(12th General Election Nomination Day statement by DAP Ipoh Timur parliamentary candidate Lim Kit Siang in Ipoh on Sunday, 24th February 2008)
This 12th general election, unlike the previous 11 general elections, is not just about the next five years but a vote about the first 50 years of Malaysian nationhood and the next 50 years!
To many Malaysians, this general election is the last hope for change and an acid test whether there is a future for the building of a democratic, competitive, multi-racial, multi-religious, secular and just nation which our forefathers pledged to build through the Merdeka “social contract”.
It will be the clincher in the decision-making of many Malaysians whether there is hope to build a democratic, just and competitive Malaysia or there will be a new exodus of braindrain of the best and brightest of Malaysians to other lands in despair at any possibility that all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, can have an equal place under the Malaysia sun.
Most challenging of all, the March 8 general election offers a golden opportunity to halt and dismantle the four-decade Umno political hegemony which has become the greatest threat to democracy, international competitiveness and national unity in Malaysia.
Umno political hegemony has marginalized not only whole communities of ordinary Malaysians, but even the other Barisan Nasional component parties as illustrated by the ordeal of the Gerakan Wanita Chief, Datuk Tan Lian Hoe, being kicked around like a football Bukit Gantang, back to Gerakan’s Taiping seat, then to Lenggong and now Gerik.
The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has said that none of his cabinet ministers except for his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Razak were guaranteed a cabinet position even if they won in the general election – meaning that the top leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC for the first time in 51 years are not assured of a Cabinet position if elected.
This the latest twist in the Barisan Nasional ‘power-sharing” and proof of greater marginalization of the other Barisan Nasional component parties because of the unchecked rise of Umno political hegemony.
The challenge on March 8 is whether history can be made to check and dismantle the Umno political hegemony, which marginalized ordinary Malays, Indians, Chinese, Kadazan-Dusun-Muruts, Ibans and indigenous people, orang Asli, by depriving the Barisan Nasional of two-thirds majority.
If DAP, PKR and PAS can each secure 25 parliamentary seats, denying BN of 75 parliamentary seats, then the beginning of the end of the umno political hegemony threatening democracy, international competitiveness and national unity would have begun.

#1 by Democrats on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 3:39 pm
For things to change in this country, we need to revert the laws previously ammended by the mandate given to BN for the past 50 years. Denying them 2/3 majority only stops them wrong making more absurb laws and further plunging our nation into the abyss.
What is needed is for the oppostion to obtain 2/3 majority to right the wrongs and undo the past mistakes – like removing the NEP. But in a country where the NEP protects more than half the population, it seems hardly possible.
What we need is true blood Malay – successful, determined and proven under the opposition front who achieve success without any help of the government (direct or indirect) – someone who really believes that the NEP is actually the root of the problems of this country. Is there such a person in the opposition? –
…..Someone that can tell the Malays and other Bumis that it is the NEP that have kept the majority of them far beyond what majority of the non bumis have achieved. It is because of the NEP, that the Chinese and Indians have slogged it out to be where they are today. And simply keeping it is NOT the solution. – Wisdom saying of “Give a man a fish, feed him for a day, Teach a man to fish, you feed him a lifetime.” If it comes from a Chinese or Indian, it is only deemed that he or she is jealous that they do not recieve equal treatment.
…..Somebody who can tell the masses that while BN have given general peace and stability and growth in this country, it is still an underperforming government that could have been so much better given our pool of resources and positive advantages we have, – rather than agreeing to a group of hasbeens telling us that we should be grateful for what we have, and comparing ourselves with people worse off rather than aiming to equal or beat the benchmark set by developed countries.
…..Somebody who have the charisma that all Malaysians would want to represent them in the international stage, where we can feel proud that this is my country’s greatest leader, rather than getting strange looks from foreigners and journalist when my ministers attends an interview, or the need to wake up the people around me when my PM speaks!
…..Somebody that attracts and develop quality politician to represent the people (including opposition) that we can finally have a parliament that discuss real issues of the people, representative who dare to challenge parties decision when they may not be in the best interest of its people, rather that just agreeing to party’s wishes, and oppositions that can agree with ruling government when a good law is proposed.
I pray that such a person comes out whether locally or from abroad to lend strength and conviction to the oppositions cause, and that is should he exist, may he not be caught by the ISA, or suffer anxiety attacks or depression upon seeing the true state of this nation….
May this dream and aspiration starts with a minor victory – getting the 1/3 of the seats both parliament and state.
#2 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:13 pm
Advice from Umno old guard on the upcoming elections: taken from Sarawak National Party Blog spot:-
Pilihanraya ke-12: 8 March 2008
Nasihat Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad kepada rakyat Malaysia supaya berfikir dengan penuh hikmah sebelum mengundi BN dalam PRU12.
“Sekiranya calon itu hanya “tunggul kayu†dan rasuah “rakyat tidak sepatutnya mengundi mereka sekalipun mereka mewakili BN”.
– Dr. Mahathir Mohamed, mantan Perdana Menteri Malaysia.
#3 by same chong on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:18 pm
http://malaysiavotes.com/wp/2008/02/23/a-tempered-view
Vote for change change change
#4 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:25 pm
Pics that I took
Title: Nomination Day for Teresa Kok (Seputeh) in Sri Petaling
Link: http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/02/nomination-day-for-teresa-kok-seputeh.html
#5 by highhand on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:27 pm
malangnya rakyat sendiri pun macam tunggul
#6 by js on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:31 pm
DAP, May I have Penang DAP ceramah schedule? ANyone can help. Thanks
[edit - please call DAP Penang HQ, 04-2288482. 25.2.08, DAP HQ, Jalan Talipon, Lim Guan Eng, Chow Kon Yeow, and candidates, 8pm]
#7 by yuking on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 4:34 pm
Pak Lah has been derelict in his duty and appears to be incompetent.
Current events in Malaysia speak of a government that is out of control because of Pak Lah’s lack of leadership. Each time something of major public concern occurs, he hides behind the scene and lets his ministers or some other person manage the problem.
A good leader will come out in the open and lead from the front not the back.
It is not proper for the government to tell the Bar Council, the country’s best legal brains, what to do when its so-called law minister does not even understand the basic notion of natural justice.
The Election Commission is another tool of the government when it is supposed to be fair and neutral. How can it claim to be an election commission when everyone knows that the electoral boundaries are so biased and skewed against democracy? Is it any wonder that the Barisan always wins the elections?
The other crucial factor is the bureaucracy, those public servants who are under the people’s payroll.
In Japan, for example, you see this separation of the bureaucrats and the politicians clearly. So no matter who forms the Japanese government, the bureaucracy is able to function effectively and smoothly and in fact there is even a joke that you don’t need the politicians to run the country in Japan.
The government is so used to deceit and doublespeak that it is unable to think straight and that is why it is full of contradictions. Take for example, the shameful keris waving matter. Now they are coming out and saying that it will be a permanent part of their political culture.
Western kings and princes have a ceremonial sword as part of their attire but we don’t see their politicians waving swords at their political meetings do we?
But in Malaysia, reminiscent of Hitler’s Nazi youth groups, can do it and we know the outcome of such behaviour years later.
The country spends untold sums of money on religion, building mosques at taxpayers expense, spending millions and millions on religious schools, yet corruption is so rampant and it affects every echelon of the economy. For years, every Malaysian knows that the traffic police are corrupt. Yet the government has not done anything to stop the corruption.
Let us face it. Call an ace an ace and a spade a spade. The Malaysia government has been in power for too long and lost its moral compass. It is lost in the jungle of greed. The only thing worse than a corrupt government official is the people who support him.
The non-malays know that Pak Lah and his cronies tell them one thing and another to their own people. They are masters of doublespeak and politicians are renowned for speaking with a forked-tongue.
More and more malays now know that only a handful of cronies take the lion’s share of the nation’s wealth which is meant to be distributed among them more evenly. Mahathir duped them with his plan to establish a few super rich malay tycoons.
The state of the nation is not healthy. Pak Lah’s administration has failed the moral test. He himself has failed the test that he established himself. Judged by his own standards and words, he has failed. Tell me the truth, work with me, yak, yak, yak, but what do we get? The opposite! And now that the Bar Council has told him the truth – he scolds them. Shish.
Let us face the truth. Politicians are not royalty born to lead. They are given the chance to lead. Take away Pak Lah’s role and what is he? Look at the high and mighty Mahathir. Where is he now?
The Malay Dilemma was a myth created by Mahathir to exploit the psyche of a victim’s complex innate in the malays of yesteryears. But cunning Mahathir made it out that the British and the Chinese put the malays at a disadvantage. And after 50 years of Umno rule, what have changed?
Malaysians should not be stupid but angry that their country is being exploited by the people they elected to benefit them. It took a long time to get 5000 people to sign the petition to the King. It should have taken five minutes! Or five days.
But if I announce a free porn video, be sure I will have 500000 people sign up. The young in Malaysia had better wake up and start to do something about their country, about their future.
Don’t be fooled by the politicians who say the Chinese are the enemy, the Indians are the enemy, the Malays are the enemy. There is only one enemy. The one who is corrupt. Everyone else is your friend.
Save Malaysia and take part in every activity that you can and vote out the corrupt politicians to make your country a better place.
Remember your future is in your hands and don’t blame anyone if you suffer because you made the wrong choice. The last time many of us were fooled – but once bitten, twice shy. Do I need to say more?
#8 by boh-liao on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 5:14 pm
People should boldly vote for DAP/PKR/PAS candidates on 8.3.08.
Don’t worry about the loss of longkang services in our area by BN MPs and state legislative assembly men/women. Win or lose, BN parliament and state candidates will continue to look after our longkang. That’s all they know what to do (jaga longkang, collecting titles like Dato, Datin, etc., and enriching themselves with corrupted money), because their mouths are sealed in the parliament and the various state legislative assemblies. It is as good as not having them in our parliament and the various state legislative assemblies. They will only act like those ‘see not, hear not, and speak not’ monkeys. In fact, female BN MPs dared not even speak out against the bocor BN MP to defend the dignity of females! How pathetic!
Don’t worry, after losing on 8.3.08, BN parliament and state candidates will serve us better as opposition members, because they will not take us for granted and would like to impress us for our votes 5 years from now. Time to show BN parliament and state candidates “Who’s the bossâ€!
So, people, this is a win-win situation. Vote for DAP/PKR/PAS candidates on 8.3.08 and get two groups of people working for us – two in one! Our DAP/PKR/PAS MPs and state legislative assembly men/women will be speaking out and keeping an eye on BN in the parliament and the various state legislative assemblies; while the losing BN parliament and state candidates, who are longkang specialists, will help us to look after our longkang, together with DAP/PKR/PAS MPs and state legislative assembly men/women.
#9 by Wisdom above on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 7:17 pm
To, YB L K Siang,
….( First Point )…
“Duti setem: Demi selamatkan BN, tindakan SPR dikecamâ€
1) Did SPR acted “Ultra Vires†on 21-2-208 & 23-2-2008 ?
Food for thought.. BARISAN RAKYAT.
>Repeat as references – reflections by all Legal Advisers of “Barisan Rakyat “.
…Re: Outrage over new stamp duty rule http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/78450
>..Isn’t duties exempted for statutory declaration made pursuant to 1st
…Schedule Para 2(ix) of the Stamp Act?
…Just my two sens.
>> If above is correct, has SPR chairman & Secretary both acted ‘Ultra Vires’ by the issuance of the two dated letters below ?
>> ‘…tiba-tiba SPR mengeluarkan surat yang didakwa bertarikh 23 Februari memansuhkan surat arahan itu yang dikeluarkan pada 21 Februari,â€â€¦
What are the Legal remedies available for †Barisan Rakyat†against SPR
under ‘ Common Law †for ‘vicarious liabilty’ to cause
“confusion with malice intent†?
Stamp Act amended , but Election Act not ammended at all ?
No Pari Pasi ?
A Legal PARADOX ?
….(Second point),
2) Was the amendment to the Constitution to extend the term of service by an additional year for EC chairman “duly Gazetted†for it to have legal effect ?
Bila & Mana salinan Warta Kerjaaan di cetakkan?
I am just curious ?
Just my 6 sens.
#10 by lakshy on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 8:31 pm
WOW! PAS is fielding an Indian lady as a candidate in Johor. Way to go PAS. Looks like even PAS is doing more than Gerakan which is in bn!
#11 by sammyvellu on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 8:49 pm
TV3 reporters tried to belittle Guan Eng asking him about alliance with PAS and what is DAP’s mission statement.
In addition, how can BN advertise over the media their campaign? Isn’t that out of order? Election Commission sitting there doing nothing?
#12 by lakshy on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 9:08 pm
Sorry my mistake. She is a KEadilan candidate. Wrongly listed as a PAS candidate in NST and Sun probably by EC.
#13 by Loh on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 9:11 pm
MCA claims that because it is part of the government, it is able to ‘fight’ for the rights of Chinese in the country, and MIC for Indians and UMNO for Malays. If they have to fight, who then do they fight against? Can MCA and MIC fight UMNO when their ministers had to withdraw a memorandum addressed to the prime minister calling attention to a certain issues? When the people in the country are divided by race each being represented by a political party associated by race, it serves to prove that people of different races are not able to coexist in peace, without institutionalised arbitration. The history of Malaysia shows that people of different races were able to live in peace before political parties such as UMNO, MCA and MIC came into being. The formation of race-based political parties did the work of meeting the criterion of ‘racial harmony’ demanded by the British for Independence. Since then, and particularly after may 13, racial polarization grew from strength to strength. UMNO has won the racist battle to discriminate against non-Malays, in the name of fighting for Malays, whereas Chinese and Indians have been marginalised under the leadership of MCA and MIC which claimed to be champions for Chinese and Indians.
Why do MCA and MIC continue playing race-based politics when it is clear that they could neither fight UMNO for the rights of non-Malays, nor appeal to UMNO to be fair to non-Malays? If the leaders of MCA and MIC believe that UMNO would slowly change its way from its racist past, then they are not realistic. Having made the mistake of not pulling out of the government after 1990 when NEP continued beyond 20 years, and having continued to provide the BN government the excuse that policies which discriminate against non-Malays have the support of the non-Malays communities because of their participation in the government, MCA and MIC leaders are sinners of the non-Malays communities.
The simple logic outlined above could not have escaped the notice of the leaders in MCA and MIC, and yet they carry on with serving the interest of UMNO. Why then do MCA and MIC remain component members of BN government? The answer has to be that these so-called leaders do obtain gains at their personal level when the communities whose interest they claim to fight for are losing their rights. They are selling the interest of their communities for their own personal gains.
The Chinese community may be aware that MCA has in fact been a liability to them. But they are still hoping against hope that there might emerge a leader who are worthy of the position of the party. The day will not come because nobody could change the mindset of UMNO when the current race-based political set up allows it to decide how it would choose to squeeze the non-Malays to the level approaching rebellion. To cut loss, we need to bury MCA and MIC.
The non-Malays have a choice of either resigning to the fate that Malaysia is the land for making preparation for migration, or to reclaim the place as a country we can call home. For the latter, we have to initiate change. To change, we have to vote opposition parties so that MCA and MIC cannot be made use of by UMNO to justify its existence as a race-based party. UMNO would lose its moral right to represent Malays when MCA and MIC cease to exist as political parties. The leaders of these parties have vested interest. We have to show them the door. Make MCA and MIC lose all their seats so that they have no claim to any government position. Let UMNO show us how they would govern without MIC and MCA, and we shall make PAS and PKR replace UMNO comes the next general election.
#14 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 10:55 pm
Dear Lim Kit siang,
I refer to your remarks on Gerakan Wanita Chief being “tendang…” as she is moved from Lenggong to Gerik constituency. I fail to understand the rationale on the word “tendang’.
At the very least, UMNO still has the courtesy to sacrifice one of Malay majority area for its Gerakan ally. Of course, the same magaminity cant be expected from DAP. Mr Lim, why dont you put any of your DAP Malay member in a Chinese majority area, say Batu Gajah or Ipoh timur. Let us see whether DAP is willing to make a sacrifice the way UMNO make.
Mr Lim what is the common factors in constituents like Kulim, Lunas, Derga, Wangsa Maju and countless of other constituents. All of the above have Malay majority percentage but still UMNO is its humility allows non Malays to stand as its candidate, a rarity in this world.
As for Mr Yuking’s statement, what is wrong by having rich Malays. Must Malays remain poor in order not to be accused as corrupt. Are you saying that all rich Malays are corrupt. Are you saying all Chinese businessman clean?
By all mean, expose corruption but do not lump all Malay businessmen as corrupt. As for cronies, if there are any, then the figure must be in the millions. There is no denying that all Malays and all Malaysians benefit from this govt.
Only those consumed with hatred will deny it. As for Mr Loh, well there is a saying “the truth hurts”. The truth is that UMNO itself can form a federal govt on its own . If it is nasty like DAP, It can simply exclude non Malays the way DAP exclude the interests of Malays in all of its agenda. Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race.
The choice is in your hand.
#15 by Jong on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 11:32 pm
“By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race.
The choice is in your hand” – Shamshul
- hahaha sounds so familiar and it comes every election the past 50 years! :D
No wonder this country is in deep shit, rotten to the core. Talk is cheap but as always, nothing happens after a General Election. Our Mr Duplicity PM has not even honored his 2004 GE pledge yet he has the nerve to ask for another term? ‘makal sakti’(people’s power) will overwhelm them, the ‘winds of change’ has come and the time is NOW!
#16 by kensball on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:00 am
Try to win indian voters in penang, for sure penang will be history…
#17 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:29 am
shamshul anuar Says:
Today at 22: 55.28 (58 minutes ago)
“The truth is that UMNO itself can form a federal govt on its own . If it is nasty like DAP, It can simply exclude non Malays the way DAP exclude the interests of Malays in all of its agenda. Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race.
The choice is in your hand”
En. Shamsul,
We should be thankful to UMNO for all the body snatching;temples demolished;the threat making kris wielding minister;the banning of certain bibles;for telling the other component parties to leave BN if they do not like it and for my not being able to get into a local university.
Yes, thank you,thank you,thank you very much!
Do you want us to kiss UMNO’s foot?
What a joke?
The Umno of today is not the UMNO of Tengku Abdul Rahman or Tun Hussein Onn.The same goes for BN.
If UMNO can form the Federal Government,then let them form it alone.If they want to oppress the other races,let them oppress;until one day the tiger is cornered against the wall.
With so much of the nation’s funds and resources expended since NEP began,why are there still so many poor malays.
I will tell you why if you do not know.
Because the bulk of the funds have gone into the pockets of a small chosen band of Malays and because much have not been properly utilised but simply ,lavishedly wasted.
You are right.The choice is in our hands.
And I will tell you this -I will vote for PAS over UMNO or BN anytime,anywhere.
I will also tell you why UMNO puts an MCA or Gerakan candidate in a Malay majority area in case you do not know.
It is for window dressing – so that they can tell all and sundry they are so magnanimous.Thanks but no thanks please keep your seats,UMNO.
What can MCA or Gerakan do in an UMNO dominated BN?
“Victory or Defeat”
#18 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:46 am
Malaysianborn Says:
Yesterday at 15: 06.40
“I have a small question. There have been so many listings of good things and the not so good thing of BN. Can someone enlighten the blog readers of some of the good things and contributions that DAP or other members of the opposition/ BA/ BR has done for the community? Pardon my ignorance, but i would really appreciate and like to know the actual and explicit contributions to the community. Not the “can do†and “will do†but rather what has been done and how it has help and improved the well-being of the community. I think it’s a good practice to share positive things. Anyone?”
Hello MalaysianBorn:
You are on.
For one we do not expect the opposition to draw up economic plans/corridors and implement them.
They are not in power yet and are not holding the RAKYAT’S MONEY—in case you do not know the taxpayer’s money.BN is.
The Barisan Rakyat have highlighted many abuses and misuse of the people’s resources by the BN government.
That is their job.They have done exceedingly well.
Without the RAKYAT’s money,they have done so well.
Just imagine what they can do if they are in power!!!!!!
“Victory or Death”
#19 by lobster on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 1:53 am
To All,
There are a lot of situations in the country where people feel are injustices, unfairness, abuse of power and blatant corruptions. People obviously feel very angry about it when such issues arosed, but do you actually have to rights to complain about it and get angry??
If you have voted for the ruling government (BN), PLEASE DONT complain! You voted them into power, they are your choices. Why should you be complaining?
If you didnt bother to register as voter to vote against injustices, PLEASE DONT complain! 4 years time for you to get registered, you didnt bother to do so? Too late to do so? 4 years time? Too late?
Dont complain in current and future issues in the country if the people you have elected into offices did bad things. They are ultimately your choices, you choosed them. You voted them into power, you gave them the power for them to abuse, to corrupt and to rob from the country. Dont complain! You knew they were incompetent but still you voted them into power to run the country, you have LOST THE RIGHTS to complain. You knew they were corrupted and dirty but you didnt bother to register to vote them out? DONT complain!
Make your vote count for the future of the country! Be a responsible citizen. Vote it right, Now! The power is back in your hands!
#20 by limkamput on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 2:01 am
Shamshul says: Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race. The choice is in your hand.
Yes. I am being honest and I am touching and searching my heart and I just can’t find any good in MCA. Because of MCA ever willing to sell their soul, that is why Malaysia today has become a third world nation with UMNO exercises full political, social, cultural and religious hegemony on others, promote mediocrity, inculcate incompetence and corruption. If only MCA can see what PAP saw when PAP was in Malaysia, today this country would have become a little Switzerland in Asia, with every race including the Malays self assured, confident and dynamic in facing the world. Yes, because of MCA colluding with UMNO, Malays today have become permanent aids recipients while many Chinese have to migrate to seek opportunity and excel elsewhere. Do you know if not for Malaysian Chinese in Singapore, Singapore today would have been nothing? Do you know that a vast majority of the specialists in Singapore hospitals are Malaysians or former Malaysians?
Look, I think you have to tell your fellow country men that the time has come where all races must earn their own upkeep. The earlier you do it; the better is for your community. The system we have does not promote efficiency both among the Malays and the non Malays. Chinese from MCA and Gerakan and Indian from MIC are half-bake non Malays. The good ones will never be subservient to those who are less competent them. If UMNO genuinely want to see progress and development in this country, you have no choice but to work with more clever non Malays including those from the DAP. You have to face the cold hard fact. Malays alone (and even working with half bake Chinese and Indians) are just not good enough to bring prosperity and development to this country which is increasingly facing pressure and challenges from a rapidly globalising world. Wake up my friend; it is not that the Non Malays hate ketuanan Melayu. The race supremacy thing is simply not in sync with the modern world. As far as I know, no race in the world today claims to be more supreme than others. Even South Africa during apartheid has never claimed supremacy. They just set apart the white and the black. Ketuanan Melayu must go. Read my lips; go it must because it is a third world tribal mentality concept. Many Malays are now university professors, wearing three piece suits and driving BMWs and Mercz, but mentality wise, I am not too sure. You could one of those in this category, judging from the many postings you wrote earlier – a clever person caught in a third world mentality.
#21 by Loh on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 4:16 am
///Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race.///– Shamsul Anuar
That has been the argument of MCA and MIV leaders all along, to justify their position, and to threaten the non-Malays into voting them. That action could not even maintain the status quo of the pre-may 13 days. Since then, the position of non-Malays are getting regressively worse off by the day. When UMNO members begin to sing the same tune, Chinese and Indian Malaysians should realise now that they should have acted to banish MCA and MIC sooner.
It is claimed that UMNO was charitable in allowing non-Malay BN candidates standing in Malay majority areas. When Chinese and Indians are treated as pendatang and lower class citizens by the current crop of UMNO leaders, negating equal and fair treatment for all Malayans as agreed to by the founding fathers of the three race-based parties, charity is not UMNO’s strong province. UMNO needed to allow non-Malay puppets in to be ‘elected’ in the Malay majority areas, just like they elected a log, to give the impression of ‘power-sharing’, that never did happen. That arrangement allows UMNO to decide unilaterally all government policies, after having kept opportunists among MCA and MIC ministers silence over the issues when their personal interests have been taken care of. That explains why non-Malay discriminating policies are said to have been agreed to by the component parties. The same applies to non-Malay based component parties in BN. Those non-race-based parties ran short of the sin of promoting race-based political parties.
If UMNO decides to stop fielding MCA and MIC members in Malays majority areas, then it would have to accept that puppets in MCA and MIC would not be represented. They would then not be able to maintain the status quo of retaining 2/3 parliamentary seats with the existing Malay population, when there are two other major political parties dominated by Malays catering to the enlightened Malays. So UMNO was not charitable in allowing living-dead MCA and MIC candidates standing in safe seats, UMNO needed their body-count.
It is claimed that UMNO would be able to govern without non-Malay political parties. UMNO has not embarked on this route not because it ever cared for the interests of non-Malays in the country. It is because the current political set up allowed UMNO to fool Malays into thinking that NEP and Ketuanan Melayu policies, at the expense of living a subsistence survival, is in their interest. Malays are brainwashed to believe that without UMNO they cannot survive. They therefore live in fear and they support UMNO policies which are against Islamic teaching. In effect, Malays compromise their religious believe just to allow UMN politicians to remain lazy; they do not have to earn their position based on results, and they are allowed to satisfy their greed to steal the country blind, and building dynasties in the process.
When UMNO member who wanted to retain the status quo tries to influence non-Malays not to take a certain action, it says that we are on the right path. Let us bury MCA and MIC on 8 March, and UMNO days as racist will be numbered.
#22 by sotong on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 8:01 am
Majority of non Malays do not need government assistance, handouts or welfare to make a living and contribute significantly to the country.
The dependency mentality promoted by BN UMNO to get support and stay in power at all costs is most damaging to the country, let alone the rampant corruption, gross excesses and abuses, crime and etc..
#23 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 8:22 am
The fact that UMNO led BN would field non malay candidates in predominantly Malay majority area does not prove an iota the argument that UMNO politics is not comunal or race based in terms of Malay hegemony. [No more valid argument than to say the white American calvary in search and destroy missions against rebellious red Indians were not racist just because they had amongst their midst several red indian trackers to help them track and locate where other red indians were!]
This is because the non Malay candidates fielded are those who obsequiously accept its communal hegemonistic policies in the first place contrary to their professed stance of fighting for the rights of their own community or else they won’t be chosen – and their selection is only but a cloak to showcase outwardly a comestic multiracial mantle draping over a super structure of instituitionalised communal policies already erected in place.
Even after they were chosen – and given official positions – if they so much as show a whiff of misgivings about such hegemonistic policies, they would be taken to task as in the case (say) of Gerakan Youth vice chief S Paranjothy who countenanced threats of discipline or even dismissal just because he dared to speak publicly of his empathy for the frustration and anger of the 30,000 Indians who took part in the Hindraf demonstration to express their feelings of being “marginalized, oppressed and ignoredâ€.
For these reasons, Shamshul Anuar’s exhortation – “Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race – is not cogent when the common perception from hard and bitter felt experience of generations that it is precisely because they have been supported over these 50 years that the communities whose interest these parties are supposed to represent have on the contrary been neglected and marginalized!
Shamshul Anuar’s arguments will be valid only if the UMNO led BN is shown to have fielded non Malays the likes of (say) Lim Kit Siang or Fong Po Kuan critical of communal policies in majority Malay areas…rather than instead the kind of Non Malay politicians whose subservience are so well known that they dare not even contest in areas where their own race is a majority!
Why UMNO led BN is not even fielding a Malay like Datuk Zaid Ibrahim – he has in fact been unceremoniously dropped – in a Malay majority area of Kota Bharu just because he is enlightened to speak of multiracial and multi-religious approach on many issues he thinks are right for the nation and its peoples.
The fact that DAP does field Malays in even Malay majority areas much less Non malay majority areas is because few Malaysian Malays would join the DAP in the first place, and that is not because of DAP being not multiracial in ideology and approach. The entrenched negative perception of the DAP is in part due to the successful propaganda of the ruling coalition to paint the DAP as ideologically acting against Malaysian Malays’ interest when actually it professes an agenda of fighting for national interests.
#24 by Jimm on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 8:28 am
UMNO have uses religion and racism to control this country in order to gain wealth to themselves.
UMNO have created most of the racism tension among
Malaysian to keep national unity almost impossible.
UMNO have allow their own people (to be seen) as gaining benefits from their governing policies.
UMNO only helps those within their packs to gain wealth and keep those grassroots as workers.
Non Malays should not even cry over all these events as most of them were given the survival lesson from young until the day they kicked the bucket.
It’s the Malays that should be angry as they were made to be the ‘cow’ by UMNO in pretending to lift up their living standard without proper and sincere intention.
Look at most of the urban Malays, their livinghood are mostly running in the RAT race and never enough to keep up with lifestyle.
Those civil servants have to rely on their ‘incentives’ from 3rd parties to keep their family expenses within reach.
So, Non Malays ..don’t cry for Malaysia as we never let her down all these while.
Please go out and vote for a change on 08032008…
It’s time to allow Malaysia to live on the way she supposed to be.
It’s her rights.
#25 by sotong on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 9:06 am
If UMNO could form government on its own, it would have done that long ago…..past and present PMs are fully awared that national interests are better protected in a multi racial and religious party.
BN had lost its plot….more of the same will do enormous harm to the country.
#26 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 9:16 am
To all, a lot has been said in such a short time, a lot of malpractices and injustices has been uncovered over the last few months leading to this general elections such as VK Lingam issue, Sukhoi Jet and submarine issue, Kris wielding, gender bashing and racist remarks from BN MPs, police brutality against innocent children and women during Hindraf peaceful rallies and the list goes on. Why this happened? We voted BN in 2004 to give them 91% of the seats. What can we do to avert this situation? Give 100% votes to Barisan Rakyat! Irregardless DAP or PKR or PAS, just give your vote! Just Change it!
The choice and power is in our hands, eventhough the BN regime has many many tricks up their sleeves to try deny our rights to a new and just government, we the voters must come out and vote for DAP, PKR and PAS!
Sure now the BN is dishing out treats galore now with gusto, we must not be fooled by this trickery! It is our money anyway! BN maybe throw out 0.1% and later take back 500%(figuratively speaking)!
Vote for a Change! We can make it this time round!
VOTE FOR DAP! VOTE FOR PKR! VOTE FOR PAS!
#27 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 10:04 am
Apologies for typo omision in last para of posting – ” The fact that DAP does NOT field Malays ….”
#28 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:56 am
Shamshul says: Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race. The choice is in your hand.
We do not need MCA, Gerakan and MIC in Malaysia cabinet government (as stated by a foreing newspaper) because:
1. Majority of non Malay does not rely on government.
2. MCA, Gerakan and MIC do not make decision in Malaysia cabinet government. So, whether they are in Barisan Nasional or not is not important.
3. By supporting UMNO, you are just supporting them to grow rich and to support them continue to be corrupted.
4. UMNO and Barison Nasional members are sucking Malaysia resources. When national resources are dry out, they would turn to the wealth of your children especially children of non Malay.
5. Majority of Malaysian income taxes are paid by non Malay. I heard 80% of income tax were paid by Chinese and Indian and Chinese and Indian owned companies.
#29 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:11 pm
Surely you don’t expect serial liars to keep their pledges?
http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2008/02/malaysia-pm-woos-non-malays-in-election.html
In the manifesto, Barisan said it would keep Chinese and Indian schools, extend use of Mandarin and Tamil at national schools and offer university scholarships for poor students, irrespective of race….
The government will also step up inter-faith dialogue and ensure that developers set aside land for places of worships in their townships, it said.
#30 by pohwatchdog on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:11 pm
Kit Siang will get Ipoh Timur people sympathy votes.
#31 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:16 pm
I watched Lim Guan Eng on Tv3 last night and was not too impressed with his remark that went something like ,”we think the BN will win big”.
Suggest he needs to pick his words more carefully…
http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/report-cards-are-for-school-kids-lah.html
#32 by Jong on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:47 pm
HJ Angus,
You need to read him between the lines. It doesn’t pay to be too cocky or over-confident.
#33 by Jong on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:52 pm
My gosh, my posting last night is STILL UNDER MODERATION!
” Jong Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation.
Yesterday at 23: 32.20 ”
This is ridiculous, where’s the moderator? Still in bed? Or having his brunch and coffee break? Comeon this is the eleventh hour of GE 2008, can’t be too complacent and time to waste!
#34 by Malaysianborn on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 1:28 pm
Dear Jeffery,
It’s interesting you mentioned Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, I saw this video of his speech at Rotary International. Not a great speech but a truthful speech. I guess it’s the party (and certain members) for itself as oppose to being for the country in the case of BN. Very sad, feel like the country is a big mockery.
http://www.youtube.com/v/rmHtQ-fD3yI&rel=1
#35 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 1:37 pm
HJ Angus said this in his blog (in relation to DAP’s 8 point manifesto) : “An unfortunate choice of words as bonus implies a reward and it also contradicts the admission that the BN is going to win. No need to make a promise that you feel is not going to happenâ€.
Link to Angus’s blog – http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/report-cards-are-for-school-kids-lah.html
What Angus said about “No need to make a promise that you feel is not going to happen†is, I think, a fair comment.
Now the Barisan National (BN) promises prudence and accountability in its manifesto. The difficulty faced by BN is that these were the same promises made in 11th General Elections in 2004. These promises to many were hardly fulfilled. So the question is what is the reason to think the promises now made in 2008 will be better fulfilled than those in 2004. It is an issue of credibility.
So how could the Opposition in general and the DAP in particular summon the moral ground to raise the issue of credibility in relation to BN if the Opposition in general and the DAP in particular themselves do not look into the question whether their own election campaign promises are credible?
For example (I don’t know whether this is true or not) according to New Straits Times Front page Report of 26th February, the DAP’s manifesto promises among other things “a bonus of RM6,000-00 per family, if the party wins the electionâ€, the bonus coming out from the RM70 billion profit of the national oil corporation Petronas……
If “ the party wins the election†means and should be taken to mean if the DAP wins sufficient parliamentary and state seats to form the government. After all this is the DAP’s manifesto and not PKR’s or PAS’s – but if the DAP contests only 47 parliamentary and 102 state seats out of an aggregate 222 parliamentary seats and 505 state assembly seats in the 12th General Elections, how could it ever form the government (a condition necessary for it to direct Petronas to use RM70 billion profit to pay RM6,000-00 per family) even if due to some fortuitous circumstances, the DAP wins all the 47 parliamentary and 102 state seats?
I think Angus’s point is don’t make extravagant promises that are based on non-existent foundation (ie. formation of government). This is a credibility issue – what’s the point of promising RM6,000-00 per family – why not raise it to RM60,000-00) – knowing fully well one will not form the government to account for that promise, when one does not even evince the remotest hope or miracle of that by contesting all parliamentary seats?
Already the BN, which has still to explain why it has not fulfilled its 2004 promises, is alleging that Opposition parties make empty promises. So why give the BN ammunition to say that the DAP’s promises are empty and by so doing distract the rakyat from the BN’s own promises reneged in 2004 and making it account why its 2008 promises of prudence and accountability should be believed?
When Angus said that it was a poor “choice of words as bonus implies a reward bonusâ€, it is obvious such a financial reward is no better than the standard tag line of the ruling coalition that, according to Tun Dr Mahathir, would use money to bribe the rakyat into voting its candidates.
So why is Opposition playing the same game as that of the BN? Do you have as much money as them to say such things?
What the Opposition stands for is to ask Malaysians to seek change of mindsets to make things like proper and transparent governance, accountability, Judicial independence, check and balance against abuse of power and corruption, social justice and an end to racial and extremist religious policies – all these intangible things – rather than Ringgit and Sens which it is very game the BN has been playing all along – and with considerable success – from its vantage position as incumbent in control over the state’s resources and wealth!
So why play its game and let it turn around and say you’re making empty promises instead? I can’t fathom the rationale.
#36 by kcb on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 1:44 pm
shamshul anuar Says:
Today at 22: 55.28 (58 minutes ago)
“The truth is that UMNO itself can form a federal govt on its own . If it is nasty like DAP, It can simply exclude non Malays the way DAP exclude the interests of Malays in all of its agenda. Make no mistake about it. By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race.
The choice is in your handâ€
Shamshul, you are right UMNO can form a federal govt on its own which I really hope it does.
But you’re wrong to say that “By penalizing MCA, MIC, you are only penalizing your own race”.
Given the current scenario and judging from the performance of MCA and MIC, their existence is more effective outside BN.
Shamshul, make no mistake about it, go figure what sort of political landscape it will be like if MCA and MIC are in the opposition!
#37 by Toyol on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 2:00 pm
Lets put an end to their lies and deceit. Their manifesto is not indicative of the their past work. Of course they will be prudent now…they have used all the countries wealth in the various scandals over the years. The country have been raped repeatedly because voters get sucked into their lies and misstatements.
BN is basically run by one component party despite having almost 10 different parties. What power sharing? The other parties are just lap dogs waiting to be told what to do.
#38 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 2:07 pm
Manisfestos are just ‘statements of intent’, carry no weight and no legal or moral binding. Meaning they serve no purposes.
We can see how the country was run in the last terms, how the financial abuse was rampantly practised in the Auditor-General Reports as well as the news report.
Absolute Power corrupts absolutely. That is what the 2/3 majority had been rampaging the country for the last 50 years.
#39 by sotong on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 2:38 pm
BN’s power sharing is now more like wealth sharing……everyone is for himself/herself by exploiting decades of bad leadership and governance of the country.
Hard working Malaysians of all races deserve better than this.
#40 by g2geetoo on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 4:16 pm
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=Vgi9HyL9YB8
Remember the pain………………………………..
#41 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 4:31 pm
All BN supporters,
Don’t U see that present BN (UMNO) way of governing cannot last much longer, Msia will have very glommy future if BN (UMNO) continue like this.
#42 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 5:04 pm
Two things:
One, BN can put forward all the manifestos they want.
Nobody will read it.
Nobody trusts them anymore.
They have lost all credibility.
Do not waste your time reading it.
One moment the X PM(Badawi) was saying -” I will definitely not dissolve parliament on the 13th.”
Next moment Parliament is dissolved.
You believe BN?You must have a very short memory and very naive..
For the better or worse,we will give BARISAN RAKYAT a chance.
Secondly,I do not agree that we have had bad leadership for the past 50 years.It is only for about 35 years.
I have the highest respect for the leadership of Tengku Abdul Rahman and Tun Hussein Onn unless someone can prove to me otherwise.
“Victory or Death”
#43 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 5:56 pm
“For example (I don’t know whether this is true or not) according to New Straits Times Front page Report of 26th February, the DAP’s manifesto promises among other things “a bonus of RM6,000-00 per family, if the party wins the electionâ€, the bonus coming out from the RM70 billion profit of the national oil corporation Petronas…… Jeffrey
“If DAP wins the election, each household gets RM6,000.00″ the money coming out of the national oil corporation Petronas, proceeds from the sale of its LNG etc which belong to all Malaysians and are kept in offshore foreign currency accounts and used to finance huge capital losses of corporations related to UMNO etc has a populist appeal and one which ordinary working class Malaysians could identify with!
For such pledges to have a nature of a bribe it depends on how the idea is being delivered to the people. What does the Election Offenses Act 1954 say about ‘bribe’?
Having said that pledges that income tax for the poor working class Malaysians be reduced; or corporate taxes be increased among others make more sense and would not run foul of the Act.
#44 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 6:11 pm
Shamshul,
To paraphrase a little of what you said earlier, the choice is representation with the coalition framework provided by the national coalition or no representation at all. Malays can by themselves form the government and do need to depend on Chinese or Indian votes to do so. “The choice is yours”.
You might want to add what you said earlier which is democracy is about the majority i.e. about numbers.
I disagree. Democracy is not just about numbers.
#45 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 6:11 pm
ooop within
#46 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 6:13 pm
another one “do not need” to depend
#47 by PSM on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 6:34 pm
Shamshul,
You are right not all Rich Malays are crooks. That’s generalizing.
You said:
There is no denying that all Malays and all Malaysians benefit from this govt.
Please don’t generalize. All Malaysians?!
I have achieved what I have today due to my own efforts unlike some others! Most of the Chinese, Indians & “Others” have achieved what they have through their own efforts!
As for the MCA, MIC & Gerakan…they are the “Parti Kurang Relevan”!
Just Change It!
#48 by sammyvellu on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 7:19 pm
I stay in Bandar Utama, but the only opposition for Bkt Lanjan (state) and Parliament (Subang) is PKR. I will still cross the box on the blue moon!
#49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 7:42 pm
If you are honest in wanting to see the hold that BN has over power in Parliament controlled, then cast your vote for the Opposition – not PKR or DAP or PAS, and know that your vote is for democracy and not totalitarianism or benevolent authoritarianism.
#50 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 7:43 pm
..or worse, Islamo-fascism!