Malaysia First Family and new grandson Jibreil Ali Jamaluddin

by Dr Chen Man Hin

The first family is truly representative of a multiracial Malaysia which has Malay, Chinese, Indian and Indigenous communities.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has ancestors hailing from the MidEast of Arabic origin

His daughter , Nori Abdullah was born of a Japanese mother. His son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin comes from a Malay ancestry. The new grandson, Jibreil Ali Jamaluddin, can be said to have ancestors hailing from Malaysia, Arabia and Japan. The blood coursing through his veins is a mixture of Malay, Arabic and Han ancestors. He is typical of the young Malaysian, who because of mixed marriages among the different races, is/ multiracial /a rooted Malaysian

From the genetic point of view, the true Malaysian is a Bangsa Malaysia.

Other terms like bumiputras or ketuanan Melayu has no genetic basis, but are the creation of misleading politicians.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by bukanbumi on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 5:21 pm

Shamshul, your argument is flawed ! In US the Blacks are given priority in employment. A non white can even given a shot at the presidential election!.

In Brazil there are about 5% Brazilian of Japanese origin, but non of them is being discriminated.

In Peru, even a guy of Japanese descent can become their president!

In most latin Americas, there are almost no discrimination against the minorities.

Do you know the reason why? Its because as long as all of them speak the language of the land, they are considered one of them.

Now back to Malaysia, all of us speak Bahasa Melayu don’t we? But the non Bumi are still considered pendatang, Why? It is because of RELIGION.

2. #2 by justiciary on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 5:56 pm

Do you all agree as voiced by a top political Umo leader that the Malays became backward for 500 years since the advent of the Portugese in Malacca?So when people suggested to review the NEP,the same fella implied that the NEP needed to be continued for another 460 years just to make back their loss.Imagine this type of argument can come out from the ‘coconut head’.

3. #3 by awangsayang on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 6:38 pm

dajia hao,

xiao shihou (When I was young in Chinese), I use to spend my school term holidays at my untie house in a Rubber Plantation Estate with majority Indian community. My aunt and uncle is a typical malay can speak fluent Tamil and a bit Telugu. The Indian community here are very nice and some are lazy and some are hard working. Some kids here like to go to school and some don’t. There are lazy malay folks too. I and my Indian friends used to play inside the temple compound and have lots of funs. There is also a toddy joint just similar like what we saw in Sentul those days behind IGB Plaza, now no more.The patrons of the joint are very friendly, me and my friends have waday and coconut juice. There is no racial feelings here and it is so peaceful like heaven on earth. Neigther Indians or Malay acusing each other ‘STUPID’ Now most Rubber Estate becomes Housing Estate. When MIC and Umno came… Heaven is Lost.
    “Hua Ren” there are many who are poor and broke too. My Chinese friend father died. he treats me very nice when he was alive. I went to Chip Sin Tong at Jalan Sultan near Petaling Street to pay my last respect. I saw five dead body without coffin surrounded by the dead respective families waiting for donation to give a decent funeral for their loves one. See.. not all Chinese are smart and rich either. Now lets not pointing finger at any race but talk to each other on constructive matters. To Anba, I have read a bit about Malcom X, Dr Martin luther King and also Klu Klux Klan many years ago. Lets Talk Unity. The failure of this country because of corrupted leaders. The Malaysian people are innocent but not UMNO Leaders. UMNO Leaders use issues on racial riots to win on every election to win support. UMNO FEARS Racial Unity. Talk to your Malay, Chinese, Indian friends now. Zhu dajia jiankang

4. #4 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 8:30 pm

Msian wasting too much time argue about bumi /non bumi, ketuanan etc. Why? bcos of BN (umno) policy. We should focus more on develop Msia. Not many multi racial countries waste so much time on this! Malay, Chinese, Indian etc are basically similiar, all just wan a place to call home, can work cari makan fairly, educate their kids, etc.
    It is the damned politicians who incite racial hatred etc trying to make race A hate race B , C vice versa, twist n turn their words policies etc. Racial politic is very bad for every one!
    Real sad for Msia!

5. #5 by BlackEye on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 11:12 pm

So I say we shoot all politicians first and lawyers second.

6. #6 by Anba on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 11:31 pm

Dear Awangsayang,
    Hi there. Thanks for your note. I’d like to mention again that whenever I mention the word ‘Malay’ in my posting, I am referring to the Malays and the Malay politicians who are exploiting other races.

I too had a good harmonious time growing up with Malay and Chinese friends. I still have very good Malay and Chinese friends. I still remember how I felt after my SPM…seeing my Malay friends progressing in their life and studies and I personally felt left behind. It was later when I left the country for further studies with a loan that I realized the polarization and systematic discrimination by the Malays to dampen the spirit of non Malays.

You mention that ” Lets Talk Unity. The failure of this country because of corrupted leaders. The Malaysian people are innocent but not UMNO Leaders. UMNO Leaders use issues on racial riots to win on every election to win support. UMNO FEARS Racial Unity. Talk to your Malay, Chinese, Indian friends now.”.

Awang sayang, I’m all out for unity. By writing in this blog, I’m actually talking to other Malays and Chinese brothers. But this unity does NOT come from talking alone. This unity comes from changing the legistlation of the country. Constitution needs to be ammended for unity to take place. Recent mulling from Pak Lah to give a public holiday for Malaysia for Thaipusam is applauded, but this should not soften Indians hearts in thinking that the government is doing good for the non Malays. This public holiday should have been given 50 years ago, this is too late. But thanks anyway for the changes.

Thanks again Awangsayang. May God bless your soul who yearns for unity.

May God bless Malaysia.

7. #7 by Anba on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 11:40 pm

Dear Cheng On Soo,
    Hi there. You wrote, ” Msian wasting too much time argue about bumi /non bumi, ketuanan etc. Why? bcos of BN (umno) policy. We should focus more on develop Msia. Not many multi racial countries waste so much time on this! Malay, Chinese, Indian etc are basically similiar, all just wan a place to call home, can work cari makan fairly, educate their kids, etc.”.

If you look at those who made fundamental changes like Gandhi and Martin Luther King in India and USA respectively, it was based on standing up and fighting non violently on the fundamental flaws of human rights. They did NOT fight to ‘CARI MAKAN’ because this fight for injustice is not about being selfish and cari makan. This fight for injustice is about sharing on issues thats critical and sharing one’s conscience about the flaws of fundamental human rights. Let’s not confuse CARI MAKAN with this fight for freedom and combating injustice.

May God bless Malaysia.

8. #8 by kaybeegee on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 11:49 pm

Dr Chen Man Hin. UMNO first divided Malaya into Malays and non Malays. Tun Razak you might recall came up with this phrase “the haves” and the have-nots” meaning the Malays are the have nots and the non Malays, have.Than it was Bumiputra and non Bumiputras

After the creation of Malaysia, Saudara Shamsul Annuar, because Sabah and Sarawak has natives, the classification became Muslim Bumiputra and non Muslim Bumiputra, to cover for the non Muslims in Sabah and Sarawak.
    Now where the original people of Malaya fit in?

Today we are still classified as Muslim or non Muslim, as the MyKad will state Islam for those who have when applying for the Kad declared themselves as Muslims. That is fine by me.

Now I travel a lot and thank my God I have no occassion to travel to Islamic countries, where the majority of the people are Muslims (and not as in Malaysia). If UMNO can have Islam printed on the MyKad can I ask that my passport be endorsed with the words non Muslim? Or bearer of this Passport is not a Muslim? Makes travelling overseas smoother, for me.

And for those foreigners or economic refugees or job seekers from abroad who have married malay women and have settled in the greener pastures here in Bolehland, they should be proud of their newly acquired religion and make it mandatory that should have in their Passports endorsed the fact that they are Muslim and also their Muslim names. Helps for burial purposes too.

9. #9 by Colonel on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 7:08 am

“If UMNO can have Islam printed on the MyKad can I ask that my passport be endorsed with the words non Muslim? Or bearer of this Passport is not a Muslim? Makes travelling overseas smoother, for me.”

Don’t you know having an identity card is frowned upon by countries practicing democracy? Countries like the U.K. whose government gave us the identity card do not have identity cards. All you need to prove who you are is to produce your utility bills? You can open a bank account by just showing your utility bill? The U.S. even post 9/11 do not like the idea of a national identity card. Their driving licenses which double up as identity cards do not state your religion.

“Tun Razak you might recall came up with this phrase “the haves” and the have-nots”” kaybeegee

Tun Razak never came up with terms “haves” and “have-nots” These terms are in use before he was born.

10. #10 by BoDo Singh on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 7:41 am

“Now I travel a lot and thank my God I have no occassion to travel to Islamic countries, where the majority of the people are Muslims (and not as in Malaysia).” kaygeebee

Huh??

11. #11 by jus legitimum on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 12:17 pm

The list can go on,in today’s Sun,Citizen Nades reveals the wrongdoings of people appointed(by right should be elected) to run the MBPJ.Abuse of power,corruption and what not have ruined and sacrificed the interest of ratepayers.This is just the tip of the iceberg.If you have the capablities of people like Citizen Nades,you will be able to dig out even more cans of worms festering the local economy.Who are the greedy and self serving idiots that are misappropriating the funds of local councils with impunity?.The list can go on……..

12. #12 by verbal-lash on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 1:59 pm

Jus legitimum,

I agree with you. Citizen Nades have been writing a lot about corruption and misappropriating of funds, etc by the local Governments, but sadly, have you seen any action being taken against them? They are still looting fancy free. Why? Because they know they are above it all and will come to no harm under this BN Govt. Heck! Almost everybody in civil service is doing it!

13. #13 by Luther on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 2:54 pm

To all respectfull bloggers,we should refrain ourselves from using the word multiracial society anymore,kerana di sini hanya ada melayu,dan ketuanan melayu telah menghilangkan kesemua hakasasi bukan melayu sebagai sebahagian kaum malaysia yang ditaksif sebagai berbilang bangsa.Oleh yang demikian,betapa tingginya hasrat kita yang bukan melayu ingin menjadi sebagai orang malaysia seperti yang dikehendaki oleh umno dan mereka yang bodoh sombong tidak akan tercapai,lihatlah contoh dan kesedihan yang ditunjuk dalam lagu “negaraku ku” dan reaksi ahli politik kita yang mengangap insan malaysia itu sebagai orang yang sangat bersalah,dosa dan tidak dapat dimaafkan,tetapi mereka tidak mahu nampak banyak kejadian yang lebih dahsyat dan memalukan negaraku,mereka maafkan semua benda yang sepatutnya lebih berat hukumannya dan membiarkannya bermaharajarela.apa ni..
    semua agama tidak memilih bangsa,kalau I betul dan benar.maka kenapa ada pilih kasihan dan diskriminisasi kaum yang sengaja dihalalkan,patutlah Pas menuduh umno kurang islam kerna mengikut ajaran agama,kita seharusnya adil walaupun tak semestinya 50:50 tetapi sekurang-kurangnya 55:45 mengikut kesaksamaan majoriti dan minoriti.Dari mana timbulnya soal ketuanan?bukankah agama kita mengajar kita hanya Tuhan yang Maha Besar,dan Ia saja yang Tuan kepada semua? Shamsul anur memang betul dan benar,kalau mengikut logik politik tetapi apakah kamu lupa tanggungjawap keagamaan kamu yang selama ini dilaung-luangkan?mana keislaman kamu ?
    sudah marah,dan rasa ketidakpuasan,marilah undi parti pembangkang ramai-ramai untuk menidakkan majoriti yang selama ini dinikmati tanpa syukur untuk masa depan malaysia yang lebih terbilang dan lebih gemilang, what do you think ? Shamsul dan semua melayu yang tukat hilang sesuatu jangan risau, kita tak mau jadi PM atau menidakkan melayu tapi hanya mau keadilan bangsa seperti yang diajar oleh agama dan khususnya agama kamu.Kita hanya mau diterima sebagai Malaysian tanpa diskriminisasi,kita tak mau lagi negaraku ku tapi Negaraku.
    Look aku ini Cina tapi telah dimalaysiakan kerna BM boleh cari makan tapi English sudah jadi chinglish rojaklah tapi U semua pasti faham aku sedang mau bilang apakan? Talk alone doesn’t work,action now in every GE and may God bless us Malaysian will have little changes once every 5 years and the next 50 years our wishes will not remain as dreams anymore.

14. #14 by shaolin on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 10:32 pm

It is Not the color of the skin of AAB and KJ that determine
    the multi-racial, multi national race of Malaysia’s new breed!

We can have 5 or 6 nationalities of parentage but the mind-
    set of the new breed Malaysian remains unchanged..! This
    is something we do not want to see and be cultured in
    New Malaysian breed manifesto!!

We want to see change in mental revolution and mindset,
    not just skin color alone and that does not make sense of
    creating new Malaysia breed to be future leaders of Malaysia!

15. #15 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 8:57 pm

If everyone can remember the famous fables we read in our younger days, one would recall the story of The Ant and The Grasshopper. The ant was hardworking and worked all day long, collecting and storing away food for the winter while the grasshopper was carefree and dancing around. And when the cruel winter arrived, remember who perished?

Let the grasshoppers carry on their merriment while they still can. Come winter and see who will not be around!

16. #16 by normgoh on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 10:05 pm

In my opinion, there is no such thing as, “Awak Melayu, saya Cina,” or what so ever…

I’m a Sarawakian myself and seriously, I don’t really experience such thing here in our place. I’m mixed with Chinese and Bidayuh. I have more Malay (or Bumiputera) friends than Chinese friends. I mean, unlike those politicians, my Malay friends are very nice people, we shared a lot, we even talked about sensitive issues openly. My Muslim friends even taught me about Islam and I’m open about it, and I even shared with them about Buddhism and Christianity.

I met with my Malay juniors recently and talked about the recent banning of BM Holy bible. Guess what they said when I told them about it, they said,

“Ini tak betul lah. Dalam Islam, kita semua perlu taat kepada Tuhan yang satu, Allah. Termasuklah Kristian. Buku-buku suci yang diturunkan kepada umat manusia berasal daripada punca yang sama, Allah (a.k.a. God, Tuhan). Kitab Taurat, Zabur, Injil, Quran, dll, adalah untuk manusia, ke arah kebaikan. Nabi-nabi pun sama. Nak panggil Tuhan atau Allah atau God pun sama, yang penting, hati yang ikhlas dan suci. Manusia lah yang membuat segala peraturan dalam agama demi kepentingan sendiri.”

They even agreed that the move taken by the Cabinet is absurd. They (my friends) respected friends of different religions.

Dear Malaysians,

I think we should emulate the lifestyle of Sarawakians. We don’t really face such racial issues here, sad to say, when some radical people come to Sarawak, they introduce bad influences (especially ‘disintegration’ of races) to the cultures of Sarawak when people here live in harmony despite vast difference in their religions and backgrounds. Our dear PM should take the situation seriously if he wants to win the mandate (which I doubt he could) and emulate the lifestyle of Sarawakians.

17. #17 by dranony on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 11:14 pm

Shamsul,
    Stop trying to confuse the issue, by intentionally blinding us to the FACT that in Malaysia, the racism is INSTITUTIONALISED!

Sure, any where you go, there will be bigotry.
    It isn’t any different here, in Malaysia, except that it is INSTITUTIONALISED, and therefore made into OFFICIAL POLICY!
    But by trying to blur the difference between the INSTITUTIONALISED racism in Malaysia, by pointing to unofficial individual bigotry, it simply shows that you are defending the “ketuanan” supremacist mindset.
    In the US, to be accused of racism while performing OFFICIAL duties, is a serious accusation, perhaps comparable to being accusations of “kafir” between UMNO and PAS of years past.
    Such is the official outlook against racism in officialdom there.

On the other hand, here in Malaysia, because of the “ketuanan” mindset, the Little Mullah Napoleons hardly give any thought to implementing policies that overstep racial boundaries.
    And unfortunately, since race is tied to religion by virtue of definition by the Malaysian Constitution, these LMN hardly give any thought to overstepping religious boundaries as well, hardly giving any thought and respect to the sensitivities of others.

18. #18 by sotong on Wednesday, 23 January 2008 - 7:50 am

In the present circumtances, with decades of damaging and divisive politics of race and religion – let alone rampant corruption, gross excesses and abuses, huge GLCs losses, racism, failed NEP and etc., I am happy to be called Orang Asing.

19. #19 by ktteokt on Thursday, 24 January 2008 - 4:24 pm

20. #20 by kaybeegee on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 6:19 pm

Sotong you are right. I tell my children ,I will beg, borow but not steal. they need to study well, do well and I WILL TAKE CARE of the rest. Our neighbour’s children are taken care from cradle to grave. We are not.
    But no way I will acknowledge that my neighbour who bought his house at a discount, subsidised by me, walks to the mosque, I drive far to my place of worship, be careful where I park whereas around mosques on Fridays paking is free for all,is ketuanan over me. Hell my civilisation is far superior to his many times over. Mykids know who the real superior race is. Theirs. History in Malaysia can be changed by UMNO but not world wide.

21. #21 by Cyprophillius on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 5:21 pm

Apparently, some people assume politics to be important, but realpolitik however should have been given more priority.

22. #22 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 11:49 pm

DEar Kaybeegee,

This is exactly the problem with you. “Hell, my civilization….”. Be proud with your civilization, But there is no need to put down other civilizations.

All civilizations have contributed to the mankind. So, mind the mannerism by respecting the contributions. And I fail to understand the fuss over free parking for the congregation. It is the right thing to do.

Are you saying that Malays are “taken care from cradle to grave”? Wow. this is new to me. Enlighten me on this please. And for your info, I also drive to the mosque.

And before I forget, may I tell you that a person of your race who stands as BN candidate in Lenggong, need support from “the civilization that you look down” in order to win . And not to forget the same situation in Wangsa Maju, Derga, Alor Star,Kulim, Tanjung Piai to name a few.

So, at leat my civilization does contribute something. It really saddens me that people can stood that low by mocking other civilizations. So, actually Malays are right after all. “habislah orang Melayu kalau DAP perintah”.

As for Bukan bumi, I am afraid you are wrong. You also can contest and become for example a Menteri Besar of Kedah. Who is stopping you? Just because you do not win does not mean that there is no fairness in the system.

As for Awang Sayang, I am not preparing for election. I just defend UMNO for these ridiculous charges. Anba is so upset on UMNO supremacy although she may not say it out loud. UMNO supremacy in Malaysian politics is due to the support of all Malays.

I accept criticism. What I cant stomach is downright insult. Someone mocks Malay professors. What they do not know is that some of these Associate professors and Professors received the PHD in USA, UK. The way they say make one feel there is no credible Malay professors at all.

Comments are closed.