Po Kuan returns to frontline of 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

(Blog statement by Lim Kit Siang at a joint media conference with Fong Po Kuan at Ipoh Timur Election Operations Centre, Ipoh on Friday, 22nd Feb. 2008 at 2 pm)

Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century” – to end the overpowering Umno political hegemony by denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the March 8 general election.

The past six days since Po Kuan’s announcement that she would not recontest in Batu Gajah parliamentary seat had been an agonizing ordeal for Po Kuan, party leaders, members, supporters and the Malaysian public who see the general election as the last opportunity for change and the nation’s tryst with greatness.

Whether at the national or state party leadership, there had never been a second name for the DAP candidature for Batu Gajah in the 12th general election apart from Po Kuan. All party and state leaders, together with the concerned Batu Gajah voters and the larger national constituency, had urged Po Kuan to reconsider and return to the frontline in the critical battle shaping up in the 12th general election.

One cannot run away from the reality that Po Kuan’s action had caused harm and damage to herself, the party and the cause for justice, freedom and democracy – although she never intended so.

I have had discussions with Po Kuan in the past two days and she had admitted to the great harm her action had unintentionally and unwittingly caused to the party, party leaders and the political momentum for change in the 12th general election, and she asks for the party and people’s forgiveness for her mistake.

She has now bounced back to the frontline of the Electoral Battle of the Century and will reconstest and defend the Batu Gajah parliamentary seat.

In our discussions, we agreed that to should look forward and not back, that everyone should single-mindedly focus on one and only objective – to give a great blow to the increasing and overpowering Umno political hegemony maginalising not only the other Barisan Nasional component parties, but also the ordinary Malaysian masses, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan-Dusun-Murut, Ibans and Sarawak indigenous people as well as orang asli in Peninsular Malaysia.

With Po Kuan’s return to the frontline of the battle, let us make up precious lost ground and enter into the 12th election campaign with gusto and confidence, v igour and vitality.

Cili Padi FPK is back!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by justice_fighter on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:03 pm

YB Kit,
    Thanks for your effort in pursuading her to come back!
    Let us unite the kick the ass of the hypocrite liar Pak Lah!!

2. #2 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:03 pm

Chilli come lately. Sweet, sweet as can be…

http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2007/11/wanna-fight.html

3. #3 by shirbing on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:04 pm

It was really glad and great to have the good news of FPK returning for election. All of the voters around were filled with joy today. Many were saying, DAP will definitely return with a good win this time. We shall be all out to campaign for DAP and of course cast our votes WISELY to DAP. Bravo to Fong Poh Kuan and of course a word of thanks to our master Lim Kit Siang for convincing FPK for the return. We were once disappointed BUT now we are confident of the Win of the century by DAP on 8.3.2008. Syabas DAP!

4. #4 by Jong on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:04 pm

boh-liao,

Please be more specific, I don’t get what you are trying to say? Tks

5. #5 by jennifer cheong on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:06 pm

Dear good leader Fong Po Kuan and Lim Kit Siang,
    Congratulation for your decision to come back! We strongly support you in Batu Gajah ! You will win and we wish you greater success in defending BG ! Yes, show BN crony that you are not defeated and you are now stronger than ever – just like DAP ! Menang DAP ! It is the happiest moment for DAP Batu Gajah supporters like us !

6. #6 by alancheah on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:06 pm

So glad to know about this. We support you, FPK.

7. #7 by wizzerd on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:09 pm

that’s the greatest piece of news since the dissolution!!!

Viva the opposition!!
    Let’s reclaim our country back!!!

8. #8 by shirbing on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:10 pm

8.3.2008 is the world woman’s day, let cili padi Fong be the most charming STAR shining on the day. Woman voters should all come forth to cast the votes on the World Woman’s Day, and let all of us celebrate with a great win on the Day. Cheers .

9. #9 by Jong on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:13 pm

Nice to learn Fong Po Kuan has changed your mind and have also realised how much damage she had done not only to herself but her collegues and the party DAP.

Let this be a lesson learnt and must not be allowed to occur again. However good and popular one is, no one is indispensable.

10. #10 by Demon on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:17 pm

May the blessing of The Triple Gems be with DAP and FPK.

SADHU!SADHU!SADHU!

11. #11 by Wisdom above on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:19 pm

Non-Partisan medias coverage ? Very confused ?

How come no news on TV1,TV2,TV3,TV7,TV8,TV9 ..
    ….eg. all refused to show Cili Padi returns..
    …no coverage at all..

Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

Tomorrow news in Star, NSTP , BH , SCJP etc ?

Also no coverage ? Or Medias black-out again ?

12. #12 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:19 pm

When po kuan decided not to contest, she appeared at all front pages of the newspaper. Now that she has decided to defend her seat, its just a small column in the papers. Such unfair and irresponsible reporting!!!?!

13. #13 by sani on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:19 pm

YB Fong

Terus Maju !!!

14. #14 by chai on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:26 pm

it is too good to everybody especially voter from batu gajah!!! PO KUAN i highly believe that u will WIN again!!! even more majority from last election. believe me……..u will.

15. #15 by chai on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:31 pm

i think ur decision today is good news to all malaysian and definitely is not wrong decision!!!!!

16. #16 by a-malaysian on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:32 pm

BARISAN NATIONAL SOKONG DAP DAN YB FONG POH KUAN OLEH SEBAB YB FONG YA-LAH SATU AHLI PARLIMENTARIAN YANG SESUAI UNTUK NEGARA KITA. UNDI LAH DAP

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

17. #17 by jimbo on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:34 pm

Welcome back YB Fong.
    It is both pleasure and honour to have you back.
    Putting aside personal grievances for the greater good is indeed an admirable act worth emulating.
    You are a sterling example of true Malaysian spirit.

Let’s hope you are able to rouse and awaken the groggy and sleepy out there to do the right thing.
    Vote for a voice that steps up to the monopolizers and oppressors!

18. #18 by whc on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:36 pm

haha this is good move. just like Ling liong sik .after he did this he become more popular and more suppoters.anyway glad that you are back.

19. #19 by tanpeter on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:38 pm

nice to hear that PO Kuan.Let us full supports for the better change for Malaysia

20. #20 by tswern on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:41 pm

Hmmm. Around 1.22p.m today, and now, 6.38p.m., seems like http://www.dapmalaysia.org website hitting the below error:

Bandwidth Limit Exceeded
    The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later.
    ——————————————————————————–

Apache/1.3.39 Server at http://www.dapmalaysia.org Port 80

Too many hits to http://www.dapmalaysia.org ?? I suppose lunch time and after office hours, people are curious on what’s going on….

If this persists, dap might need to subscribe a package with a higher bandwidth….

21. #21 by gary on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:43 pm

WELL COME BACK FONG PO KUAN. NOW WE WILL HAVE TWO CHILLI PADI ONE FROM WEST AND ONE FROM EAST.

BN WEAKLING AND CORRUPTED MP BETTER WATCH OUT. YOU DAY IN PARLIAMENT DRINKING COFFEE IN THE VIP LOUNGE AND LOOKING AT THE LEAKING CEILING BE OVER. YOUR PRESENT IN PARLIAMENT IS A WASTEFUL AND UNPRODUCTIVE, UNLESS YOU CAN STAND UP TO UMO MASTER. BUT I DOUBT SO…

GO DAP GO FOR THE KILL

WHAT AN IDIOT PUTTING COAL POWER PLANT IN SILAM LAHAD THE BEST CONSERVATION AREAS FOR THE FOREST AND SEA IN THE WHOLE OF ASIA.

TNB CHAIRMAN LEO MOGGIT HAS GIVEN A CONTRACK TO CHINESE FIRM TO BUILD THE COAL POWER PLANT EVENTHOUGH THE WHOLE WORLD OBJECTED TO THIS PROJECT. EIA HAS NOT BEEN DONE AND APPROVED, WHAT THE HECK HE TRY TO BULL DOZE THROUGH.

WHAT A CORRUPTED FELLOW.. MAYBE WE NEED SOME HINDRAF ACTION TO SAVE OUR FOREST AND BAY

COAL CLEAN TECHNOLOGY IS USE ACCORDING TO WORLD STANDARD’– TRYING TO BLUFF AND LIE HIS WAY THROUGH

LOOK LIKE WE HAVE LINGGAM DISEASE OUTBREAK IN BOLEHLAND..

THE CURE IS VOTE THE BN OUT

22. #22 by lbn on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:44 pm

That’s the spirit. Don’t be personal. Let’s vote for CHANGE!

23. #23 by taikohtai on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:49 pm

General SUN TZU must be damn proud of Chili FKP! What a stunt! Many of us nearly collapsed and died when the news first broke out but now, the PRIDE of the RAKYAT is BACK!!
    BN gomen now has their tails behind their back but their sting can still be lethal as all poisonous scorpions are. But spread a little bit of hot chilipadi on their back and they scamper real fast back to where the sun doesn’t shine!
    DAP Boleh!

24. #24 by ktteokt on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:50 pm

You have my support! Fight for the rights of Malaysian, fight for true democracy!

25. #25 by ranger on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:51 pm

Indeed, the firepower is back! The best news thus far.

26. #26 by Tom Peters on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:52 pm

I penned this on Po Kuan’s blog when she said ‘I’m Sorry’. Well Po, I still hope those ‘cousins’ are in a proper place your frame of mind. They are in mine.

“…Po Kuan, I feel a bit buried here but I hope you read this. I am quite happy you have now more time on your hands, maybe ride a bicycle or tandem with hubby and enjoy the grass like us normal folks.

What irks me is you left the environment in tears all because of the ‘human’ element. Those cousins are human beings and your brothers at best, at worst, inconsequential dots. Dots do not affect our Po Kuan, let alone make her cry. It’s hilarious to think they would. That goes for Chong too.

Po Kuan, the best time to leave any relationship is when you have ‘no issues’ in that environment. None at all. Hence, the sole reason you leave is when you wish another environment. Now, since you have already left, I suggest you re-visit the scene and come to terms with those dots before you settle down.

You owe us. Cheers Love Peace Tommy…”

27. #27 by patriotic1994 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:55 pm

Vote to deny 2/3 BN majority! See the Vote DAP Example here.

http://patriotic1994.blogspot.com/2008/02/this-is-how-to-vote.html

Happy Voting!

28. #28 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:00 pm

Now FPK is back as a candidate.

We are certain that if ex-DPM NAR were to vote in Batu Gajah, he would definitely put an X against the Rocket, as he had ackowledged that FPK is a capable MP, and he would not vote for the BN candidate!

Way to go!

29. #29 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:02 pm

Visit http://www.comedycourt.com.my/watchvideo.html and watch highly entertaining videos!

30. #30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:07 pm

Ms. Fong.

welcome back to the war front. it is certainly not easy to be an opposition candidate nor an elected opposition wakil raayat.

there are many who hurls insult at you and other ladies elected. but you may cried and faltered, but the biggest pride is that you thought that over and fight a good fight with them. i respect you.

i am glad that uncle kit have resolved this , and the country matters most than anything else to those who love Malaysia.

Ms. Fong, you will be remembered for your unselfish stand , maybe sacrificing your personal life and marriage for the sake of democracy in this country.

this election is very important , that democracy is restored. that the judiciary is restored. (digress) if lingam sauce can pom pom pom and even write judgement for judges as reported , how many innocent raayat have suffered under the rule of total submission to the power of one man ,one party.

this election is very important, that all men are equal, that all Malaysians are equal regardless of race and religion. this must be the rule.

this election is very important, that promises made and broken are false promises and ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

Ms.Fong. i am very proud of you. God Bless you and family.

31. #31 by grace on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:07 pm

Fong Po Kuan,

BRING THEM ON!!!

WE WISH YOU WELL!!!

VOTERS IN BATU GAJAH MUST BE VERY HAPPY!
    VOTE FONG PO KUAN, VOTE FOR JUSTICE AND INTEGRITY!!!

32. #32 by okinawa on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:11 pm

Great! that’s exactly what we want from Fong Poh Kuan! she is the best candidate in BG!

33. #33 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:16 pm

People should go to BN political ceramah and ask the candidates their opinion and stand on:
    Zakaria’s palace
    Lingam’s tape
    police bullying of unarmed citizens (adults and children) in Bersih and Hindraf peaceful rallies
    the keris of Hishamuddin
    the open lies of AAB (like parliament will not dissolve today, but actually dissolves)
    and many other issues.

In particular, ask the candidates from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc.

Don’t let them tell lies, more lies, and nothing but lies.

34. #34 by justice_fighter on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:21 pm

Up until now this piece of news is still not up in the Star online. Would it appear on it’s tomorrow’s front page? I guess not!!

What a shame to the Star!!

35. #35 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:24 pm

Confirmed: Nurul Izzah to face Shahrizat
    Feb 22, 08 4:24pm
    Nurul Izzah, the eldest daughter of de facto PKR leader Anwar Ibrahim, will be making her election debut this year.
    Lingam ‘cameraman’ to contest
    Wee Choo Keong on PKR ticket
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/78448

36. #36 by showsomemercy on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:26 pm

It is on the staronline but i dont think it will make the front page of the news tomorrow. But who cares anyway? Time to kick some a$$ !!

37. #37 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:27 pm

Samy Vellu & Khir Toyo get a taste of Makkal Sakthi! Samy & K.Toyo diserang rakyat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XXUeaQY6b0

38. #38 by alancheah on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:28 pm

Nurul Izzah, good job, you do. We will support you too!!!

39. #39 by shirbing on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:36 pm

Uncle Kit,

You have shown your DAP colors, with RED hot enthusiasm. Cili Padi is forever HOT and Spicy, blending well with the theme of the DAP. Let DAP wins with flying colors! Welcome back to the home of DAP, YB FPK, All of us are happy with your return! We know you had to spend time with your family during the Chinese New Year, you have elected to come back immediately after the new year, What a great news!

40. #40 by dawsheng on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:37 pm

Hehehe! All of you has been tricked!

41. #41 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:42 pm

If people still intend to vote for AAB and BN, saying that AAB is Mr. Clean and Mr. Honest, just tell them this fact:

AAB openly lied about the dissolution of parliament. He told the world “Parliament will not be dissolved on 13 Feb 2008″ when he knew perfectly that it was the mother of all lies.
    At 12:30pm, 13 Feb 2008, in Putrajaya, a smiling unembarrassed AAB announced the dissolution of Parliament.
    What a no-class [DELETED]!
    He insulted the intelligence of Malaysians and disgraced the position (i.e., premiership of a country) that he held.
    Dia tak malu, kami malu!

Then, ask people this question:

If AAB is so thick-skinned, unprincipled, and unscrupulous in telling such an obvious no-class lie to the nation and the world, do you trust him not to lie to us on other matters?
    Is AAB not a pathological and habitual liar?

Is AAB Mr. Honest? Mr. Clean?
    Will you feel comfortable/proud to have AAB as your PM?

Shame on KSK, OKT and others from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc for kowtowing to this no-class motherfcuker liar, called AAB!

42. #42 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:45 pm

Loh Gwo Burne, the bloke responsible for recording the controversial phone conversation of VK Lingam, will be contesting in the Kelana Jaya parliamentary seat on a PKR ticket.

Well done, Loh. You have been handsomely rewarded. Hey you might even win the seat, which is currently held by another Loh (Seng Kok) who had the temerity to criticise the ketuanan Melayu creative idea of Malaysian history.

The MCA’s Loh is not nominated for this election, presumably to appease UMNO wrath, because he was warned not only by UMNO but by PAS also!
    http://bolehtalk.blogspot.com/2008/02/loh-blows.html

43. #43 by Lat Gao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:54 pm

http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2008/02/22/76.html

the fight must go on ! for the sake of our next generation, don’t u feel that enough damages has been done to non-bumi by BN ?

Talking about Internet, do make full use of the internet, blog, Web2.0, YouTube, Facebook, Flickr etc to its maximum ! due to the lack of funding from DAP.

I doubt those from BN even care about those internet stuff, they only know how to label those blogger as a fanatic, in actual fact, they don’t even know how to embrace those latest IT technology, yet they still think of making M’sia the most modern and and prosperous nation.

When u have stupid leader, u have stupid rakyat !

I admit, I’m stupid ! ok ?

44. #44 by kanasai on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:04 pm

Luckily she came back. Otherwise, our whole family (5 members) have no much choice but to vote for the BN due to this issue.

45. #45 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:09 pm

FPK is back. Pom, pom, pom! Good!

Let this be a learning experience for all in DAP. Later, after the GE, people can reflect on this incidence. A step at a time and we learn from our footsteps and we mature, hopefully gracefully, from the paths that we travelled.

Godspeed ahead, DAP, against the unbalanced dacing tipu!

46. #46 by babique on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:39 pm

FPK, a million thanks for coming back!!

47. #47 by fjjs on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:48 pm

I have a dream… the dream come true…I dreamt of LKS chatting with FPK….telling her to COMEBACK, MALAYSIANS NEED YOU…

Yes, Yes she is back… Batu Gajah belongs to DAP for sure….another step to change for a better Malaysia…

FPK, we are proud of you… Thank You for coming back…

BERUBAH, READY FOR CHANGE for a better Malaysia.

48. #48 by pilihanrayaexpert on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:49 pm

Why Barisan National can use Television to promote Barisan National and also destroy opposition’s party’s image and reputation ???????

I noticed it in NTV 7 just now !!!!!!!

NTV 7 shows the violence and demonstration are related with opposition parties, and I also saw both opposition leaders Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang too. It seriously affect Lim Kit siang’s reputation !!!!

People may think Lim Kit siang is a terrorist !!!

How can the Barisan National do that ?????

It’s SO UNFAIR to opposition parties !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The General Election MEMANG TAK BERSIH !!!

BN Main Kotor !!!

49. #49 by pilihanrayaexpert on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:50 pm

How can the Barisan Nasional control the Media???????

50. #50 by dawsheng on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 8:51 pm

PUTRAJAYA: It has been late nights for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi this past week, finalising the general election candidates’ list.

His bedtime has been past 1am daily and until yesterday evening, the full list could not be finalised, he said.

“We (including Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak) have a lot of work to do to choose the best candidates to contest in the general election.

“I have to meet Mentris Besar and component party leaders to finalise the parliamentary and state seats everyday,” he said, adding that the process was taking a long time as there were many factors to be considered before making a final decision.

Abdullah was addressing hundreds of members of the Malay Chamber of Commerce Malaysia at a special function to declare their support for him, at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre here yesterday.