Po Kuan returns to frontline of 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

(Blog statement by Lim Kit Siang at a joint media conference with Fong Po Kuan at Ipoh Timur Election Operations Centre, Ipoh on Friday, 22nd Feb. 2008 at 2 pm)

Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century” – to end the overpowering Umno political hegemony by denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the March 8 general election.

The past six days since Po Kuan’s announcement that she would not recontest in Batu Gajah parliamentary seat had been an agonizing ordeal for Po Kuan, party leaders, members, supporters and the Malaysian public who see the general election as the last opportunity for change and the nation’s tryst with greatness.

Whether at the national or state party leadership, there had never been a second name for the DAP candidature for Batu Gajah in the 12th general election apart from Po Kuan. All party and state leaders, together with the concerned Batu Gajah voters and the larger national constituency, had urged Po Kuan to reconsider and return to the frontline in the critical battle shaping up in the 12th general election.

One cannot run away from the reality that Po Kuan’s action had caused harm and damage to herself, the party and the cause for justice, freedom and democracy – although she never intended so.

I have had discussions with Po Kuan in the past two days and she had admitted to the great harm her action had unintentionally and unwittingly caused to the party, party leaders and the political momentum for change in the 12th general election, and she asks for the party and people’s forgiveness for her mistake.

She has now bounced back to the frontline of the Electoral Battle of the Century and will reconstest and defend the Batu Gajah parliamentary seat.

In our discussions, we agreed that to should look forward and not back, that everyone should single-mindedly focus on one and only objective – to give a great blow to the increasing and overpowering Umno political hegemony maginalising not only the other Barisan Nasional component parties, but also the ordinary Malaysian masses, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan-Dusun-Murut, Ibans and Sarawak indigenous people as well as orang asli in Peninsular Malaysia.

With Po Kuan’s return to the frontline of the battle, let us make up precious lost ground and enter into the 12th election campaign with gusto and confidence, v igour and vitality.

Cili Padi FPK is back!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dawsheng on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:06 am

“Several messages and not one. Conflicting signals.” Undergrad2

I agree. That’s why we shouldn’t have a pastor on board!

2. #2 by choonchoy on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:17 am

Welcome back FPK. We are thankful that you have returned. Thank you for putting the needs of the many above yourself.

3. #3 by P.O.T.S on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:39 am

DAP needs to win over the Christian voters as well. They have been traditional BN supporters.

“Allah, Christians, and BN Politics’:

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/02/nagging-thoughts-allah-christians-and.html

4. #4 by highhand on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:47 am

make sure u win the battle to fight badawi proxy in law in parliment n sexist bung

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:47 am

“I agree. That’s why we shouldn’t have a pastor on board!” dawsheng

But that is no reason to throw him overboard either.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:06 am

You are right, hmmm… Let me see… not on board on not overboard, is there any place in between?

7. #7 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:21 am

gotcha1965 i also got that card. First time get! You need to do better Datuk Seri. By just giving a card you want my vote? So insulting lei… I go wash toilet in a restaurant also get better shit! Anyhow, how much money also same …

8. #8 by tunglang on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:38 am

Welcome back, Po Kuan! The Fight for Change Must Go On!
    For Batu Gajah, for all of Malaysia! You surely understand now.
    God Bless you!
    Let’s show the BN bastards the way out.
    Let’s burn their asses that they lose their seats.
    Let’s shut their lying, filthy mouths with your Cili Padi (esp. Khairy’s).
    Let’s Just Change It for A Better Malaysia for everyone, for our children, for our economy, for our way of life, for our freedom – regardless of race.
    And who says all Christians are BN supporters.
    Any person, whether Christian, Hindu, Muslim, Bhuddist or free thinker with a conscience for equality, justice, fairness and a love for humanity will definitely VOTE FOR DAP.
    Malaysians – Just Change It or Never.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:43 am

Article 114

2. (2) In appointing members of the Election Commission the Yang di- Pertuan Agong shall have regard to the importance of securing an Election Commission which enjoys public confidence.

What is the point of having Bersih rally and the Agong did nothing? Can we try boycotting the election and see if the Agong can do something?

10. #10 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:48 am

Just_True Says:
    Yesterday at 16: 52.08
    To celebrate the return of Cili Padi, I will be making my way to the Public Bank on the way back from work today. God bless DAP.
    ————————————————————–
    kanthanboy Says:
    Yesterday at 15: 49.10
    What a joyful day! I’ll make another donation to DAP election Fund and also a welcome home ang pau for Po Kuan.
    ———————————————————–

kanthanboy Says:
    Yesterday at 16: 05.51
    My 2nd donation by Visa has just been authorized. Also include $50 ang pau for Po Kuan.

———————————————————-
    I don’t mind being criticized for shouting about donation to DAP election fund if by doing so I can encourage others to donate.

TIME TO WALK THE TALK!

Get down to work, every vote counts! Donate to the DAP election fund. Donate your time and energy also!

Let’s defer the big celebration to the evening of March 8, 2008. We can have a huge celebration for International Woman Day and election victory in denying BN 2/3 majority

11. #11 by Anonymous_D on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:49 am

A wave of changes is definitely needed for our country and the changes SHOULD, MUST and SHALL be done now. It is the norm of the political world to replace any government that is deemed inefficient and weak. So, Fong Po Kuan’s return to the battlefield in this upcoming general election is uttermost vital in our hope of bringing such changes into our nation. Hence, her return will be most welcomed by anyone of us and I’m sure that no one will blame her for her earlier actions. Thanks for returning to make this momentum of changes a reality for all of us.

12. #12 by tunglang on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:54 am

There was an earthquake in Sumatra on Wednesday. Tremors were felt in parts of Malaysia.
    On Friday, 22 Feb. at 2pm, the whole of Malaysia felt a tremor of great magnitude of Joy as well as of Fear(depending on how you feel politically), very much so for those sleepy folks at Putrajaya.
    It’s the Cili Padi Tremors from the DAP Rocket Launcher.
    FPK, I like the uplifting feeling of joyful tremors of fire.

13. #13 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:11 am

The best birthday present for Kit though it came a day late — the return of Po Kuan!

Let’s kick the butts of all UMO and its running dogs!

UMO and all its many cronies MUST be destroyed totally in order to save Malaysia!

14. #14 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:17 am

Heard rumors that many NGOs from Sweden, Norway, Germany, France, Holland, the UK, Australia, NZ, Canada, Japan and the USA will be here to monitor the “fairness” of this GE.

Their numbers could be in hundreds.

Any serious cheating by UMO and the gangs, UMO names will be all over in the world media in no time!

15. #15 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:38 am

What is common among the following countries of late?

Australia, South Korea, France, Taiwan, Pakistan, Thailand.

Malaysia too is a sure bet too!

16. #16 by Come2Papa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 6:13 am

menela, pls don’t make a fool of yourself.

you can expect embassy officials from countries like USA, USSR, and UK to be following the process i.e. those with embassies in Malaysia.

they will not fly here to observe. they are already here and it is part of their work to observe, compile reports i.e. the usual stuff. the world is not interested in malaysia.

17. #17 by Come2Papa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 6:14 am

they already know what malaysia is all about.

18. #18 by malaysianboleh on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 7:35 am

“???”????is back……… We support you DAP !

19. #19 by choost on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 7:51 am

You are a great lady, Po Kuan. Your response to all the Malaysians who want your leadership, eventhough you may have lots of your own problems, shows that you are great and a true leader of calibre. All of us have our own problems. But those who still come out to help others are true leaders. This is why there are not many true leaders around. My dear Po Kuan, you are one of those few true leaders! Keep it up. May God be with you and help you to solve all your problems. I trust all the people will vote for you irrespective of where you will stand in this coming election.

20. #20 by oknyua on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 8:38 am

Dawsheng, are you still around?

Those days MCA campaign with some Christian themes. Pastors joined MCA and they appeared in Churches. It helped that Ling LS was a methodist then. Lim Ah Lek is a christian too. They set a few relief centres for Christian work. I was attracted to that.

Of course now we have Chua Jui Meng become a regular speaker in churches!

Anyway I quite understand both of your argument. Lets drop the subject. I am going to Bangi for a gov’t function. I want to see the strength of PAS there too.

21. #21 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:07 am

Welcome back Po Kuan and great of you to come back. But this time you are not going to hear of this Datuk Bocor no more. However, if you do meet up with KJ this time around, turn him into KY and shuff it up where it belongs.

22. #22 by taipingboy on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:09 am

i had gone to PBB and done my part about 2 days before cili padi dropped out. was very disillusioned after that. was she bought over or is DAP really so disorganised etc.? but yesterday after hearing the fabulous news, i sms all my friends the PBB account number. i think all supporters should too!

23. #23 by grace on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:47 am

oknya said: “YB Lim Kit Siang, I still think it is all right for you to campaign with some Christian flavours & leanings, please”

I agree that many Christians tend to be neutral. But I don’t think it would be good to campaign with Christian flavor. After all DAP is fighting for all races, all religion and colours. You can convince your Christian friends to vote DAP.

YES! Fong IS GREAT! GO FOR IT!

I for one am glad that she decided to come back.
    Most probably she is moved by the sincere wishes of us, the ordinary folks to have her back.
    We definitely would loose a voice in the Parliament if she declined the candidacy!

GOD BLESS HER WITH SUCCESS!
    YES! GOD IS WITH YOU AND NO ONE CAN GO AGAINST YOU!!

24. #24 by Wisdom above on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:54 am

To , YB Lim Kit Siang,

Please use a common slogan & call ourselves “People’s Front” (PF) or ‘Barisan Rakyat’ (BR).

The word ‘opposition’ connotes ‘negative image’ and is self ‘defeating’ in itself.

BN call ‘Opposition’ as noise makers in Parliament since 1984.

At least address & identify ourselves as
    “Constructive Opposition ” until slogan “People Front” is registered for official use .

A good ‘Label’ speak volume by itself.

25. #25 by Wisdom above on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:56 am

To , YB Lim Kit Siang,

One blogger said application to register and to use common slogan like “Barisan Rakyat” & “Barisan Alternative” was rejected by Ruling BN Government Registrar of Society ?

Is it true?

26. #26 by dawsheng on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:04 am

“Dawsheng, are you still around?”

I went unconscious for few hours last night after being knocked down by Russian Vodka, Friday night habit.. I am around now.

27. #27 by qiqi on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:31 am

Po Kuan,
    Thank you for coming back! Your leaving earlier saddened me as women leaders like you and the others in the party are GREAT exemplary to the women and people in the country! I have always look up to you and your coming back made me even more proud of you. That took a lot of courage and you just saved my week.

28. #28 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:49 am

It is great news indeed that Po Kuan has returned. I hope it is a good lesson for her and the DAP for the future.

There is no need for the DAP to appeal with a Christian slant.
    The secular state with freedom of religion allowed under the Constitution is good enough.

Think the right approach is
    Anti-Corruption
    Good Judiciary
    Fairer Economic System with less Government Manipulations
    Open Tender for most projects
    More balanced civil service
    Police with high morals and integrity
    Help for the dispossessed.

Just see how easy it is to solve problems just before an election. Is this not manipulations of the voters?

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/can-we-have-elections-every-two-years.html

29. #29 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:50 am

sorry typo

manipulation

30. #30 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:53 am

Global Embarassment with Big Eared Emperor`s New Clothes (see comments):

Some weeks ago somebody sent me the link to a video of our Prime Minister being interviewed “live” on CNN. It was during the Davos World Economic Conference or whatever. What got my attention wasn’t Davos. It was the way the prime minister of my country presented himself on live global television.

First. He was dressed like an out of work French peasant from one of those bad cliched Hollywood war movies of the 1950′s.

Second. His command of the English language was that of a pre-school retard.

Third. His reasoning in replying to the interviewer’s questions was akin to that of a ….. (I spent 30 minutes trying to think of a comparison but couldn’t because there was nothing that I wanted to insult that bad)

But to be fair there was one thing he did do well. He managed to stump the CNN interviewer. It was very obvious that the CNN fler was totally at a loss of how to handle our YAB. Malaysia Boleh!

You just have to watch and make your own mind up. Do you want this man to be prime minister of your country?

http://niamah.blogspot.com/2008/02/global-embarassment.html

31. #31 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:02 am

Blurdawi seems to be digging his own grave, helped by a remote control operated excavater with Khairy on the joystrick

32. #32 by Saint on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:04 am

No apology needed among true comrades.
    Start the “battle cry”.
    We (BR) will get more then 1/3 of the seats.

33. #33 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:15 am

observer Says:
    February 22, 08 at

Oh, don’t even underestimate BN’s resolve to win, even on the Net.

The other day I downloaded a file “Anti Corruption.pdf” I uploaded in on my penangA1.com site. After that, I annouced it on lowyat forum.

Within half an hour, my lowyat account was revoked, and ALL (every_single_one_of) the messages I posted on lowyat were deleted !

And within 2 hours, the file that I hosted on penangA1.com was locked ! Nobody can download it, not even me, the owner of the penangA1.com domain.

Since my penangA1.com domain is hosted by exabyte, I contacted them. They hemmed and hawed a bit before they told me that it was the government that locked my file.

When I pressed the exabyte people how the government managed to lock the file on my own domain, they told me that exabyte’s servers are all located in a Putrajaya datacenter, owned and operated by Telekom Malaysia.

Yes, my friend, BN _DOES_ know the NET, and they are doing whatever they can to shut down whoever they do NOT like.

BTW, that file “Anti Corruption.pdf” has a listing of 106 really stupid things related to BN, in Mandarin. Of course BN doesn’t want anyone to know about those things !

http://scottthong.wordpress.com/2008/02/21/scott-does-not-blog-ala-malaysian-culture/#comment-23589

34. #34 by kihowa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:28 am

Hi,

I’m just wondering is that a plot to ruin MCA’s candidate arrangement and to test DAP’s ‘fame’ in that area? Nevertheless, we are happy that Po Kuan has returned to battle the most interesting election to date, to reject 2/3 BN majority which I think is possible this time. Good luck!!

35. #35 by Candima Yu on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:39 am

YB Fong, Welcome back and kudos to you for your wise decision to rejoin your comrades to fight the good fight. Everyone is entitled to make mistakes, but it takes a Great person to have the wisdom to make amends when they realise that they have made a mistake.
    There is no time to lose now. Put on your suit of armour and join your comrades in the frontline and slay the BN dragon with your high moral standard and integrity.
    The honest, hardworking and virtuous Malaysians are solidly behind you and the DAP in this Battle of the Century.
    Has everyone noticed the glee and joy in the faces of the BN candidates when their names were announced as chosen ones for the election? You would have thought that they had struck the lottery. Compare this with the DAP and other opposition candidates; they accepted their candidature with honour, albeit with a sense of trepidation as they realise they have to shoulder a great burden for the Malaysian people. We have to support them fully to help lighten their burden; and in this sense, please donate again to the DAP Election Fund.
    YB Fong, may you meet with success in your battle in Batu Gajah and with your help, may the DAP also enjoy a resounding victory nation-wide this time around, especially in Penang.

36. #36 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:43 am

We don’t want to become another Kenya!
    The ruling Kenyan Government cheated in the recent GE resulting the whole Kenya is in anarchy now!

Will all bloggers out there write and appeal to all Foreign consulates, Embassies, all NGOs in the world to make them to send as many election observers to Malaysia to help monitor this super critical GE?

As I have warned many times b4, rampant cheating will make Malaysia another Kenya! We must stop all cheatings and vote buying before it is too late!

37. #37 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:49 am

If Loh Seng Kok once thought he could affect change from the “inside”, I hope he is wide awake now.

If Loh Seng Kok once thought MCA is an equal partner in the BN coalition, I hope he is wide awake now.

If Loh Seng Kok once thought he could reason with the Malay Ultras, and the Mullah Dickheads in UMNO, I hope he is wide awake now.

http://youtiup.blogspot.com/2008/02/your-kok-too-hard.html

38. #38 by ck_teh on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:49 am

Welcome back….
    Fight for DAP….
    Say no to running dog….MCA & Gerakan….

39. #39 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:57 am

To Kit and all opposition candidates,

Pls be aware of UMO tricks in disqualifying opposition candidates during tomorrow nomination of candidates.

Pls make sure all nomination forms are properly filled.

I still remember many years ago many opposition candidates were disqualified because of tiny little “technical issues” on they nomination forms!

UMO will do any dirty tricks to win. UMO leaders are a bunch of shameless hyenas!

40. #40 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 12:03 pm

Uncle kit,

Still couldnt log onto DAP website.

Bandwidth Limit Exceeded
    The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later.
    Apache/1.3.39 Server at http://www.dapmalaysia.org Port 80

hope the IT department get it fixed ASAP….

41. #41 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 12:38 pm

All DAP election candidates by now should know the new ruling about ‘the stamped declaration form’.Anyway good luck tomorrow during nomination.

Those who bashed the DAP leadership after FPK’s announcement on her decision not to contest on 17-2-08 should now slap their own faces for making uncalled for comments against Kit and other leaders like Kapal Singh and LGE.

Donate to DAP election fund and support DAP.Vote out the 50 year old political monster.

42. #42 by nckeat88 on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 12:47 pm

Sandiwara politik. Just a cheap show. DAP is no different from BN.

43. #43 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:01 pm

KUALA TERENGGANU, Malaysia (Reuters) – Malaysia’s hardline Islamic opposition party has warned its supporters could “run amok” if the election authorities block its candidates from standing in next month’s general election.
    [ ]
    The Election Commission denies the electoral system favours Barisan Nasional, but the opposition says electoral boundaries are drawn unfairly and electoral rolls stuffed with “phantom voters”.

The opposition also says it has no access to pro-government media.

In the latest complaint against the panel, the opposition said it was unhappy over an 11th-hour ruling stipulating that would-be candidates must pay a stamp duty for a statutory declaration for their nomination papers.
    http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080223/3/3flvx.html

44. #44 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:03 pm

DAP is no different from BN. – nckeat88

Hahahaha – And Na-jib of the BN, the DPM said Po Kuan is `capable MP`, so why the need for BN to field a candidate. They should not oppose Po Kuan.

45. #45 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:08 pm

Warning from Umno
    MCA, Gerakan have done nothing
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/78475

46. #46 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:11 pm

The Associated Press
    Friday, February 22, 2008

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia: The Election Commission in Malaysia needs more power to prevent one-sided campaign coverage in local media or the entire electoral system will become a “laughingstock,” the commission’s chairman said Friday.

Top election official Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahim’s comments appeared to lend rare support to opposition complaints of pro-government bias in the press.

“If you want free and fair elections, if you want a level playground … you must be able to have that power to level that playground,” Abdul Rahim, head of the Election Commission, said in an interview ahead of the March 8 general elections.

“Without that power, then the whole system becomes a laughingstock,” he said. The commission must be able “to control the media when they take sides.”
    http://rantingsbymm.blogspot.com/2008/02/guess-hes-got-nothing-to-lose-now.html

47. #47 by Tickler on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:18 pm

Saya dan 47 tuan rumah yang lain yang di Kg Bersatu yang dipaksa berpindah merasa kami telah ditipu oleh sesetengah pihak yang berkuasa, dan saya mengesyaki berlakunya rasuah dan penipuan dalam isu penstrukturan Kg Bersatu ini. Saya berharap pihak Badan Pencegah Rasuah boleh menyiasat aduan saya. Sekian laporan saya. Terima kasih.

Ho Wai Fun
    http://teresakok.com/2008/02/23/land-scandal-victims-in-kg-bersatu-puchong-lodge-aca-report/

48. #48 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:28 pm

Dear Malaysians,

I am a Lembah Pantai voter and sentiments from the ground here is pretty positive.

Lets work together and help spread the message to the rakyat. We can take this country back.

49. #49 by alis7aquilae on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:37 pm

The fearless woman general is back!!! best news i have heard today!

50. #50 by PSM on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:45 pm

Welcome back Po Kuan.

Does anyone know what’s happening with this “new” Stamps issue ruling? How are the Opposition Candidates going to get Stamps on a Fri & Sat in Kelantan, Terengganu & Kedah (since it’s their weekend!)? There won’t be enough time for these candidates to get the Stamps on Nomination Day (Sunday)!

Another ploy by BN (through the “independent” EC) to “screw” the Opposition!

Comments are closed.