The time has come for us to walk the talk. The time is now because we are marching into battle with little resources. We need your financial assistance to help force changes to a system that continues to repulse and insult us after 50 years of independence.
I had intended to put up the appeal for support for DAP Election Fund together with support for a Fund for the Foundation for Justice, Freedom and Equality to promote the betterment of Malaysian society, including public litigation, publications, educational programmes as well as outreach to marginalised Malaysians, but the latter project will now have to wait until after the 12th general election.
Let us unite with single-minded objective – to turn the 12th general election into the electoral battle of the century to initiate meaningful change in Malaysia, first time in the nation’s 50-year history. For this we need your generous support for the DAP Election Fund.
* This post was originally blogged on 2008-02-13 5:02:47 pm
==============================
Updated:
* This is to explain the difference between the DAP Elections Fund and the candidates’ personal donation drive.
The Elections Fund is to finance the party’s HQ operations, prepare publicity materials, advertisement, logistic support, expenses for leaders to go round the country preparing the candidates and states to face the battle, etc.
After parliament is dissolved, the HQ’s main financial resources are also cut off as one of our main incomes is from our representatives’ monthly contribution.
The HQ’s expenses still have to be paid, staffs have to be paid, and we have to pay for extra manpower to meet the extra workload during the campaign period.
We can only afford to supply limited publicity materials to the candidates. Candidates will have to pay for their own posters, flags, personal publicity materials, that’s why they usually have a separate donation drive.
Please take note that the party will NOT be sending out anyone to solicit for cash donations apart from at our ceramahs and functions, where announcement will be made and the amount collected will be announced at the end of the function. If someone approaches you on the street of at your house for cash donation, please inform the nearest DAP office.

#1 by js on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:19 pm
Let us have your walk and talk schedule. We will fully support.
#2 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:22 pm
Just paid RM500 online, by Visa. Successful.
Will source for more and contribute again.
Fellow Malaysian,
Walk Your Talk
50 years is ENOUGH
Vote For A Change
Vote For Any Opposition
Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.
#3 by MAJULAHMALAYSIA on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:24 pm
Fellow Malaysian, Please remember, The BN is using people’s money for their election campaign. DAP definitely not matched with their fund. Please donate to DAP for our future interest. Thanks you for your help and donation.
DAP is going to the Battlefield to defend your rights and interest no matter what happened to DAP.
#4 by Ah Hong on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:29 pm
little donation to DAP Malaysia, will promote the campaign in my blog. Good Luck DAP and Opp.
#5 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:34 pm
Please do more donation campaign in JB.
#6 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:43 pm
Apart from doing my part on financial support, I’ll e mail this to everyone I know and ask them to do the same:-
http://bright-i.blogspot.com/2008/02/our-every-effort-counts.html
Together lets change it!
#7 by madmix on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:49 pm
That cartoon rocket…looks like a condom ad.
#8 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:05 pm
YB Kit better known as Uncle Kit has come out in the open personally to appeal for support for DAP Election Fund.
Please do your part to ensure a big victory for DAP. Time for change and to kick out umno are the slogan you all had been chanting all the time.
Now is also the time for you all to Walk Your Talk.
50 years is ENOUGH
Vote For A Change
Vote For Any Opposition
Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.
#9 by just n free on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:09 pm
Yes, DAP needs our support financially.
The next 5 years depends on how the opposition performs even if they do not get the mandate to run the country, at least their collective (hopefully many) presence will keep a healthy check on the ‘hopefully not BN voted-in govt.’
I’ll donate at the DAP office in PJ.
#10 by Xiao He on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:10 pm
Yes, pls donate to the DAP election fund, for a better Malaysia, for the betterment of our society..
#11 by grace on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:11 pm
madmix, if you do not have kind words, kindly keep to your goodself.
a-malaysian, I definitely would do the same ! Appeal toothers to help DAP for a really noble cause! REDUCE BN MAJORITY!
SEND A MESSAGE TO PAK LAH AND BN THAT ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!
#12 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:18 pm
I am on my way to the Public Bank.
#13 by sean on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:23 pm
PJ headquarters is near my home…….always glad to contribute to opposition fund ..
Emails have also been sent to all my contacts , friends and relatives etc.
god bless the opposition this time around
Just change it……………..
#14 by ycg on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:32 pm
your link below: http://dapmalaysia.org/english/2008/jan08/bul/bul3433.htm cannot be sent. Error 404. is it because of data congestion? pls rectify asap. time is $$ also! :)
#15 by mysn1st on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:39 pm
Yeah! The ‘Malaysian First’ election is coming.
#16 by basis on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:42 pm
Guy
We must do our part, spread the word, I just send out this piece of information to all my email address contact. Please do email to all the people you know. It time to change. I will donate whatever i can in order to help the courses….
Please spread the word. Email, SMS, phone call…….
#17 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:53 pm
Will go back and donate to the election fund online… I am in Uncle Lim’s constituency and will definitely vote for him!!!
#18 by cocomomo on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:00 pm
Done my small part thru’ visa. Will i receive a receipt or other notification that the money has been rec’d? Just want to make sure money rec’d by the DAP as i have had negative experience in on the line transfer previously. Not expecting a tax exempt receipt……….
#19 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:36 pm
Yes, it is time to walk the talk, especially those who have talked and talked. Those who have made pledges also please pay up. There is no time to wait. DAP needs the money now, not after the election.
#20 by js on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:43 pm
Just transfer my donation through e-banking. Good Luck DAP! Hope to see DAP grab all the seats especially in Penang. Looking forward to have a CM from DAP.
#21 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:47 pm
Just to side track a little… if you go to The Star Online and look at the News under Nation, you will see two topics:
1) Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has announced that Parliament has been dissolved, paving the way for the 12th general election
Then at the bottom:
2) Parliament will not be dissolved today, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
This is seriously a big joke….
#22 by js on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:50 pm
We have to face the facts that the Parliament has been dissolved. No point keep on talking about this issue. We should now focus on how to help DAP in the campaign and win in this GE.
#23 by grace on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:50 pm
Yes, I did my thru M’card! All information confidential and no worry that the fund will reach DAP!
TOGETHER WE SHALL PREVAIL!
Not only fund, do canvass for votes from every one you meet.
As I said earlier, Koh Tsu Khoon ask us to discuss with family members to vote rationally.
I DID TO MY NEIGNOURS , FRIENDS, RELATIVES and MY FISH MARKET FRIENDS. ALL OF THEM PROMISED THEIR VOTES TO DAP BOTH PALIAMENT AND STATE! OH YES, In PENANG STATE IT IS IMPORTANT TO TELL THEM TO PANGKAH ROCKET OR KEADILAN FOR STATE AND FEDERAL!!!
#24 by zack on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:13 pm
a vote to the DAP is an anti-Malay vote?
#25 by burn on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:15 pm
will do that!
have forward emails to friends too…
all the best… DAP!
#26 by tuai rumah on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:19 pm
I think ‘Malaysians First’ is no longer suitable. Must Change the name of this country. Malay-sian, is not suitable at all. DAP, do something.
#27 by teckwyn on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:20 pm
I’ve just done inter-bank transfer. Quite straightforward. The cartoon rocket does look like a condom ad. But it is quite appealing nevertheless.
#28 by megaman on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:28 pm
Hi Uncle Kit,
Contribute some $$$ into DAP election fund.
Do you think you can give us an email to make sure that the $$$ goes into the right piggy bank ?
I am sure many others have the same concerns as well. The Internet is very convenient but has lots of con traps and other dangers as well.
Hope you understand. I personally contribute once I am sure the $$$ transfer is secure and reaches DAP directly.
Thanks.
#29 by tselau on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:38 pm
Uncle Lim – reference no. 318179 through public bank online. Go for it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we are all behind you.
#30 by Thegame on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:42 pm
If DAP is seriously short of fund apart from donating personally can we offer help in any other way to collect funds like going house to house in groups to collect money..In Ipoh wet market is a ideal place to collect money.I am not sure of the legal side to it.If it will help please let us know.We are ready to assist ….Ipoh Timor speaking.We are at your service.
#31 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:50 pm
I have just done my part via Visa.
Pls inform all your friends. To make donation on-line is so simple, it won’t take more than 5 minutes of your time!
#32 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:50 pm
This is not a joke – Badawi doesn’t know if he is coming or going. Just ask Jeanne.
#33 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:57 pm
Hi Kit,
Other than donation, what else we supporters can help?
Providing vehicles?
Providing food and drinks?
Monitor polling stations?
Pin-point and disclose UMO’s abuses and vote buyings?
Help campaigning?
Help in putting on banners and postals?
#34 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:09 pm
Yes, we need to help DAP to fight for a fairer Malaysia!
Please donate generously for the just cause! It is our investment for a brighter future for our next generation in our beloved country.
Regret trying to donate vide credit card but failed. Will try later.
#35 by ahpiow on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:14 pm
Saudara LKS
Best wishes for DAP candidates. Hope you will knock out MIC MCA and UMNO candidates. Have posted cheque to your DAP PJ office. Sorry not internet-banking savvy. DAP or opposition has 4 votes from my family. In the past I was a staunch BN supporter being an MCA member. No more!
#36 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:15 pm
If we say we love Sdr Lim
If we admire his tenacity
If we value his contributions
It is time to do something, not just mere talking
At any one time I see about 100 bloggers online. My original proposal: each blogger here contribute RM200, and that is RM20,000 if hundred of us contribute. For those who have not contributed, can we do this by tonight? The next morning DAP will have RM20,000. That can print lots of posters or cover lots of travelling expenses.
Please everyone, the DAP bank account number is PUBLIC BANK BERHAD NO. 306 382 8309.
We need to contribute now. DAP needs the money now, not after the election!
#37 by BetterMalaysia on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:18 pm
anyone can tell me why is it sufficient for the opposition to break BN 2/3 parliament seat and this is considered as a big victory for the opposition? sorry… newbie in politics…
#38 by naked taliban on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:19 pm
credit card remittance failed, something is not right .
#39 by penangboy on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:22 pm
I have done my part….Malaysians please do yours. We are not ECM Libra. We are not Esquel. We are Malaysians and it’s time to stop the bullshit…I
#40 by selvam on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:30 pm
I have just deposited a small amount via maybank2u. Best of luck to DAPin this election. Kick the baboons out of parliment………..
#41 by catharsis on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:37 pm
Uncle Lim your “DAP FUND”should be an ongoing exercise instead of this 11th hour appeal-
Anyway if everyone could email 10 friends to solicit funds for DAP it would go a much longer way- I just emailed 30 of my friends
1 x10=10, 10×10=100, 100×10= 1000, 1000×10= 10,000, 10,000×10= 100,000, 100,000×10= 1,000,000………………inffinity
GOOD LUCK UNCLE LIM- your years spend in a cold cell is not and never be in vain- I salute you
“If Kevin Rudd could beat John Howard by listening to the people I am sure you can too”
#42 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:39 pm
I think we need to invite all world organizations to send representatives to Malaysia to help in monitoring this GE.
Of course, we must not forget to invite all the world media too!
We must not let UMO and its cronies to buy votes and to abuse their powers at broad day lights this time.
It would be great if ex-President Carter, Mandela and other world leaders can come and see thro their own eyes how unfair elections are run in Malaysia, how lopsided the mainstream media is, etc.
#43 by Short-sleeve on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:47 pm
Count me in. I will personally come over to DAP PJ office tomorrow and donate RM200
#44 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:48 pm
Yes, it is time to walk the talk, especially those who have talked and talked. – limkamput
Whether you’re regularly posting, or just readers, please take an active step now. Whether today or tomorrow or day after tomorrow, it’s never too late. Any amount, 100, 200, 300..1,000… etc.
Those who bank-in on line, e-mail the DAP office. Due to many similar figures, it might not be easy to single out which one is yours. Maybe e-mail acknowledgement is adequate. (This isn’t tax-deductible?)
Those wanting receipt, make a photocopy of your bank-in slip and DAP representative sign and chop, be adequate as receipt.
Now it’s official, those who talks politics outside, pease get proper forms of authorisation (form e?). Don’t get into trouble and don’t get your DAP candidate into trouble.
Thank you.
#45 by mugmug on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:54 pm
I have just donated little amount, order number is 1688 under NBepay.
I am from Penang, hope this time DAP will be successful in Penang!
Good Luck!
#46 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:58 pm
Niamah!
Some weeks ago somebody sent me the link to a video of our Prime Minister being interviewed “live” on CNN. It was during the Davos World Economic Conference or whatever. What got my attention wasn’t Davos. It was the way the prime minister of my country presented himself on live global television.
http://niamah.blogspot.com/2008/02/global-embarassment.html
#47 by justice6 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:00 pm
donated..
#48 by AntiSUPP on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:02 pm
Dear Mr Lim,
I just donated RM99.99 for the common Chinese cause & I will pledge to donate more when i see more of Lingam’s dirty linens.
We are all behind you and will go back home to vote for DAP even it means flying back.
Anti SUPP
#49 by mickey01 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:03 pm
Wish DAP every success and victorious fight against corruption, racial discrimination, nepotism, extremism, cronyism, human violations, and many more injustices and sufferings of the poor. May God bless DAP Malaysia and get rid of the evils.
#50 by js on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:04 pm
My donation thr. e-banking transaction reference is 314275. It is very secure as when I made the fund transfer under the same bank, the receipant name will be appeared on the screen for verification.