Will Samy Vellu contest again in Sungei Siput?

Will the MIC President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu contest again in the Sungei Siput parliamentary seat in the next general election which is around the corner?

The question seems to be a no-brainer as the answer appears to be indisputable “yes”.

The truth may not be that simple however.

Many would have no doubt that Samy Vellu would be returning to contest the parliamentary seat of Sungei Siput for the ninth time in the next general election, which he won for the first time in 1974.

There is however no doubt that Samy Vellu has become the lightning road of the long-suppressed anger and frustration of the Malaysian Indians over their long-standing political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious marginalization in the country – as evidenced by the seething ferment demanding change among Malaysian Indians.

Samy Vellu is now the very personification to the Malaysian Indian community of everything that is wrong and unfair about Barisan Nasional policies in the past three decades which have reduced them into the new underclass in Malaysia.

Samy Vellu had compounded this offence in openly going against the struggle of the Malaysian Indians for a just and equal place under the Malaysian sun when he openly denied in India last week that Malaysian Indians are victims of long-standing marginalization.

This is not only untrue – but Samy Vellu knew that he was not speaking the truth!

In June 2004, I had handed Samy Vellu an official letter proposing the establishment of a Parliamentary Select Committee on the Marginalisation of the Malaysian Indians, asking him to take the issue to the Cabinet for approval and suggesting that he be the Chairman of the Parliamentary Select Committee.

At the time, Samy Vellu told me that it was a good proposal and that he would take it up to the Cabinet. I have not heard from him on the issue in the past three years and I do not know whether he had tabled the proposal in Cabinet and it got shot down or whether he never raised it in Cabinet at all.

What is most significant was that when I handed the letter and proposal to him – we were attending a meeting of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Selection – he raised no objection whatsoever and even commended the proposal as a good one.

This could only meant that in June 2004, Samy Vellu admitted that the Malaysian Indians faced the problem of marginalization – which he is now going all over the world to deny.

This is sheer hypocrisy and explains why he has become the symbol of the rotten and opportunistic Malaysian Indian politics which is the object of scorn in the political awakening of the Malaysian Indians after the watershed Hindraf rally in Kuala Lumpur on Nov. 25 last year.

If Samy Vellu re-contests in Sungei Siput in the next general election expected within 65 days, again leading the MIC election campaign, MIC parliamentary and state assembly candidates throughout the country will face massive rejection by the Malaysian Indian voters.

Are MIC leaders trying to find a way to convey and convince Samy Vellu that the best service he can do to the MIC after being the MIC President and sole Malaysian Indian Minister for close to three decades is for him to fully absorb the anger and frustration of the Malaysian Indians at the MIC failure to check the marginalization of the Malaysian Indians by accepting full personal responsibility and not contesting in the next general election – thus saving the MIC slate of parliamentary and state assembly candidates from the full wrath of the Indian community in the polls?

(Media Statement at Sungei Siput market, the second stop of the 2-day 14-place “whistlestop” campaign in Perak to highlight the DAP national general election theme of “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” on Saturday, 12th January 2008 at 11 am)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Count Dracula on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 12:46 am

“What about a self-proclaimed pseudo political activist with a Kg. Attap education turning to being a porn star to pay his bills?” Kolonel

You mean limkamput??

2. #2 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:29 am

dracula@sucker@colonel@private
    Don’t insult Kg Attap people. They are 100 times smarter and more successful than you all. What have you all got? SPM grade 2 or 3 with five credit. Oh, yes i know, some of you with a masters degree now. Which uni? Iwantogo Uni?

[A few postings hijacking the blog to pursue perverse scores have already been disallowed and I am very disappointed that earlier pleas that we can disasgree strongly and even vehemently on this blog without being uncivil continue to be disregarded. The warning to put defaulters on the moderator list has not been implemented, but the first one to cross this line after this will be going up. - kit]

3. #3 by AhPek on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:39 am

Good on you,YB Kit.It’s about time you put a stop to this nonsense that has been going on for quite a while, otherwise your blog could degenerate into a forum for settling scores.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 11:21 am

Tickler says:

“Bernama reported that Lah arrived in Spain on Sunday and would attend a who-know-what “First Alliance of Civilizations Annual Forum” on Tuesday!- posted by mendela

Most appropriate. Now we all know that he`s gone to FAC (the acronym) in Spain.”

Now we should all just tell him to FAC – AF (the full acronym).

5. #5 by Chong Zhemin on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 6:30 pm

I have not heard from him on the issue in the past three years and I do not know whether he had tabled the proposal in Cabinet and it got shot down or whether he never raised it in Cabinet at all.

6. #6 by mablecp on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 7:09 pm

At the time, Samy Vellu told Kula and I that it was a good proposal and that he would take it up to the Cabinet. I have not heard from him on the issue in the past three years and I do not know whether he had tabled the proposal in Cabinet and it got shot down or whether he never raised it in Cabinet at all

7. #7 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:34 pm

I hope the message finds its mark this time.

8. #8 by limkamput on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:44 am

The message is as applicable to you (darkhorse) as to many others including me. It seems to me that somehow others can make fun of me but I can’t make fun of others. But since Sdr Lim has chosen to post the warning directly below my posting, it is obvious that I am deemed the main culprit. I guess I have to accept that. But before I go, can Sdr Lim and others please read the posting by Dracula above (the one above the warning? I reproduce here just in case you don’t follow me).

This is what Dracula said in response to Colonel’s: “What about a self-proclaimed pseudo political activist with a Kg. Attap education turning to being a porn star to pay his bills?” Kolonel
    You mean limkamput??”

Sdr Lim, why can’t you post the warning in his posting instead?
    Who are darkhorse, colonel, Dracula, laifoong, and diaperhead anyway? It would seem that so many are against me, but are they actually the same one person? Is there a possibility that they are colluding in a private chat room first before they start to irritate others. You must see how they castrated Earnest earlier. May I know where is Earnest now?

9. #9 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:44 am

You returned to the blog and in quick time resorted to your old practice of making comments on commentators instead of commentators’ comments. I put you “on ignore” and told you so, to avoid interacting with you. That didn’t work as you kept referring to me in your postings. Then I thought perhaps if I apologized for annoying you with the “stupidity of my observations”, you’d stop – and to your credit you did.

The Colonel even pleaded with you to communicate with him via his private e-mail which he gave you and asked that you not litter the blog with personal and irrelevant comments. But what did you do in return for the kind gesture?

I cannot speak for the rest. What’s with Diaperhead?? He is nowhere to be seen.

In cyberspace as you know you can choose to be whoever you want to be. What is relevant is that you show civility in your interaction with posters. In your brief absence from the blog, there was civility in the exchanges. That changed when you returned. There must be something in your writing that annoys some posters. You are personal with posters whereas what is important are the issues. You took upon yourself to reprimand posters when you feel they are wrong in their views. That cannot be right.

I thought undergrad2 even congratulated you for abandoning your abrasive and confrontational way you chose to interact with posters generally. You then stopped going after him.

You’re capable of providing intelligent input. You know that. Stop your wayward ways and I think everything will be fine.

YB Kit merely “draw the line” after your posting and he is not singling you out.

This is a serious political blog and I think all of us should treat it as such.

10. #10 by ktteokt on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 10:58 pm

After all the boo-boo’s he has made, do you think he will dare to show his face again in Sg Siput?