Traditional DAP stronghold Bukit Bintang has become a “danger” seat – the Battle for 5Cs

I have chosen Bukit Bintang as the first DAP parliamentary constituency to visit after the dissolution of Parliament on Wednesday because this traditional DAP stronghold for over three decades has become a “danger” seat through dirty electoral tricks with the influx of over 6,000 postal votes since the 2004 general election.

DAP can lose the Bukit Bintang parliamentary seat in the March 8 general election, not because the people of Bukit Bintang have ceased to support the DAP and decided to abandon their historic role as the national political vanguard for justice, equality and freedom in Malaysia but because of electoral hanky-panky and the most lopsided playing field for Bukit Bintang parliamentary constituency in 50 years.

If the two-term DAP incumbent Fong Kui Lun loses Bukit Bintang parliamentary constituency on March 8, it is not just a personal or a DAP party loss, but a major setback of historic proportion for the long, hard and grueling political struggle to create a fair, just and equal Malaysia where all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, can have an equal place under the Malaysian sun.

If Fong Kui Lun is defeated in the traditional DAP stronghold of Bukit Bintang, it will be the triumph of all that is wrong with our country not only in the past quarter-century, but also in the past four years of Abdullah premiership.

In Kelantan on Friday, Umno deputy chairman Datuk Seri Najib Razak launched Barisan Nasional battle cry in its bid to capture the state from PAS – “Heal Kelantan”!

In fact, the battle cry for all Malaysians in the 12th general election should be “Heal Malaysia” as never before had the country been plagued by so many divisive nation-building issues– with religious polarization the most serious and greatest new threat to national unity.

The battle cry of “Heal Malaysia” should start from the battle of Bukit Bintang focused on 5Cs –

• Crime – with Kuala Lumpur as the capital of crime in Malaysia where no one can feel safe any more in the streets, public places or even the privacy of their homes, in Kuala Lumpur and the major urban centres.

• Corruption – even worse than when Abdullah became Prime Minister four years ago when he promised to be the modern-dan Justice Bao to eradicate corruption.

• Cost of Living – the economic crisis especially from inflation and economic downturn as made life a daily struggle for ordinary Malaysians.

• International Competitiveness – the relentless decline of Malaysia’s international competitiveness illustrated by the plunge in international rankings of Malaysian universities, a unchecked brain drain and loss of national and international confidence in the rule of law and an independent judiciary have seen the country losing out to more and more countries when facing the challenges of globalization.

• Defend and uphold the Merdeka Constitution and 1957 Social Contract – that Malaysia is a democratic, secular and multi-religious nation with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic state; and to smack down the rise of Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons in the schools, universities and public service who are increasingly insensitive of the rights of citizens and Malaysia’s character as a nation of diverse races, languages, cultures and religions.

Let the battle cry of “Heal Malaysia” emanate from the battle for Bukit Bintang in the 12th general election.

1. #1 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:27 pm

DAP must maintain the Bukit Bintang stronghold! It has always been a thorn in BN’s side that the Golden Triangle belongs to Opposition!
    The challenges will be tough but DAP will prevail!
    Godspeed DAP! Godspeed the BA!

2. #2 by ZhouYu on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:44 pm

I have to agree with you that Bukit Bintang is indeed a danger seat. The same goes for Kepong. Majority for DAP has eroded since the last 3 elections. Be prepared…

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:54 pm

umno is crying and begging. They are also very afraid that they might lose Trengganu State. rtm1 and 2 are spinning programs on Trengganu every hour, 24 hours.

It is hope that Lawyer Wee do not enter the race for the Bukit Bintang seat for the sake of Malaysian people. Residents of Bukit Bintang, you all know how bad it is for everyone of us if umno were to win this seat. Please throw all your support for DAP.

Remember there is no more bn but umno. A vote for mca, mic is a vote for racist islamic state umno. They will snatch your dead body, insist there will be no drum for your lion dance, they will distrupt your CNY and Deepavali celebrations, no funding for building of Chinese and Tamil schools, ask your children to clean the school toilets, to wear long pants for sport events, raise their kris to frighten you and many more bad thing that they will do to you.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

4. #4 by carloz28 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:55 pm

I’m not too optimistic about other seats in Perak, let alone Bukit Bintang…Despite strong support from the rakyat, I dunno how DAP is going win it when the EC itself is already part of BN…

If DAP has proof that postal votes are comin in from twilight zone..shove it to EC secretary, kamarulzaman. He looks pretty trustworthy to me, unlike that cocky cheating mustard rashid..It is too late to do something now…

Sorry if i sounded too negative, just that im kinda lost faith in the EC ppl to maintain a clean and fair election…

5. #5 by just n free on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:05 pm

We need an impartial Observer to monitor the EC activities before, during and after GE, as the EC Rashid is pro BN. He should have the decency to retire and not continue another year.
    ACA should investigate him – his financial status, assets, etc…

6. #6 by ZhouYu on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:06 pm

I believe a Rising Cost Of Living and Crime would be a very strong argument point for the opposition in KL, though I don’t think much could be done about that even if the opposition wins in KL. Throughout the years, prices have been going up faster than our earnings, yet our government is spending unnecessary money. I don’t see how our first astronaut program benefit the people in any way at the moment. Such money could’ve been used to help the people.

7. #7 by damianyeow on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:28 pm

I cannot stress this enough, is there any way to change the public indifference to their voting rights. There is a vast majority of them urban & educated voters, who think their votes mean nothing when it actually mean a lot.If only they can all ‘come together’ will make a big dent on BN monopoly of power in M’sia. Maybe DAP should come-out with a ‘shock tactic’, MMS with visual+audio for max effect to show what M’sia, might end up like Myanmar one day? B’coz it simply might, with the trend of repeated scandals.
    I’m staying in Loke Yew area, & so my voting area is Bkt Bintang, since donkey years ago. Then suddenly in the last election for no apparent reason, we were put under Cheras, u want to know why?
    This is what happens if BN holds 2/3 majority, they can change any
    laws & rules with whim & fancy. The only reason this change was made is an example of the ‘dirty tactics of the ruling BN’, is no other than to steal this parliament seat thru deceit. They knew
    my area here is hard-core DAP supporters so what they did is move
    us to Cheras where they got no hope of winning, thereby severely weakening the support for DAP in Bkt Bintang. At the same time,
    they purposely build many lowcost housing for you-know-who in Jln Hang Jebat & near Pudu areas. Can DAP do anything about it?
    This is a criminal act to deny us our chosen representative. it troubles me deeply that this is happening right under our noses,
    can we like sue the EC or somethin after all we have many lawyers in DAP, my point is we have to do something right? to correct this great injustice, & I understand this is going on all over the country not only Bkt Bintang, in Seremban, in Kota Melaka……….

8. #8 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:58 pm

What we can do is to vote BA 100% irregardless.
    It is only when the fight is slim that the dirty Barang Naik bring in their Postal Votes. But when the margin is too far, they cannot sacrifice too many postal votes and send it somewhere else where the difference is low.It has happened many times that when the Opposition wins by a margin of a few hundred votes, the Postal Votes suddenly appear and Barang Naik candidate wins.
    So now even though the fight is tough, we the RAKYAT must unite and VOTE FOR BA!
    VOTE FOR DAP! VOTE FOR PKR! VOTE FOR PAS!

9. #9 by hiro on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:10 pm

I think voters should use all the advantages they can find in Bukit Bintang area to even the odds represented by postal votes.

Every interested voters should check out at polling stations that they voted for DAP so that the disparity will show if the counting process has been compromised.

Every interested voters should bring along their camera, camcorder or other like recording devices to capture any perceived irregularities in the voting process.

Every interested voters should participate as observers, especially during vote count, to make sure there’s no hand-in-sleighs when EC officers are counting the votes.

There may be 6 thousand postal votes. Assuming these votes all go to Barisan Nasional, each and every interested voters must now make sure that he/she goes out to get any fence -seaters to vote for DAP to neutralise the postal votes. No one should stay at home on polling day. You must all come out at full force. Each and every vote WILL matter this time round.

10. #10 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:11 pm

Dirty electoral tricks and hanky –panky executed by the Election Commission are not restricted to Bukit Bintang seat alone, these have been carried out in various degree in all traditional opposition strongholds, Ipoh Timur seat is one of them.
    No discounting whatever the Election Commission has done to make Bukit Bintang a lopsided playing field, it is still a Chinese majority seat. The Chinese votes can singly decide the result of the GE. If DAP is defeated in the March 8 general election, the Chinese of Bukit Bintang only have themselves to blame for all the racist policies and corruption of the BN government. If the Chinese of Bukit Bintang still think BN deserves their support, nobody can help such a pathetic lot. After the election they can continue to kick, shout and scream. You get what you vote for.

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:18 pm

But then what is going on in Batu Gajah with Ms (Mrs) Chilli Padi? Another goner seat? Maybe Ipoh Barat too will fall.

Nothing is safe anymore.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:25 pm

In the end, all KL FT seats will be under BN, it is only a matter of time. No seat is safe anymore.

On postal votes, why did the EC dump them into urban areas which already has so many voters per constituency? Why not put the postal votes in say Gua Musang or other seats which have low registered voters like in Sarawak or Perlis?

Better still, these votes should go to the respective constituencies of the voter and not lumped and dumped anywhere the EC likes.

1 man 1 vote? Clean and fair elections? EC is blind. It will be BN again all the way.

13. #13 by iweepformalaysia on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:26 pm

I think that as the world is watching closely the situation in Malaysia, it is detrimental to the country if the government that had ruled for the past 50 years won again this time. After all, there have been a lot of issues that is plagueing the nation and its people, and i believe the rest of the world are aware of them.

It will be very surprising if the existing government can still manage to win a landslide election under such uncertainties. When that happens, the world should be awared that something is definitely very wrong with the system here. And when that does happen, this country as a whole will become a third rate country that practices inequality and unfairness, contradicting the facts and thus losing competitiveness and attractiveness.

So the question is, will UMNO and its gang gambled with the future of the nation? We must really vote wisely.

14. #14 by grace on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:26 pm

I hope the BB voters will come out in full force to suport DAP!
    MCA, GERAKAN or UMNO will promise you the moon now. But after the GE, you will pay for your follies.
    We had such experiences in the last four years. It would not be any different in the next.

When I was driving home today, I saw Gerakan is throwing a feast for residents in my place. Yes, I believe our vote is not cheap – just a course dinner? At stake is our children’s eucation, economy and more jobs, our rights to worship and the list goes on and on.

To the RESIDENTS IN BB, DO VOTE ONLY FOR DAP FOR THE SAKE OF A BETTER REPRESENTATION IN PARLIAMENT WHICH IS NOW USED AS PLAYGROUND FOR BN!

15. #15 by iweepformalaysia on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:30 pm

As for phantom voters, the amount that those hooligans can play with are probably limited, so as long as everyone vote for the opposition, it won’t be an easy task for them to cheat. Let’s show the people who have cheated on us for 50 years what an election really means.

16. #16 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:30 pm

If Wee Choo Keong insist on fighting a 3 way fight in BB, then it is confirmed that he is no better than those running dogs from MCA and Gerakan. In fact he has always supported the BN through his “pain in the behind party” which he formed after he had a fall out with the DAP supremos. He is selfish and full of ego stuff. Very self-centered. However, if he decides to stand in any other 2 way fight against the BN, then he can have our support not becos of his personality, but merely for voting out the BN.

17. #17 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:33 pm

It is a real and present danger that DAP will loose Bukit Bintang, but only nothing less than 100% of Chinese voters goes to DAP can save the day.

Should BB falls into the hand of BN, then the Chinese there cannot complain about the loop sided policy BN dished out to non-Malays. Anyway Chinese BN voters have been selfish voters all along, so BN strategy may just work this time. Braze yourselves for disaster in the outcome of BB votes.

I hope they can see for themselves how this UMNO dominated government is treating the minority Indian in this country. If they voted BN, they in fact be selling their soul to the devil that their future generations will be paying the price. God Bless.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:33 pm

Why has Fong Poh Kuan quit?

19. #19 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:47 pm

ACA should investigate him – his financial status, assets, etc…

You expect the ACA to investigate EC Rashid? The credibility of the ACA has gone down the drain after hearing RCI witness’s testimony of bribing by ACA officer and their shoddy investigation of the Lingam tape.

It is now called ACA (Assisting Corruption Agency)

20. #20 by PSM on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 4:52 pm

They have 200,000 Postal Votes to paly with (am I right?). Can you imagine what havoc they can do with that amount of votes?!
    Fair elections…ya right! And noone can do anything about it!
    only God can save us from this “Nest of Vipers”!

21. #21 by jbhlee on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 5:04 pm

Wee Choo Keong is a non issue. Nobody recognise the MDP logo. However to neutralise the 6000 new postal votes, we need 3000 Indian votes to swing from BN to DAP. This is not so difficult but just need plenty of hard work.

22. #22 by ihavesomethingtosay on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 5:13 pm

Fong quit becos her husband oso quit

23. #23 by max2811 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 5:24 pm

Are you sure Fong Po Kuan quitted? Just received an sms from her a few days back.

24. #24 by dawsheng on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 6:08 pm

No doubt Po Kuan just dropped a bomb! And because it was a bomb that she dropped people are questioning the stability of DAP, and the people ask can the party leaders and members unite under one common goal? Uncle Kit, first it was Tham in Penang and now Po Kuan in Batu Gajah, both of them cited internal problems that led to Tham’s sudden outburst where he defied party gag order and now Poh Kuan’s resignation which is something more serious, in view that the general election is inly weeks away. Something is amiss as some leaders are clearly not happy, we hope all things are cleared up as soon as possible.

25. #25 by Chong Zhemin on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 7:10 pm

I think this post has bring us back to reality. For those that have always want a change in government and accusing DAP of not having the ambition to form an alternative government, do you think that it is a realistic target?

If we are even talking about defending Bukit Bintang and Kepong, Recapturing Serdang and Jelutong, it shows how hard it is even to deny BN’s two third.

BTW, Just read about Po Kuan’s news. Not a good thing to happen especially at this moment. I have read news that she’s gonna quit since last GE. However she changed her mind when Ong Ka Chuan decided to contest in Batu Gajah.

26. #26 by budak on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 7:36 pm

after phantom voters, now come out with “postal” voter…
    really wonder how does BN rare so many “ghost”…

dear Malaysian, please send them back to Caribbean…!
    never cross to my mind that Pak Lah more dirty than Lou Ma… :-)

27. #27 by budak on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 7:41 pm

Po Kuan never say quits wor…?
    Batu Gajahian still need her…
    Malaysian still need her to whack BN doggies in Parliament… :-)

28. #28 by k1980 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 9:21 pm

“I think there is a glimmer of hope that we can try to break the UMNO political hegemony and deny the Barisan Nasional its parliamentary two-thirds majority which has always been the unreachable holy grail in Malaysian politics,” he told AFP.

Such a development in the March 8 polls would prevent the government from amending the constitution at will, giving the opposition more say in policy and delivering an enormous morale boost.

“For the first time the Indians are prepared for change. For the past 50 years they were a vote-bank for the government,” Lim said, adding that ethnic Chinese also feel they “want to have an equal place under the Malaysian sun.
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/329332/1/.html

29. #29 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 9:40 pm

How would operators of vice and other crime syndicates operating in Bukit Bintang view a clean government? As everyone knows organized crime cannot exist without police cooperation.

30. #30 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 9:53 pm

It is BN strategy to win BB by using Wee Choo keong in a 3 cornered fight. Wee is going to spoil DAP chances, so friends, don’t be fooled by him. He has in fact openly pledged to support BN in the last GE, so why the F is he insisting on standing against BN in BB if not to spoil DAP votes.

31. #31 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 10:10 pm

Be alert and win.

…“Individuals who are keen to vote must come back to Malaysia as there is no other alternative for them to exercise their rights,” he said in response to an e-mail sent to The Star by a Malaysian living in Hong Kong who wants to vote in next month’s election….

a)’Most probably’ your ICs were already used a few times in last 38 years to ‘ VOTE’ for the
    ruling establishment.

b)You do not have ‘local standi ‘ to dispute at all.

c)Immigration records showed you were overseas, so very safe to use your ICs to ‘VOTE’..

d)Say , I forgot to mention those dedicated forgotten heroes 1,729,000 or more who migrated permanently, but ‘…records showed that a person has not died, the EC could not expunge the name from the roll. (Star)…’

e)…’real unsung heroes,s ICs’ can also be used to ‘VOTE’.

d)A ‘PARADOX’ too late to be rectified… Bersih demos ‘for Clean Electoral Roll’ unheeded..

e)Many countries with no tranparencies can remained in ‘POWER, for many generations.
    Their ‘…records showed that a person has not died, the EC could not expunge the name
    from the roll.’…

…..Hey, immigration records can be erased from Immigration Data Base in the on-going
    ‘murder case’…. Reasonable doubts ..?

f)Likewise unerased useful data & their ‘life-long’ existence is very useful too, right..?

g)Manpower surveys, surveys by statistics department ,EPU planning surveys, other related agencies surveys whereby data collected & computed, were all used in strategic studies to be applied in elections … not just used for economic planning …

h)–Data are used to plot & plan as follows;-

1) delineation excercises

2) demographic studies as to concentration & spread of Voters by age, occupation ,salary, race , religion, . It is like a GPRS system ….

3) Manpower studies is a double edged sword…. it contain a lot of details.
    Always carried out just before an election . Remember or forgotten ?…

4) Tun Dr M’s regime used these positive data to stay in ‘POWER’ for many years.
    Current ruling BN is using these instruments to their advantage without fail.

5) I “beg to differ” with common general label that ‘YAB PM sleeping..’.

He is too smart for that.

YAB PM is using his GPRS brain waves .

Even, Tun Dr. M failed to see YAB PM had ‘fine tuned his GPRS’ to avoid detection’.

Remember he served as a ‘Diplomat’ in the capacity of a Foreign Minister in diplomacy
    without borders.

6) In 2004 GE , many Malaysians ‘prayed’ unbiased blessings for YAB PM .

7) For the coming 2008 General Election, has the most Honorable YAB PM ‘Repented’ & ‘Forgive his adversaries’ ?

smilies/cool.gif Australia Liberal party forgot to ‘Repent’ and ‘ Forgive his adversaries’?
    Not just lost two-third majority, but lost all instead.

32. #32 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 10:27 pm

YB Fong,

I was about to write to YB Kit and DAP SG but read your statement posted by SG LGE and many posting at YB Kit blog.

Everyone is very sad about your quiting including me. I know you are a great fighter, why give up. So long as you have the blessing from YB Kit and DAP SG ( unless they did not ), why do you care about what your other party members said.

There is no Final Decision in Politics

I am 54 years old and have been a full supporter of DAP all my life. I am begging you to retract your decision, if you want me to kneel down to beg I will do so. This is not the time to quite no matter how bad you are treated by DAP. This GE is the only chance to kick racist islamic state umno in the ass and send a strong signal to them not to play with fire and treat us as fools.

So YB Fong, please, please do not back out now.

YB Kit, please do something about it

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

33. #33 by mendela on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 10:32 pm

YB Fong, pls watch below youtube…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taVW8Kv2HcQ

34. #34 by limkamput on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 10:35 pm

How would operators of vice and other crime syndicates operating in Bukit Bintang view a clean government? As everyone knows organized crime cannot exist without police cooperation. darkhorse

So are you saying that all the people in Bukit Bintang are one way or another involved in organised crimes? Please have some respect for ordinary hardworking honest Chinese.

35. #35 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 10:45 pm

Please so your support for YB Fong and post at her blog to request her to withdraw her resignation and help DAP to win the seat.

We really need every single winnable seat.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

36. #36 by mendela on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 11:21 pm

For DAP to win big, more female candidates and young professions must be drafted!

DAP needs new bloods, young and good looking people to beat all the running dogs BN candidates!

37. #37 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 11:41 pm

Do not underestimate ” Women ‘s Power “.

I believed Women’s Votes will removed BN out of power.

youtube.com/watch?v=HFmE9gSzDyw

youtube.com/watch?v=2iCgZohPSI8&feature=related

youtube.com/watch?v=R4j2_rCzMzs&feature=related

youtube.com/watch?v=jzeZ33m23xk

38. #38 by chiakchua on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 11:44 pm

Dear YB Fong,
    It was such a big shock to hear of your decision to quit. What a wrong timing at this very last minute of the forth coming election. It only reflects your immaturity (my apology); you are not able to endure crisis. DAP needs you at this critical moment, and you just quit because someone may have antagonise you. Please look at the whole national scenario, don’t give up so easily when some obstacle sets in your way. Think of how uncle Kit had suffered, what he had gone through for the sake of fighting for a fair, just and equal Malaysia for all Malaysian.

You still have long way to go to make yourself a real national issue politician; surely you would not just want to remain as local petty issue politician. Yes, you have all the prerequisites and potential to become a great national politician to fight the battle for all Malaysian. WE BEG YOU TO RECONSIDER TO STAY BACK AT BATU GAJAH, BUT WITH YOUR HUBBY JOINING YOU AT BATU GAJAH AS WELL. Or please consider to move to Johor if you decide to stay close to your hubby’s home state. As a Johorean, we welcome you to our home state!

39. #39 by Colonel on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 1:05 am

Hypothetically speaking, say DAP/PKR/PAS gets to form the next government, what will happen in Bkt. Bintang?

Should we expect to see a crackdown on vice activities, the closing down of vice dens, health centres (euphemism for high class brothels), gambling dens etc. Imagine the thousands of jobs lost.

Right now the corrupt government under BN is in league with crime lords in the area. Liquor licenses are issued freely despite the rhetoric on the country being an Islamic state. Vice dens thrive and are free from raids by city officials and religious department officials. The occasional raids that are widely reported in the media from time to time are a cover-up for the long standing collusion between vice syndicates and the BN run government. A change in the status quo would lead to jobs being lost.

40. #40 by BlackEye on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 3:13 am

What if they close down Kg. Attap??

41. #41 by Bigjoe on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 7:58 am

How does Bukit Bintang get 6,000 postal votes? Can’t imagine it having 6,000 military personnel, diplomatic core, oversea students????

42. #42 by g2geetoo on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 8:37 am

I don’t trust this guy Wee Choo Keong. He thinks he is bigger than the party (formerly as a DAP member). Party comes first, just like in any MNC.

I see him as someone working for the BN. He’s a devil in disguise!

That’s Wee Choo Keong! Look at his response the moment Foong PK speaks out. This guy is really an opportunist, just waiting to destroy DAP for his own vengeance.

Lawyer buruk!

43. #43 by k1980 on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:32 am

Are you still a voter? Check it out at—–> http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftarbi.asp

44. #44 by limkamput on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 12:20 pm

BlackEye Says: What if they close down Kg. Attap??

Then those Kg Attap rats would have no where to go other than committing hara-kiri.

45. #45 by Man_of_Honour on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 1:05 pm

EC = BN

No doubt… how can ppl with same address be voting in different constituencies?

Better check with your family also…

46. #46 by iyamwhoiyam on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 1:32 pm

Question:-

Is Mr Fong Kui Lun really a second hand car salesman??

47. #47 by iyamwhoiyam on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 1:45 pm

How would operators of vice and other crime syndicates operating in Bukit Bintang view a clean government? As everyone knows organized crime cannot exist without police cooperation. darkhorse

So are you saying that all the people in Bukit Bintang are one way or another involved in organised crimes? Please have some respect for ordinary hardworking honest Chinese.-limkamput-

I am sure both of u have walked on the poor side of bukit bintang…

Not too long ago, i was having a merry lunch when a friendly neighborhood chicken rice aunty shouted on top of her voice
    ” Oi wan Kai, hei Lau Siong ” ( wanna look for “kai” go upstairs )

A group of very well to do looking businessmen sheepishly makes their entry into a dinghy little 3 storey shophouse….

The state of waste disposal in the “other” side of town is also nothing to shout about, for some strange and bizarre reason….One may say its because the govt monopolized garbage disposal company has “purposely” left out the housing area in BB and has thus created a mess out of the place, or, would we want to think otherwise.

Yes I know that Bkt Bintang is not the ONLY vice infested area, but should it be DAP’s sentimental stronghold to fight for….the poor side of the town has been like that for as long as i can remember… ( though it goes as far back as 10 years or so only )

I hope, in the coming election, as far as BB is concerned, that whomever wins the seats, and more so, the pressure and onus onto DAP be ready for some spring cleaning

48. #48 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 2:05 pm

To iyamwhoiyam, it doesn’t matter if Mr Fong Kui Lun is a second hand car salesman. Being a representative of the people is above the person,as he is there not to serve himself but the people. That is what Mr Fong Kui Lun is doing. That is what all elected members of parliament should be doing-serve the Rakyat. Do you see the BN MPs doing that? The BN MPs are too busy buying property overseas or opening shops in overseas or rushing for projects.
    We must unite and bring justice to Malaysia! We must vote in the Opposition!
    VOTE FOR DAP! VOTE FOR PKR! VOTE FOR PAS!

49. #49 by badak on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 2:09 pm

Wee Choo Keong… is being paid big money by BN to split the opposition votes you guys cnt see that ..

50. #50 by Jimm on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 2:37 pm

BB will be given to DAP as BN need to be seen ‘CLEAN’ always.
    KL have been a sinned city eversince and giving the constitution to DAP will provide a strong platform for BN to tarnish DAP existence.
    What more important are the rest of KL constitutions like Titiwangsa, Lembah Pantai, Bandar Tun Razak, Ampang, Pandan, Seputeh, Wangsa Maju and few more which created to given BN the 2/3 majority.
    Looking at these constitutions, we can easily said that BN planning works.
    Anyway, it’s the EC decision to create all these problem with BN/UMNO directive.
    UMNO thought that they have won the race by ‘cleaning up’ other races of their rights of co-existence as Malaysian now.
    They are right about this fact, however, they failed to live as a community by themselves as by nature, they are lazy and great in spreading gossips all over the town. The best of all, they cannot accept the idea to see their own neighbor wealthlier than them.
    Non-Malay are different as they look up to those that make it and learn to be one.

51. #51 by iyamwhoiyam on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 5:06 pm

to -rakyat teraniaya- and the rest of us here:-

No, i am not stereotyping car salespersons as not capable of being good party people. Yes, he has put self above others,and served the opposition party with all his might and possible glory.

But, is he doing enough for BB??

Jimm Says:
    KL have been a sinned city eversince and giving the constitution to DAP will provide a strong platform for BN to tarnish DAP existence.
    What more important are the rest of KL constitutions like Titiwangsa, Lembah Pantai, Bandar Tun Razak, Ampang, Pandan, Seputeh, Wangsa Maju and few more which created to given BN the 2/3 majority.

now……

I live in areas surrounding some of the above mentioned, so far, the roads are alright, the lights are ok, the garbage disposal works fine, flood relief is quick, education, well, having being brought up in a resident type school, it was a great thing ( minus one or two f*&^ed policies set out by our then Education Minister ( yes i was in the Alam & Manusia era)……but still, my surrounding environment faired way better than Bkt Bintang despite all the huff puff of city life…the roads are much cleaner, and well, neighborhood watch is top notch.

I believe that the milestone, should DAP want to prove itself, is to focus on Pinang. Turn it into a city where it is as vibrant and colorful like Singapore ( as mentioned by the DAP party people so often ) and if you want to prove it even more, go make sure all those girls hiding in closed doors of BB gets decent jobs, EPF, SOCSO, education, to bring themselves out of some of the ruts i see there, then you have proven yourself.

This is one sour story even DAP is not going to challenge, its an eyesore, same goes for Kg Baru, another infestation in glory Kuala Lumpur, but heck that’s BN’s job….( as always )

YB Lim, i salute the team in whatever they are doing, the self sacrifices made in your earlier days, nobody wants to be in jail for some weird reason, but its the current party people…. are they seeing what you are seeing, is the vision the same….

i am going to enjoy my smooth roads while i can…and will vote for the opposition to ensure check and balance in parliament.

cheerios.

52. #52 by ycchai62 on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 5:17 pm

Come on! capitalise on what Dr. Ayam (LCM) of MCA has said during a press conference yesterday. I watched it on NTV7 mandarin news at 9.30pm last nite. Dr. Ayam claim BB is like Siong Hoi Than (Shanghai Bund) and is too complicated for a woman candidate. But that’s not all he said. He claimed that only a person like him who could contain groups of “Black & White”(literally mean people in power and gangster) be able to survive in BB. In short, he claimed he is a gangster as well.

Do we need this kind of MP? Do MCA condone such lawlessness speech. He acted like cowboy. So does MCA unseen hand involvement as claimed by Chua Soi Lek over his scandalous video issue. And there was also the MCA Youth EGM fracas during OTK’s time. This implies that MCA is genuine BN component party as the corrupt and lawless government is form by them.

However, please advise Fong Kui Lun to make way for other candidate in the next GE. We thank him for his service.

It may be cheap tactic, but it is a useful tool.

53. #53 by smeagroo on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 6:17 pm

With the use of indelible ink and transparent ballot boxes, EC has claimed that they are by far the best EC in the world of democracy. BUt hey, we didnt see those postal votes “ploy” coming in?

We cant tag these ppl can we?

If those votes are from outer space, the question is what can we do about it? By the time GE is over it would be too late to cry.

We must stop them NOW!

But How?

54. #54 by sammyvellu on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 8:35 pm

Both my parents stay in Taman Seputeh, but the Einsten’s from EC says one votes in Bukit Bintang and the other votes in Seputeh.

What the heck is this?

To say that EC does not muck around with people and constituency would be a lie

55. #55 by alaneth on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 8:49 pm

I have a feeling DAP will still win in Bkt.Bintang, – with a higher majority.

This I’m confident as the Chinese are fed-up with the body snatching, kris waving, chinese schools shortage, Hishammudin’s extremist overzealuos policies, anti pig & dog rearing overzealous grassroot leaders etc etc.

Just my advise to Billy PS Lim & MDP – go contest somewhere else & leave Bkt Bintang alone – don’t let MCA=UMNO extremist win over this hot seat & create a dark gloomy islamic Malaysia…

Billy – If you want to show your “Dare to Fail” stunt, you can do it anywhere. The best place is in Kelantan, Terengganu & Malay heartlands – you will fail greatly there & for once you have fallen low, let us see in the future how high you can rise…

56. #56 by democrate on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 8:57 pm

A reminder to Former Bukit Bintang MP Wee to stop confronting the DAP for the sake of opposition unity. What is past already a history.
    Wee, do you know how cruel is our former PM to Our EX DPM? Its the Bukit Bintang voters to decide for Fong Kai Lun and not a Depressing lawyer like you to judge on him.
    Pls do your job and get away from critising DAP to show that you r still a man of principle.

57. #57 by cemerlang on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 10:38 pm

Bukit Bintang is a danger zone because it is one of the busiest business areas in K.L. and when it comes to money, Barisan Nasional is all ears and eyes on this area.

58. #58 by ZhouYu on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 10:57 pm

I don’t know why is everyone here banging on Wee Choo Keong. You guys should be happy that he did not defect to BN like many others had. Few of them disagrees with DAP and set up their own party, and throughout the years, they did not defect. Bukit Bintang was under Wee Choo Keong once, and he’s trying to contest in his constituency. What’s wrong with that? The fact is, Wee fared better than Fong Kui Lun whose majority was significantly reduced over the past few elections.

Again, I don’t find faults with Po Kuan. How’d you feel when you’re made to vacant your constituency for someone else who’s “more senior”? For the interest of the party? I guess not. I believe every former MP whose majority votes are good should be retained in their own constituency, while others who are not faring well among the people should be replaced.

Anyone who wants a seat in the Parliament should contest and win your own constituency. You don’t take a safe seat from others.

This is the best chance for the opposition to wrestle some seats in the Parliament since 1999. Don’t let internal power struggle impact your chance of winning. We did a mistake once in 1999, don’t let it repeat. Chances like this don’t come often.

59. #59 by DarkHorse on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 11:05 pm

“Please have some respect for ordinary hardworking honest Chinese.-limkamput-” Ayam

Hello Ayam! Limkamput is not Chinese.

60. #60 by laifoong on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 6:04 am

aiyoh! we know that already…anything new ar??

61. #61 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 10:01 pm

Yes, laifoong, are u still alive? Are you not dead yet with your fasting for FPK?

62. #62 by damianyeow on Wednesday, 20 February 2008 - 12:47 am

BAN ALL types of POSTAL votes now before the 12th General Elections. For all the on-duty police & army that is..
    Becoz there will be a tendency or situation where they are made & be forced to vote for the ‘gomen’ thereby constitutes
    a violation of the conduct of a ‘free & fair election. They are voting under duress, can DAP look into this & petition the EC to ban postal voting, it is simply an exercise to legalized ‘vote-rigging’ which have another word ‘BN cheats’ so what else is new?

63. #63 by Wisdom above on Wednesday, 20 February 2008 - 11:19 am

‘…In fact, the battle cry for all Malaysians in the 12th general election should be “Heal Malaysia”…’

Bravo.

Stay focus.

“Our understanding is to ensure one-on-one fights and deny Barisan a two-thirds majority,”

Barisan Rakyat ( PKR/PAS/DAP/PSM/MDP/PASOK ) = so clear , easily understood.

Now finally we have ‘ Unity ‘ , ” One common struggle, One Voice & One Spirit “.

Syabas to Barisan Rakyat (DAP).