Po Kuan – Malaysia needs you to create history to deny BN 2/3 parliamentary majority

It’s 2.45 am. Endless series of meetings, internal and external, in the past 72 hours, putting me on the road from Petaling Jaya to Perak, Penang and down to Kuala Lumpur and Petaling Jaya, including two ceramahs with Po Kuan in Batu Gajah parliamentary constituency on Friday night and the launching of two election operation centres (Tebing Tinggi and Menglembu in Perak) as well as visit to traditional DAP stronghold in Kuala Lumpur, the Bukit Bintang parliamentary constituency, but which has now become a “danger” seat because of electoral manipulation in the influx of over 6,000 postal voters.

Have been up for 22 hours – including a five-hour marathon meeting of DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat leaders which ended with primary agreement for one-to-one contest between DAP or PKR with the Barisan Nasional in Peninsular Malaysia states – with the last meeting just ended an hour ago.

Very tired but no thought of sleep until I blog about Fong Po Kuan. Not just because I have been made the villain causing Po Kuan’s announcement that she would not contest in the 12th general election but also because of her qualities.

At about 2.30 p.m., I received calls asking why I had forced Po Kuan to retire from politics, as AIFM (Chinese) received by motorists had carried news flash that Po Kuan had announced her resignation from the DAP because of her unhappiness with me in forcing her to contest in another constituency.

I never did such a thing and Po Kuan never resigned from the party – but the damage was done, as first impressions (however false) are most lasting, that I had forced Po Kuan to resign from the DAP because I was forcing her to contest in another constituency apart from Batu Gajah. Talking about “eating dead cat”!

The party never asked Po Kuan to change constituencies, as all party leaders had expected and fully supported her to contest for the third time in the Batu Gajah parliamentary seat.

I will not be speaking the truth if I say that Po Kuan’s announcement yesterday had come as a complete surprise to me, although it was a shock to the overwhelming majority of DAP leaders, members and supporters.

I had tried to head off Po Kuan from making such a decision because she is a great asset to the party, Malaysian Parliament and the cause for justice, freedom and democracy but I failed. For this I take full responsibility.

I had skimmed through both the avalanche of comments on her blog and my blog. Po Kuan should know that she is looked up as a beacon of hope for Malaysians in the hard and grueling battle for justice, democracy and a Bangsa Malaysia.

I fully associate with the outpouring of public appeals to Po Kuan to reconsider and rejoin the DAP frontline in the great electoral battle looming before the nation by again standing for the parliamentary seat of Batu Gajah – as DAP, the people and nation need her to create history to deny the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority on March 8, 2008 to usher in a new democracy and a new Malaysian politics.

Before I conclude, let me confess that in the past 72 hours, I had departed from my practice since the start of my blog to read every comment published on my blog whether before or after publication – but with the dissolution of Parliament, time simply does not permit it.

As a result, I have not been able to respond to the many legitimate questions raised particularly over donations to the DAP Election Fund. I thank you for your support and let me assure you that every sen of the on-line donation would be fully accounted, audited and made public after the general election.

We need far more financial support from you as what the DAP Election Fund needs to prepare for the “Battle of the Century” in the 12th general election is many many times more than the amounts which have come through online.

Thanks are in order for volunteers led by GKT for taking over management of this blog since the past 72 hours till the end of the election campaign. Let us give GKT and team the time to go through the queries of the past 72 hours and to respond to them.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by mendela on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 10:22 pm

Yes, Kit is right, ” Stop all derogatory, hurting and unfounded allegations against Po Kuan for I can vouch for her sincerity and dedication although I cannot agree with what she has done.”

How many female MPs can fight like Po Kuan did in Parliament?
    How many Malaysians have sacrificed like what Po Kuan has done in her life so far?
    How many people in Malaysia can stand those stupid idiot SOB UMO and gangs abuses at Parliament?

Po Kuan must not quit!
    Malaysia needs you more than ever!

2. #2 by KanNinNeh on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 10:31 pm

It is very normal to have problems while we are actively fighting for our Rights, unless you are like the corrupted BN who are Nato and Sleepy one ! However crisis always gives rise to opportunity, it is important now for DAP to show the Rakyat you got the Wisdom to solve all the problems !

You can do it !

3. #3 by AhPek on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 10:44 pm

‘On the one hand I want to give you a motherly hug and tell you to pull yourself together and be the cilipadi that you are reputed to be.I wish to think that you must be facing stress that has overwhelmed you and need a little rest.
    On the other hand , I wish to wag you and tell you girl don’t be so sensitive, think of the rakyat, the oppressed,the neglected, the marginalised who can’t get out of their sorry state without help from fortunate people like you who has God-given brains and money to get an education.’. Celia.
    Great sensibilities only a woman is blessed with, is displayed by Celia and I reckon this should be the best tonic for FPK if she takes heed of what Celia says.
    Good on you Oknyua for telling all others who are making unfair comments on Fong Po Kuan to stop it.Just leave it to Uncle Kit to get this problem sorted out.

4. #4 by badak on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:07 pm

Lets look at the big picture.Po Kuan did a wonderful job when she was an MP.If she want to quit now,I think all her supporters in Batu Gajah should give her a farewell dinner and wish her all the best.
    There are a few more people like her who are waiting to be discovered.He or she can be a rough diamond waiting to be polished.
    The next person who take her place has a very big shoe to fit.

5. #5 by cheong on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:09 pm

Fully agree with cinapek that to certain extent, the DAP top leaders should be held responsible for the situation. I believe the problem must have been brewing for quite a while until so much so that FPK arrived at the point of no return and made such decision. Like the Chinese saying “3 feet of ice was not caused by a day’s blizzard” the top leaders would have sensed the problem and foresee it will give rise to grave consequences if without early intervention.

Much have been said and I think it’s not the time to witch hunt now, I hope all concerned can put in their concerted effort to salvage the situation. There is still a ray of hope.

6. #6 by ZhouYu on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:19 pm

Hmmm…Damage Control? How could this be even happened in the first place?

7. #7 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:30 pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/78199

This chinese article explains the root cause of DAP problem. Its sum-up in one Chinese proverb, “No one cares about deserted paddy field, but all come after a harvested paddy field”

8. #8 by kent on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:34 pm

Lim, take a good rest no matter how busy you are.

Fong, do not give up. life is full of disappointing but just depend on you how do you see and handle it. come on, lot of people support and back you up.

9. #9 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:34 pm

alaneth Says:

Today at 20: 43.27 (2 hours ago)
    Whether Poh Kuan is in Batu Gajah or not – I think the votes will be wise – they will still & always vote DAP!

=====

You are ignorant about Malaysia grass-roots politics. Armchair politicians will think like you.

10. #10 by SatuBangsa on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:59 pm

Dear YB Lim Kit Siang,

YB FPK is an asset to DAP. Why is there a lukewarm response to get her to stand in BG? She has done very well, in the past. Is she a trojan horse? If not, is there an under current to move her out cos she is getting more popular and attention?

Personally, if you are not a trojan horse, which I don’t think you are. Stand up, YB Fong Po Kuan, fight for your rightful place!

Stand as DAP, MP for Batu Gajah. We need you in Parliment, YB.

Please reconsider.

11. #11 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:09 am

Now I have seen everything! The opposition is no different from BN! UMNO (United Malays National Organization – better known as Uniting Malays National Organization) had so many rounds of internal fights, MCA too was no better and they had the guts to hold hands and sing “Tuan Jie Jiu Shi Li Liang” (Unity is Strength) at every one of its functions! Such hypocrites!!!!! At this crucial hour, shouldn’t the party be united and have its guns facing the enemy, but look at what happened? Guns are facing inwards and firing among members from the same party! I think before the GE, corpses will be lying at its HQ!

12. #12 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:14 am

Chinese is infamous for infigthing among themselves, MCA and DAP are no exception.

13. #13 by shaolin on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:21 am

YB Fong,
    Malaysia still needs You and Your service to All to
    deny BN 2/3 majority!!

We beg You to stay at this crucial period. Think of
    the Malaysia public first before making such drastic
    decision to quit.

You are our SOUL to Democracy and Rightfulness and
    we still need You. You are a very outstanding YB and
    we Malaysians give You 100% full support to back You
    up to contest at Batu Gajah. We strongly denounce all
    those who want you to quit BG!! We condamn such
    move!!

We want You as our Batu Gajah MP!!! For goodness
    sake, please stay and serve us…! Thank you.

Please cheer up and remain our beloved Batu Gajah MP!!

14. #14 by melurian on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:29 am

i don’t mind if she decline for the nomination as she might fed up sitting in parlimen without any positive cause (all proposals are vilified, jested and ridiculed). i don’t mind if she decline because they are some candidates/grassroots are sux (do you think DAP members are all saint, high EQ!). but the worse thing is that she only lend support “only” her recommended nominee. and her message reverberating all BG not to vote DAP due to internal strife phrase. why can’t she be gracious for the sake of DAP she married for 8 years…….

15. #15 by ZhouYu on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:36 am

malaysiatoday.com : Fully agree with you!

melurian : Because it’s the people that she’s been “married” for 8 years is trying to oust her. I think DAP will not be able to field the 2 candidates now that the news have been publicized. They stand a higher chance to lose than win.

16. #16 by DAPismyparty on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:54 am

FPK sacrifices for 8 years? Sacrifice her LLB or whatever? Sacrifice her personal time and whatever for the people before? Sorry, folks, I bet to differ here. The perk and pension after 2 terms as MP DOES compensate some of her so-called “Sacrifices” which I think she has herself to be blamed for “sacrificing” her previous “sacrificesx8″.
    My fellow war mate, please let her go, let her go, please! Stop glorify her from now on, she is so arrogant and thinking of herself as great and indispensable, the very fact of “My Decision is Final” and press conference in National TV at THIS hour shown she is the worst kind of arrogant and it is DESIGN to feed bullets to Bee End, it could be a well-planned occasion for her to inflict maximum pain to DAP, us and suffered-rakyat. I will the last to surprise if some time down the road, she join the so-called “great” guy like LLT. Corrupt BN people maybe behind this as well, in politic, you won’t know what’s behind the scene, or else, it won’t be call “behind the scene” (read: Lingam gate in 2002!).
    I am a DAP member in KV and will vote DAP or BA, come what may, not the so-call BN cybertrooper.

17. #17 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:54 am

Several thousand multiracial rakyat attended Anwar’s public rally yesterday in Taman Bkt Anggerik. The mood is great for opposition to teach BN a lesson in this election.

I hope Po Kuan can put aside her internal strife for the sake of a better Malaysia. You have kick the ass of Perak DAP state top leader hard. By now they have learned a lesson don’t steal your harvest and also don’t against the voters.

18. #18 by cto on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 1:01 am

OldManoftheSea Says:

Yesterday at 14: 20.13
    Reading through some of the comments make me laugh. Someone say he loss confidence with DAP. for having such infighting. One comment how can one run a nation if you cannot manage your own party. Let us keep our sasses and be mature and think.

Now, infightings are everywhere “people are people”. Do you think that BN no infighting meh? I tell there is worst infighting in BN BUT all conceal by the media which they control. But. when it comes to opposition infighting it is being exploited by BN propaganda machine.

Poh Kuan already leaves no room for negotiation when she says that her decision is final. Then we wish her the best in all her future undertaking.

————————————-

If this is a laughing matter, I will gladly laugh along with you. :)

Sure there is in-fighting within BN but with all due respect this is no justification for what is happening between DAP and FPK. Leadership of the party has to ensure that there is a united front even though there is disagreement within the party. Disagreements may actually be good, IMHO, as they often lead to better decisions. However, I would not categorize this disagreement as a healthy one.

The opposition cannot be as good or as bad as BN. It has to be better.

The fact this matter caught the DAP leadership by surprise is as good as or as bad as Badawi saying “I don’t know”. Not good enough, I am afraid.

19. #19 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 1:48 am

Fully agree with DAPismyparty, if FPK can publicly declare on BN TV that she’s not going to defend her constituency, the timing and the motives are rife with suspicion.
    Every general election there must be some sad soul who wants to back down at the crucial moments to portray a weak opposition.
    The BN TV never fails to try capitalize on the situation, the BN regime will praise the loser and this situation is hoped will throw the support of the Rakyat to the BN.This dirty tactic seems to work all the time that the BN uses it to try and win some votes from the Rakyat. Shame on the pawn of the corrupt BN.

However this time round, I am confident that the Rakyat has had enough with this old trick.
    The fight is not about this one person and DAP has got many many capable people to fill in this 1 gap.
    We as the Rakyat must move along and forget this 1 loser and give our undivided votes to DAP,PKR and PAS!

On to 8-3-2008! We shall deny BN their sacred 2/3 majority, we shall throw them down from their lofty palaces. We shall win!

20. #20 by tselau on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:09 am

Fong Poh Kuan,

You should know that to be one of the top leaders is not an easy task. Not everybody will have to like you or hero worship you like an idol. There will always be lots of tongue waggings, unfound rumours, internal conflicts, back stabbings, etc, just like working in a big MNC.

I use to hear the chinese saying : Warrior Chao Chao (baddie) has his set of best friends, and General Kuan (righteous Kuan Kong) also has his problems with enemies.

You just got to be terra firma against all adversities and soon it will all prevail.

Grow up girl, I am sure you can make it there.

21. #21 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:32 am

“…With BN itself is not a sin or guilty…” malaysiatoday.com
    ——————————————————–
    If you are sharing a bed with a bunch of thieves, it is OK to do anything to cari makan provided you toe the line and don’t rock the boat. You will also look like them and sound like them.

22. #22 by gotcha1965 on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:46 am

I am equally upset on the entire episode coincidently timed so close to the GE.

I’m sure FPK has her reasons … either politically motivated or not… only she will know and for us to find out in the near future. Let us not speculate further and distract from our Malaysia for Malaysian objective and focus on the real issue i.e. put more opposition voice at federal and state level to gertak bn to be more sincere in managing our (tax-payers’) money or better still form a new united government to serve us better.

We are all Malaysians and we deserve better governance.

For opposition members and supporters … keep up the good work and pls pls refrain from destroying our dream for a better Malaysia with negative comments which can (and are) be manipulated by BN media. All your sacrifices and conviction to the Malaysian society for decades will come to nothing or compromised if members & supporters continued sending perceived negative feedback to our fellow Malaysian fence-sitters.

For FPK, our society needs more young leaders with your attributes and qualities to serve. If you are able to resolve your concerns b4 nomination time pls stand up again for Malaysia and continue as our rep in parliment. If not, pls consider to publicly support yr successor (whoever selected by the party) in the GE and remain steadfast in your believe for a better Malaysia.

I would hope that when I woke in the early morning of March 9, BN is the opposition.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 6:51 am

Re: Po Kuan

“Tell me why FPK put in her letter of resignation: “my decision is final”. It is so bloody arrogant because it does not provide avenue for compromise, negotiation and work out. PK, I think your decision is not yours alone if you know what I mean. You are a sitting MP. You have a greater responsibility than those that affect you, your friends and family. You may be a two term MP, but I think there are still many things you need to learn, my friend.” limkamput

I do not think this is the way to show a party stalwart our appreciation for the years of service to the Party. She has shown leadership, courage and selfless dedication and loyalty – more than many would or could dream of doing. She has the confidence of the DAP leadership including that of YB Kit.

Whatever is troubling her, finally the choice is hers to make. You should not disparage her for her choice. Who are you to judge her?

There are 230 postings and expressions of support for her on her blog, and climbing : http://pokuan.blogsome.com/

Of the many expressions of support for her, there is one that strikes me -

“You may not have noticed but you gave hope to others where they have no hope and dreams to many who may not have dreamed.

I believe you are where you are because you have an ideal and passion for the weak and downtrodden. Now more than ever, people that have no voice desperately seek those that have them in mind, heart and soul to speak for them and bring about differences. “

24. #24 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 8:22 am

Does Lingam play a role in this pom, pom, pom?

25. #25 by melurian on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 8:34 am

There are 230 postings and expressions of support for her on her blog, and climbing : http://pokuan.blogsome.com/

I wrote negative comment but it got unposted…….

26. #26 by PSM on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 9:51 am

Badak is right. We should thank Po Kuan for the 8 years she gave the Rakyat. How many of us can claim to have done the same (very, very few)? We have no right to disparage her. All the best Po Kuan but please change your mind, come back & as I said before give the “BN a slap in the face”!
    We should wish her all the best. I am sure she will help / support the candidate who will take her place in this next GE.The BN is LAUGHING at the Opposition & especially the DAP now.
    Let’s not be distracted from our GOAL which is to deny the BN a 2/3rds majority or even better, vote them out!

27. #27 by langitputra on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 11:07 am

YB Fong Poh Kuan,
    I was devastated to know that you withdrawing from BG Parliament Seat.Last Friday I was at DAP ceramah in Pusing sitting right infront of the mike listening to your thunderous speech and Comrade LKS ended the ceramah with his speech, at the end I went up to him and introduced myself.On Sunday, I went to BG Chinese Tokong for ceramah, to my dismay,there was no ceramah, only screen shows going on. Later I came to know that there was an urgent DAP mtg in KL.Anyway,YB Fong dont bother about a few guys in Perak DAP, we are in the hundreds of thousands behind you. You had served BG for 2 terms and you know each and every corner of BG and also the problems faced by the Rakyat.What is the idea of fielding a newcomer where he/she had to start all over again.THEREFORE I HOPE YOU STAND FOR BG AND WILL THE SUPREME COMMANDERS OF DAP SOLVE THIS PROBLEM ASAP, WE DONT WANT TO BE A LAUGHING STOCK TO BN WHICH IS HAPPENING NOW.
    VALGA DAP VALGA YB FONG VALGA MAKKAL SAKTI !!!!!!!!!!!!!

28. #28 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 11:19 am

kanthanboy Says:

Today at 02: 32.46 (8 hours ago)
    “…With BN itself is not a sin or guilty…” malaysiatoday.com
    ——————————————————–
    If you are sharing a bed with a bunch of thieves, it is OK to do anything to cari makan provided you toe the line and don’t rock the boat. You will also look like them and sound like them

=============

People must joining opposition to look like saint?

Don’t be childish to stereotype people not in your camp?

99.99% BN people like opposition ppl have no chance to be corrupted.

Some opposition leaders would be as corrupted as some BN leaders IF they can acess to same resources. This is a part of human nature.

29. #29 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 11:23 am

melurian Says:

Today at 08: 34.42 (2 hours ago)

I wrote negative comment but it got unposted…….

==============

Can you repost your post here? You must be using dirty words or personal attack.

30. #30 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:11 pm

“Some opposition leaders would be as corrupted as some BN leaders IF they can acess to same resources. This is a part of human nature.”

That’s part of your human nature, not mine!

31. #31 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:21 pm

By saying her decision is final, PK is closing her doors for further negotiations. Was she a victim of “buying out” by BN? Otherwise, why is not possible for negotiations? I remembered the same situation during the times of LLT when he was a “strongman” in DAP. At this eleventh hour just before the GE, such action by any candidate for any political party can be very serious and PK should have known it.

32. #32 by rvenugopal on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:34 pm

YB Po Kuan, the final day is approaching fast and you are one of the icon that could bring changes to the people,community,DAP and the country. The young and old are with you, please change your mind and say ‘ YES’.
    We know you will not let us down. Your presence will add fear in the heart of the Ong Brothers ( Ka Ting and Ka Chuan) . Be with us to fight the battle and come victorious on 8th March 08.

33. #33 by pilihanrayaexpert on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:52 pm

Fong Po Kuan

???????????????? !

34. #34 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 12:56 pm

Rumour has it that she was bought over by BN.

I was devastated by the rumour because I voted for her in two previous GE. If the rumour is confirmed, I will consider not voting for anybody anymore in the coming GE.

35. #35 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 1:56 pm

“99.99% BN people like opposition ppl have no chance to be corrupted.” malaysiatoday.com
    ————————————
    Wow! BN government is 99.99% cleared of corruption. No wonder most cases of reported corruption are closed without investigation. Malaysia will surely rank No.1 as the least corrupt country in the world. Maybe the BN government should shut down the ACA because there will be almost no corruption to investigate. All those commentators who talk about corruption must be talking rubbish.

36. #36 by melurian on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:01 pm

well, i wrote something like this (in fact quite same msg i posted here b4, with she replace you, no vulgar words involve):

… decline for the nomination as she might fed up sitting in parlimen without any positive cause (all proposals are vilified, jested and ridiculed). i don’t mind if she decline because they are some candidates/grassroots are sux (do you think DAP members are all saint, high EQ!). but the worse thing is that she only lend support “only” her recommended nominee. and her message reverberating all BG not to vote DAP due to internal strife phrase.

37. #37 by ZepolBumi on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:18 pm

Postal votes and phantom voters all part and parcel of the dirty tricks by BN to win B.Bintang. Don’t worry we will prevail on 8th of March! Im looking at DAP getting a much better results than 2004. all rise to DAP!

38. #38 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:45 pm

“# AntiRacialDiscrimination Says:
    Today at 12: 56.43 (1 hour ago)

Rumour has it that she was bought over by BN.

I was devastated by the rumour because I voted for her in two previous GE. If the rumour is confirmed, I will consider not voting for anybody anymore in the coming GE.”

To all, whatever the reason, whatever the rumour, whatever the excuse FPK gives, whether she is the next LLT or not, We must not give in to such dirty tactics! It sure does smell of corruption, it smells of a BN trick and it makes me sick!

Forget her! If she is a LOSER, let her be! We shall stand united behind the Opposition! Don’s lose hope just because of 1 bad egg. The fight, the struggle, the dream of a new government is not made of 1 person. Forget her like straight away! Do not cloud our minds further by her malicious act!

UNITE! VOTE OPPOSITION! VOTE DAP! VOTE PKR! VOTE PAS!
    vOTE FOR OUR FUTURE AND OUR CHILDREN’S FUTURE!

39. #39 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:52 pm

“Some opposition leaders would be as corrupted as some BN leaders IF they can acess to same resources. This is a part of human nature.” malaysiatoday.com
    ————————————-
    “That’s part of your human nature, not mine!” dawsheng
    —————————————
    Thank you, dawsheng
    Just because he shares the same bed with BN bunch of thieves he thinks everyone else is like him. He not only looks like them, sounds like them, he also acts like them.

40. #40 by ycchai62 on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 2:59 pm

LKS and LGE

There is a man who may be able to convince FPK to stay and stand again as a candidate for BG. He is Teng Chang Khim. The reason is simple and obvious. He has been in the same shoes as FPK before, but the only difference is he did not quit and choose to carry on with his will power. The result is he manage to make Sg Pinang or Klang his stronghold and even help Ng Swee Lim to wrest Sekinchan from MCA. He is capable to help FPK to visualize the bigger perspective of Malaysia’s political future.

Set aside the difference between you (LGE) and TCK and tackle the problem immediately. Other wise LGE may head to a disastrous 12th GE and your political career is finish. Be a man to admit your mistake and move on as a true warrior.

Weigh the various reactions from the ground in Bagan and you should understand the implication. Think and act fast.

“Soh chow ko hou mo teng tap”

41. #41 by jennifer cheong on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 3:08 pm

To my dear leaders of Lim Kit Siang, Guan Eng and Po Kuan,
    Please work together happily and forgive one another for Malaysia need all of you to be together and be strong ! DAP must be strong to win a great victory on 8 March 2008 which happen to be a woman day! Come on our lovely Fong Po Kuan, stand up and don’t let us women down ! we are weak and we need you to help us to be strong like you! Pls, reconsider as our good leader Kit Siang and Guan Eng released the public statement of 100% support you ! don’t bother about the naughty one lah…punish them by saying YES, I DO, I WANT TO COME BACK and beat your pat pat pain pain for naughty…you naughty bad bad guys…opp..

42. #42 by toyolbuster on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 4:05 pm

To be honest, the great names within DAP that any Malaysians would know by heart, like John, Paul, George and Ringo of The Beatles, include Kit, Karpal, and now Po Kuan. The rest are insignificant. So Po Kuan, you are now one of the torch bearer of DAP and its success is heavily dependent on you as well. Don’t matter if you have a handful of party members who are being spiteful but you don’t need their support. You have all our support throughout Malaysia. You even have earned the greatest respect from many UMNO members. Not many DAP leaders can claim that. You are among the first few STEPS that will lead us to a 1000 miles journey of hope. We need your strength for our children’s future.

43. #43 by feimao.mrbb on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 4:41 pm

I believe Po Kuan had watched one too many drama serials. Politics is an arena for grownups. This is no time for sandiwara or shadowplay. The fact that she made this decision without consulting the DAP hierachy shows how childish she is. To air your grievances/ dirty laundry so close to election time is tantamount to betrayal or worse treason.

Mr Lim, i would suggest you give her a pass on this election. Her credibility is shot upon her verbal diarhrea. Despite all the good she has done in the past, no intelligent person can respect much less vote for her again in the future. It is like a child “fat lan jah” (canto) when she did not get her way.

In fairness, if she was indeed asked to make way for someone else, DAP must revisit this policy of theirs. In my humble opinion, an incumbent must be allowed to contest his or her seat (even if they were to lose). Why? Because it was theirs to lose in the first place.

Let me sign off by saying this to DAP – please be fair to your members. Anything less would be mimicking BN. I believe that was never your goal or intention.

44. #44 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 4:50 pm

Time to forget this one person.In fact after writing this post I will never ever mention the ex MP of BG ever again. She is history to me, and this chapter I am throwing it with my day’s thrash.

We should all do the same thing. Do not cry over her. She cannot change our commitment to our struggle.If it’s true Barang Naik Regime got the best of her, let her be. She has proven herself that her constituents and the party mean nothing to her. She has gone to BN TV to try her best to hurt the party and the Opposition.

My last post in her blog is this:-
    “So you gave up the fight, you concede defeat, you let others walk all over you. Well that’s good and I learnt something today. Some people can be so insensitive to other’s feeling, hopes and wishes. When you became MP, the Rakyat put you there. Now you let them down, you shown them that the Barang Naik Regime has won you over. I don’t know what is true but this is what you have shown to everybody. Congratulations that you tried your best to harm the DAP and the people in your constituent at the BEST time ever. The timing could not be more opportune for you and Barang Naik Regime, with them relishing in your defeat. Time will tell what is your true motives to throw in the towel on the eleventh hour. No,we cannot understand why you hurt the people and the party at the moment of truth. Sorry just will not cut it. You gone to BN TV and told everyone your decision which is final. Even though so many people appealed to you, begged with you you still let us down, so you know, you are not Member of Parliament material, so just leave.

The Fight will go on without this 1 selfish person.

UNITE BEHIND OPPOSITION! VOTE FOR DAP! VOTE FOR PKR! VOTE FOR PAS!
    Regime Barang Naik is going down.”

45. #45 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 4:56 pm

dawsheng Says:

Today at 12: 11.41 (4 hours ago)
    “Some opposition leaders would be as corrupted as some BN leaders IF they can acess to same resources. This is a part of human nature.”

That’s part of your human nature, not mine

===

From past history record, those ppl pretend they are saint are most evil. See what happened in the US church, fathers sodomized boys.

DAP branch chairman in my kampong ran away after borrowing money from ah peks and ah longs.

No saints in the politics except illusions from some idiots.

46. #46 by Nobody on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:00 pm

She knew very well what her action would do to the DAP with her announcement. Why she had to do it at this time? Why didn’t she do it earlier (since this is not a “last minute” decision)?

These are the questions that will linger on…

47. #47 by jbhlee on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:01 pm

I agree with Rakyat Teraniaya. No time to look back. Her timing of her announcement was very bad. If that was not the intention what is…

As long as DAP put in a creditable candidate, there will still be a chance. I hope residents wants a better future for their children and not look at 1 person whom the idolised gone out of politics. People come and go…DAP is still around. Lee Lam Thye has gone, Sim Kwang Yang also gone, Hu Sepang also gone.

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:06 pm

kanthanboy Says:

Today at 14: 52.03 (2 hours ago)
    “Some opposition leaders would be as corrupted as some BN leaders IF they can acess to same resources. This is a part of human nature.” malaysiatoday.com
    ————————————-
    “That’s part of your human nature, not mine!” dawsheng
    —————————————
    Thank you, dawsheng
    Just because he shares the same bed with BN bunch of thieves he thinks everyone else is like him. He not only looks like them, sounds like them, he also acts like them.

===========

Only people live in illusion can come out to say BN people are thieves. The fact is 99.99% MCA members in my kampong are better human beings than a DAP local branch chairman.

The world is not decided by what you think, you sound and you say, but your action speaks out who you are.

Many commentators here are talking cock, when comes to action, majority of them are chicken out. You may be one of them.

49. #49 by dylsee on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:14 pm

Dear Po Kuan,

It is at times difficult to judge what is right and what is wrong. But at this critical moment of General Election, it is unwise to do the things that create uncertainty. All the while I always believe in the balance of power both within and outside, as I realise that power without control leads to disaster. So my suggestion for you is to think within yourself what is good for Malaysia. Reckless parting from your important role in parliament is not a good thing. If you really need help, you can write to me: dylsee@inbox.com

50. #50 by shirbing on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:15 pm

No matter who is the candidate for BATU GAJAH. We will vote for DAP ..