Letters
(received 10.23 am)
by NKK
I just faced up to four Indian armed robbers this 3am morning in Alam Damai Cheras, KL
This is a true story about my lifetime first-hand experience with an armed robbery on 30 Jan 2008. I was eating and reading a late-night newspapers in a “mamak” (Indian Muslim) restaurant at Alam Damai Cheras of Kuala Lumpur at about 3AM morning.
Suddenly four Indian robbers broke in from nowhere, three of them ski-masked and armed with 2-feet matchet each.
The gang leader ordered cashiers and all (four) customers, including me in the shop to surrender our money and phones. All were robbed except me, I managed to escape from their seizure. No advisable to fight armed robbers with your bare hands.
Two police patrol cars arrived at the scene after about 20 minutes of reporting. I will try to get CCTV photos from the shop-owner and publish robbers’ photos in this webiste.
Regards,

#1 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 3:08 am
scorpian6666 Says:
Today at 02: 20.34 (25 minutes ago)
Seriously malaysiatoday.com ..
Your views is actually very dangerous…
Just because more than a handful did what they did, doesn’t mean the rest of them are likely to follow..
I believe the Muslim too hated to be associated with those so call “suicide bomber†who are right now mostly associated with Muslim.
These are social problems not racism not even religious..
Told you … go and have some fresh air and look on the other side of the mountain. It’s Okay
==========================================
Group behavior is quite different with our individual behavior.
Rwanda ethnic cleasing tragedy should awaken you that rational thinking failed miserablely in certain extreme circumstances.
My viewpoint is based on my actual experience dealing with race relations in Malaysia. Talking cock reseach paper from your university may be a useless guide when it comes to Malaysia.
I do not profiling Malay as Islamic extremists, in fact Malays in my neighbouring kampongs are good people and some of them are our friends.
A spark from a rape case nearly ruined the good relationship between Malay and Chinse communities in my hometown always reminds me how fragile racial relationship in Malaysia.
Most individuals will agree criminal is criminal, it has nothing to do with race provided it’s an isolated case.
Unfortunately most Malaysians do not look at that way when a series of crime is targeting a race from another race. It will evolving into a racial issue slowly for sure.
#2 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 5:31 am
Hello malaysiatoday.com! Are you a person or a website?
Please answer the question asked by Dark Horse:
“How do you feel if a Chinese reporter writes, “Four Malays raped a Chinese girl …. etc†in a Chinese daily?”
#3 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 7:20 am
BlackEye Says:
Today at 05: 31.10 (1 hour ago)
Hello malaysiatoday.com! Are you a person or a website?
Please answer the question asked by Dark Horse:
“How do you feel if a Chinese reporter writes, “Four Malays raped a Chinese girl …. etc†in a Chinese daily?â€
==============
I see nothing wrong in this kind of true reporting as long as culprits are positively identified by victim and/or after sentenced in the court.
The worst news is rumours flying around through SMS or email against a censored news in local English newspapers.
Government blamed Chinese dailies sensitized a serial gang rape against Chinese girls by a group of Malay. I beg to differ with government, true reporting alerts people to watch out potential perpetrators.
Right to know a full truth is a basic human rights which should be granted to all people.
Indian community is still dissatisfied with official explanation in Kampong Medan inccident because a request to have a public inquiry was rejected by BN government.
Hindraf described this incident as a small scale etnic cleasing. See both Indian and Malay communities are angry after reading half-truth stories given by different parties.
This is why I feel it is alright to mention culprits are Indian in my robbery case instead of using dark skin people to indicate Indians.
As a Chinese descendant, I feel it is an insult IF a reporter describes Chinese as yellow color skin people publicly.
#4 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 7:35 am
malaysiatoday.com just described that it was his perception that the robbers were Malaysian Indians. (He based judgment on skin colour of yes or hands or perhaps the intonation, accent and inflection of the way they spoke bahasa to the Malay victims – and even here interestingly nobody questioned how he knew the victims were not dark skinned non malays). He also said “more than 10 victims reported to police that four robbers are recognized as Indians…†(Police would ask the race to help in identification and racial profiling of who were the robbers to facilitate investigations). One may question the accuracy of his identification or whether it was necessary for him to volunteer the added information of what race he thought the robbers were, to give a fuller picture, but still it is hard to understand (at least for me) how based only on just what malaysiatoday.com said (if true) and the volunteering of information of what he thought, as a matter of fact, was the race of the robbers, he has now to defend himself and go out of the way to prove or justify why he is not racist.
#5 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 7:36 am
skin colour of “eyes” – not yes
#6 by DarkHorse on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 7:55 am
Jeffrey, readers are responding to what he wrote here – and not to any description he may have given to the police which involves the issue of identification of the robbers. He can say anything he likes to help police in their investigation.
Malaysiatoday.com, I am referring to what you wrote here and not what you may have said to the police to help them in their investigation or on the witness stand after the robbers have been apprehended and if the case comes to trial.
#7 by DarkHorse on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:00 am
I’m discontinuing further comments out of frustration because malaysiatoday.com does not seem to get the point. He misses the point but I don’t think it is his intention to do so. Poor powers of comprehension or poor writing skills or poor control of the English language or a bit of everything? I don’t know.
#8 by DarkHorse on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:06 am
“As a Chinese descendant, I feel it is an insult IF a reporter describes Chinese as yellow color skin people publicly.”
By the way before I leave this thread, I am curious to know why people in your view should be sensitive to their skin color? In the U.S. African Americans are routinely referred to as blacks, and Latinos are referred to as browns. Often you hear politicians say, “It does not matter if they are blacks, browns or yellow the law is color blind”.
#9 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:06 am
I understand we’re all responding to what he wrote here but has our country reached such a stage that it would be wrong just to say as a matter of fact that he thought the robbers were of a certain race (say) Malaysian Indian descent ?? That is the issue, isn’t it whether we could call a spade a spade as we witnessed certain event or whether we have now reached that stage of sensitivities that just to mention about race in connection with something negative like “robbers” would make us politically incorrect or racist.
#10 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:04 am
Read carefully what the writer wrote, there were four robbers and only three wore ski masks, so I think it is fair enough for the him to comment that the robbers were probably Indians. I used to tell people that if you see a gang carrying parangs, they must be Indians. Read the news and observed, probably 80% of cases of gangs carrying parangs are Indians!! I know of a case in KL where an Indian gang who hid their parangs near a house belonging to a Chinese, far away from their own homes. So parangs and Indians are synonymous in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh. Samy Boleh. “I will stop voting for Samy till the cows come home”.
#11 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:05 am
“…has our country reached such a stage that it would be wrong just to say as a matter of fact that he thought the robbers were of a certain race (say) Malaysian Indian descent ?? That is the issue..” Jeffrey
When someone writes as a journalist, for example, in the manner he did (though I think malaysiatoday.com did not mean it that way) that “Indian robbers …etc” instead of dark skinned robbers speaking a language believed to be Tamil (or something else) Indians are in danger of being criminalized for just being Indians. There is racism in the language used.
Of course, Malaysians are racists and racism has been institutionalized by our government. Racial profiling is not illegal or wrong.
#12 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:41 am
He misses the point but I don’t think it is his intention to do so. Poor powers of comprehension or poor writing skills or poor control of the English language or a bit of everything? I don’t know. Darkhorse
For once i have to agree with you. I wanted to say this earlier, but was afraid for being insensitive again. Now, if what you said and what i think are about right, it is time to stop this never ending arguments.
#13 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:05 am
malaysiatoday.com
“Unfortunately most Malaysians do not look at that way when a
series of crime is targeting a race from another race. It will evolving into a racial issue slowly for sure.”
—————-
That is exactly what I meant ” your viewpoint is very dangerous ” To soften racist issue should be our main target especially for reporter like yourself. Any truth is only the truth when proven, not what you percieved.
“How do you feel if a Chinese reporter writes, “Four Malays raped a Chinese girl …. etc†in a Chinese daily?â€
It would be much better … “13 year old girl raped by 4 men”
The Criminal are men not INDIAN would be better reporting for society such a Malaysia.
I remember a story about a man who told her mother the truth “Dad has a girlfriend ” . She commit suicide …
Yes … another May 13 is always awaiting for all of us, that is why we all have the responsibility to report the TRUTH as in the story …..4 Men robbed … not 4 Indian robbed… And when proven, Sammy, Kapal, Singh, Hasan robbed, not Indian
Which bring us to the underlying problems of why more Indian than other race would rob (if it’s true). was it ..Government policies not working…which I think should be our main issue.
Maybe it’s all about Jobs, Employment …that is why maybe we do need some kind of a balance….giving more jobs to the Indian men. Remember we all are born …… cute.
Pork to the Muslim is dirty not the Chinese or Indian. So the truth is how you see it. Even the 4 men could be women if not proven. LOOK LIKE ME, SOUND like ME. but it is not ME……maybe that’s the truth……
I respect you for your stand for The truth, but let’s preach malaysian .a little bit.love and tolerance and respect.
#14 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 2:49 pm
DarkHorse Says:
Today at 07: 55.57 (6 hours ago)
Jeffrey, readers are responding to what he wrote here – and not to any description he may have given to the police which involves the issue of identification of the robbers. He can say anything he likes to help police in their investigation.
Malaysiatoday.com, I am referring to what you wrote here and not what you may have said to the police to help them in their investigation or on the witness stand after the robbers have been apprehended and if the case comes to trial.
++++++
I am not a reporter, but I would say more truth than reporters.
Ok, let refer to what I say here.
It’s so perplexing to see your people to imply a statement like “robbers are Indians” is politically or socially incorrect.
Calling indian as keling definitely is wrong, but what on earth calling an indian as indian is also fishy?
A term like “Indian minister” is alright for you? Shall we ban “indian robber” from appearing in the newspapers?
#15 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 3:04 pm
limkamput Says:
Today at 10: 41.21 (4 hours ago)
He misses the point but I don’t think it is his intention to do so. Poor powers of comprehension or poor writing skills or poor control of the English language or a bit of everything? I don’t know. Darkhorse
For once i have to agree with you. I wanted to say this earlier, but was afraid for being insensitive again. Now, if what you said and what i think are about right, it is time to stop this never ending arguments.
============
When you people cannot convince others to buy in your point, you would say people do not understand your English, your cheap crap, etc.
Worst still is someone shamelessly said that his got superior intelligence.
Anyway, I do not expect too much to see Malaysians from BN education system can think intellectually like YB Lim or Tony Phua.
#16 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 3:47 pm
That is exactly what I meant †your viewpoint is very dangerous †To soften racist issue should be our main target especially for reporter like yourself. Any truth is only the truth when proven, not what you percieved.
====
A robber’s race is either Chinese or Indian is nothing to do with truth. That is just another piece of official data.
My viewpoint is not dangerous at all. Real danger is people tend to deny or hide a problem under the carpet.
Looking good reporting cannot soften racial tension IF our top government leaders have denial syndrom and keep saying that Indian community is richer than Malay.
Crime profiling based on race is a good source of data for government to pinpoint where is the problem or to verify perception like Indian is criminal number one in Malaysia is true or not.
For example, statistical data may reveal Chinese is main source of criminals, then resources shall be channeled to help poor chinese in new village like me, not the Indians in estate or flat housing area.
I mean let talk with data, not using our gut feeling or perception to make a decision.
How can you gather reliable data if you are too shy to mention “Indian robber” in the newspaper?
#17 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 3:57 pm
Anyway, I do not expect too much to see Malaysians from BN education system can think intellectually like YB Lim or Tony Phua. malaysiatoday.com
Since many of us are not YB LIM’s generation and have no opportunity to study in Singapore, may be what you said was directed at us. Let me show you how you should write your last sentence:
Anyway, I can’t expect much from those who studied under the BN’s education system to be able to think intelligently like YB Lim or Tony Phua. Yes, no doubt at all, one of them is malaysiatoday.com!
#18 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 4:39 pm
limkamput….BN made product like you should say I don’t want to play with a liar with low IQ. This is only point I got after reading all your postings here and there.
#19 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 4:47 pm
Limkamput… anyway, I like my style of writing, short and direct…
a grammar correct sentence does not make your point shining.. go read emperor’s T-shirt article from YB Lim to learn what is called point.
#20 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:49 pm
You sure don’t write like a Chinese. Your thought processes are those of a Malay in his early twenties.
#21 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:51 pm
You call your writing, short and direct…??? huh? Yau kau chor muo?
#22 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:58 pm
You sure don’t write like a Chinese. Your thought processes are those of a Malay in his early twenties. BlackEye
Here comes another linguist. How does a Chinese write? Thought processes of a Malay in his/her early twenties? Please don’t ignore the female. Other than that, you are a genius.
#23 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:19 pm
//You sure don’t write like a Chinese. Your thought processes are those of a Malay in his early twenties// – BlackEye. Wonder what DarkHorse has to say about this form of racial profiling that up-the- ante even over what malaysiatoday.com said. :)
#24 by DarkHorse on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:22 pm
He did say he’s of Chinese descent earlier. But anyway I too think he subscribes to the 72 virgins that await him had the robbers got their way.
http://members.aol.com/thebodie/all72.htm
#25 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 2:02 am
It’s clear people educated under BN racism education system only capable to spell out cheap crap when they lost in any arguments.
If BN eduaction system produced malay islamic extremists as they proudly claim, these people are mirror image of malay. A spade calls a pot black!
They so naively thought they are “fighting” for justice and equality for Malaysians with tons of crap in this blog. I now realise this Bolehland syndrom is called emporer’s new cloth.
#26 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:21 am
A Malay wrote his story with truth, he did not hide a snatch thief he saw is Malay.
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/2161/46/
Those chinese and Indian chauvinists running amok in YB Lim’s blog shall be ashamed for their hypocrisy as justice fighters.
#27 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:24 am
Anyway, less than 5 posters in YB Lim’s blog are readable, others are sheer crap writers.
#28 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:29 am
“A Malay wrote his story with truth, he did not hide a snatch thief he saw is Malay.” malaysiatoday.com
Does this comment make you a Malay? limkamput is trying to be too clever by half.
#29 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:30 am
Does this comment not make malaysiatoday.com a Malay??
#30 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:32 am
You want to say something, limkamput clever by half??
#31 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:04 am
No, not by half. A quarter is more than enough.
#32 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:49 am
were there any other posts that had more tha 131 responses since 30 January ar??…i would like to see it =P
malaysiatoday.com sounded a lot like a sour grape which i had debated with in my college years. After missing out the whole point, he drew a slew of personal attacks on the debaters, and in the end, the judges saw right through that chap, gave him a good pat on the back, and told him to sit down and shut up….
Hear Hear, Hear hEar
#33 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:08 am
“No, not by half. A quarter is more than enough.” limkamput
When you’re caught flat footed you make evasive comments. At least if you’re proven wrong you could at least admit it and move on.
#34 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:10 am
“After missing out the whole point, he drew a slew of personal attacks on the debaters…”
Just like limkamput.
#35 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:18 am
134 comments and counting…
DarkHorse Says:
Yesterday at 08: 00.51
I’m discontinuing further comments out of frustration because malaysiatoday.com does not seem to get the point. He misses the point but I don’t think it is his intention to do so. Poor powers of comprehension or poor writing skills or poor control of the English language or a bit of everything? I don’t know.
so now, i guess u’re picking on limkamput eh ?? ;P
cheers =)
#36 by iyamwhoiyam on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:23 am
I wonder if malaysiatoday.com lives behind one of these dinghy little houses….see loooooooong row of dark quiet trees…how not to kena robbed??….haven la…brader…haven…..
http://www.iproperty.com.my/property/listing.asp?pid=94976
#37 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:59 am
You know what, come to think of it. Malaysiatoday.com may just be right. You people are just a bunch of bigots. May be you people are the “fairer Indian†type, if you know what I mean. Indians with fairer skin type are usually arrogant and cocky. They think they are smarter, more handsome and therefore cocky. I think Darkhorse is definitely one of them. Thambi, be humble ok. What have you got to say others are evasive? I gave you a two paragraphs reply and what have you got – a one word reply “wafflingâ€. Please don’t for minute think you are smarter than others here. You write lousy English too.
#38 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:22 pm
iyamwhoiyam Says:
Today at 09: 49.38 (3 hours ago)
were there any other posts that had more tha 131 responses since 30 January ar??…i would like to see it =P
malaysiatoday.com sounded a lot like a sour grape which i had debated with in my college years. After missing out the whole point, he drew a slew of personal attacks on the debaters, and in the end, the judges saw right through that chap, gave him a good pat on the back, and told him to sit down and shut up….
Hear Hear, Hear hEar
================
How could YB Lim was so nice to keep my postings here if I did launch personal attack on some posters? “Debaters” are too high standard for your ppl.
I only able to see your “point” is mentioning “indians are indians” is a racist remark.
#39 by limkamput on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:33 pm
Malaysiatoday.com,
To satisfy this group of Indians, may be you should use words like this:
I saw four dark-skin look like Indians, sound like Indian robbers. If one of them is fat, you have to say one of them is weight challenged. If one of them is short, you have to say one of them is height challenged. And, if the other two are retard, you have to say they are mentally challenged. We have to be careful here because we are talking to a group of fair Indians who is mentally challenged.
#40 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:36 pm
DarkHorse Says:
Today at 11: 10.19 (2 hours ago)
“After missing out the whole point, he drew a slew of personal attacks on the debaters…â€
Just like limkamput
==============================================
The original article was from me, how could I missing out points in my story?
It seems my insistence on robbers are indians make you sick. Dun happy, go sue me for defamation….huh huh…
#41 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 1:40 pm
limkamput Says:
Today at 13: 33.20 (3 minutes ago)
Malaysiatoday.com,
To satisfy this group of Indians, may be you should use words like this:
I saw four dark-skin look like Indians, sound like Indian robbers. If one of them is fat, you have to say one of them is weight challenged. If one of them is short, you have to say one of them is height challenged. And, if the other two are retard, you have to say they are mentally challenged. We have to be careful here because we are talking to a group of fair Indians who is mentally challenged.
====
I will do so after I pass my lawyer buruk exam…hohoho…
#42 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 4:03 pm
“….I will do so after I pass my lawyer buruk exam…hohoho…”
By whom did you get inspired – VK Lingham?
I read this posting by somebody by the handle “poor doctor” who made this comment in a blog frequented by doctors called Malaysian Medical Resources who made an interesting comparison between lawyer and doctor. Poster claimed he extracted from this Blog. He commented:-
‘I saw this in LKS blog:
“I can only say, a lawyer is much more “cunning†than a doctor. Doctor is taught to be honest but lawyers are taught to play with words.
Lawyer can simply reply,†I cannot remember whether I hold a practising certificate. It looks like I dun have a practising certificate but I would not say I have a valid practising certificate or I dont have a valid practising certificateâ€
But a doctor will confess to his wrongdoings “I am the man in the tapeâ€
Looks like I wrote this piece of comment – did I? but it may or may not be written by me. I can’t confirm or deny it.†‘
#43 by cheeran70 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:53 pm
Common guys…please don’t cross examine this guy. The salient point is that Malaysia is fast becoming a heaven for ‘hell’ in Asia. I guess that’s what one can say based on the type of crimes here. I won’t be surprised if these criminals are organised under one banner and the chief could be seating in one the many ‘comfortable’ political chairs under BN. Our Prime Minister is wakefully ‘asleep’. Unaware of the rising crimes and the atrocious nature of the crime. Don’t blame the Indians for everything that’s happening (that does not mean that I support this sort of subversive activities). The sole responsibility to ensure the peace and order in a civilised society lies in the hands of the elected government or ‘somehow managed to get elected’ government. BN should pass the burden to MIC to tackle problems of Indians, nor to MCA to tackle problems of Chinese. There should be a collective approach to solve this social ills by creating more opportunities for all races to participate. To arrive to this approach the NEP should be reviewed. The non-Malays and non-Bumis here are too eligible Malaysians, born unto this beautiful land. Please don’t create a subtle apartheid regime under the name of Democracy.
#44 by cheeran70 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:55 pm
CORRECTION
BN should NOT pass the burden to MIC to tackle problems of Indians, nor to MCA to tackle problems of Chinese.
#45 by darnielng on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:41 pm
Jeffery. I think the technique of escape will be best thought by the ministers in the corrupted BN that with “cover your ass” certificate.
The best Malaysia police can do is working for the personal interest of the members of the BN team. E.g. bomb foreigners, they are also extremely efficient to expose sex tape scandals if handed to them with pos laju, bribery or duit kopi, road blocks for unnecessary speed traps.
The police are the gangsters with licensed gun and badges! We can’t get rid of them nor we can have too much of them. So best, stay home or move to Singapore or Australia. That is why most who can afford already moved to Singapore or Australia. We don’t have to face this nonsence in this country.
We don’t live forever. Life is short. Move when we can!
PM. Buckle up and stop spending like just a sour-faced kid. You don’t have the charisma of the former PM. So you have to live up to that with your own style. Spending unnecessary is not a respectable style!
#46 by Count Dracula on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 4:10 am
Don’t mind limkamput, dark horse! Limkamput will always be a retard.
#47 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 11:18 am
Jeffrey….
Lawyer is a spinless professional. I engaged lawyer to fight a case against GLC and discovered lawyers hold no principal.
#48 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 11:24 am
Another robbery by Indian gang in the same area.
Met up a friend in a restaurant at Bandar Perdana Chears this morning, he told me his neighbour also got robber by a gang of Indian robbers days ago.
I moved to KL 4 years ago and witnessed three crimes, all involved Indians.
#49 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 11:26 am
…discovered lawyers hold no principal.
Correction: principle, not principal.
#50 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 11:39 am
Malaya communist party did try to form ally with Chinese secret societies in 70s. In 70s, Moh Tak Chin’s gang was running like Robin Hoods to salvage poor Chinese with money from the bank robberies.
The idea to work with communists was rejected by bosses of secret societies.
Indian gangsters are not just causing public safety problem, it may evolving into national security threat if this social ill unchecked.