My blog on the complaint by a parent against the school principal of SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara for her lack of understanding and respect for the sensitivities and rights of diverse races, religions, languages and cultures in plural Malaysia has provoked quite a firestorm of response.
There have been over 200 comments in the three threads on the subject since yesterday:
(1) BU4 Damansara – another case of “Napoleon” and school principal insensitivity – 72 comments
(2) Hishammuddin sets worst example for sensitivities in plural Malaysia – 76 comments
(3) More about SMK BUD4 (3) – 58 comments
The complaints of the parent against the school principal, which had been endorsed by many commentators, were her decisions in imposing in a school with 85% Chinese and 10% Muslim students “bacaan doa” during assembly, banning the cheerleading team, no more wearing of shorts for PE and her directive that for CNY, the school can have a lion dance performance but without the drum.
In the comments, there have been more criticisms of the school principal’s insensitive and “Little Napoleonic” ways which are best summed up in the following email from an alma mater of the school:
“I am writing this e-mail to you regarding your latest post on my former school, SMK BUD4. What the parent has wrote to you is indeed correct. Although I have left BU4 for good but I still do communicate with my friends and teachers of that school. In fact I still do visit it quite frequently.
“After hearing about these issues about the new principal I felt that I should play my part as a former student of this school as well. I have a few additional information I would like to share with you. As Valentine’s Day is drawing near, the Scout Troop of SMKBU4 proposed to sell cookies for that occasion to gather some funds for our activities and charity. But to their dismay the Principal rejected the proposal immediately by the reason that she is a Muslim and does not celebrate Valentine’s Day. As far as I know, Malaysia is a multiracial country. The government is trying to promote multiracial values but their civil servant are going against that.
“Besides that, our school hold a Talent Night Event for students to show off their capability and talent every year. The new principal has also said that she does not want the event to be held this year. She told a teacher that if we wanted to attend a contest we can go to the US or other Western Countries. After hearing this I felt that this principal has a real narrow mind. I feel sad for her honestly.
“I still remember an incident that happened last year during our school’s PIBG’s AGM. As the YDP PIBG stood up to present his speech in English, a Muslim parent stood up as well but for another reason. He requeste”d our YDP to speak in Bahasa Melayu as this is Malaysia. I still remember him saying that the British times are over, every Malaysian should know how to speak in BM. The parent and a few others insisted on their stand therefore we had no choice but to ask a teacher to interprete the text to BM. Well my question is this. Did anyone or any rule stats that English is not allowed to be used in Malaysia? Even our government are encouraging the citizens to use english. The Education Ministry introduced Maths and Science in English.”
I am offering this blog to the school principal concerned the space and opportunity to reply to the many valid and legitimate criticisms which have been leveled against her for her lack of sensitivity and failure to set a role model as head of a school in plural Malaysia.
The Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and/or Deputy Education Ministers, Education Ministry big-wigs are also welcome to this blog to clear the air.
Unless the principal could deny or explain satisfactorily in a substantive manner the various criticisms directed at her, she should be removed unless she is prepared to mend her ways, rescind her insensitive decisions and realize her responsibilities as head of a school in a multi-racial, multi-religious and multi-cultural Malaysia.

#1 by Malaysian on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 4:51 pm
To helpless:
I cannot find The Federal Association of Arc & Research of Michigan, USA from web, i doubt the existence of such association (hence the artile contents).
I also remember reading somewhere there are some inaccuracies pointed out by the article.
However, on surface, when you look at Hang Jebat, Hang Tuah, Hang Lekir. They all have Hang as surname making one wonders if they are indeed Malay?
#2 by shiver on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 4:53 pm
again as i said, please stop reading NST and Star and using them to quote anything lah. please lah. i have already stopped believing anything on those junk papers on their nation and national reports.
i used to read the star everyday for an hour, now i dont even buy the paper and in fact, when i go on star online, i dont even bother to read more than 3-4 headlines and it really turned me off.
read alternative news for crying out loud, you have an internet connection and you are still telling me of news from mainstream media?
go read aisehman, what a lulu, rocky’s bru, zorro-unmasked, tony pua, e-contrario, jelas.info, penarik beca, sang kelembai, screenshots, must stop this, infernal ramblings, ktemoc konsiders, elizabeth wong, bersih.org, sassy mp, kickdefella …
there are so many real truths out there. do your own research and compare, i hate it when someone tells me of a quote in the mainstream and expects me to believe it. we are not fools anymore.
although they maybe still 2-3million eligible voters out there who doesnt know all these thinsg yet!
come on guys, work together for the good of Malaysia!
#3 by Malaysian on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 4:54 pm
A feedback from businessman,
He does not face much problems doing business in PAS controlled state. (at least not that kind of hurdles that they usually need to face under BN controlled state).
#4 by funkyc on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 4:56 pm
this is not only happening in one school.
#5 by Tickler on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 4:57 pm
look, dont just read from nst and take it as there, PAS islamic.- shiver
Come come sir. That is about a case filed in court. That I don`t think is something NST would lie about, they would get sued. It is all over in other blogs, and if you really want I`ll go look for the links.
UMNO is very different in those `good olde days`. PAS pressure made it what it is today. Has PAS condemned those UMNO actions which you have taken the trouble to list out? Show me where?
I`m reminded of the Merchant Of Venice:
“All that glisters is not gold;
Often have you heard that told.
Many a man his life hath sold
But my outside to behold.
Gilded tombs do worms enfold.”
#6 by Malaysian on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:02 pm
“although they maybe still 2-3million eligible voters out there who doesnt know all these thinsg yet! come on guys, work together for the good of Malaysia.”
One way of having better way to share info is copy the whole article you read (Malaysiakini etc) into PDF file, then email to as many friends as you can. There are freewares to convert anything you paste to word and export as PDF file.
* If you put internet link, not everyone will open, as sometimes they dare not open for fear of virus.
#7 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:08 pm
Scorpian6666:
I do hope that your handle is a deliberate mistake. The actual English word is scorpion.
To answer your question, I will say that there are many ways of dispensing justice. Different people believe in different ways, and it doesn’t mean that there is a “right” way for all. However, there are ways that are wrong e.g. taking the law into your own hands or going amok.
Sicilians dispense justice swiftly and with some compassion. They don’t call each other names or belittle each other’s beliefs.
#8 by shiver on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:19 pm
tickler,
the location was gua musang, can you see who is the MP for gua musang? the land office was under the control of Gua Musang land office.
although it may not clear your doubts, i can tell you that the church was rebuilt by PAS.
by the way, if you feel very comfortable voting against PAS, i would say then go ahead, this is true democracy, i dont have to explain till cows come home or pigs start flying.
by the way, i am a non muslim chinese from the klang valley.
Dear malaysian, even on pdf forms, people will not bother because now still can makan sikit, still can survive. the day comes when they realized that they are screwed and there is no where to go then they will start reading all this.
out of 10 msians, 3 will vote opposition, 4 will vote BN (either staunch or blur) and 3 will could not care less.
those 3 that could not care less is the major decision makers. We need to reach out to those. i have been emailing all my contacts for one year and i see a change in their response.
come on guys, work it out, everyone do a share and dont let discouragement affect you.
we are all in this together.
#9 by smeagroo on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:20 pm
I think we hv gone overboard with our commnets that lump the whole group of malays into this one person’s sin of being an extremist in a school.
This is what they want us to do. To incite hatred and then when we retaliate en-mass the malays will feel we hv belittled them.
Dont fall for this trap again. I dont see why there is a sudden surge of such extremisms if not becos orders were gvn from the top to do so.
Be wary of the secret weapons by those in power to hold on to power even if it means to betray their own people.
#10 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:24 pm
Bacaan doa†during assembly, banning the cheerleading team, stopping the Talent Night Event, no more wearing of shorts for PE and for CNY, lion dance performance without the drum ? Unless the principal of SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara shows that she was otherwise directed by the State Education Department or Ministry of Education, she should be asked to show cause why she should not be removed for unilaterally running the school like some madrasa, agama or religious school. Her attitude is wrong : why reject activities and charity on Valentine’s Day because she is a Muslim and does not celebrate Valentine’s Day? The activities are for the students, the majority of whom are not muslims. The school is for them students or for her? Sigh – this kind of mentality. She’s a very bad role model for pluralistic Malaysia.
On the issue of whether YDP PIBG could present his speech in English instead of national language of Bahasa Melayu, the issue is more complicated but try to look at it this way.
YDP PIBG did it because maybe he felt that it was more expedient to speak in English familiar or widely spoken to the parents present there.
Or maybe he felt he was more fluent in English than Bahasa. To use English does not mean one is denigrating the importance of the National Language (Bahasa) – where does one get this idea otherwise? Is it an offence to be more fluent in English than Bahasa and to resort to the former where it serves communication best having regard to the audience addressed?
I don’t think it is an offence.
However if there were a directive from Ministry/State Education Dept that PIBG must be conducted in national language, then if YDP is a principal or teacher under the STATE’S PAYROLL (which most time I would imagine the YDP PIBG being a most likely parent, is not ), is to contravene the directive.
But was there a directive? I would think that the fact that YDP PIBG prepared his speech in English shows that there was no directive to the school that he must present it in National Language….Otherwise he would have presented it in Bahasa or if not conversant get someone else conversant to present for him or just read the speech out in Malay.
Assuming the question of Ministry’s directive in this regard does not arise to complicate the issue what would be the ultimate legal position?
I am no expert or lawyer on this but would imagine it is affected not so much by article 152(1) of Federal Constitution posted by Chong Zhemin but more by our National Language Act which basically says that the national language shall be used for official purposes.
But what is official purposes ?
“Official purpose†is, according to article 152(6) of our Constitution – “any purpose of the Government, whether Federal or State, and includes any purpose of a public authorityâ€.
Starting with a school like SMK BUD4 – is it a public authority? As it’s not Government, whether Federal or State, it revolves around the question whether that school is a “public authority†as defined so that PIBG being annual meet of parents with the school could also become an “official purpose” of a “public authority” caught under National Language Act that the National language has to be used?
What is a public authority?
According to constitutional definition “Public authority” means “the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the Ruler or Yang di-Pertuan Negeri of a State, the Federal Government, the Government of a State, a local authority, a statutory authority exercising powers vested in it by federal or State law, any court or tribunal other than the Supreme Court and High Courts, or any officer or authority appointed by or acting on behalf of any of those person, courts, tribunals or authoritiesâ€.
There are some who would argue that a school is a public or local authority. They say that is because it is established by from state funds and by govt (Ministry of Education). They say it is unlike private colleges established from private funds or whatever….
I may be wrong but we have to ask whether if something like a school that is established by a public authority like Ministry of Education, does it make the school automatically itself a public authority?
The Ministry of Health also established General Hospital (“GHâ€) but is GH is a public or local authority in the ordinary grammatical sense of the word?
I am inclined to think not so, and therefore National language Act arguably ought not to catch an AGM of PIBG as official purposes of government or public or local authority for National Language to be mandatorily used.
And the YDP chairing the PIBG – he is likely a parent, isn’t he/she ?
So not being the principal or teacher, the parent cannot be described as “any officer or authority appointed by or acting on behalf of any of those person (meaning the government or public authority eg Ministry of Education, so the National language Act apply to him/her?
You can say he is a useless Malaysian, not conversant in the national language but that’s just an opinion, whether a person is a good and patriotic Malaysian surely cannot be judged by his fluency in national language as the Malay nationalists/Dewan Bahasa people would try to judge, at this time that the government itself is trying re-promote English for our people to meet the requirements of Globalised world.
Sometimes he may be conversant with Bahasa but adjudge the situtation to be better conducted in English based on audience feedback in English – Does that make him disrespectful of National Language? I should think not. He has not committed any offence either in using English. So whats the fuss?
#11 by Tickler on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:25 pm
Haris Ibrahim says the same here:
Was a plan being hatched and, if so, what and how?
http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/01/17/was-a-plan-being-hatched-and-if-so-what-and-how-1/#comments
#12 by k1980 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:26 pm
“But you must remember the word amok comes from this country and there is a limit to everything.â€
May I remind you that the word “Bhutto” comes from Pakistan and see what happens to that family
#13 by xxx on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:45 pm
NEW HOT ISSUE. Insider’s story: the school’s pn pengetua made a huge mistake. it just shows how racist she is. she went up to the school’s main canteen operator which is a chinese and said:” awak adalah orang cina dan saya adalah orang islam. saya tidak boleh makan makanan kamu. awak mesti keluar.” WAKE UP!! we do not sell ANY pork, served chinese food AS WELL AS malay food (nasi lemak prepared by malay hired by the operator). what is wrong with that?? she’s going to make people lose their job and give their jobs to malay’s? even if students who arent racist, after hearing all this stories, they’ll get influence and conflict will surely start. if she stays, does that mean during bulan puasa she’s going to clost the canteen operation for the malay’s sake? she can if she wants and what will happen to the chinese students?
#14 by Phat-kor on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:46 pm
To live in this country, one would need one pre-requisite – long life, to be able to live and survive through the tonnnesssssss of issues that crop up by the second.
I wonder which school the principal came from prior to this and what has happened to that school!!! Obviously she is very daring to be doing all these knowing that such policies of hers would escalate into national issues. Or is she trying to challenge the non-muslims. Whatever her reasons are and how she thinks, I really hope she will still be able to live the rest of her life with clear conscience.
As for us, I wish for long life, a very longggggg life,,,,,,
#15 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:47 pm
Why did the govt appoint a malay head Mistress when the majority of the students are non-malays?Cant the govt send her to a malay school where she can baca her doa to malay students?This kampong malay headmistress is trying to impose her islamic agenda to a non malay school students.We hear so often about school masters and headmistress trying to outdo each other by introducing islamic uniform and religious prayers in national schools.no wonder most non malays are opting for vernacular schools.
#16 by xxx on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:48 pm
suggestion: bacaan doa during assemly is not wrong. BUT she could have did it in another way which is to let us pray in silent. at least that way, not only the malay students can pray but ALL students can pray in their own religion? please!! be considerate!
#17 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:48 pm
But even if I were wrong, even if there’s some court decision that says that a school established from government funds is a public authority, so what when the National Language Act also provides all kinds of exceptions for even the Federal Government or the Government of any State to use any other language ( eg English )for such purposes as may be deemed necessary in the public interest. Nothing in the ACT says its an offence for govt officers to use English or any proceedings if conducted by them in English, is invalid. So what’s the big deal about AGM proceedings of PIBG???
#18 by optimuz on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:58 pm
It doesn’t mean that if the majority of the students are of a particular race, that the headmistress/teachers have to be the same…
As long as the person in question has the right focus, education and character developing, of the students, then it matters not what race they come from..
Sadly, most of them aren’t…but all the same, we should move away from stereotyping….
#19 by necromancer4good on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:58 pm
I can’t imagine DAP working with PAS. PAS is a crouching tiger just waiting for the alliance to crack, then it will show the real nasty face once in power..Beware.
PKR has its extremist ie Anwar, UMNO has its extremist ie Kerismuddin, Nazri, Khairy.
The main issue in this country is that we are out numbered. So Uncle Lim, can you advise us (the non Malay, non Muslim..sorry I’m not racist, I’m just using the gov way of dividing the population) how to increase our numbers, so at least there is a 50-50 breakdown of Non malay vs Malay or Bumi Vs Non Bumi?
By the way, in Sabah the Project IC has already ensured that UMNO has the upper hand of the population.
#20 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:04 pm
The deafening silence from MCA and MIC is sickening. Is that how they react to such important issues?no wonder for the last 50 years our rights have been gradually eroded while the MCA and MIC ministers and cronies filled their pockets with ill gotten gains.
#21 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:18 pm
Sorry to everyone for being out of topic, but Malaysiakini reports said that when Tun Dr Mahathir (TDM) who appeared as witness in the Lingam commission this morning, said that:-
· he obtained “opinions from other people on judicial appointments – whether solicited or unsolicitedâ€;
· “I listen to unofficial views during conversations or at social gatherings. I consider the views but the final decision is mine.â€
· “I don’t have to tell anyone as to why I made those decisions,†he said.
This means he could just appoint anyone without judicial talent or proper judicial temperament, that it could be just based on the fact that he liked his face…..And in saying “I don’t have to tell anyone as to why I made those decisions†(even though it might have been based on just the fact that he just liked his face).
He is basically admitting that judicial appointment is based on the arbitrary decision of the PM, which is his prerogative without need for any accountability.
TDM has just made a strong case for the institutionalisation of a Judicial Commission for judicial appointment – to take way arbitrary aspects involved in judicial appointment by an individual person, albeit he is the PM, and also to take away with the built in absence of accountability, for tyhe sake of public interest.
That’s what I take TDM to say to everyone directly : “I can listen to anybody; can decide on any basis, reasonable or not, and its his prerogative not to account!”
Does the Constitution say this? :)
#22 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:19 pm
“when” in 2nd sentence from top is typo error, should be deleted.
#23 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:25 pm
Isn’t the consent of the King required ? That was supposed to be the “check and balance” which of course disappeared with the shenanigans of the royalty.
The arrogance of the old man is simply incredible. He may think he answers to no one, but he will soon, to his Maker.
#24 by necromancer4good on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:30 pm
Godfather,
That depends on who is the maker. He might be promoted instead.
By the way, God has deserted the good earth…
#25 by bra888 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:31 pm
Why don’t the government remove all religious elements from education? That’s what the US has done right? Clubs can be an exceptional of course.
#26 by necromancer4good on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:37 pm
To bra888
Simple answer to that is that they don’t want to.
Same reason as why there can never be a non Malay as the head of Education, Army, or Finance/ Internal Security
#27 by bra888 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:42 pm
From what I heard from a few teachers’ point of view, they claimed that it is not easy for a Chinese to be a headmaster nowadays. They claimed that most of the Malay teachers refuse to listen to the headmaster and sometimes even boycotted meetings. I’m not sure what’s the reason behind those boycott, but I believed that it has something to do with bigotry because they (the teacher I talked with) never claimed that any Chinese boycotted meetings.
#28 by necromancer4good on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:58 pm
We need to seriously reconsider sending our children to these schools. Imagine that our tax money going to their pockets. What rascals!
#29 by Thomas Lee on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:59 pm
People like this principal and the ones who impose “decent dress code” and separate boys from schools in co-ed schools are simply insecure people with little or no brains. Also included are those civil servants who try to impose their personal religious convictions on others, like banning the use of Bahasa in churches.
We should pity them and also the government as they are making th government and country a laughing stock with their so-called morality. They are simply stupid!
We should know what to do at the next general election — send a message home that enough is enough of such nonsense!
#30 by necromancer4good on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 7:05 pm
Thomas Lee, you are wrong to think that you can win. We, the second class citizens are systematically marginalised. We can never win, no matter what we do.
The solution is to increase our population ratio. But the dilemma is our birth rate is declining gradually.
So Uncle Lim, what is the DAP solution??
#31 by Tickler on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:00 pm
although it may not clear your doubts, i can tell you that the church was rebuilt by PAS. – shiver
So you are implying that the MP there, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah was responsible for, or behind the demolition, and PAS came and rebuilt the church after its demoilition.
But those greedy orang asli are suing for monetary gains or some other consideration is it?
Well this sure is going to be an interesting case innit?
There`s quite a bit on it here:
http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2007/06/government-demolished-christian-church.html
#32 by Tickler on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:08 pm
More reading on PAS here:
http://chow.blogsome.com/category/pas/
#33 by dawsheng on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:22 pm
Lion dance performance without the drum? Hahaha…
#34 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:22 pm
Jeffrey,
Thanks for your reply. It’s always so educative to read what you have posted.
Shiver said,
hey YB Lim, please look at the latest HOT from the oven posting by RPK on corridors of power! Please lah wei, try to share to masses in malaysia especially the chinese that PAS is not as islamic as UMNO! or else, it will be hard to work hand in hand with PKR-PAS.
I know you have a phobia of ‘99 but i tell you, the voters now are much more knowledgable and we have the internet! what you guys need is to share to everyone and sundry of what PAS means, and how the people in kelantan (esp the non muslims) lives and how the chinese there enjoy their bah kut teh!!!!
I beg to differ. The last thing DAP would want to do is to forge an alliance with PAS. This doesnt mean that I am selfish short-sighted. I share the same view of yours that we should vote for any oppositions including PAS to deny BN’s two third. In fact, PAS will do more good than harm if they were to be given more votes and seats in Parliament in the coming General Elections. Thus, any strategic voter, regardles of race, would know that voting for PAS at the moment while PAS has no ability to form a government would not make Malaysia full of Hudud Laws.
However how do the majority voters see the alliance between DAP and PAS? Most of them are afraid of PAS turning Malaysia into a theocratic Islamic state(DAP must keep educating voters that there is no way for PAS to get two third majority in parliament to ammend the FC). Moreover forging an alliance with PAS will only give MCA and Gerakan chance to mislead the voters. yes, we have the internet. Do not forget that BN still controls the mainstream media.
Therefore the only option left is to negotiate with PKR and to avoid any 3-way battle. A straight fight against the BN will be our best bet to deny BN’s two third.
#35 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:46 pm
How do you avoid a 3-way battle without engaging PAS and by negotiating with PKR alone ?
#36 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:49 pm
Yes, the hardcore support for the DAP is from those right wing extremists who say “over my dead body” when the issue of collaboration with PAS is brought up. That is why the DAP will forever be in the Opposition with 15 – 20 seats and all that Kit can hope for is the leadership of the Opposition for the next 4 – 5 years.
And that is why the thieves will continue to steal, until there is nothing left to steal.
#37 by Justicewanted on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:51 pm
Just wonder what qualities are needed to be a principal?
Is it the skill and knowledge or know-who?
No prizes for the correct answers……
#38 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:01 pm
Chong Zhemin is ahead of himself when he says:
“Therefore the only option left is to negotiate with PKR and to avoid any 3-way battle.”
What of PAS? You cannot ignore PAS and treat it as if it does not exist. With PAS on the outside how could you avoid a 3-cornered fight?
#39 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:01 pm
Thank Godfather for the corrections…Sorry for calling you not fit enough to be a godfather, it just a bloody reflex for man in defensive situation.
Oh by the way, its scorpian6666 not scorpion and its something to remember for a somebody who had problem remembering.
“Remove SMK BUD4 principal unless she mends her ways”
is what we should be talking about. and Uncle is very forgiving too in the ” unless she mends her ways ” not like how you put it “Force her to quit!”
Please don’t twist words
#40 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:01 pm
The Malay votes in those constituencies would be split.
#41 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:44 pm
Uncle Lim, if she didnt reply to this blog, i think u better call her to talk about it like what you did to the “songkok” issue in Johor..Her racist act need to be STOP..such a person also can become HM ar…[deleted]
#42 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:50 pm
“….she should be removed unless she is prepared to mend her ways, rescind her insensitive decisions and realize her responsibilities as head of a school in a multi-racial, multi-religious and multi-cultural Malaysia.”
That is not going to happen in a million years!
DAP is just as guilty of politicizing the issue as all those who respond to say that there is nothing that she did is seriously wrong that cannot be corrected. It is overzealousness in the execution of duties as a school principal. Period. It should be seen as such.
DAP is merely fishing for votes.
#43 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:06 pm
BlackEye:
What are you trying to say ? Are you suggesting that the principal’s overzealousness could have been corrected but for the politicization of the issue by DAP ?
#44 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:14 pm
I have to say that I am disappointed at some of the patently racist comments and clear cases of bigotry in this blog.
#45 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:26 pm
“What are you trying to say ? Are you suggesting that the principal’s overzealousness could have been corrected but for the politicization of the issue by DAP ?”
Yes.
#46 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:31 pm
Parents could write letters to the Principal and if she does not respond, letters should be sent to the Ministry of Education. Where is the need for any political intervention? Isn’t there a PTA that could take issues to first the school principal and then to the relevant Ministry and then to the Wakil Rakyat.
Don’t you see that politicizing an issue such as this will have the opposite effect?
#47 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:33 pm
The DAP is just as guilty as UMNO in engaging in the politics of race, religion etc.
#48 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:37 pm
If DAP is to been as a non-communal party, it must rise above the politics of race and religion. It’s approach is wrong from the very start. However, if you factor in the need to fish for votes in troubled waters, it makes perfect sense.
#49 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:42 pm
That is why I said in an earlier comment that all the DAP can hope for is 15 – 20 seats and the leadership of the Opposition. It could never see itself working with PAS for a better future for all Malaysians (and the converse is probably true with PAS). Regime change in Bolehland can only happen when UMNO’s feeding frenzy causes the country into serious financial difficulty and then UMNO will implode when there is nothing left to steal.
#50 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:45 pm
“Regime change in Bolehland can only happen when UMNO’s feeding frenzy causes the country into serious financial difficulty and then UMNO will implode when there is nothing left to steal.”
But there is always something to steal – even when it comes down to chairs and tables.