Letters
by a JB EC parent
I have a query for you about the English College, Johor Bahru, which is now also known as Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar.
My son who is in Form Five this year, has been a Prefect in EC
since he was in Form Two. He has always been an exemplary student, as well has won praise from many teachers for his exemplary conduct and commitment to his duties and studies. He is also a member of the ExCo of the Prefectorial Board.
Recently, in the beginning of this year, there was an instruction from the school, which I believe came from the teacher advisor to the Prefectorial Board, that Prefects have to start wearing the Songkok as part of the official uniform. At first, the instruction was that it would only be required during “official functions” like school assemblies and during interschool events or major events like sports day and speech day. Hoever, this has now been revised to include daily prefectorial duties.
There are reasons to believe that the practice of getting Prefects to wear the Songkok, is a prelude to getting ALL the students of the school to eventually follow suit.
My son, after conferring with me, has decided that he will NOT wear the Songkok. He is willing to resign from the Prefectorial Board if forced to wear the Songkok.
The rationale behind his refusal, which I stongly support, is that the Songkok is an emblem of the MALAY identity. As non-Malays, he should not be forced to don attire which does not reflect his true identity.
Also, since the Constitution defines Malay as someone who is Muslim, it may give others the wrong impression that he may be Muslim. Although, at first thought, this may sound a bit far-fetched, as the complexion of a Chinese is very different from that of a Malay. But it is also about principle and of providing a precedent. What of the case of a dark-skinned Chinese, or even an Indian, who wears a songkok? Will they be mistaken for Malays?
The issue is also that of “stumbling others.” My son is a devout
Christian, and has been on two trips overseas in the past two years on mission outreaches, to help the poor, and to spread the Gospel. In Christianity, there are exhortations to Christians not to “stumble your brothers.” Apostle Paul had written in the case when food which had been offered to idols should not be consumed esp in the presence of Christian brothers who are not strong in the faith. Perhaps the wearing of the Songkok may also lead others to stumble, as the songkok is associated with Malay identity, and Malays are invariably Muslim. People who see my son wearing a songkok may think that he is a Malay, and thus a Muslim.
There will be those Malays who wish to enforce their culture, albeit in a creeping fashion, unto others, who may defend the move to enforce the songkok, claiming that the Songkok is a National identity, rather than a Malay or Muslim identity.
To that, I ask why:
- the songkok is part of the uniform of the Royal Malay Regiment, and not of say the rangers and others.
- the songkok is worn by Malays who go for Friday prayers, and not on other days.
- the songkok is worn by Malays on Hari Raya and Hari Raya Haji, but NOT on Hari Merdeka.
In fact, the songkok is identified with Malay cultural dress, just as
the cheongsam is with Chinese, and the saree with Indian. And just as the tudung is for Malays, so too the turban is for Sikhs.
IF the rationale behind the move to enforce students is “uniformity” then are Sikhs exempt from wearing them? Where then would be the uniformity?
My other contention, and which should probably be more IN THE INTEREST OF THE MALAY MUSLIM COMMUNITY, is that my son’s refusal to comply with the requirement for non-Malays to wear the songkok, WILL ACTUALLY PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY AND SANCTITY OF THE SONGKOK.
Despite all the denial about the Songkok being associated with Malay identity and hence with Islam (since all Malays are Muslims), the common perception even amongst Malay Muslims themselves, are that someone wearing a songkok IS a Muslim. IMAGINE a situation where a man wearing a songkok is having a beer, or a group of men are photographed in a pub, all wearing songkoks and each lifting a pint into the air!
What would Malays have to say about it then?
Would these be considered as an insult to Islam?
There are other situations where men in songkoks should not be
seen doing things which a Muslim should NOT be doing. For instance, would Muslims be upset if I were to wear a songkok and have my picture taken with a roast pig and the picture displayed?
What if my son wears a songkok and eats in a mamak shop during the month of Ramadan? Of if my son wears a songkok, and walks in the park at 7pm with his girlfriend, who is wearing a tudung (she also a non-Muslim!)
Would Muslim feel a sense of their culture being violated by
non-Muslims in Malay dress, doing things which good Muslims should not be doing? A non-Muslim boy walking sitting on a park bench at night with a non-Muslim girl would be nobody’s business but their own (or their parents). However, this would be a no-no for Muslims. Imagine the confusion if a non-Muslim boy with songkok were to be seen in this “khalwat” situation with a non-Muslim girl in a tudung?
Therefore, I reiterate – it is probably best to preserve the integrity and sanctity of the songkok and tudung, IF they are reserved for Malays and NOT enforced upon non-Malays. Alternatively, it should be left to the personal choice of the individual.
Do you think that my arguments have a basis?
I have no complaints if they make the songkok NON-COMPULSORY, and IF wearing it is just “encouraged” rather than. Would they have a problem if a small cross is pinned to the songkok, to designate that the wearer is not a Muslim?

#1 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 4:53 am
I boycotted my once-a-lifetime convocation in UTM because of wearing songkok issue.
My advice to this parent, ask your son to resign from the perfect’s duty as your strong protest of this kind of barbaric forced assimilation. Don’t sell your soul out!
#2 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:03 am
Since UMNO claims Allah is theirs right, songkok shall be copyrighted for Malay Muslims only.
Why there is such a double standard?
Today they ask your son to wear songkok, tomorrow they will asking your son to wear sarung to match the songkok attire, the day afer tomorrow, they will asking your son to convert to Islam because songkok and sarung are reserved for muslims only.
#3 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:55 am
Personally, I’m not sure if there’s anything wrong with wearing it. Assuming that the school principal has the authority to mandate the school uniform (like making students wear red neck ties and black shoes) then, this really isn’t an issue.
When I was in school, I used to remember the girls wearing baju kurung, regardless of race/religion. In this case, it’s a purely personal decision as the school does not mandate such dress. Nobody seemed to have any complaints about this.
If the son doesn’t want to wear it, he definitely has the right not to. However, quitting the prefect board should not be the thing to do. That is too drastic and it does not help anybody. There are other ways to go about handling this situation. For example:
1) Ask his friends if any of them mind wearing it. If there are others who mind, get them to write a letter to the principal, explaining that they would prefer it if the songkok was encouraged, but not mandatory. If there are enough prefects who’re against it, get their voices heard and the principal will probably have to reconsider the decision. Personally, I’d think that wearing it for formal functions would be okay. Wearing it everyday would be troublesome. Just like school neck ties, they’re normally worn during assemblies and functions, but not all the time.
2) Ask for written guidelines on wearing a songkok. As he is a Chinese/Christian and has never worn one before, he would need guidelines. Like, is it okay to wear it in class. No other Chinese/Christians are allowed to wear hats in class. Would this create some tension between the prefects and normal students? Should it be worn when visiting the loo? Should it be taken off to scratch an itch? What coloured songkoks are allowed and what are not allowed? Would a prefect be allowed to keep his hair long as long under the songkok? There are just so many things that need clarification. That’s why it’s important to have a written guideline before implementation.
3) How about the cost of the songkok? Ask for the school to subsidise the cost of the songkok. During my days, my school subsidised the cost of our blazers and ties. The songkok would only be worn as part of the work attire when discharging their duties. No part of the prefect uniform is part of the national uniform code. It’s mostly extra. So, it’s only fair that the school pays/subsidises for them. It should be considered “work clothes”.
As much as some people would like to turn it into one, this isn’t a race/religion issue. And asking the son to quit the prefect board on such a trivial issue is detrimental to his future. Goodness knows that he’ll need as many positive karma points as possible to secure places in university and/or scholarships.
#4 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:33 am
“….//…Do you think that my arguments have a basis?…//…” -JB EC parent.
No. The preservation of the integrity and sanctity of the songkok and tudung as Malay cultural emblems and giving others the wrong or mistaken impression that a Christian Chinese may be Malay Muslim will not count in the minds of those who want to either forcibly or by persuasion procure others to follow Malay culture.
They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. For the case of those who believe in supremacist concept of racial and cultural superiority and hegemony of the majority over the minorities, such “adoption” of their cultural emblems reaffirms the pride and dominance of the majority’s culture and political power and the subservience of the minority, much devoutly to be wished for. It is a signifier, a public statement of the hegemonic relationship between “dominant” and “minority” positions, otherwise denied in politically correct language.
When the Manchus came to power in China, they enforced the pigtail, a symbol of Manchu dominance meant for Han Chinese humiliation.
They would further justify it that this form of creeping asimilation is the long term solution for racial and religious polarisation and divisions in the country and facilitate nation building.
What happened in English College, Johor Bahru, which is now also known as Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (the change of name for the same reason to so called divest local institution from colonial hegemony through markers like English name) is a fruit of TDM’s and Anwar Ibrahim’s labour of active Islamisation of the country for the last 22 years during which many, educated in religious studies, are now occupying positions throughout the public sector and educational institutions. Though the “songkok” is not national policies, these people will try wherever and when ever possible to advance and implement their values on others.
T
#5 by undergrad2 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:34 am
If Malays and Islam are not given their special status under our Federal Constitution of 1957, if Malays are not legally deemed Muslims and could choose their religion, and if non-Malays and non-Muslims are not prohibited from proselytizing the Malays and if Islam is not the official religion of the federation, would the issue regarding the banning of the use of the Arabic word “Allah†by other faiths be an issue at all today?
Would the government (read: UMNO) remove and re-locate Hindu temples with such ‘zeal’, and would the government remove crosses atop school buildings and seek the removal of non-Islamic icons from public display the way it is now doing, if not for the fact that Islam occupies a special position within our Constitution, and that Malays are deemed legally Muslims?
So those of us who did extensive research on the real meaning and origin of the word “Allah†aren’t they missing the point here?
If religion in Malaysia is not politicized, would we be even talking about it? Would the government have banned the use of the word “Allah†except among Muslims, and threatened not to issue a publishing permit to the Herald a Christian publication by a Church in East Malaysia where the work of Christian missionaries and the spread of the Christian religion attracts the displeasure of Muslim public officials and Muslim politicians there.
Now another symbol has emerged – that of the Malay ‘songkok’ long regarded as a cultural and religious symbol. Whether it is more likely a cultural symbol which over the years has merged to be a Muslim symbol since all Malays are Muslims is not important.
We have wrestled with this issue before when our Malaysian judges irrespective of whether they are non-Malays and non-Muslims, were asked to replace horse hair (called ‘wigs’ traditionally worn by British judges) on their heads with ‘songkoks’. What of the ‘tengkolok†worn by dignitaries at official functions and royalty? Were not the Malays once Hindus before they became Muslims?
The politics of religion has run parallel to the politics of language and education ever since the Constitution was passed by the first Parliament in 1957. While the politics of language and education may have reached a flat so to speak, the politics of religion has gathered momentum in recent years especially post 9/11 and is on the incline.
Religion anywhere is divisive in its nature.
With the country facing general elections that could well put a new coalition of political parties in power, despite what the pundits are saying or are not saying, it is not untimely to ask if a new approach towards religion is not in order. The call by U.S. Presidential candidate Barack Obama’s resonates round the world. As Malaysians we could take a leaf out of his thoughts on the reclaiming of a dream long lost – a dream that Malaysians would live happily together not like they do now together but separately, aware and tolerant of our differences and united in our diversity. It may be hard to undo the damage done over decades of misrule by UMNO but hope is what it is all about.
“Since when has ‘hope’ been false?†to quote Obama the next U.S. President(?).
#6 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:45 am
Based on what I have said, it is clear that I am diametrically opposed in viewpoint and principle with what sybreon said ie :-
· That “this really isn’t an issueâ€â€¦.
· That “quitting the prefect board should not be the thing to do. That is too drasticâ€â€¦
· That what his (presumably non muslim/malay friends) think when asked if they mind wearing it is important;
· that “wearing it for formal functions would be okayâ€â€¦.
· asking for written guidelines on wearing a songkok or subsidies for wearing it (what is there to ask?)…
· “this isn’t a race/religion issue….†– I would like to ask, “what is it then?â€
#7 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:00 am
There is a theory going around that we Malaysians and in particular non-Malays in this country are at a crossroads. The BN formula of ‘compromise’ which has had its share of success, we all know is not sustainable over the long run. But the first problem with the BN formula is that over the years like such issue of the songkok which in reality is about Malay so-called ‘special right’ has been perversed much as the Islamic state official religon has been perversed, shortening usability of the original ‘compromise’ formula as envisioned by our founding fathers.
The current formula may still work but its an eventuality that it will not. Before that day come, we have to decide what kind of country we want to live in. That is why it is said we are at a crossroad because its now we have to think about it as the date may not be far off.
Our PM is wrong the day when he was elected that he said, there need not be a new vision. He single handedly has proven that over his tenure. But more importantly, those that follow him, the fourth floor mafia, Nazri and others do not have an answer to our impending question.
The truth is the right-wing UMNOist in this country have no idea where they are taking us. They see nothing wrong in making JB’s son wearing the songkok by force or otherwise. They see themselves as pragmatist when in reality they are not. Some may even say non-Muslim women are lucky not to be forced to wear the Hijab.
We are at a crossroad and we don’t have the leadership now or within sight to make decisions at this juncture. The truth we have been in this situation before. For the fight for independence, a liberal Malay royal called Tunku Abdul Rahman tapped the enlightened non-Malay as a counterforce to over-zealous Malay-Muslim nationalist to gain peaceful independence. When Razak’s original nationalist-Malay protectionist formula was killing the economy, the pragmatic Mahathir tapped the Chinese businessmen to liberalized the economy and saved the economy.
At every critical juncture in this country’s history, the liberal non-Malays have played a critical role in bringing this country back from disaster. The question is are we doomed to wait until disaster before something is done about it or do non-Malays in this country act now?
The issue before us are complicated and long term and the luxury of waiting may not be there anymore. More importantly it does not make sense.
We still have a luxury of debating the issues but we do not have the luxury of NOT debating it. This is where Badawi fails us more than anything else without a vision and his lack of conviction of his original promises. We are most fortunate for globalization and the internet. We are a blessed nation.
But do we prove ourselves again underserving of god’s blessing?
#8 by ahluck on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:06 am
the malay/islam issues are created by the muslim leaders. They are the ones creating racial and religious disunity among malaysians. Imposing with rules like songkok, tudung, allah, no cross on buliding. when non-malays or non-muslims oppose they been called racist or ISA waiting for them.
UMNO govt is slowly changing beautiful Malaysia to Full bored Islamic Nation.
so many roadsigns, names of schools or college names are changed.
#9 by Jimm on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:17 am
Religion have been guiding followers to understand what on earth and what is important to God.
UMNO just created a new revised Islamic religion because of their greed for power.
Anyway, since holding the no.1 seat for OIC, UMNO have been pull around by their stronger members like buffaloes all over.
Malaysia have been make as another financial hub for their businesses and placement.
Since UMNO sees only monies flowing daily all over Malaysia’s market, we can’t blamed them for acting more in these manner as they need to show to their bosses that they are in control.
#10 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:33 am
I agree with Jeffrey’s malay supremacy is played by certain Malay extremists.
Certain Malays try impose their culture, religion, etc. on minorities under the name of racial tolerance (read it as unilateral tolerance) and national unity.
Example 1: Unilateral religious tolerance (I wrote to Malaysiakini and edited version was published by steven Gan in Nov 2007)
Unilateral religious tolerance, only asking non-muslim respects Islam is not a proper way to incalculate tolerance between religions.
I refer to this religious text, “All praise for Allah who have given us food and drink and have made us Muslims” as mentioned in letters published in Malaysiakini, may sound alright for Muslims and Christians, but not all religious teachings such as Buddhist has same concept on God. Some people may feel offended for seeing such as insensitivity act in the public places.
“Doa Selamat” in school’s public gathering sounds a norm and long misinterpreted by certain quarters as a “Malaysian way”.
Did school authourities ever allow other religions’ prays during the school’s gatherings? If the school authourities are open minded and allow all religious prays during gatherings, then I will call it a true tolerance between religions, otherwise I will call it unilateral tolerance.
Another sensible approach is to have a religion neutral policy in schools as America, all parties shall play down religion issue and banning all religious texts in the schools.
Many unfair and bias policies are assumed “norm” after being imposed with barbaric manner on all Malaysians especually non-bumis by UMNO-led government is not doing any good to true unity and tolerance in this country.
Ask ourself one question, how many our close friends are from different race and religion background?
Example 2: unilateral proselytising (Was published in yesterdays’s Malaysiakini)
People in Malay archipelago used to be Hindus, Buddhists and animists at one time. If these religions or the governments then disallowed their people to convert to Islam, Fathima Idris might be born a Buddhist against her will.
Muslims here assume that converting non-Muslims is okay while vice-versa is absolutely wrong.
True religious tolerance cannot be built on a unilateral proselytising concept or banning others from using the term ‘Allah’. Malaysia shall learn from Indonesia, the largest Muslim country in the world, which demonstrates true freedom of faith to all its people.
Example 3: Male and female students are segragated in a school in Seremban)
Example 4: Wearing songkok in UTM convocation.
#11 by kun9999 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:37 am
Sorry, something out of this topic….
today i receive forward mail regarding 10 yr old being able to vote.
IC: 991214740101
IC: 910815750017
IC: 981231081137
You can check the status via http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftarbi.asp
My question is there something wrong with SRP database or ???
#12 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:43 am
(Corrected) Are our school authourities ever allow other prayers from other religions during the school’s gatherings? If the school authourities are open minded and allow all religious prayers, then I will call it a true tolerance between religions, otherwise it is just another unilateral tolerance.
#13 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am
I beg to disagree with sybreon. On principle and religious grounds, your son should either resign OR wear a small cross pinned to the songkok. It is against one of the ten commandments.
#14 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am
Hi Jeffrey,
“this isn’t a race/religion issue….†– I would like to ask, “what is it then?â€
I’m coming from this point of view:
If he wants to wear a cross on a chain around his neck and the school bars him from entry, that’s a religious issue. If the school punishes him for speaking Chinese in school, then that’s a racial issue. His present situation fits neither of the above.
Like I mentioned, regardless of race/religion, school girls have been wearing the baju kurung in school since my days in school, more than a decade ago. Presently, I personally know many Chinese ladies who like to wear the kebaya (apparently it’s quite nice). Why isn’t this an issue then? If the son chooses to wear a baju melayu with songkok to school, there is perfectly nothing wrong with that. Heck, it might even be fun.
The only problem with this situation is that it’s being mandated for no good reason by a principal that isn’t thinking logically.
Let’s turn the situation around and assume that the principal insists that all male prefects wear a skirt to school. In this situation, I doubt that anyone would call it a gender issue.
#15 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am
kun9999 Says:
Today at 08: 37.15 (6 minutes ago)
===
This junk was posted umpteen times.
#16 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:53 am
dear bystander,
I don’t seem to recall the 10 commandments mentioning anything at all with regards to attire.
PS: I do not wish to turn this into a religious argument.
#17 by Libra2 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:54 am
I fully agree with the writer. In any case what is so great about being a prefect? When he receives his SPM results do you think his role in the school will have a bearing when he applies for a place in the university. Malays who are inferior in studies and extra mural activities will have a better chance than your son.
To be there is only one issue here and that of principles. Stand by it come what may.
This issue is no different from the the one in Seremban whoch segregated boys and girls. Its all about Islamization.
#18 by k1980 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:55 am
Where is malaysia’s Kemal Ataturk? The wearing of the fez, which had been introduced a century earlier as a modernizing reform to replace the turban, was outlawed because it had become for the nationalists a symbol of the reactionary Ottoman regime.
http://www.allaboutturkey.com/reform.htm
#19 by farseer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:57 am
Here’s an article on who are the “the real Malays” from an anthropological perspective. Not sure if the facts are true but it makes interesting reading.
http://balajoe27.wordpress.com/2007/10/03/who-are-the-real-%E2%80%9Cmalays%E2%80%9D/
#20 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:00 am
Malaysiatoday is right and correct in every aspect. Yes religious tolerence cannot be 1 way street. Why cant non-muslims be exempted from Doa Selamat in schools? [deleted]
#21 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:08 am
Sybreon,
Wearing baju kurung for non-muslim female students may sound okay for you IF is under voluntarily basis.
I am telling you this is another example of unilateral tolerance. If a Malay student is wearing “cheongsam” kinda uniform, UMNO fella will condemn you to hell and brandish their kris.
I say it again, many unfair and bias policies are assumed “norm” unconsciously by you and your children because they are repeated umpteen times in your daily life.
#22 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:18 am
the commandments have nothing to do with attire but religious principle. your reasoning is shallow and illogical. you are entitled to stoop low if you think its ok for your son to wear the songkok or you are agnostic. But others should also be entitled to their rights and as such it should not be made compulsory for those who are religious and for those who think that it is against their religion. Who are you to say it is not a religious thing? What happens if muslims in UK or US are made to sing gospels or wear a cross on their uniform during assembly? there will be riots and violence just like when mohammed drawing appeared. Its 1 way, got it.
#23 by izrafeil on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:20 am
Uncle Lim,
Dont they know that the Indonesia Christians (Malay Archipelago Origin) in Surabaya attends Sunday Masses wearing Songkok
And some Hindus in Bali also wear Songkok, also sellers of Pork and pork related foodstuffs in Medan (mostly Batak origins/Malay Archipelago) also wears Songkok!
I dont know what this Had(a)Hari Has become!!
Yours truly
#24 by farseer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:24 am
I wonder if those girls would wear baju kurung with tudung voluntary as well? I doubt it.
#25 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:30 am
izrafeil,
In Malaysia context, UMNO Malays can claim Allah is solely reserved for muslims. In the same token, songkok is rightfully a symbolic for Malay race.
Who bother those things outsite Malaysia?
#26 by oknyua on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:35 am
JB EC Parent.
This is the requirement in all Matriculation colleges too. All Sabah and Sarawak students who are non-Muslims are subjected to the same dress code.
This, I believe, even occured in some of the Universities (UTM, UiTM ?). There was a similar protest about the same thing sometimes back.
#27 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:53 am
“Dont they know that the Indonesia Christians (Malay Archipelago Origin) in Surabaya attends Sunday Masses wearing Songkok”
The songkok and batek is part of the official attire in Indonesia. No religious connotation there. Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions.
#28 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:54 am
If we take it a bit further. Tomorrow, they will say all non malays must have malay names. all non muslims must pay expatriates tax rate. all non muslims must go to mosques on friday. where does one draw the line? when is enough is enough? when do we stand up and fight for our rights to freedom of religion, speech, democracy etc?
#29 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:55 am
All sort of argument about whether this is an issue about religion or an issue of freedom of choice/individual rights. Undergrad2 point out that it began with mixing religion and politics.
My point is that its really about both not separating religion and politics as well as lack of protection of individual rights starting with the perversion of Malay ‘special rights’. That is what I mean about being at a crossroad with BN’s ‘compromise’ formula.
All the argument about right to choose and religious intolerance don’t go very far if we don’t fundamentally adhere to the basic principle that our nation is secular AND that there is equal rights among citizen. It begins there and then everything else follows not that someone is forced to wear the songkok or girls choose to wear the baju kurung.
Here is a test. In the US, every Christmas, fire stations put up Christmas trees BUT they are not allowed to put up a nativity scene. Why? Understand that and you understand the issue.
#30 by megaman on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:00 am
Wearing traditional attire belonging to another race should be a non-issue as long as the wearer takes extra care to make sure the attire is wore properly and is not reserved for certain ceremonies or rituals.
However, the points raised by the poster do have its merits. The tight association of Malay with Islam means that the Malays may be offended if non-Muslim from other races does certain unIslamic activities while wearing the traditional attire.
This may not be an issue in other countries like Indonesia where a Songkok is just a Songkok but not in Malaysia. The way things are going right now, the poster’s son could be in trouble just by wearing songkok and eating char siew rice at the same time.
There should not be any issues with appreciating Malay traditions and clothing but there has to be reciprocal efforts as well. Malaysia do not belong solely to the Malays and a true Malaysian culture is not of 100% Malay origins. Chinese, Indian and other races’ cultures should have its places as well but have we seen the Malays wearing cheong sam or dhoti ?
#31 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:01 am
“Undergrad2 point out that it began with mixing religion and politics. My point is that its really about both not separating religion and politics…” Bigjoe
I believe he referred to the “politicization of religion” which is the same thing.
But aren’t you guys afraid that one of these days they may require that you be circumcised??
#32 by cancan on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:03 am
These Umnoputras keep on irritating the non-muslims thru race and religion issues.
They preach one thing but do the other thing.Never ever trust them.
Ultimately,they will be the laughing stock of the world.
#33 by melurian on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:04 am
“The songkok and batek is part of the official attire in Indonesia. No religious connotation there. Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions.”
don’t compare with indonesia, in indonesia the ruling party is not race-based party. if malaysia wants to have tudung and songkok as uniform, they should also start do away with their own racist yard (merge mca, mic, umno, gerakan into single entity) and “special privilege” and uphold malaysian malaysia.
#34 by melurian on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:07 am
and speaking of religion, there is absolutely no freedom at all as it limits only to muslim, christian, buddhist and hindu. what if you’re scientology ? what if you’re yahudi wearing star of david ? i wonder if you fill “yahudi” will sure kena bashed….
#35 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:14 am
Rao Says:
January 10th, 2008 at 12:14 am
Bersih report this votes on 31st Dec 07, but there are still on the SPR database, what do EC mean no more phantom voters
Bersih reports :
We have received several emails questioning the credibility of the following IC numbers which are currently on the electoral roll. We checked with EC headquarters in Putrajaya today, Monday 31 December 2007 and were told that these three names belonged to deceased voters, and therefore were in the process of being removed.
Periasamy K : 910815-75-0017
Seer Hor Leong : 991214-74-0101
Hj Abdul Wahabbin Md Saman : 981231 -08-1137
We will be keeping tabs on this matter, and check again in a few weeks. – BERSIH
http://bersih.org/?p=865#more-865
#36 by AhPek on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:15 am
Songkok and baju kurung is a cultural symbol identifying the Malay race much as the cheongsam is associated with the Chinese.There is nothing wrong for anyone wanting to wear baju kurung out of her own volition if the weare feels it looks pretty on her.It is an entirely different story altogether if any authority were to impose songkok as part of uniform or work attire.The person who is imposed such a ruling may feel strongly that he has no wish to be identified with the Malay culture although he may even be appreciative of the culture.Like Jeffrey says it signifies a hegemonic relationship between a ‘dominant’ and a ‘minority’ position.In such a situation it is in perfect conformance with one’s conviction to quit being a prefect.It is most logical decision.Nobody should occupy a position if he has doubts of what he represents.
In the case of the person wanting to wear the baju kurung out of her own volition it is completely a different case. Again like what Jeffrey says imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and here the Malay culture takes pride of place for it has contributed to the fashion world!
#37 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:15 am
It is anathema to the Chinese because the Chinese take great pride in their language and culture, for anyone to impose a condition like the wearing of the songkok. It is offensive because it smacks of assimilation rather than integration.
In Indonesia where ethnic Chinese make up a mere two percent of a total population of some two hundred million mostly Muslims, wearing songkok and batek at official functions is a non-issue. They even change their names to appear Indonesian and speak only Indonesian and attend Indonesian schools rather than vernacular though there are some who still use their ethnic names and attend Chinese and Catholic schools.
Wearing of the songkok has none of the religious connotations as there is in Malaysia. I have shared pork ribs with songkok wearing Indonesians. No big deal over there.
#38 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:16 am
But aren’t you guys afraid that one of these days they may require that you be circumcised?? – darkhorse
Malaysia is to consider using mass circumcision ceremonies to promote racial harmony.
Circumcision is a rite of passage for young Muslim boys, and in Malaysia it is common for the ceremony to become an event with dozens, or even hundreds of boys being circumcised together.
Now the prime minister’s religious affairs adviser has suggested that circumcision can bring Malaysians of all races and religions together.
Dr Abdul Hamid Othman said that with the growing popularity of circumcision among the country’s non-Muslim minorities – who see it as good hygienic practice – they too could be invited to join in the celebrations with their Muslim friends.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/3326861.stm
#39 by smeagroo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:18 am
Maybe abt time the chinese schools enforce a cheong-sam ruling to the malays during CNY season in school.
#40 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:18 am
Oh ho. apologies. That circumcision comment by Count Dracula.
#41 by wizzerd on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:19 am
Wearing baju kurung for non-muslim female students may sound okay for you IF is under voluntarily basis.
I agree with malaysiatoday.com..the issue here is non-compulsion.
Whether what costume one wishes to wear, it should be up one’s decision. Non-malays would want to wear songkok or baju melayu to functions if they like..but it should not be enforced upon them what to wear or otherwise.
In a Hari Raya function many years ago in my college, I remember several of us, non-Malays..were wearing Malay costumes..with songkok, kain pelikat and baju Melayu, and some of our malay friends wore Chinese samfu. There was no issue, everyone was pretty comfortable and proud with our ethnic diversity.
It is only when the politics get into the picture, these overzealous people turn it into a big issue for sake of winning support with their bigoted views.
#42 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:26 am
“We have wrestled with this issue before when our Malaysian judges irrespective of whether they are non-Malays and non-Muslims, were asked to replace horse hair (called ‘wigs’ traditionally worn by British judges) on their heads with ‘songkoks’.” undergrad2
If judges willingly put on songkoks while on the bench, what’s wrong with school prefects doing the same?
#43 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:28 am
`IMAGINE a situation where a man wearing a songkok is having a beer, or a group of men are photographed in a pub, all wearing songkoks and each lifting a pint into the air!`
That one`s going to be a pub joke for the next few weeks at least.
#44 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:30 am
Tickler,
Jews too are circumcised but at birth.
So let’s circumcise the girls as well. In Africa that is referred to as FGM or female genital mutilation. United Nations recognized that as a human rights issue.
#45 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:32 am
I don`t think the UN has a leg to stand on that. FGM is now begining to get more support. The UN will have to back down.
#46 by grace on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:33 am
“My son, after conferring with me, has decided that he will NOT wear the Songkok. He is willing to resign from the Prefectorial Board if forced to wear the Songkok.”
THAT IS THE RIGHT MOVE! THIS IS THE WAY TO SHOW THEM!
I really do not know what is actually happening to our school half past six principals! Most of them are utterly useless. All they know is to implement all sorts of irrelevant policies which do not contribute to academic excellence.
There is one scholol reported in Star that boys and girks must use seperate lanes and in the canteen boys and girls could not eat on the same table.
What type of lousy policy!
Anyway, when the non-muslims are faced this tpe of policy, they only have DAP to turn to. Hey what is happening to MCA or Gerakan which most of you voted for?
If in this coming election and if any one who voted BN, please do not cry baby in front of DAP or PKR! Go to your godfathers MCA or MIC or UMNO! ** I do not mean the writer of the letter above, please. The statement is meant for others!!!
#47 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:33 am
I think we should not be too fast in making a judgement here.
I am not so sure the songkok is an Islamic attire.
I remember my brother wearing the songkok as part of the dress uniform of the St. John Ambulance in the 1960′s. It is still part of the dress uniform today. They also have beret, etc., but for different occasions.
I have seen non-Malay Ministers wearing songkok when in dress uniform, (is it part of the uniform that comes with the Dato’ title, etc.?).
It is of Malay origin, but does not have Islamic connotation unless people want to make it that way.
#48 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:41 am
Getting into the car of a muslim lawyer once, I accidentally pushed the songkok (which was on the front seat) to the floor.
He was exceedingly upset.
#49 by Cinnamon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:42 am
Dear Parent,
Why should your resign as a prefect? He has earned it.
You should send a letter to the school principal and telling him your objection. Tell him anything related to this issue the school must talk to you directly.
Tell your son not to wear the songkok.
Let’s wait and see if the school dare to remove your son’s position.
#50 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:42 am
You guys still don’t get it. The non-Malays are in a minority and if the majority ask the minority to adopt certain practices or rules, then the minority has to follow or quit. If you find wearing a songkok to accept a datukship or a tan-sri-ship an affront, then don’t accept the datukship or tan-sri-ship. If you find wearing a songkok as a prefect an affront, then quit as a prefect.
No one can compel you to do what you don’t want to do. Stop whining. In a one-person-one-vote system, you have to accept that the majority is always right.