The Cabinet next Wednesday should order the immediate suspension of school principals who acted as “Little Napoleons” in unilaterally and arbitrarily imposing rules and regulations which trample on cultural and religious rights and sensitivities in a plural society – demonstrating that they lack the most fundamental qualification to be school principals.
The latest manifestation of such “Little Napoleons” is Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (formerly English College) in Johor Bahru in making “songkok” part of the compulsory uniform of school prefects in the school.
I put up on my blog the protest letter of a parent of a school prefect in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar who said his son, who is in Form Five, would resign as a school prefect – appointed since Form II because of his exemplary conduct – if he is forced to wear the songkok. There are over 160 responses in the two threads in my blog on this issue in the past 24 hours, showing the intensity of the sensitivities over the matter.
Recently there have been an unchecked increase of incidents whether in schools, universities or involving the government decision-making process showing growing indifference, disrespect and even contempt for the sensitivities and rights of the diverse races, cultures and religions in the country – which are most detrimental to the goals of nation-building and the Vision 2020 objective of creating a Bangsa Malaysia.
Yesterday, Malaysians learn to their shock another incident of the “Little Napoleons” running wild in Malaysia – the confiscation of English language Christian children’s books said to contain offensive caricatures of prophets from several bookshops in Johore Baru, Senawang (Negri Sembilan) and Ipoh by state enforcement officials of the Publications and Al-Quran Texts Control Department under the Internal Security Ministry.
What happened in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar, Johor Bahru goes against the 2004 Barisan Nasional general election manifesto to create public confidence in national schools by making them as the educational institution of choice of all Malaysians.
In his last year as Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was quite outspoken in expressing his concern at the failure of national schools as instruments of nation-building and national unity.
He openly admitted that there had been two hijackings of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia, alienating non-Muslims as in denying the right of the Chinese and Indians to learn their own languages and introducing Islamic practices in the school system which “puts off the non-Malays”, with boys forbidden from wearing shorts, even for playing games, and “even games are discouraged”, when “before, we had no problems with girls wearing skirts and boys wearing shorts, especially for games”.
When Abdullah became Prime Minister, he pledged to carry out Mahathir’s “unfinished business” to end such extremism and intolerance by the “Little Napoleons” so that the national schools will become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race.
Instead of “walking the talk” and delivering his election pledge to end the intolerance and extremism in the schools, the reverse has taken place with “Little Napoleons” running wild in the schools, whether as principals or other capacities, creating a situation even worse than during Mahathir’s time.
The latest songkok issue in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar in Johor Bahru is the latest known manifestation of such “Little Napoleons” in the national schools. Other recent “Little Napoleonic” outrages include:
• The segregation of boys and girls in SMK Seremban Jaya in Senawang although it is a co-ed school. Boys and girls were not allowed to mix whether to study in the same classroom or eat at the same table in the canteen. In fact, a new block was built to ensure their classrooms were located away from each other.
• Islamisation of Penang Free School, once the premier school in Penang and the country, with what many old boys regard as the “last straw” when a Jawi signage was installed at the main entrance of the school.
Although the scandalous segregation of boys and girls at SMK Seremban Jaya in Senawang has been ended after a public outcry, no action has been taken against the “Little Napoleons” responsible for such outrageous rules.
I call on the Cabinet next Wednesday to order the immediate suspension of school principals in these three schools and in others where there are principals who acted as “Little Napoleons” in unilaterally and arbitrarily imposing rules and regulations which trample on cultural and religious rights and sensitivities in a plural society.
The Cabinet should also institute a national inquiry into all the national schools to smack down the “Little Napoleons” whether principal or administrator for their disrespect and insensitivity to the rights and sensitivities of diverse races, religions and cultures in plural Malaysia – giving the aggrieved parents an opportunity to publicly voice their objections and protests at such perversion of the national education policy and nation-building objective.
(Media Statement when launching the 2-day 12-place “whistlestop” campaign in Perak to highlight the DAP national general election theme of “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” at the Bidor market (first of the 12 stops) on Saturday 12.1.08)

#1 by year of snake on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 12:54 pm
There is only one thing to do if we are to stop these fanatics, that is to vote them out in the coming GE. Please remember to come out to vote as these fanatics are the offsprings of those who have been voted. Remember these people were voted in by their supporters and also by those WHO DID NOT COME OUT TO VOTE. Many people always have the excuse of saying it’s my one vote only, won’t make a difference. If thousands, ten of thousands or hundreds of thousands have this attitude, no wonder BN won by landslide victories. Please remember the proverb “Little Drops of Water can make a mighty Ocean”
#2 by Tickler on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 12:55 pm
Maybe all indians should wear one-esp those who believe in the hindraf struggle. Picture of the week:
In the post-freedom India, two types of head wear for men stand out: The black (Gaberdine) cap and the white Gandhian cap (made with hand-spun cotton) . Among a generation, the cap also symbolized their ideaological affiliation namely the Sangh (JanSangh,RSS) and the Indian National Congress respectively.
http://www.kamat.com/picoweek/051198.htm
#3 by Tickler on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 12:57 pm
http://www.kamat.org/picture.asp?Name=30064.jpg
#4 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:34 pm
Instead of suspending such extremists principals, we should call for the sacking of the Minister in charge. Such extremism was started since the keris demonstration. There was another signal being transmitted since he 1st raised the keris. It was to instruct the school’s heads to start islamising all the Malaysian education system. Hishamudin is playing with fire and he will get burnt.
#5 by ahoo on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:41 pm
Let us not waste our votes at the time when it matters most
who we vote for. After being ” conditioned ” for over 22 years
by the former regime, are we now more alert and more so with
many rights trampled? Are we more aware of the surroundings
around us now? Let us all wake up from the slumber for our
own and also the next generation sake. Complacency and also indifference have no place in our multi-racial society ! Stand
up to be counted and vote against the corrupted. Share with
all friends and relatives and teach them to vote wisely.
Many thanks to YB kit for his steadfast and unwavering stand
to check the unhealthy increase of incidents where the rights
of other races are being challenge daily.
#6 by Demo_Crazy on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:45 pm
Commented by pulau_sibu :
“Do you realise that many years back the teachers and principal would greet ’selamat petang’ or ’selamat pagi’ in schools? Suddenly there was a change in my secondary school when a muslim prinicpal came in. It became Assalaam Alaikum (I forgot the word and got it from the web, hope it is not wrong). Wasn’t this a way to Islamise our education system? May be non-muslims in the Semananjung get used to this greeting and not even questioning about it at all. Also, it killed our Malay culture because Malay no longer greets like they used to be.”
—
Greetings YB Kit,
Non-Malay students are not used to it. They are just not sure where to go and complain. Just yesterday [11/1/2008], the prefect wished ‘Selamat Sejahterea’ which was really unusual. Normally, the ‘Assalaam Alaikum’ will be first wished and followed by the ‘Selamat Sejahtera’. But that day, i’m not sure what the prefect was thinking, he skipped the former version and wished the latter version. All the students echoed [Yea, they must wish along.].
However, this Pengerus Majlis, Female Malay Teacher, who was standing beside the prefect told him to wish the ‘Assalaam Alaikum’. Shocking ! She is the killer of unity ! . I never expected that to happen. I mean on the spot. The prefect have such a good heart of skipping ‘Assalaam Alaikum’.
I’ll always remember that. I hope she will regret it. Thanks to the major events , BERSIH, HINDRAF … etc . We are now aware !
PS : My first comment.
#7 by Leo on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:19 pm
All hope is lost in Malaysia. our present PM just rule tthe country for 4 yrs. So many “things” happening. Crime hit the 200k mark, etc. If we allow him to rule another 5 yrs. I can’t believe what will happen..No petrol coming out for the petrol station maybe. It would be chaos…
Imagine police’s solution to crime.. Public must come forward with information, more CCTV… Does this mean that their job is to sit at the air-con police and do nothing??? When something happen, CCTV image not clear (cannot see face, cannot see plat no, or it might be false), public didn’t come out and give information..This is rubbish..
Btw, I wonder who is making money this time when gov order a lot of CCTVs. I henestly think CCTV is not a solution. Police’s inteligence gathering is more effective and it will be an invisible force.
#8 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:34 pm
My contention is not about the wearing of songkok, but the way the school authorities are trying to implement this for political reasons only known to them. Personally, I feel that wearing a songkok is just donning an apparel which is culturally inclined. I see a lot of Chinese girls wearing baju kurung on Fridays, and with pride. As a Malaysian of Chinese origin, I used to dress up my sons with baju Melayu complete with the songkok and samping whenever we attended Malay wedding receptions or kenduri. On the other hand, during Chinese New Year, I have seen Malay TV news presenters wearing Traditional Chinese ancient costumes which I find quite grotesque. Reminds me of those corpse lying in Chinese coffins. Our dear friend Raja Petra enjoys wearing a French Cap (I mean French Beret). That doesn’t make him any French. But, having said all that, I strongly protest against the implementation of wearing songkok for school prefects, especially for non-malays. Schools and places of religious worships are very noble institutions, not any political playing fields.
#9 by Tickler on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:36 pm
CCTV: Does it deter crime?
A new report has said that closed circuit TV cameras have limited impact in the fight against crime.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/talking_point/2071824.stm
#10 by Tickler on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:41 pm
21 September 2007, London, England: “CCTV Cameras Don’t Solve Crimes, Say London Politicians. The city has over 10,000 publicly funded CCTV cameras in public areas, but only one in five crimes are solved,” by Peter Sayer, IDG News Service.
Surveillance cameras in London are not helping solve crime, according to local politicians. The city has over 10,000 publicly funded CCTV cameras in public areas, but only one in five crimes are solved, said Dee Doocey, a spokeswoman for the Liberal Democrats political party on the London Assembly, the elected body which determines transport and policing policy for London’s 32 boroughs and the City of London itself. Using figures obtained from the London boroughs, the Metropolitan Police Service and public transport authorities through Freedom of Information Act requests, the Liberal Democrats compared the number of crimes solved in each borough with the number of CCTV cameras installed there.
“Our figures show that there is no link between a high number of CCTV cameras and a better crime clear-up rate,” she said. “Boroughs with thousands of CCTV cameras are no better at doing so than those which have a few dozen.”
Proponents of CCTV’s usefulness usually focus on its role in preventing crime, rather than solving it. But although the cameras across London’s public transport system allowed police officers to identify within a few days those responsible for the July 7, 2005, tube-train bombings in the city, the cameras did nothing to prevent the attack. And a detailed study of 14 public CCTV installations in a 2005 report by the Home Office Research, Development and Statistics Directorate, “Assessing the impact of CCTV,” concluded that “the CCTV schemes that have been assessed had little overall effect on crime levels.”
Over the last decade, London’s CCTV cameras have cost taxpayers there around 200 million pounds ($401 million), Doocey said, calling for a broader debate on the city’s policing.
#11 by Tickler on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:45 pm
The regency of Pesisir Selatan in West Sumatra passed a “Muslim Clothing†Act (Peraturan Daerah 04 Berpakaian Muslim dan Muslimah) on 5th September 2005.
Article 5
The Requirements
* Every employee, university student, junior high and high school student, is required to wear Islamic clothing, while the rest of society is encouraged to.
Article 6
The Implementation
* The wearing of Muslim clothing is to be done at both government and private offices, education institutions from junior high school onwards, and at official functions.
* People in general are urged to dress Islamically in their daily lives including when they are at public entertainment events.
http://www.indonesiamatters.com/1099/muslim-clothing/
#12 by gofortruth on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:59 pm
Its absolutely incomprehensible to think that we have an education minister receiving full pay on the job and obviously failing miserably. He should be given the sternest admonition to pull up his socks & starts cleaning up the mess in schools.
The standard in our schools has fallen so drastically over the years that it is now a common known fact that we are at least one year behind the standard of schools in Singapore.
Do we want to see us falling further behind?
#13 by Demo_Crazy on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 3:17 pm
Response to gofortruth :
Nope, no point. It’s too late.
#14 by Demo_Crazy on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 3:19 pm
Ooops comment not clear … I mean for Education Minister to start cleaning up the mess…
#15 by Kanasaikia on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 3:21 pm
Ok, everyone! I’m a prefect in EC currently & I would like to tell you all this that this songkok wearing thing didn’t just come out recently. It has already been there for nearly 30 years & for vetaran like us (currently in upper 6), wearing green songkok is a tradition. I have wirte about this in my blog. The current situation is due to miscommunication between school & prefect & also lack of history knowledge about prefectorial board of EC by the juniors.
#16 by necromancer4good on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 4:29 pm
Toyolbuster, I agree with you. Our keris wielding Education Minister should be sacked. He is the extremist and is solely responsible for the failure of our education system. Before him is of course Anwar who is equally responsible.
#17 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 5:30 pm
If the wearing of the songkok is a tradition as explained by Kanasaikia, we’ll be barking up the wrong tree. The complainant can decline the post if he feels so against wearing the songkok.
To be fair, in the case of PFS opposite the Jawi signage is the English. It’s just that it’s against the flow of traffic so one going into the school may think one is entering an Islamic school.
But the point is that whether in schools or in society at large , when little Napoleons “trample on cultural and religious rights and sensitivities in a plural society ” it is imperative that action be taken, and be seen to be taken to not only right the wrong but to punish the officer concerned.
#18 by Loh on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 5:45 pm
///If moderation does not take centre stage, we will all be dragged into extremism, from the basis of religion, race or groups. He said Malaysia was a land of opportunity, where everyone knew how to respect one another and how to give and take. ///– PM AAB, Star: Thursday December 27, 2007
We are already in the midst of extremism, not on the way there. The decision to be moderate lies with the persons who are vested with power to do so. The little Napoleons are all enjoying government salaries and security, and they are all allowed to carry on with their old ways. They are encouraged that no actions have been taken against them even when their actions are known by the all powerful human being in this land; and it is time that corruptions done under the table be raised above, and be performed openly.
This is the land of opportunities for those who retail their power that accompanies the posts, in government services. They know perfectly how to respect each others’ assets, the give and take of money and power.
#19 by HB Lim on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 6:43 pm
If you don’t force people to wear the songkok, wearing it may just become a fashion even amongst the non-Malays. Force them to wear it and you are inviting rebuke and objection to that head gear which should be in the first place not objectionable at all. The point is that we should not force cultural or religious practices on others. Let there be full liberty so far as those things are concerned. Let us not be arrogant and be holier than thou.
I wonder if all the Indians were to start wearing the Nehru or Gandhi headgear, the Government would ban it or make more arrests under the ISA. It is an idea. Instead of demonstrating in the streets, start a silent protest, Gandhi style, by wearing the Indian headgear.
As for the Chinese, only the MCA top guns should be wearing headgears, you know those worn by the ancient corrupted Chinese officers, preferably with a a long moustache hanging down both sides or ends of the lips. Chan Kong Choy should keep a longer moustache and he would be and look like a personification of corruption. Whenever I see our Chinese Ministers wearing a songkok, particularly Ling Liong Sik, the image of the corrupted ancient Chinese court officials with the cynical smile comes to mind. It is a natural thing, so don’t blame me. I cannot help it.
It is a direct result of social conditioning – you associate the songkok with Malayness, then you associate Malayness with UMNO, then you associate UMNO with bigotry and corruption and all kinds of political sins, and finally you come around to associate the songkok with the same thing. Not very fair to the neutrality of the songkok but that is a fact in Malaysia. And this conditioning is started by them in the first place. Sad for the songkok and sadder still for Malayness and anything Malay, which is rich culturally and in which all Malaysians of all racial origins should be proud of. I should be proud of wearing the songkok and the baju Melayu, I happen to think that the baju Melayu and the samping are very unique and gorgeous, but I cannot pull myself to wear the costumes of someone who has been arrogant to me and insist that I am a lower class citizen compared to him. And that he is holier than me. Now you see who is the one who instilled this abhorrence to wearing anything Malay.
#20 by bra888 on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 7:24 pm
The similar case almost happened to S.M.K. Green Road, my former school.
My mother is a teacher there and there was one time, ‘someone’ proposed that all the teachers despite of race should wear baju kurung. It did not happened because most of the non-Malay teachers strongly refuse to accept that change.
That’s good news to me, but I believe that in some schools, the teachers had no choice. For example, a school in Limbang. I’m not sure whether were the teachers forced to wear baju kurung and cannot say for a certain, but I haven’t seen any teacher there who wears other than that even though I was there for a day or two.
#21 by lakshy on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 9:19 pm
Kanasaikia, it cannot be a tradition dating back 30 years. More than 30 years ago when my dad taught there at EC, there were no songkoks. And 30 years ago when my brother studied there, there were no songkoks used too. So try pulling the other leg!
#22 by Summer-rain on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 9:36 pm
As a parent, I’m very disappointed over the “songkok” issue because my son also a prefect in EC. Forcing the students to wear songkok otherwise would be excluded from any formal functions of the school is ridiculous and stupid action. If all non-Muslim students would have left EC, can you imaging what will happen to the school’s academic achivements? Don’t forget even we are only the minority in the school, yet we are always the top scorers there.
#23 by Kanasaikia on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 9:47 pm
Well, i say nearly 30 years coz my teacher (indian teacher) who is oso ex-ec prefect when she is in form 6 told us that dis songkok thing started to be implemeted during det time. She is now currently 40+ so i just do assumption it existed for nearly 30 years but not over. Nearly..
#24 by bystander on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 9:47 pm
has kerismuddin proposed any positive policy or changes of his own to education? Nil. yes he is a racist and an extremist. kana could be a cybertrooper. the wearing of songkoks by non muslims prefects can never be a tradition dating back 30 years ago in EC. even 20 years malay woman dont even wear tudung. its a recent phenomenon going back about 10 to 15 years. islamisation only started creeping into malay and malaysian culture in the last 10 years.
#25 by Kanasaikia on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:00 pm
Btw i hv already say things that everyone should know in my blog. Feel free go n hv a read.
#26 by bukanbumi on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:01 pm
To force school prefects to wear songkok is a small issue compare to in some worst case like blatant discrimination against non bumi students. Anyway songkok is not originally a head gear invented by the Malays but they copied it from India with slight modification, hopefully India will not sue them for copyright infringement and demand payment.
We should be more concerned in discrimination like my daughter who is a non bumi study in a 95% bumi school, this school has organised many Islamic events during the school hours that the non bumi students must hung out in the school canteen during these events. Because of that my daughter has to skip school for quite a number of days each year!
She got 4As, 2Bs and 1C for PMR and was told that she is not good enough for Science Class, to her bitterness she came home and complain that the School is not fair,because there are quite a number of Bumi students who has 1 or 2As and they are allocated in Science stream.
The point is non Muslim are being discriminate at a young age and our Dear P.M. expect them to grow up being moderate?
I have since yanked her out from this school and move to a school in K.L. where the racial mix is more balance.
Dear MCA members, please tell me why I should vote for BN and be discriminated?
#27 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:28 pm
After completing my ‘ contract’, I left the teaching service. I was sent to ‘national’ schools’ then. Some of the jokers who finally became big time politicians were the very culprits who ‘tuang’ classes or attended classes half an hour late most of the days. The only time they were in time was for the ‘assembly’ talks, spending , at times , over an hour to preach’, students were known to have collapsed. Why? Many did not have breakfast! In the end, there were speeches and speeches. At the end of the year, those subjects taught by these ‘politicians’ mostly ended in Ps and C6s. Their conscience was not affected. Karangan was only given at the begining of the year, after two sets were written by the students, those exercise books were never seen again!!!
A friend was asked to teach GP at form 6, results for the first 2 years were very good. OH! how could a non-Bumi teach their mother tongue? Change! Result ? nearly 40% failed. There was no concern for the students’ future! False pride came first. Likewise, teaching Maths was also considered as racial pride, where possible find a Bumi Maths teacher who would ended up by telling his students that the answers given at the back of the book were wrong!!!! No wonder, they all struggled to aim only Ps.
what I am saying is they [ the politicians] had created so much false pride in their society, they would do anything to ‘advertise’ their ‘achievements’. Based on such approach, no society can progress. You are cheating yourselves and no one else. And I don’t think the situation has changed much. those with connections were invariably promoted; the smarter ones, sooner than later, would leave. The balance woukld be the ‘politicians’ and those who couldn’t find other jobs. Just look what had happened to those ‘ well-known’ schools? They think by associating the students to a particular school, their results can improve!! And to-day, we certainly have more PhDs in the education ministry than ever before. Results? Ha,Ha, Ha!! Let’s trace the performances of ALL who scored 12 As and above at SPM level. Where are they? What have they achieved at University level and what has become of them in life? As I have said before, the only hope could be PRAYERS for the country!!
#28 by shaolin on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:39 pm
The Little Napoleons and Osamas are Kings and above
the law in this country like King Zakaria and his Palace!
No punishment or laws to suspend their duties and the
whole situation and system in M’sia is shamble and
beyond control and no rules to regulate the ‘Outlaws’!!
Everyone wants to be King and Queen and M’sia is
famous for – Mana Ada System (MAS) ?!
We are all immuned to M.A.S. already and No more
feelings…!! What about You?
#29 by chiakchua on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:50 pm
Met a father and son in a supermarket awhile ago. Chat was changed to the coming GE. I told them ‘must vote any opposition’ this time. They said ‘no, no, if the fight is between BN non-Malay and opposition non-Malay, vote the opposition. If the fight is between BN non-Malay and opposition Malay, must vote BN non-Malay’.
I told them the messy situation in the country is because of UMNO, to which they fully agreed. That’s why we need a strong Malay opposition who can work with non-Malay opposition such as DAP to pressure UMNO to do the right thing. UMNO has always take for granted that they will get full support from the Malays (with the NEP and religion carrots) for their non-Malay proxy, and predicting the non-Malays will never vote for Malay opposition candidate, so their BN non-Malay proxy will surely win a seat to help them form the next government with strong majority for another 5 years to ‘reap the harvest’. It is useless to vote-in the non-Malay candidate who are only ‘yes-man’ to their UMNO boss.
Please share out with your non-Malay friends who have the same mindset. YES, WE NEED A STRONG MALAY OPPOSITION TO CHANGE THE COUNTRY FOR THE BETTER!
#30 by scorpian6666 on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:04 pm
oknyua Says:
It became an issue because of the connotation is brings. In Malaysia it implies Islam, and a surrender of our ethnic rights to Malays/Islam.
———————-
True… so true and i felt compel to add ..
Sadly, by their own (UMNO) creation and policies , the very word “Malay” whether you like it or not, has come to be associated with “weakness”, “suppressive”, “racial”, arrogant and even “irrational” The word could or might well one day, be used to mean just that.
Watch the New Zealander rugby prayers proudly doing their native war dance ! Why ? Simple … it signifies strength even the white new zealander love to be associated with. Look how a lot of us embrace western jeans without question.
Sorry UMNO, it will take a long long long time to undo what had been done.
Simple FACT! If wearing a songkok is accepted by the community to signify STRENGTH and LOVE, damn! some folk would cry having the honor to just wear it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I hope this is not seen as against the race – Malay, but very much against the policies ironically created to fool the Malay of their supremacy. I do hope this an eye opener.
#31 by Count Dracula on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:17 pm
“They said ‘no, no, if the fight is between BN non-Malay and opposition non-Malay, vote the opposition. If the fight is between BN non-Malay and opposition Malay, must vote BN non-Malay’. chaikchua
For as long as voting remains along racial lines and along personalities rather then issues, party and ideology, Malaysia will remain a fractured nation.
#32 by kritikus on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:31 pm
first ” allah ” issue
Now ” songkok issue”
Well all my chinese and indian brothers, now is the right time for the change.
Throw these fellas out into the streets, and let them have a taste of their own medicine,
CHANGE CHANGE CHANGE CHANGE CHANGE
#33 by U32 on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:51 pm
You are talking about this songkok thing.
Baju kurung for promotion. Baju kurung that is oversized ( no curves seen ) and covering the aurat is the dress code if you are eyeing for a promotion. Especially if you are visiting a certain Ministry. Make sure these big guys don’t see you in something else.
The government wants to project to the whole wide world that Malaysians are Malays.
Let’s deviate a little bit more. Locally made films can be Chinese, can be Indian, can be alien but must speak in Bahasa Malaysia. In this case, somebody please tell Zainuddin Mydin that he will have to make Baba Nyonya films and Chitty films.
Supposing if I seem racist, actually I am trying to tell you all that without our own identities, we are nobodies.
#34 by dranony on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:04 am
kanasaikia,
i have reliable information that you have only been a Prefect at EC for only SIX(6) months!
That _hardly_ qualifies yourself to be a “veteran†(btw it is not “vetaranâ€) of the Prefectorial Board.
It is plainly evident from the initial post by EC Parent that his son has been a prefect much longer than you have, and this issue had NEVER been raised in ALL the entire time that the son had been a prefect.
So PLEASE Do NOT mislead everyone here into thinking that wearing of the songkok had been ongoing for the past thirty years.
If you wish to wear the songkok, whether by choice, or out of fear of reprimand or intimidation by school authorities, it is entirely up to you.
But we should not FORCE anyone to wear the songkok if they choose not to.
A student from that same school, tells me of yet another serious incident, which occured some time ago:
During the school’s Co-Curriculum Day in 2007, a Doa session was held at the start of the events. ALL students were required to raise their hands in prayer as Muslims do, whether they were Muslim or not!
Those who felt uneasy to comply as they were not Muslims, were punished by the teacher! I wonder, were you one of those who DID comply?
I have been told that about thirty non-Muslim students (chinese and indian) were eventually punished. Why don’t you ask those who were punished and report here whether this is true?
#35 by sebol on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:19 am
I think this issue shouldnt be political.
I dont think “UMNO” want the student to wear songkok.
What if Sultan Johor order his Maktab student to wear songkok?
#36 by Kanasaikia on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:26 am
Well! Y i say i’m vetaran becoz i study in dis school for nearly 7 years eventhought i’m not a prefect be4 det but I noe well in dis abt songkok stuff ( i hv a lot of fren wic is prefect) n becoz dis this songkok thing started 2 vanish in my form 4 years ( wic is wen det prefect get himself in 2 de prefectorial board. Det time he is form 2) det is y he didn’t noe abt de songkok matter. If u dun believe dis songkok thing reli existed be4 he came, u can ask ppl of my batch or be4. I swear dey will tell u de same answer as i said. Since i’m in dis sch for so long, is it consider misleading? Or u wan me to get u some old time pic or bring u in2 our museum to look thru de album den only u believe?
As for the songkok thing, i have already explain in my blog, u can go n hv a read abt it & if u wana noe wad a person i’m, plz go thru my blog posts. I’m not those who will side anyone ezily.
For de co-co day matter, i don’t know about it coz I didn’t participate in it. Btw, i muz thx u 4 telling me det such things existed n i will like to noe more on de incident.
#37 by tunglang on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:51 am
Things like these insensitivities of other races happen from time to time in this MalaySia. Those in the authorities, whether they be in the education, cultural or political make decisions that will really test your resolves as non-Muslim. This is kinda very mischiveous, unwarranted, unrealistic and non-literate in our Malaysian Constitution of Religious Freedom. Being the majority does not give you the right to ‘trample’ others. Be more caring of others if that is what religions teach us as human, not zealots.
Malaysia, Truly Asia?
#38 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 1:44 am
Kanasaikia,can you write simple and correct English to make bloggers understand your message.I think a lot of us were stunned to read your last post.
#39 by Kanasaikia on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 1:49 am
You mean my blog? Ok! Thx for the advise. Btw, wad so stunning?
#40 by laifoong on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 2:07 am
it z like dis la….kana…u wanna put cap or not…dat up to u..if u wanna avoid AIDS….den u shd put on cap…same same w/songkok
#41 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 5:33 am
Lingam tape: Businessman goes public
K Kabilan & Steven Gan | Jan 12, 08 11:32pm
Businessman Loh Mui Fah today disclosed that it was his son who had recorded the Lingam tape, finally putting to rest the question of the controversial clip’s authenticity.
YB Lim,
I am waiting for your response statement. Oh, what a big Bang kick off for 2008. It’s going to be very busy.
#42 by KS R on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 6:21 am
Hi
Time to change Government. Malay, Chinese and Indians should wake up or pull up their socks. Matter coming bad to worst.
Upgrading the standard is not there. They do not know how to bring up the standard and use their brain. Firstly PM and the Kris Minister should resign. PM does not know what is happening in the ground. Kris Minister only know how to carry Kris and threaten the non Malays because this fellows control the polis and DG Patil. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN
#43 by Malaysian on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 6:55 am
My wife who was graduate from University Malaya told me that: “the most intense feeling of race/religion differences was during her universities day due to encounters that i think i need not further illustrate now.”
Despite studying in SRJK(C) primary, and ChongHwa secondary school, she does not feel anything on racial tension at all. The feelings only appear when it comes to LOCAL university days.
Looks like this contagious disease is starting to spread from university to secondary school, probably later to primary school.
Please stop this cancer spreading…
#44 by Malaysian on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 6:59 am
note: she grows up in a small town where there are many malay as well.
#45 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 8:06 am
I believe Malays, Chinese and Indians could live together in harmony, sharing their experiences and over time a nation would grow. It is the UMNO run government that is making sure that the races remain separated and divided. How else could UMNO leaders ensure the party’s political relevance and their own?
The electoral formula UMNO-MCA-MIC based as it is on race (and later merged into what is today the national coalition) may have worked well in the early stages but is proving to be a liability in terms of national unity. It is a self-perpetuating political system that has resulted in the declining integrity of the political process in order to ensure its survival.
It is proving to be an anachronism and the sooner we recognize it the better it would be in the long run.
#46 by justiciary on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 9:09 am
In Taiwan,the opposition KMT has thrashed the ruling DPP with 81 seats against 27 seats in the national legislative election.Taiwan,a truly democratic state sees her people exercising their voting right to throw out the rotten DPP.Will this scenario be repeated in this country soon?
#47 by Tickler on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 9:12 am
Wednesday, July 26, 2006
Irish International University Again!
I wrote quite extensively a while back on the issue of “bogus universities” in our presence. Part I was on Datuk Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim, UMNO Putera’s chief who proudly paraded his Masters in Business Administration credentials, which was purchased from a bogus Preston university. Part II covered the use of honorific titles from dubious institutions even in the religious fraternity. And Part III spoke about our very own Ministry of Higher Education and Public Service Department’s complicity in lending credibility to these dodgy institutions including a certain “Irish International University”.
http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2006/07/irish-international-university-again.html
#48 by Tickler on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 9:15 am
To quote our Parliamentary opposition leader, Lim Kit Siang in his statement made on the above issue:
What is shocking is that the Ministry of Higher Education and the JPA had been parties to the scam by the Irish International University and the Cambridgeshire University [another dodgy university attempting to "pass off" as something more], whose degrees are not accredited nor recognized in the United Kingdom, United States or Ireland, by giving written assurances to Malaysians that their degrees were recognized by the Malaysian government.
It is indeed shocking that it was made known by Kit Siang that these written assurances include:
* A letter by JPA dated 13th December 1999 on recognition of the Master of Business Administration (MBA) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees of the Irish International University, provided the first degree is recognized by the government.
* A letter by Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education dated 31st October 2003 that the courses of Cambridgeshire University for Ijazah Pertama, Ijazah Sarjana and Ijazah Kedotoran are recognized by the Ministry.
* A letter by JPA dated 21st June 2004 that Cambridgeshire University is among the list of universities recognized by JPA.
http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2005/08/bogus-universities-iii.html
#49 by max2811 on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 11:07 am
To those who cannot write in proper English, please refrain from writing. You are lowering the level and the standard of English.
Young people, please do not impose, brag or give false information. Thank you.
#50 by scorpian6666 on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 11:16 am
# sebol Says:
I think this issue shouldnt be political.
I dont think “UMNO†want the student to wear songkok.
What if Sultan Johor order his Maktab student to wear songkok?
———————————-
Actually the whole issue is not political… It’s what’s done, shockingly to include shamelessness of the ruling party in regards to “bogus universities†mentioned by Tickler, the degradation of the anything associated with the very race they are trying to protect.
if umno does not want the ‘student to wear songkok’, they should have done something unless something very wrong here.
My opinion is the Umno-malay themselves have lost any respect if any at all for their own Sultans. Any things Cultural/traditional
should have to be debated and discussed by the Sultans. This is what the non-malay called “RESpect”.
The same as anything islamic must be consulted with the THE International Islamic body! not the uMNO islamic version, definitely not the extreme Islamic version. If not checked, what if any, the UMNO has to unsure the Malaysian they would not go into the “TERROR” version.
May God bless malaysia