Po Kuan returns to frontline of 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

(Blog statement by Lim Kit Siang at a joint media conference with Fong Po Kuan at Ipoh Timur Election Operations Centre, Ipoh on Friday, 22nd Feb. 2008 at 2 pm)

Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century” – to end the overpowering Umno political hegemony by denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority in the March 8 general election.

The past six days since Po Kuan’s announcement that she would not recontest in Batu Gajah parliamentary seat had been an agonizing ordeal for Po Kuan, party leaders, members, supporters and the Malaysian public who see the general election as the last opportunity for change and the nation’s tryst with greatness.

Whether at the national or state party leadership, there had never been a second name for the DAP candidature for Batu Gajah in the 12th general election apart from Po Kuan. All party and state leaders, together with the concerned Batu Gajah voters and the larger national constituency, had urged Po Kuan to reconsider and return to the frontline in the critical battle shaping up in the 12th general election.

One cannot run away from the reality that Po Kuan’s action had caused harm and damage to herself, the party and the cause for justice, freedom and democracy – although she never intended so.

I have had discussions with Po Kuan in the past two days and she had admitted to the great harm her action had unintentionally and unwittingly caused to the party, party leaders and the political momentum for change in the 12th general election, and she asks for the party and people’s forgiveness for her mistake.

She has now bounced back to the frontline of the Electoral Battle of the Century and will reconstest and defend the Batu Gajah parliamentary seat.

In our discussions, we agreed that to should look forward and not back, that everyone should single-mindedly focus on one and only objective – to give a great blow to the increasing and overpowering Umno political hegemony maginalising not only the other Barisan Nasional component parties, but also the ordinary Malaysian masses, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan-Dusun-Murut, Ibans and Sarawak indigenous people as well as orang asli in Peninsular Malaysia.

With Po Kuan’s return to the frontline of the battle, let us make up precious lost ground and enter into the 12th election campaign with gusto and confidence, v igour and vitality.

Cili Padi FPK is back!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:58 pm

Since DAP website is down for exceeded bandwidth limit. I repost their donation drive from DAP email.

======================

You can send us cheque to “DAP MALAYSIA” together with your membership form. Alternatively, you can bank in your subscription fee into our Public Account under the account name of “DAP MALAYSIA” and account number “3063828309″ and send/fax your bank-slip together with the membership form to us.

Democratic Action Party (DAP) Headquarters:
    No.24, Jalan 20/9,
    Taman Paramount,
    46300 Petaling Jaya,
    Selangor.

2. #2 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:03 pm

Is Raja Petra drafted?

He is the one I like to see at Parliament to scare the hell out of UMO morons!

3. #3 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:08 pm

nckeat88 Says:

Today at 12: 47.31 (1 hour ago)
    Sandiwara politik. Just a cheap show. DAP is no different from BN.

==================

All politicians are same color, but deny BN 2/3 is a prime goal for people with no political background like me.

We shall be able to say NO to any elected opposition MP IF they cannot perform as expected in the following GE.

4. #4 by bumi on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 2:57 pm

Dear Barisan Alternative,

you must come out with clarity = leads to power :
    clear identifiable goals, so that BA will deny BN 2/3 majority. e.g.

1) Clarity is the essence to focus and achieve our goal
    2) we the BarisanAlternative (BA) must define clearly in this election :

Goals and objectives :

1) Deny BN 2/3 majority
    BA win 1/3 of the seats in parlimen and state seat Adun.
    You as head of the BA (barisan alternative) must identify,
    each and everyone of those seats, this is clarity, this is
    focus, this is goals, then only your supporter, will be able
    to
    focus to realize the goals together.
    Clarity and focus is vital.
    U must dientify those 1/3 of seats that you can focus to get
    the win, so that the BA people can help you.
    e. g. Parlimen seats :
    Bukit Bendera :
    those seats that is marginally lost to BN in 2004 and 2000.

2) Win the elections with the new goals for the malaysian
    publics.
    a) reduce the petrol prices by 10%, (rm$10 Billion), hence,
    using Petronas rm$10 billion.
    b) reduce the people burden, free education for all malaysian
    from primary to university education,
    how ? petronas rm$10 billion ringgit
    c) reduce the toll rate, re negotiate with the toll operator.
    reduce by 10%, and also reduce the tenure of years of the
    toll concession
    d) reduce the cukai pintu by 10% to 50%
    e) reduce the cukai tanah by 10% to 50%
    How ? by major review of the following policy :
    how, improve the productivity of the agriculture, hence
    increase the revenue from and profit and income tax.

how ? create job, by
    improve the investment climate, review the FDI policy,

review the car duty, AP,

5. #5 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:05 pm

Po Kuan, welcome back. My vote will go to you for the third time because you are a good MP (even Najib has openly admitted that).

6. #6 by bumi on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:07 pm

Barisan Alternative must not be seen as arrogant, please talk with passion, but not to be arrogance, this election is for BA to lost if you are not careful.

Please make sure the goal is to deny BN 2/3,
    strong oppposition is key,
    emphasis on : check on balance with strong opposition,
    which is practice in many western democratic country,
    only those no check on balance, they will see a absolute power corrupt….. the rich get richer

7. #7 by Sentosa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:20 pm

Congrats to DAP.
    All the best on 8th March.

All’s Well That Ends Well.

8. #8 by langitputra on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 4:30 pm

Comrade YB Fong,
    Yesterday when I read the comments by Comrade LKS in the papers that he manage to contact you via phone and there was no replacement of candidate for BG, I had the feeling that you will come back and YOU DID. Its a great news even though ripples had been created.Nevertheless.I am sure the BG voters are behind you.Good luck and may god bless you.
    VALGA DAP/PKR/PAS VALGA MAKKAL SAKTI!!!!!!!

9. #9 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 7:52 pm

Hi you all out there so far about 209 who posted.

I read from the postings about some of you going to the bank on your way out to, I presume ,donate to the election fund.

What about the others?

Put your money where your mouth is- the nation’s future is -your children’s future is.

Instead of saying you are going to the bank on the away out— can we hear something like –” I just donated RM xxxx to the election fund.This will motivate others to do so.

The opposition is rather poor so if each one of us do our part at least they will have more fund to fight the Battle Royale for us.

Remember ,its Now or Never.

As a matter of Fact ,yesterday ,I walked into the DAP HQ and donated more than RM2000/—which I consider a small price to pay for the future of all Malaysians including yours and mine too.

Remember again- “Its Now or Never”

For those who donated,can you tell us about it to encourage more people to donate.

Put your money where your mouth is.

Just imagine how much it would amount to if all of us donate a bit each ,no matter how small the amount is.

“Victory or Death”

10. #10 by direct2ushop.com on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 8:20 pm

welcome back !

get your house in order DAP….

DAP man resigns after candidates list announced

By CHRISTINA TAN

KLANG: Selangor DAP vice-chairman Peter Tan resigned from all party posts and as a member barely an hour after the party announced its candidates list for the general election

11. #11 by alaneth on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:53 pm

Welcome back, Poh Kuan.

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:11 am

Selepas pilihanraya, boleh kah kami dapat tahun mengapa Poh Kuan tidak hendak bertanding pada mulanya and selepas beberapa hari berubah pula pendirian itu. Selepas pilihanraya dan apabila keadaan lebih sesuai, sila bagi tahu lah demi ketelusan.

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:19 am

Saya terbaca berita mengenai masaalah calun DAP di Pahang dan juga di Selangor. Adakah tindakan yang sama diambil untuk menyelesaikan masaalah-masaalah itu. Mungkin ahli dan pakar calun DAP lain juga menghadapi masaalah yang sama seperti Poh Kuan.

14. #14 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:16 am

Extract…. too late ..?

PUTRAJAYA, Feb 22 (Bernama) — Election candidates submitting nomination papers for parliamentary and state seats on Sunday can have their statutory declarations stamped by commissioners for oaths, Election Commission (EC) secretary Datuk Kamaruzaman Mohd Noor said.

The EC had announced yesterday that election candidates would be required to submit stamp duty-paid statutory declarations with their nomination papers.

The RM10 stamp and can be bought at post offices nationwide and can be stamped at any Inland Revenue Board (IRB) stamp duty branch offices or IRB service centres as well as at the 128 district offices nationwide, he said in a statement.

To accommodate this requirement, the IRB stamp duty branch offices and service centres will be open up to 6pm on Saturday.

– BERNAMA

15. #15 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:19 am

2nd Extract…… too late…

Friday February 22, 2008
    Declaration stamp a must, says EC PUTRAJAYA: For the first time, all candidates submitting their nomination papers must have the accompanying statutory declaration stamped, or risk having the papers rejected.

Election Commission (EC) secretary Datuk Kamaruzaman Mohd Noor advised candidates to comply with this regulation, as statutory declarations are not exempt from stamp duty under the Stamp Act and the Election Regulations.

“The Election Commission wishes to announce that under Regulation 6(2A)(c) of the Election Regulation (Conduct of Elections) 1981, the returning officer can reject the nomination papers of a candidate if the statutory declaration (Form 5 or 5A) that is attached to it does not adhere to Regulation 4(7) Election Regulation (Conduct of Elections) 1981,” he said.

Kamaruzaman said the duty stamp can be purchased at any Pos Malaysia counter for RM10, or they could get the form franked at any Inland Revenue Board office or service centre.

He said duty stamps purchased from Pos Malaysia could be validated at any of the 128 district offices nationwide.

“The Inland Revenue Board has agreed to cooperate with the Election Commission by keeping its offices and service centres nationwide open till 6pm on Saturday to facilitate the franking of candidates’ forms before nomination day,” he said.

Kamaruzaman said this was the first time the EC was imposing this regulation even though it has been in existence since 1981.

16. #16 by laifoong on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:21 am

“Saya terbaca berita mengenai masaalah calun DAP di Pahang dan juga di Selangor. Adakah tindakan yang sama diambil untuk menyelesaikan masaalah-masaalah itu. Mungkin ahli dan pakar calun DAP lain juga menghadapi masaalah yang sama seperti Poh Kuan.” lilmkaput

…apa lu cakap??

17. #17 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:47 pm

This is a piece of invigorating news for the party DAP and the supporters in the country with the return of the BG candidate.

18. #18 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 4:28 pm

…SPR telah memansuhkan bayaran tersebut tanpa memaklumkan kepada calon-calon PAS.

>> “SPR berbuat demikian untuk membantu calon BN khususnya Umno Terengganu yang menghadapi masalah pemilihan calon,” katanya.

>>> “Kami (PAS) hanya mendapat tahu pemansuhan bayaran tersebut kira-kira jam 5 pagi tadi,” katanya, dalam sidang media selepas proses penamaan calon di Pejabat Tanah dan Daerah Marang hari ini.

Round 2: Barisan Rakyat (BR) won again..

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/3306/84/

19. #19 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 4:44 pm

So obviously clear, SPR answer only to ruling BN masters.

Many more BN dirty tricks coming in days to come.

>> BN candidate for Titiwangsa parliamentary seat didnt have stamping on his form. PAS lodged complaint to returning officer as the ruling required such stamping. However the protest was turn down with reason given that he had just received verbal instruction that stamping requirement is no more mandotory.

>>What a dirty trick – they imposed it as eleventh hour on last thursday with hope that opposition candidates from east coast and northern states will be disqualified!

>>> But when their candidate got caught, they immediately change the ruling!

Round 2: Barisan Rakyat (BR) won again..

8…

20. #20 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 5:18 pm

Extracy from Jed Yoong,

Food for thoughts.

<>… Husam said something about the BN calon not signing the nomination form.

>If the BN calon is disqualified, then PAS will win a seat — not sure if it’s Husam’s seat.

>> Same thing with Nik Aziz’s opponent in Pengkalan Pasir.
    But his press secretary said that the SPR (Elections Commission) overruled that and Nik Aziz has to “lawan (fight)”.

…SPR double standard ?

…So obvious SPR dirty trick seen by all on 24-2-2008.

>>To help & beg & remind BN calon “to sign later” unto the earlier blank nomination forms after nominations closed at 10am ?

>>Pas Legal advisers should remember to file a ‘writ of motion’ in Election High court tomorrow to disqualify the 2 BN calons.

“the SPR (Elections Commission) overruled that ” should be punished under the election ACt.

21. #21 by Wong Kee Kah Sony Singapore on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:21 pm

uncle lim , when u go JB ? I want to go there listen your speech

22. #22 by Wong Kee Kah Sony Singapore on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:22 pm

and when anwar go to JB for his speech ? please update

1 3 4 5

Comments are closed.