Time for new Education Minister if Hishammuddin cannot free national schools from the clutches of Little Mullah Napoleons (LMN)

A parent of a student in SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore has emailed his complaint of a new school ruling by the head master and discipline teacher banning the bringing of non-halal food to school.

This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:

“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.”

This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:

“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan tidak halal.”

In his email, the parent was upset about one categorization of “serious offences” in breach of school discipline, viz. Item No. 28 which states “Menganjurkan atau membabitkan dalam acara kebudayaan tanpa kebenaran pihak sekolah, PPD, JPNJ dan Kementerian Pendidkan Malaysia”, causing him to ask: “I don’t understand why cultural activities outside of school is their concern. Soon going to church or celebrating Deepavali will need the same approval, or for that matter CNY.”

The School Regulation also prescribes the dress code for visitors to the school, viz:

“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.”

Malaysiakini columnist Helen Ang has coined the term “Little Mullah Napoleons” (LMN) to describe the little bureaucrats who are taking upon themselves to micro-manage how Malaysians dress – and this dress regulation for visitors to SMK Taman Selesa Jaya Skudai, Johor qualify its headmaster Haji Masdar bin Abu and discipline teacher Haris bin Ismail to join the rolls of Helen Ang’s LMNs.

In his last year as Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was quite outspoken in expressing his concern at the failure of national schools as instruments of nation-building and national unity.

He openly admitted that there had been two hijackings of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia, alienating non-Muslims as in denying the right of the Chinese and Indians to learn their own languages and introducing Islamic practices in the school system which “puts off the non-Malays”, with boys forbidden from wearing shorts, even for playing games, and “even games are discouraged”, when “before, we had no problems with girls wearing skirts and boys wearing shorts, especially for games”.

When Abdullah became Prime Minister, he pledged to carry out Mahathir’s “unfinished business” to end such extremism and intolerance by the school bureaucrats so that the national schools will become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race. In fact, this became one of the pledges of the Barisan Nasional general election manifesto in 2004.

Four years have passed and there is an even longer catalogue of instances of hijacking of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia with the rise of more LMNs as principals and discipline masters, as highlighted by the recent spate of school incidents whether over the compulsory wear of songkok for school prefects in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (formerly English College) Johore Baru (since withdrawn) , the sheaf of insensitivities of the SMK BUD4 Principlal or this latest incident.

It is time to have a new Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein is such a dismal failure to honour the Barisan Nasional election pledge to liberate the national education system from the clutches of LMNs to ensure that the national schools become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race or religion.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:32 pm

bystander Says:

Today at 23: 13.47 (12 minutes ago)
    stand to be corrected. the latest according to my daughter, the religious bigot/principal of BU4 has reverse all her previous decisions ie back to status quo as before, thanks to the pressure exerted by the parents, exposure by YB LKS, the chinese press and all the comments/support made by all here. but no thanks to the timid MCA and gerakan members with their tails between their legs. hooray stand united.

=====================

That is a great news..I thought a demo may be needed to change her decision.

And also don’t mistaken such unjust policies will not happen on Malays or other races in this planet.

2. #2 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:53 pm

it seems someone is backing down…from the show i have seen here…using someone else a puppet…to support it’s claim but yet refusing to admit oneself..i have a good laugh today…a bigot will always be a bigot…loudmouth but a weak heart…that’s not the way to rule??is it??

3. #3 by U32 on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:05 am

This is not something new. The government is giving silent consent to Islamic pengetuas and pengajars to enforce Islamic practises in the educational institutions. If the refrigerator is marked Hak Milik Kerajaan, everyone will automatically knows that no non halal things should be put inside. We have come to a stage whereby each time there is some form of interaction with the government, somehow we become so extra sensitive to their Islamic beliefs because we do not want to make them sin. It must be halal. It must cover the aurat. There has to be a room for prayers if there is no surau or mosque nearby. There must be prayers before any function that is not even Islamic. Will Hishamuddin transfer these Islamic Napoleans ? No he will not. The government will not too. They are using these Islamic public servants to do their bidding and they have every intention of letting the whole world knows that Malaysia is very Islamic. Even non Islamic pengetuas are following the trend because by being obedient, they are proving themselves to be faithful servants of the government / bosses and they can be sure of great blessings from men. If the government truely wishes to follow professional working ethics, it should make sure that religion is kept separated. In fact religion is something that happens in the heart. It is no point going around looking holier than thou and yet doing more evil than thou. We can fool men. We cannot fool the big guy up there. Since the time of Mohammad, Islam is actually political because he did go to wars. Very recently, it was found out that the Muslim uprising in Southern Thailand is funded by international Islamic terrorist group. The religion teaches about jihad. In Malaysia, the Muslims try to give a nicer meaning to this word so that it is more acceptable. However people who know the word will know its’ actual meaning. May be the government’s logo should also consist of the halal logo. In this way, both the Muslims and non Muslims will try to be good Muslims. Whatever that means or does not mean.

4. #4 by necromancer4good on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:18 am

Why nobody interviews Hishamuddin about this issue and thus put him in the tight spot? Then we shall know what a racist scum he is..

5. #5 by frusmalaysian on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:45 am

malaysia.com said:

a. If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

b. The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

In the 60s, the Chinese and other races made up over 30% of the technical units, the combat support units, the Rangers infantry units and the Recce of our Army.

Their numbers started to dwindle in the 70s and continues to slide until now. I believe they now make up barely 1% of the total strength of the AF. Why? Its because of the government discriminitory polices against them on promotions, courses, recruitment etc. Do not believe the MOD when he says there is no discrimination and quota applied against the Chinese.

If this is the reality, why would the Chinese want to join the AF?
    Do not also believe that the Chinese do not want to join because: they believe that good sons do not join the army.

6. #6 by hyperventilating on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:24 am

Thanks to YB Lim KS, DAP,bloggers, Papers, and all thoses who took their time to comment on the SMK BUD4 issue, and REMEMBER those suckers who are too useless to even lift a finger…MCA, the relevant MP’s…F..k them in the coming elections. They cannot be trusted.

For the SMK BUD4 PIBG, make sure this bigot will not slowly and surely try to sneak in her stupid idealogy into the school regulations in the future. Be alert! Dont let this bigot go just like that after causing such a big turmoils, though not publicaly, at least a letter detailing her decisions in withdrawing the bans, Document the truth…at least next time she used it again…we can sent the letter straight to the papers!!!! Accumulate the bullets now!

I felt the need to relate to u guys this. I and my fellow residents were involved in a protest for TNB building a power station (the one opposite the Kelana LRT station)only 6m from our houses some years back..you know what…right on the same block of house lives a MCA lady (now datin paduka…who recently had a freak accident and recovered….she did not even lift a finger too! typical of all those MCA …”the defectors of all chinese”…she quietly sold her house and moved out! We also sort help from the MP of the area then, another MCA guy…at press conference…and to the resident disgust..he said, quote and unquote; ” as an engineer myself…the pylons are infact quiet a feat in engineering!…what happen next…he lose his position in the next election! From that day onwards…I never trusted them.

Make sure who u vote for! I would rather vote for any oppositions party instead of BN. Shame on them..Bodoh Nuthead (BN)

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:30 am

“Headscarf is not in as headscarf is not associated with religion, more with culture with Arab culture in particular.” AhPek

That would appear to be a misperception about the ‘hijab’ today.

The practice of hijab among Muslim women is grounded in religious doctrine. Support for veiling is found in the hadith of Sahih Bukhari but the Koran does not require it.

http://www.answers.com/topic/hijab

It is true that veiling as a social practice predates Islam. But the meaning of the ‘hijab’ has changed – both for Muslims and non-Muslims. Many young Muslim women throughout the Islamic world adopt the ‘hijab’ to make a political as much as a religious statement of identity and ideological commitment.

In Iran the moral police would detain girls and women without the ‘hijab’ and Iranians are not Arabs. Islamic religious doctrine dictates how much hair should be revealed in public. The ‘hijab’ is made obligatory after the Iranian Revolution of the 70s. Turkey though predominantly Muslim has adopted a secular constitution.

8. #8 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 7:44 am

If religious attire is not allowed in a secular school, just apply same ruling on both malay and sikh. – malaysiatoday

The term hijab or veil is not used in the Qur’an to refer to an article of clothing for women or men, rather it refers to a spatial curtain that divides or provides privacy. The Qur’an instructs the male believers (Muslims) to talk to wives of Muhammad behind a hijab. This hijab was the responsibility of the men and not the wives of Muhammad. However, in later Muslim societies this instruction specific to the wives of Muhammad was generalized, leading to the segregation of the Muslim men and women. The modesty in Qur’an concerns both men’s and women’s gaze, gait, garments, and genitalia. The clothing for women involves khum?r over the necklines and jilbab (cloaks) in public so that they may be identified and not harmed. Guidelines for covering of the entire body except for the hands, the feet, and the face, are found in texts of fiqh and hadith that are developed later.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hijab

Sikh males wear the turban (which is not mandatory, it is not mentioned in their holy book, only that they keep long hair) to keep their hair neat and protect it. Otherwise they would be walking around like hippies.
    One cannot therefore equate it it to Islamic requirements, which in fact call for complete cover for the female above the neckline, hence the burqa. That is what UMNO should do -i.e. all muslim females should wear burqa instead of the half-way tudung.

9. #9 by dranony on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 8:57 am

Even amongst Muslims, there is dispute as to the “halal” status of some foods that we all believe to be halal.

See this page:
    “Halal ke tak ni?”:
    http://tinyurl.com/2p8p2l

Amongst some of the writer’s contentions which raises doubts as to the “halal” status of KFC chickens are that:
    - the men slaugterers did not perform their ‘solat subuh’ (morning prayers)
    - the chickens may have fallen into hot water before they are completely dead.
    - the chickens are “tortured” because their wings and legs are tied.
    - chickens slaughtered by women.
    - slaughtering of chickens done “too fast” ie not enough time to complete the prayer/recitation.
    - possibility that the chickens may have died of cold or suffocation.
    The writer ends by implying that those Muslims who eat the non-halal KFC may end up “in the fires of hell.”

Does this mean that even KFC is not halal enough to be brought to school?

Disclaimer: I must declare that I am only quoting what I had read in that webpage, for the sake of asking a question, and that I am in no way able to verify the veracity of the allegations on that webpage. If there is any implication of defamation, then responsibility should lie with the author of that webpage.

10. #10 by cancan on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 10:26 am

Little Napoleons – Mother of all idiots.
    Government – Advocates of all the idiots.

As usual,there is no rule of law in bolehland.

11. #11 by Colonel on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:12 am

“Disclaimer: I must declare that I am only quoting what I had read…”dranony

Don’t worry, you’re not Oprah.

12. #12 by muscaa on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:26 am

the real napoleons – samy vellu

see samy vellu in ‘gila’ comment:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3atg7bGgc7k

13. #13 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:27 am

frusmalaysian Says:

Today at 00: 45.31 (10 hours ago)
    malaysia.com said:

a. If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

b. The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

In the 60s, the Chinese and other races made up over 30% of the technical units, the combat support units, the Rangers infantry units and the Recce of our Army.

Their numbers started to dwindle in the 70s and continues to slide until now. I believe they now make up barely 1% of the total strength of the AF. Why? Its because of the government discriminitory polices against them on promotions, courses, recruitment etc. Do not believe the MOD when he says there is no discrimination and quota applied against the Chinese.

If this is the reality, why would the Chinese want to join the AF?
    Do not also believe that the Chinese do not want to join because: they believe that good sons do not join the army.

====

Are you in the forces to have first-hand experience b4 talking like another ah pek?

Only two Chinese, me and another one in a cadet official (for tertiary students) recruitment exercise. Other Chinese students only interested to dream of big money earning prospect after finishing their courses.

Not every one can be promoted to higher postion eithe in private or public sector.

I have two chinese friends joined Navy about same time, one was promoted to a commanding officer in Butterworht Navy base while another one is just commading officer for a small ship.

Would you call it as discrimination against the latter one? PR skill makes them apart, one is good PR while another one is suck.

MOD is more happy to see 10-15% chinese in the army compared with current pathetic percentage. 10-15% will not affecting the balance in the armed forces.

I do not deny MOD would never allow non-bumi to be a dominant element in the Malaysia armed forces. This is also true for Singapore which would never allow Malay controls their armed forces.

14. #14 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:40 am

Tickler Says

===

Karpal Singh shall be more qualified than webpage quoted by you to say turban is religous or cultural related stuff.

What Karpal said in public is turban is religious obligation for Sikhs.

You can go ask Malaysians about their perception on wearing tudung is closely related to religion or culture. Most likely the majority will say tudung is related to religious requirement.

FYI, tudong is never associated with Islam in Indonesia.

15. #15 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:03 pm

malaysiatoday you go and ask Karpal. Then come back and talk.

16. #16 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:04 pm

FYI, tudong is never associated with Islam in Indonesia.- Things are changing in indonesia also.

17. #17 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:11 pm

In the much touted Turkey `secular` state:

Islam tells women to cover heads, says head of religious affairs office
    Friday, January 18, 2008

Islam undoubtedly requires women to cover their heads, Turkey’s head of religious affairs said yesterday in a statement that coincides with the current discussions on lifting the headscarf ban in universities.

“As long as a woman says ‘I am a Muslim,’ she should cover her head,” Professor Ali Bardako?lu, president of the Religious Affairs Directorate, said in an interview with the private NTV channel.

“Discussions on the necessity of wearing headscarves or head coverings are of a legal and political nature. In religious terms, there is no doubt that they should,” he said, adding that Islamic rules, dating back centuries, are unalterable.

“Politicians may forbid or allow the wearing of headscarves,” Bardako?lu said. “It is not my duty to tell them what to do,” he added. “Whether Muslim women abide by the rule is up to their will,” Bardako?lu said, noting that the headscarf dispute can be solved with dialogue between political parties.
    http://www.turkishdailynews.com.tr/article.php?enewsid=94003

18. #18 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:21 pm

Jakarta (AsiaNews) – Women soldiers wearing headscarves could soon be commonplace in Indonesia, where a fierce debate is raging over the influence of Islamic parties on the social life the country. Especially there is concern over the rise of Islamic fundamentalism in the army, hitherto considered the guarantor of the state’s secular nature.

Indonesia’s military have been seen by the population as the main bastion of the country’s political institutions, free from all sectarian tendencies and the pillar of its multi-ethnic nature.

However, the findings of a report released in 1995 indicated that some generals where “ideologically close” to some Islamic fundamentalist groups. Ever since the issue of the islamisation of the armed forces has remained at the top of the public agenda.

The idea proposed by some Islamic media outlets to allow women soldiers to wear the Jilbab, a headscarf, has found unconditional support among some politicians. According to Hidayat Nurwahid, speaker of the People’s Consultative Assembly, “if wearing the jilbab does not interfere in one’s military work, it should not be banned. Moreover, the law says nothing on the matter; therefore, it is an open field.”
    http://www.asianews.it/index.php?l=en&art=11033&size=A

19. #19 by bystander on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:32 pm

ataturk is turning in his grave with erdogan in power. secularism in turkey is being dismantled resulting in turkey not admitted to europe

20. #20 by antz on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 1:32 pm

malaysia today.com
    As i wrote earlier you want the true statistic,pls e-mail to their respective ministry of defence.The minister in charge,under their government webpage..stated next to the minister in charge their respective e-mail address including minister Lee Kuan Yew.
    Do not try to state figures and numbers that is totally vague,nobody will believe you.Besides I worked long enough in S’pore to know what’s happening down there,cos I have a Malay friend whose uncle is a retired army officer.
    It’s better to have Malay friends across the causeway rather than our own Malay friends here who keep denying facts and figures..now I know after reading through your stated comments…your true identity.What a pity!

21. #21 by frusmalaysian on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:05 pm

malaysia.com

What if a person tells us that he had had rich experience in a particular field and knows what he is talking about, would’nt we blush? Peace.

22. #22 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 3:58 pm

Cubalah Ketam ajar ank dia jalan betul.

23. #23 by antz on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 4:34 pm

in the first place..why are we bothered?Just take a look at ourselves,our own house is in a mess and here there is someone trying to clean someone else house.what are we doing?
    In a blog,trying to have a kinda jostling show..

24. #24 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 5:52 pm

The external affects the internal.

25. #25 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:45 pm

I feel our future is bleak if Hishamuddin is to gradually become PM.
    I’m afraid we will fall into the Suharto-era Indonesia.

26. #26 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:51 pm

I have heard several personal opinions from many S’pore Malays. They do not look highly on any Malaysian political leaders or their policies.

Soooo many Johorean Chinese parents are sending their children to study in S’pore schools. Why? If cannot get a place in Chinese school here – better to study there – brighter future. No Islamisation.

You’ll just love S’pore schools. Totally open-minded. Shorts for PE, no doa, no headscraves, lion-dances & cultural clubs are OK. There are even several schools where the girl’s uniform is a sleeveless gown. The skirts are also sooo much shorter – even for Malay girls. Many teachers also wear sleeveless tops/dresses to school. It’s OK. If any of our Malaysian LMN sees that – they’ll faint!!!

27. #27 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:57 pm

In 1994, I studied in SM Teknik, JB – a premier school. Approx 15-20% of the students are Chinese. 30% teachers are non-Malays. Although the rules are fanatically tight like not even shorts, girls must wear long-sleeve T-shirts to PE. No wonder sports never flourish there.

But the Pengetua is very open-minded at that time & look only into secular disciplinary matters. Cultural events florish at that time.

10 years after, come 2004 – I met a student who says that there is only 1 (one), a single Chinese student in the whole of SMTJB!!!

Clearly, the non-Muslims/Malays are abondoning these ‘premier’ schools.

28. #28 by kwkean on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 7:51 pm

Congratulation on solving the SMK BUD4 issue. Thanks to all those who participated in that issue to silence down the racist HM. Please keep on monitoring her as we will never know when she will ‘mengamuk’ again after election period is over.

As for the non-halal food issue, this is not a new issue as it was normal during my schooling days in the 90s. If our parents were strong enough to voice their complaint at that time, my schooling days will be more meaningful. Please don’t not keep quiet, as a victim I know the damage it can do to you when you grow up later on.

I still remember how a Penolong Pengetua, THREATEN me and my classmate for NOT donating to built the school ‘dewan’. At that time, only my class alone is boycotting this event. For more then 15 years, the school had try to collect money to built a hall yet most of us wonder, why we need more then 15 years of effort to built a school hall? Is there something wrong? Hence, we decide not to donate since it was a donation, NOT a compulsory payment.

Yet one day, the Penolong Pengetua came to my class, threaten us and said “If you DO NOT DONATE (RM 10 at that time), the school will NOT allow you to take your SPM exam!” Yeah, those are the exact words coming out of a Penolong Pengetua’s mouth. However the shocking part is, no one file a complaint about it, not even my parents and we are force to ‘donate’ in the end. From that day onwards, that event change my perspective about donation and I hardly made any donation again after I enter working life.

Well, it happen in my secondary school, SMK Taman SEA, the school near Taman Bahagia LRT Station. After I left, the hall pop up suddenly out of no where after a new HM took over from the previous one. I wonder how much money those jerks took from our 15 years of donation effort.

29. #29 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 9:19 pm

No point overdoing things. Why so much emphasis on Islam when Malaysia is a multi-racial nation? So as it is AAB has declared Malaysia as an Islamic state, what does that prove? As I have written in my previous blogs, if at all Malaysia is an Islamic state, then what are non-Muslim political parties doing in BN? Shouldn’t the government be made up of only Muslims? Are these people from non-Muslim political parties halal? And what is PAS doing as an opposition party? What is PAS opposing to? Opposing Islam? Truly a contradiction to AAB declaration.

In admitting Malaysia to be an Islamic state, AAB should immediately:

1. Kick out all non-Muslim political parties including MCA, MIC, PPP, etc. so as to reflect its Islamic status.

2. Invite PAS to join the government as it is a truly Islamic based political party and share the rule of this nation.