Another day of international shame for Malaysia – the firing of tear gas, chemically-laced water cannon and use of excessive force by the police against peaceful demonstrators and children during today’s Hindraf rose campaign in Kuala Lumpur .
Over 200 people have been arrested, reportedly including children, with allegations of manhandling by police.
Why was it necessary for the crude display of police force against peaceful Malaysians and children who wanted to use the Valentine Day to present roses to the Prime Minister at the Parliament grounds and to appeal for the immediate and unconditional release of the five Hindraf leaders unjustifiably detained in Kamunting Detention Centre under the Internal Security Act?
Why couldn’t the Police show a humane and sensitive face demonstrating its respect for human rights by allowing the peaceful Hindraf rose campaign to be conducted without incident?
If the Police could be so high-handed, tough and insensitive for human rights when Parliament has just been dissolved for the conduct of the 12th general election, I dare not think what the Police would do after polling day on March 8 if the Barisan Nasional wins another huge parliamentary majority.
The Royal Police Commission of Inquiry which was set up by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi four years ago when he first took office recommended that respect for human rights should be one of the three core functions of the Malaysian Police to achieve world-class status – together with the objective to keep crime low as well as to eradicate corruption in the police force.
It is clear from the Police crackdown on Valentine Day and the Hindraf rose campaign that the Royal Police Commission Report and its 125 recommendations for police reform had completely fallen on deaf years.
Abdullah, who is also the Internal Security Minister, and the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan, should publicly apologise for the excessive use of police force against the Hindraf rose campaign and utter disregard of the Royal Police Commission recommendation that the police should respect human rights of Malaysians.

#1 by walkman on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 6:28 pm
Greetings,
Looking at the video on “Malaysiakini.com” , what I can comment Malaysia is fast becoming a dictatorship country, with elections as a disguise. I just can’t fantom why the police have to use such high handed way to a group of unarm citizens of Malaysia crying for better living standards? They are only armed with roses. Or perhaps the police think the thorns of the roses are dangerous. Maybe they should wave the ‘krisses’ instead. God save this country.
#2 by srikumaran on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 6:36 pm
TIME FOR CHANGE,there’s no respect for the people… it’s obvious to which political party our votes should go.
BN tarnished their own name over these years, n today they dug their own grave, they may never rest in peace.
“IF THIS IS NOT ENOUGH TO SHOW TO THE PEOPLE HOW ABSURD AND IRRESPONSIBLE THE GOVERMENT IS, I DONT KNOW WAT ELSE WILL”
Lets make some thoughtfull, trustfull and determined changes in this coming election.
-srikumaran-
#3 by carloz28 on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 6:42 pm
How low can the POLICE go? Not even ‘kids’ were spared from the excessive violence and brutality of the police….
SPREAD THE NEWS and let the whole world know!
#4 by r.shekar on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 6:59 pm
Pak Lah should responsible for the whole situation, now he owes another apology to the Indian comunity. i condem the arest of Ramaji, Chief of the Tharma Maamandram and Kids. Hope the whole world will respond to the ugly event by the Malaysian Police. PM you can forget about our votes.
#5 by Saint on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:13 pm
The BN (and MIC) government has sent in a strong message to the Indians. They do not need your votes; they are not going to reduce discrimination; and there is no room for reconciliation or negotiation.
#6 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:17 pm
The police in Malaysia is real shameless.Look at Philippines,the people in Manila ,many thousands of them demonstrated for the outsting of the corrupted Aroyo.But were the demonstrators there ill treated by the police?Moreover demonstration in Philippines,Indonesia,Thailand are just common scenes.Unlike here peaceful demonstrations even with the participation of children are treated by the police as if it is the end of the world.
#7 by chiakchua on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:22 pm
SHAME ON US ALL MALAYSIAN! HOW CAN THEY DO SUCH A THING TO THE CHILDREN?
IT IS ALWAYS THEIR TRICK TO TURN PEACEFUL RALLY INTO CHAOS AND MAKE BIG STORY OUT OF IT.
USE YOUR VOTE WISELY! THEY DO NO GIVE A DAMN HEED TO INDIAN VOTE WITH WHAT THEY ARE DOING.
#8 by gofortruth on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:24 pm
Please correct me if I’m wrong I’m willing to learn.
I don’t think we have Royal Police answerable to our Agong,serving his rakyat. We only have BN Police bulldozing their way following orders from their BN masters to harrass Malaysian citizens.
And this must be CHNAGED!
#9 by Lat Gao on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:25 pm
Is this how the current government of Malaysia show its care to the citizen ? as a matter of fact, it just shows that, they don’t give a F care about all of us ! even in the heat of election, they still can choose to ignore us ! I’m really saddened by this, the ppl have no said on whatsoever …
I pity the way HINDRAF members were treated …
DAP keep fighting !
#10 by Tickler on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:28 pm
Al Jazeera has been reporting this whole afternoon. This is a good one:
temenggong Says:
February 16, 2008 at 6:12 pm
Children detained and separated from their parents! While only about 4,000 or less people took part in these street protests, and dispersed as they were, it was more electrifying that the earlier Hindraf rally of Nov 25th, the most fearful and dramatic being at the Pudu Temple, near Puduraya, where the whole area was cordened off to traffic and with thousands of people watching including several tourists. While it was an all Indian rally, there was support from passing malay motorists. There is acknowledgement of the greivances.
For the first time I noticed discontent within the police force, especially the Indian officers. Mutiny is not for away!
Indian women have ascended to the fore in these protests as new leaders of a mass movement. This changes everything, quadruples the effects.
Now Indians and BN have breached a point of no return. Yesterday, Feb 15th 2008 was the last day of peace, and it will be that way for sometime. There will be no peace in Malaysia until BN is taken down, ripped apart, shredded and cremated, next starting with the chinese parties MCA and Gerakan.
While awareness is growing daily, the elphant in the room is clearly visible, the faster the malays and chinese respond positively to the enormity and gravity of this situation, the better for their community and business. I don’t how how else to say it!
http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/02/16/pdrm-guns-1-vs-hindraf-roses-0/
#11 by gofortruth on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:30 pm
Another piece of action fom BN police:-
ISA detainee Vasanthakumar claims that the police are pressuring him to admit his alleged involvement in terrorism activities—–
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/78141
#12 by Tickler on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:31 pm
Self-exiled Hindraf chairperson P Waythamoorthy in a statement issued immediately after learning of the arrests said he was extremely disturbed by the manner in which the police handled the matter.
“Peaceful struggle, gesture of Love and cry for justice of the poor and underclass Indian society has been met with violence and brutality by the state sanctioned by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. The attack on peaceful poor and underclass people who came with roses is appalling,
“I invite all peace loving people throughout the world to condemn this brutal attack on innocent citizens who were exercising their rights under Article 10 of the Malaysian Federal Constitution and Article 20 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights,” he said.
Police have declared today’s event illegal as no permit was given to the group.
http://www.roses4pm.blogspot.com/
#13 by LittleBird on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:46 pm
” He did not rule out the possibility of the Hindraf supporters resorting to blockade roads to prevent people from going to the polls”..
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=314300
#14 by SIMPLYJUSTICE on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:49 pm
I am in doubt that Malaysian Government is capable of going against ONE BILLION indians.
They will eventually be brought to the knees.
#15 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 7:59 pm
These UMNO-BN arrogant racist crooks must be brought down.
#16 by grace on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:00 pm
Today I saw a picture of Australian Teachers stagng a demo for more pay. The police, instead of harassing or arresting them, used the patrol car to open the way for the demostraotrs which total 10,000.
Here the Shit people are so scared of children. The police are made up os numb skulls. With children tagged along, defintely the protestors would be a peaceful ones. need not use tear gases or chemically laced water canon. SUPER DUMBO!!!
Again. it is a reminder to the Indian voters. REmember the sacrifices of HIDERAF leaders sufferingin the jail.
DO NOT FAIL THEM! VOTE OPPOSITION ESPECIALLY DAP!!!
#17 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:02 pm
I’m sadden by this highhanded barbaric approach by Malaysian Police led by the Home Minister non other than PM himself. What he has done today will be subject to maximum condemnation not only by Indians also other brothers and sisters of this country.
What would have been the outcome if the delivery of roses was successful today? As fellow Indian and Malaysian I would have been impressed if:-
- The way the PM received the roses and showing his empathy to the children and parents
- I would have felt appreciated by the comment of PM ” I am very concern and I assure you That I will be fair in my decisions concerning Indians”
- A peck of PM on the cheek of “Vaishnavi- Uthaya’s daughter” would have made most Indians melt and forgiven him and BN to some extent.
- Using the same platform to address the affected Indians who were present there, telling them He is people’ prime minister and he would ensure Indians’ concerns addressed in every possible way.
BUT these possibilities did not materialize. What happened today is another grave mistake on the part of PM, not the police as police are mere robots, acting on remote instructions.
It also shows why this man is not fit to be a PM, not even a leader of small fraternity. All in all it only shows the regime of BN is ending soon, I’m saying this as it is time for them to pay not only to Malaysian Indians but also to the Almighty for demolishing his house known as temple. And Samyvellu will not be able to wash his sins even in the next 7 incarnations.
#18 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:06 pm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7248183.stm
#19 by choonchoy on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:10 pm
PM is a big fat liar. Talk alot about Hadhari.
10 fundamental principles of Hadhari.
1. Faith and piety in Allah (Allah don’t like liars)
2. Just and trustworthy government (Lingamgate to Klang FTZ)
3. Freedom and independence to the people (Still waiting, )
4. Mastery of knowledge (Look at the Uni s- crap)
5. Balanced and comprehensive economic development
(Umnoputra)
6. Good quality of life for all (only cronies need apply)
7. Protection of the rights of minority groups and women
(Malaysian Indians r surely being protected, behind bars, like
Buhary Syed Abu Tahir)
8. Cultural and moral integrity (Please don’t make me puke)
9. Protection of the environment (MB of Selangor with a clear
view fr his office could not see the the development)
10. A strong defence policy. (C4, half billion profit for subs to
cronies,when the defence ministry could hv bought it directly
for the manufacturers.)
#20 by PSM on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:17 pm
SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!
Water Cannons & Tear Gas against Women & Children with Roses?!
SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!
Shame on you Bodohwi! Shame on your Government. Shame on your so called Islamic Hadari Concept! Shame on your Police force! Shame on your Judiciary!
#21 by k1980 on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 8:36 pm
AAB’s own words to justify the crackdown: “attempt to raise fear, disrupt the general election, group of extremists, solely to create chaos, do not respect the democratic process.”
http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2008/02/hindraf-flower-protest-attempt-to.html
#22 by jfl on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 9:37 pm
Totally unacceptable! Why is Pak Lah so inhumane towards the Rakyat?
We must reciprocate by giving ALL our votes to PKR,PAS and DAP!
We shall bring down this cruel dictator.
MALAYSIANS! Practice your rights and vote BN out!
#23 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 10:05 pm
To all Malaysian Indians, the deputy minister of interior had said it ‘ show your disagreement at the ballot papers’!!!! What are you all waiting for? Show it to these arrogant self-proclaimed saints! They are not going to talk about fairness nor prick their conscience to ask if they have acted as national leaders! they are not bothered!
#24 by AntiSUPP on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 10:43 pm
Compare this with the antics of Mullah’s pitbull and see how big the extremes of both demonstrations
(one is peaceful with Batallion of Bullies,
one is one helluva Safari of Apes with nothing from the Batallion)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkRag7hlW_I
#25 by ktteokt on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 10:50 pm
Why is it that they still do not realize their mistake at this CRUCIAL TIME!!!!!
#26 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 10:58 pm
If UMNO members go to street, will the police deal with them?
Khairy led thousands of UMNO youth to protest against the arrival of Condolezza Rice a few years ago, did the police deal with them?
When opposition parties lodged reports against BN leaders, did the police probe the cases?
As a chinese saying goes,’bully the kind but dread the fierce and powerful.
The police are challenged to stop applying double standard.
#27 by Wurotzman on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 11:00 pm
I hope you voters know what to do this March 8~!
#28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 11:07 pm
Pak Lah, as the Home Minister, must be held responsible for such a cowardly and disgraceful display of force by the Police.
Nothing, and I repeat, nothing, can possibly excuse the police display of naked force on a peaceful gathering of protestors seeking the human rights for their incarcerated community leaders.
I can only say that malaysians must voice their anguished cry for sanity and justice through the ballot box, come Mar.8. BN and their cowardly and unjust rule must be wiped off the Malayisan map.
All Indians and Chinese, yes, and Malays too, must unite to put an end to the dictatorship of a corrupt few. Malaysia must be returned to right-thinking Malaysians. The silent majority must speak loudly to replace the evil that now plagues our land.
#29 by AntiSUPP on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 11:21 pm
BBC Video Clip of Rose Demo
http://news.bbc.co.uk/player/nol/newsid_7240000/newsid_7248200/7248255.stm?bw=bb&mp=wm&asb=1&news=1&ms3=62&ms_javascript=true&bbcws=2
#30 by AntiSUPP on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 11:32 pm
Pitbull almost lost his balls after almost kena walloped by a pakcik @ Ijok. How good to hear him yelp & whined in pain with his tail between his legs.
#31 by AntiSUPP on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 11:38 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NI3VXjCgB4&feature=related
#32 by ftem on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 12:22 am
To all Chinese who think this is an Indian problem, wait till Chinese population drops to 10%-15%. The time to make a stand is NOW.
#33 by shaolin on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 12:57 am
Grace, you are comparing Australia, All civilized and
developed countries to Malaysia, a country should be
termed 4th world country if it exists!!
Malaysia is fast becoming a country of ‘kiasu’ culture
and it just cannot afford to loose face!! A country ruled
by tyrants and practise all tyrany and racist acts..!! That
is Malaysia!!
We do not want tyrants to rule the country!
Please Do Not fail DAP and All Opposition Parties. Just
vote them if we still want brighter future for our younger
generations…
#34 by iweepformalaysia on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 1:01 am
One of the reasons why BN must not form a government after March 8th. We must deny them and change for the better. It is now or never.
#35 by AsIseeit on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 1:11 am
I am saddened at what has happened to Hindraf supporters.
If the Police has granted them a permit, I believe there will not be anything untoward happening. The police in not giving a permit is tantamount to being not interested about the plight of the Indians.
This will only cause greater anger and resentment against the govt.
If as the Police say that there are children involved, it seems to me that it is unlikely that they will cause trouble or even riot. Don’t you think they will not be afraid that their children are hurt in the process?
It does seem that the police have no problem arresting so many Indians and charging them in court. Is there even racial discrimination in arresting people in Malaysia for illegal assemblies??
What about the many illegal ceramahs which UMNO politicians held recently all over the place?
#36 by kosmoalpha on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 1:12 am
for the past decades n even now, currently,what actually happened to malaysia is these umno/BN goons are running this country like their private property,hence to change our fate n future is we must act to kick their butts on 8-3-2008!!as simple as that!!go for the change,a change we must believe in!! where’s democracy?there’s no democracy here except false democracy potraited by the umno/BN super-hypocritical machines!!!
#37 by kosmoalpha on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 1:13 am
all the while,”1984″ by Geoge O’well is a fiction …but it is becoming a reality in Malaysia!!pathetic…it is happening to hindraf now,n could be happening to anybody soon if we let the rot run loose!!fellow malaysian,we are the ones to stop the rot..!!give the ‘cross” to any opposition on 8-3-2008!!
#38 by makkalvoice on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 1:27 am
Sun, 17/02/2008 – 00:51 — Makkalvoice
Actual ,what is happening here…?
Dear Fellow Indians ,
I was there today morning, it was so brutally beaten up,dragged on the streets & arrested , … Actually I do not understand Why is the Goverment is so Badly Stupid!!! , They are thinking by doing such things will bring down the anger and the frustration of the people or fighten the public…but actually it is becoming bigger and worst……
If you see now happen between rallies to rallies , people are NOT afraid anymore, when a person get arrested they are being support and given a hand clap by the people around him or her… this show that the goverment is so screw up and becoming cheap untill they are not worried about getting arrested..And some say it is ` FUN’
WHAT IS ACTUALLY THEY TRYING TO PROOF HERE…?
Most of the public either Muslim, Indian ,Chinese,etc knows what’s is realy happening here.. They CANNOT paint another picture by the media or other means because the majority are seeing the actual condition here….And now ,most of the public stop trusting the media..Stupid isn’t it !!
This Act today shown by the goverment proofs they are soo badly un-educated and also tell how their rotten brains works, well they just score again!
IF they were educate properly there is always a easy way out , by just talking to the related person or bodies which now the public respect…. Even thou there is war between Countries , at the first thing the both countries do is…`TALK’ , Gangster also calls for a table talk first to settle the problem on the table where most them are not educated but here, what is our goverment doing..?comparing them together the gangster much more civilise and willing to talk to related bodies to avoid any further action to take place. …
WHO is the main Windows here…… not the MIC’s which suppose to the leader but too bad they have lost their voice amounts the indians , hindraf they are beaten the MIC faster and came to the top majority all the Indian in malaysia.And now all Indians listen and support them…
By not doing such meeting ,now it could be a peaceful rally but some day soon maybe , some crazy people might doing thing in a very rasional way. Our country has a very good name , why do we need to spoil it if the goverment only take a minute just to THINK and to Talk …!~!!
#39 by cheeran70 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:21 am
Anarchy rules again. The inability of the so called PDRM to solve a situation peacefully clearly depicts the deteriorating of law in Malaysia. DAP – this election is for the Opposition. God Bless.
#40 by KS R on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:40 am
Hi Uncle
Is the HADHARI Goverment. Time to change Goverment. Very cruel BARISAN GOVERMENT . JANGAN PECAYAH GOVERMENT INI
#41 by Cannottahan on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 2:41 am
Let’s not waste time on the ‘Zam’but..it is only good for healing cracked heels.Just a thought…can we have recorded YouTube’s of all their barbarics behaviour or Malaysiakini,AnwarIbrahim’s,Uncle Kit and all a kind videos and broadcast it with projectors at stragetic locations to counter their lopsided ‘Dacing’ policy.
#42 by ihavesomethingtosay on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:09 am
i taught some one has big ears and want to hear our problems?
pharking lies, again and again.
#43 by raven77 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:13 am
The HINDRAF gathering this time round may have changed Malay voting sentiment for the opposition…….it was not a good move…..
#44 by laifoong on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 3:26 am
fellas!….why are we stopping BN from doing this….the more police brutality they show….the more better for the opposition…BN fell into the trap….we should not stop them..
#45 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 6:25 am
if indeed this happened (i am sure it did), the price continued to be paid. What a heavy price.
#46 by Evenmind on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 6:25 am
Where is BBC and CNN now ? They should ask Malaysian Govt. thier hippocritical stance , Malaysia truely Asia indeed, Actually it should Malaysia truely Bull, If BBC and CNN has got the concience , they should stop airing those stupid Malaysia truly Asia ads. ,Malaysia gomen is indeed truely racist, corrupt and inept. NEP my azz, no wonder they got no otak.
#47 by chiakchua on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 7:42 am
“To all Malaysian Indians, the deputy minister of interior had said it ‘ show your disagreement at the ballot papers’!!!!”
By waterfrontcoolie 16-2-2008 at 22:05
WILL ALL MALAYSIAN TAKE UP THE CHALLENGE FROM THE DEPUTY MINISTER; SHOW YOUR DISAGREEMENT THROUGH YOUR VOTES!
DON’T LET THE ‘DIVIDE AND RULE’ TRICK WORK AGAIN; THE NEXT TIME HE WILL TELL THE SAME THING TO CHINESE! YES, MALAYSIAN OF ALL RACES AND RELIGION MUST STAND-UP TO EXPRESS YOUR DISSATISFACTION THROUGH THE VOTE OF THE CORRUPTED AND DICTATORIAL BN GOVERNMENT!
#48 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 8:27 am
“Where is BBC and CNN now?”
http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/02/16/malaysia.ap/index.html
#49 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 8:29 am
The U.S. like the U.K. does not interfere in the domestic affairs of a sovereign state.
#50 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 17 February 2008 - 8:35 am
I see this battle as that about the NEP and so-called ‘special right’. How each side react is how they really view it.
Hindraf is not questioning the so-called ‘special right’. In fact, they are asking for the ‘special treatment’. What they are saying is that its detrimental to them and its not a long-term tenable system. The system has been in place for nearly 40 years. The ill-effect is quite clear and will get worst over time. The PM asking for another 30 years is as close to ‘ethnic cleansing’ as you are going to get without spelling it out.
This act of using children does not come easily to the community. It speaks of desperation and exasperation – a systemtic desperation and exasperation not a symptomatic one.
Badawi’s reaction to this is exactly the same reason why they had to resort to using children in their campaign. He did not come up with anything new to what is without regard another ‘first’ in Malaysian public discourse. Not only did he fell back on tried and true tired lines, he in fact lost perpective what clearly is slightly out of control response i.e., the cracks are showing personally and managerially.
The PM, like NEP, are tired and expiring ideas in the face of new and harder challenges.