It is front-page headline news in all the Chinese newspapers – the approval for six new Chinese primary schools and the relocation of 13 Chinese primary schools by the Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein with the “All-for-one and one-for-all” group photograph of Hishammuddin with MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, MCA Deputy President Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, MCA Secretary-General Datuk Ong Ka Chuan and Gerakan President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon.
Nobody will say no to general election goodies, just as nobody will say no to gifts by “Santa Claus” on Christmas Day, although one is fully aware of the real intent of such goodies – which I will reserve for another occasion to touch on.
For the moment, I will like to ask a question each of the five BN leaders in the “one-for-all, all-for-one” group photograph “celebrating” the approval for six new Chinese primary schools and relocation of 13 Chinese primary schools.
To Hishammuddin – why didn’t he take the opportunity of his visit to MCA headquarters, his first as UMNO Youth leader, to publicly apologise for his “keris-wielding” at previous Umno Youth general assemblies which was highly offensive, even by MCA and MCA youth leaders and members, for being utterly insensitive to the rights and feelings of other ethnic communities?
To Ong Ka Ting – why he had not given a full public accounting as to why previous general election promises for the building of new Chinese primary schools and relocation of Chinese primary schools for the 1999 and 2004 general elections had not been fulfilled 100%?
To Chong Kong Choy – why he had failed to give full accounting for the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal as RM4.6 billion could have been better spent to build new Chinese primary schools throughout the country to meet needs based on increased enrolment and not to win votes before each general election.
To Ong Ka Chuan – why as MCA Perak leader he has failed to ensure that the Perak state benefit from the latest Chinese school “election goodies” as Perak has been excluded from the list of six new Chinese primary schools and 13 relocations – especially when at least two new Chinese primary schools should be built to ease the overcrowding in the Bercham Chinese primary school in Ipoh as it has over 3,300 students.
To Koh Tsu Kooon – what is he doing at the MCA Headquarters over the announcement when as Gerakan President and Penang Chief Minister, he has not been able to get a single school for Penang to be included in the latest “Chinese school election goodies” when Dong Jiao Zong has stated that Penang state urgently needs 13 new Chinese primary schools.

#1 by ServantOfGod on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:23 am
If we want change for our future generation. We must work hard now. Chinese and Indian have to combine power in order to get a better chance to win. If we only think of our own benefits by being kiasu and kiasi. We will always be second class citizen. Malay wills dominion the politic. BN’s Chinese and Indian ministers are just puppet to the PM. Malay get all the government support and benefit.
Other races work like a dog and get low pay which cannot even support theirs families.
#2 by Evenmind on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:55 am
How many times do they have photo shoots when new agama schools are opening., non ,becos there is no restrictions., but so much of huha when coming to Chinese and Tamil schools . What does that proof ? IT shows that the nons are at the mercy of these radicals , and when they are dangling the carrot , we must say wow they are great , tell these azzes to stuff it and go fool some animal out there in the jungle.
#3 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 5:30 am
This kind of lie already recycled for at least 10 times.
#4 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 5:41 am
waterfrontcoolie Says:
Yesterday at 23: 03.21
This seems to be the cyclical stunts of BN, come GE. They forgot that over 10% of those pupils are non-Chinese. Why do these non-Chinese parents crave to send their children to such schools. Since this obviously race based, it actually deprived the Chinese children of their places.
===
10% malays enrolling into chinese schools add more financial burden to chinese community who has to pay “chinese school tax” year after year.
#5 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 5:46 am
Would it be possible to survey the performance of these students when they enter the market. How do they performance?
==============
A malay immigration official in PJ HQ who studied in chinese school got boycotted by his peers for his hardworking attitude.
He told my friend he got transferred to other state by his boss for “not working like a Malay official”.
#6 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:19 am
Malaysiatoday.com, what happened to your four little Indian boys? Did you manage to identify them in the police lineup?
#7 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:01 am
Oh, those little Indian boys!
http://play.baby169.net/kids_game/7/419.htm
#8 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:03 am
Malaysiatody.com , I really think you should have “little Indian boys” as your ring tone.
#9 by Godson on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:46 am
BN, common lah, want to bluff us again with all these goodies? What can that piece of paper do? Better put sweep it underneath the carpet.
Dont show and tell lies on papers anymore. Time for you BN junk to pack and go to hell just like what they did in Sarawak.
I heard 1 of the Datuk in Sarawak wash his own massion during night time to avoid people seeing him. He used to be very proud with BN. Now people avoid him. Hes also a vacuum cleaner when with BN. Anyway,he say his leaving Malaysia soon.
Let the opposition show you (BN) what to do with the tax payers money.
GOD BLESS DAP.
#10 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:59 am
As suspected, the details of these ‘goodies’ is suspicious. It is significant but it does not even come close to what was expected 4 years ago. 4 years ago, they promised they were going to move some 40 schools. Given there was allocation for building hundreds of schools, it look promising.
Now you look at the details, its clear the money or the land has not been allocated or rather there is only money and allocation of land for a few. In other words, most of these schools won’t be seen for years, not enough for anyone whose children is attending primary schools now. If your child is less than 5 year old and lucky to get in, then you will benefit. No one else will.
This is typicaly ransom of BN, looks good and just enough to cheat the people because that is the real intent.
The way Chinese voters have to think of it is. What if your relative borrow money for years, then give back a small sum of it after many years and say he has done no wrong?
#11 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:44 am
This Min of Educ approval is NATO (No action, talk only) after GE, if u submit building plans etc, it will take many years for them (Local govt, water works, road n drainage, traffic control , environment impact, etc, etc). to study, then after 4 or 5 years, may be only 1 or 2 schools built or relocated, then MCA, Gerakan will claim that they hv done a lot for Chinese school! What rubbish!
#12 by ai57sm on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:52 am
Bigjoe is hitting the bull eye!
THIS is a political ransom! IT IS a SILENT warning! – NOTHING MORE NOTHING LESS!!!!!!!!
If the BN didn’t lost the Chinese votes – THIS carrot will forever be hanging out to parody the Chinese Malaysian for every coming elections.
Most of the time ONLY small crumbs will be fulfilled here and there, with the majority of the PROMISES BROKEN – TIME AND AGAIN!
Reasons – no fund, no land, still in planning ( after all the sleepings & tea-talikings ) _ Worst still – still in negotiations!
The desperate parents are been hanged out to dry by themselves!!!!! Meanwhile YOU see all the wastages/leakages happening daylight-robbery-style all year round around those YOU-KNOW-WHATS.
THIS IS A POLITICAL RUBBER CHEQUE!!!!!!
If the Chinese Malaysian votes swing to the OPPOSITIONS then THIS POLITICAL RANSOM will turn to ITS true colour – since YOU don’t support BN then DON”T expect ANY rewards, be they crumbs!!!!!!
So HEAD WE lost, TAIL THEY win!!!!!
The only positive outcome IS unless BN LOST _ and losing BIG!!!!
So vote carefully AND make sure YOUR vote count!!!!!!!!!
#13 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:11 am
MCA – Most Conniving Asssocation
MCA – Most Confusing Association
MCA – Most Ciplak Association
MCA – Most Cepeh Association
MCA – Most [C[deleted]] Association.
Enuff said…..
I once remembered an official visit by OKT into a colly, many stood for hours in the sun, forced by colly officials to greet him….( like we had nothing better to do), and when he finally arrived ( late by the hour as usual), all were forced to get a handshake with him, oh well, for publicity sake…..
the best remark i heard, from a malay chap :-
“Hey iyamwhoiyam, tangan OKT lembut macam perempuan la”
now u take that……….. =P
there is not a truer statement than to say we are picking up crumbs on the floor thrown in by our goverment ….not only schools, goverment projects, rights of usage of govt facilities, even the national library contains a large number of PRO malay PRO UMNO idiots who make life hell for a chinese boy to study there….
I am sure many of us would have spoken on the unfair treatment of university placements and “so called” matriculation programmes and how we have been, oh well, systematically marginalized, ( no truer statement by our friendly neighbor)
yeaps, it is true, these are all sweets in preparation for the coming GE….again….rakyat forgets easily….it takes ppl like YB LKS to raise it up for us, on all the empty promises made by the BN gomen…
Mark my words, if they succeed in this, and when u actually do go to the schools, u will find cracked walls, collapsing roofs, toilets with no proper pipings, no water taps, doors that break into half when someone opens it…..
The milestone we should look at is Chung Hwa Independent, in Setapak….with sheer sweat, tears and donations from the true blood chinese community, they have built one of the finest “academically inclined” school in malaysia.
But one thing, if we were to stand up and shake the heavens, and have equal rights, we must start from grassroot levels….the only problem with chinese school these days is the approach to education…it is purely academic and purely exam based, the kids need to learn about injustice, fair treatment for all and most importantly, BE EDUCATED…..many a time, it is sad to see our chinese kids, with so much potential, end up working for organizations that keep them locked up in a room to work on a complex mathematical calculation and go home at 6 Sharp…….
We need them to convert that mindset, and then, we can bring the chinese community to the next level……to give them, TRUE Education….
That way, DAP can succeed, true politics can regain momentum, and we will not have to back down from the sheer oppression…this is OUR country too
#14 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:19 am
hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here?? gee…when got educated topic to talk about, he’s nowhere to be seen…=P
#15 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:19 am
eh sorry sorry…..got got got…he’s here…yippie =P
#16 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:31 am
(iyamwhoiyam Says:
Today at 10: 19.04 (1 minute ago)
hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here??)
He’s always comparing himself with Jeff Ooi, and Raja Petra forgetting these are honourable bloggers who have their names, photos, emails, phones (also) in their blogs. No, he doesn’t display all these instead he go around stealing from others and asking his victims to challenge him in court.
#17 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:48 am
bennylohstocks Says:
Today at 10: 31.12 (14 minutes ago)
He’s always comparing himself with Jeff Ooi, and Raja Petra forgetting these are honourable bloggers who have their names, photos, emails, phones (also) in their blogs. No, he doesn’t display all these instead he go around stealing from others and asking his victims to challenge him in court.
“He’ll bring two feet machettes along too” =P”
no offense malaysiatoday.com
#18 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:55 am
“hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here??”
Malaysiatoday.com is busy helping the police identify the Indian robbers.
#19 by wizzerd on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:01 pm
Like “Erection” goodies..this will last for only a few minutes.
Election goodies, Hishamuddin Santa claus has a lot of sweets in his bag..they are called ‘new Chinese schools’ sweets.
After the election/erection, back to business as usual, keris wielding, rights trampling, power abusing. Saya pantang dicabar..yada yada yada
people like OKT and OKC falling over one another to lick the crumbs.
Well, it is sad that what these people can do for their own political survival
Vote Opposition to teach these morons a big lesson
Even Tun Dr M said that…haha
#20 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:28 pm
BlackEye Says:
Today at 07: 19.30 (4 hours ago)
Malaysiatoday.com, what happened to your four little Indian boys? Did you manage to identify them in the police lineup?
===
Do you expect police got super efficiency to nab Indian robbers?
Fuuny is they are so good to catch another non-violent indians on the street.
#21 by Tickler on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:33 pm
“After 30,000 Indians went to the streets to demand equality and protest marginalisation, what concrete steps did the PM do address the issues? He gave them a holiday,†said Santiago.
According to Santiago, there are indications that this unfair treatment was due to the belief held by the BN leadership – especially its leading member Umno – that Chinese support can be maintained while Indian votes have already been ‘lost’ to the opposition.
It seems, therefore, that MIC had been ditched and this explains the lack of accountability on the part of the government as far as the Indian community is concerned.
“By all means give the allocations for Chinese education, but be fair to everybodyâ€, said Santiago.
http://votecharles.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/anybody-but-samy/
#22 by Malaysian on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:43 pm
TAKE NOTE:
BEFORE HISHAM APPROVE THE SHIFTING OF PRIMARY SCHOOL HALULOK TO PUCHONG LAST TIME, HE ASK O.K.T ONE QUESTION:”IS THIS SCHOOL GOING TO USE ANY GOVT FUND TO BUILD?”
IF ANSWER IS NO, THEN ONLY HE WILL APPROVE ON THAT BASIS.
#23 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:44 pm
bennylohstocks Says:
Today at 10: 31.12 (1 hour ago)
(iyamwhoiyam Says:
Today at 10: 19.04 (1 minute ago)
hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here??)
=============================================
Anyway, who is Jeff Ooi?
I am not interested to be a politician, why the heck I make name in the internet.
If back linking can be sued, Raja Petra already bankrupt long time ago.
I also received email from someone named samy vellu, but he is a real samy vellu is still need to be tested in court.
Get a lawyer to advise you on the cyberlaw before you claim that you are owner for a website or blog?
Did you register your blog with Malaysian government? If not, how you prove you are the legitimite owner for a website? There are tons of legal questions for you before your open your mouth to challenge me or anyone.
#24 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:51 pm
According to Santiago, there are indications that this unfair treatment was due to the belief held by the BN leadership – especially its leading member Umno – that Chinese support can be maintained while Indian votes have already been ‘lost’ to the opposition.
===========================
BN is dreaming Chinese support can be maintained 70% as previous GE . They can get 50-55% chinese vote is considered hit a jackpot.
#25 by Tickler on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 12:59 pm
If BN was a responsible government, they wouldn’t be “rolling in†anywhere to give “goodies.â€
They would have provided good governance, people oriented policies and sincere service every single day they’ve been in power, and there would be no need for last-minute election gimmicks.
Roll into Penang to hand out goodies, goodness! What kind of prostitutes do they take the rakyat for??
http://jelas.info/2008/02/02/how-cheaply-will-we-let-malaysians-sell-their-dignity/#respond
#26 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:01 pm
iyamwhoiyam Says:
Today at 10: 19.04 (2 hours ago)
hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here?? gee…when got educated topic to talk about, he’s nowhere to be seen…=
====
Nowadays I have no mood to talk cock in internet. At the end of day, BN still win the GE handsomely.
#27 by Tickler on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:08 pm
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia has dropped a plan to round up nuisance monkeys from its cities and sell them abroad as exotic meat or for medical research, after discovering that most of the animals are too ill to be exported.
http://www.iht.com/articles/reuters/2008/02/02/asia/OUKWD-UK-MALAYSIA-MONKEYS.php
Oh dear. N there I was thinking we could export the BN n recover some money.
#28 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:10 pm
BlackEye Says:
Today at 10: 55.40 (2 hours ago)
“hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here??â€
Malaysiatoday.com is busy helping the police identify the Indian robbers.
=========================
Your luck may be turned bad very soon IF you think robbery is not your business.
I just talked to a few Chinese nationals two weeks ago that Malaysia is very safe place because I never get robbed in my entire life. But two weeks later…
#29 by Tickler on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:11 pm
A recent study found 80 percent of urban macaques carried diseases such as tuberculosis, malaria, hepatitis and AIDS, he said. “Only 20 percent were healthy and, of this, only half the number were suitable for export,” he added.
#30 by cheeran70 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:32 pm
The cows, dogs and animals do not try to appease us by giving ‘special gifts’ at special time, instead they serve sincerely for us. But, our so called members of ruling parties at their worst impression that they can coax us by such last minute gifts or assistance. Unless we are ignoramus who simply assume that they are doing good for the ‘people’ of this land and decide to elect them again, so after another five years term, they will come again with same kind of approaches. Public should be well aware of these notorious bunch. For 5 years there were no such immediate responses, everything has to go through all the red tapes in the government departments and after much hoo haas in the house of parliament, the proposal for some grants, buildings or schools will be approved. Do we need these fellas again? As Helen Keller said once, why must we crawl when we can soar. Think and evaluate a second before marking the ballot papers. And make sure you get TRULY INDELIBLE INK. Hopefully :)).
#31 by Tickler on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:36 pm
MALAYSIAN INDIANS PROTEST AT LONDON, 10 DOWNING STREET, LONDON, 01/02/2008
A section of the group at the protest rally
http://sactyr.blogspot.com/
#32 by grace on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:40 pm
When I hear Ong Ka Ting thanking Hishamuddin profusely for any relocation of schools, my goose pimples popped up like mad! Looks likeas if Hishamuddin is the fairy godfather handing out some goodies!
Hey!
It is our hard earned money and not Hishamuddin. You should thank us, the tax payers!!!
Ong Ka Ting, please do not open your mouth! Makes my ear turn deaf!!!
#33 by fido on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:41 pm
Hey BN, why the rush last minute to “pretend” to hand out goodies which should have been part of your job to deliver all year long thru the whole period? Have you been able to show this thru the years you wouldn’t have landed in this situation every 4 years and try to lie your way thru each election. You had all these years to show the public what you can deliver….why wait till this very last minute?
Who have seen a develop country where only ONE party rules all the way? Till today I still don’t think we are a develop country yet looking at all the substandard things that we have built in the name of developent.
Pls focus on build AND MAINTAIN extremely well good infrastructures, not white elephants that we need to subsdize. Transparancy in al your spending, show the rakyat how you spend evey sen. Fix the education system, remove all the quota and allow fair competition, then we’ll see about who deserves to win.
#34 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:45 pm
I have archived Ong Ka Ting’s achivements in begging more Chinese schools.
http://forum.malaysiatoday.com/index.php?showtopic=1422&st=0&
#35 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 2:08 pm
A friend’s relative’s transportation company was booked solid for Jan, Feb and March. His workers have been working around the clock at a hectic pace.
Transporting Chinese New Year goodies?, I asked.
No, he said. Transporting all kinds of school equipment all over the country – desks, tables, chairs etc etc.
There you have it.
#36 by pamelaoda on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:52 pm
So agreed with “ablastine” and me so tired of those who are complaining and whining about the ruling party and yet they always buy the pre election goodies….every single time!
#37 by gofortruth on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:53 pm
We have 25% Chinese population now and Ong Ka Ting should DEMAND 25% worth of education funds and stop behaving like a beggar. Even DOGS don’t do that!
Sorry this sounds like an attack on OKT but its truth & I hope he can wake up in time to do something REAL for the Chinese in the long run. By the time Chinese population drops down to 8%, it will be too LATE!
All Chinese must cast their votes to the opposition in the coming GE to send a powerful message to the nation who should be serving who!
VOTE OUT THE BULLDOZERS!
#38 by grace on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 4:06 pm
Ong Ka Ting,
You are a shame to us la!
Niw the BN ould do anything just to hoodwink the voters especially the rural and uneducated.
I won’t be surprised to see Hishamuddin hugging an old Indian man or Ong Ka Ting’s wife feeding a bed rideen old mate or Chong Kong choy going downt in his pants to plow tha padi field. All these sandiwara are best played by the BN candidates. Then Pak Lah would most probably duet with Jeane a Tamil song.
Oh please do not do that! OLd trocks and sheer acting! GELI aaa!!!
#39 by gofortruth on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 4:07 pm
“Najib is not just a racist, he is also a liar
The development budgets allocated for national and national-type (Chinese) primary schools are 4598 million and 170 million respectively under the 9th Malaysia Plan. In percentage point, national primary schools get 95% whopping share while Chinese schools only get 3.6% handout.
Shall I teach basic mathematics to Najib?
What is the best weapon to cripple Chinese schools? Cutting off money flow to Chinese schools is the most effective way to kill Chinese schools naturally and slowly. Chinese schools can survive because Chinese people have to fork out their own money to fill up deficits.
Therefore, Khairy complimented Chinese people love to donate money to schools! !
If you are passing Panchur town at Muar Utara, you will see a modern concrete building typed of Malay school at one side and a wooden hut typed of Chinese school at another side.”
- taken from :-
http://forum.malaysiatoday.com/index.php?showtopic=1422&st=0&
——–
Please NOTE – only 3.6% funds for Chinese!!!!!OKT should be ashamed as a head man to represent the Chinese!
BN, stop throwing a few sweets to us before GE, just give us our PROPER portion any time any day as and when we need the fund!
Can somebody take the photos of those 2 schools and show them to the world?
#40 by devilmaster on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 5:55 pm
Thanks Tickler for providing the link to those exclusive photos. I guess we will never ever see such images in our local mainstream media.
#41 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 6:04 pm
“Malaysia today .com wrote:
Anyway, who is Jeff Ooi?”
You have short memories, You wrote this:
“If you like to read BN government bashing news, go to Raja Petra’s website. He is a royal family and is considered “untouchable” in Malaysia, we are not like him.
Jeff Ooi was sued by BN people is an example.
By Malaysiatoday.com ”
I am not interested to be a politician, why the heck I make name in the internet.
If back linking can be sued, Raja Petra already bankrupt long time ago.
I also received email from someone named samy vellu, but he is a real samy vellu is still need to be tested in court.
Get a lawyer to advise you on the cyberlaw before you claim that you are owner for a website or blog
This website is to provide another alternative voices, neutral to any political parties.
If you like to read BN government bashing news, go to Raja Petra’s website. He is a royal family and is considered “untouchable” in Malaysia, we are not like him.
Jeff Ooi was sued by BN people is an example.
By Malaysiatoday.com
#42 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 6:29 pm
“Malaysia today .com wrote:
Anyway, who is Jeff Ooi?”
You have short memories, you wrote:
“I am not interested to be a politician, why the heck I make name in the internet.
If back linking can be sued, Raja Petra already bankrupt long time ago.”
My answer:
This is not backlinking, you are deviating all the while, despite the below notice you continue and steal and you are deviating
…5. A statement that the complaining party has a good faith belief that use of the material in the manner complained of is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.
XXXXX.ALL RIGHTS RESERVED XXXX ® ALL IMAGES ON THIS SITE ARE FOR WEB BROWSERS VIEWING ONLY. ANY UNAUTHORISED DOWNLOADING OR DUPLICATION IS PROHIBITION BY COPYRIGHT LAW The contents of this website are protected by copyright all rights are reserved and commercial use is prohibited. For reprint information please contact XXXX@hotmail.com.
“I also received email from someone named samy vellu, but he is a real samy vellu is still need to be tested in court.”
My answer:
This one must be like you no details/profile the difference is he is not a thief (you deviate here again)
“Get a lawyer to advise you on the cyberlaw before you claim that you are owner for a website or blog”
My answer:
Thief, get yourself a lawyer (Another example of your deviations)
“This website is to provide another alternative voices, neutral to any political parties.”
My answer:
This site is provided free to you to operate a forum by Invision Free so that the provider can make some monies from advertisement. You earn nothing?
Malaysia Today.com
#43 by patriotic1994 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 6:29 pm
There are people who know about our education system in the country well better than me, but they are not posting any comments here. So I post what I know to give you a clearer picture why this “approval” of new schools are “significant” to MCA.
Our country has few type of schools. I touch only Secondary schools (no primary).
1. Government schools – about 10,000 of them in the country. All with the name “SMK”. The Vision school is one of it. The government is using all our tax payers money to build these schools, provide tables, chairs, electricity, curriculum, teachers and so on. Basically, it is completely run by government.
2. Chinese school under PIBG – this is called “SMJK” schools and only 78 of them (see http://www.smjk.edu.my/).
The land to build the school belonged to the Chinese community who settled here long time ago. A lot of individuals donate the land to this community. These ancestors have long passed away. But their contributions to the society is very much appreciated. The PIBG is a team consist of mostly volunteered businessmen and businesswomen, mostly quite well to do, and always wanted to do something for the Chinese community. They fought hard to collect money to support school’s expenses. Some even use their own money to throw into the school. When they passed away, their children always have funeral event to donate thousands of money to the schools. They frequently has the “walk” to collect money from the public as donation. So PIBG is a team to manage the public fund collected to cover school’s infrastructure (tables, chairs, building maintenance – all the “physical” part of the schools).
But our government want to control them. Their “control” come in “courseware” and “teachers” (human resources). This is so that, all children come from SMJK schools are taught the same national education that is set forward by our government.
These SMJK schools are MCA’s school. They are “only” allowed to have authority (you can said “licenses”) to operate just 78 of them. Don’t even think about asking more! The BN government won’t approval it. Yes, this 78 is the “quota”.
It had been a long fight for MCA to get more school approved by BN government, but it had never succeed. Today, yes, may be they finally got it. So it is a BIG deal to them, right? Well, think about this… only 78 of them… while government school is 10,000 of them! What a ratio?
3. Chinese Independent schools. These schools are called ST schools. I don’t know their number, but I think just 60 (from the http://www.djz.edu.my” web site).
The early Chinese settlers were the first to setup these schools. They used their own money to build the school, create courseware, employ teachers and basically everything under their control. Their courseware is chinese based.
I am not sure when (may be during Merdeka), the government need to have a single Education system for the country. The DJZ wants the government to adopt their already successful chinese education system and continue to improve on it. But the BN government wanted their own. The result? Chinese education was split between ST, who insist to use their own courseware but with a consequence of NOT getting any funding from the government; whereas under MCA, they formed the 78 SMJK schools with the funding from government to cover courseware and human resources. It was reported somewhere in the Internet, some of these Chinese who agreed to setup SMJK schools were bribed.
It was politic and it was dirty. And the result is sacrificing our educational system for the sake of some people’s pocket money.
Which one is doing well? ST or SMJK?
ST was not doing well. They basically lack of fund. They have strong leadership at the beginning, but not so after that. After all, money is important even though we always put it as secondary to the Education. Without money, you can hold back good leader.
They did a lot in the past 20 to 40 years to collect fund from public to continue their school’s operation. Those were heroes. They also have to consider the poor who could not afford the school fees. Today’s DJZ still not getting any support from the government. The MCA people can really ignore them – like let them die naturally… (remember they are all Chinese).
Today, DJZ is revamping. Although Chinese language is still the primary language, but they do not refuse English to be used in teaching. The world is changing. While it is good to teach and maintain Chinese culture in ST schools, we should not forget the demand of the world outside. After all, this is Education. We must give the best to the younger generation and nurture them well so that they can excel us one day.
What happen to SMJK today? Some are doing well. Some aren’t. Most of them have the same mentality like the SMK – hoping the government to continue feeding them and just follow the formula given to them to teach the students. No wonder our new generation today are so spoon feed! Not creative at all! It is only if you are lucky to graduate from some of the good SMJK schools, you are different.
But I guess at the end of the day, as long as we work with BN government, we will ALWAYS suffering for unfair treatment.
Come one, think about this: 10,000 : 78 : 60. What is this power sharing formula about?
I haven’t talked about Primary schools. I don’t even know about Tamil schools!
Do you know that, when any of the Chinese school is not doing well, they cannot close down! If they close down, they will not get any more approval to open a new one. This 78 is a “quota”. They have to think of creative way to workaround the quota limit. Such creative idea is “migration” or “moving”. That’s what you see in the newspaper. The BN government is making it looks “nice” see.
Why our Chinese end up like rats running along the street and must cover ourselves from being beating up?! Aren’t we the same Malaysian? Isn’t it more important we must throw away the “race base politics”? Bangsa Malaysia is the way to go. We are all equal. We must see beyond races.
I hope thing will change after this 2008 General Election. Please vote not for yourself, but for the interests of all Malaysian who wants a better place for current and young generations.
Thanks.
#44 by manda on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:51 pm
How can okt, ckc and ksk exude pride over this issue? It is sad to see that the community that they represents are in such a predicament.
#45 by patriotic1994 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:00 pm
Correction to earlier post: Without money, you can’t keep good leaders.
#46 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:06 pm
So far, I have not being able to get someone to provide a compilation of ALL those super doper Students who scored 12 to 17 As at SPM. What have they achieved at U-level, what subjects did they do, what are they doing now? If the SPM results are quality based, then those students should have gone to do their PhDs and be able to contribute to our research programmes, teaching in our Us which I just received from a email based on a Spanish Research which places ALL the Universities [ at least the better ones] in Thailand, Phillippines, of course with Singapore right at the top; all above ALL Malaysian Us!!!
Some times, I wonder if our ‘leaders’ have got skin thicker than the African elephant’s. With all these international assessments, they continue to brag in the press that we are OKAY!! SEMUA NYA OKAY!!! This, my friends cannot last very long, as Friedman said’ it is a flat world!!’ and he told TDM that even the President of US couldnot prevent it! And you dared to? And with the presnt bunch? Ha! Ha! Ha! Just look into the mirror, man!
#47 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:58 pm
ehhh now only i realise…its a bad bad bad bad bad bad feng shui gesture by the UMNO baskets…..give schools during chinese new year period…
In chinese ” Song Shee Kun” AMA! * slaps forhead *
Means, give lose fast…aiyoyoyo…why we never see it…like that die la….how??…aiyo yo cannot buy lumba kuda already…
ish ish ish
#48 by iyamwhoiyam on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 12:03 am
malaysiatoday.com Says:
Today at 13: 01.07 (10 hours ago)
iyamwhoiyam Says:
Today at 10: 19.04 (2 hours ago)
hey btw, anyone saw malaysiatoday.com here?? gee…when got educated topic to talk about, he’s nowhere to be seen…=
====
Nowadays I have no mood to talk cock in internet. At the end of day, BN still win the GE handsomely.
Then my dear friend, why in the bloody world are u getting so defensive??
*slaps forehead again*……
sigh…….kids that never grow up……can’t wait till you finish law school though
#49 by Colonel on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 12:18 am
Who is in law school? Don’t make me laugh!
#50 by alaneth on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:58 am
Let’s open as many new Chinese schools as we can now – or get approval & land immediately….
…do now, before mid-March 2008, before elections.
After elections and when BN realised they lost so much, it will be too late, they may retract all this good offers…. & we have to wait another 4 years for the next offer.