Educational and in particular university quality and excellence has increasingly become an important indicator not only of a nation’s international competitiveness but its capacity for development as a world-class developed nation.
A recent news report in the world of higher education is a sobre and sombre reminder as to how far we have lagged behind in the international stakes for university excellence and development of quality human resources.
Earlier this month, it was announced that the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia’s much anticipated US$10 billion university, has appointed Shih Choon Fong, a Singaporean as its first president.
Shih, who is president of the National University of Singapore, will assume the task of creating from scratch what Saudi Arabia hopes will become one of the world’s leading research institutions.
Ali Al-Naimi, Saudi Arabia’s minister of petroleum and mineral resources, who is chairman of the university’s governing board, said that Shih was “the right person” to fulfill the vision for the new institution. The university, known as Kaust, is scheduled to open in September 2009.
Was any Malaysian from the 20-odd public universities in serious running of being scouted in the extensive global search among top academic research leaders for the top job for the world’s sixth richest university even before it opens, as King Abdullah provided US$10 billion of his own money to start the new institution?
Malaysian educators should have an edge over an Singaporean as both Malaysia and Saudi Arabia are members of the Organisation of Islamic Conference (OIC) and the Islam Hadhari concept propagated by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, but clearly these “affinities” were not enough when it is a test of excellence and meritocracy.
Malaysians would like to hear from the Prime Minister and the Higher Education Minister, Datuk Mustapha Mohamad as to what they have to say why no Malaysian was in the running for the top prestigious job for KAUST and what they propose to do to end the mediocrity of Malaysian universities in the international league of higher education.

#1 by Earshot on Thursday, 24 January 2008 - 10:17 pm
The education system did not slide to mediocrity (may be even the doldrums) overnight. It would take many years after introduction and implementation of myopic reforms to bring it to this state. So we cannot squarely lay the blame on the present administration alone for this mess.
Students who sat for Cambridge School Cert up to about early 1970s knew the high esteem their education and certificate enjoyed especially when they pursued higher education overseas. In the years after Mahathir was appointed Education Minister, he was responsible for drafting the KBSM syllabus. Since then collaboration with overseas universities for school certificate vanished. And so too went the standard of education.
Don’t forget that he was also responsible for the quota system in higher education, decimating the number of places in higher education for deserving non-Bumis who after being denied of their rightful place resort to studying in foreign countries.
Is it a wonder then that mediocrity now rules?
#2 by ablastine on Thursday, 24 January 2008 - 11:15 pm
Don’t be so sad lah. Our good students and your able children should have no problem finding a place for themselves in this globalise world. Stay in Malaysia for what. We know that those imbeciles in charge will never change and do what is needed to get the country back into shape.
There are so many scholarships on the offering and so many good Universities in the world to apply to. What for study in Universities in the country whose certificate or degree will probably not be worth the paper it is printed on in time to come. The nearest to us Singapore, now have top schools, universities, research institutions and plenty of scholarships and they welcome anyone with the aptitude and ability to take advantage of them. If it is of any comfort I understand a good number of the staff manning these renowned institutions are Malaysian. So we have helped Singapore at least in part to be what it is today. We on the other hand should feel some measure of gratitude to Singapore for affording so many of our children a way out of our beloved country which is fast becoming a hellhole.
#3 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 24 January 2008 - 11:17 pm
Mahathir was populist in his views. The damage he did would take many years for us to un-do if that’s possible at all.
#4 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 1:05 am
We all know how Singapore leaders pursuit quality. I remembered how my daughter got panic who the Asean scholarship board kept pestering as to why she didnot take up the offer. We decided against it because she had just completed standard 6 and we had no saudara over there. Of course that decision cost us our life savings when she enrolled overseas. Result? We never had any regret. Otherwise ’susah mahu cari makan’ back here.
After all these years, the so-called leaders had kept on cheating the nation; you Malaysians have only one OPTION. That is at the GE!!
#5 by ChinNA on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 3:09 am
“Two nations breath the same air and the drink the same water across the strait and have the similar makeup of population (Chinese, Malay, Indian) and yet it is far apart in advancement” – Plaintruth
While the main races are the same, the propotion of these races in Singapore and Malaysia is different. Therein lies the difference.
Singapore is a very ‘brutal’ country when it comes to meritocracy.
However, it is necessary to survive. So in Singapore, you try not to be on the wrong end of meritocracy spectrum.
In Malaysia, I guess, you might not want to be on the wrong end of the colour spectrum.
#6 by ChinNA on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 3:14 am
“Two nations breath the same air and the drink the same water across the strait and have the similar makeup of population (Chinese, Malay, Indian) and yet it is far apart in advancement… I wonder the UMNOPUTRA has the discriminating brain to analyse what went wrong?” – Plaintruth.
In my opinion, the discriminating brain of UMNOPUTRA could have guided us to this position.
Thoughts?
#7 by menarambo on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 6:48 am
I still remember seeing an ad in the Economist magazine. It was by Nanyang Tech U. seeking to fill a dept. head position in their Engineering dept. Does our Malaysian U do that? That’s a world wide magazine, means people is willing to open up the door to attract the best people to lead their school, whereas we are still playing racial cards. There are a lot of Malaysian Phd. in US and Europe, contributing to other countries’ success. I personally know a Phd from Malaysia who is working R&D for Rolls Royce, reseaching aircraft and submarine engine, and also reseaching in a University. There are also countless Phds working in Detroit for Ford, GM and Chrysler as well, and Proton still can’t get off the ground, still a piece of junk after more than 20yrs.
And here we still have idiots talking loud and proud and waving keris…. 2020 just 12yrs away…. looks like Malaysia going to become 4th world country instead of developed country.
#8 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 7:27 am
Why are we comparing with Singapore?
We should be comparing with US, Russia and China, the three countries that sent men/women to the space.
We are already an advanced country because our man has been in space.
We have money to pay the Russian to do the job. It was a Malay to go up to the space.
Chinese are too selfish and incorporative. Chinese should have asked China to send one Malaysian Chinese up, ahead of the Malay. It is now too late
#9 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 9:02 am
pulau_sibu – it is still not too late. China is targetting to send their taikonaut to the moon in the not too distant future. Maybe MCA can buy a seat for a Malaysian Chinese to visit Chang Er.
#10 by Evenmind on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 2:23 pm
Its shows the Saudis has definately got more brains than the UMNOputeras., In any field , to excel you need the best to lead , there is no need for preference for colour , race or creed., Why are the UMNOPuteras lacking in this ? because they are the product of NEP themselves., if u want to blame the brain drain, then the are the ones to blame majorily. Even the brainy nons are not given the opportunity to be leaders., the outcome : DOOM, sooner or later. MERITrocracy ensures productivity and the best economic output for any country in the world, Singapore is a good example.,such a tiny nation but giant of an economy.,
If you are nonbumi (langit putera) in malaysia, and u have made it there, then please walk tall, because you are then much smarter than any of the ruling UMNOputera out there, becos u are there solely because of your hard work , not becos of any handout or help from the imbercile gomen.
#11 by raverus on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 5:12 pm
I guess we are never good at qualities when it comes to this situation.
*Halal and islamic this and that doesn’t influence us to be chosen. Quality speaks!
p.s-Proton konon islamic car but rank at the few lowest worldwide, what a joke!
#12 by ablastine on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 8:48 pm
Imagine for moment, with some stroke of luck, Shih Choon Fong is a Malaysian. So with his immense talent, sense of purpose, conviction, cultural sensitivity and builder of bridges across people, disciplines and institution, do you think, even if his aspires to, be able to ever get near to the top job in any one of our Malaysian Universities. Of course not. The reason is simple and obvious to all Malaysian. He is of the wrong race and religion. The rest counts very little if at all here. Sadly academic giants like Mr Shih, with the same if not more talent, motivation and ability and numbering in the thousands have left our shores because they know their future here is limited. These are the most precious resources – not tin or oil. Singapore single handedly with this human capital build itself up from dust to gold. Its Soverign Wealth Fund is second only to the oil rich nations and the little red dot in the planet supporting financial giants in no other that USA in their time of need. Isn’t that something to marvel at and a testimony to the importance of meritocracy and value of talent and human capital.
#13 by Poor student on Friday, 25 January 2008 - 10:29 pm
YB LIM just to tell you that one of Malaysia U with research university status only allow meager pay to hire MASTER (about RM1600/month) and PHD (about RM 1800/month) student to work as Research Assitant in state of the art project. We are proud to pay POST-DOC at RM3000-RM5000/month. Mana tak semua Malaysian Student yang lebih pandai lari to our Neighbouring country…Singapore!!!! Its really hard to conduct a research without experience reseacher and most of the time ended using more money to repair damaged equipment.
#14 by HB Lim on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 4:05 am
“If you are nonbumi (langit putera) in malaysia, and u have made it there, then please walk tall, because you are then much smarter than any of the ruling UMNOputera out there, becos u are there solely because of your hard work , not becos of any handout or help from the imbercile gomen.” – Evenmind
Interesting choice of word this ‘langit-putra’ which conjures up an interesting thought and analogy. The Bumiputras are happy being the prince of the soil at the level of the soil. Others are more interested in occupying the space much higher than the soil level. If Mr Shih were to be here to mingle with the soil at the level of the soil, he may be soiled and even pushed beneath the soil level to be suffocated or at least stymied in development of all kinds. So, he will be better off staying away from here and be above the soil and reach for the sun. Care to expand further on this analogy as another angle of argument for the case of meritocracy?
#15 by ktteokt on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 1:00 pm
Colour discrimination has resulted in brain-drain of talents from Malaysia but does our government ever care? They still maintain that what they are doing is right and should be continued indefinitely as expressed by our PM that the NEP is to be extended indefinitely. So we will be raising a whole bunch of “handicapped” people in the future and what can this group of useless people do for the nation? Indeed, Malaysia Boleh (Mati)!!!!
#16 by Evenmind on Saturday, 26 January 2008 - 8:25 pm
They (gomen) ,the UMNOputeras in particular are always so preoccupied in conjuring all kinds of names to gain sanction & popularity from thier own ,calling us non bumis, non this and that , to the extent the muslims kids are calling the others ,kafirs (infidels ) and what not , even in schools. When they do that we’ve to conjure something good to replace those not so good names, and to prove to them ,whatever they call us we’ll overcome any adversity and still be able to came out tops, hence the word langitputera to replace nonbumiputera.
Some day they will learn that spoonfeeding their own kind will eventually only bring ruins uponthemselves., the saying goes , if you give a fish to someone you only feed him/her a single time.,if you give the same person a fishing rod you feed him/her for a lifetime. The langitputeras belong to the fishing rod group becos of their adversities, and the many hurdles and obstacles., some of them will become genius and will be brain drained to other countries, because our imbercile gomen may not know to appreciate them.
#17 by mendela on Monday, 28 January 2008 - 12:39 pm
Real Muslims don’t snatch bodies!
Islam in Malaysia is being hijacked by Little Osamas!
#18 by darnielng on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:22 pm
The current administration & management in education will always discriminate other races from entering the local Universities. The fortunate ones will be able to afford to study overseas.
The country only knows how to spend. Irregardless to the progress and objective. They will always think of “SPEND FIRST” coz the more they spend the better the progress.
Look where this current and pass administration has got us. NO where. Thailand and Indonesia has taken over us in the pass 10 years.
The problem with this country’s management is they link to deny and rule it with FEAR.
To me i think i’m merely just a tax paper. That’s all what the current country treats the other races. When it comes to election, they will say all sort of “good things”, which will soften the people’s heart.
Let’s hope it will not work now.
I’m proud to be a Chinese. But it’s a disgrace why MCA calls themselves Malaysian Chinese Association when they only know how to WAX shoes and cover their own post instead of defending the rights of the Chinese. I was in the MCA for a short term and I wanted out immediately.
I’ll support the REAL Democratic party with that shows Actions and Results for the People!
#19 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 9:08 am
want to learn how indulge in corruption practises?malaysian government has the best lot of suckers among the top in the world to teach u that.
#20 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:23 pm
It looks like Mustapha is at it again,trying to IMPROVE the quality and STANDING of local Us!! Please be sensible, only quality input will assure you quality output! Garbage-in-garbage-out!! You can’t change this formula! It is ordained in Heaven!! And unless and until you have quality input, all your manipulations will result in ZEROES! No matter how hard you try! Quality may be improved if you put fertilizer at the earliest stage, not when the ‘roots’ are ready hardened. And if the planters have no idea how to ‘apply’ the fertilizer, chances the plants will wither. If you want result start early WITH the PROPER QUALITY INPUT!!!
#21 by alwaysfair on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 1:08 pm
Well !!! Meritocracy was never the criteria or yardstick for election of all the top leaders, only the colour of skin matters.
The same applies in every field not only education .
Just look at how US choose their president compared to ours!!
What an exercise in futility when you want to ask mediocre PM & Co about meritocracy when they don’t even understand the word???.Or if they understand you want them to sack themselves first, being so obviously mediocre???? HEHEHE
Based on meritocracy, Mr. Lim you could be the next PM of M’sia.HEHEHE!!!
#22 by alwaysfair on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 1:27 pm
The govt. can only get meritocracy in enforcing the anti-sodomy law.
In fact they are obsessed with it, it seem the bottom is most important compared to the “top.”
#23 by alwaysfair on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 1:34 pm
…correction….The govt can only get merits….
#24 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:02 pm
I hope this is the right way to convey this message from another blog. Hope somebody try to ensure all the rakyat know what is going on on Bala house breakin etc… Below is the writeup from one blog.
“Yes, I am concerned for the doctor, too. Btw, can someone tell me whether the police admit seeing Bala after the first SD? I find it very strange that when his house broken into, news report stated only the cpu was missing. Then after a few days the neighbour claimed that keys to Bala’s gate or house was handed to him by police. If that is correct then how did the police got hold of the keys?”