etc.

This is called ‘Divide and Conquer’. It’s easier to sweet talk each individual race when they are not combined. In this century people don’t talk about race anymore to move the country ahead. Then why is this country separating the parties out of races / religions? Answer: Power and Control means money to their own pockets and a free hand to the country without being pin pointed when done wrong.

Have we wasted 40 years for skin deep results in the country?

Malaysia’s parliament should have 3 commissions seating in the rotting building which govenment even after spending hundreds of millions of skin deep results. This is another means to pocket the $$$ from government spending. 10%, 20%, 30% COMMISSIONS for themselves or thru proxies.

(1). Royal Commissions, that overlooks the disputes and viability of th decisions made by (2) and (3). This commission will make the final say in the equation on the viability in any of the parliaments decision.

(2). Ruling Commission, could be any party (e.g. UMNO, MCA or DAP/PKR) depending on the votes by the people. But only ONE.

(3). Governance Commission, could any party which must absolute have no influence vice/versa with the (2) and totally independent. They will be the balance. They will have the full authority to audit and reject biased decisions that does not benefit the country/people equally.

These (2) and (3) must have equal seats all the time in the parliament. At the moment this not balanced, and have never been balanced.

The (4) fourth contingency check & balance will be the People’s Commission, which forms the fourth element as a final check and balance outside the parliament once any decision has been approved. Maybe the people seated here must be changed frequently enough and consists only of people that has NO influence in (1),(2) or (3) above, no direct connections, non-proxies and must be un-biased.

The Constrains:
    First major constrain is, (2) and (3) will never be balanced with the 50 year reign of the same regime and what they have done in these years to control and setup all these political/GLC entities in this country for them to maintain absolute control over the Law, Economy, Press, Enforcement, Military, and the direct Government agencies. Not to mention the current rulling party has successfully suppressed the Royalties and kept them in constant coma. No party should even control the finances of this companies or GLCs. It belongs to the people and country, not individuals who sit on the parliament on his 20 year reign to come.

Second major constrain is, majority of Chinese in this country are leaving and they don’t vote and they have seen enough not to bother about this country’s politics as they know it will not make a different, problem is Chinese is pragmatic. Only the few that stayed back are playing a role in corruption and politics. As The ruling party still needs a figurehead in each race to maintain absolute control. This makes them untouchables even if they do wrong.

Third major constrain is, the people in the seats will be there for more than 2 terms (10 years, mostly 20 years). And overtime they become greedy, incompetent and better control over the elements which he/she is not suppose to have an influence on to ensure the people’s rights. It may seem to have changed from the current elections. BUT take a look closely and analyse the link between these people involved.

Fourth major constrain is, the MCA and MIC should be dissolved or moved out from BN and be an independent else it will be another incumbent party of figureheads who are taking care of their own pockets and interests only. It has shown MCA only do their part once every 5 years. Coz a majority of them want a piece of the billion or million dollar tender!

Fifth major constrain is, the politicians on the throne will never agree on the max two term policy.

Sixth major constrain is, the current ruling politicians are too rich and powerful now, which have tipped the balance of control. When they get to powerful and rich, they forget the fact that, being in the politics means nothing for himself and must devote his term on the seat to serve the people whom he stands for. Now it’s only sweet talk and lip service with skin deep results.

Seventh major constrain is, the people in this country have a fear in them for change. They can only voice it to share their personal opinions. I think this is a start. And they have a constant imprint in their mind that they only vote for their own political party of their own race. This is why MCA and MIC should be on their own instead of still sticking with their mother BN even after 40 years they still can’t be on their own.

The Eight major constrain is, majority of the business community will support the ruling REGIME. Due to the very clear fact that they want a piece of the tender.

When the system collapses on itself only the people and the future generations will suffer. All these ruling politicians already have bunglows, beach houses, estates, own businesses outside the country, foreign bank accounts owned by proxies and constant flow of fat commissions by creating projects.

Why does the current BN must always be the government and the oppositions have always been oppositions and there is not two term switch sides? Forget about who claims which party can do better, it’s an endless, senseless, childish and unfruitful debate. This shows the political system is not mature enough for itself.

15. #15 by Ryan-W on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:55 pm

Uncle Kit, please ensure that in all DAP’s ceramahs, remind the voters of the following:-
    1. not to believe the BN advertisements in the mainstream media
    2. that BN has failed in every aspect of their 2004 manifesto
    3. that this is the last chance to deny BN a 2/3 majority
    4. that MCA, Gerakan and MIC candisates, no matter how capable, have to tow BN’s line in Parliament
    5. not to be scare of BN’s fear and scare tactics
    6. need a change in mindset in “voting Opposition for Parliament but BN in the State Assembly – especially in Penang
    7. there is nothing to lose in voting for a change but everything to gain

16. #16 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 8:07 pm

We need a stronger alternative government by 2020, just like all developed nations.

We don’t need the many ‘passengers BN MPs’ – their only role is to support whatever motions put up by their top leader…the “YES man” MPs……THe ‘SAYA YANG MENURUT PERINTAH” MPs (not representing the voice of PEOPLE that he is supposed to represent.

Just refer to History….the PORR (Penang / Dec 2002) issue:
    In the the PORR controversy, Tan Cheng Liang (SLA for Jawi) and Lim Boo Chang (SLA for Datuk Keramat), two were suspended from their own party for being neutral(not voting). Issues surrounding their failure to vote against the DAP motion in the Penang Assembly on 21 Nov, the investigation by the MCA Disciplinary Board into their abstention, and their subsequent suspension from the MCA. – This means that BARISAN NASIONAL MPs or state assemblymen are not allowed to voice out their own stand. They must support their Chiefs’ desire-bad or good, not an issue.

This implies that the Barisan Nasional practising a ‘DICTACTORISED DEMOCRACY’ . When Barisan Nasional have 2/3 majority, this style of leadership can be practiced easily…..

Lots of YES SIR!! YES YANG AMAT BERHORMAT!! I SUPPORT YOU…

LETS SEND A CLEAR SIGNAL TO THEM THAT THIS BRAND OF POLITIC IS NOT WANTED- VOTE THEM OUT!!

17. #17 by mendela on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 8:17 pm

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 8:38 pm

“Yes, all foreign embassies in Malaysia have comprehensive knowledge and information about the discriminatory policies against non-Malays in the country.”

Yes, but we would be delusional if we manage to convince ourselves that foreigners care. Racial discrimination is not a huminatarian issue like say religious persecution.

19. #19 by Loyal Malaysian on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 9:28 pm

BN has been propagating the myth that the country will dissolve into chaos if they are not reelected to power with a 2/3 majority for years. The sad thing is that many Malaysians subscribed to this fairy tale. So will enough Malaysians dare to take a leap into the unknown this election? Let’s hope so for I believe it will the start of a change towards a better Malaysia, one in which all citizens will be proud of.

20. #20 by jerry2008 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:03 pm

To all lovely Malaysian… this is the best time.. after 50 years.. BN is the weakest now… no thanks to the information age that had brought up some awful truth about abuse , corruption that had been hidden thru the eyes of our fathers and us. Ever since Tunku left us… BN had been so corrupt and money politics.

All we ask for is please vote any opposition.. is the best time denying BN a 2/3 majority. If just everyone here in Malaysia , that love this motherland… please vote the opposition.. voting the opposition doesn’t mean there will not be benefits for your town , kampung.. as we always have this misconception. But becoz of voting for the opposition.. YOUR VOICE will be heard in the Parliment… You will be seeing more justice done.. more rights fought for and not let those corrupt people in BN do whatever they like. Imagine all your pure hardwork and the sweat that you have laboured into this country… ALL are fed to these big fat lazy greedy BN people. Ask yourself.. how many of these so call leaders driving big car , big house..?? Almost all at their top ranks. Where does all the money comes from ? FROM YOU !!

If we put more than one third of opposition into parliment , we can now check on every project they propose and the opposition will report the truth to us. Unlike the past 50 years , our eyes were totally closed. We are fed with lies that had blinded us for so long.

This time around the future for you and your next generation is in your hands.. many out there that I have met who are BN supporters are switching side becoz these ‘rakyat’ are still human and has heart… they can’t bear to see what will happen if BN take on Malaysia without any opposition for the next 4 years.. Malaysia will be totally screw up.

Just remember this .. all we have to do is to deny BN 2/3 , 75 seats.. DAP , PAS , PKR.. whoever other than BN.

If you want to do yo part to salvage things.. please , please tell your friends.. family members who are voting.. please.. any opposition your choice.. vote them. Give them a chance. Why are they in the opposition ? They dun get any money. Unlike BN hordes.. the opposition hardly get anything. But yet they fought for so long.. for who ?

For the balance of the force..

Please do our part. We have 10 days. Tell 3 friends everyday. How they can make a change. Balance the force. In turn the 3 friends tell another 3 friends.

Its the best time. Or else there won’t be anychance later …BN is the weakest now. Before it is too late.

It makes a difference.

21. #21 by goldenscreen on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:13 pm

Electoral irregularities
    Kad Pengenalan: 810304075605 / K641835
    Nama: LEE SHOO KONG
    Tahun Lahir: 1881
    Jantina: L
    Lokaliti: 219 / 64 / 02 / 001 – KROKOP
    Daerah Mengundi: 219 / 64 / 02 – KROKOP
    DUN: 219 / 64 – PUJUT
    Parlimen: 219 – MIRI
    Negeri: SARAWAK
    Pusat Mengundi: SEKOLAH JENIS KEBANGSAAN CHUNG HUA KROKOP
    Saluran: 1
    Masa Mengundi: 08.00 PAGI – 05.00 PETANG
    No Siri: 1

Kad Pengenalan : 900613130072 / K726407
    Nama: SALUS BT ALI
    Tahun Lahir: 1890
    Jantina: P
    Lokaliti: 219 / 64 / 02 / 001 – KROKOP
    Daerah Mengundi: 219 / 64 / 02 – KROKOP
    Pusat Mengundi: SEKOLAH JENIS KEBANGSAAN CHUNG HUA KROKOP
    No Siri: 2

Kad Pengenalan : 951231131555 / K420498
    Nama: SAMAT B HOSSEN
    Tahun Lahir: 1895
    Jantina: L
    Lokaliti: 219 / 64 / 01 / 004 – PUJUT-LUTONG RD
    Daerah Mengundi: 219 / 64 / 01 – PUJUT
    Pusat Mengundi: SEKOLAH JENIS KEBANGSAAN CHUNG HUA PUJUT MIRI
    No Siri: 1

Also check these IC numbers at SPR:

There are many more such people in the electoral roll of Miri, Sarawak alone. Can you believe that in Miri alone there are so many people above the age of 100 still alive, the oldest being 127 years old?! Imagine how many more such cases exist in the whole Malaysia? One reason that can be used to dismiss these cases is that when the person(s) died, the National Registration Department did not pass it along to the SPR. Even so, no one will believe that there will be an army of 100 year old pengundi hantus coming out to vote. A valid point. However if that is the case, wouldn’t it also be possible that much younger deceased people, say those born between 1940 to 1970, whose deaths are not passed to the SPR and whose names are still in the electoral roll? Wouldn’t this be the perfect army of pengundi hantus, because the people they send is closer to the age of the deceased? We must demand a clean electoral roll where all deceased are removed.

22. #22 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:46 pm

“…I challenge Najib to state and justify why the BN with a 72-seat parliamentary majority cannot govern effectively and will be a “weak government which can collapse any time”? ”

YB, I am afraid Najib is right. Because he knows the majority of the MPs elected such as the likes of Bung Mohktar and co. are not exactly what you call “good” MPs. He knows they can be trusted to put their foot in their mouths. And he knows that he can trust them to buang malu the Govt. So by his screwed up reasoning, if he has higher numbers, hopefully there will be more decent MPs.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:55 pm

“BN has been propagating the myth that the country will dissolve into chaos if they are not reelected to power with a 2/3 majority for years. The sad thing is that many Malaysians subscribed to this fairy tale.”

Such scare mongering will not work today the way it worked in 1969. Voters are more sophisticated in the way they think today, better informed and able to distinguish between leaders who have the best vision for the country and those who are corrupt who are trying to cling to power the way they cling to their pants which keep dropping to their ankles!

24. #24 by limkamput on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 11:58 pm

I keep reading and hearing about calling for volunteers to be polling and counting agents as well as doing other works on behalf of DAP during election. While it is a noble cause for those who are willing and able to do, I think it is time DAP seriously look at building up its war chest so that the party can really finance its operations. Depending on volunteers is so piece meal and unpredictable. We need to pay party workers no matter how unpleasant I feel when writing this. DAP must campaign for donation and contribution throughout the year to build up its financial strength for the future. To ask for donation and contribution just before or during the election is a little too late. DAP must build up its financial strength so that when next election come along, the party will have the financial resource to organise and pay party workers to carry out the job. It is time to change the party organisation and management. The PJ DAP headquarter has remained unchanged since in the 1970s. To change, we need money to make it happens. We must make DAP the party of choice of the young, encourage as many young people as possible to join the party and during non election time organise political awareness courses and other activities for them to mingle. The party must have medium and long term strategic goals. It must harbour ambition to govern this country someday.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:04 am

Hahaha good one Uncle Kit. Looks like this Najib is clueless abt governing a country. He only knows that with 2/3 they can plunder the country dry. In fact if gvn 100% to BN we Msia can be rank 1 in all fields.

Najib, go learn u abc4 la.

26. #26 by P.O.T.S on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:09 am

It’s heartening to see less racial-oriented comments in this blog.

All of us must convince our non-Chinese friends and acquaintances that DAP is not a Chinese chauvinistic party.

Only then can DAP win in more constituencies and with bigger margins!

On its part, the DAP leadership must try to embrace the Malay and bumiputera voters. Recruit more Malay members, field them as candidates if they’re qualified.

Our Malay friends hold the key to DAP’s destiny.

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/02/kepala-sama-hitam-hati-lain-lain.html

27. #27 by Loh on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:15 am

///Yes, but we would be delusional if we manage to convince ourselves that foreigners care [about racial discrimination in Malaysia.]///

We can’t be sure whether foreigners care about it but it is certainly against the United Nations Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial discrimination, proclaimed by General Assembly resolution 1904 (XVIII) of 20 November 1963. The fact that MCA and MIC are represented in the government gives the wrong impression that all is well with the country. We can only call notice to foreigners to review their investment position when there are significant changes in the election results, when it is known that government policies against the minorities persisted.

Since UMNO has taken the action to fill MCA and MIC in safe seats so that they would not be wiped out entirely, non-Malays should be united to ensure that the others are rejected, to bring in significant change in the results.

Malays in comparison to other races received more government assistance under the UMNO racist Ketuanan Melayu policies. What is not generally known is that the same level of assistance could have been provided to them, and all other Malaysians. The savings, or money not spent for the benefits of non-Malays similar to that available to Malays have been misappropriated through government projects issued without public tender. In fact when UMNO government created the bumi/non-bumi dichotomy, more public funds which could have been used for the benefits of all Malaysians are diverted to the families of well connected UMNOputras, and the cronies of the powers-that-be. For example, RM 500 million that was paid for service in the purchase of arms of Atlantuja fame could have been used to the benefits of the citizens, rather than to a small number of well connected persons. No question will be asked about whether the money was morally right to be spent, and the politicians will again be elected because the Malays will put the person back into power because he belongs to the same ‘race’.

RM 500 million could have been used to hire 5,000 thousand lecturers for a year. There are currently 12,000 teaching staff in public universities in the country. With an additional 30% teaching staff, or 3,600, and other support staff, RM 500 million could have allowed 30% more students into the universities in the country. The increase in vacancies could have allowed students to take the course of their choice, and allowed others who could not afford overseas education to pursue their studies in the country. Others who are now overseas need not have gone there and that save foreign exchange. The vacancies for teaching position would have allowed intake of non-Malays, and it would change the unusually high Malay teaching staff ratio of 92% to something better reflect the student ratios in the campus, when the additional vacancies similarly bring in more non-Malay students. Obviously, at the moments all the Malays who met the minimum qualifications as lecturers and students have all been absorbed into the universities. That might be the reason why it was never in the interest of the government to expand university student intake in the first place.

There are many more RM 500 million which somehow ended in the pockets of people with the right political connections. The money which could have been used to create jobs and to push for economic developments for the benefit of the population with multiplying effect, ended up in the hands of a few, for their families to further monopolise economic activities in the country. The enemies of ordinary Malays are not the Chinese and Indians who worked hard to earn a living according to the rules of the country. The enemies of ordinary Malays are those who create laws for others to follow when they steal in the name of Malays while masquerading as their protectors. It is the UMNOputras who insisted that NEP should continue forever or else Malays would revolt, giving the impression that Malays who profess Islamic religion which uphold civility, equality, justice and fair play would negate on the promise made by their forefathers that the special position given to the Malays for a period of 20 years, to attain the stated target of 30% ownership in equity share capital of limited companies would negate on the promise, after the 20 years have passed, and worse when the target had been achieved long ago and yet refusing to acknowledge it.

The powers-that-be bring shame to the Malay community in insisting on NEP through bullying technique, not because the poor needed help in desperation, but in the name of the Malay poor, to make themselves and their families fabulously rich. PM AAB lamented that Malays have not reached the top of the list of the richest billionaires in the country. He did not think about the poor when he uttered those words.

Over the past 50 years government funds from taxpayers have sent hundreds of thousands of Malays for overseas education. The are now learned, and educated. They should not be grateful to UMNO which used public funds for their opportunity, they should be grateful to the country and the King. It is time we seek their help to search their heart to compare with the countries where they have been educated, whether UMNO is entitled to continue with its ways. We hope that they will vote with their conscience. UMNO needs to be taught a lesson.

28. #28 by maxplus on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:23 am

“If we have a weak government which can collapse at any time, they would just go and invest in other countries which have a stronger and more stable government.”

Mr Najib; yes you are right; we are facing the situation you mentioned at present as we speak. Thanks for reminding; so we take your own words to vote to have a better government.

Dont worry; we wont vote or your friends. We will never vote for weak governance again

Dont you guys ever had enough; cukup la wei. Dah basi la kau orang punya cakap.

And u think your stinking instill fear propaganda on TV is going to work.

Hey TDM did that too; at least but he knew what he was doing. You fellas are trying to run on auto pilot. I cant take the repeated and stereotype plot again and again. You just dont think that you can brainwash us.

I cant believe that the TVs are really making us look stupid; come on grow up.

You want to go to space; but you want the cosmonaut to learn ABC????

Thanks

Mani

29. #29 by One4All4One on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:38 am

Appeal to all voting friends….all shud close rank now..NO bickering over who the candidates are..let’s vote for non-BN parties….to get strong alternative voice in the parliament…that shud b our priority number one..

30. #30 by One4All4One on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:39 am

DAP must show fellow malay friends that we are there for everyone and everybody….to fight for all of us..

31. #31 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 1:32 am

I don’t understand why some are so worked up by some nimcompoop’s comment that UiTM is reserved for Bumis? Sincerely with that kind of quality do you sincerely want to waste your time there? If I want to look to equip myself to compete in the international market that would be the last place I would want to go. There are so many courses one can take without the need to arm one’s ego with some papers not many in the market give a damn? So why get work-up over such moronic comments? You will continue to hear of world standard as target, and we all know that in a computer, we get garbage-in garbage out. These talks are cheap, just to massage the ego, feeling good, well what is there to talk about?

32. #32 by Loh on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 2:13 am

///I don’t understand why some are so worked up by some nimcompoop’s comment that UiTM is reserved for Bumis?///

Well, it is because we have the share to foot the bill. Government funds are collected from all, depends on how much they earn, and it should have been spent for the benefits of all. The weak deserves support, but the parasites increase their numbers, and claim that with number, they have the rights to bully.

It is true that when UiTM is reserved for one race, the institution is not worth attending. But for those who have no choice of going overseas, that might be the only hope.

33. #33 by smeagroo on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 6:51 am

The indelible ink to put used on finger nails, is there a way for one to file the nails thus removing the ink?

Shouldnt it be better if the ink is applied to the skin at the thumb?

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 7:26 am

The issues viewed negative to businesses by foreign investors are the NEP, bureaucratic red tape that businesses have to put up with due to corruption and lack of work ethos in part attributable to subsidies mentality, and of course the crime surge.

The kind of ‘strong’ leadership that foreign investors like is more a reference to the personal leadership qualities of the man at the helm, whether he implements and could have the political power and will to implement, without prevarication, executive and national policies that he could articulate with clarity and certainty free from arbitrary reversals and qualifications.

[The personal qualities of the premier are also a matter of perception here. I hate say this but no great admirer of TDM’s leadership but I have to admit that during our 1997 financial crisis, from the conversations with various executives of multinational companies and foreign banks – and on one or two occasions even had a sneak perusal of their internal memos – their head offices appeared to have this ‘perception’ that Malaysia would pull through the crisis relatively unscathed due to the supposedly ‘strong’ leadership of TDM. I am not saying that they were correct, merely the fact that it was the perception of some of them].

BN’s losing two-thirds majority in Parliament is itself not a prerequisite of strong government. Whether BN’s losing simple majority of 50% is (temporarily) a negative disincentive to foreign investment is itself a matter of contention – that few will buy that it is, unless it is keenly felt that some sore losers would probably instigate civil disturbance to justify holding on to power, contrary to popular will reflected in the polls.

A poster above (Verbal-lash)mentioned about Malcolm Gladwell’s “Tipping Point” – “a magic moment when an idea, trend or social behaviour crosses a threshold, tips and spread like wildfire: like a flu epidemic, popularity of a new product, a drop in crime rate”.

Possibly, for BN to lose its traditional two-thirds majority in Parliament, notwithstanding the tremendous advantage it enjoys as incumbent, may be the tipping point for it to realise and accept the imperative that it has to review its existing policies and political culture -re-invent itself – so to speak to be in tandem and sync with changing aspirations of voters in the mainstream of society or else face a reversal of support leading to even loss of 50% eventually. There lies the importance of the two-thirds majority threshold to both BN and the Opposition. The two-thirds is symbolic of the BN’s invincibility notwithstanding its failures in various policies and abundant shortcomings in other endeavours. Hence it is also the reason why Najib is making an issue over it.

It is not so much as the two-thirds majority is required to make drastic amendments to the Constitution. The BN has, with that two thirds, already made more than sufficient vital constitutional amendments in the past to entrench the power and expedience of the incumbent government and further amendments in this regard are superfluous and no big deal. (Per our constitution, only amendment of certain vital areas requires two thirds majority, the rest don’t require and a simple majority would suffice).

On the whole, having up to one third of parliament filled with opposition members is a good thing. It will make proceedings more interesting; there will be greater debate of pros and cons of issues in parliament as a microcosm of the larger political polity; there will be a greater diversity of points of view that is representative and reflective of the going-ons in the larger Malaysian society.

35. #35 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 8:47 am

These political failures want the NEP to be continued indefinitely
    http://www.sun2surf.com/images/sun2surf/articles/20896/sireport1abstract.jpg

36. #36 by justice4sarawakian on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:12 am

Just wondering, why are there no DAP contestants in areas such as Selangau, Kapit, Kanowit, Tg Manis & Igan constituencies in Sarawak? Chances for the DAP to deny BN 2/3 majority are slimmer with these constituencies uncontested.

37. #37 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:42 am

BN, BN, BN, sound likes Be End, No!, No!, No!, Sure U don’t wan Msia Be End, so NO VOTE FOR BN.
    Seriously, all those BN supporters, U are either a masochist, or an insane or a moron, or a crook who had collaborated with BN for yr personal gain at the expense of Rakyat. Otherwise cannot think of a suitable word for U.

38. #38 by Democrats on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 2:27 pm

Najib speaks as though the general population are five year olds….

Ruling without the 2/3 majority is the only way to ensure policies, laws and regulation are set responsibly with the people in mind, not individuals.

In US, if Democrats beats the Republican by 57% to 43%, these are already called landslide victories. In Malaysia, choas and riot will appear when this happen.

How could a 2/3 majority instill confidence in Malaysia to foreign investors? If so, we would be one of the world richest country in term of GDP output and per capita income, given our 50 years of ruling with a mandate.

Take for example the case of DIGI. Formerly under the stable of Vincent Tan, DIGI was a loss making company. Under the management and foreign ownership of Telenor, DIGI bloomed to become one of the most talked about BLUE CHIP company in Malaysia. Their innovative approach and strategic management have revolutionize the telco industry in Malaysia. We are getting the competitive rates of calls everywhere because of DIGI. If it was to MAXIS and Celcom alone, trust me, call rates would have gone up like eggs, flour, sugar, toll rates, etc…

Instead of being rewarded, they lost out of 3G license to TimeDot.com, one of the most embarrasing listing project in Malaysian history. Now, DIGI must work together with them on 3G industry. Now, if I’m a foreign businessman, I doubt I’ll invest in this country!

What Najib doesn’t understand or choose not to understand, is that BN can still govern without the 2/3 majority. Unlike BN component policies that states MUST support BN resolutions, I’m sure Opposition would vote in favour of BN IF the laws passed are reasonable and to the benefit of the people. I’m sure allocations for building proper public amenities using proper tendering techniques and reasonable cost would be jointly approved by the opposition to achieve the 2/3 mandate, as these are deemed to be wise spending of tax payers money. Of course, money spend of sending a tourist to space would be frowned upon.

Like in US after the 9/11, the PATRIOT ACT was passed to reduced liberty and allow more scrutiny and intrusion of individuals privacy in the name of security was passed by the majoirty of both parties, yet now when the dust settles, many are now working to revert back these laws. That’s the beauty of a government without a 2/3 majority!

It’s worrying my DPM can’t see this. His very statement in newspapers where thanks to the world of internet can now be read with a sense of humor or awe. I think these kind of statement from Malaysia’s 2 in command are more likely to push amy foreign investors interest into our country. Not whether its 2/3 majority or not.

39. #39 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 3:31 pm

Beware the work of the Elections Commission as they can create and recreate boundaries to benefit certain parties to which they are beholden.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/gerrymandering-art-or-science-in.html

40. #40 by Loh on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 4:23 pm

testing

41. #41 by Loh on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 4:32 pm

///I don’t understand why some are so worked up by some nimcompoop’s comment that UiTM is reserved for Bumis?///

Well, it is because we have the share to foot the bill. Government funds are collected from all, depends on how much they earn, and it should have been spent for the benefits of all. The weak deserves support, but the parasites, pretending to help the weak are increasing in their number, and they claim that with number, they have the rights to bully.

It is true that when UiTM is reserved for one race, the institution is not worth attending. But for those who have no choice of going overseas, that might be the only hope. Then again, it might be a waste of time when the process of education happened in form but not in fact. UMNO has turned everything in the country into a stage, like a dream. Perhaps the low standaard of earning and living was UMNO aim of limiting the mobility of the people so that the do not realise what real things are in life. UMNO could then be said to be caring in making sure that the pretected race are always living in the bliss of ignorance. How touching!

42. #42 by Jonny on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 4:55 pm

Tun Mahathir Admitted Victimizing Anwar Ibrahim in 1998!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPKrsCqznS0

43. #43 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:35 pm

2/3 majority has becomes a mythical figures: it conveys absolute power for absolute corruption.

Look at the world developed democracy. They do not need 2/3 majority in their Parliament or Congress. Good, fail and just policies will be accepted by all the citizens. They do not need 2/3 majority to rule efficiently, effectively, in a clean and uncorrupted environment, to develop the country and bring it forward in the most expeditious manner.

44. #44 by ktteokt on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 10:02 pm

Maybe old man Mahathir realizes his time may be up soon and in order to clear his conscience before going to “akhirat”, he is admitting to all that he has done to Anwar.

45. #45 by simsimsim on Saturday, 1 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

Penang to catch up with Singapore ?? a dream or reality ?? only Dr Koh himself know about it !!
    Malaysia spent $$ sending people to Angkasa ( multi million dollars ) , Singapore is going to distribute surplus fund to Rakyat !!! That’s why Penang still have long way to catch up with Singapore , please compare Komtar with Vivo City in Singapore ….how you feel ??
    We will definitely need to reduce the majority by BN , now they could do whatever they want at their whim and wish !!! for sure , opp parties will not win to form the government , BUT we need to give them chance ….
    Clinton said “ is still economic , stupid !! and Obama said “ Change…..” what u say ?
    Absolute power – corroup Absolutely !!!

46. #46 by matterofchoice2008 on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 6:16 pm

Koh Tsu Koon buckling under pressure by Umno Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein to take disciplinary action against the Gerakan Youth vice chief S. Paranjothy who dared to speak out.
    But come to brushing off what Opposition member had said, Koh Tsu Koon appeared to be very brave.[Koh Tsu Koon said Jeff Ooi irresposible and ignorant]
    Fellow Malaysians, see for yourselves. Perhaps Koh Tsu Koon should spend more time to study what his member S. Paranjothy spoke out had any truth in them. But Koh Tsu Koon chose to bow to his UMNO boss quickly and willingly.
    Please call upon your friends and relatives. Do not Vote for Koh Tsu Koon at Batu Kawan seat. Vote for Jeff Ooi at Jelutong seat. In short, please vote for the Opposition.
    We need more oppositions in the Parliment to do check and balance for good governance.

47. #47 by Luther on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 10:47 pm

DPM you must be sleeping in the missing submarine,Our FDI already lack behind even Indonesia,so how many time of 2/3 majority needed for BN to catch up the gobloklisation of the BN gov,where on earth there is give up 30% globalisation,it is umnozisation.don’t let us laugh in kopitiam lah DPM.

48. #48 by matterofchoice2008 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 4:57 pm

Koh Tsu Koon tried to counter Jeff Ooi in the Press. Koh Tsu Koon said that what he claimed in 1999 before election about Penang’s economy would catch up with that of Singapore in ten years time was MERELY to encourage Penang people that time. Now trying anyhow to turn the table? Koh Tsu Koon as Penang chief minister, wants to blame Penang people for what his own claim in 1999 and for what he fails to deliver now? Koh Tsu Koon if you could not achieve, don’t you anyhow claim that in the first place. Tak tau malu! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! PUI! What kind of Penang Chief minister is this?

Voters, please reject Koh Tsu Koon at Batu Kawan. Time to vote for Jeff Ooi and the Opposition. Exercise your right now!!

http://www.geocities.com/matterofchoice2008/My_page.html

We need the check and balance for good governance.
    Please do your part. Please call upon all friends and relatives to vote for the Opposition.
    We need to send the right candidates to parliment to voice up for us.
    Penang and Jelutong voters, we need more supports to reject BN parasites going into the Parliment.

49. #49 by matterofchoice2008 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 6:14 pm

Now in Press Teng Hock Nam says that Koh Tsu Koon already asked him last week to get ready to take over Penang Chief Minister.

So now there are at least 3 Gerakan guys interested to be next Penang chief minister. Another two possible candidates were Teng Chang Yaw and Lee Kah Choon.

Koh Tsu Koon earlier mentioned his strategy/philosophy of making known his successor as “Bian zong you ding, ding zong you bian” meaning there will changes among changes. What kind of stupid game Koh Tsu Koon is trying to play? Trying to fool Penang people again kah?

Koh Tsu Koon, Penang people is not for you to fool like that. Penang voters, let Koh Tsu Koon know that we voters are the boss not him. We voters don’t care about your stupid game, Koh Tsu Koon. We voters shall decide this. We shall all vote for the oppositions this time round!!!!!!

Please do our part. Please call upon all friends and relatives to vote for the Oppositions.

50. #50 by gycgocnt on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:21 pm

Why `Malaysian’ should not vote for BN

First of all, I’m not representing any political parties and I’m not intend to support for any party, this document was just prepared to give some viewpoints to all of the Malaysian, which are sharing under the same roof with me.

a) Cronyism: It’s very painful to inform you our lovely country ‘ Malaysia ’ is infected with this ‘virus’. Cronyism can even collapse a strong country, you will understand it if you know a lot of history of China dynasty. Cronies in our parliament will reject/ attack all the suggestion of their opponents, no matter its true or false; they will blindly support for their own members despite it was non-constructive/ danger to our nation. Our current rulings party has this kind of culture, the parliament’s debate had proved it long time ago.

b) Corruption: Our rulings party always beautifying themselves about the corruption is just a minor problem. If you see a police stop somebody beside the road, what would you think of? The answer is corruption. We are not necessary to educate these people who accept bribes, we just need to let the rulings party know a sentence- If you can accept bribes for RM1, your followers will dare to accepts RM100.

c) Marginal policy: This is not comment on the issue of Chinese or Indians citizens. Our government affirmative policy is using ‘Bumiputra Right’ as their tools to maximize their family or crony’s fortune. By practicing this policy, government awarded contracts without transparency, opening and fairness, the people in power use government tools or agency to benefit the ‘Close-One’ with them. As a result our rulings party is marginalize other Malaysia Citizens out of their cronyism kingdom. In the long term period of time, he/she will be interested with the whole country fortune by keep practicing this kind of ‘Marginal Policy’.

d) Parliament, Judiciary, Executive: Our country’s constitutional is consists of these three independence board. In fact, our parliament is just a finger of executive, and judiciary is the pistol waiting for finger to fire it. Don’t you believe me? Recall your memory with Anwar Ibrahim’s corruption and sodomy charges in 1999 or, V.K Lingam’s video clips recently.

e) Mismanagement of Funds: Perwaja Steel Sdn Bhd, UEM/Renong Saga, Matrade Building, MRR2 Flyover, Leakings in Parliament House, Putrajaya, Scenic Bridge, MAS Airline, Sultan Ismail Hospital in JB, PLUS expressway, Double Tracking Railway Project, Proton. These is all the ‘Flying-Colour’s missions’ archived by our rulings party, it takes how many years to complete this kind of mission? How frequently the government spent hundred of millions to bail out or to colouring their mistake? And where’s the handsome amount of money getting from? The answer is: You, Me, He, She, And We!!! (Rakyat Malaysia- the Taxpayer). It’s time to ask this robber to stop the play-acting, we are not childish.

f) Qualification of Members of Parliament: The standard of this rulings party representative is quite worrying by us. How come a Rakyat’s representative created an issue like ‘Bocor” in parliament debate, does his mother ask him how to respect a women? And how about the sexual scandal for the Johor’s Chua, while his son is representing him this time around, it’s proved that the son of Chua is forgiven his dad, on the other hand, it shows us this young man is not respecting his mother(women too) so. And how about the ‘Close One Eye’ issue happened to the Melacca’s Yasin MP? Even though these men are not contesting in this election, we realize this is all the “standard of quality’ can be provided by BN.

g) Free and Fair Election: Would you believe in this? By Election Act, Police Act, University College and University Act, Internal Security Act, Publication Act, Media and Press Act, this ruling party had wash minded and controlled of Rakyat Malaysia, we should not depend on new blood of this rulings party (like what happen in 2004 General Election- New PM effects), but just increase the opposition’s power by just voting for any party out of the BN. Once a day, we had to change the government, increase the voices of oppositions is the only way to forms this foundation. Have you heard about the same wine in different bottle has a different taste? Do you wish your next generation live under current mode of ruling, with mockery of democracy?

h) Races Card: Every party can ask people to vote for them, include you, BN. But, don’t mislead the voter (especially the rural area voters) by saying ‘Vote for Opposition will result a instable social, riots occur, or even history of 513 issue will be returning! We wonder who is actually playing the races card. We are not going to foolish by you; we can live under the same roof with harmony.

i) It’s time to change: This is what we got from US’s Obama. The ruling party is too strong; even a pasar malam’s Ah Sor knew it. Too strong rulings party gave us to know cronyism, corruption, money-politics, red-tape, proud, play-acting, high handed policy, non-admitted wrongs doing, without any change to establish with the globalization world, no resignation and no ‘Sorry’ come out from their mouth. They just have a secret weapon ‘Wait for the PM make the decision’. I am here to let you know, in fact, their boss is not PM, they had to take the responsibility and report to Rakyat Malaysia . See how the Taiwanese wake up after Kuomintang practicing ‘Black Gold Politics’ for such a decade? Take a look on how Indonesia wins the power back to the citizens under the cronies’ era of Suharto?

Finally, this letter was sincere, please considering enough before you cast the vote into the ballot box. Cast your vote meaningfully, cause your vote is not casting for yourself, it is for the next generation in this beauty country. We love our country, we should not let the above ‘Malaysian Dilemma’ continues again. Wake up! My friends! Wake Up! Malaysian!

51. #51 by scorpian6666 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 11:47 pm

Today my auntie (in her 60’s) came by my house to ask me to sign up my name and give her my id no. Curious..I asked why ..she answered her association ask all their members to go and search out 10 each of their relative to sign up with their ID nos. in support of the BN
    I am wondering how that’s going to make me vote for the BN, just signing my name and writing down my id nos.
    What more, my sport club has a banner asking all member to support the BN, to keep governments’ sport grant coming.
    Then there is this Big TIMBER company holding dinner for 2000 of their staff with RM20,000.00 worth of LUCKY Draws.
    Are these signs of Despair ?

52. #52 by vwfs68 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:22 pm

How do we get the message out to the great unwashed?

Many are still blind to the sins of BN government!

http://vwfs68.blogspot.com