Time for new Education Minister if Hishammuddin cannot free national schools from the clutches of Little Mullah Napoleons (LMN)

A parent of a student in SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore has emailed his complaint of a new school ruling by the head master and discipline teacher banning the bringing of non-halal food to school.

This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:

“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.”

This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:

“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan tidak halal.”

In his email, the parent was upset about one categorization of “serious offences” in breach of school discipline, viz. Item No. 28 which states “Menganjurkan atau membabitkan dalam acara kebudayaan tanpa kebenaran pihak sekolah, PPD, JPNJ dan Kementerian Pendidkan Malaysia”, causing him to ask: “I don’t understand why cultural activities outside of school is their concern. Soon going to church or celebrating Deepavali will need the same approval, or for that matter CNY.”

The School Regulation also prescribes the dress code for visitors to the school, viz:

“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.”

Malaysiakini columnist Helen Ang has coined the term “Little Mullah Napoleons” (LMN) to describe the little bureaucrats who are taking upon themselves to micro-manage how Malaysians dress – and this dress regulation for visitors to SMK Taman Selesa Jaya Skudai, Johor qualify its headmaster Haji Masdar bin Abu and discipline teacher Haris bin Ismail to join the rolls of Helen Ang’s LMNs.

In his last year as Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was quite outspoken in expressing his concern at the failure of national schools as instruments of nation-building and national unity.

He openly admitted that there had been two hijackings of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia, alienating non-Muslims as in denying the right of the Chinese and Indians to learn their own languages and introducing Islamic practices in the school system which “puts off the non-Malays”, with boys forbidden from wearing shorts, even for playing games, and “even games are discouraged”, when “before, we had no problems with girls wearing skirts and boys wearing shorts, especially for games”.

When Abdullah became Prime Minister, he pledged to carry out Mahathir’s “unfinished business” to end such extremism and intolerance by the school bureaucrats so that the national schools will become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race. In fact, this became one of the pledges of the Barisan Nasional general election manifesto in 2004.

Four years have passed and there is an even longer catalogue of instances of hijacking of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia with the rise of more LMNs as principals and discipline masters, as highlighted by the recent spate of school incidents whether over the compulsory wear of songkok for school prefects in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (formerly English College) Johore Baru (since withdrawn) , the sheaf of insensitivities of the SMK BUD4 Principlal or this latest incident.

It is time to have a new Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein is such a dismal failure to honour the Barisan Nasional election pledge to liberate the national education system from the clutches of LMNs to ensure that the national schools become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race or religion.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:12 pm

2. #2 by kanthanboy on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:18 pm

You never hear these LMN say anything against corruption. In Malaysia, corruption is the most popular halal hobby.

What about those government sponsored Muslim students at universities in western countries? Do they not consume non halal food at food outlets operated by non Muslims at their universities and restaurants such as McDonald, KFC and others?
    Also when Muslim ministers and officials travel to countries with very few Muslims, don’t they eat non halal food at Hotels and restaurants?

3. #3 by optimuz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:21 pm

As I said earlier, all this is for show only!

I recall when I was in HK and was having breakfast when a group of muslims (with headscarves) walked in to have theirs as well.

Naturally there was no halal/non-halal sections…all was a mix. The bacon was placed right beside the scrambled eggs and the pan was also used to make omelettes with bacon in it…

But there was no fuss by these people (I believe they were Malaysians)…in fact, they even ordered their omelettes which had been used for frying bacon etc…

Now if you can live with that, why make a fuss here??

Of course, there are the many ‘kataks’ who insist on segregation of halal/non-halal (as I was told by mum while on her many travels)..but do these people think that the world must bend over just to accomodate their ‘narrow minded’ thinking??

4. #4 by Tickler on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:22 pm

It was announced in parliament that no new Chinese or Tamil schools would be built under the 9th Malaysia Plan. What were the MCA and MIC doing when this policy was formulated. Do they agree with this policy to deny mother tongue education. They should speak up now. Their silence is a big sign of their failure!

The people are fed up with the MCA. One proof of this is a interesting comment in my blog which reads “I will support and donate my 1 month income to build the school when the approval is obtained and YB undertake to build the much needed school. Though I am Educated from ACS, I always support the neglected Chinese schools though in a small ways. Good job YB!
    [ ]
    On Dec 13th YB Ho Chang Wang issued a statement challenging me to take responsibility to build a new Chinese school.
    In the Ipoh Barat Parliamentary constituency all the 3 state seats are held by the MCA. Bercham by Gooi Soon Teik -Kepayang- by Tan Chee Meng (Exco member) and Buntong- by Yik Pooi Hong ( State Deputy Speaker)

But all three are sleeping. as far as defending vernacular education is concerned.

http://kula.blogsome.com/2008/01/18/chinese-school-in-bercham-open-challeng-to-mca/

5. #5 by NAR2645 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:28 pm

http://www.ongkating.net/contact.html

To grace.

Ong Ka Ting’ email as above

6. #6 by kanthanboy on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:49 pm

“It was announced in parliament that no new Chinese or Tamil schools would be built under the 9th Malaysia Plan. What were the MCA and MIC doing when this policy was formulated.” Tickler
    ————————-
    All the non Muslim Ministers have gone to the toilet. They all have diarrhea after being served halal food.

7. #7 by burn on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:58 pm

now they want to become a father figure to all!
    wow, what type of clowns are they, just implement it as they like. if that the case, might as well establish a new school for muslim and non-muslim!

8. #8 by year of snake on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:28 pm

These little Napoleans and actually Zealots who are trying to prove to each other that they are more religious than others. The trouble is that they don’t know or pretend not to know that they are also handling a pork tainted article everyday, that is, Money which is one of the most contaminated thing which we are handling everyday. Maybe these Fanatics are using gloves when handling money and go home and wash them with detergents which I doubt! Probably they are dreaming of being wives of Talebans.

9. #9 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:33 pm

tell me something. when these malays travelled overseas on hoildays or study or seminars etc in say US, UK, europe or NZ what and where do they eat? do they insist and eat halal food all the time? and where?

10. #10 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:04 pm

I will support and respect Hishammuddin if he uses his keris against those Little Mullah Napoleons.

But I have a strong feeling that he prefers to use his keris against those (from MCA and Gerakan) who dare to raise the Little Mullah Napoleons’ issues in the Cabinet.

11. #11 by justiciary on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:12 pm

You know the muslims here belong to hypocrites of the highest order.In Malaysia,they cannot eat this,cannot eat that;cannot do this,cannot do that.But when they go overseas,they forget what they preach and believe and will do what they they do not openly do in Malaysia.Superficially they are pious but when come to greed for wealth and money,they become so very corrupted.It is real humbug and nonsense.

12. #12 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:19 pm

“bystander Says:

tell me something. when these malays travelled overseas on hoildays or study or seminars etc in say US, UK, europe or NZ what and where do they eat? do they insist and eat halal food all the time? and where?”

My Malay friend told me that he doesn’t want to be a Muslim but has to remain so (very funny indeed). He eats pork in front of me. I am sure he is not the only pork-eating Muslim in Malaysia.

13. #13 by ahoo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:32 pm

This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:

“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.”

This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:

“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan
    tidak halal.”

What! No non-halal food in school? Even sweets also cannot!
    “Junk food”, how do they categorize what is junk food? One
    man’s food maybe another man poison. Will the prefects start
    to frisk school children bag in order to enforce such rulings?

We live in exciting and perilous time! As the saying goes ……. defilement comes from within. What comes out of a man, that defiles a man. For from within, out of the heart of men,
    proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lewdness, an evil eye,
    blasphemy, pride, foolishness. All these evil things come from
    within and defile a man. NKJV

Let’s not just pack our bags and go. That will do no justice
    to YB Kit and many others that have had stood up to voice
    out our frustrations. They (YB & family ) care to stay back
    and stand against all the injustices, leakages, excessiveness,
    corruptions etc. They could have packed and be gone, long
    time ago instead of challenging the govt of the day and also
    spending time in ” Kamunting ” a place where even God forbid.

Stand up and be counted. Vote against all those who are
    corrupted and are shameless! We don’t need such self-
    righteous people in parliament. All the people of JB, please
    wake up and voice out / vote against those self-righteous, be they in schools or even in the govt depts or in parliament.

14. #14 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:36 pm

“KUALA LUMPUR: Post a Valentine’s Day message to your lover in the New Straits Times and you stand a chance to win a hotel stay with romantic spa treatment.

The first prize is a RM1,500 three-day-two-night stay at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Damai Laut in Lumut with a spa treatment for two.

The second and third prizes are packages for a couple at the Samsara Garden Spa at the Swiss Garden Hotel in Kuala Lumpur worth RM1,000 and RM500 respectively. ”

I would advise NST’s Classified Ads, Maziah Abd. Hamid to first check with JAKIM, MAIS, Imam Besar Hadhari, etc. before encouraging young, impressionable, hot-blooded couples of thier faith to participate in “haram” activities like Valentine’s Day. Otherwise, she will be branded as secular in outlook and punished by her righteous peers.

What has Malaysia come to? I weep for Malaysia.

15. #15 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:37 pm

am sure many of us share the same view as ahoo

16. #16 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:39 pm

How can take lover to hotel without “surat perkahwinan”? These participants must first attach their “surat perkahwinan” together with their contest forms to be verified before declaring them winners. “Surat perkahwinan” from Thailand strictly not recognised for this contest. ; )

17. #17 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:00 pm

When I was in secondary school in the 1980′s, I brought home-cooked fried rice with “lap-cheong”. The aroma was so strong and fragrant that I had to sit away from my Malay friends just to enjoy my food in peace. Why must they impose their beliefs on others? Can’t they trust us to understand their beliefs and not “lead them to temptation” or “cause them to sin”? OR are they so afraid with so little faith in themselves? I have never troubled my Malay friends on matters of their faith. I have come to learn and respect them. Why can’t I expect the same measure of respect?

18. #18 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:26 pm

If you,malaysia.com, have to bash Singapore with principles plus facts, it would have been palatable but to spew out untruths like you did it is most obnoxious.
    For a start you mention Singapore government is chinese and therefore racist. If I read you correctly (you coming from a region and race politicised society, chances are you being a bigot is high as well),it would mean that the Singapore government is pursuing a policy to the entire benefit of the chinese in Singapore just like in Malaysia whereby the government pursues its policy benefitting only the Malays ( yes only the Malays cos the original people of Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia do not have such benefits), NEP and staffing of the civil service.If you ever go to Singapore, have a look at their teachers in schools, their police in the police force, their soldiers in the army or the staff in their public hospitals, you’ll be struck by one thing and that is there is no overwhelming predominance of 1 particular race. Compare this with Malaysia, the civil service is simply swarmed by 1 single race overwhelmingly!!Then again in Singapore, non Singaporean can be PM or DPM (they already have one currently) or can be minister in any of the portfolio.Malaysia has never got a non malay DPM.Even the portfolio of finance (last non malay to occupy this position is 30 years ago) can no longer be filled by a non Malay and so are the other positions..defence,education,home and foreign.
    Come to religion.Religion is practised freely in Singapore and of course Malaysia says it is also done freely here as well.But then of course all other Malaysians (other than Malays) plus growing number of foreigners as well know that this freely is in fact freely under inverted commas ie’freely’.
    To go further let’s take a look at the population statistics:
    (1) chinese: 76.7%

(2) Malays : 14%

(3) Indians : 7.9%

(4) others : 1.4%
    Malays in Malaysia is 50.4%, not so overwhelmingly predominant in Malaysia as the Chinese is in Singapore and yet policies carried out in Malaysia is overwhelmingly racialistic and religiously biased. Would you care to argue against this?

‘Banning headscarf for muslim girls while allowing sikh boys to wear turban is a bias policy against Malays in Singapore.’ malaysia.com
    I presume you are referring to school uniform in Singapore which again you’re are found to be completely untruthful or if not completely ignorant of anything pertaining to matters in Singapore and therefore should have been better if you were to keep quiet.
    Singapore right from day 1 since its independence has white shirt, white short for boys and white shirt, white skirts for girls as school uniform. The only exception is the sikh can add in their turbans since turban is associated with sikh religion.Headscarf is not in as headscarf is not associated with religion, more with culture with Arab culture in particular.In Malaysia, through a gradual process of arabisation, practically every Malay girl or lady is wearing one thereby undermining a part of Malay culture the sarong kebaya which is more commonly seen some 40 years ago rather than now.In Turkey, for example, a woman pilot was sacked for wearing headscarf whilst on duty (which is not part of pilot uniform) and also a woman MP has been asked to leave the HOUSe for wearing one!!
    Suddenly in 2002, out of the blue a Malay in Singapore wants to overturn the ruling and try to introduce headscarf as part of the school uniform whilst the school uniform has been accepted more than 40 years by parents as suitable and appropriate.What is more the school uniform chosen does not connote anything particular..religion or culture.It is simply neutral or if one may it is simply Singaporean!

19. #19 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:53 pm

I agree with you Ah Pek.In Malaysia,the woman policemen look so very awful and ugly(instead of smart) when they wear their scarves plus their hats.Pitifully the non Malay counterparts are compelled to wear the same.

20. #20 by burn on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:54 pm

sometimes i do wonder, could all this be just another drama bcause of election. as everyone knows, lots of non-bumi are unhappy with their BN partners.
    so to say, to support opposition, this will happen. to support BN components, it will be settle immediately!

21. #21 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:20 pm

Mr Burn, Earlier I said this is an issolated issue. But looking at Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Prime Minister of Malaysia’s statement in NST, I conclude this is the general direction we are going into.

Check NST where he gave the statement that there cannot be a separation between the STATE and RELIGION. He did soften his statement, maybe trying to pacify the non-Muslim, but we cannot trust this part of that statement. Please look at his statement in the NST again.

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:27 pm

Having worked with Singapore ministries including education, I will tell you that the banning of headscarves is not a result of insensitivity but rather pure technocratic determination, the very thing that made Singapore efficient and strong. Believe me that a lot of thought when into it but not well publicised because the standard operating procedure in religion in Singapore is to do it if its technically correct but don’t discuss too much about it. But a lot of thought goes into it. I have discussed it with some of the top minds before and the rational given to me was:

1) Headscarf was never part of Malay religious practise and in fact, in France where the issue also arised later, they have said Headscarf is political and not religious.

2) Singapore practise a policy of ‘managing religion’. If you want to argue that headscarf is against their freedom to practise their religion, then the same can be said of Singapore making mosque turn the prayer cries speakers inward rather than outward. Singapore argument is during Muhammad time, there was no speakers so don’t debate it against their freedom.

3) There is no doubt that Lee Kuan Yew is paranoid about Malay tendencies. He is obviously no liberal and hence there is no doubt he is not free from bias but all of his bias whether you talk of the headscarf or the speakers are based on practical policy concerns NOT something abrtirarily as ‘divine right’ that is unsubstantiated.

To equate the headscraf ban the same as banning halal food is to equate practicality with divinity. That is the problem with religo-state, policy base on divinity that hurts some is unaccountable to those who got hurt. But policies based on practicality (i.e., read secularity) that hurts some IS accountable even to those that are hurt by it.

I personally thing Singapore can afford to be more liberal with policies like headscarf and they would be better off for allowing it but I disagree with those who think that Singapore did not have the right to choose to. No one is owed liberal policies.

23. #23 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:31 pm

In that regard, let me just say that Malaysia by banning halal food is NOT better off for being unliberal. So its even stevens. You wonder if there is that any human difference between Singaporean and Malaysian except for the labels.

24. #24 by Tickler on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 6:08 pm

The headscarf got its infamous popularity through Ayatollah Khomeini in the `70s.

25. #25 by Richard Teo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:00 pm

Why are there still non-malays in Kebangsaan schools? All chinese students should enrol in Vernacular schools as they are better managed with no islamic undertones. Let the malays go to Kebangsaan schools and turn them into islamic religious schools.In fact more and more malays are sending their children to chinese schools.

26. #26 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:10 pm

Bigjoe,
    I think you have further clarify the picture that Singapore government does not pursue religios and racial based policy in the same manner as the Malaysian government.They pursue a secular policy and a policy designed to benefit Singaporeans not Chinese, not Malays and not Indians, just Singaporeans.
    I certainly agree with you that LKY is no liberal but neither is he a tyrant as was suggested by a commenter sometime ago.He has an idea how Singapore is to be run and stack his cabinet with some of the best brains Singapore has.To get Singapore this far with a per capita gdp of $31,400 is no mean feat for an island nation with practical nothing to shout about.In one of Alvin Toffler’s (Alvin Toffler was once known as one of the outstanding futurist in the world) 3 trilogies, George Yeo was cited by him as one of the most brilliant ministers he has come across.
    ‘You wonder if there is any human difference between Singaporean and Malaysian except for the labels.’.Bigjoe
    There is none if you were to mean that both are authoritharian, dictatorial if I may but the similarity ends there.
    One uses its authority to carry out racial and religious based policy marginalising the minority thereby exerting hegemony over them.
    The other is a benevolent dictatorship carrying out policies to advance the well-being of Singapore and Singaporeans.

27. #27 by mr.gelapan on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:34 pm

eiyaa Mr.Lim this halal and non-halal issues still an issues even DAP rule Malaysian. This is not suppose raised an issues if DAP is have real intention to change the goverment but otherwise if DAP just have no real an issue to raised – Habis Modal!.

This babi (pork) is an easy thing to settle. I even can eat with the same plate used for babi after plate cleaned. No problem.

If DAP in power can you settle many thing of Muslim or Malays grevience ?… If not so you DAP are the same with BN… No difference

First thing I would advise DAP – To change their HEAD first – Mr. Lim lah….

28. #28 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:59 pm

And one more difference between Singapore government a nd Malaysian government and that is ………..over the last few years the inner circle (UMNOPUTRAS) have gotten wise and use their religion and race based policies as an excuse to enrich themselves!!
    I am sure it can be easily checked that many Malay millionaires or multimillionaires have been intentionally created over the last 10 years not out of the fact of their entrepreneural ventures but simply because of being UMNOPUTRA or cronies of UMNOPUTRAS.Just take a look at the annual AG reports year in and year out citing woes of over-expenditure and massive wastages with nobody batting an eye-lid and these reports are gathering dusts.Look at the contracts dished out to bumiputra companies that have no expertise to carry out such projects.It is simply incredible and that can only happen in a country call ‘MALAYSIA”.Need we go on, malaysia.com!!

29. #29 by Evenmind on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:59 pm

30. #30 by ZePenguin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:09 pm

Just to add some salt into the wound. During my schooling time, in 2004 to be exact, my Penolong Kanan gave a speech during the usual school assembly and as every teachers do, she would greet before commencing her speech. But at that time, she greeted differently! She said :

“Assalamualaikum kepada semua pelajar islam and selamat sejahtera kepada MEREKA YANG BELUM BERAGAMA ISLAM”

Can she be categorised as one of the “Little Mullah Napoleons”?

31. #31 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:29 pm

To AhPek Says:

Except some Malaysian chinese are color blinded to regard Singapore is a non-racist nation, the whole world knowing PAP is just a mirror of UMNO.

There are tons of facts hard to be swollen by chinese ah pek.

1. Malay cannot be RAF fighter pilot since day one.

2. Top military officers never go to Malay.

3. Malay will never become PM.

4. LKS made it an offcial policy to maintain a fixed racial ratio with at least 78% Chinese forever.

Anyone can explain to me IF this is not a racist policy, what on earth any country in the world fixing population based on race?

5. Headscraft is arab culture or not is irrelevant to Malay in Singapore. As long Malays accept headscraft is associated with their religion obligation, who on earth to forbid cultural change of a race?

Don’t tell me ah pek is still wearing same outfit used by his ancestor 40 years ago. Culture is dynamic and subject to change.

Don’t twisting fact for the sake of argument. Only a bigot like you is shameless to spin fiction to fact. BTW, you know nothing what is fact except some statistics on population.

Singapore government argued that sikh turban is part of culture, not religious obligation as you like to “believe”. They are using “religion” reason, not “culture” to reject headscraft.

Singapore argument is totally contradicting with your so-called fact.

Get lost if you cannot even get the fact right.

Karpal singh or any sikh people can reveal to you that turban is a part of sikh religious obligation.

5. Singapore school uniforms are not one monotonous type as you believe.

32. #32 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

Corrrected “swallow” not “swollen”.

Clearly Singapore have double standard on religious and cultural matter.

Sikh turban is a religious obligation as wearing headscraft for muslims in Singapore. But somehow kiasu classifies turban as cultural and headscraft as religious matter to discriminate malay from the secular school.

33. #33 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:05 pm

4. LKS made it an offcial policy to maintain a fixed racial ratio with at least 78% Chinese forever.

Sorry. Not LKS, is LKY aka old lee.

34. #34 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:16 pm

The lists given by you malaysia.com reflects that you are a bigot.And what did I say about the turban … read again before you continue blaring out untruth again.
    Who is the DPM of Singapore check that before you make statements like (3).
    Malays cannot be SAF pilots has never been denied and in fact Lee Hsien Loong has given an interview on this 2 years ago.You check that up.
    Malaya’s population in 1938 is:
    (1) chinese:2.2 million
    (2) Malays:2.1million
    (3) Indians:O.7million
    (4) others 0.6 million
    In other words Malays is 37.5% of the population, chinese is 39% and Indians 12.5%. Presto fast forward this to 2007 you have the Malays making up 50.4%, Chinese 33% and Indians 7%. How did that happen you tell me. Mahathir introduced enbloc Indonesians to Malaysia to do manual jobs but in true fact it is to increase the votes for UMNO.It is also during the time when the first boat people came and all of them were refused political refugee status and are stored away in one of the east coast islands awaiting transfer to 3rd country willing to take them. We could have taken some of them.No they are not Malays and also not muslims.Look what happen to Sabah …taking and making them citizens to neutralise the christian natives!
    Also what have we to talk of pertaining to armed forces, air force ,naval force and police force. We used to have some non Malays heading some of the armed units but that was long long time ago!!Air force used to be flooded by non Malays. Look it now.This was also long long time ago!!
    The headscarf you are advancing to be part of school uniform, please read Bigjoe’s explanation.
    So go on and eep painting that other government is pursuing religion and race based policy to justify your government’s doing and make it more palatable to swallow what all these UMNOPUTRAS are doing to the country.

35. #35 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

Correction. Should be ‘…..and keep painting that …….”.

36. #36 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

ah pek,
    Do not waste your time writing in details to explain little issue…that has been going round and round non-stop for years and years and has been exploited by somebody who is of denial syndrome..in other words..he wants the world to be owned by a Malay..the more u keep explaining…the more he will go against you..these ppl do not wish to face the mirror and look at themselves first before making allegations..they in other words have been under the shade for too long i guess..that’s a pity.

37. #37 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:49 pm

Malaysiatoday.com,please do not bulldoze your argument onto others.Malaysia ruled by Umno is highly racial and religious biased.No right thinking people including Malays will deny this fact.Singapore is however ruled by smart and farsighted elites.The ruling party there is not run by racial and religious bigots.That’s why their GDP is top in Asia.

38. #38 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:17 pm

jus legitimum Says:

BS..highest GDP can be used as excuse to suppress minority.

Are you a typical chinese who rated money is God? Or you just plain blind like some Malays here who only can see thing from racial perspective.

No right thinking will say kiasu government is non-racist. I have not seen your rebuttals on some facts I put forward to prove PAP is racist as UMNO.

antz Says:

Another bigot who assume those opposing chinese ah pek must be a malay.

39. #39 by smeagroo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:17 pm

I think Sek. Kebangsaan shld BAN THE NON-MUSLIMS outright. Afterall ,we are NOT HALAL! Maybe one day they require us to become HALAL too b4 we can step foot into THEIR school!

40. #40 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:28 pm

AhPek Says:

====

You are plain racist to harp on race population to sell your unsubstaintiated argument.

As we know any uniform policy is set by the government. If a school uniform policy is bias against a race in the first place, don’t you have consciousness for not using such “policy” to subsutantiate your argument.

Are you telling NEP is a policy, therefore NEP is a flawless correct?

Whatever wrong policies being done in Bolehland do not justify kiasu policies are correct.

Anyway, fet your fact right first before argue on an issue you are very blurred.

[Lets stop this bickering and get back to the real issue, shall we? - Kit]

41. #41 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:28 pm

In Singapore,meritocracy prevails.Suppression of the minorities,I doubt.Even their DPM is an Indian and their MOE is a Malay.No wonder this country is stagnating due to many stubborn people who suffer from the denial syndrome.

42. #42 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:36 pm

it seems somebody feeling upset already…dare to throw the stone but now it seems the hand is keeping tightly behind one’s back and hiding behind in oneself…we’ll see…who’ll be the survivor…i just want to laugh seeing the show…this is just a blog…it’s advisable not to be emotional.

43. #43 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:45 pm

To jus legitimum,

How many DPM in Singapore? Yon can create tons of powerless ministerial post as you want.

Are non-Chinese can dictate policies in Singapore?

How many Malays (in %) in the kiasu cabinet?

How many malay generals (in %) in RAF?

A true meritocracy will not set a limit on how many talents can be taken from China, India and Indonesia.

LKY has quota for talents based on color skin. You don’t know such quota system in kiasuland or simply ignorant again as usual?

To Ah Pek,

How many chinese (%) serving Malaysia armed forces now?

If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

Who to be blamed for dwindling pool of Chinese top officials after independence?

The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

Are you expecting Malay government to lay red carpet to welcome chinese in thepolice and military recruitment exercise?

44. #44 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:51 pm

[Lets stop this bickering and get back to the real issue, shall we? - Kit]

===

YB Lim, discussions on headscraft issue in Singapore is not totally out of topic.

Thx

45. #45 by chai on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:53 pm

malaysia is worst until dont know how to describe!!!!!!!

46. #46 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:00 pm

malaysia today.com,

it’s advisable if u e-mail to the specific ministers in charge to all the questions you have thrown in this blog…answers given will not satisfied…nor parties…this will be endless argument…
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/ and also u can check out Lee Kuan Yew e-mail address as well…under the Singapore govt website…

47. #47 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:13 pm

stand to be corrected. the latest according to my daughter, the religious bigot/principal of BU4 has reverse all her previous decisions ie back to status quo as before, thanks to the pressure exerted by the parents, exposure by YB LKS, the chinese press and all the comments/support made by all here. but no thanks to the timid MCA and gerakan members with their tails between their legs. hooray stand united.

48. #48 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:17 pm

A public institution the running of which is from taxpayer’s money should not project the culture or religious beliefs of any one component ethnic group of a multiracial and multireligious nation.School uniform of a school which is a public institution therefore must do likewise …its uniform must not reflect that it is a Malay school or a chinese school or an Indian school.
    Malaysia.com is saying it must reflect a Malay school otherwise you are biased against the religion and also the Malay culture. Who has got a warped mind?

49. #49 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:19 pm

Don’t be elusive in answering questions I put forward.

PAP government has made them official policies and was published in The Starits Times.

Sometimes, I just wonder why some people only good in criticizing wrongdoings by UMNO and totally blinded when similar unjust and unfair policies done by PAP.

50. #50 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:26 pm

AhPek Says:

Today at 23: 17.47 (2 minutes ago)
    A public institution the running of which is from taxpayer’s money should not project the culture or religious beliefs of any one component ethnic group of a multiracial and multireligious nation.School uniform of a school which is a public institution therefore must do likewise …its uniform must not reflect that it is a Malay school or a chinese school or an Indian school.
    Malaysia.com is saying it must reflect a Malay school otherwise you are biased against the religion and also the Malay culture. Who has got a warped mind?

==============================================

A loser mindset, just put your words into your mouth.

You really have difficulty to understand “double standard” for malay and sikh in Singapore?

If religious attire is not allowed in a secular school, just apply same ruling on both malay and sikh. Case closed.

Comments are closed.