Po Kuan returns to frontline of 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

(Blog statement by Lim Kit Siang at a joint media conference with Fong Po Kuan at Ipoh Timur Election Operations Centre, Ipoh on Friday, 22nd Feb. 2008 at 2 pm)

Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century” – to end the overpowering Umno political hegemony by denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the March 8 general election.

The past six days since Po Kuan’s announcement that she would not recontest in Batu Gajah parliamentary seat had been an agonizing ordeal for Po Kuan, party leaders, members, supporters and the Malaysian public who see the general election as the last opportunity for change and the nation’s tryst with greatness.

Whether at the national or state party leadership, there had never been a second name for the DAP candidature for Batu Gajah in the 12th general election apart from Po Kuan. All party and state leaders, together with the concerned Batu Gajah voters and the larger national constituency, had urged Po Kuan to reconsider and return to the frontline in the critical battle shaping up in the 12th general election.

One cannot run away from the reality that Po Kuan’s action had caused harm and damage to herself, the party and the cause for justice, freedom and democracy – although she never intended so.

I have had discussions with Po Kuan in the past two days and she had admitted to the great harm her action had unintentionally and unwittingly caused to the party, party leaders and the political momentum for change in the 12th general election, and she asks for the party and people’s forgiveness for her mistake.

She has now bounced back to the frontline of the Electoral Battle of the Century and will reconstest and defend the Batu Gajah parliamentary seat.

In our discussions, we agreed that to should look forward and not back, that everyone should single-mindedly focus on one and only objective – to give a great blow to the increasing and overpowering Umno political hegemony maginalising not only the other Barisan Nasional component parties, but also the ordinary Malaysian masses, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan-Dusun-Murut, Ibans and Sarawak indigenous people as well as orang asli in Peninsular Malaysia.

With Po Kuan’s return to the frontline of the battle, let us make up precious lost ground and enter into the 12th election campaign with gusto and confidence, v igour and vitality.

Cili Padi FPK is back!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by maydaysky on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:33 pm

fight!

2. #2 by mageP23 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:37 pm

Welcome back, start working immediately, time is money!

3. #3 by penangboy on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:38 pm

AFTER ALL THE MESSAGES, I BELIEVE SHE WAS LISTENING. LET’S GET THE WORLD TO LISTEN – WE WILL NOT QUIVER INTO THE DARKNESS OF THE NIGHT BUT STAND TO THE TRUTH AND JUSTICE FOR ALL.

4. #4 by yyh on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:38 pm

all is forgiven, FPK. fight like there’s no tomorrow;not just for your party but for the nation’s future.

good luck, kit and gang.

5. #5 by Luther on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:38 pm

Yes,FPK fight!

6. #6 by chuchueey on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

I sigh with relief now that the hot stuff is back – and back fighting. We are standing at the threshold of being able to bring about change for the better, and mustn’t let the opportunity slip.
    With Po Kuan in the fray, its as good as winning a seat uncontested. The significance of this is that it will likely lead to a domino effect influencing the mindset of others who were left wondering what to do earlier. Now that she’s back, the lady general should come back with a new battle cry: Change, change, change.
    God save this country of ours. Bravo DAP!!!

7. #7 by k1980 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

8. #8 by zack on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

satu sendiwara ..wayang china.. yang dilakunkan dengan sangat dramatik sekali. Hero : YB Kit dan Heroin : YB Fong. Minus the maku-up of course!!!

9. #9 by Just_True on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

WELCOME BACK, YB FONG!!!

LET US PUT UP A GOOD FIGHT AND LET JUSTICE AND TRUTH PREVAIL IN MALAYSIA.

10. #10 by littlecabai on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

I was having a bad day… and my face just brightened up with this news…

11. #11 by jbhlee on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:42 pm

This is real art of war! Let the enemy feel happy and get them at the last moment! Wonderful Poh Kuan!! Now, lets nail em!!

12. #12 by Bill Gates on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:44 pm

Our confidence has now increase and we now have a realistic chance of denying BN 2/3 majority. Congratulation Po Kuan, Kit and all the party leaders.

13. #13 by dranony on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:45 pm

Good for you, FPK!
    Good for DAP!
    Good for Malaysia!

14. #14 by mendela on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:45 pm

The is great news!!!

UMO and all running dogs, your days are numbered!!!!

I am a happy man now!!!

15. #15 by mendela on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:46 pm

LET’s see what the stupid “mainstream ” media said tomolo.

16. #16 by Klaw on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:47 pm

My first comment on this site:

I am so glad she has returned! I wonder if Najib has changed his mind yet on this ‘caliber’ leader.

17. #17 by delon85 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:48 pm

Welcome back. When I first read of the news that she’s dropping out, I was thinking at the end of the week she’ll be back and all that just so she can get a frontpage in the paper :)

18. #18 by a-malaysian on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:48 pm

No need to apolozise, just get ready and fight, we are all here to support you and DAP.

Tell the people of BG that bn najis endorses you and want them to vote for you.

Cheers

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

19. #19 by Just_True on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:52 pm

To celebrate the return of Cili Padi, I will be making my way to the Public Bank on the way back from work today. God bless DAP.

20. #20 by K S Ong on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:52 pm

This General Election is very special indeed. We should cooperate and ensure that we can make a difference and deny BN 2/3 majority for its past arrogance.

A belated birthday present for Kit?

21. #21 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:57 pm

MALAYSIANS LISTEN:

YOUR EX-DPM NAJIB HAS OPENLY ENDORSED mdm FONG POH KUAN.

HE PRAISED HER AS A CAPABLE PARLIAMENTARIAN.

SO YOU SHOULD VOTE WISELY.

VOTE FOR DAP, VOTE FOR ANY OPPOSITION. VOTE FOR A BETTER MALAYSIA, VOTE FOR CHANGE.

22. #22 by bongkersz on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:02 pm

This is a good news! Cheers for DAP and people in Batu Gajah! :) Now Najib must be saying “Alamak!!!! Kena foot in mouth again!!”. LOL!!

23. #23 by oknyua on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:10 pm

What can I say after advising posters not to pass harsh judgement on her?

Let Mr. Song (former DAP Johore) eats his own words. Let Mr Wee of Bukit Bintang eats his own words too.

I, today, used the contacts I have among Christians voters to vote for DAP. Tonight I’ll met more Christians. Sadly, the Church want to remain neutral, but the Church do not stop individual supports.

YB Lim Kit Siang, I still think it is all right for you to campaign with some Christian flavours & leanings, please.

24. #24 by savejohor on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:10 pm

GREAT!! well done!!

25. #25 by Xiao He on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:14 pm

Glad to know that Po Kuan is back to the frontline..

Yes, we should always look forward.. Give a big blow to UMNO and BN..

26. #26 by oknyua on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:15 pm

YB Lim KS
    I recognise quite a handful of Christians commenting on your blog. That is a good start.

27. #27 by democrate on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:17 pm

Hooray!! to the return of our calibre heroin MP now Najib bola kena squeeze la! Anyway facts is facts we hope to retain Batu Gajah and grab Taiping as well from PPP . welcome our beloved MP Fong.
    By the way the DAP campaign song lyrics is marvelous it is more meaningful than our national antherm indeed!

28. #28 by Xiao He on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:19 pm

Glad to see that there are now > 300 people online in Mr Lim’s blog..

29. #29 by melurian on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:20 pm

30. #30 by just n free on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:20 pm

yes, great that she back.
    every good and strong opposition MP together can break the heavy and burdensome BN back.

31. #31 by oedipus on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:21 pm

dear uncle kit… i dunno how you do it, but its amazing that you’ve managed to reverse her decision. FPK is one of the best MP in parliament, and one of DAPs’ biggest assets.

pls fight a good fight and nurture the next generation of DAP leaders and i believe that will be your lasting legacy. dont be like DrM, leaving nothing but a half past 6 leaders in his own party and they will fall under in their due time!

32. #32 by somaris on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:24 pm

Welcome Back POH KUAN.
    I was so say to hear that you not contest for GE.Its really upset me.Im from IRELAND been with this Blog all the time.NOW oh my GOD.IM so happy that you are back. GOD bless U. U make everybody strong now to fight for the Future for all MALAYSIAN.
    TIME IS SHORT now , lets all of us help DAP to fight BN UMNO OUT.
    GET everybody ur friends and family tell the people we all are here now for the FUTURE. MALAYSIA BOLEH.DAP BOLEH
    IPOH PEOPLE GO ALL OUT TO SUPPORT DAP.MAKE A CHANGE.NO MORE BN UMNO,MCA UMNO,MIC UMNO.WE WANT ALLL MALAYSIA TO BE MALAYSIAN.THATS OUR FUTURE. DENY BN
    MAY GOD BLESS ALL OF US.
    YB THANK U THANK U GOD BLESS U

33. #33 by mysn1st on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:26 pm

Sir,
    Is you always say to the press ‘Learn from mistake’. Ya! It is indeed a goods news not only to the Batu Gajah voters, but rather the whole nation. In my opinion, as a MP, ‘Malaysian First’ is rather important than any others matters.

34. #34 by ZepolBumi on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:26 pm

Welcome back.! A good use of the gov. controlled media.! I bet BN are now sweating!!!

35. #35 by DarkJustice on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:28 pm

Welcome Back Fung and you will win big this time. Am very happy you listen and respect our Uncle Kit.

Let really deny 2/3 BN majority this time. Bravo DAP! In fact we are looking forward for Karpal Singh to fight against Samy Vellu in Sungai Siput instead of him standing in Bukit gelugor, Penang.

36. #36 by gilbert on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:29 pm

good news!

37. #37 by jacsoho on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:29 pm

Yah…Po Kuan, you make my day!!! I’m sooooo happy

38. #38 by pilihanrayaexpert on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:35 pm

FONG PO KUAN LOOKS SO BEAUTIFUL TODAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SO CUTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE AND FRIENDLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

so charming !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

39. #39 by pilihanrayaexpert on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:36 pm

YOU ARE THE BEST , I WANT TO KISSS SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS YOU

40. #40 by max2811 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:36 pm

Gooooooooooood

41. #41 by AhPek on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:37 pm

You made my day too, Po Kuan!! You sure did.

42. #42 by mycroft on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:37 pm

democrate, gentle reminder, mesti tambah “e” in heroin. Otherwise instead of female hero, you will make her out to be something else completely.

43. #43 by somaris on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:46 pm

long live Poh Kuan
    ALL IPOH PEOPLE
    Lets give POH KUAN a BIG ANG POW.
    GOD BLESS

44. #44 by KanNinNeh on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:46 pm

Uncle Kit,

Great !!! We are now one big step closer to deny the Corrupted BN 2/3 Majority !

45. #45 by wahlaueh08 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:47 pm

hooray……… i know you will be back and definately going to retain your TITLE! YB, thank you so much for your return. you really make my day!!!!

46. #46 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:52 pm

Fore, fore, fore!

Majulah, DAP!

Go fore to slay the self-enriching and anti-national BN!

DAP now has a candidate whose capability has been openly praised and acknowledged by Umnoputras.

Let’s see what NAR has to say this time after having openly praised FPK the other day.

Let’s also see what Tajol Rosli has to say this time.

The feng shui low who advised AAB to have the GE on 8.3.08 forgot to tell AAB that the Ides of March has come. Or was AAB dozing away?

Time for people to walk the talk: contribute to the CHANGE movement or tsunami.

Contribute time, contribute efforts and energy, contribute money, and contribute wisdom to counter the lies of BN.

Tell people it’s time NOT to vote for BN candidates of any kind – black, grey, brown, yellow, or white. They have not looked after the welfare of most Malaysians. They are greedy traitors!

47. #47 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:53 pm

All opposition candidates must be aware of the latest dirty trick of the Election Commission: it’s last minute decision to impose a new regulation requiring candidates to submit a statutory declaration of stamp duty payment on Sunday!!

Be careful otherwise opposition candidates will be disqualified on technical ground!!

48. #48 by oedipus on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 5:55 pm

yeah mycroft…. dia punye heroin have a totally different connotation. mesti tambah ‘e’.

welcome kanineh. i cant think of a more original nick than yours.

49. #49 by mwt on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:01 pm

Credit must be to the DAP leadership in convincing her how crucial it is to join back “Electoral Battle of the Century” as every seat counts to deny BN its cocky 2/3 Majority in Parliament. For the latest pics of the Press Conference in Ipoh,
    Go H E R E

50. #50 by jus legitimum on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 6:01 pm

Those of you who became annoyed and were hesitant to support DAP and give your donation after knowing FPK’s decision not to contest in BG last Sunday should be ready to walk the talk now.Vote out the 50 year old hegemony and arrogance.

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.