A parent of a student in SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore has emailed his complaint of a new school ruling by the head master and discipline teacher banning the bringing of non-halal food to school.
This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:
“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.”
This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:
“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan tidak halal.”
In his email, the parent was upset about one categorization of “serious offences” in breach of school discipline, viz. Item No. 28 which states “Menganjurkan atau membabitkan dalam acara kebudayaan tanpa kebenaran pihak sekolah, PPD, JPNJ dan Kementerian Pendidkan Malaysia”, causing him to ask: “I don’t understand why cultural activities outside of school is their concern. Soon going to church or celebrating Deepavali will need the same approval, or for that matter CNY.”
The School Regulation also prescribes the dress code for visitors to the school, viz:
“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.”
Malaysiakini columnist Helen Ang has coined the term “Little Mullah Napoleons” (LMN) to describe the little bureaucrats who are taking upon themselves to micro-manage how Malaysians dress – and this dress regulation for visitors to SMK Taman Selesa Jaya Skudai, Johor qualify its headmaster Haji Masdar bin Abu and discipline teacher Haris bin Ismail to join the rolls of Helen Ang’s LMNs.
In his last year as Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was quite outspoken in expressing his concern at the failure of national schools as instruments of nation-building and national unity.
He openly admitted that there had been two hijackings of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia, alienating non-Muslims as in denying the right of the Chinese and Indians to learn their own languages and introducing Islamic practices in the school system which “puts off the non-Malays”, with boys forbidden from wearing shorts, even for playing games, and “even games are discouraged”, when “before, we had no problems with girls wearing skirts and boys wearing shorts, especially for games”.
When Abdullah became Prime Minister, he pledged to carry out Mahathir’s “unfinished business” to end such extremism and intolerance by the school bureaucrats so that the national schools will become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race. In fact, this became one of the pledges of the Barisan Nasional general election manifesto in 2004.
Four years have passed and there is an even longer catalogue of instances of hijacking of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia with the rise of more LMNs as principals and discipline masters, as highlighted by the recent spate of school incidents whether over the compulsory wear of songkok for school prefects in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (formerly English College) Johore Baru (since withdrawn) , the sheaf of insensitivities of the SMK BUD4 Principlal or this latest incident.
It is time to have a new Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein is such a dismal failure to honour the Barisan Nasional election pledge to liberate the national education system from the clutches of LMNs to ensure that the national schools become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race or religion.

#1 by LittleBird on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:06 am
Isn’t this imposition or assertation of ones cultural and religious values over others?
#2 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:07 am
Politicians be they UMNO or DAP have no right to be tinkering with the heads of children who are our future generation.
#3 by smartee on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:24 am
Excellent!
Scan a copy of the letter, blow it up BIG and project it on wide screen during ceramahs in the coming elections.
Also send copies of “Thank you” notes to all these little napoleons for helping to give the Opposition “more bullets”!
AND start another walk to sack the idiotic Education Minister Kerismuddin.
#4 by undergrad2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:35 am
Consider the banning of the hijab in Singapore schools a few years earlier.
http://www.prohijab.net/english/singapore-hijab-news.htm
“The headscarf ban was introduced into schools in Singapore in 2002 as an attempt to avoid racial and religious tensions between its ethnic Chinese majority and the Malay Muslim minority, which constitutes around 15% of the populationâ€.
The banning of non-halal food in school premises could be viewed in the same light.
However, as for the attire prescribed for visitors and refusing assistance to requests from parents unless they are properly attired raises a host of constitutional issues.
#5 by ablastine on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:41 am
I totally agree with smartee. Make this the slogan of the opposition. Tell the people that if they still vote for the BN this is what they are going to get. In fact I suggest the DAP does more than scan the letter. It should compiled an entire book about the entice of these idiots.
Tell them if BN remain in undisputed power very soon they will be telling you what you can wear and cannot, what you can eat or cannot, what you can do in your bedroom or cannot and if a woman is raped it is her own bloody fault because she exposed herself too much to stimulate the rapist. She will be given untold number of lashes and thrown into jail for such heinous crime. The rapists of course can go around getting more free sex from exposed women.
#6 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:51 am
“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.â€
My secondary school did exactly the same thing. worse still, we were not allowed to bring any “halal” food bought outside the school. The HM claims that they have a contract with the canteen and students can only bring their “homemade halal” food.
“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.â€
I think most of the non-muslims students are desensitised on this regulation as well. this happened not only in secondary schools. Even in Universities such as UKM, all students are expect to “tutup aurat” and couples are not allowed to stay alone in empty lecture halls.
#7 by Saint on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:02 am
Malaysian brand of Islam is not only taking Malaysian Muslims into the dark ages, but also forcing other to follow suit with them.
Dear Saudara Lim, can this be a greater plan by BN to create unrest before the coming elections. What better place then to start it from schools. The one who showed the kris is not taking any disciplinary action; thus must be supporting these actions directly.
#8 by k1980 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:09 am
Any guesses what would happen to this type of competitions once these Little Osamas gain control?
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/National/2135330/Article/index_html
#9 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:19 am
Mr Lim,
You must be kidding? Do you expect that to happen in Malaysia?
The so-called Little Mullah Napoleons will not diminish but will fester all over Malaysia even if you change the useless Prime Minister!
The only viable solution is to change the GOVERNMENT !!!!
#10 by azk on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:32 am
an education system that focuses on promoting racism, hate, bigotry, laziness, intolerance, cheats and everything else EXCEPT education.
guess where Msia will end up with few more decades of these.
#11 by DarkHorse on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:47 am
In the dumpster??
#12 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:59 am
one day we might hv:
“places designated for halal and non-halal students only”
since those who eat pork, the body also “contaminated”.
However, the fact is all meat does have its damaging substances to body. NOT ONLY PIG MEAT ALONE.
#13 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:01 am
definition of halal also not restricted to pig alone.
A variety of substances are considered forbidden (haraam) as per various Quranic verses:
Pork, or any pig-based products (e.g., gelatine)[Qur'an 2:173]
Blood[Qur'an 2:173]
Animals slaughtered in the name of anyone but God (there are debates regarding the permissibility of meat slaughtered by Jews, i.e., kosher meat).[Qur'an 2:173]
Carrion[Qur'an 5:3]
“Fanged beasts of prey” as per the Sunnah, usually simplified to all carnivorous animals, with the exception of most fish and sea animals[citation needed]
All intoxicants (especially alcohol).[Qur'an 2:219]
There is some disagreement among Muslims regarding seafood, especially predatory sea creatures. IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) states, regarding the opinion of Islamic scholars:[4]
All are in agreement that fish with scales are halal
Sunnis consider all fish to be halal, while some Shias consider some fish haraam.[5] Within mostly the Hanafi School of thought, there is a strong position that shellfish (shrimp, lobster, crab, clams, etc.) are prohibited[citation needed].
Most agree that frogs are haraam due to the prohibition of killing them in hadith.[citation needed] In fact it is common belief among Southeast Asian Muslims that animals who live on both land and sea (such as amphibians, some reptiles, and some species of bird) are off limits.[citation needed] source:wikipedia
#14 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:12 am
from http://www.prohijab.net/english/singapore-hijab-news.htm
“…the ban is aimed at promoting racial harmony. However, Sikhs have been allowed to continue wearing the turban, a religious obligation for them, without the same argument being used.”
Would that mean wearing head scarf is not a religious obligation? And just a preference? (Though this preference carries a religion symbol).
#15 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:16 am
YB Lim,
Replacing the Education Minister is an option but not the answer. In fact the culture existing in the Education Ministry is so entrenched that whoever replaces Hisham is not likely perform better. Many lttle Napoleons acted as if they are independent of the Education Ministry.
The answer is a strong showing this election.
#16 by Jimm on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:17 am
We all know that HTHO happens to ride on his father and uncle political influence to be where he is today.
He not a truly born leader and don’t really look like one after all.
His mission and vision normally wrapped around the current trend and what the market forces direction especially in UMNO.
With UMNO facing generations switch over, we all know that these puupies are very desperate to remove those old dogs whom decided to stay on to their seats a little bit longer.
Why ? Well, there are many ‘unsettled’ issue about the management of this country and Malay policies to own this country.
The entire national scandal which involved far too many people, royal members, investors and outsiders …. it’s actuall more than we all know ..
#17 by k1980 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:22 am
The next time you hear Dullah using the word ‘billion’, think about whether you want him squandering your tax money. A billion is a difficult number to comprehend, but consider that huge figure into the following perspectives:
A. A billion seconds ago it was 1959.
B. A billion minutes ago Jesus was alive.
C. A billion hours ago our ancestors were living in the Stone Age.
D. A billion days ago no-one walked on the earth on two feet.
#18 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:25 am
our children’s education and future, our culture, religion and human rights are at stake. let us all unite and stand up to fight for our rights. mca’s silence is deafening. pls let us all vote DAP and any opposition for a start. forget mca and mic.
#19 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:27 am
Wouldn’t a better option is to educate parents:
“To excersice certain level of sensitivity when bringing or eating non-halal food in school, to avoid uncomfortable feelings amongst the muslim”
A softer approach might be better.
this applies to songkok, head scarves, you can advise whatever wonderful reasons,in HM opinion, for doing so but this is merely an encouragement but NOT AN OBLIGATION.
At least you got the message across at the same time NOT worsen the general image of ISLAM as extremist, Terr*****.
#20 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:28 am
correction: ISLAM as extremist, Terr***** as propagated in some western media.
#21 by Rocky on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:33 am
Now we know another reason why non muslims are not willing to send they kids to SK if they have a choice. The other is of course the perceived lower quality cos the schools are focus on issues like above instead of worrying about quality of education.
we also know why muslims world over are falling behind unlike the hey day of muslims scientist cos some muslims are so small minded, insecure and are looking at small and superficial stuff and cherry picking issues that are insignificant.They are so focus on the extrior stuff to show holiness and relying on past glory to say they are great. any new progress in the muslim world?
truly sad, a great religion is made to look bad cos of a few over zealouts.
#22 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:37 am
dont try to accommodate or appease these little mullahs. they have been brainwashed and are beyond correction. why do you think they become suicide bombers? why do you think Said can go to the extent of killing his 2 lovely daughters? i say lets stand our ground before all our rights are slowly eroded by creeping islamisation.
#23 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:39 am
“They are so focus on the extrior stuff to show holiness and relying on past glory to say they are great. any new progress in the muslim world?” – Rocky
Yeah, Like many other religions, there must be many good inner values of ISLAM, e.g. tolerance, fairness etc., but so far those overzealous seems to be showing otherwise, and the best part of it UMNO,MCA etc.. all keep quiet. They, together, are actually doing more harm than good to ISLAM.
#24 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 am
“we also know why muslims world over are falling behind unlike the hey day of muslims scientist ” – rocky
so malaysia is desperate to correct this by having an angkasawan… more angkasawan to come…
#25 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:46 am
concur fully with rocky. nearly all the islamic countries are backward and on fire. they are living on past glory and greatness. now they are full of envy, jealousy and putting all the blame on the west and western culture. instead of taking a grip of themselves, they are moving more and more back into the dark ages, widening the rift between the islamic and the rest of the world, constantly blaming the west and asking the west to understand them when they themselves are to be blamed. instead of catching up, the rest of the world is expected to follow them. what stupidity. Rock on man.
#26 by Libra2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:51 am
Kit,
You you stretch your investigative net further, similar rules and regulations are in force in almost all schools. In school with non-Muslim principals (which are very few), the senior assistant will impose these rules and the non-Muslim head can’t so a damn thing about it.
This is all about forms without substance. How many of these principals squander school funds? Do you know how many pocket commissions from book shops and salesmen.
To them corruption is not sin but wearing shorts is.
#27 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:52 am
Undergrad & Chong Zhemin,
The attires of visitors, as far as I remember, only cover “proper dressing.†There was no instruction of “tutup aurat,†and if there is any, this is beyond the ministry directive. That directive was obvious as some parents came in with shorts that clearly show the underwear, low cuts, t-shirt showing mid-ribs, (I am not referring to the sari). The idea was that the school is a place where students are shown better example on dressings. Beside that, some of the dressings were obvious distractions.
These were good directives, but as we said, these “little Napoleons†twisted these directives and added religious and racial flavours. “Tutup aurat?†is clearly an imposition on others to understand and follow Islam interpretations. What is “aurat� It involves us, the non-Muslims, to go for their religious class.
In regard to food, there was no objection to students bringing their own food to school. This could be a new directive. Sandwiches, noodles, biscuits – these are normal food that students consumed. Of course we practice restrain not to bring “bak kut teh†into a school. This practice is observed in hotels, public places, not only in schools.
“Malaysian†you have a lengthy post on “halal.†Do you have any personal experience in this?
#28 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:52 am
k1980,
Interesting facts. I did some research online and I found this. Anyways, no offends. I’m not trying to get into an argument regarding this billion thing.
http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/trivia/billions.asp
We have to start out by noting that the definition of “billion” is not standardized. In some places and usages, a billion is a one followed by nine zeros, or one thousand million; in other cases, a billion is a one followed by twelve zeros, or one million million. In the U.S., the common usage of “billion” refers to a one followed by nine zeros (or 1,000,000,000), so that’s the standard we employ here.
* A billion seconds: One billion seconds is about 31.7 years, so going back in time a billion seconds would put us in 1972. (The discrepancy in the version cited above, which puts the year at 1959, might have come about because the example we collected was compiled or last updated in 1990.)
* A billion minutes: One billion minutes is approximately 1901 years, so travelling back to a time one billion minutes ago would land us in the year A.D. 102. This date is about seventy years too late to encompass the life of Jesus according to traditional accounts. (The discrepancy of several decades might be the result of someone’s faulty arithmetic or historical knowledge, or it could be an indication that this piece originated back in the 1930s.)
* A billion hours: One billion hours ago represents a time a bit over 114,000 years in the past, an era generally classified as the Lower Palaeolithic era, or the “Old Stone Age.”
* A billion days ago: Some versions of this piece include the line “A billion days ago no-one walked on the earth on two feet.” A billion days is approximately 2.74 million years; the era defined by that time period is generally estimated to be about when the first species of the genus Homo appeared in Africa, having diverged from the Australopithecines.
#29 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:53 am
Little Mullah Napoleons” Oppressive Pernicious Querulous Restrictive Strictures …
Okay guys – please continue the alphabet soup – LMNOPQRS …
#30 by optimuz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:55 am
What I hate most about all these little ‘rules’ that these monkeys come up with is that, it smacks of hypocrisy!!
The now often said quote ‘ we must be mindful of each others culture and sensitivities’ is only applicable in one way ‘ respect the muslims – period’.
Why then is non-halal banned but not beef – it is sensitive to Hindus and some Buddhists?
Why talk about clothing when it is the mind where the corrupt thinking begins?
They can say all they want about the virtues of the religion, impose all the laws under the sun, but go through the internet and see who represents the majority of couples caught with their ‘pants down’, so to speak…I’m not saying that the other races don’t indulge in it, but at least there is no ‘holier than thou’ emphasis…
I just cannot understand how much more ludicrous this is getting!
#31 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:05 am
The headscarf ban was introduced into schools in Singapore in 2002 as an attempt to avoid racial and religious tensions between its ethnic Chinese majority and the Malay Muslim minority, which constitutes around 15% of the populationâ€.
The banning of non-halal food in school premises could be viewed in the same light.
==============================================
Agree, Singapore PAP chinese government is racist and anti-islam.
Banning headscarf for muslim girls while allowing sikh boys to wear turbin is a bias policy against minority malays in Singapore. Lee Kuan Yew even banned karpal singh to be legal counsel for the Malay girl.
No non-halal food in Plus stopovers is also a sign of little mullah nepoleon epidemic in this country.
What the heck non-muslims have to be penalized for observing muslim halal food?
Some argue that not pork in Plus stopovers is to take care the sensitivity of muslim, but ironically beef is served regardless the sensitivity of hindu and buddhist.
This is just another showcase of unilateral religious sensitivity in Bolehland.
#32 by Abraham on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:09 am
Dear Uncle Kit,
May I suggest that you write an open letter to the Education Minister/Ministry highlighting these “Special rulings” imposed by the HMs of the relevant schools.
Let us all hear the response from the Minister/Ministry whether they allow these rulings.
#33 by disapointed86 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:15 am
#34 by disapointed86 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:16 am
Hisapmudin, resign if u cant even take care of your dogs..your dogs are going wild..feed it pls..stop promoting your keris..
#35 by g2geetoo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:20 am
Hisham is not spending enough time on the ground. He is being surrounded by Ministry officials by hoodwinking him that all’s well in the schools.
All’s not well, Hisham! Listen to the teachers and the students if you want information and listen to us PARENTS!
All the Ministry’s officials want is to survive in their position but they are many issues like students interaction not here. Students of their own race forming their own cliques. Too much emphasis of Islam in Sekolah Kebangsaan…thus making it unpleasant and scary for other students.
I support the sacking of Hishamuddin!
#36 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:26 am
Dear YB Lim Kiat Siang,
I wonder whether you are aware or not that the majority of these Little Mullah Osamas are actually PAS supporters. These people are actually anti-government, anti-BN, and anti-UMNO. If you have lived near mosques and madrasahs, you will know what I meant. The imams at the madrasahs will normally preach against the BN government or invite speakers from PAS. These people normally spread hatred among Muslims. They preach hatred towards kafirs, non-Muslims, Christians, Jews, and America. They have no other topic to talk except this. I wonder why don’t they teach about self development, how to love your neighbours more, how not to be racist, etc.
UMNO leaders are not doing anything to stop these extremists. I wonder why they dare not stop these Little Mullah Osamas even though they know that these people are causing disunity among Malaysians. I am afraid soon UMNO will be more like PAS.
I don’t think I have a future in Malaysia. I feel like taking citizenship in Singapore or migrate to USA. Probably those UMNO leaders who said “Kalau tidak suka boleh keluar” will be happy to hear this. Probably that is what they really want. No more non-Malays and non-Muslims in Malaysia. UMNO could rule Malaysia “peacefully” without any opposition to criticize them.
#37 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:29 am
Sorry for spelling mistake.
It should be Dear YB Lim KIT Siang.
Pardon me for confusing Kit with my friend’s name.
#38 by Libra2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:33 am
BoycottLocalPapers,
You are very wrong friend. I know for a fact that many of them are UMNO members.
I would say UMNO is worse than PAS. The difference is, UMNO’s is more cunning in its Islamization efforts.
#39 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:34 am
All these insensitivities against the non Malays and non Muslims are a result of the Islamisation policy initiated by TDM in the early eighties and continued until today.The Umno politicians blame the existence of vernacular schools as obstacles to racial unity.On the contrary,secondary schools and universities run by the racial and religious bigots have now become the hotbed of racial polarisation.
#40 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:56 am
Libra says: You are very wrong friend. I know for a fact that many of them are UMNO members.
My answer:
Having lived in many places near madrasahs and mosques throughout this country and mixing with Malays and heard thousands of sermons bombarded to my ears every night through loudspeaker, I know this for a fact too that Muslim clerics are normally PAS supporters.
Libra says:
I would say UMNO is worse than PAS. The difference is, UMNO’s is more cunning in its Islamization efforts.
This I totally agree. Probably. these Little Mullah Osamas have forsaken PAS and embrace UMNO because they know they could Islamize Malaysia better and faster.
Since the word MALAY in Malaysia is synonymous with MUSLIM, I am afraid that in the future being a MALAYsian means being a MUSLIMsian. If you are not a MUSLIM, then you don’t have the right to be a MALAYsian since the word Malay means Muslim. Probably it is already happening. That is why I am not entitled the same rights with Malay Muslimsians.
Soon “Malaysia Truly Asia” will be replaced with “Malaysia Truly Islamic.” Many thanks to Mahathir Mohd.
#41 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:25 am
If Hissamuddin have to resign because of Little Mullah Napolean, then Badawi has to go because of Big Mullah Napoleans that think nothing of outlawing words by ethnicity, robbing women of their children, property, and other civil rights thru no wrong of theirs, destroying temples and churches, arresting people-in-love because the Big Mulllah get horny in public, robbing a single mother of her income because she is naturally hot, etc. etc.
The problem is not a new Education Minister, the problem is a new governing party to replace the outdated and mediocre leadership in the entire system. But get Sdr’s Lim’s point, one thing at a time.
#42 by yajiv8_8 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:32 am
I wonder where we heading TO, looks like we are going backwards with Pak Lah’s Administration. What is that HALAL or not HALAL food to do with school and education. All we need just prayed for god grace for something to have it when we are hungry and continue the day man…..restricting the kids to watch what you eat may not suit others is nonsense…If you don’t like it, just don’t eat it, let the others have it..isn’t that a simple FORMULA for a HEADMASTER to understand !! or for a MINISTER to wonder this may cause some sensitivity issue.
Please wake up HISHAM !! the world is changing, so do the MALAYSIANs – BN better better or else give the administration to DAP, KeADILan or PAS, let them manage – sure they can bring some improvement.
#43 by Cinapek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:42 am
All the worms are coming out of the woodwork. When the conditions are right, the worms will emerge and the conditions now are ideal for all these LMN worms to show their true colours.
Why are conditions right? The Govt.’s banning of the use of the word “Allah” by non Muslims, the various Muslim convert controversies with the courts ruling in favour of the converts with the worrying verdicts asking non muslims to go to the shariah courts to seek redress etc.. All these has sent a strong signal to the LMNs that they will have institutional support for their racially and religiously inspired extremist actions.
The root cause is the Govt. Getting rid of Hishamuddin is but just getting rid of the itch. With the eunuch ridden MCA and the feet kissing MIC in self interest denial, this sickness will spread far and wide beyond the schools. In fact it has already happened. It will only get worse unless this Govt. gets a bloody nose in the coming GE.
#44 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:43 am
BoycottLocalPapers Says:
Today at 10: 26.44 (1 hour ago)
Dear YB Lim Kiat Siang,
I wonder whether you are aware or not that the majority of these Little Mullah Osamas are actually PAS supporters.
========
Ask yourself a silly question, how many PAS followers can be promoted to headmaster/mistress?
Anwar is the mastermind in early 80s to islamize all schools after Iran revolution. My secondary school is the first school in Johor to enforce headscraf regulation for all female muslims.
#45 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:50 am
This issue whether non-halal food could be brought into the school is not confined toe SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore.
I think many schools have such directives but not brought to the fore of public attention.
Just last year parents fumed over a letter dated July 14 by headmaster Zainal Abidin Senapi, of Sekolah Kebangsaan Seri Mega, a Kuala Lumpur primary school with 60% non-Muslim students, directing non-Muslim pupils not to bring non-halal food to school.
The fact is that these “Little Mullah Napoleons†(LMN) started the initiatives on their own.
The proper persons to pin down for a statement of stance and position will be the relevant director of the state education department or better still Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the Prime Minister.
They should be asked if Islam Hadari prohibits non muslim school students from bringing home cooked non halal food to eat.
#46 by Cinaputera on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:00 pm
Makanan tidak halal tidak dibenarkan. What is halal to LMN may not be halal to others. So ban the selling of beef which is not halal to hindu and some chinese as well. Just wonder when these assH**e serving their halal food have they themselve think of whether their food is halal to others. Please read raja petra’s article on this.
#47 by ngahc on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:03 pm
That is exactly the rootcause that national schools cannot be the school of choice.
Imposition of religious values and practices into national school at their own whims and fancies just frightened off many non-bumi parents. The demand for chinese primary school will be unabated for the forseeable future.
Being a school of choice means school authority must respect for all races, religions, and has high quality education standard.
#48 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:10 pm
Some say we should leave this land -our beloved birthplace.But why should we?We should stand firm and united to fight the colossal task of reversing the extreme racial and religious policies imposed upon us.Never mind the still very dumb and mute political eunuchs from MCA,Gerakan and MIC.These self serving idiots are just marking time now before they escape to other countries to enjoy the loot stolen from here.
#49 by Toyol on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:11 pm
No wonder our education system is in shambles. With these ‘orang kuno’ running our schools, what can we expect?
Children, although they have limited awareness of the socio political system in the country, over the years, what they have learnt in school will determine how they grow up invariably. As such, these so called ‘desensitising’ will eventually lead to people being racists and the problem will continue. The tolerance MUST be 2-way, i.e. non Muslims must have the same rights as Muslims…only then can we remove the ‘fence’ that separates us.
#50 by grace on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:38 pm
Does Ong Ka Tomg pr Chong Kon Choy have an email address? Let us all the complaints to him to see whether they will act. If they don’t, kindly tell them that MCA does not represent the Chinese community already!!